Pompeii is one of the most popular tourist attractions in Italy - and with good reason. The trouble for many visitors is that most Italy itineraries don’t get further south than Rome, and Pompeii is ideally a day trip from places like Naples, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 765 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

GINO A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Roberto, our guide and driver, was great! Drove us quickly to Pompeii and handed us over to Gaetano, the local guide. He took us all over the ruins and shared a lot of information with us. Afterwards, Roberto took us to Amalfi. The roads were long and winding but Roberto did not have any problems at all. We definitely recommend this tour from Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

GINO A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Roberto, our guide and driver, was great! Drove us quickly to Pompeii and handed us over to Gaetano, the local guide. He took us all over the ruins and shared a lot of information with us. Afterwards, Roberto took us to Amalfi. The roads were long and winding but Roberto did not have any problems at all. We definitely recommend this tour from Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

Christopher C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I would definitely suggest this tour to anyone. They picked us up at the hotel, drove us to Pompeii while giving us the history of Rome along the way. The guide through Pompeii was very knowledgable and took us to all the highlights. Then we went along the Amalfi Coast- Positano and Amalfi. Beautiful and Amazing!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

Lisa T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was fantastic! Our tour guide Anna was incredible. So friendly and funny. She even took the time at the end of the trip to come and talk to each one of us on the bus to answer personal questions. The hike to the top of Mount Vesuvius was amazing. It's steep, but not very far, so almost anyone would be able to do it. Our tour guide at Pompeii, Enzo, was really wonderful. He provided just enough information, but also periodically gave us free time to explore and take pictures. We were lucky that we went on a day that wasn't very busy and the weather was perfect Nov 16, 2016. I would definitely recommend this day trip to anyone visiting Rome. It was the highlight of our trip!!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Stephen N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Absolutely wonderful! The Amalfi Coast tour was great - Roberto was a fantastic driver and guide. A small group cancelled the morning of our tour, so it was the two of us and another couple with Roberto for the day. The weather was fabulous and Roberto was sure to point out a lot along the way. Our guide during the Pompeii tour was very knowledgeable and had so much passion about Pompeii - made the tour that much more incredible. When we arrived back in Rome, Roberto was kind enough to give us a dinner recommendation for that evening and even made sure they had a table available for us. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

khanzada Pakistan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It could've not been better then this. I reached Rome by night and tour was early morning. My first ever with family and my two sons are just 3 years and 1.5 years old. I had many confusions regarding language and routine issues as with everyone having kids. BUT what a fantastic trip it was. I was surprised by friendly gesture of our guide and the way she took care of every aspect. So much so my elder son kept her hand in hand and roamed around Pompeii. The other guide who took us through Pompeii ruins was a PERSONALITY! to me he seemed more like a director of some movie. The way he talked, the way he briefed and they way he conducted it was like as if I was with some director of movie who was explaining every minor detail. Hats Off to both guides and hats off to the management. For a single second I did not feel that I was new there or if I had a problem. I enjoyed every moment of the trip. I recommend it to anyone who is visiting Rome to take this tour and If someone really needs to know what Pompeii is then one must go for it.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Carmen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide, Amanda, had fabulous tidbits of information to offer as we traveled to Mt. Vesuvius. After visiting Pompeii we headed back to Rome and were offered a lovely tasting of Limoncello! Yum!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

esanginiti

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a long day of touring but it is a GREAT way to see Pompeii. We had great guides and saw and learned a lot. It was neat to be able to climb Mt Vesuvius. Having a guide take us through Pompeii really maximized our time and elevated the experience. The pizza lunch was clearly a tourist trap. It was a huge reception hall with hundreds of other tour buses. Not a very local dining experience. I still think it's an amazing to see Pompeii from Rome and I would recommend the tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Mark F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

No trip to the West coast of Rome would be complete without visiting the Tyrrhenian Sea coast, to tempt fate by climbing sleepy Vesuvius then to tread on the cobblestoned streets of ancient Pompeii as it's ill-fated inhabitants did nearly two millennia ago but now with a local archaeologist. Our tour guide for the day Roberto was knowledgeable and engaging and was a perfect fit. Although the obligatory lunch stop served very disappointing Neapolitan pizzas, worse still was finding a Starbucks inside Pompeii built on the site which had been the womens' bathhouse. If this is how we treat world heritage sites there is no hope. Putting these minor gripes aside, this full day trip into Campania was both exhilarating and informative made possible by our expert guides and driver.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Karen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was definitely the highlight of my time in Rome. So glad we took it, just wished we took it at the beginning of the trip as we might have spared ourselves some bad experiences in the city. The guides/hosts were wonderful, friendly and enthusiastic, learned all sorts of things from them. And, of course Pompeii was absolutely incredible.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

lheidenson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Even though it was a 3-hour drive from Rome to Pompeii, Becky and Andy made the long bus ride enjoyable. They provided us with lots of information about the region but also gave us quiet time to rest both on the way down and on the way back. They are top notch tour guides!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

