Michelangelo is considered one of Tuscany’s most famous sons, but many of the masterpieces for which is he is best known are not found in Tuscany. In fact, Michelangelo spent much of his life in what is now the Italian capital of Rome, and you can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3802 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

LYNNET K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our tour guide was AMAZING! She is a self described Michelangelo/Raphael groupie and we loved her enthusiasm on everything she showed us. We had a great time and learned so much. Thanks again Ana!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The only way to see the Vatican as far as we are concerned. Skip the crowds and have the Sistine Chapel nearly to yourself. Without a guide we would have missed many details. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Steve R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Skip the Line tours do just that, save a large amount of time bypassing lines to purchase tickets and enter attractions. Plus, you have the benefit of a guide who will lead you to the most interesting exhibits, explain little-known facts, and prepare you for the experiences to come, such as the mob in the Sistine Chapel. Our guide did all that as we made our way through part of the Vatican Museum, the Sistine Chapel, and then on a tour of St. Peter's. The amount of time spent in each place was plenty to give us an overview, although someone wanting a more in-depth experience might have felt a bit rushed. Our morning tour was just right for us, we ended just before noon and spent the afternoon exploring other parts of Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Tracy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I cannot recommend this tour enough! On the day we attended unfortunately we were unable to go into St Peters due to the Pope being in residence for a ceremony. I was bitterly disappointed to be told this by the guide but of course had to understand that this was out of their control and is mentioned in the T and Cs of the booking. That said - this tour was amazing! Our Tour Guide Bruno was absolutely fantastic. He was both knowledgeable and funny. The museum is unbelievable - truly beautiful and the Sistine Chapel was a complete treat, however, for me the Map Room was probably the most impressive! I cannot imagine going through these rooms without the tour guide. Bruno made this experience all the more wonderful with his great sense of humour and facts which I am absolutely sure would not be shared on an audio guide!!!!! I cannot wait to go back - simply the best and worth every penny in my book! Thank you to Bruno - you were a complete delight!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Alison B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Amazing well worth paying extra for the small group tour and early start !The Vatican and St.Peter's Basilica Was the most amazing experience of a lifetime. Make sure you visit the Sistine Chapel and the Tombs of past Pope's underneath the main floor including the tomb of St.Peter .Our guide was exceptionally knowledgable and very passionate of all the art included and was able to answer all our questions .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

jessicasloan66

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Was a great tour, we saw so much. The Sistine Chapel was the highlight for me. Our Tour guide was great. Would highly recommend

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

leanne_amore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

So much to take in-but amazing. The Sistine Chapel was a let down, as the crowd got constantly yelled at by security to keep moving and NO PHOTOS!! And defiant people kept pulling out their phones and cameras to get rushed by the guards and admonished.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Glinda United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide was Maria and she was amazing. Her knowledge was equal to her passion for the Vatican. She shared insider information on some of the art work and gave us a broad view of the galleries we viewed, the Sistine Chapel and St. Peters Basilica. At the end of the tour you are still free to remain in the basilica for further exploration.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

hooahmann

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The guide spent too much time speaking about the Sistine Chapel.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Franklin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My brother recommended Viator for tours while we were in Europe. Unfortunately, we missed a tour in Barcelona but booked one for the Vatican with St. Peter's and the Sistine Chapel. A group of 12 with an English-speaking guide. Fabulous tour! Our tour guide was amazing! Very knowledgeable and her English was very understandable! There were a lot of people when we entered both the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's and she kept the group close together and provided a narrative that was both engaging and informative! We have recommended this tour to friends since we have been home and we will book tours again with this company when we travel in the future!

