Take a break from Rome's big-city bustle to discover the fascinating history of Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius. A visit to the haunting ruins of Pompeii takes you back to the fateful day in 79 AD when neighboring Mt Vesuvius erupted, covering the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 339 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lisa T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was fantastic! Our tour guide Anna was incredible. So friendly and funny. She even took the time at the end of the trip to come and talk to each one of us on the bus to answer personal questions. The hike to the top of Mount Vesuvius was amazing. It's steep, but not very far, so almost anyone would be able to do it. Our tour guide at Pompeii, Enzo, was really wonderful. He provided just enough information, but also periodically gave us free time to explore and take pictures. We were lucky that we went on a day that wasn't very busy and the weather was perfect Nov 16, 2016. I would definitely recommend this day trip to anyone visiting Rome. It was the highlight of our trip!!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Mark F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

No trip to the West coast of Rome would be complete without visiting the Tyrrhenian Sea coast, to tempt fate by climbing sleepy Vesuvius then to tread on the cobblestoned streets of ancient Pompeii as it's ill-fated inhabitants did nearly two millennia ago but now with a local archaeologist. Our tour guide for the day Roberto was knowledgeable and engaging and was a perfect fit. Although the obligatory lunch stop served very disappointing Neapolitan pizzas, worse still was finding a Starbucks inside Pompeii built on the site which had been the womens' bathhouse. If this is how we treat world heritage sites there is no hope. Putting these minor gripes aside, this full day trip into Campania was both exhilarating and informative made possible by our expert guides and driver.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Richard H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A long but fantastic day, with two very entertaining, informative and engaging guides in Andy and Chiara. The trip lets you see some of the Italian countryside which you would miss if you spent your whole visit in Rome itself.

The climb up Vesuvius is something to behold, and the local guide for Pompeii was excellent, funny and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

William R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a fun day trip from Rome. The bus ride up to Vesuvius was exhilarating and the views from the volcano were great. You get a great view of Naples and Capri and the surrounding area. The Pompeii portion was also great and fascinating. The pizza was so-so, but that was not what the trip was about really.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Suzanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A terrific day trip from Rome. The tour guides on the bus gave lots of interesting information, the bus ride was a comfortable and carefree way to get to Pompeii. The official guide at Pompeii was outstanding, and Pompeii was an amazing place -well worth the trip.
We also really enjoyed the hike up Mt. Vesuvius and the fantastic view which is pretty steep and requires good walking shoes.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

hobodaddy1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is the best day tour from Rome. Climb Mt Vesuvius and see Capri and Naples from a spectacular view. The trip to Pompeii was excellent as the tour guide Enrico, made sure you saw the most interesting artifacts and sites.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Xina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Inga and Alessandra were fantastic tour guides and made the trip so enjoyable. We took this tour the day before we left, otherwise I would have booked additional excursions and specifically requested them. Our party of six had a great time hiking up Mt. Vesuvius, visiting Pompeii and stopping for lunch in Naples for pizza. Recommend wearing tennis shoes for the hike. The bus was a very comfortable ride. Would highly recommend to anyone. One of our favorite tours while visiting Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Shai United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The highlight of my stay in Rome last week, picked this tour and glad I did, did not disappoint and definitely worth the money. Our tour guide Mikeala from City wonder tours was brilliant, she fed us with knowledge about the history of Pompeii and Vesuvius through out the day and looked after us all. She made this trip very fun and exciting with her amusing personality. The day was very long but the views from the air conditioned coach made it worth while, they were breathtaking. This tour will not disappoint you. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would pick it again .

