There’s no denying that there’s a lot to see and do in Rome, one of the most visited cities in the world. Once you’ve seen the world-famous sites, however, you may want to round out your trip with a few hours or even a full day away from the bustle ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1690 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an amazing tour filled with history and the beautiful gardens and fountains. Our tour guide was fantastic!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Rosalind M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our bus guide, Gio, was excellent, both pleasant and well-informed. The office was open when I arrived a half hour ahead of the departure time. All was clear as to times, food, admission charge, and meeting place. Of course, Pompeii itself is wonderful and definitely worth a trip. I was totally satisfied with Viator.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Helen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Good..informative guide, Claudia, and the guide at the site was excellent ...very informative and a very droll sense of humour.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Vanessa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very comfortable bus trip. I really enjoyed doing the guided tour in Pompeii as it is a very large area and I appreciated the history a lot more with the wonderful detailed information provided by the kind and knowledgable guide. I would definitely advise people to do this trip with the guided tour. You still have time afterwards to do a bit of wondering around and see more of the site.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

gary.patterson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I chose this trip as we live near Hadrians wall in the North East of England and i wanted to see Emperor Hadrians villa. The first part of the trip gave us the opportunity to see how he lived, the second part was in Villa DEste. The gardens here are so beautiful and the views both inside and out are breath taking. If you like your history and want to do a trip outside the city of Rome, then this is for you.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Kevin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We booked the optional guided tour, which proved to be a great choice. Marisa was our host on the bus, and she kept us up to date with how we were progressing and what we could see out of the window.

Our guide in Pompeii was Dario: we have had a guided tour of the city before 21 years ago, but Dario was excellent, finding a way to impart lots of facts, but still make it interesting enough to keep our teenagers' attention.

The guided tour took 2 hours, and we had a further 2 hours on our own, which we used to walk to the Amphitheatre even though it was 40 degrees! I would recommend it, the place is impressive!

The icing on the cake was that the bus dropped us back in Rome, not at the Enjoy Rome office, which is a bit out of the way, but at Termini, which meant we could get straight on the bus to our hotel.

Throughout the tour each step was clearly explained to us, with timings which were adhered to, so we always knew exactly where we were going and when we were being picked up. The trip may seem like a lot of money, but it was well worth it, and was the highlight of our break in Rome.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Jane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Just delightful! Our guide was funny and informative. We loved the sights, the town where we had our lunch break and the fountains. A wonderful day!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Norman E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very comfortable ride there and back. Great tour guides! Pompeii is absolutely fascinating.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Jodi G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing! Worth it to get out of the city, guide was very knowledgeable. The gardens were phenomenal

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

David D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was one of the most enjoyable tours we took during our time in Rome. Very interesting.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Renee' R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We truly enjoyed this day trip from Rome. The guide was knowledgeable and the coach was very nice, clean and comfortable! It was hot touring Hadrian's Villa minimal shade and a long walking tour so wear appropriate clothing and bring water as none is available during the tour of the villas. It was well worth the money spent!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Michele C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was very informative and we were given freedom to stay with the tour the entire time, or meet back with the guide at a certain time and place. The times at each place felt short - I could have easily stayed longer! Made me much happier that I didn't do the half day tour, because it definitely wouldn't have been enough.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

kathryn w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A fantastic tour. History at one villa and magnificent fountain gardens at the other. Take care at lunch, as we felt stung by the prices somewhat. Perhaps go for a cheaper option you find for yourself.
Loved the gardens as I had seen them on the TV and it is so worth seeing for real. Good timings for the day and the meeting point is near the Colosseum which is easy to get to I walked from my hotel.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

jukeboxpete

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this tour. Both places were exceptional and the fountains at Villa d'Este were amazing. Great guide.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Cavan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were glad that we had booked a guided tour instead of attempting to organise our own itinerary to Tivoli. We learned so much from our enthusiastic and charming guide, Barbara, and transportation was quick and efficient. Both sites were breathtaking in different ways - spectacular ruins at the astonishing Hadrian's Villa and great beauty in the house and garden at Villa d'Este.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

bonnieb630

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was my favorite tour in all of or travels in Italy, Spain and France. Our guide was soooo knowledgable. The day was very hot and the tour of all the beautiful fountains was perfect. The grounds and paths that wandered through the fountains made walking easy. I took many pictures of the most unique fountains I have ever seen. We would do this tour again if we return to Itay.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Linda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The two villas were great, and the guides were great to explain what we were seeing. This tour delivered on all its promises.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Dewey B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip. Very interesting and informative. Lots of walking and steps. I would not recommend this if it is very hot and humid, or you are not a walker.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Robert R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fascinating tour of the ruins of Hadrian's Villa and beautiful gardens and home at Villa D'Este! I loved the numerous fountains there, and it certainly helped with the heat during the Italian summer. Would definitely return and highly suggest this as a day trip to anyone visiting Rome.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Lorraine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip was great. Hadrian's Villa was a surprise...we didn't know much about it before taking the tour and it was all very interesting. Tivoli's gardens were beautiful, of course. I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Debra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour both locations were impressive and quite different from each other Hadrians villa being ruins and the Vila d and #39;este being lush and beautiful garden. With gorgeous water features and fountains most welcome on such s hot day

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

kay.l.1406

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This activity was well organised. It moved at an easy pace , with time to take in the sites alongside the most informative commentary from the guides. The guides were very personable, knowledgable and ready to respond to any questions.
Each site was fascinating in its own way, but both a visual feast rich in remarkable history. Well worth doing!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message