Pompeii is one of the most popular tourist attractions in Italy - and with good reason. The trouble for many visitors is that most Italy itineraries don’t get further south than Rome, and Pompeii is ideally a day trip from places like Naples, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 748 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

watersmith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Long bus ride from Rome to Pompeii, but good; stopped in Naples and had some authentic pizza and it was fantastic! Pompeii was amazing and spectacular. Just like any tourist destination there were gift shops at the exit, although this one had many items that were phallic. All good; great trip/tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Richard H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A long but fantastic day, with two very entertaining, informative and engaging guides in Andy and Chiara. The trip lets you see some of the Italian countryside which you would miss if you spent your whole visit in Rome itself.

The climb up Vesuvius is something to behold, and the local guide for Pompeii was excellent, funny and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Erwin Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was very good. Tourguides Sarah and Ahmed are of the highest standards and that is what a tour needs. They kept us well entertained during the bustour to Vesuvius and Pompeii and informed us well about the timeschedules etc... Also did they give us valuable information for us to enjoy our stay in Rome and/or Italy even better. Especially on the way back they gave us individually all their time we needed to answer any query we had digging into their experience and suggestions. Pompeii tourguide was very good, he had his jokes handy and kept us well entertained during the tour making it an interesting one rather then becoming boring. Good tourguides are so important and this tour had them all !! Well done ! Will definitely consider them again when I will decide for a tour in Rome or area.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

LeAnn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed this all day tour. Andy with City Wonders is a great guide- he was funny, engaging and extremely informative.He directed us to one of the best restaurants in Rome and told us how to find great gellato, information which has served us throughout Italy. The tour is long, but you get to see a lot. Well worth the hike up to Vesuvius, followed by a delicious pizza lunch. Then a very interesting tour of Pompeii - which is much bigger than we thought. If you have the time, I recommend you do this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

William R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a fun day trip from Rome. The bus ride up to Vesuvius was exhilarating and the views from the volcano were great. You get a great view of Naples and Capri and the surrounding area. The Pompeii portion was also great and fascinating. The pizza was so-so, but that was not what the trip was about really.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Suzanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A terrific day trip from Rome. The tour guides on the bus gave lots of interesting information, the bus ride was a comfortable and carefree way to get to Pompeii. The official guide at Pompeii was outstanding, and Pompeii was an amazing place -well worth the trip.
We also really enjoyed the hike up Mt. Vesuvius and the fantastic view which is pretty steep and requires good walking shoes.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

daviddoerr44

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What an amazing tour! My wife and I booked this day tour from Rome during our stay as we have always dreamed of seeing the Amalfi Coast and Pompeii. Our guide/driver, Roberto, was absolutely wonderful. He was incredibly knowledgable and thoughtful. The beauty of the Amalfi Coast is simply unbelievable. During our stop in Positano, we had one of the best meals of our life at a restaurant Roberto recommended. We also loved our tour in Pompeii. Just don't forget your bug spray and water bottles during summer months as it was incredibly hot. We would definitely recommend this tour to others. You will not regret it.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

hobodaddy1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is the best day tour from Rome. Climb Mt Vesuvius and see Capri and Naples from a spectacular view. The trip to Pompeii was excellent as the tour guide Enrico, made sure you saw the most interesting artifacts and sites.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Xina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Inga and Alessandra were fantastic tour guides and made the trip so enjoyable. We took this tour the day before we left, otherwise I would have booked additional excursions and specifically requested them. Our party of six had a great time hiking up Mt. Vesuvius, visiting Pompeii and stopping for lunch in Naples for pizza. Recommend wearing tennis shoes for the hike. The bus was a very comfortable ride. Would highly recommend to anyone. One of our favorite tours while visiting Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Filomena C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the best tour taken in Rome, our two tour guides Enrica and Peter, very informative made our tour fun and full of informations, descriptions and history.From Pompeii where we wore able to see most of the important sites to the Vesuvio it was the most interesting experience. Thank you to Enrica and Peter
for giving us a fun and pleasent tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an absolutely brilliant and memorable trip worth every penny. Peter, our Italian/ American guide, really knew his stuff and was great to chat to. The older Italian guide, Enrica, was nice and helpful. The bus driver, Paulo was a master driver negotiating the tricky traffic like a pro. The pizza was great, really nice to try a different style than what we had in Rome. Pompeii was incredible with an expert guide. Mt Vesuvius was stunning and Peter was great at the top filling us in on the views and just generally great. The history of the sites are incredible! The trip brings it alive in a pleasant way. Top marks!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

