With a massive Christmas market in the heart of Piazza Navona and dazzling illuminations running above the city's main shopping streets, the already vibrant Rome is at its most spirited over the holiday season. An elaborate and massive presepe  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Galileo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Thanks for the tour we have a great day in Christmas Rome!

Doing what: Rome Christmas Time Walking Tour

David F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide Daimani was excellent. He was very knowledgeable and entertaining throughout our 3 hour tour. We went on Christmas Day and got an incredible opportunity to see almost everything you'd want to see on a visit to Rome.

Doing what: Rome Christmas Time Walking Tour

Lisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a great time on our Christmas Day Walking Tour with Makela. She was easy to understand and had great stories behind the history of some of the sites we visited. We participated in five tours during our ten days in Italy with three different tour companies and this was our favorite!

Doing what: Rome Christmas Time Walking Tour

Mai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Our tour guide was Maximus who was excellent! If you can get him, you must do so. Was lovely to walk all around Rome during Christmas to see the sites and feel the joy of the season. We had 3 kids with us who did very well. Would highly recommend this tour without hesitation.

Doing what: Rome Christmas Time Walking Tour

Arthur V

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Guide was very informative and knowledgeable.
Other than taking place on Christmas day, there was no Christmas theme to the tour. It would have been nice to know that the tour was ending at St. Peter's Square (since public transportation was limited on the holiday). Lots of walking, so a few other members bailed early. We left our tour after Navona

Doing what: Rome Christmas Time Walking Tour

William A

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Great tour for Christmas day. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Rome Christmas Time Walking Tour

Christina W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

We were a bit dubious at the start of our tour because the organisation of registration and process of giving out audio headsets was so chaotic. This was because the person in charge was late. However, once our tour got underway our minds were soon put at rest. Our guide, Alexandra, was so knowledgeable and a true expert on the city of Rome. She gave us a lively commentary during our walking tour of the city and she was very caring of our group of 24, ensuring that we all kept together on the busy streets and that everyone had a drink during the break. It was easy to hear her lively and humorous commentary because of our headsets. You just had to make sure that you kept in range of the her headset. You also must be a good walker to enjoy this tour as you cover quite a distance during the 3 hours and at times you are walking at quite a fast pace through busy streets. This is because there is so much to see and Alexandra had so much to tell us. As well as lots of historical facts, she also gave us lots of local Roman stories and legends, things that only an insider would know. We were a group of four (myself, my husband and parents) and we really enjoyed our tour and will always remember our Christmas day in Rome. Many thanks to Alexandra!

Doing what: Rome Christmas Time Walking Tour

Marie H Ireland

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Even though I have seen some of this route before, it was still lovely to do this on Christmas Day. Rome is such a fabulous place.

Doing what: Rome Christmas Time Walking Tour

Lisette M Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Great guide, awful organization! We left at 4:10 for a 3:30 start! Queuing for a tour is not my idea of fun on Christmas day.

Doing what: Rome Christmas Time Walking Tour

Kerrie S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

This tour was on Christmas afternoon, after a day of lots of walking by us prior to this and this walking tour definitely made our legs hurt after it. The trip is well worth it however make sure you were up to walking at quite a fast pace and absorbing all the information. There are so many sites to see and yet so little time in 3 hours so there is a lot of information to listen to. We would advise doing this in the morning for future tours as we found doing other morning tours were much easier to make our way through. We ended up leaving the tour half an hour early because it was very tiring and our hotel was relatively close. The beverage supplied by the tour is well needed and was appreciated by all on the tour.

Doing what: Rome Christmas Time Walking Tour

Kevin S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

It was nice to see so many people out and about in Rome on Christmas Day. Coming from the U.S., there is typically nothing open and many restaurants and shops were open during our tour. The tour started out slow with the tour guide going into much detail about buildings and artists and we would have enjoyed it being more walking and site seeing of the Christmas decorations and lights. By the time we got to the end of the tour, almost half the group had left the tour guide because it was too slow.

Doing what: Rome Christmas Time Walking Tour

Mercedes E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Find a way to improve this tour. You should communique when you booked the tour that on Christmas Day the Public transportation in Rome stops from 13:00 to 17:00 , that alternative transportation is need it. All the streets of Roma are so crowd on this day, it was very difficult to keep the group together.

Doing what: Rome Christmas Time Walking Tour

Narayan S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2013

The tour guide was ok. This should not be done on a Christmas day. The metro was shutdown around noon time and it was very difficult to get transportation back to the hotel after the tour. Not satisfied with tour Itinerary, does not include landmarks. I do not recommend this.

Doing what: Rome Christmas Time Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message