Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Berchtesgaden & Eagle's Nest

From Salzburg, the fairytale scenery of Germany’s Bavarian Alps leads to Berchtesgaden, Hitler’s mountain retreat, and Eagle's Nest (or Kehlsteinhaus), the southern headquarters of the Nazi party. Brilliantly positioned on top of Mt Kehlstein, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1487 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

IAN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

excellent but alpine for always a risk

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Annie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was an amazing experience.Me and family thoroughly enjoyed the tour.Mr.Walters our guide was a lovely person and took extra efforts to make sure we could cover everything.My 5 year old daughter really enjoyed his company.
It is a must if you visit Salzburg.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Janice D K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The beauty of the Alps is over shadowed by the solemness of the history. The walk through the bunker tunnel to the grand elevator gives an eerie feeling. Don't miss the museum picture collection least we forget the bigotry and ruthlessness of Hitler and what can happen when a sociopath is voted into power.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

vjrhair United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing and a must to see. Eagles Nest was so incredible to experience. It was a bit foggy at the bottom, but by the time we got uo to the top we were above the clouds looking down at them. The Bavarian Alps were spectacular to see. It reminded me of the Switzerland Alps. The Salt mines was by far better than I expected. We got to slide down a shoot and take a boast ride down in the mines. It was a blast.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

richard d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

if the weather is good this trip is amazing so plan accordingly

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Steve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour, I would highly recommend it

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Vivien W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour guide. We didn't see the panoramic view because was zero visibility and it was snowing. It still was a lovely trip.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Patrycja J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Was a great experience, clearly organized and lots of time to explore. Recommended to go to Eagle's Nest!

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

dimmel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour went well, it was well organized and it met our expectations. The tour guide was well informed on what we were seeing and spoke very good english, we were impressed by her and the job she did. I would recommend this tour without any hesitation.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Shannon D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

One of the best tours that we did highly recommend this day trip!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Martin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Well organized and on schedule, would recommend it to everyone. Walter as a guide was quite interesting and funny!

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

APARNA K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

There is good and bad. The bad first-- because we went on a day it was raining, there was only foggy and snowy view from the top. That said, the good or the best part was the entire trip. Carlos our guide for the trip shared some interesting nuggets of history regarding the Eagles Nest this put the whole ride to the top in context. Eagles Nest is a well maintained place and what used to be probably Hitler's recreational hangout is now a well stocked restaurant while maintaining the history bit. As I already mentioned before, the views would have been fantastic but for the rain and snow.But just for history sake,we were fine with the bad weather.

We made a stop for lunch at Berchtesgaden and after that the tour proceeded to Salt Mines. This was quite a hightlight of the tour. We spent one hour plus understanding the entire process of salt mining and extraction. To think that this is a functioning mine which is used to extract salt is definitely worth visiting in addition to some fun rides that we did underground.

After the salt mine tour, we proceed to an idyllic place Konigsee which has the charms and trappings of vacation retreat. We ended the tour with a stop again at Berchtesgaden. All in all a super saver trip indeed for someone who likes history and nature.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Macadair

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. The commentary provided was excellent ? Walter. The history of the building and use of the Eagles Nest made for an interesting tour.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Howard P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A well organised tour with a good driver and a very interesting guide. We even had a little snow that really mede the day.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Keti Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Panorama tours was the tour company used for this picturesque and gorgeous backdrop tour. Our guide was Daniel, he was fantastic, professional and very knowledgeable. The lakes we visited were beautiful - the mountains along the way were gorgeous. I wasn't going to do this tour, I'm so happy I changed my mind!!!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Wilhelm L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip was awesome! Our tour guide Katerina was very knowledgable, funny, and had clear easy to follow instructions as to do. The bus was very clean and left promptly, the views were out of this world, but couldn't really spend time in the Kehlsteinhaus because it is a restaurant, but the restaurant at the documentation centre was very good. Would definitely go again

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Kevin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour pity the weather wasn't the best

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

lisasmail4

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

One of the highlights of our trip. The view is absolutely amazing!

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

MICHAEL P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide Carlos was not only informative the entire trip but also funny. Highly recommend this trip

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Vivien G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a brilliant and very interesting tour. You are fabulously well looked after by tour guide Walter and driver Otto with every detail covered from historical facts to the comfort of your journey. I highly recommend this tour and would be delighted to go again

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Johnathan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Absolutely loved our tour. The highlights for us were the slides and traveling across the crystal clear mirror water.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Petra H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

absolutely fantastic day would highly recommend it to anyone

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Charlotte C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Lovely experience. I wish we had more time in Berchesgarden, but otherwise it was spot on.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Sharon P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour guide very knowledgeable !!....fun to see even though fog made things hard to see. Glade we went anyway.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

nls1333

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The visit to the salt mines was great! Loved the lakes and mountains trip. Beautiful country.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message