gail.everitt7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent guides in Chiara and Manuelle. They possess such knowlege of Rome and the area and entertained us on the journey. Linda our guide in Pompeii was just as knowledgeable about The city and did her absolute best and got us through the very crowded streets and buildings. An excellent tour, well organised and super guides.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Rich P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The day was awesome, and our guides Manuel and Maria I think their names are were fantastic. I'd been to Rome and Pompeii before, and wish I'd had the same sort of knowledge and personalities giving a tour the first time. I would definitely recommend the tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Shai United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The highlight of my stay in Rome last week, picked this tour and glad I did, did not disappoint and definitely worth the money. Our tour guide Mikeala from City wonder tours was brilliant, she fed us with knowledge about the history of Pompeii and Vesuvius through out the day and looked after us all. She made this trip very fun and exciting with her amusing personality. The day was very long but the views from the air conditioned coach made it worth while, they were breathtaking. This tour will not disappoint you. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would pick it again .

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

shabala.m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My husband and I took the trip on the 14th Of August 2016, a Sunday. Excellent trip well organised and well executed by our lovely highly learned guide Ms Kylie. The credit for making the trip a complete success goes entirely to her. She was very disciplined and well organised and gave us plenty of information on history of Rome right from the Trojan war all along the journey. After our visit to Pompeii we had a good lunch which was a big pizza we could choose one from 3 different types and a drink of our choice included in the package. On our way to the Vesuvius, Kylie told us about the history of Vesuvius and the magma chamber beneath it and how the region around the mountain is divided into zones depending on the risk level and the government emergency plan in the event of any future eruption. She explained how the story of the eruption in 79AD was learned from eyewitness account of Pliny the younger and spoke about the two Plinys and reconstructed the entire event that lead to burying of Herculeum and Pompeii under the pyroclastic flow. She was very energetic too and accompanied us to the top of the Vesuvius without showing any sign of fatigue. She helped us spot the steam that was still coming out of crater walls and pointed out to Pompeii and the various islands like Capri,Ischia from the top of the Vesuvius. she also pointed to the path traced out on the mountains by lava that came from the last eruption in 1944. On our way back, she gave us lot of useful tips for tourists travelling and places that we must visit in Rome. She was a very kind person and helpful and very jovial. The guide in Pompeii however paled in comparison to her. He was good but when you have listened to Kylie narrate then you feel that he could have been better. Pompeii is a must visit to know how the people lived and made such great planned cities with facilities that make us wonder why was nature so cruel to such a great cultured society.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Karen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I love the Amalfi Coast. It is worth the time to take a day trip from Rome. The sea side towns are charming and unique. Pompeii is reeped in history and very interesting.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

enecostin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Well organized. We left with 2 tour guides from Rome and they were with us all along, showing, explaining, answering questions. In Pompeii we had a special guide that walked us through, very informative. Vezuviu is a trip in itself. The lunch was over rated and the bus drive back seamed endless but overall o great experience.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Laura W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guides were very informative. I would've loved to have known some of the information about Rome before we stayed in Rome. They were so helpful in planning great restaurants and really went out of their way to answer questions

Pompeii was hot. They have only 3 plaster casts of the bodies but the architecture is amazing as were the views. The pizza wasn't anything special but was generous in portions. Would definitely do again

