Pompeii is one of the most popular tourist attractions in Italy - and with good reason. The trouble for many visitors is that most Italy itineraries don’t get further south than Rome, and Pompeii is ideally a day trip from places like Naples, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 719 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Heather D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour...starting in Rome, climbing Mt. Vesuvius and then of course Pompeii! We couldn't have asked for anything better. The guides were knowledgeable and made the day one of our vacation highlights! Thanks

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Daniel J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

With out a doubt the best tour you could book. Was amazing from start to finish. First the bus journey down to Pompeii was long but the tour guides gave us till the first stop to get some sleep due to the early start which was nice. The second leg of the journey they talked to us about the surrounding area the history and also the plan for the day. Mt Vesuvius incredible the climb up was tough but the views were amazing, we didn't feel rushed or pressured to hurry back so gave us plenty of time to get up there which was nice as my partner suffers from a heart problems so she didn't have to rush and make herself ill. From there the lunch was nice getting to try pizza from Naples the place where it came from.
Pompeii was the highlight seeing the ruins and getting a very informative guide who let us explore and gave us lots information. We again weren't rushed about or made to hurry along they let us go at our pace and enough it. And lastly the bus ride back to Rome was nice before entering the city again the guides came round the bus and talked to us individually and asked us if we needed any advice or tips about Rome. This I felt was a nice touch as we asked about restaurant suggestions they had along with things to do that aren't on guide books and they gave us there local knowledge. Would recommend to anyone that wan't to experience what can only be described as a breath taking tour. Thanks Sara for the tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Carole C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We booked this day trip from Rome to Pompeii and everything from start to finish went exactly to plan. It was a long day trip but worth it, the coach was very comfortable, the guides who accompanied us from start to finish very informative with good sense of humour. Rest breaks and quiet time on the coach made the long journey pleasant. We were passed to a local guide on arrival at Pompeii whose knowledge brought the history of the place alive. We chose to book with Viator following successful trips with them in Venice a few years ago and have this evening just booked a tour with them for our forthcoming trip to Vienna. I feel confident booking with Viator through my past experience and can highly recommend them.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Craig L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a very long day but an excellent one. We had two 10 year olds with us so stamina was a concern but they were able to sleep in the car on the way from Rome to the coast, between Positano and Pompeii, then all the way home so they were exhausted but handled it well and were awake and participating in the tours. The Pompeii tour guide was excellent and I wish we could have seen move - two hours is not enough - but everyone was on fumes at that point. Overall it was an exhausting excellent day that was well worth it.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome

Raymond D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pompeii is a must see. One gets a much fuller picture of how the Romans lived than from the relics in Rome itself. The guides were all excellent and helpful. The views from Vesuvius were stunning.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Marinda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The meeting point was clear and the guides were on time and organised. We heard lots of interesting facts on the bus to Pompeii and we were happy to just sit back and relax - tour started early to fit everything in. Our guide in Pompeii was excellent. It was crowded and hot, but it was easy to hear and follow our guide. Lunch was ok - not the best I've had, but good enough. The walk up Mt Vesuvius was great - I loved the fact that we could walk at our own pace, within the guide times given by the guides. The trip back was again a highlight with lots of interesting facts. Our guides were very helpful in general about Rome and what to do. My two teenagers loved it as well.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

katrina.steedman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyed the Day trip to Pompeii from Rome. Our guide, Luca, was incredibly knowledgeable and gave some great insight into Pompeii, Mt Vesuvius, Roman Culture, history and food. The day was paced well considering we included two rest stops, a hike up Mt Vesuvius, pizza for lunch and 2 hours at Pompei Ruins. If you are looking for a comfortable and convenient way to see Pompeii from Rome, highly recommend the tour. However, if you would like to spend more than 2 hours at Pompeii, would suggest you look at another tour as felt there was so much more to see at Pompeii but was a good highlights tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Rebekah Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Absolutely LOVED this tour. Our tour guides were superb they were warm and friendly as well as knowledgeable and fun. It's a must see day trip out of Rome! The only thing I would change is I would love about 30-40 minutes of free time to walk around Pompeii after the tour was over to take pictures and see a bit more before we headed off. All in all we were thrilled with the trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

