With millions of tourists descending on Rome each year, the world’s most famous ancient city gets so overwhelmed with crowds in high season that many visitors find themselves skipping the busiest sights or simply running out of time. Rome’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2473 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jodie.r.Anderson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

First off, the Skip the Line feature is mandatory! The line for admission without it was well over 2 hours long- even at 9AM in the RAIN! Our tour guide, Francesca was one of the best, mixing in history, local lore and architectural details into an interesting lecture. Her knowledge of art was impressive and her insights helpful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Edward J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I would definitely recommend this tour! The tour guides we had 2 were enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The tour was well organized with the skip the line working nicely. We went into areas that the average ticket buyer did not get into and it was very interesting. The tour guides gave time to take photos and really take in the environment. It was not rushed. It was quite a walk in the hot sun to the Forum and Palantine Hill, but the tour guide had nothing to do with that. Most of our tour dropped out due to the walk in the heat -- I completed the tour and enjoyed it very much. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Alexa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Worth every penny to skip the line and have such a wonderful, knowledgeable tour guide. Absolutely a must do when in Rome!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Mona E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I highly recommend this tour. Our guide was superb and very knowledgeable. Lines are long so skip the lines makes the tour more comfortable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Kyle P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were so glad we picked this tour. Even though most Tours say Skip the line, there is still an amount of waiting you will have to do. This tour Skipped Skip the line, so our wait was only a few minutes while our tour guide went and collected the tickets.

Our guide was Lucia and she was fantastic! We all had earphones and could hear her clearly for most of the tour. unless we fell too far behind, most of the wireless systems there struggle to get through the thick vatican walls!
Lucia showed us all the highlights, told us all the important parts of the history behind them, and gave us ample time to take photos where appropriate. She'll tell you herself: she talks at the speed of a train - but she is very knowledgeable and will also take the time to answer any questions you may have along the way. She is a very intelligent and energetic guide, never letting you get bored or miss anything crucial.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Tom United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The skip the line tickets with a self guided audio tour made for a very enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

statusk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Definitely get the skip the line tour or you might wait two hours in the queue and still not get in. We ended up in line for about 30 minutes. It's crowded so nothing you can do about that, but Oscar our guide was excellent as he took the time to talk about the art he's an art historian and tidbits and interesting trivia along the way.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Amr Egypt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour with professional guide. It was about 3 hours of back to history of Vatican and fine arts everywhere around. Tour guide was very helpful to understand almost 2,000 year of fantastic history. Skip the line saved us almost more than an hour. Weather was very hot and AC is not available in most of areas inside Varican. It is advisable to take a hat or something to be able to complete the outdoor part of the tour during July and Augest. Otherwise, it would be difficult to enjoy the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Joshua R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

AWESOME tour! Super informative and interesting. Great guide and really really beautiful tour. Got to skip the line because we were on a tour and if you love art and history, this is the tour for you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Joshua R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

AWESOME tour! Super informative and interesting. Great guide and really really beautiful tour. Got to skip the line because we were on a tour and if you love art and history, this is the tour for you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour. We were able to skip the lines and see all the main attractions in the Vatican. Would recommend this tour to anyone that wishes to see the main sites in Vatican city.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Ali.crowe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very interesting tour. Tour guide Barbara was very informative. Would highly recommend booking this tour and skip the line

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

mjtrevor155

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great way to skip the line. You meet on the steps near the entrance and find your skip the line host. They give you a sticker and walk you into the museum at your scheduled time. Your host buys the tickets from a window and hands them out to you. From there you go into the actual museum and are on your own to explore.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Thomas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our Viator through the Skip The Line Vatican Tour was worth every dollar and I don't spend money easily. Guide was knowledgeable, considerate of the needs of the group, engaging and certainly well organised.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

johnco1737 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The morning tour of Vatican was great, this tour is a true skip the line. Marina brought everything to life with great history and stories. The afternoon tour was outside the wall. This tour was excellent, with pieces of history that we wee not familiar with. Ricardo was a great tour guide, he also helped with instructions and tips for us to get back to our Accommodation. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

jasmax

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is the only way to do the Vatican Museum- skip the line and self-guided. Our 'tour was everything as advertised. The tour process was efficient, the guide helpful at the point of entry, and we were into the museum exactly when our timed entry was noted despite the throungs of people waiting to get into the museum. I would definitely recommend this process to anyone. Viator is a professional, competent tour agency which can be used with confidence that they will deliver what they promise.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

murphyjp Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We would highly recommend the Skip the line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking tour. We found the guide very attentive and knowledgable, having no trouble answering any questions that came. The tour not only gives a comprehensive tour of the Colosseum, but includes both the Rpoman Forum and Palantine Hill, both adding a greater understanding of life in Ancient Roman times.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Jennifer Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fabulous tour! Great to skip the lines in the summer heat! The guide was extremely knowledgeable. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Jennifer Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This your was amazing!!! Skip the lines and get to see underground and top level. Excellent guide! Worth every penny! Highly recommend.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Ronald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wow was this tour great! Rome is a tourist nightmare during the summer months and this skip the line tour was fast and fascinating. We literally walked past all of the lines. Our guide, Sarah, was knowledgeable and a great pleasure to hang out with for a few hours!!

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

ladymojito44

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Memorable!!
The skip the line tour is a wonderful way to get in quicker into the Vatican Museum. Beautiful and Breathtaking Art and The Sistine Chapel, no words can express the Collection. Do not bring backpacks to this tour, and do not wear sleeveless or tank tops.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Elyssa K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour and highly recommend it! So worth it to skip the line. Our tour guide, Francesca, was very knowledgeable!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Elyssa K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour with a wonderful tour guide, Lindy. She was so knowledgeable and kind, and we learned a lot including some funny stories! There is a lot to see, but Lindy made it feel manageable, and while it was really crowded and hot the day we were there, Lindy was so aware of her group and made sure we found shade when possible, and led us through the crowd with ease. What an expert! We loved the tour and highly recommend it. Well worth it to skip the line, too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Brad A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour wss excellent, both guides were very good. Tiberius who took us to the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill was entertaining and very clearly passionate about history, Roman histroy and Rome. He was an excellent guide. The guide who then guided us through the Colosseum was also excellent she was an archaeologist and the insights gained through the part of the tour where we visited the arena floor as well as the underground parts of the Colosseum were fantastic. The skip the line feature of the tour worked well and enabled us to avoid the huge crowds that were there the day we visited Sunday. I would highly recommend this tour, but in July it is hot so take water and a hat, and there are quite a few stairs which some of our tour group were unable to cope with and thus missed some key sights of the tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Brad A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour wss excellent, both guides were very good. Tiberius who took us to the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill was entertaining and very clearly passionate about history, Roman histroy and Rome. He was an excellent guide. The guide who then guided us through the Colosseum was also excellent she was an archaeologist and the insights gained through the part of the tour where we visited the arena floor as well as the underground parts of the Colosseum were fantastic. The skip the line feature of the tour worked well and enabled us to avoid the huge crowds that were there the day we visited Sunday. I would highly recommend this tour, but in July it is hot so take water and a hat, and there are quite a few stairs which some of our tour group were unable to cope with and thus missed some key sights of the tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message