The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2418 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Heather D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour...starting in Rome, climbing Mt. Vesuvius and then of course Pompeii! We couldn't have asked for anything better. The guides were knowledgeable and made the day one of our vacation highlights! Thanks

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Maria C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Perfect, great day and the driver was adorable.
Pompeii is amazing, and lunch in Positano incredible.

Doing what: Private Tour: Pompeii and Positano Day Trip from Rome

Daniel J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

With out a doubt the best tour you could book. Was amazing from start to finish. First the bus journey down to Pompeii was long but the tour guides gave us till the first stop to get some sleep due to the early start which was nice. The second leg of the journey they talked to us about the surrounding area the history and also the plan for the day. Mt Vesuvius incredible the climb up was tough but the views were amazing, we didn't feel rushed or pressured to hurry back so gave us plenty of time to get up there which was nice as my partner suffers from a heart problems so she didn't have to rush and make herself ill. From there the lunch was nice getting to try pizza from Naples the place where it came from.
Pompeii was the highlight seeing the ruins and getting a very informative guide who let us explore and gave us lots information. We again weren't rushed about or made to hurry along they let us go at our pace and enough it. And lastly the bus ride back to Rome was nice before entering the city again the guides came round the bus and talked to us individually and asked us if we needed any advice or tips about Rome. This I felt was a nice touch as we asked about restaurant suggestions they had along with things to do that aren't on guide books and they gave us there local knowledge. Would recommend to anyone that wan't to experience what can only be described as a breath taking tour. Thanks Sara for the tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Agnese K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour to have a taste of Tuscany. Our guide Becky was awesome!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Donna G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

my daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves on this tour. All of the Tuscany towns we visited were beautiful! Our guide was knowledgeable and enthusiastic! The lunch and wine tasting at the Tuscan farm exceeded our expectations. A menorable experience!!

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Carole C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We booked this day trip from Rome to Pompeii and everything from start to finish went exactly to plan. It was a long day trip but worth it, the coach was very comfortable, the guides who accompanied us from start to finish very informative with good sense of humour. Rest breaks and quiet time on the coach made the long journey pleasant. We were passed to a local guide on arrival at Pompeii whose knowledge brought the history of the place alive. We chose to book with Viator following successful trips with them in Venice a few years ago and have this evening just booked a tour with them for our forthcoming trip to Vienna. I feel confident booking with Viator through my past experience and can highly recommend them.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Aaron M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour - definitely worth the long day trip from Rome. Our guides Antonina and Luca were very professional and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

ARLENNE M. W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing guides: Ana and Sara. Antonio: very good busdriver! Two groups together in one bus; no problem at all. It rained and Vesuvius crater was closed down when we got there (we got part of the money back). Lunch: good! Pompeii amazing!!! Very recommendable tour!! Try the limoncello (missed this).

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Raymond D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pompeii is a must see. One gets a much fuller picture of how the Romans lived than from the relics in Rome itself. The guides were all excellent and helpful. The views from Vesuvius were stunning.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Marinda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The meeting point was clear and the guides were on time and organised. We heard lots of interesting facts on the bus to Pompeii and we were happy to just sit back and relax - tour started early to fit everything in. Our guide in Pompeii was excellent. It was crowded and hot, but it was easy to hear and follow our guide. Lunch was ok - not the best I've had, but good enough. The walk up Mt Vesuvius was great - I loved the fact that we could walk at our own pace, within the guide times given by the guides. The trip back was again a highlight with lots of interesting facts. Our guides were very helpful in general about Rome and what to do. My two teenagers loved it as well.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

cheryl.a.donnelly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Kylie is a great guide......outstanding day trip, worth the time

