Rotorua ATTRACTIONS See all

Tamaki Maori Village

Built by two brothers in 1989, the Tamaki Maori Village is the destination for an authentic Maori experience. If you are looking for a Maori encounter beyond the typical performance found at hotels, this is the place to go. The village is itself ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 41 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

kmmkfriedel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I googled best maori hangi dinner and the Tamaki Village dinner and performance. The experience- from the entrance greeting to the village to the show and then to dinner- was fantastic. My wife has difficulty walking, and they made a wheelchair available, as her scooter had a technical failure the village area is hilly, so it is hard for folks with limited mobility. The performers engaged the visitors in a fun and entertaining way. The show was great and the whole experience built up to the dinner experience. The food cooked in the Maori tradition in the volcanic vent was great. The best part about the experience was the people. Everyone from the gate people to the performers to the food service staff were fantastic. We did not ride the bus from Rotorua, as we were staying in Taupo, but if we did it again, we would stay in Rotorua for the evening and enjoy the short ride after the big meal. I would say this is a must do in Rotorua-

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

RC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

An absolute must do while in Rotorua! The bus picked us up at our hostel and immediately began telling us how we as a tribe would be greeted by Maori elders and the protocol to follow. We were then taken in the village to learn more about Maori customs, weapons, games, and watch our tribesmen learn the Haka. We were entertained by beautiful Maori song and dance before a sumptuous feast with more song and celebration. It was a wonderful evening spent learning about a new culture with our warm, generous hosts.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Leeanne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Although quiet a cool night the villagers and staff were extremely friendly and answered all questions asked. This is my second time to this Hangi and throughly enjoyed the Esperance the second time as much as my first. Performance and food were exceptional - would recommend to others.
The ride home should not be missed either - not going to tell you as it would spoil it....

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Liang-Dar H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A very comprehensive tour of the Moari village. We got to experience the traditional dance, game, food..etc. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

James D. S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We are not 'tour people' but wanted to understand more Maori history after reading several books on indigenous people. The Hangi dinner and performance reviews were complimentary so we booked. The bus picked us up at our hotel right on time and was filled with friendly people. Our driver, Bill, was funny and informative. I was a bit dismayed when we arrived and assembled in the gathering area to see a large class of school children. They turned out to be an immersion class from a nearby town and they were delightful. It was so good to see the Maori culture being spread in the classroom and children of all backgrounds benefiting from the lessons. Once the dramatic welcome ceremony was complete and we entered the village we were treated to various stations that explained facets of Maori life and tradition. This was followed by a wonderful entertainment session and then dinner. I learned quite a bit that had not been explained in our initial research. Keeping the Maori culture alive for Maori descendants, and for the country is important and this group has found an excellent way to do that. It was a very entertaining and worthwhile evening. Our bus trip back to the various hotels was filled with group singing and a version of The wheels on the bus we won't soon forget! As we reviewed our New Zealand trip, the Hangi Dinner was one of the top highlights. If you are mobility challenged this is a do-able event but could be difficult...but do try. So worth it!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Clare M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I loved this trip. It was very well conducted and the food was great. The village and all the activities were very well done. This was very slickly run.
I would recommend this trip to anyone visiting Rotorua.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Deborah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

An amazing experience. Wonderful insight into the Maori customs. They were very friendly and after showing us around their village, and doing the haka dance, they provided us with the most amazing dinner that they cooked underground. Definitely an experience not to be missed.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Zigrida D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was excellent. We learnt about the Maori culture using a fascinating format. We saw Maori dance, songs, weaving, games, weapon making and general cultural experiences. We saw the hangi dinner being made and had our dinner at the village . Our driver had great experience and was very knowledgeable and passionate about his culture. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Anna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The Maori dinner/performance was amazing. Great entertainment by the bus driver, I would highly recommend this whole experience. My boys just loved the interaction at the village itself. Gave you a good insight into the culture of the Maori people.
I would not hesitate to return and recommend this to others.
10/10

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Corrye S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was fabulous. Greatly enjoyed learning about the culture. Wonderful experience. Very delicious food. Great interaction between the villagers and the tourist. Very informative.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Amanda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a highlight of our New Zealand holiday! My 8 and 12 year olds sons totally loved this event! From the minute we were picked up by the bus driver Dennis the Menace we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of this 3 hour tour. The information about the Maori was in depth and demonstrated practically for my kids to totally understand. The performers all appeared to enjoy what they were doing and were all very friendly. We wished more time were spent in the village learning about each aspect of culture. It was so informative! The hangi dinner pit and then the meal were excellent. The performances in the marae and singing after at dinner added so much to the whole evening in terms of atmosphere and understanding of Maori culture. We wanted to go back the next night! So worth the money too.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Trish&Ken

