With millions of tourists descending on Rome each year, the world’s most famous ancient city gets so overwhelmed with crowds in high season that many visitors find themselves skipping the busiest sights or simply running out of time. Rome’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2565 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rajeshwer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Glad we got skip the line tickets to the Vatican. The regular line would have taken couple of hours. Even with skip the line it took us 15 mins. We got out there probably 5 mins past our reporting time. There are nearly 10 to 12 guides waiting to escort people in. We were asked to stand in a common line where they verified your tickets and then were told which guide to go to. You are given a headset to wear to hear what the guide has to say. It is important to get it for everyone in your trip. The guide gives you instruction on where to wait and how long using that. You can use strollers in most of the museum. However you have to check it in for the other parts. We did feel a little rushed in the Vatican. However, that's how you can cover a lot in a short time. Colosseum tour was very good. We seemed to have enough time there.

Doing what: Rome Combo: Skip-the-Line Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, St Peter’s Basilica and Colosseum Walking Tour

proudwojick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My husband and I have been to the Vatican previously while traveling on a cruise. We did Rome in a day it was for sure a long day! and did the tour of the Vatican already so we were already aware of what we were seeing however, it was nice to dedicate a couple of hours to go into more detail. I highly recommend purchasing skip the line access. As we were walking in passing the long line one person mentioned they were waiting since 7AM.. it was 9:30AM when we entered and did not have to wait one minute. Needless to say, this was a perfect tour that I highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Marcella M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a wonderful tour guide, Irene, who shared so many more details about what we were seeing, which really supplied rich detail to the tour. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see the Vatican museums not only do you skip the line, the added commentary makes a world of difference. Thank you

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Garrick21

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is a must. Our guide was fantastic and the skip the line admission was worth the cost alone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Arvind B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was the perfect tour to start our Italian Sojourn. If you have not seen the Colosseum with this tour, then probably, you have not been to the Colosseum.

Our tour guide knew his job well. It was all the money's worth to skip the line and be able to visit entire Colosseum like a VIP!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

babs12564

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very nice tour and tour guide well worth seeing and doing. Beautiful! Perfect amount of time too. Skip the line tour is the way to go, organized, knowledgeable guide and none of the madness!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Eric W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour. Our guide was amazing and informative. It was very crowded, but our guide made sure we were altogether and would bring us into places where she could talk to us without the crowd around. This is the only way to do this place--otherwise you're just looking at a lot of beautiful things without knowing the history. Also having the skip the line meant we just walked right in...beautiful!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Linda C G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It saved us time purchasing tickets online. Our guide met us just were our email said she would be . She was helpful and specific. I would use Skip the Line again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Choreogold

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I cannot say enough about City Wonders, and specifically, our guide, Federica. We liked her so much on our Skip the Line Colosseum Tour, that when we found out she was going to be one of the guides on the day of our Vatican tour, we requested her immediately upon arrival. We went in Augustheight of tourist season and heat, and could not have been more thrilled. The directions to meet with your tour group are perfect and everyone was on time. I highly suggest bringing your own earphones because the ones provided on both of the tours are uncomfortable. Our guide, Federica was knowledgeable and passionate about her city and everything it had to offer. We loved listening to her descriptions of the artwork and basilica because she did it in a way that took you on a journey, rather than being given a bunch of facts. Her English was superb, her demeanor delightful and the sheer amount of knowledge was astounding. She answered every question asked, and was concerned for her tour members in a very crowded and warm Vatican. Skipping the line in August is worth EVERY PENNY! City Wonders has a personal relationship with The vatican, so we skipped other skip the line tours. The sights are, without a doubt, superb. The Basilica and Sistine Chapel are unbelievable even when you are staring right at them. Thank you for making Rome so enjoyable!

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Choreogold

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I cannot say enough about City Wonders, and specifically, our guide, Federica. We liked her so much on our Skip the Line Colosseum Tour, that when we found out she was going to be one of the guides on the day of our Vatican tour, we requested her again on our Vatican tour. We went in Augustheight of tourist season and heat, and could not have been more thrilled. The directions to meet with your tour group are perfect. I highly suggest bringing your own earphones because the ones provided on the Colossuem tour are uncomfortable. Our guide, Federica was knowledgeable and passionate about her city, it's origins, and you could tell she loved sharing the information with her tour group. We loved listening to her descriptions, anticdotes because she did it in a way that took you on a journey, rather than being given a bunch of facts. Her English was superb, her demeanor delightful and the sheer amount of knowledge was astounding. She answered every question asked, and was concerned for her tour members on a very crowded, hot, and sunny day. She always tried to have people in the shade as much as possible. Skipping the line in August is worth EVERY PENNY! The sights of the Colosseum, Roman Forum, and Palentine Hill are something you will never see or experience anywhere else in the world. Thank you!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Joseph M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