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

lesliemiddleton1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Beyond wonderful! Thank you to our experienced, wise, guide who made our trip to the Vatican more than we could have ever expected. I am so grateful for the comment sections on Viator because they give you an idea of what to expect in terms of logistics so you never get hung-up on what might be perceived as a problem. You will have to wait a very short bit outside the Vatican wall and you will have to go through the ticketing process - it's nothing and because you are a part of this group everything is expedited. I can't begin to tell you how beautiful the Vatican is. I wanted to let you know that the museum is breathtaking! I was expecting relics in glass but this tour moves and fast which is great because you get to experience the grandeur of the place while the guide explains each room and provides fascinating details and explanations despite the fact you are in a virtual sea of people. You will never get bored on a Viator tour from our experience in Rome, Italy, and Pompeii, and we have two boys ages 17 and 20 who couldn't get enough of everything we saw. Be prepared to be surrounded by people but know that your guides voice through the headset makes that easy because you can tune the people out and take in an understanding of the things around you which will leave you speechless in their grandeur. Wisely, our guide stopped at a plexiglass covered poster outside the buildings to give a brief explanation of the Sistine Chapel which is the one place where the guide cannot give any explanations, even over the headset, as there is no talking allowed. If I had known this I might have studied-up a little bit but no complaints. When we moved into St. Peter's Basilica there was so much space and so much to learn about. The actual mummified bodies of several popes are there - including Pope John Paul the ll and St. Peter's is so massive with so many different areas in the church itself it would be impossible to explore it without a large guide book or a fabulous guide like ours. When we exited the Basilica the sheer size of the structure begins to boggle your mind and the feeling you have, being so small amid such size and beauty is somewhat life changing. If you can't afford these guided tours I would say don't worry, but prepare! Make use of all guide materials you can find throughout Rome and Italy, check in advance to find out if they offer self-guided tours with recorded commentary and earphones, and make sure to put a set of extra earbuds in your pocket just in case you get a bad set on any of your tours. I so appreciate the person who recommend that when I was reading comments on Viator and was glad I had extras in Florence when mine got scratchy during another fabulous tour. If you can, the tours make the trip in our experience and we spent so many wonderful evenings with our sons talking about the things we had seen each day and sharing ideas and thoughts along with lots of laughs over delicious pasta and pizza.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Charlie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I cannot stress enough how imperative it is to book an early morning skip-the-line tour when visiting the Vatican. I have done the Vatican three ways, 1. no pre-booked tour, just waited in line with the rest of the schlubs, 2. booked tour, but not early access, and 3. booked tour, early access. 3 is by far the smartest. The lines outside of the Vatican are ALWAYS insanely long, and the crowds inside are just as bad if you go during regular hours. Yes, this tour costs a bit more, but take it from someone who knows i.e. learned the hard way, IT IS WORTH IT. You meet early in the morning and a predesignated point across the street from the entrance. You can take a cab here, possibly even a bus. The alternative is standing in the line that snakes the block, and walking all the way around in line. That line is no joke my friends! I always visit in October or November, which is outside the summer season, and the lines are still crazy, so I can't even imagine what they are in summer. The tour guide then hands out the audio devices, and you literally walk across the street and walk right through the door, bypassing everyone in line and avoiding their evil and jealous gazes. This particular tour was excellent, we were given a tour of the gardens, highlights in the museum, the Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's. We made it through most of the tour before the rest of the crowds were herded in. I hate the throngs of people, so this was really worth it for me and made it so much more enjoyable. Also, if you are traveling with older adults or young children, weigh the extra cost of the ticket against standing in that long line outside for hours, and then walking miles of museum inside. WORTH IT.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Kimteen2003 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

You must book this!! The tour guide was amazing and not to mention the sights! Finding the entrance meeting point was a little difficult so go early and if you have time stop in Cafe Vaticano which is right near meeting point for lunch the staff was so friendly and food was delicious!! No pics allowed in the Sistine chapel forewarning :- but plenty of other great incredible photo ops! Make sure to find your way to the little gift shop in the Bascillica down one of the side halls.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We walked around the museum with our guide Vasco. He was very interesting and funny and showed us lots of pieces of art including amazing tapestries and rooms painted by Raphael. Prior to the tour starting we were informed about the paintings in the Sistine Chapel, as no-one is allowed to talk in the chapel. It was a wow moment entering the chapel. The chapel paintings and ceiling were amazing and we knew what we were looking at, thanks to the talk. Vasco then took us to St. Pater's, another Wow. He pointed out some important items in St. Peter's and then the tour ended and we could look around St. Peter's at our own pace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Walker L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Did not include tour, for the best. Tours created a lot of traffic and made the visit more of a drag. They thin out after Sistine Chapel, which is for the best. Guide gets you to the ticket office and grabs your ticket, perfect line skipping service. Metro is a good way to arrive.

