Michelangelo is considered one of Tuscany’s most famous sons, but many of the masterpieces for which is he is best known are not found in Tuscany. In fact, Michelangelo spent much of his life in what is now the Italian capital of Rome, and you can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3777 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Linda M S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Perfect way to enjoy this amazing location. Tour guides bring the art, history and people to life with their in depth knowledge. The 3 hour tour was just right. Having the head sets with ear phones, allowed us to easily hear the guide speak while not having to stay right beside her. we started at the vatican museums, which were amazing. Guide was great in calling out the highlights in the maze of rooms. We had enough time in the Sistine chapel, and prior to entry were told what to look for so we could just quietly study this masterpiece. .Recommend the smaller group tour, and early access. also I think trip was nicer in off season as things were busy but not crammed. Plenty of space to look around. Short lines.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Christy United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide was very good. We used head sets, but she spoke clearly and gave very good information. The tour is long, but there was a stop mid-way through for snack or restrooms. The tour covers the various rooms in the Museum, the Papal apartments, the Sistine Chapel, the Basilica and the square in the front. She guided us to various activities to do after the tour and we chose to climb to the top of the Dome. You can walk all 500 steps or ride the elevator. It was well worth the time to go see the city from the top. We could then go back in St. Peters and spend more time at various sites that interested us.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Super tour with an excellent guide. The explanations were very good and the trip to the Sistine chapel was well researched and extremely interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Alan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour included a highly knowledgeable guide, with headphones so we could hear her. While We saw the line to get into the Vatican Museum stretch down the street and around the block, we had a preset time to enter, with our tickets already purchased through the tour. Through our guide you not only see some of the world's most incredible art, but you learn the history behind the work. The Sistine Chapel is beyond words! While photos are allowed in the rooms of the Vatican Museum and is St. Peter's, photos are NOT allowed in the Sistine Chapel. St Peter's was the highlight of our time on the tour. The beauty and history of the church was emotionally moving. I recommend this tour to see all you need to see, and get it done in half a day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

rilde1313

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour! Our guide met us exactly where we were told, and she was extremely knowledgeable about the everything the Vatican has to offer! We had a great time and spent a good 2-3 hours with our guide learning all about the different rooms and buildings, as well as seeing top sites like the Sistine Chapel and La Pieta. Not to mention the perk of getting in before the crowds! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

nicole Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic!! We had the fortune to have the world's most entertaining tour guide GiGi. He was hilarious and made the tour a great deal of fun. No one should go to Rome and not see the Sistine Chapel and St Peter's, and I thoroughly recommend the early access small group as the way to go, as otherwise you will be lining up for HOURS. GiGi took us through the Vatican museum and his knowledge of history and the personal stories behind the art and the many Popes who built the collection made the tour memorable. It's a must-do.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Hosam A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour covered the Vatican museums, sistine chapel and St Peter and #39;s basilica. Fantastic tour and highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Luke W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Stephania was a great guide. Her knowledge on all things Vatican was great and her stories really made the tour! The Vatican Museums are amazing to see and the Sistine Chapel is something you have to see at least once in your lifetime!
St Peter's Basilica is awe inspiring to see, and if you are not afraid of small spaces, heights or 500 steps it is well worth climbing Michelangelo's dome for one of the best views in Rome!
Would recommend this tour and Stephania to anybody who wants to see the Vatican area.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

liz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We did this tour on the morning of the day we did the colosseum at night tour. The directions for meeting place were easy to follow even though we got lost almost daily in Rome. The Vatican museum and Basilica as expected were extremely crowded and being able to skip the line was glorious. Our tour guide was fantastic and very personable. When going through the Sistine Chapel please remember to look up! It was literally so crowded that I was worried about getting separated from my husband that I almost didn't look up. I recommend this tour and doing it on the same day as the later Colosseum at night tour gave us plenty of time to explore the city and have a great lunch near the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Edward J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This really was a GREAT tour - try not to miss it! It was a small group w/ a fantastic well informed guide.
In fact the tour guide was exceptional. We went into areas not open to the general public and had the Sistine Chapel
all to ourselves. It was more than worth the time and money spent.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Daniel H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a MUST DO! Everything about it was special. You can not under estimate the value of being in the Sistine Chapel on your own simply AMAZING! This tour well worth every penny.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

exprez35

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Getting into the Vatican as some of the first groups made this tour so much more enjoyable. The Sistine Chapel is amazing and being able to see it with a smaller crowd allows you to take in the masterpiece that it is.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

michelle o

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

An amazing tour and excellent value, we learned so much about the Sistine Chapel that we wouldnt have known without the fantastic Lucia.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

