The city of Rome alone is full enough of treasures to last a lifetime, however, when in Rome you shouldn’t forget the other amazing sights of Italy. It may be impossible to truly discover everything, but luckily with some planning, any traveler ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2662 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kingshuk B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great day long day out. You get to see and experience so much. Kids learnt a massive amount of history regarding Pompeii. The Pizza stop over was amazing, however be prepared for a lot of walking, especially up the mountain

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Vanessa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The BEST day trip out of Rome! Our guide, Larissa, was outstanding and provided a fascinating and entertaining insight into Roman life in the time of Hadrian. The villa grounds and ruins are immense but considering we only had the morning here Larissa managed to cover most of the highlights. The afternoon, in the much more compact water gardens, at Villa d'Este was a superb contrast. The fountains are really stunning, don't miss the water organ! The sheer feat of such engineering is awesome.We had ample time for lunch in Tivoli a pretty hilltop town and photo opportunities galore.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Emogene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Amazing tour of both Vesuvirus and Pompeii. Even though we were held up by traffic on the motorway, our wonderful guides were able to make up the time so that we got to see all of Pompeii. We also had time to climb to the top of Vesuvius to see the smoke coming out of the vents and the lovely Bay of Capri. Pompeii was astounding in revealing life so many years ago. It shouldn't be missed. All 3 of our guides were fantastic. They even stopped to talk to all of us on the ride back to Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Kelly R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Melanie was a fantastic tour guide, and this was a fantastic tour! She was completely attentive to our needs, knew our names, provided a very personal experience. She was vastly knowledgeable and told great stories on a multitude of subjects. ONe of the best tour guides I've ever had, and I do A LOT of tours. Pompeii is simply amazing and a total must-see in Italy. Naples pizza is a favorite- get the magherita- and try the limoncello. Take this tour. You will not regret it.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Robert F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was by far the the best tour I have ever been on I would sign up for it again if I was ever in Rome again. The host were the best and extremely informative throughout the the tour. The guide at pompeii was amazing he brought the city to life and had information that only an experienced guide could know. I would give this tour Fifty stars if it was an option.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Minna P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Everything worked as promised. The main tour guides were knowledgeble and helpful. Our local guide in Pompeii could have been more energetic. He seemed a little bored at times.
Vesuvio was beautiful. I will remember that climb and view for the rest of my life.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Tiffany L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What an amazing day trip! Pick up was prompt at our hotel and Pompeii was amazing. Well worth the price!

Doing what: Private Tour: Pompeii and Positano Day Trip from Rome

ashley.rybka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was our favorite tour! Although the bus ride was long our tour guides kept us interested w lots of fun info and We stopped for breakfast/ bathroom break and returned for shopping. Climbing Mt. Vesuvius was incredible (it and #39;s tough!) and Pompeii was truly a sight you shouldn and #39;t miss! Yummy pizza too.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Krista H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Booked this tour for my first day in Italy and could not have been happier. Learned a lot about Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii and well as useful information about Rome and Italy in general.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Janell N United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I would recommend this day trip to all who would love the wine County. We enjoyed our guide who was with us all the time and gave great instruction were to meet up and about the area we were driving through. Fantastic trip!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine Country Day Trip from Rome Including Wine Tasting

Rosie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Sarah and Robert hosted an excellent tour, providing great knowledge, entertaining stories not to mention a delicious limoncello on our day trip to Pompeii. It is great to have such expertise available to help understand what we are seeing and the colourful context around it. That is what you get when your guides have degrees in archaeology, geology and ancient history - pretty appropriate for a tour of Pompeii!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Jesse V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great day trip with knowledgeable guides.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Suzi Mildern Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had been to Pompeii before but this time there were new areas restored for exploring. We also loved the challenge of climbing Mt Vesuvius. Not for the faint hearted as it is a steep climb but worht the views and to look deep inside the crater.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Deidre L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour. The meet up was quick and smooth. The bus ride down was comfortable and the guides talked about the country side keeping your interest peaked the whole trip. Pompeii was busy and I would have liked more time to see it but we had to have lunch which was amazing! Plus we made it to Vesuvius which was also rushed so much to do in one trip but if you don't have much time I would recommend it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sylvia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was the highlight of our European trip! We highly recommend it! Our guides Alessandra and Claudia were so insightful and our local Pompeii guide was full of knowledge and made this trip one of the best we could have wished for. We would definitely go back.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Chrissy United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I heard that it is fairly easy to get down to Pompeii via train on your own, however, I recommend this tour because the guide gives you so much information and makes the long trek down to the city of ruins more informative and exciting. Naples doesn't appear to be the safest city and our guide informed us of the history and struggles within Naples. You will see nothing quite like Pompeii in your lifetime. MUST SEE!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

