From Sorrento on the Amalfi Coast, north to Venice in the Veneto and Pisa on the coast of Tuscany – you can take in all this and more on multi-day excursions from the heart of Italy, Rome. To see the best of Italy, from top to bottom, you’ll need ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 293 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Janet S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Highlight of our trip! Amazing tour with very professional guides and so well organized. Hotel was beautiful and food was top notch. We fell in love with Sorrento and looking forward to returning one day.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Brad N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Overall, I felt like I got my moneys worth by booking this tour. Especially as a solo traveler with limited time.

Make sure the day before the tour, you have the front desk or guest relations of your hotel confirm your pickup like I did. I was picked up on time and went to the meeting point. We boarded the busses and made a quick photo stop in Naples and then went off to Pompeii. The tour guide for Pompeii was very bland but definitely provided the necessary information of the sight. Take pics, explore and take in what you can at this amazing place. After Pompeii and a lot of traffic, we arrived in Sorrento around 8:30pm that night.

The hotel I had was Hotel Michaelangelo and it was definitely an older hotel. It seems like the people who are doing the 1 night in Sorrento get the nicer hotels for some reason. The hotel was fine however and the food they have was good. No issues at all with the dinner. I chose to eat crepes and at random cafes for breakfast each day.

Day 2 we went to Capri/AnaCapri and I HIGHLY suggest doing the chairlift for 11 euro. The views at the top are absolutely breathtaking and you'll have some of the most memorable photos ever. The Blue Grotto was open when we got in the boat to head over, but then closed while in route. This is NOT the tour operators fault, as they try their absolute best to get everyone to see it. Instead, they took us on another boat ride to see the other grottos and get some nice photos from the water of the island of Capri.

The last day which is a free day, can be used for whatever you prefer. A lot of people used it to take the train/bus to the Amalfi Coast, but I hung out and relaxed around Sorrento for the day. Sorrento at night, especially in Piazza Tasso is very fun and vibrant. Tons of people on the streets and it's extremely safe for everyone. Later that day they picked me up to head back to Rome at the time expected. Then dropped me off at my hotel. Thanks for a great time!

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Kerry J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour started out really well with a prompt hotel pickup. The bus was comfortable and the guide was knowledgable. We stopped in Naples for lunch. This for us was the only low light of the two days. We felt the food was awful. From there we went to Pompeii. Our guide a Wilma was amazing. She was so knowledgable about this unbelievable place. This site is defiantly worth a visit. We then travelled on to Sorrento. We were pleased we paid a little extra for our hotel. It was wonderful. Situated overlooking the sea and close to night markets it was a perfect location. The dinner was one of the best meals we have ever eaten. The next day after a leisurely tasty breakfast we caught a ferry to Capri. Here we visited Capri and Annacapri. They are both beautiful quaint villages although a little crowded. The lunch at Annacapri was lovely. We were glad the Blue a Grotto was open. We were pleased we didn't have the 3 hour wait the morning people experienced. After this we caught a ferry to Naples and a bus back to Rome. We were dropped back at our hotel. It was a fantastic two days.

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

tygardner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was great! Loved just showing up, hoping on to the buses and just enjoying everything southern Italy has to offer! All of the guides were extremely nice and knowledgeable! Hotel was good, clean and a nice view!
I would highly recommend using the free time on the third day to see more of the Amalfi Coast. We took the local bus very easy to Positano and loved it!

The only thing we would change is the stop in Naples. It is really pointless. There was nothing to see but a dirty harbour...

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Amber H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My husband and I booked an 8 day stay in Rome. While we had plenty we wanted to see in Rome, we also wanted to see other parts of Italy. I was all set to book a one day tour to Pompeii and a separate one day tour to Capri when I found this tour. I was hesitant to book because I read a lot of reviews about people being annoyed about changing buses and wasted time. After our trip, I have to say that changing buses didn't bother us and during down time we sat in a cafe and sipped cappuccino. So, I guess it depends how much you are willing to go with the flow. We enjoyed our tour of Pompeii, but our stay in Sorrento was our favorite. Even without the upgrade option, we so enjoyed our hotel. It had beautiful views of the bay and Mt. Vesuvius that we enjoyed while eating dinner. Only down side was that I couldn't use my hair straightener due to a voltage difference at the hotel. Our day in Capri was AMAZING. We did some shopping in the morning and the blue grottos in the afternoon. One couple didn't want to do the shopping, so they asked if they could go swimming at the nearby beach. The tour guide was okay with this, but asked if they would meet back with the group after the shopping. So, if you are not into shopping, there are ways around it. Overall the trip was fun, informative, and romantic!! Totally worth it. Plus, we had a great tour guide named Carlos. He made the trip really easy to understand and fun. Do yourself a favor and book this tour!

