Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Berchtesgaden & Eagle's Nest

From Salzburg, the fairytale scenery of Germany’s Bavarian Alps leads to Berchtesgaden, Hitler’s mountain retreat, and Eagle's Nest (or Kehlsteinhaus), the southern headquarters of the Nazi party. Brilliantly positioned on top of Mt Kehlstein, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1368 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Vic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Mário S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderfull tour!
Wonderfull guide!! Ursula.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Harjyoti G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Its beautiful place and worth a visit for historical and scenic reasons... but the best part of my visit was the service provided by Panorama tours - local operator through which Viator had booked my tour! I missed the bus at the start of the tour, but i was taken personally by one of the guides to the next point so i could join the tour!
Thanks a lot for such care and service...
Also our guide Walters was fun and easy going... made the tour much more interesting.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Michelle K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was the perfect activity for traveling with kids. It was engaging and not too far of a bus trip from Salzburg. We had a great time! The Tour Guide was friendly and informative. My son enjoyed tasting rocks that taste like salt and the various laser light shows throughout the tour. Bring cash for ice cream after the tour!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Vera Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a wonderful trip, organized well, and a lot of fun for children. It was also quite informative.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Ed T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. It was interesting to see Hitlers Eagles Nest, to think it was his place to hold meetings with other high ranking Nazi's to determine the plans of the war. Original rooms, tunnel, elevator, very good. It was great to have time to take the walk and view the spectacular vistas. The time allowed to visit Bechengaden wrong spelling was nice also, this is a great little town, lots of amenities.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Robbie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the best experiences you will have in Germany! The views are breathtaking and history with Berchtesgaden and the Eagle's Nest is fascinating. The tour guide was awesome, very knowledgeable and well organized. If you have a day in Munich I highly recommend doing this trip.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Shirley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Walter our guide was great. He kept all of laughing with jokes. Was extremely knowledgeable in the history of the Eagles Nest. We would want him for our next trip.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Deven H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Efficient and worthwhile tour.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Sheetal U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A very well Conducted Trip to Eagle's Nest and salt Mines including a visit to a lakeside town and a couple of lakes.. A worthwhile trip. The Guide was knowledgeable and gave a good amount of information Gave enough time at eagle's Nest and Salt Mines. Though I do think that the time given at Königssee Lake was very short. But otherwise, this was a very beautiful trip to these must watch once in a lifetime places..

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Samantha G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a fantastic day, and the views from the Egales nest are amazing.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

jenny62thompson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Well organised day with comfortable bus ride and great commentary provided by guide. Eagles Nest is in an amazing location and the views are stunning when the cloud lifts. Interesting to hear the history of the area too. The salt mine tour was great and it was fun to experience the train ride through the tunnels, slide down levels on the old miners wooden slides and glide silently across the extremely salty lake. Plenty of information to take in through the talk and displays and come out with a better understanding of this industry. Had only a brief amount of time to enjoy the very beautiful Lake Koingsee. More time at Berchtesgaden with lunch and afternoon tea there. Full but worthwhile day out from Salzburg seeing some great places in Barvaria.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Erica S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The views are breathtaking and if you want to know more about Hitler and World War 2 then this is a must do trip.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

joankarnas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful scenery, enjoyed having early booking to avoid the crowds. Walter was a lot of fun!

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Robert J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great views and interesting museum

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

gjv001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We were fortunate to make this tour on a bright and sunny day. The views were spectacular. Our guide Peter was excellent. His insight and knowledge made the long ride from Munich very enjoyable.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

mfinn1066

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was all we signed up for. The views were breathtaking. The salt time was very exciting.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Charles C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour a lot of historical and present imormation about the tour sites and the country.Beautiful !!!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Ann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Walter was a great guide--pointing out sites as we traveled from Salzburg to Eagles Nest as well as teaching us about Eagles Nest. Beautiful panoramic views from Eagles Nest. Stop in Berchtesgaden on the return allowed time for lunch, or a little shopping, or stroll, in a beautiful Austrian town.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Daniel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour. Tour guide was amazing and had great stories. The actual Salt Mines was well worth the trip. We were concerned it might be more for kids but we had a blast and it was very interesting and cool. The little town you stop in is also very cute but you don't have a ton of time so make a decision on a place to have a drink or snack quick and enjoy.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Anne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great...on time, we got into the tunnel and elevator right away and had a great time at the top. The guide was great!

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Diana F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing tour. Terrific weather and perfect day to go to the Eagles Nest. Views were breathless. Would have liked a little more time to spend there. 50 minutes not quite enough time to take it all in.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Jyoti S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent trip !!. We converted it in the full day tour after visiting Eagles Nest. Our guide Carlos was very energetic and entertaining.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message