Of the global cultural wonders which have been awarded UNESCO World Heritage status, only one represents an entire country: Vatican City. The world’s smallest sovereign state is – as well as being the spiritual home of the world’s billion or so ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 605 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kevin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Francesca was the best guide we had of the 3 tours we took in Rome. She was funny and nice and also extremely knowledgeable about the Vatican and it's artwork. She spoke excellent English which wasn't always the case in our experiences. I can't recommend her and her company enough.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

lakmymail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

was easy to find the tour where it started. fantastic , knowledgeable tour guide . with the number of people visiting Vatican this is definitely the best option . you get to see the most relevant thing things without spending hours in a queue just to get in .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour begins at the Vatican Museums, goes through the Sistine Chapel and ends at the Basilica. You can go back into the Basilica after for more photos without charge. Our tour guide was Igor and he was very knowledgeable and his English was easy to understand. Igor brought us through the Vatican Museums at a quick pace so there is a lot of information to take in but it would be hard to understand the significance of what you were looking at without a guide. You can take photos all through the tour except in the Sistine Chapel. The Basilica is amazing! For lunch after the tour Igor recommended the area pedonale near St. Peter's Square. A gelatto store on that street called argentale was the best gelatto we got while in Rome and it did receive a Trip Advisor award a couple of years ago.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

eddyetucker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is the best as far as tours go. Skip your cruise tour and use Viators skip the line Vatican tour. The tour was perfect the spokesperson was college educated, knowledgeable, very well spoken, and a delight. I will use Viator for tours and tips from now on!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Denise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was fantastic and was brimming with so much knowledge about the Vatican and the history. With so much overwhelming things to see in just a few hours, it was interesting to understand the specific history of a few of the pieces of art that we would have never known on our own. We went at 10:00 and it was packed I heard the earlier the better! as it is every single day so beware of that and just make the best of it! With the headsets on you could always wander and listen as she told us wonderful history without fear of not being able to hear the guide or be right next to her. This is the way to go as I saw some other tours that did not have the headsets. The Vatican museums, St. Peter's and the Sistine Chapel were so amazing and unreal. We saw many other beautiful churches on our two week tour in Italy but this is the most gorgeous church in the world and a MUST SEE once in a lifetime experience. Truly breathtaking and I am not religious!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Stephen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was very informative. I have been on several Vatican Museum tours, but this was the best yet.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Eric R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is one of the best tours of my life anywhere. I mean that. Shannon was a joy to listen to with a slight southern Alabama/Italian drawl. She was quick in the accessing of the areas we were to see, Obviously knew her subjects of discussion very well. The Sistine chapel with the quiet of only twelve other people and two guards was a highlight of my Italy tour. We also saw the secret Vatican rooms and the Raphael rooms by the great contemporary of Michelangelo. I cannot recommend this tour well enough. Overlook the cost and realize that you will see what very few others have seen or ever will see.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

jerryg80

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was fabulous and the guide was outstanding. Her knowledge of Vatican City was over the top and she narrated without notes. The skip the line tour is the best way to go. We went on a Weds during the weekly Papal audience so the Square was packed end to end and wall to wall for the Pope.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Dave L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Hands Down, the BEST tour I have ever gone on in 30 years of International Travel!

Our guide, Mama Bear, is THE tour guide for the ages, she was truly conveyed her love and joy of showing us the Secret Rooms of the Vatican and the Sistine Chapel. Through her detailed guiding of our small group, you actually felt like you were hearing a First Hand Account of the creation of The Last Judgment and the Sistine Chapel. Having grown up seeing this images in my Grandparents living room, to be there as it came to life was so meaningful.

Her keen wit, in-depth knowledge and access to rooms that are not a part of the Public Tours is what set this Tour apart. Having Mama Bear explain the Creation of Adam panel and the ensuing Creation of the Sun and the Moon and seeing the representation of the Moon in person was extraordinary and very amusing. In addition, to hear who Michelangelo featured as Demons in The Last Judgment brought the whole process to live.

Though there is some sticker shock when you first see the prices, believe me it is worth every last Euro and more. THE BEST TOUR on the planet!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Kathy Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A small group upgrade max of 12 was the best way to see the Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel. The meeting place was very easy to find and the tour left right on time. We were each given a set of earbuds and a receiver, so you could always hear the guide and not worry if he was out of sight because of the crowds. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and always answered any questions posed to him. Out of their control were the crowds. These were at times ridiculous!!! But when in Rome you MUST take this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

ARTHUR W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We booked this tour having read the glowing reports previously posted. It might be considered a bit expensive but wow it was worth every cent and actually exceeded our expectations. The previous week we had been on a circa 90 minute tour of the Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel with our guide making general observations of the exhibits as we were whisked along with the sea of other visitors.

This time we were in a small group of just 13 led by Shannon Carter, one of the best tour guides we have ever had. Her Art knowledge and historical anecdotes made our tour so very interesting. Entering the Vaticans secret rooms, not viewed by the general public, was enthralling and being in the private Chapel used solely by Popes during the last 500 years gave one goose bumps.