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Judth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This short tour was everything I expected, most enjoyable and to be recommended, especially if you have just a few days to see Italy south of Rome. We enjoyed a wide range of awesome sights, from the ruins of Pompeii to the gorgeous Mediterranean coastline from Sorrento to Amalfi and a day trip to Capri. The tour guides were fabulous, knew their history, were ideal personalities to inform and entertain us and the accommodation excellent.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

jhirbour82

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I really would like to give this ten stars! This is one of the most well organized tours I have ever been on. The hotel I stayed in was wonderful I chose the four star option and all of the local guides were some of the best I had my whole vacation. The guide in Naples I forget his name was SO passionate and really made the place come alive. The guide in Capri Sascha was so amazing and ran the day so smoothly I wanted to hug him in the end. The day in Capri was one of my favorite days of the entire vacation it was so beautiful and the blue grotto was an absolute dream come true. I cannot say enough about how amazing this tour was, definitely recommended a million percent! Carrani tours in general seem to be very well organized and a good group to travel with.

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Eileen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I was very glad I took this side tour from Rome. Considering all that was included, the price was very reasonable. The bus drive down was not especially scenically spectacular other than the view of the Monastery at Monte Cassino. A superhighway in Italy isn't that different from one in the US. The spot selected for lunch was quite nice, the food was good and there were good clean facilities. The tour of Naples showed how beautiful the area by the sea is here. I found out later that the museum in Naples has a lot of Pompeii and Herculaneum artifacts. It would have been nice if that could have been included. Our Pompeii tour guide was very good and went at a reasonable pace for me at least. I hadn't realized how much of the site is still an active dig so a lot is not available to view. We saw examples of the businesses, houses and baths that the residents would have used which were very interesting. There is so much more of the town layout to see that you really need to visit here to get a concept of what Rome would have been like. I stayed in a hotel in Sorrento that had a breathtaking view and excellent meals. I enjoyed the trip to Capri and the Blue Grotto, but it was a bit too much of an expensive shopping opportunity. I took in the views instead. The only thing that disappointed me was that I thought a tour along the Amalfi coast was included rather than an extra. I spent the third day sitting on my hotel terrace catching up on my diary and having lunch by the pool. That was fine, too. Overall, this was an excellent experience.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Raymond G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

You wil really enjoy if you get the right tour guide. Be prepared for lots of walking and long days.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

Teresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent value! There is too much to praise! The guide for Pompeii was so very knowledgeable, he brought it all to life. The view from the Sorrento hotel was breath-taking, and the hotel was very, very nice. Capri is amazing and the Blue Grotto was a once in a lifetime experience. So many wonderful things in a great two day adventure. So happy we took this tour. Thank you all.

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

kjellerson2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My family had a great time on the 5-Day Best of Italy tour. Our tour director, Mirjam, went out of her way to ensure that everyone on the tour had a memorable experience. The hotel in Florence and in Venice were nice along with the meals that were included with the tour. Overall, it was a very good tour.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

rojax

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour operator well organized and very professional , the tour Director Clara is the best in the business, knowledgeable, very professional, personable she is well organized knew how and when to dismayed information so not to overwhelmed the group with unnecessary information, the five days went without a hitch on time with the right amount of stops and sightseeing thanks to the director Clara, The director beside herself as an excellent guide also provided very knowledgeable guides for the few sights, and we couldn't got anywhere with our great , knowledgeable, professional and excellent driver Luigi made us feel very safe driving and very comfortable, also luigi very professional and pleasant, maneuvered the huge bus beautifully around narrow road and on the highway, the director Clara and Luigi I commend them for the job well done sometime they went above and beyond to accommodate everyone, I cannot say enough about the great tour we took for five days tour of Italy I recommend this tour for my family ,friends and who ever read these comments, when you book this tour you must upgrade I guarantee you will get more than your money worth. You have my full permission to use this ae promotional for your business. If you have any question call me or email me .
PS: Give my best to Clara and Luigi
Roger Abifadel

