Lose yourself in medieval-era Salzburg on a stroll through Getreidegasse. The atmospheric laneway is lined with upmarket boutiques and shops. Getreidegasse is as historic as it is pretty. Harking back to Roman days, the thoroughfare has always ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 102 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anthony M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

I booked this tour expecting it to be in English but 80 of the presentation was in German. The group was too large and the guide moved too quickly both among the tourists and visitors to the fair in the Altstadt. Several got last or left-behind. Better value for English language tours would be the Euro10 tours offered twice a day by the Tourist Office in Mozartplass.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

mutt2001

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Horrible Tour! Horrible, horrible. Tour said it was in English, little did they mention they will do the tour in every language for the people they put on the tour. So our tour was done in English and German. Tour guide spoke in English, then repeated every thing she said in German for the very small party of Germans that were part of the tour. All the English speakers just had to stand there while everything was repeated. Literally, half the tour is listening to the tour guide translate. Would highly recommend you do not do this tour!! I requested a refund 5 minutes into the tour and they were very rude, and denied our request. All english tours I have done have been conducted in full English. Guess they didn't want to spend the money to divide the tour into two groups - one English and one German speaking.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Informative

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Grant H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Good introduction to the city. Knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Andrea W

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Salzburg is a beautiful city but our tour felt very rushed and there were too many people in our group- over 20. Our guide was interesting and knowledgable but rushed us from site to site. At times, if I took a picture I literally had to run to catch up or I would lose them. He was also difficult to understand. Our tour finished 30 minutes early. If you are expecting anything more than a line or two about Sound of Music take a different tour. Since they mention it in the description we thought there would be a bit more but we were more interested in the city history anyway. The city was amazing, this tour was just ok.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Maria E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The tour was an overview of the city. Things were pointed out as we quickly walked through the sites. She seemed to be rushed as if she was being timed. Trying to take pictures or ask questions was difficult. Her English could also have been better

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Thank you to this tour company for crafting me a special one-person tour since my boat came into port that morning in Linz late, causing me to miss the earlier train to Salzburg, causing me to miss my 11 a.m. tour time. But the tour company sent me along with my own special tour guide who helped me salvage what was left of this tour. Viator and companies who work with Viator have never let me down customer-service wise. That's why I continue booking tours with them wherever I travel. Thanks, Viator.

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

Veronica G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Extremely knowledgeable guide. Really kept us informed! Wonderful tour!!

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Maria S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Alexandra was our guide. Her English was very good and she was quite knowledgeable. The city is very clean and charming and offers an interesting historical story. One odd thing was, we started out on one side of the Salz River, but Alexandra ended the tour on the other side of the river, right in the middle of the town. We did not know our way around, although we figured it out. I guess we just expected her to end the tour where it began, especially since we had an afternoon tour booked going off from the same place.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Ingemar L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

The tour was a total disappointment. The guide didn't meet up on time, didn't provide any deep knowledge on Salzburg, nor on it's history.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Fabricio R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Very brief and uncertain explanations. English tour was interrupted by a german lady from other tour that asked to join intensively and then tour became double language. I and #39;m an old customer of viator and this was really disappointing.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Filipe S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Contratei o walking tour em ingles e fiquei muito decepcionado. O grupo era enorme e a guia teve que falar em alemão e ingles, ou seja paguei duas horas de tour e ouvi referencias da cidade somente por uma hora. Péssima escolha!!!

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

J Mark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide, Erik, was very informative and attentive to his tourites' questions.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Gayle A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great guides and lots of information to give us a taste of Salzburg.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Carolyn R

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Our guide was reasonably good and explained quite a bit about Salzburg and its history.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Matthew R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

giseladali

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Die Führung war sehr interessant und unbedingt weiter zu empfehlen. Es war sehr informativ.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Tim P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The guide Maria spoke fluent English. We had a mixed English/German group. Maria gave each equal time to explain the buildings/history and people. She was well organised,professional and friendly from the start. The itinerary was 2 hours and she slightly overran. Everyone found the tour excellent. Panorama tours were easy to find.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

gmontes50

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The rainy day didn and #39;t help and the guide was knowledgable but a little boring

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Emily E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

The tour guide was informative and pleasant. However, I was disappointed in that the tour was given both in German and English. There were only four German speaking people on the tour and sixteen English speaking people. There should have been a separate tour given in English. The tour took twice as long as needed because of the two languages. It was quite frustrating. Also I think the tour should have included going inside Mozart's house. Charge more to include but have it included with a time appointed visit.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Krzysztof P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Tour was in English and German, even if booking it said in English. Most language spoken was German

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Victoria J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

We paid for a reservation online but when we went to take the tour there was nobody from Viatours there. When we realized that they weren't coming it was too late to take another tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Joseph D

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

WE ENJOYED OUR TOUR AND TOUR GUIDE'S KNOWLEDGE AND HUMOR. WE SAW THE HIGHLIGHTS AND HEARD ABOUT THE HISTORICAL FAME OF SALZBURG AND THE MORE RECENT HISTORY OF THE MAKING OF THE SOUND OF MUSIC. IT WAS DEFINITELY WORTH DOING EVEN IN THE RAIN.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Maria D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

There were about 20-25 on the tour. The group leader did not have a walking mike and it was very difficult to hear her. We broke off from the group once we got to the old section.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Charles O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This walking tour is a great orientation to the city. Easy to revisit spots of interest on later days. Guide was easy to listen to and had a vast knowledge of the city.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message