So if the only thing this tour got you was to be able to skip the line it would be worth the money. We booked the early morning tour and when we got to the museums the lines were already around the corner and down the street. A gentlemen was announcing to people arriving that from where they were it was 4 hours to the museum doors. We met up with our tour guide 10 minutes before our tour began and got our headphones hooked up so we would be able to hear the guide. Promptly at our tour start time we stepped off and were headed for the museum entrance, past the hoards of people and through the doors, no lines for us. The majority of the tour is in the main museum, with the tour guide giving interesting facts and tidbits about the tens of thousands of pieces found here. It felt like we were running though the museum, but we hit all the main points and important pieces, and got lots of good information. The tour ends with the Sistine Chapel and St. Peters which were absolutely amazing. When the tour ends you have the ability to stroll back through the museum or stay at St. Peters and exit through the front of the Vatican. All in all it was a great experience and I would highly recommend these tours to anybody interested in seeing the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Baron C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour! Our tour guide was very informative and passionate! He had done the tour for 40 years! Walked straight into the colosseum with the skip the line ticket and it was worth every penny! Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

brett.harton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was great, Vincenzo was our guide. Why anyone would go to the Vatican and not do a skip the line tour is beyond me. The line was already 2 hours when we arrived, but we were able to skip right by everyone. Vincenzo was very informative and we didn't feel rushed through anything. If anything, the tour seemed a little long. By the end of the 3 hours, my husband and I were ready to go off on our own. The tour was organized and easy to follow. Would definitely recommend this tour to first-time visitors!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Howellig

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour - tour guide was out of this world, very knowledgable and friendly, thoroughly recommend skip the line tickets and a guided tour, as they say, when in Rome...

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

lleerph

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Glad to book this tour. Totally skip the line going into the Vatican Museum. Tour guide Anna was superb in teaching us a brief history of the Vatican and the art work displayed in the different galleries. She was very passionate in sharing with us her knowledge. In fact, the tour went overtime and it didn't conclude until 2pm. She was also good in getting a group of 21 situated in various places so that we could have a good view of what she was trying to show us....especially it was on a Saturday in August - high season! Of course, the headset helped tremendously to hear what she said. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Tammi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Skip the line is the only way to go. There was a line about 200 people deep waiting at 8 am to get in and with Skip the Line you walk right in front of them. Very nice. History of the museum was kind of a reminder lesson only because we are Catholic. St. Peters, and the Sistine Chapel were BEAUTIFUL- No photos or talking in the Sistine though, as well as you MUST mind the dress code!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

David E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Worth it just to skip the line and be assured of reservation at this extraordinary place. Be sure to check out the Gardens and the Etruscan museum easily walkable from the Borghese Gallery.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

alanjsmith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Super tour made all the better with Skip the Line and excellent English speaking guide Emmanulino. Very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Jacqueline M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very entertaining guide. Very knowledgeable. Worth booking a tour guide and skip the line

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Uswatte D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely loved this tour. We had a fairly large group but the guide paid attention to all of us. The line for the tickets was very long and having this skip the line pas helped save a lot of time. The guide was very helpful and she was very knowledgeable regarding the history of Rome. I would have no hesitation with recommending.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a very nice tour of the Vatican. It was great to skip the line after seeing all those tourists in a never ending line waiting in the hot sun to get in. Our guide Luccia was very knowledgeable and pointed out all of the important information. Although it was packed with people, the Vatican is for sure a site you don't want to miss when coming to Rome. A tour is the way to go. Vatican tours looked like they were 50 or 60 people while this tour was about 25.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great tour of the Colosseum and Forum with our guide Frederica. She was great and very knowledgeable. As with most popular sites in Rome, this one was packed and it was great to be able to skip the line. For sure worth the money just for that.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

ljp529

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly recommend the skip the line! The line to get in is huge! The tour guide, Sonya with City Wonders, was great. Very knowledgeable and always made sure we were in the shade! It was very hot out. The tour covers the main parts of the Vatican. It is very crowded in the morning though!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Amber H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fully enjoyed this tour. We had a great guide who made the time very enjoyable and informative for us. Since there wasn't much access to shade, we were a bit hot. Definitely bring a water bottle, maybe one with a misting function. It was great to skip the lines and see additional parts of the Colosseum that are off-limits to typical visitors.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Amber H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Shout out to our fabulous tour guide, Linda. I believe she was born in Rome she has a ph.d. and is an archaeologist. My husband and I love history, so we loved hearing all about the Vatican Museums through her tour. The entire time we walked, she told us interesting facts and history lessons, things we wouldn't have known if we had tried to tour the place on our own. Plus, we got to skip the lines that were already huge during our early morning tour. I would definitely recommend the early morning tour as I didn't notice the place being too insanely packed. It was busy, but I heard it was normally much worse. After our tour was over, my husband and I climbed to the top of the St. Peter's Dome must-do. Then, we had an amazing lunch at place that our guide recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message