Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Austrian Lake District

Affectionately known as the Austrian Lake District, Salzkammergut is one of Austria's premiere holiday destinations, featuring crystal clear lakes, picturesque hillsides, and quaint yet fantastic villages.     Those travelers with a penchant for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 286 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Laura P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a perfect day in Salzburg! My husband and I didn't want to be herded around like cattle on the big 'Sound of Music' bus although that sounds fun if you have kids and want group sing-alongs. We were interested in some of the SOM attractions, but we are not hard-core fans of the movie. It was nice to be able to pace the day to our liking. Thomas was a wonderful tour guide. He picked us up at our hotel in a nice Mercedes in the morning and took us over to Schloss Leopoldskron for breakfast. The views and pictures there were fabulous. There were some gorgeous scenic views on our drive and Thomas was nice enough to pull over and let me take some pictures. That would never have happened on a big group tour. My favorite part was being able to get gorgeous pictures without tons of tourists in the background. TIP: If you are prone to getting car sick, you might want to take something for that problem before the trip. Thomas was a great driver, but the roads are winding.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'The Sound of Music' Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

pranavkoushik India

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The salt mines trip was excellent but the lakes trip in the 2nd half of the day in December was just good not great I would say

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Patrice H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Walter is an amazing tour guide. We were fortunate to have him as our guide for the first part of the day at the Salzbergwerks part of the tour. He was dynamic and gave so much information about the places we passed. He covered a range of topics so that everyone in our family - 2 parents and three adult children - was engaged. He is also friendly and funny.
We did not realize the tour was in two parts - heading back to Salzburg in between the morning and afternoon pieces. Since it was December, it was dark at 4:30, so part of the trip was a bus ride in the dark. Our guide for the afternoon spoke in German at least 50 of the time, even though we had booked an English speaking tour. That would have been okay, except the information was more rote and very minimal. My family fell asleep on the bus. I don't actually recommend the Austrian lakes part of the tour, but the Salzbergwerks part was so enjoyable, I still give the tour overall 4 stars.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Agus L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

breathtaking sceneries - beautiful areas

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Mrs Elayna D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An amazing experience for a first time visitor to this area the Austrian Lakes were so beautiful and a great tour to go on!

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

chloe

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Our tour guide Thomas was excellent and the Salt mine tour was amazing. We had a different tour guide in the afternoon for the lakes and mountains tour. This was also nice but we only made 1 stop by a lake. The rest was spent visiting small towns/Christmas markets.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Sue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour with a great tour guide. Very relaxed and enjoyable afternoon.
Highly recommend.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

Evelina P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great overall experience and good way to see the city and the lakes in one dsy - punctual and organised service, experienced guides, comfortable transportation, let alone the stunning scenery all along.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

nls1333

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The visit to the salt mines was great! Loved the lakes and mountains trip. Beautiful country.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

E MARGRIT L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Even with the rain, our whole family enjoyed this trip. Wolfgang, our guide, was super flexible in including what we wanted to see and made this is a very special trip for all of us.

Doing what: Private Tour: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Tour from Salzburg

Mohamed G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Very short time for walking at least to get a snack. We expect a free drink or biscuits even along the trip as other trips offer. I think it's expensive for the benefit. Last thing, there were only 2 persons that speak German while all the others were speaking English but German language was the main all over the trip .otherwise trip was great

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

Patrick M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I'm very glad we had our guide, Peter. He made sure we see everything on our bucket list. If you are a Sound of Music fan, not to be missed. We also saw some of the Lake District, so beautiful.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'The Sound of Music' Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

Pandian J

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The complementary pick up from the hotel that was promised did not happen. We have to find our own way to the tour starting point.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

mfinn1066

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was all we signed up for. The views were breathtaking. The salt time was very exciting.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Jeril J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very beautiful tour.
Enjoyed a lot

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

daryl.gigabit

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Interesting exploration in the salt mines.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Julianne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was a lot of fun and absolutely beautiful! Our guide Max was wonderful! The lakes and the mountains were absolutely breath taking and it was a great way to see the countryside outside of the city center. The boat ride was wonderful. We kicked our feet up, drank beers and soaked in the stunning scenery. We would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

Susanna F

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour itself was a successful event for us. We really enjoyed visiting the salt mine, seeing the Alps, and taking the boat across the lake. The area that can be improved is the whole organization of the tour as we had to spend some time waiting for smaller groups being transfer between different buses.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

anne.lepiorz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The scenery was truly spectacular, the tour guide Carlos was excellent and informative. Unfortunately the thing that spoilt this trip was some of the fellow travelers. We were told to arrive at 1-45 for a 2 o'clock start and some people didn't turn up until 2-15 which was very bad mannered. Then there was the young lady on the coach who pushed other travellers aside as she had to have the best view for taking photos and was then 25 minutes late getting back to the coach without any apology. I'm not sure what coach companies can do in these circumstances but she spoilt our day

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

Teresa N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The guide was very friendly and informative. The experience itself was breathtaking. We could not have asked for better weather it just enhanced the picturesque views and relaxing boat ride. A wonderful way to spend a day out of Salzburg immersed in the beautiful Austrian countryside!

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

Ioanna V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour, pleasant guides, amazing landscapes. Salt mines were good fun and the lake tour pretty mindblowing. I would have prefered more time to spend in the little villages...

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Gretchen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Daniel was a very friendly and helpful. Both parts of the tour were lovely.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Breda E

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We went to the salt mines first which were great to see and the journey and scenery on the way there was fab. Our afternoon tour took us up the mountains and onto Lake Wolfgang where we stopped of at St Gilgen. The sights and scenery on this trip are brilliant.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Jaiprakash B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good tour operator and we had good time on this tour.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

mimi l

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good explanation, enough time for pictures

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message