marlenepetrella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The trip to Pompeii from Rome was a very long day, but it was well worth the effort. Roberto, our guide, made all the difference. He was very organized and attentive to everyone's needs. Plus, he was extremely entertaining, telling stories that my grandchildren loved and providing humorous information about what constitutes real gelato and what you will NEVER get at a real Italian restaurant spaghetti and meatballs--NEVER happen. But, for me, the most touching point was when we were climbing to the top of Mt Vesuvius. My family stayed with me for most of the climb up, but I was VERY slow and wasn't sure I would make it up in the allotted time. Roberto knew I wanted to make it to the top if at all possible, and he encouraged me to keep going, never raising concerns that time was running out. When I finally reached the top and triumphantly met my family, Roberto was there to snap my picture, smiling from ear to ear. Then he walked with me, all the way down--again, never rushing me or making me concerned about the time. He genuinely wanted me to have, and enjoy, the experience. So many tours are totally focused on the time schedule that they lose sight of the reason people take their tour. And I get it: schedules ARE important. However, I am truly grateful that City Wonders hires tour guides like Roberto who know that schedules need to be flexible. The experience is everything.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Jamie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Me and my fiancé were in Rome for 12 nights and we have always wanted to see Pompeii and have always wanted to climb an active volcano and this tour did both Robert and Melissa were lovely tour guides and gave all the info that we wanted and even the info around the edges that we didn't think we wanted to know! With a tour of this type I didn't expect to have a full day in Pompeii and I thought it would be just a quick tour and in a way it was but we ended up seeing a lot lot more than we thought and had an amazing trip the day from start to finish was immersive and carefully planned and well delivered and we feel like we got excellent value for money. I would reccomend this trip to absulately anyone that has a spare day in Rome,

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Daniel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great day trip from Rome. Bus guides did a good job and the local guide in Pompeii was excellent.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Brewskiis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We took this tour on July 8th with Jonathan and Antonella, who were absolutely fabulous guides! They were very knowledgeable about Rome/Pompeii/Vesuvius, and entertained us with many stories during our long bus ride. They made the ride fun! The hike up to the Vesuvius crater was amazing. Pompeii is a must do if you are in Rome - so incredible! Excellent tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Ronald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a few days in Rome to start our vacation and this trip to Pompeii was great!! Inga and Monika, our guides made the trip wonderful. We braved a crazy traffic jam and hiked Mt. Vesuivius, thanks to our bus driver, Paulo! This is a long day trip, plan for at least 10 hours round trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Diana G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was very well organized and we learned a lot about the areas we passed through on the way from Rome to Pompeii The tour of Pompeii was lead by a very good guide and we were able to see the highlights. We also really appreciated the chance to hike up Mt. Vesuvius. The fact that it went from blue sky to hail was an added adventure. We would recommend this tour to anyone who is staying in Rome and wants to see Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We traveled to Vesuvius/Pompeii from our base in Rome impulsively after having visited Ostia Antica. Ostia whetted our appetite for one of the world's premier archaeological sites at Pompeii. Booking an excursion through Viator was effortless. We traveled to Pompeii in comfort on a motor coach. Enroute we stopped at the Vesuvius National Park for a manageable hike and an opportunity to peer into the caldera. That was followed by an excellent lunch, Then, on to Pompeii. The site lived up to its acclaim...a must for all travelers. The Viatour escorts Luca, Jonathan, and Marius that led the excursion were thoroughly knowledgeable and extremely well organized. In addition to providing context to the trip e.g., history, customs, food, etc. they managed to eliminate all aggravations that a solo travel invariably encounters. Additionally, the professional guide at Pompeii was excellent. I highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Caroline S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This day trip was the highlight of our short stay in Rome. Both myself and my husband loved everything about it! It is a very long day with the travelling but SO worth it. We got to walk up Mount Vesuvius and take in the breathtaking view over the bay of Naples and look into the crater which was smoking in places. It is a challenging walk when hot but just pace yourself and you will get there, I am of moderate fitness and managed to get up there. We then had a delicious pizza lunch in Naples which included salad and a drink I did not expect the food to be so good, very good for an inclusive trip compared to others we have been on! This very filling lunch then gave us much needed energy for the tour of Pompeii. Pompeii is HUGE and you do not get to walk around even half of it, but the few hours we did have were amazing! We had a tour guide who brought the city to life whilst walking around the ruins. It was an extremely hot day, make sure you take plenty of water which you can fill up at various fountains inside Pompeii. We will certainly return to Pompeii one day to explore the rest of it. I would highly recommend this trip. We loved it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sarena H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful time with Melanie as our guide! She was extremely sweet and you could tell she was very passionate about her job and informing us about the history of Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius.
The walk up to the crater of Mount Vesuvius was a lot of fun, and we had a good amount of time to hike up at our own pace with time to take photos. The walk through Pompeii was incredible! An absolute must for anyone who loves history and knows about Pompeii.

