1. Ancient Rome Explore the Colosseum and Forum in style on a private walking tour with an art expert, and skip the queues for the Colosseum and Palatine Hill. Accompanied by your own private guide who specializes in art history, a private ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 121 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Julie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We enjoyed our tour very much. Some of the places we saw on this tour we had already walked to ourselves but we really enjoyed hearing the history behind everything. It helped put everything in perspective and understand Rome a bit more. We were very pleased we took the tour

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

Darla G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

One of the most fun things we did in Rome! Our guide was great and we really enjoyed walking around the city learning obscure history. We took our 11 year old, not scary at all, and not a ghost hunting tour, more stories from the past about people who left their mark on Roman history. We booked this at the last minute and I'm so glad we did!

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

Robert M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

While we obviously didn't expect any ghosts or ghouls to jump out while on the walk we were a little disappointed given the name of the tour. The tour was a pleasant, easily paced night walk through central Rome. Several interesting sites, some existing - some imagined as they no longer exist. If the tour was called A night walk through Rome - with a little history it would be a lot closer to the mark and we would not have finished feeling a bit let down.
Tour guide was very good with the material he had to work with.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

Beth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amanda, our private tour guide, was incredibly knowledgeable about the times and history about the Romans who lived centuries ago. Her explanations of the times went beyond just the historical perspective as she helped us appreciate the lives and challenges of those that walked the streets of Rome over 2000 years ago. Her perspective and knowledge of Rome throughout the centuries was astonishing.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Art History Walking Tour

Brewskiis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We took this tour on July 7th with Ahmed. He was a fabulous guide, and walked us around areas of Rome at night while entertaining us with ghost stories and legends. We went to places that we would not have normally gone to, and it was a great way to spend an evening in Rome. I do wish that it started at 8:00 PM instead of 9:15 PM, as it makes for a very long day.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

Meghana I

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The walk around Rome at night was interesting and the stories shared added a darker hue to the otherwise grand Rome. Totally loved hearing about the less known historical facts about Rome. What would have been more engaging was if there was more depth to it.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

Helen D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Was more just a night walking tour of Rome, could have given this a miss

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

egoldman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great fun! See parts of Rome that you probably wouldn't walk...and hear great stories. Well worth your time!

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

Gina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an awesome tour, because it's a shorter tour, you actually retain a lot of the information that your learning about. Nice walk through tour a section of Rome that ends at the bridge of angels, which you see in the movie Angels and Demons.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

Maranda C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The tour guide was very good! I don't remember his name, but I felt he was very knowledgeable and entertaining. The tour was a nice walk around the heart of the city, and I learned many salacious stories about Rome. I don't think the tour misrepresents itself, but I didn't feel like it was really a ghost tour. I think it is better titled as a mystery or scandalous character tour. Still, I definitely enjoyed it!

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

James D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

This wasn't a bad tour per se, but I did it having been in Rome a couple days already and since I was staying in the historical center, I had already seen all the sights on the tour, and I didn't feel like they gave me a lot of additional information for each of them. If you're just starting a Rome visit, this might not be bad, but otherwise I would recommend just walking to the various sites and getting the audio guide there pantheon or downloading a self-guided tour with info from the web.

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

JOHN K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour was very interesting and our guide was excellent. Lots of interesting stories and you get to know a lot of the city by walking around and seeing some of the sites. It was a good introduction to Rome on our first night.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

webboy634

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had so much fun on this tour. We walked around for over two hours and saw parts of the city we hadn't seen yet. A lot of great history and information. I know so much more about Rome than I ever thought I would.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

Tim L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Two months on from our walking tour of Rome at night and we are still remembering tidbits of information as the experience was great. Rome is a beautiful and see city at night and this tour well worth doing especially with older kids. It is also a great way to find your feet in this amazing city.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

wolfie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Barbara was superb and enjoyed being a tour guide. Nice walking around Rome of an evening, and to finish at the castle of the angels icing on the cake.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

Shirley I United Kingdom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

This was not a ghost or mystery tour! this tour was a one and a half hour walk which detailed the history of Rome not what we expected.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

Rourke29

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Louise Kennedy was our tour guide and she was great. Enthusiastic and knowledgeable she made the tour a pleasure. It was lovely to walk around Rome at night , and she had great stories to keep us entertained. We had 3 teens 12 to 17 with us and they enjoyed it as well.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