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

geoffandcourts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was great for us as we had such limited time! Would have loved to stay longer and seen Amalfi though. The organisation we felt was superb, they had many different types of tours going on the same buses at different times and days which they worked seamlessly and tirelessly. Though it was hard for us on such a short tour to have 5 different tour guides over 2 days. Also the amount of languages they had to speak meant that you weren't getting as much information or tuned out completely. Its not a Naples tour just a stop but Sorrento was much more beautiful in my opinion anyway. Our accommodation we didn't go for the upgrade and it was just stunning! During our whole two month holiday we didn't eat as much food as we did in these two days! It was just course after course of paid for meals!

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Shaila S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had such a great time on this two day tour, even though it was pouring while we were guided through the ancient ruins of Pompeii. Amazing value for the price. This tour was extremely well coordinated, with various guides for each leg, and they were all mindful of making sure they had everyone in our group before leaving to the next location. Also provided some free time in each location to explore. Overall a great way to see all these places in a matter of two days without having to plan it yourself. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would definitely recommend it!

The day starts early, but our guide on the ride to Naples, Francesca, was humorous and shared interesting tidbits about the region. Lunch was included at a restaurant in Pompeii with some traditional pasta of course, and meat. Our guide for Pompeii, Paolo, was hilarious and very charismatic. You spend about 2.5 hours in the ruins with the guide.

For the evening, you are dropped off at your hotel in Sorrento and have free time. The tour group is large and is broken into smaller groups staying at each hotel, but all are 4 star hotels.Our hotel in Sorrento was a dream, truly a beautiful hotel in a great location. Perched slightly up the hill with wonderful views of the Bay of Naples and Mt. Vesuvius - we woke up early the next morning and watched the sunrise in this beautiful location. We had an amazing 4 course dinner at the hotel included, which was one of my favorite meals in Italy.

The next morning we enjoyed the best complimentary breakfast spread at the hotel before being picked up for the boat to Capri, which take about 45 minutes. We were so happy the weather was perfect on this day. The boat ride to Capri, the isle of Capri, Anacapri, and the small boat ride to the Blue Grotto were all incredibly beautiful. The only disappointment was that we could not actually go in the Blue Grotto, due to sea conditions. We had lunch in Anacapri, and some free time in both Capri and Anacapri.

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Lisa P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This trip was amazing. We had various guides for different parts of the trip and they were all very organised and informative. We had a brief stop in Naples, more to take photos. The time at Pompeii was very interesting and long enough. It was very hot so suggest hat, sunscreen and lots of water. Our hotel in Sorrento was on the water with a private beach and was a great way to spend our free day in Sorrento. The trip to Capri was beautiful and was just like we had seen in photos. All the included meals were of a high quality and standard. A family of four, with two teenagers, we all thoroughly enjoyed this tour and it has been one of the highlights of our holiday.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Sacha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We left Rome and went to Napoli, stopping along the way for a coffee break (if you've never been to a coffee shop in European rush hour, you are in for a surprise!) Once in Napoli, you take a short tour of the historic sites near the port. It only lasts about 30 minutes. If you are looking for more time specifically in Napoli, this is NOT the tour for you - that is the only time you will spend there, and you really do not go very far since you are basically just around the port area. After this brief stop in Naples, you board the buses to Pompeii. Pompeii is incredible, and the tour guide that we had in Pompeii was so knowledgeable and witty - learned an incredible amount of history from him. You will like Pompeii! You will have lunch there, and the meal is good. From Pompeii, you leave to go to Sorrento. Sorrento was in fact my favorite of all of the stops that we had - it is absolutely breathtaking and not completely covered up in tourists. The hotel we had in Sorrento was beautiful with incredible views of the sea. We went out into the little town to do some shopping (lots of shopping, and not all tourist shops, either) and we were having such a good time that we didn't in fact even go back to the hotel for our dinner. We chose instead to eat at a restaurant recommended to us by a local, Antica Trattoria. it was a foodie paradise! I highly recommend it if you decide to eat in the town. It is a little pricey, but it is delicious and artistic food in a great atmosphere. In the morning, we ate breakfast at the hotel (great views of the sea from the terrace, too) and boarded to go to the water taxi to Capri. Capri has beautiful views, but it is also VERY touristy. Lunch was good. Blue grotto - we saw it, but if you do not get to see it, do not lament this - buy some pictures (it's beautiful, but the effort to see it is overrated). Great trip to see much in 2 days

