Rotorua has something for everyone, from geothermal activity and luxurious mud baths to Maori cultural experiences and adrenaline rushes. "The Sulphur City" on New Zealand's North Island is the place to head for natural beauty, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 387 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great day. Trent was the best host. Amazing knowledge. We fitted in so much. We were lucky to be the only two people on the trip that day.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Sandy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really enjoyed this tour. Comfortable coach, the guide is very informative and funny. This tour roughly runs from 8:15-5:00 door to door time. There are quite a few walking tours, so it is better to wear comfortable shoes, and bring water and sunscreen. We went in summer, but the weather was quite up and down, it really depends on how everyone feels, but I'd recommend to bring a jacket. Just to add-on to the website's itinerary: After lunch we drove pass the Museum for some photos. We also head to the Whakarewarewa Village as our last stop.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

westcoastie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was exactly what I was looking for. It was a very respectful and authentic presentation of the Maori culture. It was also very fun and entertaining. The food was excellent and plentiful. I would highly recommend this to anyone to wants to better understand the culture in a fantastic venue.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Kevin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed this very professional show and the Geyser performed for us so a great day was hadby us and our overseas visitors.

Doing what: Te Puia Maori Arts and Crafts Institute with Optional Cultural Performance

FIONA E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide, Huru, was fantastic and we had a great day discovering so many amazing places!

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

hasenkamp.oliver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great experience in a very friendly and personal athmosphere!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Kevin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was our first whitewater rafting trip and it was AMAZING. It's an easy yet exciting trip for beginners. The guides were a great. They worked hard to ensure that everyone had fun - and - got dunked at least once. :- Reviewing the photos they took after returning to their office was almost as much fun as the trip itself.

Doing what: Kaituna River White Water Rafting from Rotorua

Suzanne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very instructive and interesting. Well done and we learned a lot about the culture. The food was also very good.
Must do!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Kay v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic night out. We learnt heaps, had fun and dinner was lovely.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Michael J H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

An absolute must do if you're in Rotorua. This was honestly one of the coolest things I have ever done in my life. The flight, approach and landing to the volcano are spectacular. Then to actually walk around the island right up to the crater is just amazing. Our pilot was great and did his best to make the trip as enjoyable as possible as did the rest of the team on the ground. A great day and definitely one of the highlights of our trip to New Zealand.

Doing what: White Island Helicopter Flight and Volcano Walking Tour

Tamara W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Good fun - a pleasant evening, and a nice balance of information and entertainment. Quite tasty as well

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Robin M C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The geyser performed dramatically on cue and the porridge pot was amazing. The Agredome must not be missed.

Doing what: Discover Rotorua Morning City Tour

bb Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We loved the Cultural performance in particular. make sure you do the Combo, not just a visit to the mud pools and geysers which are also interesting. We also got a good look at the kiwi.

Doing what: Te Puia Maori Arts and Crafts Institute with Optional Cultural Performance

Yvonne S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was a great night out. I particularly enjoyed the tour around the village and seeing first hand the games, rituals, historical accounts and other items of interest. It was very atmospheric and enjoyable. Not too long and not too short...just right. The meal was okay but the highlight of the evening. I enjoyed the experience and would recommend it as a must-do when in Rotorua

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Robert United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

They don't take themselves too seriously and was very entertaining. The buffet lunch was excellent and was a good evening out.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a fun, educational, and delicious evening! Our bus driver, whose Maori name I can and #39;t quite recall so I and #39;ll call him Mark, was the best! A true entertainer! We learned so much about the Maori culture and enjoyed the show as well as the hangi dinner.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Prozzz

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Love the performances at the entrance adn as well as the cultural dances inside the theatre. It was just unfortunate, there was a several tall guys that was standing in front of us that was blocking our views of the presentations.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Robert United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

The park was a bit Disney like with the geysers and mud pools fenced in and paved walkways. We did the free 1 tour that includes the carving and weaving schools which was worth doing. The show was enjoyable but maybe 300 people in the room. Get seats on the end of the row or at the front to take good pictures.

Doing what: Te Puia Maori Arts and Crafts Institute with Optional Cultural Performance

Diane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was defineately a highlight of our whole NZ trip, total entertainment from the moment we hopped on the bus and returned back on the bus.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Ying Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Actually i don't expect so good! the steam lunch box is highly recommended to try! Taste amazing!

Doing what: Te Puia Maori Cultural Tour and Steambox Lunch

kmmkfriedel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I googled best maori hangi dinner and the Tamaki Village dinner and performance. The experience- from the entrance greeting to the village to the show and then to dinner- was fantastic. My wife has difficulty walking, and they made a wheelchair available, as her scooter had a technical failure the village area is hilly, so it is hard for folks with limited mobility. The performers engaged the visitors in a fun and entertaining way. The show was great and the whole experience built up to the dinner experience. The food cooked in the Maori tradition in the volcanic vent was great. The best part about the experience was the people. Everyone from the gate people to the performers to the food service staff were fantastic. We did not ride the bus from Rotorua, as we were staying in Taupo, but if we did it again, we would stay in Rotorua for the evening and enjoy the short ride after the big meal. I would say this is a must do in Rotorua-

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful tour, dinner and show. If you want the background on the Maori culture, this was a good place to do it. Meal was terrific with local dishes. Cash bar was available.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Walter W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

the jetboat and geothermal things we saw and did were both thrilling and unusual, well worth the cost. Tim was our guide, very knowledgeable and had us to everything on time. The only complaint, was that we were staying in Taupo, had to drive all the way to Rotorua 1 hour to get picked up, and then wound up backtracking about 1/2 way back to Taupo to where the sites and jetboat were. We wound up wasting about 1 hour of time, and should have picked up someplace more central where we could have left our car. If you are staying in Rotorua, this trip is well worth your time.

Doing what: Rotorua Geothermal Wonders and Waikato River Jet Boat Ride

Manpreet S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was awesome! Such a great experience and wonderful tour. Plus we got to jump off and swim in the water, hear history of the area, and just had a great time. The guys were awesome in making the experience worthwhile. I would do it again!

Doing what: Kaituna River White Water Rafting from Rotorua

Elsa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Done this tour 20 years ago. Still the best. Great guide

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message