The tour lasted 3 hours with Shannon pointing out interesting little details of the statues and people within the pictures. The highlight was the 30 minutes in the Sistine Chapel with just the 13 of us and Shannon being allowed to explain the paintings. On the standard tours the guides have to remain silent in the Chapel. However the icing on the cake was us being allowed to take photos within the Chapel itself.

On your list of Things to do before you die make sure you add VIP Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small Group Tour of the Vaticans Secret Rooms. It is well worth it especially if you have a guide as good as ours

Arthur and Valerie

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Marion M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was one of the first of many tours we took on our trip to Italy and it turned out to be about the very best. Our guide, Shannon, was especially perfect for this tour and set a very high mark for all the following guides. An art historian with a love for Vatican history, the information just flowed from her. She moved us along without hurrying us and easily answered every question. Being in this small group was a big advantage as well as she being a native English speaker an American we easily understood everything she said without any of the difficulty we had on some other tours. Going behind the scenes with only a few others enabled us to really get a feel of the workings of the Vatican and its vast treasures. A very memorable tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Catherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

GianLuigi was the best. He had great information about the history of the Vatican and the Popes. He really took care of his tour group to make sure that we had the best possible seats for the event and boy was he right we were about 10 feet from the Pope. Honestly I wish the tour would have been longer as GianLuigi Gigi was so knowledgeable and had a great personality.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

BARBARA M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our skip the line tour of the Vatican, etc. was terrific. We loved every second of it and would highly recommend it. We learned so much and truly appreciated being in a small group which enabled us to hear and see our guide, who was obviously well versed in art, art history, and art restoration as well. I have been to Rome a number of times and this was the most informative and best use of our limited travel time. Book Skip the Line via Viator. You will not be sorry!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Frank and Cheryl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The five stars are for our wonderful tour guide. She was friendly, spoke excellent English and was very knowledgeable. Her narrative made this tour a meaningful experience. We booked a 9:00 a.m. tour because we had read that the crowds were smaller earlier in the day. However, the crowds in the Vatican Museum and the Sistine Chapel were horrendous. We were so tightly packed that it became an uncomfortable situation. It was better in St. Peter's Basilica because of its size, but still quite crowded. We have since heard that later in the afternoon may be better as far as crowds go. The fact that the Pope has declared this a Jubilee Year probably increased the crowds, but unfortunately, the overall experience for us was less than we expected. This is no reflection at all on our guide who did her best with a tough situation. Overall, we would rate this experience as three stars due to the crowding.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Richard O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is the best way to get an idea of what art is in The Vatican

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Irwin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The guide was the best we have had so far in out travels. The Vatican was awesome!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Donna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was informative, funny and friendly. Instructions for where to meet were explicit. The tour itself was the best way to see the Sistine Chapel. A number of groups were in attendance so there were a couple of hundred tourists, but when we circled back later in the day there were easily thousands of tourists crammed together. We also got through the rest of the Vatican Museums before the crowds got too thick. An early start to the day is the only way to go!

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide enthusiastically shared her knowledge about the history of the Vatican. Her presentation was interesting, clear, and understandable. She was one of the best tour guides I have encountered.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide enthusiastically shared her knowledge about the history of the Vatican. Her presentation was interesting, clear, and understandable. She was one of the best tour guides I have encountered.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Fred E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Emmanuelle was awesome! His knowledge of art history made the tour outstanding. Although we got separated from the group at the Sistene Chapel, it was at the end of the tour and Emmanuelle's instructions on how to return the radios and exit properly were spot-on! This was definitely the best way to tour the Vatican. We would do it again!! Fred and Julia Edwards North Carolina USA

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Matthew R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was great for anyone who wants to get to see the most famous parts of the Vatican Sistine Chapel, St Peters, and some important works of art in the museums on the way, and lots of other places too. Our tour guide was Barbara, who was very friendly and knowledgeable, and was able to answer all our questions. She knew how to get the best out of our visit there, with good advice on what else to do once the tour finished. I would strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Barry P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Probably the best thing we did on a trip to Rome. The early access meant that we got to be the first visitors of the day to walk through the halls of the Vatican Museum and go straight to the Sistine Chapel. We went back later in the day for a second viewing which was not part of the early access tour and the thousands of others doing the same tour meant we really couldn't enjoy it. This was the best money we spent in our entire trip to Italy which also took in Florence and Venice and we would recommend it to anyone!

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

Silvia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a very smart guide who waited til the second section open up and so we dashed in and found the best seats. During our waiting time she informed us regarding the Vatican state and other interesting info. If you want to see the Pope up close and in comfort highly recommend it.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Francesca our tour guide was the best guide we've ever had -she was passionate and lively and engaging, which made the trip far more interesting for my teenage children. We were given enough time to understand and enjoy the Vatican City and could not imagine going through this experience without a guide. Thank you Francesca and Viator for a tour of a lifetime!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message