Pasta, wine, cheese, salami, olive oil – these are the tastes of Italy. The country’s famous food regions have given their names to some of the world’s most popular food and wine – from Montepulciano wines to Parmigiano cheese. Tuscany and Umbria ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2960 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide was Gloria and she was amazing! She was born and raised in Chianti, and provided a lot of local knowledge that can't be taught of out a textbook! We learned tons about the land, about the history, about the grapes - I would highly recommend this tour. I live by Napa/Sonoma in California and have taken many wine tours, and this was probably one of the most enjoyable to date. Plus you can't beat the views! We went in early September and were fortunate enough to visit a winery that was actively harvesting. Wish we could go back!

Doing what: Taste of Chianti: Tuscan Cheese, Wine and Lunch from Florence

Helen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great tour! Our guide was amazing, so knowledgeable and friendly! There is so much food provided on the day and we got to see places we would never have thought of going into. Really recommend it!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Sophia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Francesca was super knowledgeable and friendly! loved hearing about the cultural history of the different regions, and of course all the food we tasted were so yummy!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We started the day meeting at the walkabout office in Florence. There we met Lavi and the rest of the group that would be on the tour. We walked with Lavi to the vege store, bakery and the central market to buy the food that we were going to prepare at the farm house. On the walk Lavi gave us some information on Florence. She showed us where MichaelAngelo lived and told us other interesting history facts about Florence. Lavi by the way, is beautiful, smart and speaks beautifully. She showed us how to shop for certain items and when we were done shopping we went to the farmhouse to start our cooking lesson. The kitchen was a professional kitchen, adjacent dining room had all glass windows over looking a beautiful landscape above Florence. It was the perfect setting. We met Carmella one of the chefs who was from Italy who sang in Italian and danced while teaching us how to cook. she was a real live wire. Issac a chef who was from the US translated for us what carmella was saying, and teaching us to cook as well. He was charming and had a great sense of humor. We made brushetta, pizza taught by Carmellas neice who owned a pizza place in florence baked it in the wood burning oven that was on the property. We made fresh pasta, bolognese sauce, pork roast, potatoes, gelato and tiramisu. Lets not forget we drank wine and beer with our food too. This class is a must. It was the highlight of our trip. A relaxing day, instead of the running around sight seeing. I cant say enough about Liv, Carmella and Issac all tutti bene!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Anne L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Food was delicious, tour guide was very knowledgeable and very congenial. Wish we could have gone into the Synagogue in the Jewish Quarter.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Mandy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I had a great time on this tour! The guides, walking tour of the markets, and the food were all fantastic. It's a good way to spend a day in Florence.

Only thing to mention to either WalkAbout or Viator is that I never received the recipes that we were promised would be emailed to us. Can you please send?

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Douglas J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour guide, small group, excellent food samples, interesting history provided

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Chelsea G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My husband and I debated whether or not we should pay this much for a tour cooking class. We had so many other things we wanted to do and were trying not to go overboard. Then, we finally pulled the trigger! Some of our best memories from our honeymoon are from this cooking class! The food was delicious and they serve a good amount of beer and wine once you sit down to eat. The Tuscan farmhouse is owned by Walkabout Tours and it has the most beautiful kitchen and dining area overlooking the rolling Tuscan hills. It's really breathtaking and located about 20 minutes from downtown Florence. We couldn't believe how quickly the landscaped changed in a short drive away from the city. Once you arrive, you jump right into the first recipe but you have more downtown later in the day to mingle with the other people in your group. The walking tour was pretty slow-moving and the tour description makes it sound like you'll have ample opportunity to taste food during this portion of the tour. We had a couple of nibbles tuscan bread and parmigiano cheese. Be sure to eat breakfast because you don't want to miss any of the great information Martina shares about Florence!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Judy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I loved this tour! Our guide Jess was delightful and informative and the food was terrific.

Doing what: Taste of Rome - theTrionfale Foodie Tour

ben_cohen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Mum and I head along to this tour expecting to have a decent day but not expecting the absolutely brilliant hospitality we received. Lavinia from Walkabout Tours took us on a short walking tour, concentrating on food, of the area near Piazza della Signoris. She was an excellent guide throughout the whole day, as were the chef teachers esp Carmella! at the Farmhouse. The farmhouse itself is more of a villa, set up by the tour company specifically for this tour. It has a lovely view and even during our winter tour we ventured from the indoor kitchen classrooms to the outdoor woodfire oven for the pizza part of the tour. Before the tour we were told 4 drinks pp, but perhaps due to the positivity of the day and the star people in our group still in contact with new friends weeks later!, the guides relaxed the maximum limit of drinks and Chianti Classico and delicious Peroni flowed all day. The classes themselves were the perfect level of information, with simple instructions to make bruschetta, pizza, roast pork arista, handmade pasta, tiramisu and gelato provided. Over 5 weeks spent in Italy, this was one of the highlights. Thank you!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Antonio V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a wonderful tour. Our guide was very knowledgable and very nice, guiding us to all the fabulous food sample store on our tour. Definitely recommend

Doing what: Sorrento Small-Group Food Walking Tour

AWinston

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Highlight of my trip to Florence!

