The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2528 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christine Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing experience we would highly recommend to anyone who will listen! Our guide Pete was fantastic. Best tour guide either of us have ever had. Pete is from the US so speaks English well, but is Italian and extremely knowledgeable. Tuscany is absolutely breathtaking and if you have a limited amount of time while in Rome, this tour is well worth the money and the time. A few items we thought would be helpful to know ahead of time: 1 the bus has no restroom, however 2 the bus stops in a shop in Umbria about 1.5 hours from Rome where you can stretch your legs, use the restroom, and sample truffles, cheeses, meats, wines, limoncello, olive oils, vinegar, cookies, candy, etc. 3 You will only drink wine during lunch and you get 4 small samples i.e. 6 bottles were shared among 25 people, so don't expect a buzz!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

connieandtin2016

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We booked several tours throughout Europe and this was hands down our absolutely most favorite tour of all time. The tour guides were hilarious and knowledgeable. I absolutely loved all of their stories and it really helped me appreciate the history of Pompeii and the region a lot more.

I thought the bus ride would be long but it was so relaxing and the tour guides made it so entertaining.

Californians smiling at the front of the bus on Sept 9th

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

dsmith23

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Pompeii was one on the highlights of our trip to Italy. Although it was a long day, our guide was knowledgable, personable and highly entertaining.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Myles M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Delivered on what it promised. A nice coach ride from the center of Rome to the Pompeii ruins and then organised entrance, with an informative two hour tour and then two-three hours spare to wander around. The experience is one not to be missed and free of the usual hucksterism of cameo shops and other shopping and food locations designed to part the eager traveler from his/her money.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Jose V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The trip was a real pleasure and what made it even better were the two guides on this trip, Peter and Mara, they are very knowledgeable on Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius and made the trip seem like it was only 4 hours instead of the 13 hours that it took.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

vushakova

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a truly magical tour. We started with a short walk up Mt. Vesuvius which was spectacular. The view of Pompei from above was amazing and the crater of the volcano was unique. Lunch was delicious pizza in Naples! and our tour guide in the ruins of Pompeii was funny and smart. We had an amazing time thanks to our two tour guides Chiara and Andy, both of whom were warm, knowledgeable and hilarious. I highly recommend 'City Wonders' for any tour in Italy. They are a great agency!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Ronald R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent trip. Our guides on the bus and at Pompeii were informative, helpful, and interesting. We enjoyed the hike to the top of Mt. Vesuvius. We also enjoyed learning about and seeing the sites in Pompeii. Pompeii was crowded, but I believe that is typical at this time of year and with the good weather that we had. We are certainly glad we went on this tour and would recommend it and our guides to others.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Andrew G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great trip! Pompeii was amazing. Our guides Ciara and Mikaela were great as well.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Andrew G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great trip! Pompeii was amazing. Our guides Ciara and Mikaela were great as well.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sylviesteinbach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The best tour and Tivoli is a great town to have lunch. Stefania is an archeologist and her valuable knowledge served this tour very well. Large and comfortable bus and skilled driver. This is not a tour for anyone who has trouble walking or taking stairs. But it is a beautiful and interesting visit of a Roman Villa complex and a Renaissance estate. Loved it!

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Lynette V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great day, great scenery, great lunch and wine. Tuscany and surrounds are worth seeing.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

watersmith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Long bus ride from Rome to Pompeii, but good; stopped in Naples and had some authentic pizza and it was fantastic! Pompeii was amazing and spectacular. Just like any tourist destination there were gift shops at the exit, although this one had many items that were phallic. All good; great trip/tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Ken R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Perfect trip delivering on all points. Bus was comfortable, guides were knowledgeable and friendly. Wonderful hike up Mt. Vesuvius and tour of Pompeii if only there was more time. Lunch was nice. Great day.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

