Rotorua has something for everyone, from geothermal activity and luxurious mud baths to Maori cultural experiences and adrenaline rushes. "The Sulphur City" on New Zealand's North Island is the place to head for natural beauty, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 408 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lynne J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Amazing evening. To see the cultural aspect of New Zealand was amazing. We had fun and enjoyed our feasst.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

James A C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Plenty of food and new information to learn.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Vanessa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Experience not to be missed. Very informative and enjoyable evening in the Tamaki Maori Village. Efficient coach pick up and very interesting and humourous guide. The cultural show by the Villagers was first class, the singing was really wonderful. Don't eat before you go, delicious meal and pay bar.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

StevenTan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The coach driver was super entertaining and humorous. The performance was also amazing and allowed us to better appreciate the Maori culture. Dinner was great!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Todd B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Worth it for the food alone! A great, fun night!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Gayle L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Highlight of our trip to Rotorua. Learned a lot about the history, traditions and culture of the Maori people. Great experience. Some Invitation to participate in the different aspects of the culture made the experience fun as well as informative. The dinner itself was good but not great which is the only reason I didn't give 5 star.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Kim S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

This is one of those tours you do in order to get to know the indigenous culture and learn what to do to show respect of the culture. It was a well-oiled machine they have several groups go through each night and the tour guides are all well trained in the routine. Ours was loud and a little over the top but amused the group and kept everyone entertained on the bus ride to the marae.
The greeting was fabulous with the maori men coming in a canoe and doing the hangi challenge. Following this we went in one group at a time to a specific place for one of several displays with explanation of a part of the Maori culture and moved onto the next when it was finished. This was interesting also and the performers were all very good at engaging the group.
After this we were shown a hangi oven with the food being pulled out of the pit and guided to the dining hall where we sat down and were given permission one table at a time to go and help ourselves to the food with a dance performance also to entertain us.
The food was nice but that, for me, was not the highlight of the evening it was a bit mass-production style and I was left wondering why our Kiwi friends raved about a hangi being good food.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great day. Trent was the best host. Amazing knowledge. We fitted in so much. We were lucky to be the only two people on the trip that day.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Sandy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really enjoyed this tour. Comfortable coach, the guide is very informative and funny. This tour roughly runs from 8:15-5:00 door to door time. There are quite a few walking tours, so it is better to wear comfortable shoes, and bring water and sunscreen. We went in summer, but the weather was quite up and down, it really depends on how everyone feels, but I'd recommend to bring a jacket. Just to add-on to the website's itinerary: After lunch we drove pass the Museum for some photos. We also head to the Whakarewarewa Village as our last stop.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

westcoastie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was exactly what I was looking for. It was a very respectful and authentic presentation of the Maori culture. It was also very fun and entertaining. The food was excellent and plentiful. I would highly recommend this to anyone to wants to better understand the culture in a fantastic venue.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Kevin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed this very professional show and the Geyser performed for us so a great day was hadby us and our overseas visitors.

Doing what: Te Puia Maori Arts and Crafts Institute with Optional Cultural Performance

FIONA E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide, Huru, was fantastic and we had a great day discovering so many amazing places!

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

hasenkamp.oliver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great experience in a very friendly and personal athmosphere!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Kevin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was our first whitewater rafting trip and it was AMAZING. It's an easy yet exciting trip for beginners. The guides were a great. They worked hard to ensure that everyone had fun - and - got dunked at least once. :- Reviewing the photos they took after returning to their office was almost as much fun as the trip itself.

Doing what: Kaituna River White Water Rafting from Rotorua

Suzanne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very instructive and interesting. Well done and we learned a lot about the culture. The food was also very good.
Must do!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Kay v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic night out. We learnt heaps, had fun and dinner was lovely.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Michael J H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

An absolute must do if you're in Rotorua. This was honestly one of the coolest things I have ever done in my life. The flight, approach and landing to the volcano are spectacular. Then to actually walk around the island right up to the crater is just amazing. Our pilot was great and did his best to make the trip as enjoyable as possible as did the rest of the team on the ground. A great day and definitely one of the highlights of our trip to New Zealand.

Doing what: White Island Helicopter Flight and Volcano Walking Tour

Val W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing combination of activities -- river tour, hiking, warm water waterfall, jet boating... outstanding!

Doing what: Tutukau Gorge Jet Boat Ride and The Squeeze

Val W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

great opportunity to talk to Maori, see the love they have for their history, and to eat some tasty food! dinner, a show, and culture!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Kurt S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour with Maori culture and history. Enjoyed the cultural show. Geysers and mudpools were also very interesting.

Doing what: Te Puia Maori Arts and Crafts Institute with Optional Cultural Performance

Rob W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The helicopter flight was great especially the trip home with the front seat experience.
The volcanic walk was better than expected with great information and history of the island shared by the pilot/guide.
A great gift or shout yourself an experience!

Doing what: White Island Helicopter Flight and Volcano Walking Tour

Josef Deutschland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Extraordinary group experience.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Glenn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was one of the best tours I've been on, informative, enjoyable, interesting and interactive throughout and I would thoroughly recommend it. The performances by the Moari hosts were brilliant and the food was outstanding and plenty of it. It was great to see the enthusiasm displayed by everyone throughout the evening. Well worth it.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Craig E Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great fun evening with our guide entertaining us on our bus trip to the village location, and a night of wonderful cultural performances, demonstrations of their traditions, followed by a Maori hangi dinner. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Jeremy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour is an absolute 'must do' event, informative, entertaining an insight to the Maori Culture with the best lamb dinner I have ever eaten. I was honoured to be Chief of the Tui tribe for the evening and delighted to perform a short Haka under the guidance of the Maori performers.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message