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

katrina.steedman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyed the Day trip to Pompeii from Rome. Our guide, Luca, was incredibly knowledgeable and gave some great insight into Pompeii, Mt Vesuvius, Roman Culture, history and food. The day was paced well considering we included two rest stops, a hike up Mt Vesuvius, pizza for lunch and 2 hours at Pompei Ruins. If you are looking for a comfortable and convenient way to see Pompeii from Rome, highly recommend the tour. However, if you would like to spend more than 2 hours at Pompeii, would suggest you look at another tour as felt there was so much more to see at Pompeii but was a good highlights tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Raelene H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A good day trip with Francesco and Andy - very good tour guides. Make sure you wear shoes that you don't mind getting dirty as the hike up the mountain is dirty and strenuous. The tour of Pompeii was very interesting. There were only 3 molds of the people that had been recovered apparently the number available to view changes.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Rebekah Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Absolutely LOVED this tour. Our tour guides were superb they were warm and friendly as well as knowledgeable and fun. It's a must see day trip out of Rome! The only thing I would change is I would love about 30-40 minutes of free time to walk around Pompeii after the tour was over to take pictures and see a bit more before we headed off. All in all we were thrilled with the trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

hvdelumen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sarah and Antonella were very able guides and made sure everyone was accounted for amidst the tour groups. We had someone from the group that wasn't feeling too well and they made sure she was well taken cared of. Having local guides in Pompeii added authenticity to the tour. The hike to Vesuvius can be quite taxing but is worth the hike. May be good to remind guests to wear the right footwear and bring protective gear umbrella/ hats as the heat can be quite strong in summer.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

robrill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We all just loved the tour of Tuscany in One Day!! Our tour guide Kayle was excellent. You could tell she really enjoyed her job and she made the tour even more memorable. The locations, the scenery , the food, were all superb. It was a magical day and one of the best of our two week trip. This trip wa defianitaly a 5 star

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Robert R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fascinating tour of the ruins of Hadrian's Villa and beautiful gardens and home at Villa D'Este! I loved the numerous fountains there, and it certainly helped with the heat during the Italian summer. Would definitely return and highly suggest this as a day trip to anyone visiting Rome.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Lorraine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip was great. Hadrian's Villa was a surprise...we didn't know much about it before taking the tour and it was all very interesting. Tivoli's gardens were beautiful, of course. I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Elizabeth Anne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the best day trip I took.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

ASHLEY M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Becky our tour guide was wonderful. Tuscany was beautiful.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

ASHLEY M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was wonderful. Pompeii was amazing and Sorrento was breathtakingly Beautiful. The small streets that our guides took us to were great for shopping and so quaint. My family had a wonderful time!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Pompeii and Sorrento Rail Day Trip from Rome

marlenepetrella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The trip to Pompeii from Rome was a very long day, but it was well worth the effort. Roberto, our guide, made all the difference. He was very organized and attentive to everyone's needs. Plus, he was extremely entertaining, telling stories that my grandchildren loved and providing humorous information about what constitutes real gelato and what you will NEVER get at a real Italian restaurant spaghetti and meatballs--NEVER happen. But, for me, the most touching point was when we were climbing to the top of Mt Vesuvius. My family stayed with me for most of the climb up, but I was VERY slow and wasn't sure I would make it up in the allotted time. Roberto knew I wanted to make it to the top if at all possible, and he encouraged me to keep going, never raising concerns that time was running out. When I finally reached the top and triumphantly met my family, Roberto was there to snap my picture, smiling from ear to ear. Then he walked with me, all the way down--again, never rushing me or making me concerned about the time. He genuinely wanted me to have, and enjoy, the experience. So many tours are totally focused on the time schedule that they lose sight of the reason people take their tour. And I get it: schedules ARE important. However, I am truly grateful that City Wonders hires tour guides like Roberto who know that schedules need to be flexible. The experience is everything.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

james h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

the tour from start to finish was absolutly fantastic. Pompeii is a wonder to behold on its own and our guide was extremely knowedgeable, but to then get the opportunity to walk up Mt. vesuvius was also another great experience. The only warning I would give is that the Mt. Vesuvius climb is extremely tiring but really worth the views at the top.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Bianca A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip was the perfect way to end my 2 week trip. Montepulciano and Pienza are truly little treasures of Tuscany. I enjoyed getting out of the busy and crowded areas of Rome and just enjoying the scenery and beauty of the countryside. Our tour guide Anna was wonderful and very knowledgeable. Highly recommended. Oh and get ready to overload your palate with amazing and exquisite Italian flavors.

Doing what: Tuscany in One Day Sightseeing Tour from Rome

Shane T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

So much fun! Your guides were great and great experience. Being able to climb Vesuvius was incredible and while we weren and #39;t able to see everything in Pompeii we got a great tour and learned a lot.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message