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was Fantastic so good the Village is awesome, the Meal amazing and the entertainment 1st Class you really must go on this tour. I had done it before with my daughter 10 years ago and was just as amazed this time - right from the second you get picked up to the second your bus drops you off. You will soooo enjoy it.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Kierra Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This experience was phenomenal. From the time you are picked up from your hotel and dropped off again after dinner and the performance, Tamaki Maori village is the MUST DO experience. I have seen a Maori performance before, but nothing comes close to this. The stories and performances leave you yearning for more. As you walk through the village you are immersed in the Maori culture and lifestyle. So amazing, I cannot wait to come back!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

FAYE B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An excellent tour - Tamaki Village was great, the hospitality of the Maori people was superb, the entertainment was captivating (didn't want it to end) and the meal was extremely good. All in all, an activity we are very glad we did and considered it value for money

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

kureco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the whole entire tour. Everything was great from the bus driver to the performers. Once it came to supper time, everything was delicious and there was more food than your stomach can handle. I don't know about the other Maori village, but the Tamaki Maori Village that we went to was just a lot of FUN!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Madaleine V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Everything was excellent! Maori village, performance and the dinner- a must do if travelling to nz! !

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

yianna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

A fantastic maori experience. The village is beautifully set up and you can even take part in some of the Maori traditions! Plenty of food and desserts at the end after you have enjoyed some real maori entertainment

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Peter C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Listening to the Maori history from arrival in New Zealand and Rotorua together with the respect for the land, the predecessors and the future was interesting. The welcome by the Chief and village members was warm on a cold and chilly night. The entertainment provided gave an insight into the traditions, dance and song was great. Well recommended

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

We had a wonderful night right from the very start when we were picked up from our hotel by a very entertaining coach driver Mark. It was rather wet, but this did not hamper the traditional greetings and the visit round the village. We then moved inside a large hall where more traditions were explained through dances and displays. Some visitors were given lessons in how to perform the haka. Next we moved to the fire pit where the hangi dinner was being cooked, the food was delicious and cooked to perfection. We had a choice of Lamb and Chicken, with potatoes and sweet potatoes. There were further choices available once we were in the dining area. The dessert was just as good as the main meal. It was a very memorable night and I would like to thank everyone who made our evening so enjoyable.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Sauly Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

What an evening with Tamaki Tours , our guide/driver "DAZZA " who says his nickname was given to him by Aussies as I am a Aussie must give comment was a blast of entertainment before we even arrived at the Maori Village for our culture tour , show and fabulous Hangi Dinner , fully worth every dollar spent on this tour booking. Great hospitality , great food and great learning experience to get a little piece of the Maori culture.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Dr Adam J B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

My wife and I visited the Tamaki Maori village in February 2013. We both had a fantastic evening and were very impressed with the tour. We were picked up from our hotel in the tour bus by a Maori lady, who was a real character. She didn't stop talking and telling us all about the Maori and the local area and teaching us their language for the whole journey. She also put a big emphasis on everyone being friends, so we all had to introduce ourselves to each other. We also had to nominate a 'chief' from our bus to 'confront' the Maori tribe. At the village we were treated to a traditional welcome ceremony and haka, with our chiefs and the rest of us welcomed into the village. In the village we went around each hut and took part in various traditional games and activities, which were great fun. After watching our dinner being pulled from the ground, we trooped into the chief's ceremonial lodge for an hour or so of traditional entertainment, consisting of singing and dancing. Then we made our way to the dining hall, where we enjoyed our hangi dinner, which was very tasty and there was plenty to eat. The journey home was very entertaining - each country was asked to sing a song from their country, karaoke style! The whole evening was very entertaining and informative and we had a great time. However, it is very interactive, so don't expect to just sit and watch - you will be asked to join in, so if you're not happy being the centre of attention or singing in a bus load of people, then you'll probably feel a little uncomfortable!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Frances M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

An excellent trip -enjoyed every minute of it. The coach driver was brilliant - she encouraged everyone to join in right from the outset. the Maori village, feast and show were outstanding.
I would highly recommend this trip - a not to be missed occasion.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Rakesh A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Fantastic experience. Our driver was highly entertaining, the mock village was surreal, and the food was ample. The Maori culture is really brought alive, and you feel very much like you're in Polynesia. Would recommend this to anyone!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Michele W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This was a fantastic night. It started with a great bus driver called Darren who got us all in the mood for a fantastic night. The Maori greeting was excellent, the village was fun and interactive and the food was excellent. This was worth every cent!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

HUGO G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Wow, an absolutely amazing tour. The bus journey was absolutely superb - the driver had the best sense of humour I have come across for a while - I will never forget the roundabout - not going to tell you what that is in case they do it again! The best part of the tour was the welcome to the village done in traditional Maori style. The show was good but quite short and the food was fairly standard. There were a couple of good but not 'in your face' shops.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message