Pompeii is one of the most popular tourist attractions in Italy - and with good reason. The trouble for many visitors is that most Italy itineraries don’t get further south than Rome, and Pompeii is ideally a day trip from places like Naples, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 737 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Xina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Inga and Alessandra were fantastic tour guides and made the trip so enjoyable. We took this tour the day before we left, otherwise I would have booked additional excursions and specifically requested them. Our party of six had a great time hiking up Mt. Vesuvius, visiting Pompeii and stopping for lunch in Naples for pizza. Recommend wearing tennis shoes for the hike. The bus was a very comfortable ride. Would highly recommend to anyone. One of our favorite tours while visiting Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Filomena C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the best tour taken in Rome, our two tour guides Enrica and Peter, very informative made our tour fun and full of informations, descriptions and history.From Pompeii where we wore able to see most of the important sites to the Vesuvio it was the most interesting experience. Thank you to Enrica and Peter
for giving us a fun and pleasent tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an absolutely brilliant and memorable trip worth every penny. Peter, our Italian/ American guide, really knew his stuff and was great to chat to. The older Italian guide, Enrica, was nice and helpful. The bus driver, Paulo was a master driver negotiating the tricky traffic like a pro. The pizza was great, really nice to try a different style than what we had in Rome. Pompeii was incredible with an expert guide. Mt Vesuvius was stunning and Peter was great at the top filling us in on the views and just generally great. The history of the sites are incredible! The trip brings it alive in a pleasant way. Top marks!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

gail.everitt7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent guides in Chiara and Manuelle. They possess such knowlege of Rome and the area and entertained us on the journey. Linda our guide in Pompeii was just as knowledgeable about The city and did her absolute best and got us through the very crowded streets and buildings. An excellent tour, well organised and super guides.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Rich P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The day was awesome, and our guides Manuel and Maria I think their names are were fantastic. I'd been to Rome and Pompeii before, and wish I'd had the same sort of knowledge and personalities giving a tour the first time. I would definitely recommend the tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Shai United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The highlight of my stay in Rome last week, picked this tour and glad I did, did not disappoint and definitely worth the money. Our tour guide Mikeala from City wonder tours was brilliant, she fed us with knowledge about the history of Pompeii and Vesuvius through out the day and looked after us all. She made this trip very fun and exciting with her amusing personality. The day was very long but the views from the air conditioned coach made it worth while, they were breathtaking. This tour will not disappoint you. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would pick it again .

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

shabala.m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My husband and I took the trip on the 14th Of August 2016, a Sunday. Excellent trip well organised and well executed by our lovely highly learned guide Ms Kylie. The credit for making the trip a complete success goes entirely to her. She was very disciplined and well organised and gave us plenty of information on history of Rome right from the Trojan war all along the journey. After our visit to Pompeii we had a good lunch which was a big pizza we could choose one from 3 different types and a drink of our choice included in the package. On our way to the Vesuvius, Kylie told us about the history of Vesuvius and the magma chamber beneath it and how the region around the mountain is divided into zones depending on the risk level and the government emergency plan in the event of any future eruption. She explained how the story of the eruption in 79AD was learned from eyewitness account of Pliny the younger and spoke about the two Plinys and reconstructed the entire event that lead to burying of Herculeum and Pompeii under the pyroclastic flow. She was very energetic too and accompanied us to the top of the Vesuvius without showing any sign of fatigue. She helped us spot the steam that was still coming out of crater walls and pointed out to Pompeii and the various islands like Capri,Ischia from the top of the Vesuvius. she also pointed to the path traced out on the mountains by lava that came from the last eruption in 1944. On our way back, she gave us lot of useful tips for tourists travelling and places that we must visit in Rome. She was a very kind person and helpful and very jovial. The guide in Pompeii however paled in comparison to her. He was good but when you have listened to Kylie narrate then you feel that he could have been better. Pompeii is a must visit to know how the people lived and made such great planned cities with facilities that make us wonder why was nature so cruel to such a great cultured society.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Karen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I love the Amalfi Coast. It is worth the time to take a day trip from Rome. The sea side towns are charming and unique. Pompeii is reeped in history and very interesting.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

enecostin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Well organized. We left with 2 tour guides from Rome and they were with us all along, showing, explaining, answering questions. In Pompeii we had a special guide that walked us through, very informative. Vezuviu is a trip in itself. The lunch was over rated and the bus drive back seamed endless but overall o great experience.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Laura W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guides were very informative. I would've loved to have known some of the information about Rome before we stayed in Rome. They were so helpful in planning great restaurants and really went out of their way to answer questions

Pompeii was hot. They have only 3 plaster casts of the bodies but the architecture is amazing as were the views. The pizza wasn't anything special but was generous in portions. Would definitely do again

