Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Festung Hohensalzburg

Perched on its craggy mountain lookout, Salzburg’s famous castle, Festung Hohensalzburg, dominates the city and its Old Town. Surrounded by walls and dotted with towers and battlements, Festung Hohensalzburg is one of the largest and best ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 327 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Antonella C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Well worth the money! Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

nybonetumor

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

The arrangements were good.
Food was very good contrary to previous reviews by other people.
The quality of concert was so so based on the repertoire selection and performer's skills.
It will be important to mix popular ones representing Mozart's work such as Eine Nicht Music or some quotations from other works by really outstanding performers. What is the point of including Vivaldi or Bach. I can listen to those in Venice or Germany.

Doing what: Dinner Experience at Salzburg Fortress and Mozart Concert in Salzburg

Teresa M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The musicians were talented. Acoustics were great. These tickets included the funicular ride an hour prior to the concert. I assumed that we could see the fortress, in that time and double our time by viewing the fortress and then attending the concert. We ended up buying a Salzburg card as our Eagles Nest tour was canceled that day and toured the fortress during the afternoon. There is more to see and enjoy to the fortress than just the hour we would have had prior to the concert. The one page programs were 2eurocouldn't this be included in the price of the tickets? BUT then the music selections were changed so the programs were invalid.

Doing what: Best of Mozart Concert at Salzburg Fortress in Salzburg

Jason L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent dinner VIP package with great views of Salzburg from the restaurant. The chamber music concert was superb. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting to hear classical music in a historic environment.

Doing what: Dinner Experience at Salzburg Fortress and Mozart Concert in Salzburg

C J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very impressed. Worth booking the VIP extra. We had the best table in the restaurant, next to a window to watch the fabulous sunset over the mountains. We also had front row seats for the concert. A great cultural evening.

Doing what: Dinner Experience at Salzburg Fortress and Mozart Concert in Salzburg

Anthony M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Absolutely buy this card. Free transportation, admittance to museums, castles, and so on.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Kimberly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This card is highly recommended! Even if you only have a day. I wasn't able to use it for all its worth because I had booked a 4hr bus tour, but if I could plan my day around the attractions included with the price of this card I would be satisfied that I got the best Salzburg experience.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

debs28270

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Dinner was ok but view amazing. Worth extra money for VIP as we had window seating in restaurant and 1st row at concert. Ticket also included one drink at intermission. Great performance!

Doing what: Dinner Experience at Salzburg Fortress and Mozart Concert in Salzburg

jstrasser

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Like all City cards the are worth the money but plan your trip to maximise the card.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

jstrasser

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

These cards are worth it

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Anthony M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

I booked this tour expecting it to be in English but 80 of the presentation was in German. The group was too large and the guide moved too quickly both among the tourists and visitors to the fair in the Altstadt. Several got last or left-behind. Better value for English language tours would be the Euro10 tours offered twice a day by the Tourist Office in Mozartplass.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

jstrasser

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

The music was brilliant but just be aware to get to the concert hall you go up a lot of steps so if you have trouble with steps have might look at alternative. The reason of the three stars was because of the restaurant, we were there just before 6pm. One if the first couple in seated at a great table overlooking Salzburg, waiter quickly took our order but that were the service stopped. There were serval other couples in our area all came in after us, and when the meals were brought out no meal for us, perhaps we weren't dressed in suit, ties and evening gown and mouths like fog horns. As it was nearly an hour after we arrived and had to ask if we were going get our meals. After this we always the last to receive our meals. So if your on the quite side and think again if this is with spending worth time and money on

Doing what: Dinner Experience at Salzburg Fortress and Mozart Concert in Salzburg

mutt2001

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Horrible Tour! Horrible, horrible. Tour said it was in English, little did they mention they will do the tour in every language for the people they put on the tour. So our tour was done in English and German. Tour guide spoke in English, then repeated every thing she said in German for the very small party of Germans that were part of the tour. All the English speakers just had to stand there while everything was repeated. Literally, half the tour is listening to the tour guide translate. Would highly recommend you do not do this tour!! I requested a refund 5 minutes into the tour and they were very rude, and denied our request. All english tours I have done have been conducted in full English. Guess they didn't want to spend the money to divide the tour into two groups - one English and one German speaking.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Christopher G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Big value!!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Jillian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Salzburg was beautiful and this card was great! It includes free public bus service which was the best way to get around the city quickly

Doing what: Salzburg Card

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Informative

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Wendy T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This card is worth every cent. It was the only one we purchased whilst in Europe. It covers a lot for the price. Money well spent.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Kevin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Salzburg card is definitely worth getting. So much is covered in this card.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Robert R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Used the card for the Steigl Brewery tour, Fortress, and the Untersberg lift.
All three were good. The lift is a great view but once you have seen it, time to move on.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Allen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a wonderful time on our Sound of Music Tour! the guide was knowledgeable about the city AND the various scenes from the film! We had to cajole him a bit to sing the songs - how many times has he sung them I wonder? But he obliged us! The tour bikes were in good condition and we really enjoyed seeing the sights, sounds and people of Salzburg in this way. We are mid-60's but the cycling was easy as was the tour guide's patience! I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Hilary M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The concert and setting were very good but the signage to find the concert hall was very lacking.
I agree with previous reviews there are an awful lot of steps to go up to reach the venue. The views from the fortress are stunning.

Doing what: Best of Mozart Concert at Salzburg Fortress in Salzburg

jinah

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

It was essential for my trip

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Grant H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Good introduction to the city. Knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Sherry S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The card was quite good in getting admission to key sites we wanted to visit and we did save money. We wished the information about the sites was more helpful about history, background, eye.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Andrea W

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Salzburg is a beautiful city but our tour felt very rushed and there were too many people in our group- over 20. Our guide was interesting and knowledgable but rushed us from site to site. At times, if I took a picture I literally had to run to catch up or I would lose them. He was also difficult to understand. Our tour finished 30 minutes early. If you are expecting anything more than a line or two about Sound of Music take a different tour. Since they mention it in the description we thought there would be a bit more but we were more interested in the city history anyway. The city was amazing, this tour was just ok.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message