With millions of tourists descending on Rome each year, the world’s most famous ancient city gets so overwhelmed with crowds in high season that many visitors find themselves skipping the busiest sights or simply running out of time. Rome’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2498 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dennis L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was wonderful. The Vatican Museum, Raphael Room in particular and Sistine Chapel are too crowded to really fully appreciate and take everything in. But that is to be expected. If it wasn't spectacular no one would go, so be patient and expect the crowd. The Skip the Line is a MUST, well worth every penny.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Shannon O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Vatican is a MUST when in Rome! And I highly recommend the skip the line tickets! We saw the line of people without them - and it was probably 3 hours long! Plus - our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and informative! LOVED IT!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Jane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Vatican Tour is a must see when visiting Rome. It is extremely crowded and having the skip the line tour made it feasible. Rosa Maria was a wonderful guide. We will definitely use Viator in the future.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

VERONICA T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was great, St Peter's is breathtaking, also it pays to skip the line otherwise you could be waiting for hours to get in.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Martin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This skip the line tour was great. There were very detailed instructions on where to find the guide. It was very organized and well put together, would do it again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Ernesto G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This 3 hour tour of the Vatican was terrific. Our tour guide was personable and very knowledgeable - she allowed us time to take pictures throughout the tour where picture taking was allowed. I recommend this tour, since you really do Skip the line as the lines to just get tickets to the Vatican were very long. This was money well spent.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Meher Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pros: Fantastic guide who was considerate, knowledgeable and interesting, tour was just the right amount of time, and I was lucky to visit on a beautifully cool, windy day
Cons: The welcome staff member I spoke to to check people in and organize into groups was not at all welcoming. Seemed like she was fed up with her job. Also, with the number of skip the line and early morning tours, you've still got a crowd to deal with.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Katy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide, Gigi, was wonderful!! He was very kind and made us laugh throughout the tour. He was very informative, and we enjoyed learning more about the Vatican museums and the other parts of our tour. It was helpful to skip the line, but our favorite part of this tour was Gigi and his great information!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

James

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We loved our skip the line tour of the vatican. Definitely worth it for speed to get in and the history that our guide presented. He was awesome ,
Thanks James

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Edward N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Vatican is unbelievably crowded, and Saturdays are the worst apparently. But Skip the Line means skip the line, and it was all very efficient. Our tour guide Rachel was extremely knowledgeable and communicative, we thought the tour was terrific.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Jodie.r.Anderson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

First off, the Skip the Line feature is mandatory! The line for admission without it was well over 2 hours long- even at 9AM in the RAIN! Our tour guide, Francesca was one of the best, mixing in history, local lore and architectural details into an interesting lecture. Her knowledge of art was impressive and her insights helpful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Edward J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I would definitely recommend this tour! The tour guides we had 2 were enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The tour was well organized with the skip the line working nicely. We went into areas that the average ticket buyer did not get into and it was very interesting. The tour guides gave time to take photos and really take in the environment. It was not rushed. It was quite a walk in the hot sun to the Forum and Palantine Hill, but the tour guide had nothing to do with that. Most of our tour dropped out due to the walk in the heat -- I completed the tour and enjoyed it very much. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Alexa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Worth every penny to skip the line and have such a wonderful, knowledgeable tour guide. Absolutely a must do when in Rome!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Mona E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I highly recommend this tour. Our guide was superb and very knowledgeable. Lines are long so skip the lines makes the tour more comfortable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Kyle P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were so glad we picked this tour. Even though most Tours say Skip the line, there is still an amount of waiting you will have to do. This tour Skipped Skip the line, so our wait was only a few minutes while our tour guide went and collected the tickets.

Our guide was Lucia and she was fantastic! We all had earphones and could hear her clearly for most of the tour. unless we fell too far behind, most of the wireless systems there struggle to get through the thick vatican walls!
Lucia showed us all the highlights, told us all the important parts of the history behind them, and gave us ample time to take photos where appropriate. She'll tell you herself: she talks at the speed of a train - but she is very knowledgeable and will also take the time to answer any questions you may have along the way. She is a very intelligent and energetic guide, never letting you get bored or miss anything crucial.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Tom United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The skip the line tickets with a self guided audio tour made for a very enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

statusk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Definitely get the skip the line tour or you might wait two hours in the queue and still not get in. We ended up in line for about 30 minutes. It's crowded so nothing you can do about that, but Oscar our guide was excellent as he took the time to talk about the art he's an art historian and tidbits and interesting trivia along the way.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Amr Egypt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour with professional guide. It was about 3 hours of back to history of Vatican and fine arts everywhere around. Tour guide was very helpful to understand almost 2,000 year of fantastic history. Skip the line saved us almost more than an hour. Weather was very hot and AC is not available in most of areas inside Varican. It is advisable to take a hat or something to be able to complete the outdoor part of the tour during July and Augest. Otherwise, it would be difficult to enjoy the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Joshua R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

AWESOME tour! Super informative and interesting. Great guide and really really beautiful tour. Got to skip the line because we were on a tour and if you love art and history, this is the tour for you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Joshua R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

AWESOME tour! Super informative and interesting. Great guide and really really beautiful tour. Got to skip the line because we were on a tour and if you love art and history, this is the tour for you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour. We were able to skip the lines and see all the main attractions in the Vatican. Would recommend this tour to anyone that wishes to see the main sites in Vatican city.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Ali.crowe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very interesting tour. Tour guide Barbara was very informative. Would highly recommend booking this tour and skip the line

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

mjtrevor155

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great way to skip the line. You meet on the steps near the entrance and find your skip the line host. They give you a sticker and walk you into the museum at your scheduled time. Your host buys the tickets from a window and hands them out to you. From there you go into the actual museum and are on your own to explore.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Thomas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our Viator through the Skip The Line Vatican Tour was worth every dollar and I don't spend money easily. Guide was knowledgeable, considerate of the needs of the group, engaging and certainly well organised.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

johnco1737 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The morning tour of Vatican was great, this tour is a true skip the line. Marina brought everything to life with great history and stories. The afternoon tour was outside the wall. This tour was excellent, with pieces of history that we wee not familiar with. Ricardo was a great tour guide, he also helped with instructions and tips for us to get back to our Accommodation. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message