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a great day! The bus ride from Rome is 3 hours and our guides Ahmed and Sarah were terrific. They shared lots of info but were not boring or overwhelming. We got to hike to the crater at Mt. Vesuvius after the bus drove us most of the way up the volcano. Make sure to wear closed toe shoes the path is gravel and dirt and inclined the entire way. You do need to be in decent shape to make the walk at the altitude my 80 yr old mom did it, but my 82 yr old dad felt short of breath and didn't climb . We then had a great tour in the ruins of Pompeii. It was brutally hot in Pompeii bring water, umbrella and fan - there is no shade The lunch was lousy - small, plain salad and choice of 1 of 3 pizzas. They restaurant was serving bus after busload of tourists, so the quality wasn't there, pizza seemed undercooked as waiters quickly rushed to serve everyone in the restaurant before the next bus showed up.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Trisha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was our best tour while my husband and I were honeymooning in Italy. The tour guides were named Claudia and Robert and they were amazing. They were on time and very professional. Robert especially was clearly a seasoned tour guide and was rather funny. Both tour guides gave us so many information on the culture of Rome, Pompeii, Naples, and Vesuvius during the long bus ride. They both monitored our group closely at Pompeii and at Vesuvius giving us tips and tricks along the way. The local guide was named George who again was wonderful-very informative. Then at Vesuvius my husband and I had ample time to climb to the top and enjoy the marvel that is Vesuvius. It truly is breathtaking. Then on the bus ride back to Rome once again, Robert and Claudia gave us so many valuable tips on getting around Rome-good places to eat and so many facts about Roman culture that I truly appreciated. It was such a great tour-truly a must-do!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Patric United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was hands down one of the best things I did in Rome. I was in Rome for 4 days and did not do any tours, but am very glad I did this one. Our guides were Melanie and Kyara, both of whom made the trip very exciting and interesting. They both know a lot about the history of Rome and share that knowledge with you at the beginning of the bus ride down. The bus is very comfortable, it's an air conditioned coach bus. The first stop is near the top of Mount Vesuvius. Then you get off the bus, and can climb to the summit, which is a little less than a mile. Once you get to the top, you have a great view of Naples and a great view inside the crater of Mount Vesuvius. After the climb, you get back into the bus and they take you to lunch for some Neapolitan pizza, which was absolutely delicious! Then you head over to Pompeii for a tour, which was very insightful! You also get to see a few plaster casts, which are human remains preserved from the ash of Mount Vesuvius during the fateful eruption. Then, after the tour, you head back home. On the bus ride home, Melanie and Kyara come talk to each and every person and answer any questions you have, and they make terrific suggestions on where to eat, drink, and what other sites to visit in Rome. So if you can, book this tour at the beginning of your trip so you can listen to their tips and follow through with them. We got back into Rome at around 8 PM. BOOK THIS YOUR NOW!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Daniel D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My wife and I took this tour because we wanted to maximize our short time we had in Rome - this day trip is totally worth it! We had two fantastic tour guides, Andy and Francisco, who were both knowledgable and entertaining on the bus rides. Once in Pompeii, our group was paired with a local tour guide who gave us just the right amount of information on Pompeii. After the tour, we were treated to a pizza for lunch. Okay... Yes, there are better pizzas in Italy than what we were served, but it was still pretty good. After lunch our tour guides Andy and Francisco and our expert driver Antonio took us up Mt. Vesuvius where we got some excellent views of the surrounding sea and city. On the way back towards Rome, we were treated to some free samples of wine and limoncello, which were both excellent. I would highly recommend this tour because the guides were excellent, knowledgable, and also knew when to let people on the bus just relax and enjoy the ride.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Andrew L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I had a wonderful tour to Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius. The trip was well organised the the tour guides were exemplary in their knowledge and enthusiasm to make sure we had an enjoyable and engaging tour. Alessandra the allocated guide for our group was fantastic. Loved Pompeii and all it had to offer, the tour guide who showed us around Pompeii brought to life what we were seeing through her knowledge and the way she shared that with us. It was nice to have a break for lunch in a restaurant. The walk up Vesuvius to the top was a good hard walk with a breathtaking reward at the top. On the trip back to Rome our tour guides continued to engage with us and checked to see if we needed any assistance on our return to Rome. City Wonders provided a tour that was well worth the money, I highly recommend the trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Susan W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our trip to Pompeii was a highlight of our visit to Rome. The guides who spent the day with us, and the Neapolitan guide who joined us for Pompeii itself, were all excellent. The trip was very well organized, including an excellent pizza lunch at a real, sit-down restaurant that was ready to receive 100 guests all at once. The city of Pompeii was extensively excavated and fascinating. Hiking up Mt. Vesuvius on a hot day was exhausting but worth the effort!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Heather D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour...starting in Rome, climbing Mt. Vesuvius and then of course Pompeii! We couldn't have asked for anything better. The guides were knowledgeable and made the day one of our vacation highlights! Thanks

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Daniel J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

