Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Berchtesgaden & Eagle's Nest

From Salzburg, the fairytale scenery of Germany’s Bavarian Alps leads to Berchtesgaden, Hitler’s mountain retreat, and Eagle's Nest (or Kehlsteinhaus), the southern headquarters of the Nazi party. Brilliantly positioned on top of Mt Kehlstein, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1501 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

newtownsqkitty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We met the bus at the Mirabellplatz in town, a full size bus not a shuttle. Really knowledgeable guide who pointed out places of interest on the way and provided great information at the site. When we reached the base of the mountain we switched to other full size buses which made their winding way up the mountain. At the top we walked into the mountain where there was a large polished brass elevator, which the guide informed us could hold about 50 people, but because Hitler was claustrophobic he only allowed 3 or 4 others and the highly polished brass made the space seem bigger. Fortunately the weather was good and not cloudy. They close this tour in Oct or Nov depending on the weather. At the top the view was phenomenal. The building is stone on the outside with beautiful woodwork inside. There is a restaurant inside also. Outside there is a huge patio, places to sit and a small hut where you can get hot chocolate and souvenirs.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Juan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Enjoyed this tour very much. Right on time and very comfortable and clean bus. The guide was excellent and the scenery was beautiful. Had a great time would recommend it.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Leanne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We really enjoyed this 4-hour day trip. It was great to get out into the countryside and the route was beautifully scenic. Our stroll around the King's Lake Königssee was the highlight. Both the guide and driver were very professional and full of knowledge. We also enjoyed getting something to eat at the Christmas markets in Berchtesgaden. It is a great way to spend an afternoon and good value for money too.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains from Salzburg

Samantha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The bus was a big coach seating 70, and the guide was a fantastically knowledgeable and interesting Australian man who's been living in Germany for a long time. The route was amazingly scenic, it took less than an hour for our very experienced driver to navigate city traffic and then mountain roads to bring us to our first stop. About half the passengers were on the tour to the Salt Mines, so we dropped them off before heading to Konigsee. I would've liked more time out of the vehicle to spend more time leisurely exploring the area, or perhaps even flexibility to stay one night in Berchtesgaden for a better feel of the area. Given the limits of a half-day tour, it was very well executed and the highly experienced drivers and guides made us feel very comfortable indeed.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains from Salzburg

dave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We did the salt mines tour and absolutely loved it. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable in all facets. They were extremely adept at handling tour members who were always late for departure and very good. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone including families with children.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

jon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We didn't know what to expect and my whole family loved it. Our tour guide Walter was wonderful and the salt mines were amazing!!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Agus L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

breathtaking sceneries - beautiful areas

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

col

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Not much up there now but brilliant views from the top

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

IAN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

excellent but alpine for always a risk

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Annie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was an amazing experience.Me and family thoroughly enjoyed the tour.Mr.Walters our guide was a lovely person and took extra efforts to make sure we could cover everything.My 5 year old daughter really enjoyed his company.
It is a must if you visit Salzburg.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Janice D K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The beauty of the Alps is over shadowed by the solemness of the history. The walk through the bunker tunnel to the grand elevator gives an eerie feeling. Don't miss the museum picture collection least we forget the bigotry and ruthlessness of Hitler and what can happen when a sociopath is voted into power.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

vjrhair United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing and a must to see. Eagles Nest was so incredible to experience. It was a bit foggy at the bottom, but by the time we got uo to the top we were above the clouds looking down at them. The Bavarian Alps were spectacular to see. It reminded me of the Switzerland Alps. The Salt mines was by far better than I expected. We got to slide down a shoot and take a boast ride down in the mines. It was a blast.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

richard d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

if the weather is good this trip is amazing so plan accordingly

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Steve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour, I would highly recommend it

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Vivien W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour guide. We didn't see the panoramic view because was zero visibility and it was snowing. It still was a lovely trip.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Patrycja J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Was a great experience, clearly organized and lots of time to explore. Recommended to go to Eagle's Nest!

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

dimmel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour went well, it was well organized and it met our expectations. The tour guide was well informed on what we were seeing and spoke very good english, we were impressed by her and the job she did. I would recommend this tour without any hesitation.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Shannon D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

One of the best tours that we did highly recommend this day trip!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Martin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Well organized and on schedule, would recommend it to everyone. Walter as a guide was quite interesting and funny!

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

APARNA K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

There is good and bad. The bad first-- because we went on a day it was raining, there was only foggy and snowy view from the top. That said, the good or the best part was the entire trip. Carlos our guide for the trip shared some interesting nuggets of history regarding the Eagles Nest this put the whole ride to the top in context. Eagles Nest is a well maintained place and what used to be probably Hitler's recreational hangout is now a well stocked restaurant while maintaining the history bit. As I already mentioned before, the views would have been fantastic but for the rain and snow.But just for history sake,we were fine with the bad weather.

We made a stop for lunch at Berchtesgaden and after that the tour proceeded to Salt Mines. This was quite a hightlight of the tour. We spent one hour plus understanding the entire process of salt mining and extraction. To think that this is a functioning mine which is used to extract salt is definitely worth visiting in addition to some fun rides that we did underground.

After the salt mine tour, we proceed to an idyllic place Konigsee which has the charms and trappings of vacation retreat. We ended the tour with a stop again at Berchtesgaden. All in all a super saver trip indeed for someone who likes history and nature.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Macadair

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. The commentary provided was excellent ? Walter. The history of the building and use of the Eagles Nest made for an interesting tour.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Howard P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A well organised tour with a good driver and a very interesting guide. We even had a little snow that really mede the day.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Keti Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Panorama tours was the tour company used for this picturesque and gorgeous backdrop tour. Our guide was Daniel, he was fantastic, professional and very knowledgeable. The lakes we visited were beautiful - the mountains along the way were gorgeous. I wasn't going to do this tour, I'm so happy I changed my mind!!!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Wilhelm L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip was awesome! Our tour guide Katerina was very knowledgable, funny, and had clear easy to follow instructions as to do. The bus was very clean and left promptly, the views were out of this world, but couldn't really spend time in the Kehlsteinhaus because it is a restaurant, but the restaurant at the documentation centre was very good. Would definitely go again

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Kevin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour pity the weather wasn't the best

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message