ralphuy.kimle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Such a great tour! we had 2 tour guides and one of them had actually studied geology and so he had so much useful information about Mount Vesuvius as well as Pompeii. The views are amazing from the top of the mountain and visiting Pompeii was also a great experience. I would of loved to stay in Pompeii to see the museum as most of the artefacts are in there and not at the ancient ruins. Its still worth seeing though, amazing to walk through the town that was buried in ash. Great pizzas for lunch and well organised trip!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Dale B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and I did this tour on 9-10-16. The tour was absolutely amazing. Our tour guide Anna was wonderful. The region of Tuscany we toured is very beautiful. The town of Montepulciano was great wish we had more time to spend there. Tour very well organized. I would recommend this tour to anyone based in Rome and has a desire to see the Tuscany region. Olive trees and vineyards galore.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Gaylia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic day trip - exhausting but well worth it! We had two fantastic tour leaders Claudia and Dmitri and an amazing bus driver who drove us safely up most of Mt Versuvius! Lovely lunch, very interesting afternoon in Pompeii with a different, very well informed local guide. overall, an outstanding tour which we would highly recommend .

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Richard H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A long but fantastic day, with two very entertaining, informative and engaging guides in Andy and Chiara. The trip lets you see some of the Italian countryside which you would miss if you spent your whole visit in Rome itself.

The climb up Vesuvius is something to behold, and the local guide for Pompeii was excellent, funny and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Erwin Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was very good. Tourguides Sarah and Ahmed are of the highest standards and that is what a tour needs. They kept us well entertained during the bustour to Vesuvius and Pompeii and informed us well about the timeschedules etc... Also did they give us valuable information for us to enjoy our stay in Rome and/or Italy even better. Especially on the way back they gave us individually all their time we needed to answer any query we had digging into their experience and suggestions. Pompeii tourguide was very good, he had his jokes handy and kept us well entertained during the tour making it an interesting one rather then becoming boring. Good tourguides are so important and this tour had them all !! Well done ! Will definitely consider them again when I will decide for a tour in Rome or area.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Dana D A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guides were fantastic!! Andy and Chiara were very entertaining and informative. I wish we had taken this tour at the beginning of our trip instead of at the end, I think with their tips and guidance we would have had an even better time in Italy.They were supremely organized, attentive, and knowledgable about both Veuvius and Pompeii, which made this experience an adventure into the past.
If it is possible to request certain guides for outing, I HIGHLY recommend Andy and Chiara!! I will definitely use City Wonders as my go-to tour guides in all the cities that they are available
Dana, Karsten and Kolton USA

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

LeAnn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed this all day tour. Andy with City Wonders is a great guide- he was funny, engaging and extremely informative.He directed us to one of the best restaurants in Rome and told us how to find great gellato, information which has served us throughout Italy. The tour is long, but you get to see a lot. Well worth the hike up to Vesuvius, followed by a delicious pizza lunch. Then a very interesting tour of Pompeii - which is much bigger than we thought. If you have the time, I recommend you do this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

DDFlorida United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a wonderful trip. Our guide was Guiseppe. He is a native of Tivoli and was very informed. He did a great job of making sure we had breaks as needed, allowing us a little time for shopping, and pointing out the important points of the 2 villas. The lunch at the restaurant was very good.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Christopher M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great day trip with City Wonders. Guides were awesome very knowledgeable about the areas we were visiting and also gave us lots of handy tips for staying in Rome transport tips, good restaurants, good gelato etc.. Would definitely do another tour with City Wonders. Had we had more time in Rome, we would have done another tour with them.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Emily S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had our tour on Monday 12th Sept with Chiara and Andy. Both were amazing. Caught up with Andy near the top of mount Vesuvius where he continued to walk to the top with us and pointed out where Pompeii was in the distance. Both went the extra mile as tour guides. Best tour ever!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Robyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful tour, beautiful scenery, and great guide! I'm so glad I found/booked this day trip! Our guide, Christina, was personable, informative, and attentive to everyone in attendance. She made sure we were all having a good time. The trip was well organized, and the island is beyond beautiful. It's a must if traveling to Italy!

Doing what: Ponza Island Day Trip from Rome

Robyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great day trip to enjoy the breathtaking views of the Amalfi Coast!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome Including Positano

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message