rzimman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great tour with only 16 people on a small bus. The tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly, and eager to answer questions about Pompeii, Mt. Vesuvius, as well as Rome. The bus ride is about two-hours each way with a stop at about the halfway point for restrooms and refreshments. The guide provided a lot of background information about Pompeii before we arrived there. We were met by a local guide who provide a two-hour tour, which was a good overview of the ruins. After lunch of Neapolitan pizza, which is included in the cost of the tour, we proceeded to Mt. Vesuvius. Again the guide provided background information before our arrival. The hike to the top of Mt. Vesuvius is strenuous, but worthwhile with incredible views inside the caldera and the surrounding countryside.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Daniel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was very well organized and executed. They did a good job providing reasonable stops for the trip to pompeii and back, and our tour guides Roberto and Amid did a splendid job of keeping us on schedule and provided us with stories, historical information, and general rome advice. These guides were extremely top notch. They were well spoken native english speakers that were amazing story tellers that kept us well engaged when providing us information. Also giving us context when providing information. They were funny and cheerful for the full 12 hour tour. Our local guides for Pompeii were also splendid. Doing a great job of providing us with tons of information and guiding us through a tasting of the massive archeological site. If your in Rome, and don't have the time to go down to Naples or pompeii on your own, this is THE WAY to see Pompeii. Mt. vesuvius is also a really good stop on the trip. the hour and half there is plenty of time to summit and see the view before walking down to the bus. The stop at lunch for pizza is also really good and is preface with a great story of the creation of the current incarnation of the Napoli Margherita pizza. I recommend the rossa!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

watersmith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Long bus ride from Rome to Pompeii, but good; stopped in Naples and had some authentic pizza and it was fantastic! Pompeii was amazing and spectacular. Just like any tourist destination there were gift shops at the exit, although this one had many items that were phallic. All good; great trip/tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Richard H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A long but fantastic day, with two very entertaining, informative and engaging guides in Andy and Chiara. The trip lets you see some of the Italian countryside which you would miss if you spent your whole visit in Rome itself.

The climb up Vesuvius is something to behold, and the local guide for Pompeii was excellent, funny and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Erwin Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was very good. Tourguides Sarah and Ahmed are of the highest standards and that is what a tour needs. They kept us well entertained during the bustour to Vesuvius and Pompeii and informed us well about the timeschedules etc... Also did they give us valuable information for us to enjoy our stay in Rome and/or Italy even better. Especially on the way back they gave us individually all their time we needed to answer any query we had digging into their experience and suggestions. Pompeii tourguide was very good, he had his jokes handy and kept us well entertained during the tour making it an interesting one rather then becoming boring. Good tourguides are so important and this tour had them all !! Well done ! Will definitely consider them again when I will decide for a tour in Rome or area.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

LeAnn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed this all day tour. Andy with City Wonders is a great guide- he was funny, engaging and extremely informative.He directed us to one of the best restaurants in Rome and told us how to find great gellato, information which has served us throughout Italy. The tour is long, but you get to see a lot. Well worth the hike up to Vesuvius, followed by a delicious pizza lunch. Then a very interesting tour of Pompeii - which is much bigger than we thought. If you have the time, I recommend you do this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

William R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a fun day trip from Rome. The bus ride up to Vesuvius was exhilarating and the views from the volcano were great. You get a great view of Naples and Capri and the surrounding area. The Pompeii portion was also great and fascinating. The pizza was so-so, but that was not what the trip was about really.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Suzanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A terrific day trip from Rome. The tour guides on the bus gave lots of interesting information, the bus ride was a comfortable and carefree way to get to Pompeii. The official guide at Pompeii was outstanding, and Pompeii was an amazing place -well worth the trip.
We also really enjoyed the hike up Mt. Vesuvius and the fantastic view which is pretty steep and requires good walking shoes.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

daviddoerr44

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What an amazing tour! My wife and I booked this day tour from Rome during our stay as we have always dreamed of seeing the Amalfi Coast and Pompeii. Our guide/driver, Roberto, was absolutely wonderful. He was incredibly knowledgable and thoughtful. The beauty of the Amalfi Coast is simply unbelievable. During our stop in Positano, we had one of the best meals of our life at a restaurant Roberto recommended. We also loved our tour in Pompeii. Just don't forget your bug spray and water bottles during summer months as it was incredibly hot. We would definitely recommend this tour to others. You will not regret it.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

hobodaddy1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is the best day tour from Rome. Climb Mt Vesuvius and see Capri and Naples from a spectacular view. The trip to Pompeii was excellent as the tour guide Enrico, made sure you saw the most interesting artifacts and sites.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Xina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Inga and Alessandra were fantastic tour guides and made the trip so enjoyable. We took this tour the day before we left, otherwise I would have booked additional excursions and specifically requested them. Our party of six had a great time hiking up Mt. Vesuvius, visiting Pompeii and stopping for lunch in Naples for pizza. Recommend wearing tennis shoes for the hike. The bus was a very comfortable ride. Would highly recommend to anyone. One of our favorite tours while visiting Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Filomena C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the best tour taken in Rome, our two tour guides Enrica and Peter, very informative made our tour fun and full of informations, descriptions and history.From Pompeii where we wore able to see most of the important sites to the Vesuvio it was the most interesting experience. Thank you to Enrica and Peter
for giving us a fun and pleasent tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an absolutely brilliant and memorable trip worth every penny. Peter, our Italian/ American guide, really knew his stuff and was great to chat to. The older Italian guide, Enrica, was nice and helpful. The bus driver, Paulo was a master driver negotiating the tricky traffic like a pro. The pizza was great, really nice to try a different style than what we had in Rome. Pompeii was incredible with an expert guide. Mt Vesuvius was stunning and Peter was great at the top filling us in on the views and just generally great. The history of the sites are incredible! The trip brings it alive in a pleasant way. Top marks!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

gail.everitt7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent guides in Chiara and Manuelle. They possess such knowlege of Rome and the area and entertained us on the journey. Linda our guide in Pompeii was just as knowledgeable about The city and did her absolute best and got us through the very crowded streets and buildings. An excellent tour, well organised and super guides.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message