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

shabala.m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My husband and I took the trip on the 14th Of August 2016, a Sunday. Excellent trip well organised and well executed by our lovely highly learned guide Ms Kylie. The credit for making the trip a complete success goes entirely to her. She was very disciplined and well organised and gave us plenty of information on history of Rome right from the Trojan war all along the journey. After our visit to Pompeii we had a good lunch which was a big pizza we could choose one from 3 different types and a drink of our choice included in the package. On our way to the Vesuvius, Kylie told us about the history of Vesuvius and the magma chamber beneath it and how the region around the mountain is divided into zones depending on the risk level and the government emergency plan in the event of any future eruption. She explained how the story of the eruption in 79AD was learned from eyewitness account of Pliny the younger and spoke about the two Plinys and reconstructed the entire event that lead to burying of Herculeum and Pompeii under the pyroclastic flow. She was very energetic too and accompanied us to the top of the Vesuvius without showing any sign of fatigue. She helped us spot the steam that was still coming out of crater walls and pointed out to Pompeii and the various islands like Capri,Ischia from the top of the Vesuvius. she also pointed to the path traced out on the mountains by lava that came from the last eruption in 1944. On our way back, she gave us lot of useful tips for tourists travelling and places that we must visit in Rome. She was a very kind person and helpful and very jovial. The guide in Pompeii however paled in comparison to her. He was good but when you have listened to Kylie narrate then you feel that he could have been better. Pompeii is a must visit to know how the people lived and made such great planned cities with facilities that make us wonder why was nature so cruel to such a great cultured society.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Karen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I love the Amalfi Coast. It is worth the time to take a day trip from Rome. The sea side towns are charming and unique. Pompeii is reeped in history and very interesting.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Semi-Private Day Trip from Rome

Amber H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My husband and I booked an 8 day stay in Rome. While we had plenty we wanted to see in Rome, we also wanted to see other parts of Italy. I was all set to book a one day tour to Pompeii and a separate one day tour to Capri when I found this tour. I was hesitant to book because I read a lot of reviews about people being annoyed about changing buses and wasted time. After our trip, I have to say that changing buses didn't bother us and during down time we sat in a cafe and sipped cappuccino. So, I guess it depends how much you are willing to go with the flow. We enjoyed our tour of Pompeii, but our stay in Sorrento was our favorite. Even without the upgrade option, we so enjoyed our hotel. It had beautiful views of the bay and Mt. Vesuvius that we enjoyed while eating dinner. Only down side was that I couldn't use my hair straightener due to a voltage difference at the hotel. Our day in Capri was AMAZING. We did some shopping in the morning and the blue grottos in the afternoon. One couple didn't want to do the shopping, so they asked if they could go swimming at the nearby beach. The tour guide was okay with this, but asked if they would meet back with the group after the shopping. So, if you are not into shopping, there are ways around it. Overall the trip was fun, informative, and romantic!! Totally worth it. Plus, we had a great tour guide named Carlos. He made the trip really easy to understand and fun. Do yourself a favor and book this tour!

