Rotorua ATTRACTIONS See all

Lady Knox Geyser

Named for Lady Constance Knox, a daughter of the 15th governor of New Zealand, Lady Knox Geyser is located in the North Island's Taupo Volcanic Zone. While this region is famous for a variety of fascinating geological phenomena, the Lady Knox ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 73 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The small group tour was amazing! Trent was personable and knowledgeable as our expert guide. We got our money's worth with this experience!

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

Mary A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great locations, very welcoming friendly guide, lots of info related to Maori customs and the Rotorua area. Excellent.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Wonderful day trip. We did both Wai-O-Tapu and Waimangu. Even though they are close by each other - they are very different experiences. The info that they give you at the park entrances really describe the sites - we did not miss the tour guide experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Thermal Wonderland Geyser Link Shuttle Tour from Rotorua

MARINA N Japan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a great, perfect tour. The park is so beautiful and the guide was so kind and informative.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

Joseph M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

This is normally a group tour but ended up being a private tour the day I did it. The drive out to the sight takes about half an hour and the guide times it so that you'll see their largest spout go off when one of the rangers stimulates it, then get to walk around the rest of the area a few miles away champagne pool, steaming rivers etc. This general walk is constrained a bit by needing to be timed with the sight's shuttle busses to get a lift from the end of the walk back to the visitor's centre, so it was a pretty brisk walk considering all the hills, but there was also free time in one of the visitor centres we walked around two sights, and the guide was happy to drop people off anywhere in Rotorua.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

Glenn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour with a very friendly and knowable guide. His interaction with us and the other tour guides was brilliant and it was clear to see Robbie took time and patience to make sure we saw all we wanted and had time to enjoy and learn something about the area and its sights.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

Christopher R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Really good, only small thing was the level of monetisation of Hobbiton meaning it was pretty busy

Doing what: Thermal Wonderland Geyser Link Shuttle Tour from Rotorua

Yessenia G

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

The thermal wonderland is cool but I expected more. The Geyser was little. The tour guide was good and he got us there on time.

Doing what: Thermal Wonderland Geyser Link Shuttle Tour from Rotorua

Jeffrey T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was awesome! The guide was very knowledgeable of each location we visited. Some very cool crates and geo-thermal sights I've never seen in my life. Easy to communicate with, they picked us up from our hotel and dropped off same.. Thank you!

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

Mts G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing tour, well worth the time and money, excellent guide with so much local knowledge

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

agnetha.foong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What an educational and interesting experience. My group and I really enjoyed walking around and exploring the different thermal sites, getting to know nature better. Our guide, Huru, was very friendly.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

Anne-Marie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing tour and the guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. I would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

Helen n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a fabulous trip, despite the pouring rain ! Our guide, Huru sp? was fantastic, and in fact we my friend and I stayed on for the afternoon trip. In the morning we visited Wai-O-Tapu thermal area and the Waimangu Volcanic valley, and in the afternoon we visited a Maori village, the blue lake, lake Tarawera and Te Puia where we saw a Kiwi!. The whole day was interesting, fascinating, informative and full. Although I had been to a couple of the places before, having such a knowledgeable guide, and being driven, made the experience that much better. Our guide is a full-blooded Maori and hearing about the culture as well as the places we visited was really absorbing. A great trip - both the morning and afternoon, and trips that I would certainly recommend.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A fabulous tour. A great guide, very knowledgeable and informative, with a great sense of humour and quick-wit thrown in. Never thought we'd be able to get so close to the thermal springs. Best thing we've done since we arrived in NZ.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

Larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Nice tour of the geysers and ecological systems in the area. Small group is nice and tour guide was native Maorian.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Was a great little trip. Our tour guide was Maori who was very accommodating. There were only four of us on the tour, and we were both late, and he still managed to get us back on time without us feeling rushed. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

strugatch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great guide for two amazing venues. A wonderful way to explore Rotorua.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

ZHM

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very informative guide

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

Colin E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Trent was an excellent tour guide, informed and informative. Thoroughly enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

Kai A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Awesome tour and the guide was very friendly and very funny too!! Saw some amazing sites and learned a lot about the Volcanic and tectonic nature of the area.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

Ana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing tour, wonderful and unique landscape. And Trent is the best guide ever! He gave us plenty of information about Wai-O-Tapu, Rotorua and New Zealand. He also shared with us a really nice dose of great sense of humour! We'll definitely do this tour again when we go back to NZ, it's a must!

Ana and Jonay Spain

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

Mary Ann W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was excellent. A great deal of credit goes to Trent, the driver/tour guide, who provided great information and background on this amazing part of the world. I recommend it to anyone. Not too strenuous, and gets one out into the thermal areas and parks.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

Cliff Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

New Zealand itself is beautiful but this just opened up another part of the Island that was incredible. What made this more so was Trent our guide. His knowledge of the surrounding area and the formations you witness was not only interesting but his explanations were easy to understand. He even took the silly questions in his stride and came out with some good humour as well. I believe this is worth doing as you get a better understanding of what is occurring in the region plus the spectacular views and excellent commentary. 'Trent may you always walk on water'

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

d86rod

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Rotoura is an amazing area. The geothermal areas are beautiful. Our tour guide Trent was awesome. His knowledge of the area and history of New Zealand and Maori culture is 2nd to none.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message