The tour was so much more than I expected! We started with a city tour from Martina. She pointed out interesting historical facts about the city and took us to local market to select food that we would later cook. She was very attentive to our group and made sure that everyone was having a good time and was involved. After the tour we took a bus to the estate where we met Carmela and Isaac. Over the next few hours we learned how to make a traditional ragu sauce, fresh pasta, roast pork, bruschetta, pizza, tiramisu, and gelato. The food was accompanied by a delicious chianti and Peroni.
The kitchen that we cooked in was from a dream. Exposed beams, plenty of windows, and a professional range. There was also a dining pavilion that we used to make the pasta and to enjoy our meals that looked over the hills of Tuscany into Florence. I wanted to take it all home with me.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Marc R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Such a wonderful experience. Our tour guide was such a sweet, knowledgeable lady with many tips and stories of the Rome food scene. You really get value for your money. Our stomachs were full! Special thanks to our tour guide who made this an amazing trip to Rome I will never forget.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Phyllis W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was so much fun. Our guide Lavinia walked us through Florence food markets to buy ingredients, and that was fun and instructive itself. The farmhouse was in the hills above Florence in a beautiful setting. There we met 2 chefs and 2 professional pizza makers who taught us how to make bruschetta, pasta, Ragu sauce, pizza, roast pork and potatoes, gelato and tiramisu. We had 2 teenagers and an 11 year old in our family group, and they were full participants. The day was skillfully planned so that we started the dishes that took longer to cook first and then spent time making and eating the quicker dishes to fill in the time. The day ended in a formal dinner setting in which we ate our meal and were presented with our certificates for completing the cooking class. Each dish was served with wine. It was a great day spent learning about Italian food culture. This was one of the best days we had in our trip to Roma and Florence. You can't go wrong with this tour!

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Phyllis W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was fantastic! Simona was a warm, friendly, knowledgeable guide who walked us through some less traveled Venice streets and gave us the time and incentive to blend as a group before we started drinking and tasting. We visited 4 wine bars and had a different aperitif and appetizer at each. She taught us how to do the chichetti scene on our own and gave us the business cards of the places we visited so we could return on our own. Afterward she helped us find the transport we needed back to our hotels. If you want to find out how the locals eat and drink on a budget, you want a primer on local drinking customs, or you are a traveler who wants to spend the evening with friendly travelers, this is the tour for you.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

mevalente58

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing tour! Lots of great food and wine! A wonderful way to experience the food culture of Venice!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Mrs Kathleen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Absolutely fabulous. Great teacher, great kitchen and delicious food prepared and eaten. I would highly recommrnd this class, plus I have cooked more of this food since being home and it is always enjoyed by all.

Doing what: Italian Cooking Class in Verona

Glen C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a fantastic little tour. Make sure you are hungry before you start because by the conclusion, you will be most satisfied.
It was fascinating to learn of various food making techniques, history of the stores we visited and a little bit about the Jewish quarter.
If you love food - Italian food - just do this tour. Excellent value for money and good memories to take home. Very good guide too.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Bruce M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour guide was great and the food and wine were very good. I also liked that we got to try five different food and wine parings.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Sora S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was just amazing!! Highly and highly recommend. We got to shop for the ingredients in the morning and head out to the farm house which has incredible view. The foods we made are delicious and authentic.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Julie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour provides lots of food. Don't eat ahead of time. Learned how to buy pizza and other foods at an Italian bakery.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Sam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The whole day was a terrific experience. Martina was amazing along with all who supported the class. So much fun and the food was fantastic. Would do again and highly recommend to all who want a truly unique experience. Can't wait to go back to Florence.

Doing what: Cooking Class and Lunch at a Tuscan Farmhouse with Local Market Tour from Florence

Walter P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Antonia was a wonderful guide. Clear, knowledgeable, patient. Food choices were all Roman specialties. Tour exceeded all our expectations!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

carrollshroyer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. The price was low and we got to see two wineries and two towns. I think the first town could have been skipped, but it was still enjoyable. The first winery is reasonably priced and the wines are good. The second winery was much nicer, with better wines, but was more pricey. Overall it was a great tour.

Doing what: Chianti Half-Day Wine Tour from Florence

Megan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a fun activity to see lesser known/touristy areas of Venice all while sampling delicious local food and wine. A great way to get a taste of the local culture.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message