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a great day! The bus ride from Rome is 3 hours and our guides Ahmed and Sarah were terrific. They shared lots of info but were not boring or overwhelming. We got to hike to the crater at Mt. Vesuvius after the bus drove us most of the way up the volcano. Make sure to wear closed toe shoes the path is gravel and dirt and inclined the entire way. You do need to be in decent shape to make the walk at the altitude my 80 yr old mom did it, but my 82 yr old dad felt short of breath and didn't climb . We then had a great tour in the ruins of Pompeii. It was brutally hot in Pompeii bring water, umbrella and fan - there is no shade The lunch was lousy - small, plain salad and choice of 1 of 3 pizzas. They restaurant was serving bus after busload of tourists, so the quality wasn't there, pizza seemed undercooked as waiters quickly rushed to serve everyone in the restaurant before the next bus showed up.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Trisha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was our best tour while my husband and I were honeymooning in Italy. The tour guides were named Claudia and Robert and they were amazing. They were on time and very professional. Robert especially was clearly a seasoned tour guide and was rather funny. Both tour guides gave us so many information on the culture of Rome, Pompeii, Naples, and Vesuvius during the long bus ride. They both monitored our group closely at Pompeii and at Vesuvius giving us tips and tricks along the way. The local guide was named George who again was wonderful-very informative. Then at Vesuvius my husband and I had ample time to climb to the top and enjoy the marvel that is Vesuvius. It truly is breathtaking. Then on the bus ride back to Rome once again, Robert and Claudia gave us so many valuable tips on getting around Rome-good places to eat and so many facts about Roman culture that I truly appreciated. It was such a great tour-truly a must-do!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Patric F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was hands down one of the best things I did in Rome. I was in Rome for 4 days and did not do any tours, but am very glad I did this one. Our guides were Melanie and Kyara, both of whom made the trip very exciting and interesting. They both know a lot about the history of Rome and share that knowledge with you at the beginning of the bus ride down. The bus is very comfortable, it's an air conditioned coach bus. The first stop is near the top of Mount Vesuvius. Then you get off the bus, and can climb to the summit, which is a little less than a mile. Once you get to the top, you have a great view of Naples and a great view inside the crater of Mount Vesuvius. After the climb, you get back into the bus and they take you to lunch for some Neapolitan pizza, which was absolutely delicious! Then you head over to Pompeii for a tour, which was very insightful! You also get to see a few plaster casts, which are human remains preserved from the ash of Mount Vesuvius during the fateful eruption. Then, after the tour, you head back home. On the bus ride home, Melanie and Kyara come talk to each and every person and answer any questions you have, and they make terrific suggestions on where to eat, drink, and what other sites to visit in Rome. So if you can, book this tour at the beginning of your trip so you can listen to their tips and follow through with them. We got back into Rome at around 8 PM. BOOK THIS YOUR NOW!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Daniel D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My wife and I took this tour because we wanted to maximize our short time we had in Rome - this day trip is totally worth it! We had two fantastic tour guides, Andy and Francisco, who were both knowledgable and entertaining on the bus rides. Once in Pompeii, our group was paired with a local tour guide who gave us just the right amount of information on Pompeii. After the tour, we were treated to a pizza for lunch. Okay... Yes, there are better pizzas in Italy than what we were served, but it was still pretty good. After lunch our tour guides Andy and Francisco and our expert driver Antonio took us up Mt. Vesuvius where we got some excellent views of the surrounding sea and city. On the way back towards Rome, we were treated to some free samples of wine and limoncello, which were both excellent. I would highly recommend this tour because the guides were excellent, knowledgable, and also knew when to let people on the bus just relax and enjoy the ride.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Andrew L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I had a wonderful tour to Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius. The trip was well organised the the tour guides were exemplary in their knowledge and enthusiasm to make sure we had an enjoyable and engaging tour. Alessandra the allocated guide for our group was fantastic. Loved Pompeii and all it had to offer, the tour guide who showed us around Pompeii brought to life what we were seeing through her knowledge and the way she shared that with us. It was nice to have a break for lunch in a restaurant. The walk up Vesuvius to the top was a good hard walk with a breathtaking reward at the top. On the trip back to Rome our tour guides continued to engage with us and checked to see if we needed any assistance on our return to Rome. City Wonders provided a tour that was well worth the money, I highly recommend the trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Susan W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our trip to Pompeii was a highlight of our visit to Rome. The guides who spent the day with us, and the Neapolitan guide who joined us for Pompeii itself, were all excellent. The trip was very well organized, including an excellent pizza lunch at a real, sit-down restaurant that was ready to receive 100 guests all at once. The city of Pompeii was extensively excavated and fascinating. Hiking up Mt. Vesuvius on a hot day was exhausting but worth the effort!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Heather D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour...starting in Rome, climbing Mt. Vesuvius and then of course Pompeii! We couldn't have asked for anything better. The guides were knowledgeable and made the day one of our vacation highlights! Thanks

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message