Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Austrian Lake District

Affectionately known as the Austrian Lake District, Salzkammergut is one of Austria's premiere holiday destinations, featuring crystal clear lakes, picturesque hillsides, and quaint yet fantastic villages.     Those travelers with a penchant for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 270 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Julianne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was a lot of fun and absolutely beautiful! Our guide Max was wonderful! The lakes and the mountains were absolutely breath taking and it was a great way to see the countryside outside of the city center. The boat ride was wonderful. We kicked our feet up, drank beers and soaked in the stunning scenery. We would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

Susanna F

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour itself was a successful event for us. We really enjoyed visiting the salt mine, seeing the Alps, and taking the boat across the lake. The area that can be improved is the whole organization of the tour as we had to spend some time waiting for smaller groups being transfer between different buses.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

anne.lepiorz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The scenery was truly spectacular, the tour guide Carlos was excellent and informative. Unfortunately the thing that spoilt this trip was some of the fellow travelers. We were told to arrive at 1-45 for a 2 o'clock start and some people didn't turn up until 2-15 which was very bad mannered. Then there was the young lady on the coach who pushed other travellers aside as she had to have the best view for taking photos and was then 25 minutes late getting back to the coach without any apology. I'm not sure what coach companies can do in these circumstances but she spoilt our day

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

Teresa N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The guide was very friendly and informative. The experience itself was breathtaking. We could not have asked for better weather it just enhanced the picturesque views and relaxing boat ride. A wonderful way to spend a day out of Salzburg immersed in the beautiful Austrian countryside!

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

Ioanna V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour, pleasant guides, amazing landscapes. Salt mines were good fun and the lake tour pretty mindblowing. I would have prefered more time to spend in the little villages...

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Gretchen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Daniel was a very friendly and helpful. Both parts of the tour were lovely.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Breda E

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We went to the salt mines first which were great to see and the journey and scenery on the way there was fab. Our afternoon tour took us up the mountains and onto Lake Wolfgang where we stopped of at St Gilgen. The sights and scenery on this trip are brilliant.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Jaiprakash B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good tour operator and we had good time on this tour.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

mimi l

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good explanation, enough time for pictures

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Bev S United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Lovely views of the lakes and mountain areas from the coach and lake. Don't forget your camera. Had a 40 minute boat ride on the lake included and then 45 minutes in St Wolfgang, time to look round plenty of shops and have a drink. Michelle our guide was not as good as the other guides we had on our other tours of Sound of Music and Eagles Nest, but don't think she was used to doing it.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

Shadnaz A

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The lakes and sceneries are breath taking. But the tour was on a coach bus including more than 50 people. So I am not sure why the tour description on the website says it is a small group tour!

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

Linda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was very nice despite the rain. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

Barry L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The scenery was so beautiful and the guide was so helpful in his exlanations.

Doing what: Private Tour: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Tour from Salzburg

Jaslyn T

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Totally enjoyed the visit to the salt mines! Loved the train ride and slides. Didn and #39;t know it was so difficult to get salt until this trip. The visit to the lakes and mountains was relaxing. As there want boat trip, we were offered cakes and tea which was perfect for the cold weather! Must try!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Nitya

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

City tour is ok for a quick tour of the highlights of Salzburg. To see more, you ne d to get out and walk around the old town area. Lakes and mountains tour was nice, but be ready for the crowds, especially around St Wolfgang.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

Terri S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Carlos, the Tour Guide, did an exceptional job.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Penelope W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Enjoyed this trip out to the lakes. It was a gentle pace, suitable for my 84 year old mother. It was a wonderfully sunny and warm day which meant we could appreciate the scenery more. It had been cloudy when we arrived and so we wouldn't have seen much if we had gone on that day. The guide was knowledgeable and the commentary informative. The only downside was that it followed the same route taken by the Sound of Music tour for half the journey.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

Kyla W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour is beautiful. It snowed the entire tour. It was beautiful. No mountain peaks today and the lakes could not be seen from a distance. I didn and #39;t take this tour this way. The Sound of Music and this tour over lap. Panarama Tour was kind enough to transfer my tour to Bavarian Alps and Salt Mine.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

Barry L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

After taking the Sound of Music tour first, I realized that there still was more lakes and cities to see around Salzburg. If you love the beauty of lakes and mountains, you can't get enough of them and this tour fit the bill.

Doing what: Private Tour: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Tour from Salzburg

Kathryn M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This trip was really wonderful, it was basically a private your through the most beautiful parts of Austria!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Mitchell P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A wonderful way to spend a day in Austria. The tours a small groups, very personal and the tour guides were both friendly and very well informed of their tours with loads of experience. Great values for money and a very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Ralph T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The salt mine was fairly arduous and the lake was mazing. The drive was long.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Faraz Uddin S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

Salt mines tour is not worth it. However the second half of the day austrian lakes and mountains was quite beautiful

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message