Of the global cultural wonders which have been awarded UNESCO World Heritage status, only one represents an entire country: Vatican City. The world’s smallest sovereign state is – as well as being the spiritual home of the world’s billion or so ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 618 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Francesca our tour guide was the best guide we've ever had -she was passionate and lively and engaging, which made the trip far more interesting for my teenage children. We were given enough time to understand and enjoy the Vatican City and could not imagine going through this experience without a guide. Thank you Francesca and Viator for a tour of a lifetime!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

marietagundova

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The best way to visit Vatican museums and Sistine Chapel. We loved it! The group was small and explanations very professional and personal. We have visited areas that are not opened for public at all like private rooms of pope and best part is visit of Sistine chapel after working hours, all alone! Thank you

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Rachel M H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is the best way to do the Vatican and Sistine Chapel! You beat all the crowds and truly get a chance to admire all the wonderful gems found throughout the Vatican! I would recommend to anyone to start you day off this way. After you see the chapel you have time to explore on your own!

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

Vincent W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you are visiting The Vatican then you will not find a tour better than this one. Our tour guide, Lindy, was as professional, knowledgeable, personable and professional as you could ever want. This may not be the cheapest tour you can find, but I guarantee it will be the best. You will not need to queue at all and will learn all there is to know.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Stuart P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Take a small group tour and you will spend less time waiting for someone who is slow or gets lost! The Vatican is crazily busy, insanely busy, unpleasantly busy. This tour ticked all the boxes and crossed the Vatican off the list as pleasantly as it could be. The guide was a Catholic but the history was honest and not sanitised - which was refreshing. There is such splendour and the size and scale is awe inspiring - but did I mention it is busy, packed, a sardine tin would be spacious compared to the Sistine Chapel.
This tour makes the very best of a bad lot. I am not Catholic, in fact I am not religious at all but the mass of tourists show no absolutely no respect when in the Churches constantly talking and taking photos. At least with this tour we really did skip some very big lines and if you want to tour the Vatican this is a very good way of doing so.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

debs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Best way to see the Vatican
As it is sooo busy going through like this was much easier
Very impressed how organised it was at the meeting point as there were hundreds of people going on various tours all at the same time

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

hospitalar2001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the best tour of our vacation. How can you beat a half hour in the Sistine Chapel with only 14 people! We got to take pictures as well. The tour included a lot of in depth information about the other exhibits in the Vatican museum and the guide had a great knowledge and attitude toward our entire group. She even gave my wife and I a great recommendation for dinner!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Aina F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Vatican is, of course, unmissable if you are in Rome - and this is the best way to see it - our group was quite small so it was easy to see/hear the guide at all times. She was really fantastic, and had great stories and insights to share.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Paula W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Out your guide, Massimo, was the BEST! Knowledgeable, funny and SO entertaining!!! The lines around the Vatican are chaotic--but this tour company calmed the chaos and made the tour just delightful. Don and #39;t go it alone!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Eileen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a very expensive tour for the time period it was to take, so my expectations for this tour were very high. I am happy to say that they were met, I think mainly because of the tour guide. Unfortunately I forget his name, but he was an American who teaches in Rome and was both knowledgeable and able to give his explanations in entertaining language. The Vatican Museums, like other world class museums, can't be fully explored in 3 hours or even 3 weeks, so I was impressed at the selection of items to be viewed. We saw a mix of items that were simply interesting, but not necessarily historically or artistically spectacular, to the most glorious works in history. The guide gave interesting explanations of everything we looked at in terms of history, art history and how and when they were acquired. One member of the tour raised a very interesting philosophical question about whether the world, or at least the Western world, would have been better off if Nero had succeeded in snuffing out the Christians or Constantine had not established Christianity as the state religion. The guide gave the best answer for this tour: change any major historical fact and the world would be different, but there is no way to know if it would be better or worse. A small, more academically oriented tour could have made this a fascinating conversation. The non-public rooms were very interesting, esp. Julian II's apts., and the opportunity to see the Sistine Chapel privately was an exceptional experience. Even the march out down corridors we hadn't seen before was wonderful. For anyone who can afford it, I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Michelle J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Tatiana was the best!! So knowledgeable and handled the intense atmosphere of an extremely busy Vatican to give us the best experience possible. I learnt so much it was very informative and I ticked all the boxes for what I wanted to get from my visit. Definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Jill L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The ideal way to see the Vatican Museums. We had a very good guide who led us through the crowds and kept us together and informed. With earpieces, we could hear the information even if we weren't just next to her. It is very crowded but the tour is the best way to do it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