Vatican Visiting Tip: Don't come to Rome late on a Saturday past 1200. You could/will end up turning a day trip into a two night stay if your train is late like mine. You miss it on Sat, closed Sun, have to wait for Mon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Nadine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent experience, we bought skip the line tickets and paid for English audio guides when we were in the museum. I have paid previously for a 3 hour tour guide which was great, but I wanted the flexibility to really explore all the various museums before seeing the Sistine chapel. Would really recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Holly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was the highlight of our stay in Rome. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and made the tour very enjoyable. Apart from th tour, I would recommend giving yourself enough time to find the meeting point, as we had a little difficulty finding it from the metro station. We made it just in time, but it was a stressful situation that could have been avoided by allowing for some extra time before the tour departure. All the rooms we visited were very interesting, especially the hall of maps. Raphael's rooms were amazing and our tour guide did a very entertaining job of explaining to us the relationships of the artists of the time. The Sistine Chapel was amazing, as was St. Peter's Basilica. After the tour ended, we were able to continue touring around until we were finished. We highly recommend this tour to help navigate through the museums and for an enjoyable experience in the basilica.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Linda M S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Perfect way to enjoy this amazing location. Tour guides bring the art, history and people to life with their in depth knowledge. The 3 hour tour was just right. Having the head sets with ear phones, allowed us to easily hear the guide speak while not having to stay right beside her. we started at the vatican museums, which were amazing. Guide was great in calling out the highlights in the maze of rooms. We had enough time in the Sistine chapel, and prior to entry were told what to look for so we could just quietly study this masterpiece. .Recommend the smaller group tour, and early access. also I think trip was nicer in off season as things were busy but not crammed. Plenty of space to look around. Short lines.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Christy United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide was very good. We used head sets, but she spoke clearly and gave very good information. The tour is long, but there was a stop mid-way through for snack or restrooms. The tour covers the various rooms in the Museum, the Papal apartments, the Sistine Chapel, the Basilica and the square in the front. She guided us to various activities to do after the tour and we chose to climb to the top of the Dome. You can walk all 500 steps or ride the elevator. It was well worth the time to go see the city from the top. We could then go back in St. Peters and spend more time at various sites that interested us.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Super tour with an excellent guide. The explanations were very good and the trip to the Sistine chapel was well researched and extremely interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Alan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour included a highly knowledgeable guide, with headphones so we could hear her. While We saw the line to get into the Vatican Museum stretch down the street and around the block, we had a preset time to enter, with our tickets already purchased through the tour. Through our guide you not only see some of the world's most incredible art, but you learn the history behind the work. The Sistine Chapel is beyond words! While photos are allowed in the rooms of the Vatican Museum and is St. Peter's, photos are NOT allowed in the Sistine Chapel. St Peter's was the highlight of our time on the tour. The beauty and history of the church was emotionally moving. I recommend this tour to see all you need to see, and get it done in half a day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

rilde1313

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour! Our guide met us exactly where we were told, and she was extremely knowledgeable about the everything the Vatican has to offer! We had a great time and spent a good 2-3 hours with our guide learning all about the different rooms and buildings, as well as seeing top sites like the Sistine Chapel and La Pieta. Not to mention the perk of getting in before the crowds! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

nicole Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic!! We had the fortune to have the world's most entertaining tour guide GiGi. He was hilarious and made the tour a great deal of fun. No one should go to Rome and not see the Sistine Chapel and St Peter's, and I thoroughly recommend the early access small group as the way to go, as otherwise you will be lining up for HOURS. GiGi took us through the Vatican museum and his knowledge of history and the personal stories behind the art and the many Popes who built the collection made the tour memorable. It's a must-do.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Hosam A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour covered the Vatican museums, sistine chapel and St Peter and #39;s basilica. Fantastic tour and highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Luke W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Stephania was a great guide. Her knowledge on all things Vatican was great and her stories really made the tour! The Vatican Museums are amazing to see and the Sistine Chapel is something you have to see at least once in your lifetime!
St Peter's Basilica is awe inspiring to see, and if you are not afraid of small spaces, heights or 500 steps it is well worth climbing Michelangelo's dome for one of the best views in Rome!
Would recommend this tour and Stephania to anybody who wants to see the Vatican area.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message