With millions of tourists descending on Rome each year, the world’s most famous ancient city gets so overwhelmed with crowds in high season that many visitors find themselves skipping the busiest sights or simply running out of time. Rome’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2660 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Steve R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Skip the Line tours do just that, save a large amount of time bypassing lines to purchase tickets and enter attractions. Plus, you have the benefit of a guide who will lead you to the most interesting exhibits, explain little-known facts, and prepare you for the experiences to come, such as the mob in the Sistine Chapel. Our guide did all that as we made our way through part of the Vatican Museum, the Sistine Chapel, and then on a tour of St. Peter's. The amount of time spent in each place was plenty to give us an overview, although someone wanting a more in-depth experience might have felt a bit rushed. Our morning tour was just right for us, we ended just before noon and spent the afternoon exploring other parts of Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Anthony T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very well organized. Groups are small and well managed. Skip the line is so worth it. The Vatican is filled with so much history, the guide does a great job pointing out the high lights, keeps the interest of the group. Keeps the group moving at a nice pace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Ivy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Skip the Line is a must. It's totally worth the money!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Melissa W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Tour is well worth taking especially since you skip the line for St Peter's saves you more than 40mins even in Winter. Our tour guide Christina was excellent - shared some interesting facts and ensured we maximized our time to see everything. The tour is paced just right and with the headphones you are able to hear her all the time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is the only way to see the the Sistene Chapel, it is essentially a quick guided tour of the Museum - you can circle back and do the museum after the Chapel - twenty people, I lingered as long as I could and when I left the Chapel I was but one of six people in arguably the most beautiful room in the world. No tourists taking selfies, no people speaking when they should not - the Sistene Chapel is a useless destination if you are with a crowd. You must take this tour. After the Chapel you are allowed to either skip the lines for St. Peter's Basilca or go back to the beginning of the museum and walk through at your leisure. Just do it!

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

Nadine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent experience, we bought skip the line tickets and paid for English audio guides when we were in the museum. I have paid previously for a 3 hour tour guide which was great, but I wanted the flexibility to really explore all the various museums before seeing the Sistine chapel. Would really recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

KB

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Don and #39;t miss this tour!!!!!! Guide was the best!!!! A must to see and hear the amazing stories of the Vatican. Truly a no wait skip the line Tour.....
Worth every penny. Loved this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour. Anna was a great tour guide. Very knowledgeable, interesting and friendly. We learned a lot and had a great time. Very many interesting and informative comments about the Vatican Museum and the Basilica. Skip the line is an absolute must for the Vatican Museum. Line was very long even on a very cold day in January with ice in the fountains.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Deidre L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing tour wonderful guide. The ability to Skip the Line is worth it as is the smaller group.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Joanne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide for this tour was Giuseppe and our group was 20 people in total. Totally worth spending a bit more to pre-book and get to skip the line which was already very long, even in January! Feel very lucky to have been part of Giuseppe's group - his passion and knowledge shone through. We covered all the main highlights and had a great Vatican experience! Thank you Giuseppe!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Quico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really excellent. Our guide Ursu was knowledgeable and friendly and kept us going. The skip the line was highly desirable given the long lines to enter the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

shayneedwards16

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We did indeed skip the line, which was all the way down the block. There were people stationed at street corners as we got near to show us where to meet up with our guide. This was well organized and we had a great guide. It was more meaningful understanding what we were going to see and what we were looking at as we progressed. Well organized, well timed, loads of fun. We had plenty of time to see things, although you always need more time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Maria K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I really enjoy the view from up high, and believe me, this tour took us right up inside the dome... and outside. Stunning views. And of course, skip the line is a really great feature. There are so many people. Crowds everywhere. It's self-defeating to do it on your own. The guides lead you in and whisk you through the blocked gates. So nice without getting completely exhausted waiting in lines.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including Views from the Top of the Dome

liz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We did this tour on the morning of the day we did the colosseum at night tour. The directions for meeting place were easy to follow even though we got lost almost daily in Rome. The Vatican museum and Basilica as expected were extremely crowded and being able to skip the line was glorious. Our tour guide was fantastic and very personable. When going through the Sistine Chapel please remember to look up! It was literally so crowded that I was worried about getting separated from my husband that I almost didn't look up. I recommend this tour and doing it on the same day as the later Colosseum at night tour gave us plenty of time to explore the city and have a great lunch near the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Aravindhan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Highly recommend this. Unlike Rome and #39;s skip the line package, this was worth it. Try to get Elizabeth as tour guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Rebecca H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The two tour guides we had for each tour, David and Damian we're fantastic. They knew so much and was really easy to listen to and understand. Very interesting too.
Well worth doing just to skip the line! So the added expertise and direction was great. Me and my boyfriend really enjoyed it and learnt a lot from both of the tours.

