The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2480 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

MARY W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly recommended! I loved the climb up Vesuvius. Pompeii is very cool, with many things you would expect in a modern city. Our Guide Mikaela was a lot of fun.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Xina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Inga and Alessandra were fantastic tour guides and made the trip so enjoyable. We took this tour the day before we left, otherwise I would have booked additional excursions and specifically requested them. Our party of six had a great time hiking up Mt. Vesuvius, visiting Pompeii and stopping for lunch in Naples for pizza. Recommend wearing tennis shoes for the hike. The bus was a very comfortable ride. Would highly recommend to anyone. One of our favorite tours while visiting Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Natalie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely loved it! I learnt so much in this one tour, saw so much, and gained some insight into Italy. I highly recommend this tour and the specific tour guides Kylie and Ahmed.
Take good walking shoes and if you are travelling in summer shelter your skin with long sleeved shirt or an umbrella there is limited shade in Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Rosalind M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our bus guide, Gio, was excellent, both pleasant and well-informed. The office was open when I arrived a half hour ahead of the departure time. All was clear as to times, food, admission charge, and meeting place. Of course, Pompeii itself is wonderful and definitely worth a trip. I was totally satisfied with Viator.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Dr Michael P G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We cannot recommend this tour highly enough. Not only did we a family of four, including our 8-year-old twin boys get to see the highlights of Pompeii in a two-hour informative guided tour, and a brilliant visit to the crater at the top of Vesuvius, but we were entertained and informed about Italian life, history and society by the brilliant, outstanding, kind and witty duo of Manuele and Chiara - our guides for the day - who took us all last Tuesday, 23 August. An unforgettable, wonderful day.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Filomena C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the best tour taken in Rome, our two tour guides Enrica and Peter, very informative made our tour fun and full of informations, descriptions and history.From Pompeii where we wore able to see most of the important sites to the Vesuvio it was the most interesting experience. Thank you to Enrica and Peter
for giving us a fun and pleasent tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Demetria was fantastic! We thoroughly enjoyed hiking up the mountain despite the rain and got great pictures. The tour of Pompeii was also very interesting and informative. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Vanessa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very comfortable bus trip. I really enjoyed doing the guided tour in Pompeii as it is a very large area and I appreciated the history a lot more with the wonderful detailed information provided by the kind and knowledgable guide. I would definitely advise people to do this trip with the guided tour. You still have time afterwards to do a bit of wondering around and see more of the site.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

MrsHowell522 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a GREAT time in Positano and Amalfi! My only complaint is that the bus ride is not that comfortable and I wish we could have had more time in each town. However, this is a must do experience if you are able to take a day trip. Our tour guide on the bus, Georgia, was so nice and did a wonderful job. Our travel guide was Rosella who was also pleasant and made sure to take care of our group! I loved each town, the food is amazing and the sights are to die for. The water is so beautiful! I have some awesome images from the ride up and down the coast. The ride up and down is so cool! Its amazing to see how the drivers navigate such tight, winding roads. I would love to visit again!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome Including Positano

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an absolutely brilliant and memorable trip worth every penny. Peter, our Italian/ American guide, really knew his stuff and was great to chat to. The older Italian guide, Enrica, was nice and helpful. The bus driver, Paulo was a master driver negotiating the tricky traffic like a pro. The pizza was great, really nice to try a different style than what we had in Rome. Pompeii was incredible with an expert guide. Mt Vesuvius was stunning and Peter was great at the top filling us in on the views and just generally great. The history of the sites are incredible! The trip brings it alive in a pleasant way. Top marks!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

gail.everitt7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent guides in Chiara and Manuelle. They possess such knowlege of Rome and the area and entertained us on the journey. Linda our guide in Pompeii was just as knowledgeable about The city and did her absolute best and got us through the very crowded streets and buildings. An excellent tour, well organised and super guides.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Rich P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The day was awesome, and our guides Manuel and Maria I think their names are were fantastic. I'd been to Rome and Pompeii before, and wish I'd had the same sort of knowledge and personalities giving a tour the first time. I would definitely recommend the tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Shai United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The highlight of my stay in Rome last week, picked this tour and glad I did, did not disappoint and definitely worth the money. Our tour guide Mikeala from City wonder tours was brilliant, she fed us with knowledge about the history of Pompeii and Vesuvius through out the day and looked after us all. She made this trip very fun and exciting with her amusing personality. The day was very long but the views from the air conditioned coach made it worth while, they were breathtaking. This tour will not disappoint you. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would pick it again .

