With millions of tourists descending on Rome each year, the world’s most famous ancient city gets so overwhelmed with crowds in high season that many visitors find themselves skipping the busiest sights or simply running out of time. Rome’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2625 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

For a family group of 6, the Skip the Line small-group tour of the Vatican museums and Sistine Chapel was excellent! Our tour guide, Assunta, was a knowledgeable art historian whose passion for the art was contagious. She carried a portfolio of reproductions that enhanced our appreciation of the sights and she was approachable and inclusive. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

SirJBP

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was good. It was easy to find the meet-up place and it was well organized. The group size wasn't too big, although the hearing system wasn't very good, probably to many groups walking around the same places and if you distanced a little bit from the guide you had bad connection quite fast, apparently is provided by the Vatican museums so is not a problem with their own equipment. Our guide Tatiana was good and enthusiastic about the explanations, and seemed to have a good knowledge about the subject. The visit was in November, so being very low season there wasn't that much people around, but it was still worth it to skip the line as we managed to get in in the moment to both the Vatican Museums and the St Peter's Basilica. Overall was worth it and more engaging visit. As the Vatican Museums are massive, you only visit part of them with this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Guy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great way to end our stay in Rome. Our guide Maria was very knowledgable and gave us plenty of time for photos and questions. Skip the line is a great way to save time and is worth the price. We did the 8:30 tour and only had 10 in our group instead of the normal 25 it was like a private your. Incredible architecture and history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

ngarment United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent trip, our guide Maria was superb and did not stop talking. I couldn't believe the queue to get in so having the skip the line tickets is a necessity. It was easy to find our guide, make sure you get their half an hour before and as we all had headphones you did not have to worry about always being right next to the guide as you could hear everything clearly. It is quite tiring even though you don't really walk that far but I felt it gave us an excellent overview of The Vatican. Great time of year to go 1st week of November as weather was pleasant and not too hot. I also saw some huge groups going round so definitely nicer to be in a smaller group

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Lesley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Well worth booking the skip the line tour as it was really busy when we went at the beginning of November. If you go in the summer months the skip the line is a must. Our guide was Georgia, she was very interesting and informative. Told the story with humour and amazing knowledge. Thank you. :

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Jason K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

If you did your research, you would know the best way into the Colosseum is through a guided tour. The Colosseum lines for tickets and entry are always long. This skip the line tour is the best way to go. It gets you in and through without any delays. By the way, the Forum is not as crowded to get into. But, this tour covers both the Colosseum and nearby Forum and a lot of information is provided by the guide to make it interesting.

Once inside the Colosseum, you have plenty of time as the guide walks you through. Keep in mind, even though you skipped the line, it is very crowded inside the Colosseum. But, you get plenty of time to see it and walk around and take pictures.

A short walk over to the nearby Forum begins that segment of the tour. There is a lot of history there and the guide has a lot of information about what it is and the buildings that are in there. It is not as crowded as the Colosseum, and since this is where the tour ends, you can always continue walking around on your own and take lots of pictures.

Definitely well worth taking this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

JLC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Awesome - Skip the line is a MUST!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Angela A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Truly an incredible experience! Our guide was so insightful and full of information, I wouldn't have changed a thing. There is so much detail and decor that I feel like you could visit the Vatican numerous times and each time notice something different. Granted this was my first time walking through but I definitely felt that our guide highlighted all of the major attractions and more. The skip the line option was also definitely worth it, even in the slower season.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Jay and Margaret United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I was surprised at the crowd size for late October, but the Skip the Line pass was just what we needed. Very organized and a great tour of the Vatican Museums. I recommend it for all seasons when visiting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Donald F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We really did skip the line and had an informative tour of the museum, Sistine and St. Peter's. We were able to stay in the basilica and spend additional time on our own. Everything was exactly as billed, professionally conducted and well worth the small investment to not stand in line for three or four hours.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Amanda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Lots and lots of people at the site made the Skip the Line with Small-Group Upgrade well worth the money.

