The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2471 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an absolutely brilliant and memorable trip worth every penny. Peter, our Italian/ American guide, really knew his stuff and was great to chat to. The older Italian guide, Enrica, was nice and helpful. The bus driver, Paulo was a master driver negotiating the tricky traffic like a pro. The pizza was great, really nice to try a different style than what we had in Rome. Pompeii was incredible with an expert guide. Mt Vesuvius was stunning and Peter was great at the top filling us in on the views and just generally great. The history of the sites are incredible! The trip brings it alive in a pleasant way. Top marks!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

gail.everitt7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent guides in Chiara and Manuelle. They possess such knowlege of Rome and the area and entertained us on the journey. Linda our guide in Pompeii was just as knowledgeable about The city and did her absolute best and got us through the very crowded streets and buildings. An excellent tour, well organised and super guides.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Rich P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The day was awesome, and our guides Manuel and Maria I think their names are were fantastic. I'd been to Rome and Pompeii before, and wish I'd had the same sort of knowledge and personalities giving a tour the first time. I would definitely recommend the tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Shai United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The highlight of my stay in Rome last week, picked this tour and glad I did, did not disappoint and definitely worth the money. Our tour guide Mikeala from City wonder tours was brilliant, she fed us with knowledge about the history of Pompeii and Vesuvius through out the day and looked after us all. She made this trip very fun and exciting with her amusing personality. The day was very long but the views from the air conditioned coach made it worth while, they were breathtaking. This tour will not disappoint you. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would pick it again .

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

shabala.m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My husband and I took the trip on the 14th Of August 2016, a Sunday. Excellent trip well organised and well executed by our lovely highly learned guide Ms Kylie. The credit for making the trip a complete success goes entirely to her. She was very disciplined and well organised and gave us plenty of information on history of Rome right from the Trojan war all along the journey. After our visit to Pompeii we had a good lunch which was a big pizza we could choose one from 3 different types and a drink of our choice included in the package. On our way to the Vesuvius, Kylie told us about the history of Vesuvius and the magma chamber beneath it and how the region around the mountain is divided into zones depending on the risk level and the government emergency plan in the event of any future eruption. She explained how the story of the eruption in 79AD was learned from eyewitness account of Pliny the younger and spoke about the two Plinys and reconstructed the entire event that lead to burying of Herculeum and Pompeii under the pyroclastic flow. She was very energetic too and accompanied us to the top of the Vesuvius without showing any sign of fatigue. She helped us spot the steam that was still coming out of crater walls and pointed out to Pompeii and the various islands like Capri,Ischia from the top of the Vesuvius. she also pointed to the path traced out on the mountains by lava that came from the last eruption in 1944. On our way back, she gave us lot of useful tips for tourists travelling and places that we must visit in Rome. She was a very kind person and helpful and very jovial. The guide in Pompeii however paled in comparison to her. He was good but when you have listened to Kylie narrate then you feel that he could have been better. Pompeii is a must visit to know how the people lived and made such great planned cities with facilities that make us wonder why was nature so cruel to such a great cultured society.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Michael L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing one day trip to Tuscany and fantastic guide Peter! Beside the trip you get so much vital information about Rome and what to be aware off and how to avoid tourist traps.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Kristján K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was everything i imagined, tuscany is one of the most beautiful regions in italy, what a sight. The tourguide peter is funny and knowledgeable, made the trip more special.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

bon.chan11

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing tour guide, enthusiastic and humorous. We had a lot of fun hiking up the Mt. Vesuvius, I made the hike with Birkenstocks but I would probably suggest some sneakers for next time. Pompeii was fascinating, our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic as well. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

sherri i

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

THIS IS A MUST!!!! If you are in Rome and looking to do something outside of the city, I HIGHLY recommend the Ponza Island tour. Kimberly was knowledgeable and fun and very helpful. The island itself is breathtakingly beautiful, so much so that the pics will never do it justice. The swims were wonderful and refreshing. We added the snorkeling gear option to the tour, which I thought was way overpriced, so I strongly suggest taking your own....and goggles alone are enough for what you'll use them for. The pasta lunch was yummy. This is an all day trip so I would definitely encourage you to take your own snacks or stop in and buy some fruit at the docks because lunch will not be enough. Again, wonderful tour with an awesome host!!

