The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2622 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

One of the highlights of our 9 day trip to Rome. The guide Laura was amazing and funny. We were not rushed but covered a lot of ground in one day. She was very knowledgeable about both sites and provided detailed answers to our questions.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

janet m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

excellent tour fantastic views of the Bay of Naples walking up Mount Vesuvius. Enjoyed the neapolitan pizza.We loved Pompeii which was a great finish to this great tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

JAHAN LEENA M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Had the most amazing time. The tour company tour guide was fantastic, agreeable and knowledgeable. We got plenty of time to soak in the views and take pictures, while not feeling rushed. The pace was great, and totally worth the money. The itinerary was perfect and eventful enough to make us feel like we had seen a substantial amount. Despite the rain, the cheery disposition of the guide kept was feeling happy and content in beautiful Tuscany. : I will be coming back for sure!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

ptom_01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Can and #39;t say enough about this one. Our guides Kylie and Dimitry did an great job preparing us for the visit with an informative and entertaining history lesson. The local guide at Pompeii was a hoot. A word of caution about Vesuvius, it and #39;s a steep climb but the good thing is the climb isn and #39;t required.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

James W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My wife, son and I had a great day out. It was fascinating to learn about Pompeii and our tour guide Enzo was extremely engaging the whole time we were there. The afternoon spent climbing Vesuvius was breath taking in more ways than one and all in all it was an unforgettable experience. I'm sure it won't be for everyone, but if you're interested in the subject matter as we were, you'll find going with a good tour guide is the best way to experience it.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Lisa T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was fantastic! Our tour guide Anna was incredible. So friendly and funny. She even took the time at the end of the trip to come and talk to each one of us on the bus to answer personal questions. The hike to the top of Mount Vesuvius was amazing. It's steep, but not very far, so almost anyone would be able to do it. Our tour guide at Pompeii, Enzo, was really wonderful. He provided just enough information, but also periodically gave us free time to explore and take pictures. We were lucky that we went on a day that wasn't very busy and the weather was perfect Nov 16, 2016. I would definitely recommend this day trip to anyone visiting Rome. It was the highlight of our trip!!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

deb c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Anna was a thoroughly entertaining and informative guide who really made this trip fabulous with her great sense of humour. this was further complimented by our wonderful bus driver Masimo and Enzo the very knowledgeable guide at Pompeii - a tour with a great pace and a wonderful way to experience the history of ancient times - would highly recommend

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

SONIA M C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was an amazing experience. I just love Pompeii. I really recommend Viator, very professional, experienced guides, a lot of interesting information.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Rhonda L O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our trip to Pompeii was wonderful. The guide was fantastic and we learned so much. We could not have asked for a nicer day. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Lynda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Andy was our guide and did an outstanding job! Very comfortable bus, good pizza and he was willing to help us in our tour if we had any questions. I enjoyed seeing Pompeii and all it had to offer. Vesuvius was okay but the view from the second stop was gorgeous! This trip was worth it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Christa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

An amazing day in Tuscany, with a wonderfully informative guide. Initially I had concerns because it is a 13 hour tour -- but it was such a wonderful day, visiting such fun and beautiful places, that I wished we could have stayed longer!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Amanda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really interesting site and one not to be missed. Our tour guides and driver were lovely and highly informative. The site of Pompeii is mind blowing and I look forward to a future time when I can visit it again.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

qwhites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a terrific trip to Tivoli and enjoyed the tours of Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este. We were glad we did a day trip as there is so much to see a half day trip would have been too short for us.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Carmen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide, Amanda, had fabulous tidbits of information to offer as we traveled to Mt. Vesuvius. After visiting Pompeii we headed back to Rome and were offered a lovely tasting of Limoncello! Yum!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Charles Summers S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an awesome day trip, with an amazing guide!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Wayne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour of pompeii and vesuvius we had really good guides full of information comfortable travel well worth the money would definitely do it again

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Darla G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour! We hiked up Vesuvius in the rain, not the best experience but what can you do about the weather? We weren't as prepared as we should have been for the rain and wind. Pompeii however was a great trip and our guide was a local who has lived there all his life. he was a wealth of information about the area and very interesting! Loved it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Moe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A trip of a lifetime, I know this is so common to hear, but it really was. I had wanted to travel to Italy since I was a teenager. At the ripe old age of 53 my opportunity arose. A trip to Rome was so close to Tuscany we had to go. This tour was a great touch of Tuscany. From the tour in Montalcino amongst the stone buildings and narrow cobblestone streets, hearing an aria sung by a Opera singer from the school, to Brunello wine at lunch in the winery. The final stop was in Pienza home of pecorino cheese! Our guide Becky was extremely knowlegdable of all things Italy. Her bachelors degree made our trip so fulfilling! I would highly recommend this day tour to anyone who wants to get a real italian experience in Tuscany.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

sarah.barnett6651

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

One of the highlights of our trip was this tour. The coach driver was an absolute legend, the roads leading up to Vesuvius can't have been easy to navigate! Our tour guide through the ruins of Pompeii was very witty as well as really knowing his facts.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

lovejane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a day! There is so much to see outside Rome and this tour took us to see it. Pompeii was everything we hoped it would be and Sorrentos charm has been keeping us talking ever since. Never would have been able to have this experience without this tour. Time and money well spent!

Doing what: Small-Group Pompeii and Sorrento Rail Day Trip from Rome

k2squared

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing trip that we would highly recommend to climb Mount Vesuvius and tour Pompeii. The guides were wonderful, the day was well thought out, the lunch was typical but good, and the overall experience was breathtaking. The value was great for the cost. Remember to wear good walking shoes!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Tom C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

No better way to get to Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast than the high-speed train. We got to Naples before I had even finished reading my guidebook, which I didnt need thanks to the level of information provided by Fabian and our Pompeii local guide. My wife thought Sorrento was romantic and I have to admit walking through those tiny streets I felt like we were on our honeymoon all over again. Will come again!

Doing what: Small-Group Pompeii and Sorrento Rail Day Trip from Rome

Tracy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Couldnt imagine my trip to Italy without this tour. Our fact-filled guides and the bullet train made it the easiest day of sightseeing and we did so much. Pompeii is one of the most amazing places Ive ever been to, so real. The guide Cesar knew what was under each and every stone. Sorrento was an even bigger surprise. The restaurant Cesar recommended had the most breathtaking view Ive ever seen. Nothing like this back home. The local lemon liquor limoncello was the perfect touch. Will miss Italy this winter!

Doing what: Small-Group Pompeii and Sorrento Rail Day Trip from Rome

Warren H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip is fabulous and our guide Christina went out of her way to make the tour a memorable one. The tour includes the Santa Maria Degli Angeli Basilica situated on the plain below Assisi which was really interesting as the small 13th Century church within the vast basilica is where Saint Clare and Saint Francis prayed together.a church within a church. St Francis also died in the Chapel of the Transito in the bassilica. The only disappointment in all three of the churches visited in Assisi is that photography is totally banned inside the churches. This is a ridiculous rule as we visited countless churches in Italy with the only restriction being no flash photography. It would also have been nice to have been be able to visit the picturesque early 14th Century Rocca Maggiore Castle perched on the hilltop above Assisi as tour option for those who were not that religious or on a pilgrimage to see the Saint Clare and Saint Francis Churches in Assisi.
Orvieto was also an interesting, pretty, medieval hilltop town with a magnificent Gothic church where photography is allowed inside the church. This day trip is a full 13 hour trip as you only arrive back in Rome at about 9pm but it's really worth it.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

Cosmo29

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent Day trip. We really enjoyed both visits and learned a lot from our Guide. It was nice relaxing day.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message