Michelangelo is considered one of Tuscany’s most famous sons, but many of the masterpieces for which is he is best known are not found in Tuscany. In fact, Michelangelo spent much of his life in what is now the Italian capital of Rome, and you can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3631 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Choreogold

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I cannot say enough about City Wonders, and specifically, our guide, Federica. We liked her so much on our Skip the Line Colosseum Tour, that when we found out she was going to be one of the guides on the day of our Vatican tour, we requested her immediately upon arrival. We went in Augustheight of tourist season and heat, and could not have been more thrilled. The directions to meet with your tour group are perfect and everyone was on time. I highly suggest bringing your own earphones because the ones provided on both of the tours are uncomfortable. Our guide, Federica was knowledgeable and passionate about her city and everything it had to offer. We loved listening to her descriptions of the artwork and basilica because she did it in a way that took you on a journey, rather than being given a bunch of facts. Her English was superb, her demeanor delightful and the sheer amount of knowledge was astounding. She answered every question asked, and was concerned for her tour members in a very crowded and warm Vatican. Skipping the line in August is worth EVERY PENNY! City Wonders has a personal relationship with The vatican, so we skipped other skip the line tours. The sights are, without a doubt, superb. The Basilica and Sistine Chapel are unbelievable even when you are staring right at them. Thank you for making Rome so enjoyable!

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Joseph M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

So if the only thing this tour got you was to be able to skip the line it would be worth the money. We booked the early morning tour and when we got to the museums the lines were already around the corner and down the street. A gentlemen was announcing to people arriving that from where they were it was 4 hours to the museum doors. We met up with our tour guide 10 minutes before our tour began and got our headphones hooked up so we would be able to hear the guide. Promptly at our tour start time we stepped off and were headed for the museum entrance, past the hoards of people and through the doors, no lines for us. The majority of the tour is in the main museum, with the tour guide giving interesting facts and tidbits about the tens of thousands of pieces found here. It felt like we were running though the museum, but we hit all the main points and important pieces, and got lots of good information. The tour ends with the Sistine Chapel and St. Peters which were absolutely amazing. When the tour ends you have the ability to stroll back through the museum or stay at St. Peters and exit through the front of the Vatican. All in all it was a great experience and I would highly recommend these tours to anybody interested in seeing the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

marietagundova

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The best way to visit Vatican museums and Sistine Chapel. We loved it! The group was small and explanations very professional and personal. We have visited areas that are not opened for public at all like private rooms of pope and best part is visit of Sistine chapel after working hours, all alone! Thank you

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Nicola P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Christina our tour guide was fantastic - she new so much about history, religion and the buildings! We were a large group and it was very busy but she made sure she knew all of our names and managed to keep the group together throughout which was quite a job.
The museums and basilica were amazing to see, finding out more about Michelangelo and the paintings was fascinating.
I would recommend you take water with you as some of the rooms can get very warm with so many people - 3hours is just right in my opinion as there is so much to take in - a fantastic tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Tammi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Skip the line is the only way to go. There was a line about 200 people deep waiting at 8 am to get in and with Skip the Line you walk right in front of them. Very nice. History of the museum was kind of a reminder lesson only because we are Catholic. St. Peters, and the Sistine Chapel were BEAUTIFUL- No photos or talking in the Sistine though, as well as you MUST mind the dress code!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Marie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This amazing tour was worth every penny. Our guide was very professional and knowledgeable. We saw parts of the museums that were not open to any other tours but most importantly, the time in the Sistine Chapel WITHOUT THE CROWDS was priceless! There were 9 of us and that included the guide and the guard! The paintings were explained, the anecdotal stories were entertaining. We were allowed to take photos. What an experience! Do not hesitate, this is DEFINITELY worth the price!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Lyl U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was perfect. There wasn't that many people in our group and we had a headset. I had been to the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica before without a tour or skipping the line. If you are looking for a fast and easy way this tour is the way to go. We did not wait in line at all for the entrance to the Vatican museums. This tour was better than your own because the tour guide explained a lot more.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

