There’s no denying that there’s a lot to see and do in Rome, one of the most visited cities in the world. Once you’ve seen the world-famous sites, however, you may want to round out your trip with a few hours or even a full day away from the bustle ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1661 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cavan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were glad that we had booked a guided tour instead of attempting to organise our own itinerary to Tivoli. We learned so much from our enthusiastic and charming guide, Barbara, and transportation was quick and efficient. Both sites were breathtaking in different ways - spectacular ruins at the astonishing Hadrian's Villa and great beauty in the house and garden at Villa d'Este.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

bonnieb630

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was my favorite tour in all of or travels in Italy, Spain and France. Our guide was soooo knowledgable. The day was very hot and the tour of all the beautiful fountains was perfect. The grounds and paths that wandered through the fountains made walking easy. I took many pictures of the most unique fountains I have ever seen. We would do this tour again if we return to Itay.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Linda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The two villas were great, and the guides were great to explain what we were seeing. This tour delivered on all its promises.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Dewey B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip. Very interesting and informative. Lots of walking and steps. I would not recommend this if it is very hot and humid, or you are not a walker.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Robert R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fascinating tour of the ruins of Hadrian's Villa and beautiful gardens and home at Villa D'Este! I loved the numerous fountains there, and it certainly helped with the heat during the Italian summer. Would definitely return and highly suggest this as a day trip to anyone visiting Rome.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Lorraine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip was great. Hadrian's Villa was a surprise...we didn't know much about it before taking the tour and it was all very interesting. Tivoli's gardens were beautiful, of course. I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Debra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour both locations were impressive and quite different from each other Hadrians villa being ruins and the Vila d and #39;este being lush and beautiful garden. With gorgeous water features and fountains most welcome on such s hot day

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

kay.l.1406

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This activity was well organised. It moved at an easy pace , with time to take in the sites alongside the most informative commentary from the guides. The guides were very personable, knowledgable and ready to respond to any questions.
Each site was fascinating in its own way, but both a visual feast rich in remarkable history. Well worth doing!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The trip was excellent Marcetta the guide was brilliant she was friendly and very informative I would definitely recommend this tour and your company.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Kirk S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Barber was a good guide and informative about both Villas. She kept us interested in a very hot day. Villa d and #39;Este was stunning. If any Changes recommended: reduce time at Hadrian and #39;s - add to d and #39;Este. Emphasize lack of facilities at Hadrian and #39;s and recommend people bring water. Died of thirst until lunch.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Esperanza G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Es una visita muy recomendada si quieren ver jardines romanos sobre todo en Tivoli tecnología hidraulica. Uno puede apreciar como les gustaba vivir a los emperadores, es realmente una visita que recomendamos se la pasa uno muy bien.
En nuestro caso el tour fue en ingles pues hay pocos en Español, eso es un problema si no hablas bien el idioma que era el caso de mi esposo sin embargo la explicación tampoco es muy abundante en información por lo que la pueden tomar sin problemas.
A Tivoli ingresamos después de comer y nos traian un poco apurados, a mi me hubiera gustado que nos dejaran un poco más de tiempo para ver bien y disfrutar la villa sin embargo se veía que traian el tiempo contado por lo que esa visita es un poco rápida.
Si tienen problemas para caminar sobre todo para subir y bajar no es recomendable, todo son escaleras, pienso sobre todo en la gente mayor realmente las subidas y las prisas no es buena combinación.
Antes de entrar comimos por nuestra cuenta, no nos recomendaron sin embargo mi marido y yo decidimos quedarnos en el restaurante justo de frente a la entrada de Tivoli y dejenme decirles que las pizzas fueron las mejores que nos comimos de todo italia, se las recomiendo.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Tina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My guide was Jeanette, and she was fantastic! I recommend this to everyone. Only problem I had was at the book store at the Catacombs. They took cash only, and lost over a €60.00 sale because all I had was cards.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Dr Joan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a wonderful tour . The guide was very knowledgeable about architecture and that made it all the more interesting. The weather was a bit of a trial - but villa d'este and Hadrian's palace are a wonderful day spent outside Rome. The bus was A/C and comfortable and the driver accommodating. It was a bit of a hike to get to the bus from our meeting point in Rome - and that should be addressed. Would definitely recommend to others

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Makram L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide was friendly, knowledgeable and one of the best I have had!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a stimulating easy-paced trip by coach from Rome to Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este. Our guide understood both his material and how much to tell us. There was a time and place for lunch. The tour company contacted us very late, by email, with information about the departure point. We could easily have missed this.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Kathleen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

You MUST do this trip! The information from the guide on the bus was so interesting as well as informative-Marris is outstanding and hope that you get her. Well organized, comfortable bus ride, absolutely top rated guide on our tour of Pompeii!
FANTASTIC! FABULOUS! OUTSTANDING!!!

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Samantha H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A well-organised, informative trip. The journey was a pleasure and Pompeii itself was truly amazing. We had the upgraded tour, which turned out to be perfect - definitely one of the highlights of our trip to Rome. I'd highly recommend it.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Robert C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great, informative, guided visits to both sites.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Harlan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Interesting tour. Our guide made us feel like we knew the early Christians and Jews that used the catacombs. Well educated and very knowledgeable on the time periob.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Jodie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Was a fabulous day out at Tivoli. Very well organised and so worth visiting Hadrians Villa and Villa D and #39;Este. The waterfalls and gardens at Villa D and #39;Este were absolutely stunning and the guide was full of knowledge with all the history at Hadrians Villa. Really enjoyed the full day trip.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

J S C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was fantastic. Alfredo was our guide and was excellent. The bus trip to Tivoli was 40mins away from Rome and the town is a lovely welcome break from the city. Lots of choice for food for the hour-long lunch break in the town. Fantastic, well worth the money. Lots of walking though!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message