Doing what: Ponza Island Day Trip from Rome

Kevin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We booked the optional guided tour, which proved to be a great choice. Marisa was our host on the bus, and she kept us up to date with how we were progressing and what we could see out of the window.

Our guide in Pompeii was Dario: we have had a guided tour of the city before 21 years ago, but Dario was excellent, finding a way to impart lots of facts, but still make it interesting enough to keep our teenagers' attention.

The guided tour took 2 hours, and we had a further 2 hours on our own, which we used to walk to the Amphitheatre even though it was 40 degrees! I would recommend it, the place is impressive!

The icing on the cake was that the bus dropped us back in Rome, not at the Enjoy Rome office, which is a bit out of the way, but at Termini, which meant we could get straight on the bus to our hotel.

Throughout the tour each step was clearly explained to us, with timings which were adhered to, so we always knew exactly where we were going and when we were being picked up. The trip may seem like a lot of money, but it was well worth it, and was the highlight of our break in Rome.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

James E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful day experience to get a taste of Tuscany. The bus was comfortable and our guide, Claudia was very knowledgable and fun. The best part was the lunch served at the vineyard with wines. Also enjoyed the abbey and sites in Montepulciano and Pienza.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Marie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour! Very comfortable bus with interesting tour guides. The hike to the top of the volcano was challenging but doable, excited to be able to cross look into the mouth of a volcano off of my bucket list! The additional trip to Pompeii was a fascinating step back in time. The guide truly brought out what life would have been like in 79 AD. An unbelievable step back into another time!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Norman E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very comfortable ride there and back. Great tour guides! Pompeii is absolutely fascinating.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Tiffany C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great - Roberto is a treasure and made this day so special for our family. He took what could have been a boring five hour bus ride and made it interesting and kept us laughing and fascinated with his stories. Pompeii was incredible and the hike up to Mt. Vesuvius was worth it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

enecostin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Well organized. We left with 2 tour guides from Rome and they were with us all along, showing, explaining, answering questions. In Pompeii we had a special guide that walked us through, very informative. Vezuviu is a trip in itself. The lunch was over rated and the bus drive back seamed endless but overall o great experience.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Luke F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this day trip! Our guide, Luca was very fun and knowledgeable, as was our secondary guide, Ettore! Alberto, our driver was very kind and accommodating. Pompeii was fascinating and our local guide was very informative. Lunch was yummy and the hike up Vesuvius was tiring in the heat, but well worth the effort! I'm really glad I booked this tour and highly recommend it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Stéphane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful tour and very knowledgeable guides, Inga and Alessjandra. Superb commentaries, historical content which I adore. Lunch was a very good and please choose marguarita! The driver was also quite a stunt driver in that road leading to Vesuvius. The hiking on the volcano was great for someone who trains regularly like myself.... can be difficult for most though but it is worth it!!
Pompeii is extraordinary! One very slight complaint is I wish we had more free time, really 5 minutes..?
Other that my personnalise over curiousness, tour is 10/10
Again, Inga and Alessjandra are very enjoyable guides. Loved it and btw, please do take the suggestions.... food or other sites to visit while in Roma!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an amazing day. Knowledgable tour guides. Good pizza. Amazing views of Vesuvius and Pompeii. Well planned and structured tour. I think this is a great taster of Pompeii for those short for time.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Laura W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guides were very informative. I would've loved to have known some of the information about Rome before we stayed in Rome. They were so helpful in planning great restaurants and really went out of their way to answer questions

