There’s no denying that there’s a lot to see and do in Rome, one of the most visited cities in the world. Once you’ve seen the world-famous sites, however, you may want to round out your trip with a few hours or even a full day away from the bustle ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1719 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mimisochor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable and attentive to the group. Even though we had a partly rainy day, it did not take a way from the experience. We were impressed with the history and enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Myles M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Delivered on what it promised. A nice coach ride from the center of Rome to the Pompeii ruins and then organised entrance, with an informative two hour tour and then two-three hours spare to wander around. The experience is one not to be missed and free of the usual hucksterism of cameo shops and other shopping and food locations designed to part the eager traveler from his/her money.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Sylviesteinbach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The best tour and Tivoli is a great town to have lunch. Stefania is an archeologist and her valuable knowledge served this tour very well. Large and comfortable bus and skilled driver. This is not a tour for anyone who has trouble walking or taking stairs. But it is a beautiful and interesting visit of a Roman Villa complex and a Renaissance estate. Loved it!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

MARK S BRIDGER B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

TERRIFIC TOUR ,GUIDE WAS ENTERTAINING KNOWLEDGABLE AND PLEASANT TO TALK TO .A GREAT REP FOR VIATOR .WOULD HAVE LIKED TO SPEND THE WHOLE DAY AT THE VILLA BUT VILA dEste WAS AN EXCELLENT TOUR AS WELL

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Elaine O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful trip. I was worried about finding the office but it turned out to be easy thanks to a local and handsome cop. The street is a little hole in the wall street close to the Colosseum. The day was warm, the guide was great and the gardens at Villa d'Este were wonderful. The steps are a challenge so be warned.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Dale L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Easy to book - comfortable coach - beautiful place and great guide. The most memorable day of our trip and definitely worth a full day - anything else would be rushed.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Russell W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The best thing to do on an incredibly hot 39 degree day in Rome .Got out of the central tourist sites and into the countryside.Nice and cool in the catacombs A thrill to stand on the Apian way.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Bangalore G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were a group of six in our party from the UK and Spain ... and we thoroughly enjoyed the trip led by Stefania - our tour guide for the day on 10 Sep 2016. With her archaeological background it was doubly interesting. She timed the day's trip so that we could experience the water organ at Vill d'Este.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

DDFlorida United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a wonderful trip. Our guide was Guiseppe. He is a native of Tivoli and was very informed. He did a great job of making sure we had breaks as needed, allowing us a little time for shopping, and pointing out the important points of the 2 villas. The lunch at the restaurant was very good.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Tom B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing to see the catacombs and walk where ancient Roman's walked and were buried. And driving down the old Appian Antiqua that my father has talked about driving for years and years was special, especially since we had my almost 90 year old father with us to see it one more.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Neil S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I have done the half day tour...much better to do the full day tour. Great guide. Excellent

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

dwardanderson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

,our guide Giuseppe, was excellent, very knowledgeable and very attentive to everyone in the group! He took us to all of the places mentioned and kept us going on time! He was upbeat and directed us to shops during our shopping time! Thanks-Kathy and Dennis

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Johannes C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour with a most competent and knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

JennieSablan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a very long day. However, I would recommend this tour to anyone. The drive there and back was pleasant and scenic. You also get to listen to fun factoids.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Nicky S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was great, friendly, knowledgable, spoke great English, and took us through two amazing sites, explaining all the interesting facts along the way. He made the best of it when it rained on us for about half an hour This was the best day of our vacation, relaxing and beautiful! You wouldn't want to miss villa deste, it's truly the prettiest place I've ever been

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Robert K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Giuseppe took us on a fun and informative tour of these two fascinating locations!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Ronald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Alfredo was a great tour guide and very knowledgeable. Hadrian's Villa was enormous and the Villa d'Este was absolutely beautiful. You must see it!!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Barry United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Somewhat of a long day, but a great experience!

Marissa was our coordinator, and Maximo was our driver. Both were good. But of course the guide is what really makes the difference, and Dario was tops! He was happy, organized, very well informed, and made sure we all were having a good time. We learned a ton about the history and probably future of this remarkable site.

This is one of those places you don't want to go on your own because your eyes will skip right past many things that are fascinating. Like the ruts in the stones in the street, made by the wagons and carriages of the day wearing them down. Or like ancient graffiti on the walls. Or the significance of location and shape of individual homes and courtyards.

A good tour. Recommend.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Stephanie E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Rosemary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a great time visiting Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este. Well worth the trip. Knowledgeable guide with ample time for pictures. Be prepared to walk and enjoy. The lunch break in Tivoli was perfect. Thank you.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Olga M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Good tour despite a lot of walking

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

gina g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I had a great time on this tour , our guide was really knowledgeable and friendly - loads of interesting facts and gorgeous ruins and gardens. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Euan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Would recommend to anyone

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an amazing tour filled with history and the beautiful gardens and fountains. Our tour guide was fantastic!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Rosalind M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our bus guide, Gio, was excellent, both pleasant and well-informed. The office was open when I arrived a half hour ahead of the departure time. All was clear as to times, food, admission charge, and meeting place. Of course, Pompeii itself is wonderful and definitely worth a trip. I was totally satisfied with Viator.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message