Definitely would recommend!!

Doing what: Rome Combo: Skip-the-Line Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, St Peter’s Basilica and Colosseum Walking Tour

C Scott M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Giuseppe gets a SIX star rating on a five star scale. There are plenty of skip the line options available, but skipping the line is only a small part of what makes this so valuable. A small group and high quality guide make all the difference.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

JoelAlpine USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great to skip the line. Our tour leader was great. She was knowledgeable, patient, and treated us like family.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Elisa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I visited with my two teenage kids. I've been to the Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel many times and I knew the kids would get saturated with a detailed guided tour. But we didn't want to stand in line half the day. I booked this ticket just to skip the line, but explore the museums on our own. It was very easy to find the guide. The description of the meeting location on the confirmation was very clear. They had an Apple Wallet option, but I also printed the confirmations just in case. Apple Wallet worked fine. City Wonders tour company wears very distinctive blue jackets, easy to spot from a distance. All of the tour guides near the steps by the steps across the street from the Museum entrance are very helpful. They all know each other and will help you find the correct group. Entry and security was fairly quick, but very crowded. The guide has to purchase your entry tickets after security. If you have children under 18, be prepared for the guide to take the children to the ticket window as a group and leave the adults. The employees have to see the children in person when the guide purchases your entry tickets -- for the child price. Some of the parents in our group had younger children under 12 years old and were not comfortable letting their children go in this big group with only one adult through the huge crowd. The guide was very accommodating in allowing a parent to accompany the younger children to the ticket window. Once we got our tickets, we were free to enter the museum. It worked very well for those who want to explore on their own. The guide did provide a map showing the highlights of the museum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Amanda N United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Skip the line was the best thing we could've done, tour group was very organized and on time. First tour: Vatican City: There were many tour groups, for a group of 8 we were able to all be in one group with a simple request that morning of the tour. After that it was an easy entry within 10 mins through security and the tour guide was very knowledgeable. Second Tour: 1:30pm Colosseum, same thing, very organized and knowledgeable tour guides. Be prepared for a long day, LOTS of walking!!!

Doing what: Rome Combo: Skip-the-Line Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, St Peter’s Basilica and Colosseum Walking Tour

Sue B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Would recommend this tour , definitely skip the line so you don't waste valuable time . Excellent guide , very friendly and extremely knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Joel Ivan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Unbelievable experience.
Sistine Chapel is the most beautiful sight!
Definitely do the skip the line tour. We watched people wait in lines in the rain.
Grateful for the experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

For a family group of 6, the Skip the Line small-group tour of the Vatican museums and Sistine Chapel was excellent! Our tour guide, Assunta, was a knowledgeable art historian whose passion for the art was contagious. She carried a portfolio of reproductions that enhanced our appreciation of the sights and she was approachable and inclusive. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

SirJBP

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was good. It was easy to find the meet-up place and it was well organized. The group size wasn't too big, although the hearing system wasn't very good, probably to many groups walking around the same places and if you distanced a little bit from the guide you had bad connection quite fast, apparently is provided by the Vatican museums so is not a problem with their own equipment. Our guide Tatiana was good and enthusiastic about the explanations, and seemed to have a good knowledge about the subject. The visit was in November, so being very low season there wasn't that much people around, but it was still worth it to skip the line as we managed to get in in the moment to both the Vatican Museums and the St Peter's Basilica. Overall was worth it and more engaging visit. As the Vatican Museums are massive, you only visit part of them with this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Guy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great way to end our stay in Rome. Our guide Maria was very knowledgable and gave us plenty of time for photos and questions. Skip the line is a great way to save time and is worth the price. We did the 8:30 tour and only had 10 in our group instead of the normal 25 it was like a private your. Incredible architecture and history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message