srg1564

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a fabulous tour, and our tour guide, Allisandra not sure how to spell her name was the BEST tour guide we've ever had. She was highly educated, extremely charming and personable, and well prepared. She did an exceptional job. I hope these accolades are shared with her. I highly recommend requesting her as your tour guide to Vatican City.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Sarah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Skip the Line was the best way to go to get into the Vatican and for a 1st trip there. However, would suggest not leaving when the tour is complete and wandering around even more. There were halls and halls of art that we did not even get to glance at because of the time. Simply amazing. We were slightly confused and almost missed the afternoon part of the tour which took us on a bus to see 3 additional churches. Those were just as fascinating as St Peters Santa Maria Majore and St Pauls were 2 of the 3.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Melesther425

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So informative. Absolute best way to see the Vatican!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

BoyetN

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best means to skip the long line going inside the Vatican museum. Will save you at least 2 hours than sweating it out in the sun, given that we went there at the start of summer. Our guide Manuela was highly knowledgeable and was very entertaining all throughout the 2 hour tour. Highly recommend this booking. Peace of advice, take this tour as your last stop in Rome so you would appreciate all the beautiful churches in Rome culminating with the St Peters Cathedral.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

traceycollar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour guide, gave lots of information and made it very interesting. No waiting in queues. Would highly recommend- best way to visit the Vatican. View from St Peters is outstanding and well worth the climb. Good value for money

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Alexandria S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had the best guide on this tour! Igor was absolutely great. I cannot imagine having visited the Vatican and not had him show us around! If you are trying to decide whether or not to book a guide, definitely do!! Also walked right past the large line - huge bonus!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

murphyjp Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We would highly recommend this tour to anyone considering visiting the Vatican, Sistine chapel and the Vatican museum. Our guide Oscar was extremely knowledgable, very attentive to all in the group and make a visit flow seamlessly by avoiding many delays and seeking best vantage points. Well done and thank you so much for a great day and information packed tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

adamllowery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

AMAZING!!! Our tour guide Julia was the best! She made this tour everything it was, we learned so much and she was very punctial with the time, which was a big deal as we needed to go to the port which was an hour away. We had time to spare. Julia really loves Rome and Vatican City and it shows with her passion. It was an amazing tour, probably the best one we had on our trip! The Vatican and St. Peters are just.... no words. You MUST see this and this tour is the way to do it. If you can, ask for Julia to be your guide. You will fall in love with Rome because her love for Rome comes through every word she says.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Virginia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was exceptional thanks to our guide. She shared personal history about popes and artists we had not heard before. This was the best Vatican tour I have ever taken. Highly recommend this.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Barbara USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

WOW! Was this tour worth the extra cost! It was Fantastic! Only 14 of us in the Sistine Chapel-how great was that?! And our guide, Tiffany was superb! Informative, entertaining and knowledgeable, making this visit to the Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel an experience of a lifetime! This tour is the absolute best I have ever taken and I have been on some good ones. I will probably never again visit the Sistine Chapel, because it would never live up to this experience! Thanks Tiffany for an AWESOME afternoon! Trip Advisor folks, SPRING for the EXTRA COST and experience this tour!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Lynn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Definitely the best way to see the Vatican. Our tour guide Davida was brilliant very knowledgeable. Would highly recommend,

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Tina M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was great and it helped to have a knowledgeable guide at the Vatican museum to take you through the best exhibits, especially if you are short on time. The only bad thing was how crowded the museum and Sistine Chapel were on our afternoon tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Betty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Perfect organization! All worked out very well and we had easy access into the Musei Vaticano by skipping the lines. Our guide Gio was a true catholic with profound knowledge of art and history and gave us a passionate and very charming tour, trying her best to avoid the crowds which was not easy considerung the masses of visitors.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message