Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Festung Hohensalzburg

Perched on its craggy mountain lookout, Salzburg’s famous castle, Festung Hohensalzburg, dominates the city and its Old Town. Surrounded by walls and dotted with towers and battlements, Festung Hohensalzburg is one of the largest and best ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 367 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great value used a 3 day card gets you into a lot of the sights ,zoo,untersberg cable car,Mozart birth house and museum, buses.We certainly saved a lot of money

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Jeffery B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

The view was wonderful at sunset, but the food really wasn't what I was hoping for.

Doing what: Dinner Experience at Salzburg Fortress and Mozart Concert in Salzburg

Ivan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

michael h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very Good outing. Definitely doing it the VIP way is worth it. Front row seats within striking distance of the bows and in an elongated room . It made for a personal experience. Meal was also quite nice and in a nice setting.

Doing what: Dinner Experience at Salzburg Fortress and Mozart Concert in Salzburg

Patrice H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Best way to start our trip to Salzburg. We arrived in Europe that morning with little sleep and were tired, but the funicular ride to the top included with ticket took us up to an amazing view over Salzburg. Dinner was delicious and the concert was fantastic. The VIP addition was worth it for the tremendous view from the windows beside our table. No one remembered we were tired until the concert was over!

Doing what: Dinner Experience at Salzburg Fortress and Mozart Concert in Salzburg

Kathleen A Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This card is the best ever, recommend that anyone going to Salzburg get one

Doing what: Salzburg Card

terese t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Salzburg Card is definately the way to go. I bought the 3 day pass and even though we did not take advantage of everything to see, we still got more than our moneys worth. All bus fair is free, so we were able to take the bus out to Untersberg, where the gondola trip up the mountain was 'free'. The Palace and funicular was free- card has now paid for itself. Everything past this point really was 'free'. I would NOT recommend the modern art museum- I was so thankful that it was included on the card so that I didn't have to pay for it. However, a trip up the elevator to the outdoor grounds at the musuem is worth it for a nice view and a little outdoor activity. If you are up for a beerhaus, the Augostino brauhaus is fun and full of locals. It was a past Monestary so when you walk in you are greeted with religious statues until you get to the basement brewery.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

david d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The card makes it very easy to get into the most popular sites without having to stand in ticket lines.it also works on the local bus at no charge.saves a ton of money.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Fionablossom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Having the card definitely made entry easy and quick, no waiting in long lines. Very helpful being able to use public transport with it too.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Antonella C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Well worth the money! Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Kimberly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent experience! We actually did a special lunch event that they had on Christmas Day. Voucher did not show our special times and when I called around 8:30pm the night before to verify time, someone actually answered the phone, which was great. Did not expect that. Concert was great and I would pay the little extra for the VIP experience. Front row seating and served first at lunch with a great window view. Would recommend this with no hesitation!

Doing what: Dinner Experience at Salzburg Fortress and Mozart Concert in Salzburg

wortyman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This card is well worth the money. Just as described, free entry into almost all Salzburg has to offer. We saved money by using this card.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Huei-Ju L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

pretty nice and easy experience. The set list was nice. It felt a little short though cuz the first half I fell asleep a little. lol... means the music is very soothing. Because I bought a Salzburg Card, so the cable car up to the fortress was free and took 2 minutes. No need to hike the mountain with the stairs, unless you want some exercise.

Doing what: Best of Mozart Concert at Salzburg Fortress in Salzburg

sgrimm

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Was exactly what we needed to see in Salzburg. The English-translation site to get the Salzburg Card from the Salzburg website has a bug so I couldn't buy it from there. Viator made it quick and easy to purchase online.

Getting it at the site was not intuitive. They wouldn't accept an electronic form of the ticket. They'd only accept paper so we had to go and hunt for a print shop after we got there.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

nybonetumor

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

The arrangements were good.
Food was very good contrary to previous reviews by other people.
The quality of concert was so so based on the repertoire selection and performer's skills.
It will be important to mix popular ones representing Mozart's work such as Eine Nicht Music or some quotations from other works by really outstanding performers. What is the point of including Vivaldi or Bach. I can listen to those in Venice or Germany.

Doing what: Dinner Experience at Salzburg Fortress and Mozart Concert in Salzburg

Pete

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

The actual setting was amazing. Eating dinner at the fortress is just a bit magical. The starter was nice soup, but the main was chewy, overcooked chicken. Then the dessert was just ok too.

The concert was in a nice room, not too many people, maybe 50-75.

But the room was SO hot. I had to leave at the interval as it was so hot. There were others fanning themselves too.

Doing what: Dinner Experience at Salzburg Fortress and Mozart Concert in Salzburg

Teresa M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The musicians were talented. Acoustics were great. These tickets included the funicular ride an hour prior to the concert. I assumed that we could see the fortress, in that time and double our time by viewing the fortress and then attending the concert. We ended up buying a Salzburg card as our Eagles Nest tour was canceled that day and toured the fortress during the afternoon. There is more to see and enjoy to the fortress than just the hour we would have had prior to the concert. The one page programs were 2eurocouldn't this be included in the price of the tickets? BUT then the music selections were changed so the programs were invalid.

Doing what: Best of Mozart Concert at Salzburg Fortress in Salzburg

Jason L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent dinner VIP package with great views of Salzburg from the restaurant. The chamber music concert was superb. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting to hear classical music in a historic environment.

Doing what: Dinner Experience at Salzburg Fortress and Mozart Concert in Salzburg

C J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very impressed. Worth booking the VIP extra. We had the best table in the restaurant, next to a window to watch the fabulous sunset over the mountains. We also had front row seats for the concert. A great cultural evening.

Doing what: Dinner Experience at Salzburg Fortress and Mozart Concert in Salzburg

Anthony M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Absolutely buy this card. Free transportation, admittance to museums, castles, and so on.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Kimberly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This card is highly recommended! Even if you only have a day. I wasn't able to use it for all its worth because I had booked a 4hr bus tour, but if I could plan my day around the attractions included with the price of this card I would be satisfied that I got the best Salzburg experience.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

debs28270

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Dinner was ok but view amazing. Worth extra money for VIP as we had window seating in restaurant and 1st row at concert. Ticket also included one drink at intermission. Great performance!

Doing what: Dinner Experience at Salzburg Fortress and Mozart Concert in Salzburg

jstrasser

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Like all City cards the are worth the money but plan your trip to maximise the card.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

jstrasser

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

These cards are worth it

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Anthony M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

I booked this tour expecting it to be in English but 80 of the presentation was in German. The group was too large and the guide moved too quickly both among the tourists and visitors to the fair in the Altstadt. Several got last or left-behind. Better value for English language tours would be the Euro10 tours offered twice a day by the Tourist Office in Mozartplass.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message