elodonnell63

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It's a long day but worth it, take an umbrella with you in high season because the sun is unbearably hot and there is hardly any shade or breeze, Pompeii was fantastic, I didn't realise it was so full of statues, beautiful, you get to see a lot of Pompeii and the guide was very informative, fascinating to see and quite moving when you see the figures of the people that perished there, the lunch was pants but it filled a hole, Vesuvius was magnificent but so hot and dusty, worth making the effort for the views and to stand on the crater of an active volcano, you are left to your own devices and there are a couple of refreshment bars on the way up which were a blessing, and I also had a paper fan which I donated to a very hot Japanese lady on the way down, altogether it was a great trip and I would go again but maybe take a packed lunch.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

michael d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Guissepe was excellent, Hadrians villa and Tivoli gardens stunning, well worth the money.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Rhena B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Pompeii is a must see for all. Pictures do not do it justice. Went on the trip with family. We enjoyed it. Since we went during the winter months we seen the museum. Not enough time there to see it but we were on a schedule. The tour guides were great. Recommend the trip to everyone.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Charles S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is THE trip to experience! Our hostess/host Melanie and Andy from City Wonders Tours were phenomenal. You knew you were in good hands right from the beginning. We learned so much from their talks during the bus ride to/from Pompeii - were extremely personable and you felt that they truly enjoyed their job and enjoyed meeting and interacting with the passengers. They even came to each passenger individually and answered any questions, offered recommendations for restaurants or gelato and generally took excellent care of us. The bus was comfortable heat was excellent and I would choose City Wonders tours over any others after this experience. Very nice job indeed!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

C Scott M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great experience and I'm really glad that I booked a complete trip with viator instead of trying to figure out trains schedules and interpretation on our own. I really loved that Anna not only prepared us for the Pompeii visit itself, she was a wealth of knowledge regarding the history of things along the way. Not to be overlooked, Aldo was excellent as well. There was so much Christmas Eve traffic but no matter what happened, he kept us safe and on-time.

My ONLY complaint/suggestion would be to skip the pizza lunch. The meal was not even of average quality and it took away valuable time that could have been better spent at the Museum and the Pompeii site itself. I understand that the driver needs to make stops along the way and I would have appreciated it if they had used these breaks and simply tossed me a sandwich and a drink instead of wasting so much of my time at the restaurant. Even better, tell people to pack a light lunch of their own

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Martin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

5/5
Our guides were Roberto and Andy. We met them on time at Piazza Del Popolo and were made to feel welcome. We were particularly unlucky with a few things on this tour, firstly our coach was driving at walking pace up Mount Vesuvius and this was because unfortunately there was a foot race going on, with the slowest participant walking up the mountain, we were really set back time-wise. The weather was bad, we managed a glimpse into a crater on the mountain amidst the rain clouds and on our return to Rome we were driving through a thunderstorm, flooding the roads and reducing the traffic's speed to a stand still. It turned out to be a long day, but we can't fault Roberto and Andy's professionalism. They kept us well entertained throughout, both are very knowledgeable and informative. Andy offered comedy and good tips the one about how to find the best Ice Cream was spot on and Roberto loves story telling, you guys had a long day!

The lunch stop appears to always be Tiberius in Pompeii, I have reviewed the lunch as a 4/5 separately

Our local guide for Pompeii was Enzo, there is so much to see and without a guide you'll struggle to balance your time and miss out on some finds. Enzo was a very good guide.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Adriana G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The visit to Pompeii was spectacular. The tour started on time and included very knowledgeable tour guides. The tour itself included pit stops at very touristy joints, but the information we received was great. Overall, highly recommend.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sheila D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Both sites are well worth visiting, although you will need to use your imagination for Hadrian's Villa, however it is still a spectacular site to visit. The trip was well-organised with an excellent, patient and well-informed guide. We had a lovely lunch stop in Tivoli before seeing the villa. The gardens are outstanding and for us the highlight of the whole day.

Doing what: Tivoli Day Trip from Rome: Villa d'Este and Hadrian's Villa

Grant P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great day trip. Guides were awesome. It was a lot of fun, the view from Vesuvius was amazing.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message