Pradeep S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Blanch is fabulous--we highly recommend this private tour with the local company/Viator. We were in Rome with my 70 year old mom who has had knee surgeries and my 6 year old kid who refuses to walk over two miles daily. I was really worried about the Vatican tour. Our Louvre experience was poor when were in Paris. My mom had a wheel chair there but my husband kept lifting it over 100s of steps so she decided that she would do the Vatican without the wheelchair. I was nervous but fortunately it was a private tour and Blanch seemed very accommodating. She initially changed the time of the tour from morning to evening but it turned out to be more pleasant as there was not AC in the museum. Fortunately, to our surprise the elevators were functionally and my mom did not have to climb more than one little staircase. She walked slowly but Blanch was very patient and my 6 year old kid quickly bonded with her, holding her finger through the tour. The tour itself was fantastic and the Sistine Chapel was practically empty. We all stayed there for over 40 minutes and we found a place to sit down on the side benches--enjoying the beautiful ceiling and walls. Later Blanch waited for us and found a taxi that would take us back to our hotel--at that time of the day --taxi was not easy to find.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums and St Peter's Art History Walking Tour

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was outstanding! Our tour guide, Irene, was an expert, having majored in art history at the university. During our walk, she helped us understand how the history of the area helped shape the present, and helped us imagine what it must have been like when the gladiatorial games were held in the Colosseum and the Caesars and Cleopatra, for example, walked the same paths we were. We did indeed manage to skip the lines with her help. This tour is a super value for anyone wanting to make the most of their Rome trip. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Art History Walking Tour

Richard L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Gwen is absolutely outstanding. We have taken many tours over many years in several cities in Europe, and this is probably the single best one. Gwen knows the Trastevere and the Jewish Quarter of Rome incredibly well, and she is smart and articulate. The tour is well planned, with some walking and some sitting. It was a great pleasure. Highest rating.

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

PA L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fun tour , lovely walking around Rome in the evening , different atmosphere than during the day . Amusing stories

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

Vicki M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide, Jeanette, was great. Very informative, amusing and sassy. We walked to places we wouldn't have visited and her recommendations were spot on. All in all a very good way to see some of the less well known, but still interesting, parts of Rome.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

danajensen

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our family including one teenager enjoyed our walking tour around the Campo de Fiori and Castel San'Angelo areas of Rome. We were shown many locations by our guide that we likely never would have found on our own and enjoyed associating various stories and legends with the destinations. As narratives engage and entertain, we were both - and more so as the tour went on. Note though the stories were less about ghosts and mysteries and more about the dark and violent tragedies befalling innocents of Rome both male and female, tragedies largely attributed to unscrupulous papal and/or patriarchal rule of the past. No doubt that abuses of power are a part of Catholic history, yet, it would be like Il bue che dà del cornuto allasino for modernity to treat Catholic leaders as lone examples in human history. For some, the stories may have seemed pointed and critical of Catholicism particularly. For others, maybe not. With some relaxed perspective, everyone can have a good time on this tour.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

kikkoya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great way to enjoy the first evening at Rome! Children-friendly guided tour where you get to learn the history of dark Rome. We did 9pm tour, which worked out great after nice dinner nearby. It is about two hour walking tour, so it is a great way to walk off the pasta/pizza dinner. The tour doesn't end at the starting point, so, bring a map and be prepare to get familiar with the returning route to hotel. Rome is like a maze, so we did get lost several times on our way back to hotelwalked, however we did not mind it at all since the city is very safe and beautiful.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

Michelle C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Before booking this tour, I inquired if this tour was good for someone with mobility issues such as walking long distances and using a walker/wheelchair, there reply was This tour is suitable for wheelchair users provided passenger is traveling with a companion who can assist them on and off the bus. Wheelchairs will be stored in the luggage area of the bus. What they did not tell me is that there was substantial walking on uneven terrain and cobblestones. The first stop we did was approx. 1 hour walk, so my spouse had to stay on the bus. The second stop was the Vatican, my spouse decided to get off the bus and tried to walk as the guide told us that it was not far. Not far for someone that has no issues walking is not the same for someone that has difficulties walking. We managed to get to the Vatican, but had to use the wheelchair as the distance was too much to walk for my spouse. On the second part of the tour, the first stop had a hill to climb, steps to go up and walking, my spouse stayed on the bus. The other stop was to visit the Colosseum again there was substantial walking and going up steps and again my spouse had to stay on the bus. Out of the whole tour, my spouse spent most of the tour on the bus not seeing very much. I know that Rome is not a city for people with mobility issues, that is why I had inquired about the tour before we booked. If I would have known that my spouse would spend most of the tour on the bus, we would not have taken the tour we would have found an alternate way of seeing Rome. This was definitely a waste of money and time.

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message