Rotorua has something for everyone, from geothermal activity and luxurious mud baths to Maori cultural experiences and adrenaline rushes. "The Sulphur City" on New Zealand's North Island is the place to head for natural beauty, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 349 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alyse M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful experience that should be on everyone's list when visiting Rotorua. The performers were very talented and informed on Maori culture. I loved the little areas that told a little bit more of history, from the tattoo culture to the games played by warriors. Additionally, the Hangi was delicious!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Karen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent trip with a knowledgable guide.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Ricky T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great! The local knowledge imparted by Barry, and of course the cultural knowledge of the various guided tours was excellent! Hobbiton was a must see, and a great way to end the day.

Doing what: Rotorua City Tour and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set

Liang-Dar H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A very comprehensive tour of the Moari village. We got to experience the traditional dance, game, food..etc. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Leeanne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Although quiet a cool night the villagers and staff were extremely friendly and answered all questions asked. This is my second time to this Hangi and throughly enjoyed the Esperance the second time as much as my first. Performance and food were exceptional - would recommend to others.
The ride home should not be missed either - not going to tell you as it would spoil it....

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Jun Mo Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

There is personal interaction with the Maori people and you can tell that they are passionate to teach others about their culture and heritage. They almost get you sucked into all that they have to offer short informative classes, food, and language. Everyone there also has a great sense of humor to keep you entertained while absorbing all the information. I would strongly recommend that everyone stops by!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Kristen P

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

I liked learning more about the Maori Culture, but I was a bit disappointed by the other 75 people that made this Dinner/Performance feel overcrowded.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Lori D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent cultural experience. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the entertainment and it made a fun evening.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Gary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great time. We learned about the Maori culture and how proud they are. Interactive and fun. Dennis the menace, the bus driver, was amazing

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Gary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great time. We learned about the Maori culture and how proud they are. Interactive and fun. Dennis the menace, the bus driver, was amazing

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Keith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Not to be missed - very entertaining

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Maureen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was brilliant , have told my family and friends to go , The food was amazing as well ,

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

HYON SIK V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great performance by Maori people. We enjoyed very much.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Tamara T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed this evening. The food was delicious! The cultural presentation was delightful. Not only were we taught about the Maori culture, but we were invited to participate in the activites. It was a memorable evening and we would do it again.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

kerriescott02

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was really great value.We are a mature age couple and the rest of the bus were backpackers so we had a great time.The cultural side of the evening was excellent but our bus driver 'Wallace' topped off the evening.He had the most friendly personality and was great entertainment from puck up to delivery to our front door.Don't miss a fabulous evening!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Margaret R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent,totally enjoyed every part of the tour. My husband loved the meal stating its not often he goes back for seconds. Best part of our trip so far!!:

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Bena O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent experience, highly reccomended!! Food was amazing..

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Cathy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an awesome experience! It is nice to learn about the different cultures.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Lisa Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic set up with amazing staff who make it real.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

chriss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

First class

Cannot rate highly enough

Everyone should do this. Lovely people and seeing the Haka and everything else. Cannot rate highly enough.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Sandra K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We enjoyed to learn Moari culture, traditions and performance. How tasty Traditional feast was!! two wonderful guides helped with written notes for us

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Michelle W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The Maori presentation was so interesting. We loved the songs performed and we were excited to see the Haka and the poi ball dance.

Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly - we were able to see the geyser, the hot mud pools, the weaving school, the carving school and the kiwi birds. Such a fascinating area!

Doing what: Te Puia Maori Arts and Crafts Institute with Optional Cultural Performance

Clare M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I loved this trip. It was very well conducted and the food was great. The village and all the activities were very well done. This was very slickly run.
I would recommend this trip to anyone visiting Rotorua.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message