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Patric F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was hands down one of the best things I did in Rome. I was in Rome for 4 days and did not do any tours, but am very glad I did this one. Our guides were Melanie and Kyara, both of whom made the trip very exciting and interesting. They both know a lot about the history of Rome and share that knowledge with you at the beginning of the bus ride down. The bus is very comfortable, it's an air conditioned coach bus. The first stop is near the top of Mount Vesuvius. Then you get off the bus, and can climb to the summit, which is a little less than a mile. Once you get to the top, you have a great view of Naples and a great view inside the crater of Mount Vesuvius. After the climb, you get back into the bus and they take you to lunch for some Neapolitan pizza, which was absolutely delicious! Then you head over to Pompeii for a tour, which was very insightful! You also get to see a few plaster casts, which are human remains preserved from the ash of Mount Vesuvius during the fateful eruption. Then, after the tour, you head back home. On the bus ride home, Melanie and Kyara come talk to each and every person and answer any questions you have, and they make terrific suggestions on where to eat, drink, and what other sites to visit in Rome. So if you can, book this tour at the beginning of your trip so you can listen to their tips and follow through with them. We got back into Rome at around 8 PM. BOOK THIS YOUR NOW!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Judth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This short tour was everything I expected, most enjoyable and to be recommended, especially if you have just a few days to see Italy south of Rome. We enjoyed a wide range of awesome sights, from the ruins of Pompeii to the gorgeous Mediterranean coastline from Sorrento to Amalfi and a day trip to Capri. The tour guides were fabulous, knew their history, were ideal personalities to inform and entertain us and the accommodation excellent.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Daniel D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My wife and I took this tour because we wanted to maximize our short time we had in Rome - this day trip is totally worth it! We had two fantastic tour guides, Andy and Francisco, who were both knowledgable and entertaining on the bus rides. Once in Pompeii, our group was paired with a local tour guide who gave us just the right amount of information on Pompeii. After the tour, we were treated to a pizza for lunch. Okay... Yes, there are better pizzas in Italy than what we were served, but it was still pretty good. After lunch our tour guides Andy and Francisco and our expert driver Antonio took us up Mt. Vesuvius where we got some excellent views of the surrounding sea and city. On the way back towards Rome, we were treated to some free samples of wine and limoncello, which were both excellent. I would highly recommend this tour because the guides were excellent, knowledgable, and also knew when to let people on the bus just relax and enjoy the ride.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Susan W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our trip to Pompeii was a highlight of our visit to Rome. The guides who spent the day with us, and the Neapolitan guide who joined us for Pompeii itself, were all excellent. The trip was very well organized, including an excellent pizza lunch at a real, sit-down restaurant that was ready to receive 100 guests all at once. The city of Pompeii was extensively excavated and fascinating. Hiking up Mt. Vesuvius on a hot day was exhausting but worth the effort!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Carole C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We booked this day trip from Rome to Pompeii and everything from start to finish went exactly to plan. It was a long day trip but worth it, the coach was very comfortable, the guides who accompanied us from start to finish very informative with good sense of humour. Rest breaks and quiet time on the coach made the long journey pleasant. We were passed to a local guide on arrival at Pompeii whose knowledge brought the history of the place alive. We chose to book with Viator following successful trips with them in Venice a few years ago and have this evening just booked a tour with them for our forthcoming trip to Vienna. I feel confident booking with Viator through my past experience and can highly recommend them.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

katrina.steedman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyed the Day trip to Pompeii from Rome. Our guide, Luca, was incredibly knowledgeable and gave some great insight into Pompeii, Mt Vesuvius, Roman Culture, history and food. The day was paced well considering we included two rest stops, a hike up Mt Vesuvius, pizza for lunch and 2 hours at Pompei Ruins. If you are looking for a comfortable and convenient way to see Pompeii from Rome, highly recommend the tour. However, if you would like to spend more than 2 hours at Pompeii, would suggest you look at another tour as felt there was so much more to see at Pompeii but was a good highlights tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Rebekah Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Absolutely LOVED this tour. Our tour guides were superb they were warm and friendly as well as knowledgeable and fun. It's a must see day trip out of Rome! The only thing I would change is I would love about 30-40 minutes of free time to walk around Pompeii after the tour was over to take pictures and see a bit more before we headed off. All in all we were thrilled with the trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

marlenepetrella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The trip to Pompeii from Rome was a very long day, but it was well worth the effort. Roberto, our guide, made all the difference. He was very organized and attentive to everyone's needs. Plus, he was extremely entertaining, telling stories that my grandchildren loved and providing humorous information about what constitutes real gelato and what you will NEVER get at a real Italian restaurant spaghetti and meatballs--NEVER happen. But, for me, the most touching point was when we were climbing to the top of Mt Vesuvius. My family stayed with me for most of the climb up, but I was VERY slow and wasn't sure I would make it up in the allotted time. Roberto knew I wanted to make it to the top if at all possible, and he encouraged me to keep going, never raising concerns that time was running out. When I finally reached the top and triumphantly met my family, Roberto was there to snap my picture, smiling from ear to ear. Then he walked with me, all the way down--again, never rushing me or making me concerned about the time. He genuinely wanted me to have, and enjoy, the experience. So many tours are totally focused on the time schedule that they lose sight of the reason people take their tour. And I get it: schedules ARE important. However, I am truly grateful that City Wonders hires tour guides like Roberto who know that schedules need to be flexible. The experience is everything.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Jamie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Me and my fiancé were in Rome for 12 nights and we have always wanted to see Pompeii and have always wanted to climb an active volcano and this tour did both Robert and Melissa were lovely tour guides and gave all the info that we wanted and even the info around the edges that we didn't think we wanted to know! With a tour of this type I didn't expect to have a full day in Pompeii and I thought it would be just a quick tour and in a way it was but we ended up seeing a lot lot more than we thought and had an amazing trip the day from start to finish was immersive and carefully planned and well delivered and we feel like we got excellent value for money. I would reccomend this trip to absulately anyone that has a spare day in Rome,