The only thing we weren't too fond of was the lunch that was provided at the restaurant. The pizza was okay, nothing spectacular unfortunately.

We would HIGHLY recommend this day trip if you are visiting Rome. You won't regret it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Angela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was our first tour in Rome after we arrived. Brando was our guide, and he was amazing! He was professional and constantly fed us information about where we were passing through, and took us to the best places on the Amalfi Coast. This is a small group tour. There were three couples. We loved how he referred to us as Dear Friends every time he started off his sentences. You can tell that he loves this region his hometown and that he loves his job! The tour of Pompeii was also very good. The tour guide was excellent there as well. I would highly recommend this tour and thanks so much Brando!!!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome

STEPHANIE F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely wonderful. I looked forward to this tour the most on my trip to Rome and didn't disappoint. The guides were nice and spoke great English so we could understand. The transportation was comfortable, the pizza was amazing, and our Pompeii guide was fun! The hike up Mt. Vesuvius was amazing and this tour is absolutely worth it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Peter K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were lead by Melony with a shared bus - two tour groups both doing the same tour. Well organized pick-up with a small walk to the bus. Melony was awesome, lovely, and extremely passionate about sharing her knowledge. A few laugh along the way, we had an awesome day-trip.
The day was awesome. Perfect weather all the way. The two tour leads shared the commentary through Rome to the comfort-stop at Cassino. The bus driver showed the world how to go up the single-lane Vesuvius 'goat track' and we were in very safe hands.
Off at the top and we had 1 1/4 hours to climb up to the top - ample time for most fitness levels.
After Vesuvius was lunch - pizza and drink. Perfect. Then off to Pompeii for a guided-tour by the local expert. Very informative and a good speed - not too slow!
A nice drive home through the beautiful countryside and we even got restaurant tips before arriving back in Rome around 20:15.
So so so recommended! Thanks Mel.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Kazza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful day trip out from Rome, thoroughly enjoyed Amalfi, Positano and a later visit to Pompeii. Great guide Hector took us around Pompeii and gave us an amazing experience. We had a small group and were given plenty of free time to explore. Had a rest on the way back as a long day out. Expensive but really wanted to visit the gorgeous Amalfi coast.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome

Donald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the day. The guides - Rick and Andy - were informative and fun to be with. Our Pompeii guide Carla was also very good. I would highly recommend this trip if you have an extra day while in Rome. We were leary of the long bus ride but it wasn't bad and we learned lots of tips and interesting information along the way. We'd read that the hike was strenuous and while it was, it was worth it for the beautiful view.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Jaymin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The guides were very knowledgeable and took what would could have been a long boring day with many bus rides into the most informative day of our time in Rome. Climbing Mt Vesuvius was a real hike with beautiful views from the top of the crater. Pompeii was vast and we had our own Pompeii guide once we got to the archaeological site. Wish I had booked more tours with City Wonders. Again, the tour guides made this amazing.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

MaryJoy Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Luca, our guide, did a wonderful job telling us all about Rome, Pompeii, Naples, and Mt. Vesuvius. CityWonders is a very organized and punctual company. We arrived at the meeting point at 7:30, loaded on to the buses, and had a bathroom break on the way there and back. We had a local guide in Pompeii that helped us see the highlights, a wonderful pizza lunch, and then a hike on Mt. Vesuvius. Be sure to bring good walking shoes, a hat, and water for the day. Well worth it and a great company and guide.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sarah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely fabulous. Best thing I did the whole 11 days I was in Italy. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and Pompeii is incredible. The only way it could have been better is if the weather were better there was a landslide and we couldn't go up Vesuvius or even really see it with all the clouds but the backup plan museum was nice and no one can control the weather. The overall experience was great and it was nice to take a break from the hectic crowdedness of Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message