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

eshermon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour, amazing how much you manage to see in 5 days.
Nicole our tour guide was amazing, very helpful and informative.
Worth booking onto all the additional tours academy in Florence, Pisa, Venice at night and gondola ride for a total of 130 euros per person. Very good value for money overall.
Hotels all lovely, worth paying upgrade in Venice for better location on the islands. Food very good given included in price and Nicole was excellent at recommending places for lunches etc. very accommodating with allergies and dietary requirements if mentioned in advance.
Worth noting, not for the faint hearted, early starts before 7am every day, lots of walking including up hill at a reasonable pace especially tough in a heatwave!!. We're in our 20s and found it hard enough at 40 degrees!!!
Overall an amazing tour and would highly recommend!!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

Tony

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I highly recommend this tour. We called when we arrived in Rome from our hotel room to confirm. When we confirmed, they gave us a pickup time. We waited in the lobby with our luggage the day we got picked up. We were picked up in a small van and then taken to the area where we were to take the bus. On the way to Naples, they stop halfway so that you can buy a snack and use the bathroom. Once in Naples, you get to get out for a bit to take pictures. After Naples we ate lunch at a hotel next to the ruins. Pompeii was amazing!! I recommend you bring an umbrella and sunblock as there isn't much shade. After Pompeii, they drive us to our hotel. We paid extra to stay in the superior hotel. We got to stay in Grand Hotel Ambasciatori. If you stay there, make sure to take the elevator down to the water. On the next day, we took a boat ride to Capri. I was a bit bummed that we didn't get to go into the grotto due to high tides. We were told that the Blue Grotto is only open 30 of the whole year. We did get to take a boat ride next to the grotto. One thing I recommend doing is taking the chair lift. The views are amazing!

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

law_likes_blue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The first day of the tour was worrying - bus guide was unfriendly and rude. Lunch was average. The guide for Pompeii was amazing. Once we arrived at the hotel, we didn't regret the tour! It was an amazing hotel and breakfast and dinner had an amazing view. If you want to relax, do this tour!

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Ana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Although very fast paced, I got to see everything in a few days. The hotel in Sorrento was breathtaking. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I booked this on the Internet and had no idea if it would be decent or not it just accommodated our 6 day time frame perfectly. i highly recommend itt( upgrade the Rome hotel) I I booked a few excursions with them. Genny (tour contact in Rome)alwayavailable. My absolute favorite was the Amalfi Coast

Doing what: 6-Day Rome and Southern Italy Tour Including Naples, Pompeii and Amalfi Coast

Karen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed this tour very much. The transportation logistics worked smoothly. Our group was a manageable size. We were booked at a really nice hotel. Six meals were included in the tour price. The tour guides were knowledgeable. The highlights were the trip to Pompeii and Capri. The only disappointing part was skipping the walking tour of Naples. We were supposed to see the blue grotto but it was closed for the day because of the thunderstorm in the early mornig. Our guide arranged for us to take a speed boat to the mouth of the blue grotto. That was cool.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Shelley V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

fabulous tour. we loved our leader mauritzio. vittorio was good at Pompeii. sasha great at Capri.. hotel ambasciatori was gorgeous at sorrento and the Capri day trip very enjoyable. The best trip in a month of touring.

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Steve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Mirijam was fantastic. The hotels were nice, the food could have been better. Overall the trip is very worth it. So much learning from guides and knowledge passed along. 8 citie in 5 days is fast paced, but you really feel like you get your moneys worth.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

sande

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was amazing, really good guides
Sad that the Blue Grotto was closed but enjoyed every moment. Only wish we had one more day. Hotel Capedimonti was wonderful.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message