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Daniel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great day trip from Rome. Bus guides did a good job and the local guide in Pompeii was excellent.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Ronald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a few days in Rome to start our vacation and this trip to Pompeii was great!! Inga and Monika, our guides made the trip wonderful. We braved a crazy traffic jam and hiked Mt. Vesuivius, thanks to our bus driver, Paulo! This is a long day trip, plan for at least 10 hours round trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Caroline S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This day trip was the highlight of our short stay in Rome. Both myself and my husband loved everything about it! It is a very long day with the travelling but SO worth it. We got to walk up Mount Vesuvius and take in the breathtaking view over the bay of Naples and look into the crater which was smoking in places. It is a challenging walk when hot but just pace yourself and you will get there, I am of moderate fitness and managed to get up there. We then had a delicious pizza lunch in Naples which included salad and a drink I did not expect the food to be so good, very good for an inclusive trip compared to others we have been on! This very filling lunch then gave us much needed energy for the tour of Pompeii. Pompeii is HUGE and you do not get to walk around even half of it, but the few hours we did have were amazing! We had a tour guide who brought the city to life whilst walking around the ruins. It was an extremely hot day, make sure you take plenty of water which you can fill up at various fountains inside Pompeii. We will certainly return to Pompeii one day to explore the rest of it. I would highly recommend this trip. We loved it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sarena H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful time with Melanie as our guide! She was extremely sweet and you could tell she was very passionate about her job and informing us about the history of Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius.
The walk up to the crater of Mount Vesuvius was a lot of fun, and we had a good amount of time to hike up at our own pace with time to take photos. The walk through Pompeii was incredible! An absolute must for anyone who loves history and knows about Pompeii.

The only thing we weren't too fond of was the lunch that was provided at the restaurant. The pizza was okay, nothing spectacular unfortunately.

We would HIGHLY recommend this day trip if you are visiting Rome. You won't regret it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Eileen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I was very glad I took this side tour from Rome. Considering all that was included, the price was very reasonable. The bus drive down was not especially scenically spectacular other than the view of the Monastery at Monte Cassino. A superhighway in Italy isn't that different from one in the US. The spot selected for lunch was quite nice, the food was good and there were good clean facilities. The tour of Naples showed how beautiful the area by the sea is here. I found out later that the museum in Naples has a lot of Pompeii and Herculaneum artifacts. It would have been nice if that could have been included. Our Pompeii tour guide was very good and went at a reasonable pace for me at least. I hadn't realized how much of the site is still an active dig so a lot is not available to view. We saw examples of the businesses, houses and baths that the residents would have used which were very interesting. There is so much more of the town layout to see that you really need to visit here to get a concept of what Rome would have been like. I stayed in a hotel in Sorrento that had a breathtaking view and excellent meals. I enjoyed the trip to Capri and the Blue Grotto, but it was a bit too much of an expensive shopping opportunity. I took in the views instead. The only thing that disappointed me was that I thought a tour along the Amalfi coast was included rather than an extra. I spent the third day sitting on my hotel terrace catching up on my diary and having lunch by the pool. That was fine, too. Overall, this was an excellent experience.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message