Pompeii was hot. They have only 3 plaster casts of the bodies but the architecture is amazing as were the views. The pizza wasn't anything special but was generous in portions. Would definitely do again

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really enjoyed the experience. Walking through the streets of Pompeii gave you a great sense of what it was like to live there at the time. It can be be hot and dusty this time of year so dress apprpriately. Dimitri was a great guide outside of Pompeii and enrico the Pompeii guide was incredibly knowledgeable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a great day! The bus ride from Rome is 3 hours and our guides Ahmed and Sarah were terrific. They shared lots of info but were not boring or overwhelming. We got to hike to the crater at Mt. Vesuvius after the bus drove us most of the way up the volcano. Make sure to wear closed toe shoes the path is gravel and dirt and inclined the entire way. You do need to be in decent shape to make the walk at the altitude my 80 yr old mom did it, but my 82 yr old dad felt short of breath and didn't climb . We then had a great tour in the ruins of Pompeii. It was brutally hot in Pompeii bring water, umbrella and fan - there is no shade The lunch was lousy - small, plain salad and choice of 1 of 3 pizzas. They restaurant was serving bus after busload of tourists, so the quality wasn't there, pizza seemed undercooked as waiters quickly rushed to serve everyone in the restaurant before the next bus showed up.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

aguerramx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour, and Laura is an excellent guide. The only, you thing fell short of our expectations was lunch. It was good but basically it is appetizers and pasta. Wine tasting was very good. Excellent experience with the tours to the Tuscany towns and Abby.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Trisha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was our best tour while my husband and I were honeymooning in Italy. The tour guides were named Claudia and Robert and they were amazing. They were on time and very professional. Robert especially was clearly a seasoned tour guide and was rather funny. Both tour guides gave us so many information on the culture of Rome, Pompeii, Naples, and Vesuvius during the long bus ride. They both monitored our group closely at Pompeii and at Vesuvius giving us tips and tricks along the way. The local guide was named George who again was wonderful-very informative. Then at Vesuvius my husband and I had ample time to climb to the top and enjoy the marvel that is Vesuvius. It truly is breathtaking. Then on the bus ride back to Rome once again, Robert and Claudia gave us so many valuable tips on getting around Rome-good places to eat and so many facts about Roman culture that I truly appreciated. It was such a great tour-truly a must-do!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Patric United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was hands down one of the best things I did in Rome. I was in Rome for 4 days and did not do any tours, but am very glad I did this one. Our guides were Melanie and Kyara, both of whom made the trip very exciting and interesting. They both know a lot about the history of Rome and share that knowledge with you at the beginning of the bus ride down. The bus is very comfortable, it's an air conditioned coach bus. The first stop is near the top of Mount Vesuvius. Then you get off the bus, and can climb to the summit, which is a little less than a mile. Once you get to the top, you have a great view of Naples and a great view inside the crater of Mount Vesuvius. After the climb, you get back into the bus and they take you to lunch for some Neapolitan pizza, which was absolutely delicious! Then you head over to Pompeii for a tour, which was very insightful! You also get to see a few plaster casts, which are human remains preserved from the ash of Mount Vesuvius during the fateful eruption. Then, after the tour, you head back home. On the bus ride home, Melanie and Kyara come talk to each and every person and answer any questions you have, and they make terrific suggestions on where to eat, drink, and what other sites to visit in Rome. So if you can, book this tour at the beginning of your trip so you can listen to their tips and follow through with them. We got back into Rome at around 8 PM. BOOK THIS YOUR NOW!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

John R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Well worth it, and I highly recommend the experience! The places visited on this trip are among the most picturesque imaginable, and provide a welcome diversion from the wonderful, but still... fast pace of Rome. Alessandro, our tour guide, was delightful and truly knowledgeable and he struck the right tone of being informative without being intrusive. There were plenty of opportunities to explore on one's own or simply enjoy the peacefulness and stunning landscapes of Tuscany.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message