A family trip to Italy is the sort of thing you hope your kids will remember for the rest of their lives. More than just the great pizza or gelato, however, you hope they'll understand some of the significance of what they're seeing so that they can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 358 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

C J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellant tour, well organised and great for kids. Thank you for a great experience

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

Edouard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great experience. Our instructor Piero was wonderful - knowledgeable, funny and entertaining - and both children and parents had fun. Great memories and photos to bring home. Our kids need activity-based learning, and they took more away from these 2 hours than from the Roman ruins we saw earlier in the day! Wholeheartedly recommend. We went for a late afternoon session, which was cooler, but watch out for the mosquitoes.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

becsmithpa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The whole family enjoyed this tour of the crypts and catacombs. Our tour guide was very enthusiastic and informative. I highly recommend this tour for people of all ages.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

Anne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was great fun and very educational. We were the only 3 people there so was a bit concerned as to whether it was actually going to take place as the place was still locked when we got there, but the instructor was beyond excellent! He opened up, and then gave us a guided tour of their museum, explaining all of the weapons and military strategy.
We then began the training and he made it great fun. My 13 year old loved it - and the husband enjoyed beating him at the fighting!
Well worth it - and the kids will love it.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Elizabeth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a great way to introduce the kids and myself! To Romes colourful and varied history. We did it on our last day, but it should have been done on the first. I just wish it was longer!

Doing what: Time Elevator Rome 3-D Movie and Simulated Ride

mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very unique experience. Dimitri our guide had tons of info to share and answered all our questions. My kids are still talking about it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

Louisa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Needs 10 stars!
Hands down the most fun thing we and #39;ve ever done on a holiday!
The gladiators were amazing, it was extremely educational but in a fun way my kids all had a blast, they are 11 7 and 4 even my daughter enjoyed it and she and #39;s a diva!
I would recommend this experience to anyone going to Rome!

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Meike A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great introduction to Rome history, for both adults and kids!

Doing what: Time Elevator Rome 3-D Movie and Simulated Ride

Martha P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We did the family friendly colosseum tour and it was amazing. My kids are shy so being called out to answer questions wasn't their thing, but I was happy to see them get involved. Our tour guide was excellent with kids, she had a lot of laminated pictures to show the kids to explain things and it helped to understand what the Colosseum used to look like. My only regret is they don't give you very much time in the actual Colosseum, inside the ring. We saw a lot of the exhibits and learned a lot about the outside, but actual time in the Colosseum was limited. We had to pull our kids away from the tour to snap some quick photos. Overall, I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

Kevin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic trip with Serena our guide. We were only with another family who were lovely also so we were very lucky. The children receive a pop up book and there are are nice surprises on the way to keep them interested and engaged. I would definitely reccommend this tour to all families!

Doing what: Rome Tour with Kids: Interactive Ancient Rome Tour

Kevin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is so much fun. My son and I both took part and really enjoyed it. It is more for kids but I was happy to be a big kid for a few hours! The staff there are very informative and passionate and really get you involved. One of my favourite tours on our trip!

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

karinvfoster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the PERFECT thing to do with my two teens after visiting all those museums! My son 16 and daughter 12 loved this activity and it brought a whole new understanding to our visit to Rome. Emanuel was our amazing teacher. In addition to teaching the kids about Gladiators, he gave us an amazing and relevant 2 hour self defense course. WOW is all I can say!

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Kathleen Dubois

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Peter was one of the best guides for my family. He spoke english which was wonderful for us. On other tours, even though the guides were excellent, we would miss a lot because of their accent. Peter was a wealth of knowledge in both the culture and the sites we visited. He also kept us laughing while we were sweating in the heat! There is a lot of walking and make sure you were the appropriate clothing as well.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small-Group Walking Tour

Annabelle P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great activity for my family of 2 teenager daughters 18 and 16 and son 8 years old. What a fun way to bond! Would highly recommend this activity! Be ready to be a gladiator!

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Kendall O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tomaso was great - informative and interesting, my kids, 12 and 15, really enjoyed it. Was great to find out about Bruni.
Many thanks,
Kendall

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

Eric J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My wife son and I all participated in the Gladiator training and thorooughly enjoyed it! It was an event highly recommended to us by friends and family and we were certainly rewarded for heeding their advice. Definitely suggest attending.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

chiquitica United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The guide was fun and very knowledgeable Mrs. Maura kept the kids entertained. I would recommend this tour not only for kids but also for adults.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

Christopher M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good tour and great info for kids. It was very hot during our tour, and Guya did a great job of finding us shade. My son, 6, loved it. Guya was able to keep the kids interested with stories and some great illustrations.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

elizabeth B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Kids had a great time. Tip: buses 218 from San giovanni and 118 from colosseum stop 5 metres from entrance.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Shridar R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour - very kid friendly. Our guide was Jeanne sp?? -- also called herself Mama Jeanne....Simply superb, included all the children into the history of the Colisseum. Played some interactive games, asked questions and kept the children very engaged. Seriously all you need to do as parents is to take pictures. You still get a really good flavor of the Colisseum and its history. The tour ends at the Roman Forum. Lasts 2 hours. Highly recommended for families with younger kids

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

Sue N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a fantastic thing to do with my son! He is 11 years old and it has changed the way that he is seeing the monuments around Rome. They have come alive for him following this activity! It is perfect for about 5 years old and up. There were some younger kids doing the activity when we did and they just can't keep up. All the other kids and adults had a blast!

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Heather F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Request Emanuele! The afternoon we spent at the school was definitely a highlight of our family vacation. My husband and I enjoyed it as much as my 12 and 15 year old children!

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Nicholas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic experience with a genuine instructor who could have been from the Roman days. Full of fun, great humour, interesting stories and action in the ring. Great for kids of all ages.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Peter G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

One of the highlights of the trip. Took our 11 year old. They spent the first hour in the museum learning about gladiators, history, weapons and more. Then the remaining time was spent in training with the finale being to practice against one of the other kids in a ring. Even got to set up a 1:1 fight between father and son. He loved it. The two who conducted the training were just amazing, helpful and kind.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message