The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2648 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jesse V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great day trip with knowledgeable guides.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Suzi Mildern Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had been to Pompeii before but this time there were new areas restored for exploring. We also loved the challenge of climbing Mt Vesuvius. Not for the faint hearted as it is a steep climb but worht the views and to look deep inside the crater.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Deidre L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour. The meet up was quick and smooth. The bus ride down was comfortable and the guides talked about the country side keeping your interest peaked the whole trip. Pompeii was busy and I would have liked more time to see it but we had to have lunch which was amazing! Plus we made it to Vesuvius which was also rushed so much to do in one trip but if you don't have much time I would recommend it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sylvia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was the highlight of our European trip! We highly recommend it! Our guides Alessandra and Claudia were so insightful and our local Pompeii guide was full of knowledge and made this trip one of the best we could have wished for. We would definitely go back.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Chrissy United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I heard that it is fairly easy to get down to Pompeii via train on your own, however, I recommend this tour because the guide gives you so much information and makes the long trek down to the city of ruins more informative and exciting. Naples doesn't appear to be the safest city and our guide informed us of the history and struggles within Naples. You will see nothing quite like Pompeii in your lifetime. MUST SEE!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

elodonnell63

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It's a long day but worth it, take an umbrella with you in high season because the sun is unbearably hot and there is hardly any shade or breeze, Pompeii was fantastic, I didn't realise it was so full of statues, beautiful, you get to see a lot of Pompeii and the guide was very informative, fascinating to see and quite moving when you see the figures of the people that perished there, the lunch was pants but it filled a hole, Vesuvius was magnificent but so hot and dusty, worth making the effort for the views and to stand on the crater of an active volcano, you are left to your own devices and there are a couple of refreshment bars on the way up which were a blessing, and I also had a paper fan which I donated to a very hot Japanese lady on the way down, altogether it was a great trip and I would go again but maybe take a packed lunch.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

michael d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Guissepe was excellent, Hadrians villa and Tivoli gardens stunning, well worth the money.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Rhena B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Pompeii is a must see for all. Pictures do not do it justice. Went on the trip with family. We enjoyed it. Since we went during the winter months we seen the museum. Not enough time there to see it but we were on a schedule. The tour guides were great. Recommend the trip to everyone.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Charles S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is THE trip to experience! Our hostess/host Melanie and Andy from City Wonders Tours were phenomenal. You knew you were in good hands right from the beginning. We learned so much from their talks during the bus ride to/from Pompeii - were extremely personable and you felt that they truly enjoyed their job and enjoyed meeting and interacting with the passengers. They even came to each passenger individually and answered any questions, offered recommendations for restaurants or gelato and generally took excellent care of us. The bus was comfortable heat was excellent and I would choose City Wonders tours over any others after this experience. Very nice job indeed!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

C Scott M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great experience and I'm really glad that I booked a complete trip with viator instead of trying to figure out trains schedules and interpretation on our own. I really loved that Anna not only prepared us for the Pompeii visit itself, she was a wealth of knowledge regarding the history of things along the way. Not to be overlooked, Aldo was excellent as well. There was so much Christmas Eve traffic but no matter what happened, he kept us safe and on-time.

My ONLY complaint/suggestion would be to skip the pizza lunch. The meal was not even of average quality and it took away valuable time that could have been better spent at the Museum and the Pompeii site itself. I understand that the driver needs to make stops along the way and I would have appreciated it if they had used these breaks and simply tossed me a sandwich and a drink instead of wasting so much of my time at the restaurant. Even better, tell people to pack a light lunch of their own

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Martin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

5/5
Our guides were Roberto and Andy. We met them on time at Piazza Del Popolo and were made to feel welcome. We were particularly unlucky with a few things on this tour, firstly our coach was driving at walking pace up Mount Vesuvius and this was because unfortunately there was a foot race going on, with the slowest participant walking up the mountain, we were really set back time-wise. The weather was bad, we managed a glimpse into a crater on the mountain amidst the rain clouds and on our return to Rome we were driving through a thunderstorm, flooding the roads and reducing the traffic's speed to a stand still. It turned out to be a long day, but we can't fault Roberto and Andy's professionalism. They kept us well entertained throughout, both are very knowledgeable and informative. Andy offered comedy and good tips the one about how to find the best Ice Cream was spot on and Roberto loves story telling, you guys had a long day!

