Explore 30 million year old limestone formations and a cave full of glowworms in Waitamo Caves . Those who fancy something a little more thrilling don’t have to go too far. Like black water rafting into the Black Abyss or Labyrinth.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 46 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gayle L

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Very nice to get out on the water in a kayak for this adventure. Area is beautiful. Glow worm cave was very small. The area where the glow worms are is large enough only to wedge your kayak into - take a look and back out again. The hot pools are a series of large cement pools that are fed by the hot springs. I envisioned swimming in a more natural setting.

Doing what: Lake Rotoiti Hot Pools and Glowworm Cave Kayak Tour from Rotorua

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great day. Trent was the best host. Amazing knowledge. We fitted in so much. We were lucky to be the only two people on the trip that day.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Sandy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really enjoyed this tour. Comfortable coach, the guide is very informative and funny. This tour roughly runs from 8:15-5:00 door to door time. There are quite a few walking tours, so it is better to wear comfortable shoes, and bring water and sunscreen. We went in summer, but the weather was quite up and down, it really depends on how everyone feels, but I'd recommend to bring a jacket. Just to add-on to the website's itinerary: After lunch we drove pass the Museum for some photos. We also head to the Whakarewarewa Village as our last stop.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

FIONA E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide, Huru, was fantastic and we had a great day discovering so many amazing places!

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Val W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing combination of activities -- river tour, hiking, warm water waterfall, jet boating... outstanding!

Doing what: Tutukau Gorge Jet Boat Ride and The Squeeze

Angela B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic!!! Joseph looked after me when I got there, and Sean was a great tour guide! They really took the experience to the next level by letting me ride a retired LOTR horse. Grateful I was experiencing a moment to relive my fantasy world.

Doing what: Horse Trekking from Rotorua

Jeremy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Much to my wife's surprise, I booked this trip even though she has a fear of tight spaces. Our captain, Jeremy, proved his capabilities with the boat even managing a 360 degree turn and entertained us throughout the journey. He persuaded my wife that the walk through the squeeze was not as daunting as she had imagined, which turned out to be 100 true and we both really enjoyed the whole experience. if you get the chance, take this trip and remember the experience forever.

Doing what: Tutukau Gorge Jet Boat Ride and The Squeeze

Walter W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

the jetboat and geothermal things we saw and did were both thrilling and unusual, well worth the cost. Tim was our guide, very knowledgeable and had us to everything on time. The only complaint, was that we were staying in Taupo, had to drive all the way to Rotorua 1 hour to get picked up, and then wound up backtracking about 1/2 way back to Taupo to where the sites and jetboat were. We wound up wasting about 1 hour of time, and should have picked up someplace more central where we could have left our car. If you are staying in Rotorua, this trip is well worth your time.

Doing what: Rotorua Geothermal Wonders and Waikato River Jet Boat Ride

Elsa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Done this tour 20 years ago. Still the best. Great guide

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Fiona F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic and highly recommended. Tour guide was great and the cave was amazing.

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Tour at Footwhistle Cave

Karen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent trip with a knowledgable guide.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Aisyah A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The view is simply spectacular. I enjoyed the chilly air, riding on my horse with a superb guide to point out all the wonderful surrounding views. Will do again next time i and #39;m there...

Doing what: Horse Trekking from Rotorua

Brian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great time a small group got us VIP treatment with one on one chat with guide enjoyed the squeeze experience , something unique and well worth the experience

Doing what: Jet Boat Ride on Waikato River Including Tutukau Gorge and Orakei Korako

Louise G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a delightful experience where we got to see amazing caves, cave wetas and the local scenery all with extra information provided by our tour guide Ross who had amazing knowledge of all the flora, fauna and geology and history.
There were crazy queues up the road for other cave tours but this was more intimate and brilliant.
Go it's great fun.

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Tour at Footwhistle Cave

Bronwyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

As newcomers to 4WD, we had a great time on this tour. Our guide was really good at talking us through everything, and making sure we felt confident and secure in what we were doing. We were raving about to all our friends for the next few days.

Doing what: Rotorua 4WD Bush Safari Tour

Joni

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Two different guides during the day. Both good. Friendly and knowledgeable. Good day despite the horrific wearher

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Michael S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Pay careful attention to the description. This is a tour of Footwhistle Cave, not the more famous Waitomo Cave. You'll have to climb down and then back up about 100 steps so skip this one if you've got mobility or stamina problems. Overall, a nice tour though, with plenty of glowworms on display.

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Tour at Footwhistle Cave

Paul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wow. I got the adrenaline rush on this. My guide, Brendan made it more fun and gave good advice. There was a few of the obstacles I thought oh oh, what have I let myself in for, but was over before I knew it

Doing what: Rotorua 4WD Bush Safari Tour

zezmail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Well organized, safety first, FUN! FUN! FUN!!!
Beautiful river nature and geothermal adventure!

Doing what: Rotorua Geothermal Wonders and Waikato River Jet Boat Ride

wytze

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Trent was the best tourgide i have ever had

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Matthew S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Great guide, interesting but underwhelming experience. Worth seeing, but not the best thing you'll see in NZ

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Tour at Footwhistle Cave

Graham H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Trent was a great guide, very knowledgeable, generous spirited and very good value. Glad we took the full day tour rather than the half day because we got to see so much more of the local area and another geyser.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Raja S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We had a wonderful time and Trent was spectacular on our trip. This has been one of the highlights on our vacation and we highly recommend it!

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Davjo United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

One of our best day trips of our NZ holiday!!! A must for anyones list.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

William W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

beautiful scenery and informative commentary.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message