With out a doubt the best tour you could book. Was amazing from start to finish. First the bus journey down to Pompeii was long but the tour guides gave us till the first stop to get some sleep due to the early start which was nice. The second leg of the journey they talked to us about the surrounding area the history and also the plan for the day. Mt Vesuvius incredible the climb up was tough but the views were amazing, we didn't feel rushed or pressured to hurry back so gave us plenty of time to get up there which was nice as my partner suffers from a heart problems so she didn't have to rush and make herself ill. From there the lunch was nice getting to try pizza from Naples the place where it came from.
Pompeii was the highlight seeing the ruins and getting a very informative guide who let us explore and gave us lots information. We again weren't rushed about or made to hurry along they let us go at our pace and enough it. And lastly the bus ride back to Rome was nice before entering the city again the guides came round the bus and talked to us individually and asked us if we needed any advice or tips about Rome. This I felt was a nice touch as we asked about restaurant suggestions they had along with things to do that aren't on guide books and they gave us there local knowledge. Would recommend to anyone that wan't to experience what can only be described as a breath taking tour. Thanks Sara for the tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Carole C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We booked this day trip from Rome to Pompeii and everything from start to finish went exactly to plan. It was a long day trip but worth it, the coach was very comfortable, the guides who accompanied us from start to finish very informative with good sense of humour. Rest breaks and quiet time on the coach made the long journey pleasant. We were passed to a local guide on arrival at Pompeii whose knowledge brought the history of the place alive. We chose to book with Viator following successful trips with them in Venice a few years ago and have this evening just booked a tour with them for our forthcoming trip to Vienna. I feel confident booking with Viator through my past experience and can highly recommend them.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Craig L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a very long day but an excellent one. We had two 10 year olds with us so stamina was a concern but they were able to sleep in the car on the way from Rome to the coast, between Positano and Pompeii, then all the way home so they were exhausted but handled it well and were awake and participating in the tours. The Pompeii tour guide was excellent and I wish we could have seen move - two hours is not enough - but everyone was on fumes at that point. Overall it was an exhausting excellent day that was well worth it.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

Raymond D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pompeii is a must see. One gets a much fuller picture of how the Romans lived than from the relics in Rome itself. The guides were all excellent and helpful. The views from Vesuvius were stunning.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Marinda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The meeting point was clear and the guides were on time and organised. We heard lots of interesting facts on the bus to Pompeii and we were happy to just sit back and relax - tour started early to fit everything in. Our guide in Pompeii was excellent. It was crowded and hot, but it was easy to hear and follow our guide. Lunch was ok - not the best I've had, but good enough. The walk up Mt Vesuvius was great - I loved the fact that we could walk at our own pace, within the guide times given by the guides. The trip back was again a highlight with lots of interesting facts. Our guides were very helpful in general about Rome and what to do. My two teenagers loved it as well.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

katrina.steedman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyed the Day trip to Pompeii from Rome. Our guide, Luca, was incredibly knowledgeable and gave some great insight into Pompeii, Mt Vesuvius, Roman Culture, history and food. The day was paced well considering we included two rest stops, a hike up Mt Vesuvius, pizza for lunch and 2 hours at Pompei Ruins. If you are looking for a comfortable and convenient way to see Pompeii from Rome, highly recommend the tour. However, if you would like to spend more than 2 hours at Pompeii, would suggest you look at another tour as felt there was so much more to see at Pompeii but was a good highlights tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Rebekah Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Absolutely LOVED this tour. Our tour guides were superb they were warm and friendly as well as knowledgeable and fun. It's a must see day trip out of Rome! The only thing I would change is I would love about 30-40 minutes of free time to walk around Pompeii after the tour was over to take pictures and see a bit more before we headed off. All in all we were thrilled with the trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

marlenepetrella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The trip to Pompeii from Rome was a very long day, but it was well worth the effort. Roberto, our guide, made all the difference. He was very organized and attentive to everyone's needs. Plus, he was extremely entertaining, telling stories that my grandchildren loved and providing humorous information about what constitutes real gelato and what you will NEVER get at a real Italian restaurant spaghetti and meatballs--NEVER happen. But, for me, the most touching point was when we were climbing to the top of Mt Vesuvius. My family stayed with me for most of the climb up, but I was VERY slow and wasn't sure I would make it up in the allotted time. Roberto knew I wanted to make it to the top if at all possible, and he encouraged me to keep going, never raising concerns that time was running out. When I finally reached the top and triumphantly met my family, Roberto was there to snap my picture, smiling from ear to ear. Then he walked with me, all the way down--again, never rushing me or making me concerned about the time. He genuinely wanted me to have, and enjoy, the experience. So many tours are totally focused on the time schedule that they lose sight of the reason people take their tour. And I get it: schedules ARE important. However, I am truly grateful that City Wonders hires tour guides like Roberto who know that schedules need to be flexible. The experience is everything.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message