Michelangelo is considered one of Tuscany’s most famous sons, but many of the masterpieces for which is he is best known are not found in Tuscany. In fact, Michelangelo spent much of his life in what is now the Italian capital of Rome, and you can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3704 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Matthew E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We signed up for this tour at the recommendation of a friend primarily to bypass the huge lines outside the Vatican. Great idea because those lines were huge even at 9am. It was clear that our guide, and art historian, knew what she was talking about as she recounted stories about the art that we saw. Seeing the Sistine Chapel was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, and this tour was absolutely worth it.

A couple points to pay attention to - the meeting point is on the north side of the Vatican, near the museum entrance. I hadn't realized initially, so I had initially planned to show up at the front entrance until I double checked the tour information the day before. The group met across the street and down a hill from the museum entrance, which was a bit confusing, but we figured it out.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great day, skipping the lines on a rainy day was really helpful. Speed of tour about right to see the museums and Sistine Chapel. Audio equipment supplied meant we could get some insight to the exhibits and kept as close to our guide in a very busy attraction. Luckily the rain had stopped when we left St.Peters, but it was quite a long walk back to the bus. The bus did do 'drop offs' as we went back through Rome to Terminii station. A good day and worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel Tour

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was so great skipping the line and going right into the Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel before the crowds built up. It was somewhat crowded by the time we got into St. Peter's Basilica but not too bad. Our guide Francesca was excellent! She started out the tour with some history of The Vatican and museums, etc. She spoke perfect English and was very easy to hear her and understand what she was saying. She's very friendly and very informative. I highly recommend this tour with Francesca!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Ann-Marie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We made our way to the meeting point and located our guide Patricia. We were provided with headsets to hear her during the tour. Once inside, we had a few minutes to use the facilities before we began. It was quite crowded, but, we were able to hear her with the provided headsets. Patricia was very informative. We were there on Wednesday, so St Peters Basilica and square were closed. However, there was a massive rain storm while we were touring the Vatican museums. It had stopped by the time we got to the Sistine chapel. The tour ended at the Sistine chapel, as there is no talking permitted while inside there. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Judy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was fantastic. Getting into the Sistine Chapel and Vatican without standing in line was perfect. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Carolyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic this 3 hour tour takes you to every part of the Sistine Chapel, and St Peters Bascillia, our guide Gigi was amazing, his humour and knowledge was fantastic, he made the tour . We walked past all the lines to get in early and had a head start on everyone. Fantastic !,

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Dale B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour. Tour guide was very knowledgeable. The skip the line feature was very beneficial you will see when you first observe the long lines outside the entrance to the Vatican Museums. The Vatican is a must see attraction in Rome. The Sistine Chapel and St Peter's basilica are beyond description.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Melissa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Sara N was our tour guide and she was just fabulous! Very friendly and full of amazing knowledge on the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. I would highly recommend the Small Group tour as it gives you the ability to get up close and ask questions of the tour guide. Sara was great!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Brad N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

City Wonders, the tour operator are extremely well organized and pros. This tour is exactly what you want when you go to the Vatican. Our group wasn't too big, but not too small either. Walking through the Gallery of The Maps and Raphael Rooms were definite highlights.

The Sistine Chapel was kind of a mess, but embrace the experience and try and focus on the art on the ceiling rather than the packed crowds. I would 100 book this tour again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

krothk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic. So worth it. Shannon was a terrific guide. To see the Sistine Chapel with no other group inside it was tremendously helpful: she could talk us through the key elements, which is not permitted when there are large groups. We would have been happy to reduce the amount of time spent on sculpture, but would recommend it, and have, to everyone we meet on their way to Rome.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Noel United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Nice 3 hour tour. It was a bit rushed, but our tour guide was very informative and we did skip a long queu. However it was a bit rushed, but it was only a 3 hour tour. We stayed in the museum per her recommendation to avoid having to queu again outside the Basilica. It was due to open at 1 pm through the Sistine Chapel. After lunch we traced our steps to the Sistine chapel and went in the Basilica in less time as she recommended. Well worth the money paid.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Lucas O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Agata was a good guide. Informative, easy to understand her English and captivating. This was a very good tour as it showed you and taught you the important parts of the Vatican museum and skipping the line. VERY nice. It is a huge museum and you can get lost and not understand what is going on without a guide. Then you get a pamphlet and in detail description of the Sistine Chapel. NO TALKING AND NO PICTURES INSIDE. Very great experience. After the Vatican and Sistine chapel you get to go into St. Peter's Basilica. Very interesting and SO big religiously moving if you are catholic and you ay be able to catch a mass at 12:00 when the tour finishes. If you buy anything from the gift shops, do it with the nuns, but make sure you open any rosary to see if all pieces are included. I got a rosary with no cross. Upstairs of the gift shop is much better and less crowded if you want to go up there.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Diane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a must do place to visit on every bodies list, and Skip the line helps as there are nearly always long queues. Our guide, Stephanie, was very interesting and made sure we got the most out of our trip. Even though the Gods were against us as the heavens opened and we all got soaked going from the Sistine Chapel to the Basilica