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

shabala.m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My husband and I took the trip on the 14th Of August 2016, a Sunday. Excellent trip well organised and well executed by our lovely highly learned guide Ms Kylie. The credit for making the trip a complete success goes entirely to her. She was very disciplined and well organised and gave us plenty of information on history of Rome right from the Trojan war all along the journey. After our visit to Pompeii we had a good lunch which was a big pizza we could choose one from 3 different types and a drink of our choice included in the package. On our way to the Vesuvius, Kylie told us about the history of Vesuvius and the magma chamber beneath it and how the region around the mountain is divided into zones depending on the risk level and the government emergency plan in the event of any future eruption. She explained how the story of the eruption in 79AD was learned from eyewitness account of Pliny the younger and spoke about the two Plinys and reconstructed the entire event that lead to burying of Herculeum and Pompeii under the pyroclastic flow. She was very energetic too and accompanied us to the top of the Vesuvius without showing any sign of fatigue. She helped us spot the steam that was still coming out of crater walls and pointed out to Pompeii and the various islands like Capri,Ischia from the top of the Vesuvius. she also pointed to the path traced out on the mountains by lava that came from the last eruption in 1944. On our way back, she gave us lot of useful tips for tourists travelling and places that we must visit in Rome. She was a very kind person and helpful and very jovial. The guide in Pompeii however paled in comparison to her. He was good but when you have listened to Kylie narrate then you feel that he could have been better. Pompeii is a must visit to know how the people lived and made such great planned cities with facilities that make us wonder why was nature so cruel to such a great cultured society.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Michael L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing one day trip to Tuscany and fantastic guide Peter! Beside the trip you get so much vital information about Rome and what to be aware off and how to avoid tourist traps.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Kristján K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was everything i imagined, tuscany is one of the most beautiful regions in italy, what a sight. The tourguide peter is funny and knowledgeable, made the trip more special.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

bon.chan11

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing tour guide, enthusiastic and humorous. We had a lot of fun hiking up the Mt. Vesuvius, I made the hike with Birkenstocks but I would probably suggest some sneakers for next time. Pompeii was fascinating, our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic as well. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

sherri i

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

THIS IS A MUST!!!! If you are in Rome and looking to do something outside of the city, I HIGHLY recommend the Ponza Island tour. Kimberly was knowledgeable and fun and very helpful. The island itself is breathtakingly beautiful, so much so that the pics will never do it justice. The swims were wonderful and refreshing. We added the snorkeling gear option to the tour, which I thought was way overpriced, so I strongly suggest taking your own....and goggles alone are enough for what you'll use them for. The pasta lunch was yummy. This is an all day trip so I would definitely encourage you to take your own snacks or stop in and buy some fruit at the docks because lunch will not be enough. Again, wonderful tour with an awesome host!!

Doing what: Ponza Island Day Trip from Rome

Kevin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We booked the optional guided tour, which proved to be a great choice. Marisa was our host on the bus, and she kept us up to date with how we were progressing and what we could see out of the window.

Our guide in Pompeii was Dario: we have had a guided tour of the city before 21 years ago, but Dario was excellent, finding a way to impart lots of facts, but still make it interesting enough to keep our teenagers' attention.

The guided tour took 2 hours, and we had a further 2 hours on our own, which we used to walk to the Amphitheatre even though it was 40 degrees! I would recommend it, the place is impressive!

The icing on the cake was that the bus dropped us back in Rome, not at the Enjoy Rome office, which is a bit out of the way, but at Termini, which meant we could get straight on the bus to our hotel.

Throughout the tour each step was clearly explained to us, with timings which were adhered to, so we always knew exactly where we were going and when we were being picked up. The trip may seem like a lot of money, but it was well worth it, and was the highlight of our break in Rome.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

James E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful day experience to get a taste of Tuscany. The bus was comfortable and our guide, Claudia was very knowledgable and fun. The best part was the lunch served at the vineyard with wines. Also enjoyed the abbey and sites in Montepulciano and Pienza.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Marie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour! Very comfortable bus with interesting tour guides. The hike to the top of the volcano was challenging but doable, excited to be able to cross look into the mouth of a volcano off of my bucket list! The additional trip to Pompeii was a fascinating step back in time. The guide truly brought out what life would have been like in 79 AD. An unbelievable step back into another time!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Norman E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very comfortable ride there and back. Great tour guides! Pompeii is absolutely fascinating.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Tiffany C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great - Roberto is a treasure and made this day so special for our family. He took what could have been a boring five hour bus ride and made it interesting and kept us laughing and fascinated with his stories. Pompeii was incredible and the hike up to Mt. Vesuvius was worth it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

enecostin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Well organized. We left with 2 tour guides from Rome and they were with us all along, showing, explaining, answering questions. In Pompeii we had a special guide that walked us through, very informative. Vezuviu is a trip in itself. The lunch was over rated and the bus drive back seamed endless but overall o great experience.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Luke F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this day trip! Our guide, Luca was very fun and knowledgeable, as was our secondary guide, Ettore! Alberto, our driver was very kind and accommodating. Pompeii was fascinating and our local guide was very informative. Lunch was yummy and the hike up Vesuvius was tiring in the heat, but well worth the effort! I'm really glad I booked this tour and highly recommend it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message