Explore 30 million year old limestone formations and a cave full of glowworms in Waitamo Caves . Those who fancy something a little more thrilling don’t have to go too far. Like black water rafting into the Black Abyss or Labyrinth.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 39 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Walter W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

the jetboat and geothermal things we saw and did were both thrilling and unusual, well worth the cost. Tim was our guide, very knowledgeable and had us to everything on time. The only complaint, was that we were staying in Taupo, had to drive all the way to Rotorua 1 hour to get picked up, and then wound up backtracking about 1/2 way back to Taupo to where the sites and jetboat were. We wound up wasting about 1 hour of time, and should have picked up someplace more central where we could have left our car. If you are staying in Rotorua, this trip is well worth your time.

Doing what: Rotorua Geothermal Wonders and Waikato River Jet Boat Ride

Elsa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Done this tour 20 years ago. Still the best. Great guide

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Fiona F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic and highly recommended. Tour guide was great and the cave was amazing.

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Tour at Footwhistle Cave

Karen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent trip with a knowledgable guide.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Aisyah A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The view is simply spectacular. I enjoyed the chilly air, riding on my horse with a superb guide to point out all the wonderful surrounding views. Will do again next time i and #39;m there...

Doing what: Horse Trekking from Rotorua

Brian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great time a small group got us VIP treatment with one on one chat with guide enjoyed the squeeze experience , something unique and well worth the experience

Doing what: Jet Boat Ride on Waikato River Including Tutukau Gorge and Orakei Korako

Louise G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a delightful experience where we got to see amazing caves, cave wetas and the local scenery all with extra information provided by our tour guide Ross who had amazing knowledge of all the flora, fauna and geology and history.
There were crazy queues up the road for other cave tours but this was more intimate and brilliant.
Go it's great fun.

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Tour at Footwhistle Cave

Bronwyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

As newcomers to 4WD, we had a great time on this tour. Our guide was really good at talking us through everything, and making sure we felt confident and secure in what we were doing. We were raving about to all our friends for the next few days.

Doing what: Rotorua 4WD Bush Safari Tour

Joni

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Two different guides during the day. Both good. Friendly and knowledgeable. Good day despite the horrific wearher

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Michael S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Pay careful attention to the description. This is a tour of Footwhistle Cave, not the more famous Waitomo Cave. You'll have to climb down and then back up about 100 steps so skip this one if you've got mobility or stamina problems. Overall, a nice tour though, with plenty of glowworms on display.

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Tour at Footwhistle Cave

Paul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wow. I got the adrenaline rush on this. My guide, Brendan made it more fun and gave good advice. There was a few of the obstacles I thought oh oh, what have I let myself in for, but was over before I knew it

Doing what: Rotorua 4WD Bush Safari Tour

zezmail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Well organized, safety first, FUN! FUN! FUN!!!
Beautiful river nature and geothermal adventure!

Doing what: Rotorua Geothermal Wonders and Waikato River Jet Boat Ride

wytze

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Trent was the best tourgide i have ever had

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Matthew S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Great guide, interesting but underwhelming experience. Worth seeing, but not the best thing you'll see in NZ

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Tour at Footwhistle Cave

Graham H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Trent was a great guide, very knowledgeable, generous spirited and very good value. Glad we took the full day tour rather than the half day because we got to see so much more of the local area and another geyser.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Raja S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We had a wonderful time and Trent was spectacular on our trip. This has been one of the highlights on our vacation and we highly recommend it!

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Davjo United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

One of our best day trips of our NZ holiday!!! A must for anyones list.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

William W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

beautiful scenery and informative commentary.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Aris United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour of Wai-o-Tapu and Waimangu Volcanic valley. Our guide Huru provided informative history of the Maori.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Mary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide, Huru, was excellent. We learned so much from him about the geology of the area and also about the history and culture of the Maori people .We had a very good tour of the area, which is amazing. We could not have had a better experience. Thanks.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

J R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I found the day absolutely wonderful. I was met on time by Huru who was my guide for the day. I understood it was close to the end of the season, but I was very impressed that the tour was run as I was the only client. He was very knowledgible about the geology of the area which interested me greatly as I am a petroleum geologist. He also told me a lot about the local Maouri culture which I followed up further at the town Museum the following day. He was great company and it was a fascinating day. It made my trip down from KeriKeri well worth the long journey on two buses and I fully recommend the tour. It was excellent.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Jenny H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

If you are interested in the thermal areas around Rotorua, this tour is very informative and fascinating. Our guide Karl, was very knowledgeable about the geology of the area and of the Maori culture. Suggest that the visit to Lady Knox Geyser be removed as it is contrived and not in the Eco tour theme.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Elizabeth W B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We don't want to drive on the "wrong side of the road," so figured this would be the most practical way to see a lot of sights near Rotorua. In eight hours, we hit most of the highlights, and learned some about Maori culture and crafts ... the 75:25 balance was just right.

Our all-day guide, Huru, was very personable. He was enthusiastic, shared generously of his upbringing, his father's and mother's background, and stories about many of his ancestors (including, humorously, cultural wisdom about which types of Pakeha were most delicious to eat. And he seemed to know everybody in town, calling them "cousins" and greeting many people by name as he drove or walked. He was graceful about a late start (something delayed the van before he picked us up) and the subsequent rush ... he still took time to give us full attention when we joined the group.

It would have been better if he'd used his mic more while we drove ... he was sometimes hard to hear in the back seats of the mini-bus. He was a little curt telling other tourists they could not listen to him talk to our tour group. But overall, Huru was a delightful guide and host.

On one tour, we met Trent Neilsen (overall leader of Elite Travel in Rotorua), who was leading a different group. We were pleased he remembered us from e-mail correspondence a few months earlier. He seems to run a good operation.

We were mostly interested in the thermal area, volcanoes, etc., and were not particularly looking forward to the Maori culture portion of the day, but Huru made this worthwhile for us also. We had studied some Maori words in advance and appreciated his help with pronunciation, refining the dictionary meaning, etc.

Overall, a good use of a day. Perhaps even better than had we hired a car, tried to decide what best to see, and driven ourselves around.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Gail M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Loved every minute guides very knowledgable and friendly

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Miriam M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

A great day with a great driver. Certainly worth while doing. Door to door service. Driver very informative and friendly.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message