Michelangelo is considered one of Tuscany’s most famous sons, but many of the masterpieces for which is he is best known are not found in Tuscany. In fact, Michelangelo spent much of his life in what is now the Italian capital of Rome, and you can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3570 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

bahulee.awasthi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed this tour, the Vaitcan museums were gorgeous with so much art from so many masters. The Sistine Chapel was a bit of a let down, because the ceilings are really high so you can't see all the art as well as you'd like. St. Peter's Basilica is must it was giant and beautiful, if you're booking another tour that doesn't include it ..don't! We were even lucky enough to walk through the holy doors that are open right now.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Vinith N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome tour!! We were worried about finding the place where the tour starts, but we got off at the Ottaviano Metro stop A Line, and asked around for the entrance to the Vatican museum. People are helpful, and we saw a bunch of people with writing pads on the steps near the entrance - they were the tour people. The guide was excellent - he happened to be one of the people the Vatican hires to restore sculptures, and he knew them inside out. He explained the paintings inside the Sistine Chapel using color printouts before we entered the Sistine Chapel, because that is one place in the Vatican where neither photography not talking is allowed. The Vatican palace itself is stunning, and the St Peter's Basilica is incredibly beautiful and it is huge. The guide was very academic and yet personal in his explanation of everything, and answered questions very patiently. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Grace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Alexandra was a great guide, giving us lots of stories about the artwork, artists, popes, and history. She was entertaining and informative. The Vatican is amazing, the Sistine Chapel wondrous, and St. Peter's Basilica fantastic!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Grace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Alexandra was a great guide, giving us lots of stories about the artwork, artists, popes, and history. She was entertaining and informative. The Vatican is amazing, the Sistine Chapel wondrous, and St. Peter's Basilica fantastic!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Jiwon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I enjoyed this tour. The tour guide was very informative. She explained the art works in the Sistine Chapel in detail.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

jody p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding! Damien was a terrific guide. My neck still hurts from looking at the amazing ceiling murals. Sistine Chapel was awesome but almost every other room had awesome ceilings as well

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

You can't go to Rome and not seeing the Vatican. Everything is beautiful in Vatican From Museum, to Sistine Chapel and St. Peter.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

jujuuvm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was really wonderful to be on as our guide provided so much useful background information and history on the Sistine Chapel and Michelangelo's work there. He also navigated us through skipping the lines, and going through all of the Vatican Museums and St. Peter's, while pointing out some of the most important things to see in each place we visited. The area was very crowded, and I was awed by all of the information and seeing the Sistine Chapel and Pieta in person! You should not leave Rome without this experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Jason O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very basic service here. Gets you in and past the lines and then they set you free. The museum is huge, we spent 4 hours in there and didn't see all of it. So much to look at it actually becomes hard to see as you go into sensory overload. The Sistine Chapel is amazing, only drawback is all the people talking and taking pictures as the guards tell them not to. Be ready to spend all day looking at everything.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Robert C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ettori is a wonderful guide -- knowledgable, witty, and enthusiastic. We really enjoyed his careful selection of highlights and attention to our questions. There were so many people at the Vatican museums, St. Peter's and the Sistine Chapel that I do not think we could have managed it without his guidance. We really appreciated his expertise and careful navigation of the crowds.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

katie.royer09

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Linda did an amazing job. She was personable and very knowledgeable about the Sistine Chapel, Vatican Museum and St. Peter's Basilica. She kept the tour interesting and guided us well. Thank you so much!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Fadi M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sylvia Group! We enjoyed our tour completely thanks to our charming and informative group leader, Sylvia! What a joy it was to pass up the looooong line heading into the Vatican museums and Sistine Chapel, plus get all the inside scoop from someone so passionate and knowledgeable about every aspect of our tour. Thanks Sylvia! You made our experience unforgettable!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Stuart S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

first tour in the morning before the July heat. Great tour guide. Very informative and allowed plenty of private time in the Sistine chapel

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Emmanuella took us through the Vatican museum, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's with great information and was very friendly and accommodating. Without this tour we would have roasted in the extreme heat and sun for 3 hours, waiting our turn to enter!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Debra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guide was really lovely and very informative and knowledgable in the art pieces throughout the museum and church
She was very respectful of the Sistine chapel rules of no speaking and no photos but gave us info of what to look out for whilst in there was a bit of fun trying to locate all the items

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Vincenza A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour. We saw so much in just a few hours. Very organized and excellent tour guide. Gave us so much info ion The Vatican, St Peters and the Sistine Chapel. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

thecleaves

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour - very informative and wonderful way to see the Vatican and Sistine Chapel.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Paul Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I am very glad we skipped that line!!! Wow! Our tour guide Elena was very knowledgeable and nice. It was very hot and a bit of a challenge for my two young boys, but hopefully they will remember being in the Sistine Chapel! Thanks!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Todd United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We a family with 2 teenagers took this tour with Igor, who was an outstanding guide. Igor not only understood the Vatican and its artworks in great detail, but he also clearly has a deep understanding of Byzantine, renaissance, and baroque art history. The result was a fantastic education not only about the artwork we saw in the Vatican collection, but also the historical and political contexts that influenced the artists and the content of their works. I highly recommend this tour - especially as an introduction to the Vatican museums / Sistine Chapel / St. Peter's.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Ronald J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is THE tour. It was wonderful. Ludwig was our guide. He is first class. We learned an incredible amount from his beautiful told stories and gentle demeanor. I have heard great reviews about other guides, but Ludwig was TOPS! Earphone in one ear worked great. A wonderful 1/2 day! Sistine Chapel was fantastic we did not feel rushed, We got to go to the Tombs of the Popes under St. Peter's and then St. Peters. LUDWIG the best!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Jo W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a spectacular visit. The Vatican and Sistine Chapel are two must-do activities when in Rome, and this was the best way to see them. Our guide was quite friendly and knowledgeable. She used earbuds so everyone could hear her. My only complaint was that it was incredibly crowded, even with the early access, limited tour. I certainly would not have wanted to do this tour with even more people.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Andrew W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Vatican and Sistine Chapel are amazing and are a must see.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing. i could not now imagine walking through the vatican with no tour guide or with just a headset. We got such personalized information and the ability to ask questions when you wanted to was added bonus! Our guide was a PhD in architecture so we got so much more info from that. She was spectacular. Her name was Doriana. The museums are overwhelming. The Sistine Chapel was glorious. St Peters Basilica was Jaw-dropping. Breaking for lunch was a treat and there are many deals to be found around the vatican just need to find the right person handing out the right flyer, we were even walked to the restaurant where we got salad, past, drink, and dessert for 10E. The afternoon trips to the other 3 Papal basilicas and the Holy stairs was just a treat, the bus was great and they even let you shop note: if you can buy FAST then do it on your trip through the museums bc there is very little to no time for shopping and the souvenir shop on your way to the basilica does not have the same books or rosaries. The entire day was amazing!! also Note: the full day im sure we walked between 20-25km. so be ready and wear really good shoes!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Thomas W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really made the right choice.....ability to skip the line was huge, we were immediately recognized when we got to the meeting point, we had a great tour guide.....a perfect way to see the Sistine Chapel. Highly recommend paying the extra s to get the private tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

Ronald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Vatican a nightmare of tourists in the summer. If you can skip visiting Italy in the summer, do it, otherwise do this tour. The tour goes into the art Museum, Sistine Chapel, the Tomb of the Popes, and St Peter and #39;s Basilica. I and #39;d recommend this to anyone visiting Rome the first time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message