Rotorua has something for everyone, from geothermal activity and luxurious mud baths to Maori cultural experiences and adrenaline rushes. "The Sulphur City" on New Zealand's North Island is the place to head for natural beauty, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 369 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Diane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was defineately a highlight of our whole NZ trip, total entertainment from the moment we hopped on the bus and returned back on the bus.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Ying Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Actually i don't expect so good! the steam lunch box is highly recommended to try! Taste amazing!

Doing what: Te Puia Maori Cultural Tour and Steambox Lunch

kmmkfriedel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I googled best maori hangi dinner and the Tamaki Village dinner and performance. The experience- from the entrance greeting to the village to the show and then to dinner- was fantastic. My wife has difficulty walking, and they made a wheelchair available, as her scooter had a technical failure the village area is hilly, so it is hard for folks with limited mobility. The performers engaged the visitors in a fun and entertaining way. The show was great and the whole experience built up to the dinner experience. The food cooked in the Maori tradition in the volcanic vent was great. The best part about the experience was the people. Everyone from the gate people to the performers to the food service staff were fantastic. We did not ride the bus from Rotorua, as we were staying in Taupo, but if we did it again, we would stay in Rotorua for the evening and enjoy the short ride after the big meal. I would say this is a must do in Rotorua-

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful tour, dinner and show. If you want the background on the Maori culture, this was a good place to do it. Meal was terrific with local dishes. Cash bar was available.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Walter W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

the jetboat and geothermal things we saw and did were both thrilling and unusual, well worth the cost. Tim was our guide, very knowledgeable and had us to everything on time. The only complaint, was that we were staying in Taupo, had to drive all the way to Rotorua 1 hour to get picked up, and then wound up backtracking about 1/2 way back to Taupo to where the sites and jetboat were. We wound up wasting about 1 hour of time, and should have picked up someplace more central where we could have left our car. If you are staying in Rotorua, this trip is well worth your time.

Doing what: Rotorua Geothermal Wonders and Waikato River Jet Boat Ride

Manpreet S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was awesome! Such a great experience and wonderful tour. Plus we got to jump off and swim in the water, hear history of the area, and just had a great time. The guys were awesome in making the experience worthwhile. I would do it again!

Doing what: Kaituna River White Water Rafting from Rotorua

Elsa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Done this tour 20 years ago. Still the best. Great guide

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

YvonneSylvia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

An absolute must, very beautiful walk around the mud pools and geysers, very good performers

Doing what: Te Puia Maori Arts and Crafts Institute with Optional Cultural Performance

Kay L G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Enjoyed every minute. Picked up at our hotel. All very professionally organised, interesting, audience participation, plenty of food. Ideal for all ages. Value for money.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

RC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

An absolute must do while in Rotorua! The bus picked us up at our hostel and immediately began telling us how we as a tribe would be greeted by Maori elders and the protocol to follow. We were then taken in the village to learn more about Maori customs, weapons, games, and watch our tribesmen learn the Haka. We were entertained by beautiful Maori song and dance before a sumptuous feast with more song and celebration. It was a wonderful evening spent learning about a new culture with our warm, generous hosts.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

fiona.towney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is one of the best tours i have been on - well organized - very educational and entertaining - home drop off much appreciated - a lovely meal - reasonably priced bar - great floor show - couldn't fault it

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Dawn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a most enjoyable evening, very interesting and informative. We were collected from our hotel very promptly at the time stated and dropped off again at the end of the evening. The show was very entertaining. the beginning of the evening is outdoors so needed to dress warmly in October. The meal provided was delicious, pavlova to die for was one of the desserts. Would definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Andrew T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Designed for tourists, but very respectful of the native culture. Great entertainment. Food was tasty but it felt less authentic e.g. I don't think mint jelly was a native pairing with lamb.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Isabella B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

A great evening learning about the Maori people. They are proud about their culture and heritage which is so nice to see. New Zealand does a great job of respecting their ancestry. Dinner was excellent as well as the performance.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Josephine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great experience!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

diane-crow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was so entertaining. The staff really goes beyond expectations to entertain. And dinner was delicious. I highly recommend this fun evening. It's a cultural experience that you'll never forget

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Tami P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I had a great time on this tour and it really added to our New Zealand experience being able to learn about the Maori culture.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Haley W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This experience was professionally run and well worthwhile. It was well worth the money and we loved every bit of it

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Ian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic afternoon had at the shire. Tour guide was great and to have a beer in the Green Dragon was a bonus

Doing what: Rotorua City Tour and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set

Alyse M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful experience that should be on everyone's list when visiting Rotorua. The performers were very talented and informed on Maori culture. I loved the little areas that told a little bit more of history, from the tattoo culture to the games played by warriors. Additionally, the Hangi was delicious!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Karen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent trip with a knowledgable guide.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Ricky T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great! The local knowledge imparted by Barry, and of course the cultural knowledge of the various guided tours was excellent! Hobbiton was a must see, and a great way to end the day.

Doing what: Rotorua City Tour and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set

Liang-Dar H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A very comprehensive tour of the Moari village. We got to experience the traditional dance, game, food..etc. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Leeanne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Although quiet a cool night the villagers and staff were extremely friendly and answered all questions asked. This is my second time to this Hangi and throughly enjoyed the Esperance the second time as much as my first. Performance and food were exceptional - would recommend to others.
The ride home should not be missed either - not going to tell you as it would spoil it....

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message