There’s no denying that there’s a lot to see and do in Rome, one of the most visited cities in the world. Once you’ve seen the world-famous sites, however, you may want to round out your trip with a few hours or even a full day away from the bustle ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1770 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jimbpease

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour and great guide! Loved it.

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

Robin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

One of the highlights of our 9 day trip to Rome. The guide Laura was amazing and funny. We were not rushed but covered a lot of ground in one day. She was very knowledgeable about both sites and provided detailed answers to our questions.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Josee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Loved this day tour. The fountains at Villa d'Este were amazing! Worth the price!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Ruchika S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

AMAZING tour guide and a great trip overall. Would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was the most knowledgeable guide we had the entire trip, and we took five different tours. Excellent!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Patricia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Highlight of my most recent trip to Rome area. Both places were bucket list items and would recommend as a get away from the hustle and bustle of Rome

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

ahmednasr1971

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent trip. Our tour guide, guiseppe as i ember was great

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Teresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour away from the heat and crowds in Rome. Comfortable transport, an engaging and knowledgeable tour guide, and a fascinating slice of history.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Patricia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Rome has so much to offer but getting out of the city and seeing both the ruins and fountains and visiting the little town was a fabulous break. The guide was ver knowledgeable and the time spent at each was split very well, giving you enough time to see each and have a nice lunch

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a really nice time on this tour - I thought this trip was a hidden treasure. Tour guide was great - explained what we were doing and kept everyone informed about timing so we knew what to expect schedule-wise, especially when we had time to go explore on our own, and when we needed to be back at the bus. Bus was nice and comfortable, drop-off and pick-up locations were convenient for us.

We saw the Villa de Este in the introduction to Three Coins in a Fountain movie, and was glad to find out it was a short trip from Rome. I had heard about Hadrian's Villa in my History of Architecture class years ago as an ostentatious glorification of imperial power. I'm sure it was! Even the ruins are pretty WOW.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

gillian.maguire11

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

what a way to see Rome outside of the city. our guide 'Maria' went above and beyond the call of duty and her knowledge and sense of humour dazzled us. the catacombs, Via Appia and the aqueduct made a great morning of sightseeing. Inwould highly reccomend Enjoy Rome as a company and will seek out their tours when next in Rome

Doing what: Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour

qwhites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a terrific trip to Tivoli and enjoyed the tours of Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este. We were glad we did a day trip as there is so much to see a half day trip would have been too short for us.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Charles Summers S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an awesome day trip, with an amazing guide!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Marketa, our tour guide, was fantastic. Her knowledge was superb, and her detailed explanations of everything made the trip EXCELLENT. This was an unbelievable tour. We have been to Rome four years ago, and visited the Vatican and Colosseum with Viator. This tour yesterday was perfect to visit sights outside of the city.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

suziijoan52

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was an absolute standout. Lots of beautiful surprises as you walk around the sights. Amazing tour guide with lots of knowledge.
I would recommend to all sightseers. A great day.
One small problem was were we stopped for morning tea and dinner . Only had tea or coffee with one person serving and not much in the way of food . Hot food for the return journey would have been good, the only food on offer was packet biscuits or lollies, so TAKE YOUR OWN FOR THE DAY.!
Great tour other than this.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

termar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Both places give you the impression 'when money is no object'....That such a place as grand in scale as Hadrian's Villa was really just for the imperial family is hard to grasp. It was in effect a small city with baths, gardens and a theater. The Canopus, Hadrian's dedication to his deceased friend Antinoos, was a fitting ending. The Villa d'Este dazzled on two fronts. First, the interior ceilings in particular were colourful, allegorical and religious themes dominating. Second, the gardens and water fountains were soothing. It is a shame in their respective days both villas were seen by so few.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Robert T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful tour! Our guide was knowledgeable and engaging. Very well organized!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Darlene M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We loved everything about this trip. we did feel a little rushed for people to keep up pace with the guide as a lot of ground to cover but otherwise well-done tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Max S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

WOW, each part is so different and both are fantastic, we had a little rain between, but it didn't spoil the tour. One negative, the restaurant suggested by the tour guide between tours, was the worse meal we had in Italy.....bad service, bad pizza, bad wine, too expensive for the food and service.....not a reason not to rate the tour as great!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

cinbig

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was fantastic! Educational, fun, time to explore, and great to be outside of Rome for the day. Our guide was very knowledgable and shed lots of historical and artistic info on everything we saw. Don't miss this tour!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Cosmo29

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent Day trip. We really enjoyed both visits and learned a lot from our Guide. It was nice relaxing day.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Neil D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Even though it was raining, this was our favorite trip. Hadrian's villa was amazing. We eventually went to the Castle S'Angelo in Rome, which was to be his mausoleum. Unfortunately his remains are missing. Apparently part of his sarcophagus is in the Vatican being used for baptisms or something like that.

Loved Villa D'este with all the fountains. Don't miss it.

Had lunch at a local restaurant where we paid our own way. It was excellent! Being Americans we really enjoyed being able to order, eat and get our bill quickly! Usually this process is quite drawn out by our standards.

Great guide as per usual! We love Viator,

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Christi W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We toured Hadrian's Villa in the morning under cloudy skies and by afternoon it was raining as we toured Villa d'Este and I still give this tour 5 stars! Giuseppe was able to answer our questions and give a very knowledgeable tour, particularly of Hadrian's Villa. I like that we got to see both villas, the ancient Roman one and the one from the Renaissance period. It was easy to see the influences that the first villa had on the second and then picture how the marble that was taken from Hadrian's villa for the Villa d'Este must have looked in the ancient halls. But the fountains at Villa d'Este were the most amazing part of the experience. They were honestly draw droppingly beautiful.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Diana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing ruins and gardens within an hour of Rome

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message