Kathleen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Lindy was an excellent tour guide for our visit to the Vatican Museums with St. Peter's and the Sistine Chapel! It was wonderful to avoid the long, long lines to enter the Vatican. Everything went smoothly and we could not have been more pleased. Lindy was extremely knowledgeable and fun to tour with and listen to. She is enthusiastic and clearly loves what she does and it makes the experience much more enjoyable!! Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

sirmonshouse

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing, wonderful, fabulous, stupendous...I could go on and on. We loved everything about this tour, with one exception. The crowds were unreal. That's not the fault of anyone since this is a must-see in Roma. We saw the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's. It was glorious! My suggestion is to book an early tour so you can enjoy the Square during the day and perhaps miss some of the crowds. It was very beautiful at night, so either way, you will be pleased. Our guide, Alberto, was funny, kind and engaging. He offered us a ton of information. It was all relevant and fascinating. Don't hesitate to book this tour. You won't regret it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Shanti S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a fantastic tour and our tour guide Elena was brilliant!! She patiently explained all the facts that we needed to know as first timers to the Vatican. Additionally, her art history background was most helpful in helping us understand the frescoes especially in the Sistine Chapel and other priceless artwork. However, please be aware that this is a walking tour with very few rest breaks.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

angnealy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide was fantastic, she was articulate and knowledgeable. I do wish there was more than 15 minutes in the Sistine Chapel - we could have stayed - however it was not explained to us that from the Sistine Chapel our headsets would be collected and we'd enter St Peter's independently. If we had known that, we would have stayed to enjoy the chapel much longer.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Tina W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Definitely the only way to see the Vatican. Our guide was very good--he kept a good pace, answered all questions, and discussed the highlights of the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's Basilica. Our small group could hear our guide easily with the headphones he provided.
We have visited before during regular hours, and it was so crowded that we couldn't see anything or hear our guide.The early access and small group format made all the difference.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Lynnette L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Awesome to be able to view in private, small group, the Sistine Chapel and Vatican rooms. I wanted more to see even more, to be able to go into St. Peter's also with this tour would have been great.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Elisa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I visited with my two teenage kids. I've been to the Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel many times and I knew the kids would get saturated with a detailed guided tour. But we didn't want to stand in line half the day. I booked this ticket just to skip the line, but explore the museums on our own. It was very easy to find the guide. The description of the meeting location on the confirmation was very clear. They had an Apple Wallet option, but I also printed the confirmations just in case. Apple Wallet worked fine. City Wonders tour company wears very distinctive blue jackets, easy to spot from a distance. All of the tour guides near the steps by the steps across the street from the Museum entrance are very helpful. They all know each other and will help you find the correct group. Entry and security was fairly quick, but very crowded. The guide has to purchase your entry tickets after security. If you have children under 18, be prepared for the guide to take the children to the ticket window as a group and leave the adults. The employees have to see the children in person when the guide purchases your entry tickets -- for the child price. Some of the parents in our group had younger children under 12 years old and were not comfortable letting their children go in this big group with only one adult through the huge crowd. The guide was very accommodating in allowing a parent to accompany the younger children to the ticket window. Once we got our tickets, we were free to enter the museum. It worked very well for those who want to explore on their own. The guide did provide a map showing the highlights of the museum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Martin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

5/5
Our guide for the Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel was Tiffany. She was an excellent guide, extremely knowledgeable and actually made art interesting for two people who had previously not really shown an interest in art. The Vatican Museums are full of so many exhibits that you would get lost without a guide like Tiffany, who showed us the highlights and she also detailed every inch of the Sistine Chapel before we entered, so we actually knew what we were looking at and understood why it is the attraction tourists flock to. Same as the Raphael rooms, although she is able to speak with us inside those.

Went on two excellent tours, highly recommended. Would use the company again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Rebecca F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Highly recommended, I advise getting an earlier tour as the tours start before the 'public' entrance begins so it may be a little quieter. This is a good excursion to do if there is bad weather - it is all inside. The Sistine Chapel is beautiful, worth the visit - although I was a bit frustrated that people did not follow the no talking or photographs rule, I feel it ruined the atmosphere a little bit. Even some tour guides continued not this one which I thought was pretty rude. St Peter's Basilica is amazing. I particularly enjoyed seeing the size markers where other well known cathedrals would be in comparison. Wear comfortable footwear - there is lots of walking and standing and extremely limited places to sit.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Gerald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Truly an amazing tour. We were actually able to see and were even invited to take photographs in the Sistine Chapel as long as we didn't lay on the floor. Wow!!! Truly a once in a lifetime opportunity and well worth the lots of pennies we spent of our travel budget to see.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

michellelewien

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was brilliant..! Worth every cent to get into the Sistine Chapel in a small group for 30mins..! Once in a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Philip S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent tour, good commentary and you do skip the lines. Sistine Chapel is amazing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message