June M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you want the inside scoop on the real Michelangelo and Raphael plus hear stories about the Pope's of the Middle ages and how the Vatican came to be, then take this tour. Our guide, Tiffany, was extremely knowledgeable and presented her information in a way that made the tour through the Vatican Museums, the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's more of an adventure than a hike through time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Marilyn N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Extremely thorough tour of the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's. In the summer it's quite hot and crowded with all the other tours and guides, but worth it to see the Sistine Chapel and the works of Raphael School of Athens!. Don't miss the map room, which is reminiscent of Versailles Hall of Mirrors but more erudite. One could spend years in these places studying the art. But this was a great overview.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Carmelo G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Assunta Leonardi did an outstanding job educating us, maintaining a good pace, and conveying historical and interesting information about the Vatican Museums and objects, the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. She was patient with our children, who were the youngest members of the tour group. She had a portfolio of photographs and information she shared with us before we went into the relevant buildings that really enhanced our understanding and enjoyment of the places she showed us.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Emily H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide Francesca is an art history scholar and very knowledgeable. She spoke excellent English and we had radios to hear all her commentary. We did indeed 'skip the lines' which was a blessing considering 25,000 people go through the Sistine chapel every day! A great tour, worth every penny.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Itzel Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Sistine Chapel was absolutely gorgeous! The evening tour was calm and I was able to see the Sistine Chapel in a different manner. My tour guide was knowledgable and had a lot of fun tidbits and information. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Itzel Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Sistine Chapel was absolutely gorgeous! The evening tour was calm and I was able to see the Sistine Chapel in a different manner. My tour guide was knowledgable and had a lot of fun tidbits and information. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Madison K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I would recommend this tour and company to any friends traveling to Rome. Jacqueline was such a great guide. We got to skip the security line into the Vatican Museum. She gave the perfect amount and type of information you would want for a visit to Rome. A highlight is that she had laminated sheets of the images in the Sistine Chapel. Before going in she explained all of it and gave us things to focus on bc there is so much in there. Then she set us free for 20 min in there to see what we wanted to see. I liked this in comparison to other groups I saw whose guides were talking to them in the chapel, nice to do what you wanted to do! She was also great about giving us bathroom breaks and being accommodating. This was one of the best decisions we made in our pilgrimage to Rome!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Stuart P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Take a small group tour and you will spend less time waiting for someone who is slow or gets lost! The Vatican is crazily busy, insanely busy, unpleasantly busy. This tour ticked all the boxes and crossed the Vatican off the list as pleasantly as it could be. The guide was a Catholic but the history was honest and not sanitised - which was refreshing. There is such splendour and the size and scale is awe inspiring - but did I mention it is busy, packed, a sardine tin would be spacious compared to the Sistine Chapel.
This tour makes the very best of a bad lot. I am not Catholic, in fact I am not religious at all but the mass of tourists show no absolutely no respect when in the Churches constantly talking and taking photos. At least with this tour we really did skip some very big lines and if you want to tour the Vatican this is a very good way of doing so.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

VR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great tour! Our tour guide knew a lot about the artwork and was able to answer our questions. His preview of this Sistine Chapel since we are not allowed to talk inside was very informative and also entertaining! Some things beyond the control of this tour included the very crowded atmosphere and the heat probably worse due to the crowd, but I'm led to believe it's like that often. As far as the tour goes, I left feeling both awed and enriched by the experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Wendy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great, the guide very knowledgeable , we went through the Sistine Chapel no photos to be taken in here, beautiful art, we went into St Peters Basilica a lot of people but you get to see everything and you can stay and wander around when the tour is finished.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Alycia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

1 best thing I booked my entire Italy trip. Not only was our guide Laura fantastic, but part of the benefit of this guided tour is skipping the lines. Even those with tickets to the Vatican Museums still waited for 2 hours to get in! I learned more about the museums, St Peters and the Sistine Chapel through the tour than I would have ever learned in a book or a separate audio tour. This was a FANTASTIC experience and I recommend it to anyone planning a trip to the Vatican.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Martha P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Vatican Museum is a must see. There are a lot of art galleries and museums in Rome that are worth seeing, most of them have more art to view than the Vatican Museum. However, the Sistine Chapel still amazes me after seeing it for the third time. Our tour guide was amazing. She was animated, thorough and good with my kids even though it was not a kids tour. The only problem with the tour is not with the tour, but with the crowds. It was so hot and so crowded. We knew if would be this way and were prepared.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Yvette C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was very informational however I got lost after the Sistine Chapel but overall it was great and I enjoyed the tour-would go again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

rogersgood

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour. The art work in the museum, the Sistine Chapel and St Peters was fantastic. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. Really helped us understand what we were seeing. A bit overwhelming if we did this on our own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

sanshella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The meeting place was very easy to locate on the large concrete steps next to the famous Cafe Vaticano. Have the ice cream there! We met our guide at the steps easily identifiable by their uniforms and together we walked across to the Vatican museum. The guide was an Archaeologist, very knowledgeable, professional and very friendly. She was happy to answer all our questions and even took time out to give us a spill on the Sistine Chapel. Highly recommend Viator for its professional and excellent guided tours. We were not rushed through by the guide and we were able to go back into the Sistine chapel on our own. Would we use Viator again, Yes!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

hospitalar2001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the best tour of our vacation. How can you beat a half hour in the Sistine Chapel with only 14 people! We got to take pictures as well. The tour included a lot of in depth information about the other exhibits in the Vatican museum and the guide had a great knowledge and attitude toward our entire group. She even gave my wife and I a great recommendation for dinner!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Cheri J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a MUST-DO tour! I have several friends who have seen the Sistine Chapel and they always complain about the crowds of people and the guards rushing/moving people along. This tour allowed us to be in the Sistine Chapel with just our family for almost 45 minutes. It was a religious experience in itself! Plus you get to see things like a former pope's bedroom and a private chapel where popes pray. Absolutely incredible.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

thepisanos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide, Agnes was extremely friendly, passionate and knowledgeable and having her meant we were able to focus on the important works of art in a very expansive museum. Nothing can prepare you for the beauty of the Sistine Chapel or the oppulence of St. Peter's - definitely a must-see if traveling to Rome. Highly recommend purchasing a Skip the Line tour as the security lineups are very long during peak season and there is no shade to stand in while in line. Also, the museum and chapel are not air-conditioned so if you are going in the summer, go early as the heat and crowds can be overwhelming.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message