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

David W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was David. He was extremely knowledgeable of the Vatican and the history behind everything we saw. His explanations made the professional tour totally worth it. Also, as I left the Vatican museum I walked past the line to get in... it was huge. I'm not sure if this is normal, but skipping that line was completely worth the cost of this tour that line had to be at least a 2 hour wait. The museum halls artwork, sculptures, tapestries were beautiful and the Sistine Chapel lived up to the hype. Mother Teresa was made a saint the day before our tour, so St. Peter's was closed and excluded from our tour. A bummer, but it opened before I left Vatican City. Do not miss St. Peter's, it was the most impressive part of the City.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Teja G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Guys you need to do SKIP THE LINE in ROME, i watched the line, if you do not have pre booked tickets, you will be waiting 2 hours on peak times just to go into the Museums, and you will not get the added benefits SKIP THE LINE provides, with early access and different paths to see the attractions. We had a wonderful guide, that spoke English very well, and articulated the many points of Michelangelo and the beauty of the Vatican that many tourists may realize. The tour, gave us many options with the times we wanted to go, and I would definitely recommend going earlier then later, as the Vatican can get packed. Don't forget that they do allow pictures with no flash, and when your with the the tour navigating and understanding the Vatican is a breeze, at the end of the tour, you will feel like a Vatican Expert! I would highly recommend this tour, just because of the effectiveness of Skip the Line pass, and the wonderful work by our English speaking guide, making transitioning between the museum and Sistine chapel and st peters basilica a breeze, while also showing us prime photo locations!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Matthew R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was great for anyone who wants to get to see the most famous parts of the Vatican Sistine Chapel, St Peters, and some important works of art in the museums on the way, and lots of other places too. Our tour guide was Barbara, who was very friendly and knowledgeable, and was able to answer all our questions. She knew how to get the best out of our visit there, with good advice on what else to do once the tour finished. I would strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

chalaph

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and I did many tours during our 1-1/2 weeks in Rome and this was the greatest of them all. I am not Catholic, but I left this tour with an immense urge to learn more about the Catholic church history.

Couple things to know about this long day:
The first 3-1/2 hrs are spent with a guide walking through the Vatican Museum, the Sistine Chapel, and St Peter's Church. If you are claustrophobic or don't like being in large crowds, this is not the tour for you... instead buy an early entrance tour.
Things you didn't know COULD hurt, WILL hurt by the 2nd part of this tour. You will have about a 2 hr break before the 2nd part begins.
The 2nd part of the tour visits the 3 other Papal Basilicas in Rome. Much of this time is on a bus, transporting you from one to the next. This is a nice break, but by the last basilica you will be exhausted.

If I had the time and could do this over again, I absolutely would.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Doreen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Worth every penny. This was a very small group and there is no better way to enjoy the artwork of the Sistine Chapel. We had the luck of having Shannon as a tour guide for this tour and the Catacomb tour. Not only was she very knowledgeable, but she was extremely pleasant and very interesting. She had everyone interested in history.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

monnibonni2000 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a very crowded area to visit and we were so glad we had the skip the line tour. Our tour guide was very informative and let us take pictures when we wanted to. Disappointed we could not take pictures inside the Sistine Chapel but understand why. Overall very informative tour which got a little boring at times if you've seen as many Churchs and museums as we have but we got to see what we wanted and had a good time overall for as hot of a day as what it was.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent , good guide, good pace very informative . Vatican Museums great as was St Peters and the Sistine Chapel. Highly recommend the small group tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Laura L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Definitely do the full day of the Vatican, the vatican museum part is interesting but the sistine chapel, St peter's basilica and the other basilica's of the vatican are amazing and so worth seeing. Highly recommended but make sure to do it with City Wonders because they are very well organized and do smaller groups. They also will do groups of all one language speaking instead of repeating the information numerous times in different languages. they are wonderful. Only downside is sometimes there isn't enough time to see as much as you'd like because there is SO much amazing things to see, but they do AMAZING job of showing you the best of the best and telling you so much about it all.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Paul P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide, Francesca, made our tour very memorable. We were disappointed that we were unable to see inside of St Peter's due to the fact that the Pope was holding an event but we spend more time in the vast Vatican Museum. The Sistine Chapel was quite breathtaking to experience. The crowds of people was overwhelming and a private tour does not mean that there are not crowds and crowds of people - only that your group is smaller than some. Francesca was enthusiastic and so knowledgable and really make our experience one to remember.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Dava S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

UNBELIEVABLE!!! Can you possibly imagine an empty Sistine Chapel? Where you can listen to your guide talk about all the fresco's? And take photos? Worth the trip to Rome. Would absolutely do it again if I ever return to Rome. Will recommend it to any one that will listen! I would have paid double.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Spectacular tour. Skipped the long lines and walked right in. Our guide was so passionate, knowledgable and expressive! The Basilica, the Vatican Museums and especially the Sistine Chapel all will not soon be forgotten. Thank you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

FNU R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Will definitely recommend. Skip the line will save your time plus our tour guide was really knowledgeable providing us some great historic insights of Vatican museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peters Basilica church. Will highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message