There’s no denying that there’s a lot to see and do in Rome, one of the most visited cities in the world. Once you’ve seen the world-famous sites, however, you may want to round out your trip with a few hours or even a full day away from the bustle ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1794 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mitay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I enjoyed the history lessons on Hadrian's villa.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Gerry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour is well worth doing. Our guide, Alfredo, was both delightful and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Vanessa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The BEST day trip out of Rome! Our guide, Larissa, was outstanding and provided a fascinating and entertaining insight into Roman life in the time of Hadrian. The villa grounds and ruins are immense but considering we only had the morning here Larissa managed to cover most of the highlights. The afternoon, in the much more compact water gardens, at Villa d'Este was a superb contrast. The fountains are really stunning, don't miss the water organ! The sheer feat of such engineering is awesome.We had ample time for lunch in Tivoli a pretty hilltop town and photo opportunities galore.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Rodel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Larissa is very passionate and knowledgeable. I will certainly recommend her to my friends.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Gregory Vacations United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and we thoroughly enjoyed this tour. What a villa!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Iana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide was very nice. He was so excited to share his knowledge of the catacombs, and the aqueducts. We also got to see an ancient road and church. The bus ride through the country was so beautiful and it was nice to get out of the city for a bit. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

michael d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Guissepe was excellent, Hadrians villa and Tivoli gardens stunning, well worth the money.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

BOUTROS B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was an excellent Tour and our guide Giuseppe made it Fabulous by his knowledge and the details he provided us .Thank you .

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Ana-Maria S Romania

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I loved a day out of the crowds of Rome in spite of the rain. I appreciated more Villa d'Este with its impressive gardens than the extensive tour of Hadrian's Villa.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Lauren

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour, I've been to Villa D'Este before but never made it to Hadrian's Villa. Guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Nathan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was excellent, very interesting, with FINALLY a guide with great English. Infact she was very knowledable and spoke 4 languages

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

eunica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

james U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful place to visit. The fountains and pools were fabulous.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Kathleen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a very nice tour to get out into the Roman countryside from in a day. These two World Heritage sites display the grandeur of a 200 A.D. Roman emperor's estate and a Renaissance era villa. The commentary by the guides was great and brought life to the Hadrian villa remains as well as understanding to the Villa d'Este mansion and grounds. Both are beautiful in very different ways. An additional highlight was the tour guide's recommendation for lunch, which we enjoyed in a tiny and cozy restaurant located a couple streets away from Villa d'Este.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Priya M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Unmissable, if you are a heritage sites follower !

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Sheila D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Both sites are well worth visiting, although you will need to use your imagination for Hadrian's Villa, however it is still a spectacular site to visit. The trip was well-organised with an excellent, patient and well-informed guide. We had a lovely lunch stop in Tivoli before seeing the villa. The gardens are outstanding and for us the highlight of the whole day.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Laurie N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Something to be experienced. Amazing half day with a superb guide. I would not want to be separated from our guide in the endless maze of catacombs!

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Hugo L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This trip is definitely a must for those who love history and architecture. It really shows how grand and extravagant Romans were. Fantastic way to spend a relaxing day wondering through the ruins and to contrast that with the spectacle that is Villa d'Este.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Jordan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We enjoyed this day trip from Rome and Villa d'Este especially is a must see. Our guide Giuseppe was incredibly friendly an being a Tivoli local he was very knowledgeable about the area and the sites. We also enjoyed having some free time to explore the town of Tivoli at our own pace.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

jimbpease

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour and great guide! Loved it.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Robin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

One of the highlights of our 9 day trip to Rome. The guide Laura was amazing and funny. We were not rushed but covered a lot of ground in one day. She was very knowledgeable about both sites and provided detailed answers to our questions.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Josee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Loved this day tour. The fountains at Villa d'Este were amazing! Worth the price!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Ruchika S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

AMAZING tour guide and a great trip overall. Would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was the most knowledgeable guide we had the entire trip, and we took five different tours. Excellent!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Patricia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Highlight of my most recent trip to Rome area. Both places were bucket list items and would recommend as a get away from the hustle and bustle of Rome

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message