We had a really good morning and enjoyed this glimpse of history. Rather mind-blowing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Andrea B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We went to the Vatican on a Saturday and the line was extremely long. With this tour we were able to skip the line and get through security in less than ten minutes. It is definitely worth it to be able to skip the line and get in quick!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

eddyetucker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is the best as far as tours go. Skip your cruise tour and use Viators skip the line Vatican tour. The tour was perfect the spokesperson was college educated, knowledgeable, very well spoken, and a delight. I will use Viator for tours and tips from now on!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Eugene K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Well worth the money to skip the line. Gigi was an excellent tour guide. A very special day and experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Eugene K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Well worth the money to skip the line. Gigi was an excellent tour guide. A very special day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

kimhayes001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Easy met at the meeting point designated 15mins earlier given our formal entrance tickets taken through to the skip the line entrance and then left on our own to view the Vatican Museum without any problems

Kim and Sharlene Hayes

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

drcjquinn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

While the crowds were huge at the Colosseum, the Skip the Line got us in quickly and we had an outstanding guide to explain the intricate details of this structure and area.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Travis K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including Views from the Top of the Dome was Amazing! I would highly recommend taking this tour! Not only do you get to learn about the Church's rich history from a small group tour guide, you will also get to climb the cupola and have breathtaking views of all of Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Peter's Basilica Walking Tour Including Views from the Top of the Dome

dulcielyn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide Ettori was an expert on all things Vatican City in addition to his lovely sense of humor and patience. We visited on a Saturday afternoon and the lines to enter the Museum were long. INCREDIBLY long, up to a two hour wait, so needless to say the skip the line feature is worth every penny. Once inside, Ettori navigated our group of about 20 through mazes and swarms of people with deft expertise. Using earphones we could all hear him clearly. Our tour 100 lived up to the description in terms of viewing everything listed and more. A few tips before seeing the Vatican - it is not air conditioned. It was only 70 degrees the day we visited, however it was blazing hot inside with the thousands of other visitors. Dress light and when your guide insists of getting water, do it. Also pack your patience. Your going to need with the crowding. The Vatican does not limit the number of people inside and at times it is nearly unbearable. And then you remind yourself of where you are and what you are experiencing, and realize it's still worth it. The true gem of this tour, though, was Ettori. A true professional.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Bob M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tours. Our tour of Vatican was great. and yes, skip the line worked and so so great. Crowds can be burdensome, but on this tour we got right in. Our guide spoke very good English and she was very knowledgeable..
Fabrizio was our Colosseum guide and he did a great job as well. We weren't scheduled to go to the arena floor, but he got us in there.. WOW so fantastic. He was very knowledgeable as well, and we so enjoyed our tours..
IF you are visiting Rome, and want to tour these places, book with these folks. They did a great job. Yes, it was a very full day 9-5 but if your time is limited, and you need to cover many places in 1 day, this tour is so worth your time and money..

Doing what: Rome Combo: Skip-the-Line Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, St Peter’s Basilica and Colosseum Walking Tour

Philip S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

How could this tour be anything but amazing. The beauty was almost overwhelming. Our photos do not do it justice. You can't go to Rome and not visit St. Peter's and the Sistine Chapel. We were there in September. The skip the line is well-worth the cost. Even so, it was still very crowded in St. Peter's.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

again skip the line tours is the only way to go. Viators guides, no matter the city were great

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

Sheila G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I am SO glad that friends of mine who had been to Italy suggested signing up for a Skip the Line Tour for the Vatican. It was well worth the money and we got so much more out of it rather than trying to go through on our own. We also liked that it was a smaller group considering how crowded the Vatican was. Our tour guide, Giuseppe, was EXCELLENT!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Donald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic tour!!! My wife and I had gone to the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's on other trips however, we wanted a specialized tour since we were bringing our 10- and 13-year olds to Rome to learn a little more about the world we live in. It was fabulous, we walked straight in the group tour skip the line lane to the security area it took all of a few minutes -- well worth the savings of the 2 hour wait outside in the normal entrance line. This tour was just the right size and accomplished everything we wanted it was great since everyone could interact personally with the tour guide. While there were some questions asked, the tour guide was excellent and she provided so much information on key architecture, statues, art, etc. that one was left with a very satisfied feeling following each area of the tour. She reinforced everything she talked about with documentation showing different eras and depictions on the topic to help all to better understand the history involved in the is wonderful place. One memorable moment was when she presented a book of the Sistine Chapel and went over the design and each of the paintings prior to your entrance to the Chapel. This helped pull it all together since one can be overwhelmed since there are so many paintings on the walls and ceiling of the Sistine plus you are not supposed to talk while in the chapel so this was key and she did an excellent job in conveying the information to all 10 years old to people that were in their mid-60s.

After finishing the tour, you could then go on your own to the catacombs or the up to the cupola if you desired.

I would highly recommend this tour for anyone looking for a memorable experience to the Vatican!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

mlj9290

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great tour with a very engaged and informed guide. The tour took about 3 and a half hours and did require a good amount of stairs. Skip the line was absolutely needed at these stops. We would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who wants to experience the collusieum and forum!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message