The lunch stop appears to always be Tiberius in Pompeii, I have reviewed the lunch as a 4/5 separately

Our local guide for Pompeii was Enzo, there is so much to see and without a guide you'll struggle to balance your time and miss out on some finds. Enzo was a very good guide.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Adriana G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The visit to Pompeii was spectacular. The tour started on time and included very knowledgeable tour guides. The tour itself included pit stops at very touristy joints, but the information we received was great. Overall, highly recommend.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sheila D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Both sites are well worth visiting, although you will need to use your imagination for Hadrian's Villa, however it is still a spectacular site to visit. The trip was well-organised with an excellent, patient and well-informed guide. We had a lovely lunch stop in Tivoli before seeing the villa. The gardens are outstanding and for us the highlight of the whole day.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Grant P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great day trip. Guides were awesome. It was a lot of fun, the view from Vesuvius was amazing.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

PAMELA D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great day trip. Jon our guide was fantastic - lots of information and tips for staying in Rome as well. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Kevin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent tour would definetely recommend.

The Tour Guide Ahmald was very knowledgeable and had some very helpful tips when in Rome.
the driver and Pompeii tour guide very professional and had a good sense of humour

Top trumps again Viator

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

susie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This trip was a full day of sightseeing. The guides Sara and Anna were so good. Our guide in Pompeii was full of info. too. I would take this tour again. We walked on the same paths and stones as the people of Pompeii walked! The murals and and artifacts are numerous. So much to take in. Figures frozen in time were right there to see. So cool.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Jackie D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Highly recommend! Although it's a long trip 3 hours one-way it was nicely done and very much worth it. My tour guide on the bus was Angela and she was fantastic. Our guide in Pompeii was from a local who was so great...very knowledgeable and funny personality. We wore a head set to hear which I love, that way you don't miss anything. Lunch was nice, although I wish we pulled over for some picture taking because the views from the bus were incredible.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Jordan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We enjoyed this day trip from Rome and Villa d'Este especially is a must see. Our guide Giuseppe was incredibly friendly an being a Tivoli local he was very knowledgeable about the area and the sites. We also enjoyed having some free time to explore the town of Tivoli at our own pace.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Robin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

One of the highlights of our 9 day trip to Rome. The guide Laura was amazing and funny. We were not rushed but covered a lot of ground in one day. She was very knowledgeable about both sites and provided detailed answers to our questions.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

janet m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

excellent tour fantastic views of the Bay of Naples walking up Mount Vesuvius. Enjoyed the neapolitan pizza.We loved Pompeii which was a great finish to this great tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

JAHAN LEENA M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Had the most amazing time. The tour company tour guide was fantastic, agreeable and knowledgeable. We got plenty of time to soak in the views and take pictures, while not feeling rushed. The pace was great, and totally worth the money. The itinerary was perfect and eventful enough to make us feel like we had seen a substantial amount. Despite the rain, the cheery disposition of the guide kept was feeling happy and content in beautiful Tuscany. : I will be coming back for sure!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

ptom_01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Can and #39;t say enough about this one. Our guides Kylie and Dimitry did an great job preparing us for the visit with an informative and entertaining history lesson. The local guide at Pompeii was a hoot. A word of caution about Vesuvius, it and #39;s a steep climb but the good thing is the climb isn and #39;t required.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

James W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My wife, son and I had a great day out. It was fascinating to learn about Pompeii and our tour guide Enzo was extremely engaging the whole time we were there. The afternoon spent climbing Vesuvius was breath taking in more ways than one and all in all it was an unforgettable experience. I'm sure it won't be for everyone, but if you're interested in the subject matter as we were, you'll find going with a good tour guide is the best way to experience it.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Lisa T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was fantastic! Our tour guide Anna was incredible. So friendly and funny. She even took the time at the end of the trip to come and talk to each one of us on the bus to answer personal questions. The hike to the top of Mount Vesuvius was amazing. It's steep, but not very far, so almost anyone would be able to do it. Our tour guide at Pompeii, Enzo, was really wonderful. He provided just enough information, but also periodically gave us free time to explore and take pictures. We were lucky that we went on a day that wasn't very busy and the weather was perfect Nov 16, 2016. I would definitely recommend this day trip to anyone visiting Rome. It was the highlight of our trip!!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message