Salzburg is immensely proud of its most famous son, and Mozartplatz is just one of the city’s many tributes. The square, with its elegant statue of a youthful Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, dates back to 1842 and was partly funded by Mad King Ludwig ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 377 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nelly G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Highly recommended, the tour was amazing! I had a very nice time in those beautiful places. Definitely like to go back with friends and take same tour.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Diana L M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A wonderful addition to all Munich has to offer. This gets you into the mountains, and the lake cruise was fabulous! Do take the time to visit the cemetery on your way up to the castle on Salzburg.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

John O'Brien Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I found the trip excellent. I would highly recommend it.
It is a pity we did not have more time in Salzburg and in st. Wolfgang.
The driver and guide were excellent.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

chris

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The tour was great. We just had a terrible tour guide

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Meagan M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

While I enjoyed seeing Salzburg and Lake Wolfgang, this trip should absolutely not be called a Sound of Music tour. A couple SOM destinations were pointed out to us and the movie was played on our trip back to Munich, but that was the extent of it. The name of the tour needs to be changed.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

CLAIRE L

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This tour was beautiful and fun. But it's unfair to call it a Sound of Music Tour. The guide showed us one or two Sound of Music things, definitely not enough to put the name of the movie in the title of the tour. I was a bit disappointed, but the rest of the tour was great. ALSO, be ready to pay an extra 10 Euro for a boat ride. If you don't want to pay the money, you have to stay on the bus. Total peer pressure move.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Stefka C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

that was beyond my expectations! The Lake District is just a dream! Pity I am too old to go further! Thank you very much!

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Cindy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very nice. Highly recommend. Tour guide showed us were parts of Sound of Music was filmed, walked by Mozart's childhood home. The boat ride at Lake District was a nice experience.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Najwa Lebanon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very nice landscape in the Lake District. Salzburg a nice city worth the trip.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Michael W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The walking tour was good and informative. The lake country tour and boat ride was nice, but I would have rather spent the whole time in Salzburg. There was some free time in Salzburg, but I would rather have had more time to go into more places.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

f.b. l

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Highly disappointed with guide Lucia. First she asked me for her passport before allowing me to baord the bus. I found this od as Austria is part of Schengen. She claimed that the Austrian Polce were mounting spot checks on the border to look for asylum seekers. Why they would be interested in a 60 year old British citizen was beyond me. I queried why she did not ask to see any other passengers' passports but she dclined to answer. Her instructions for rejoining the tour at Wolfgangsee were unclear and several of us nearly ended up at the wrong quai. took te gloss off an enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Maria R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Not enough time to explore Salzburg. Would like a tour to only go to Salzberg. The Lake District tour was beautiful but not necessary.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Alvaro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excelent tour with Debbie, who was very kind and professional. Congratulatoons

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Terence T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful tour, lake wolgang was peaceful. Enough time in Salzburg to see everything and get a bite to eat.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

p@t

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very nice tour, perfect timing, amazing landscapes and the guide Patricia was very nice and helpful.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Ee Him O Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A bit rush and too big a group.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Justin A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Overpriced bus ride. Plan on spending about the same amount of time in Salzburg that you spend on the ride out. Also, our guide was not allowed to give tours of the city and rushed the group from site to site in order to avoid scrutiny. Take the train. It and #39;s faster, cheaper, and you can set the pace.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Aye W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

The description of Sound of Music on the ad was totally misleading. My daughter was looking forward to it and so were an Australian senior couple who were on the bus who also expressed disappointment. The guide obviously knew very little or nothing about the movie. Fortunately, I had visited Salzburg before and could leave the group to take my daughter on a quick tour and even managed to dash up to the Hohensalzburg castle by furnicular. The time in Salzburg was far too short and we had to go there again by train a few days later to explore the place by ourselves.

The most annoying part was that the tour was bilingual and not English only as advertised. The guide, who was Spanish, was not comfortable in English and the Spanish part of the explanations were far longer, keeping the English speaking group waiting for the tour to proceed. The PA system on the bus was also annoying and gave us a headache. I understand that there were similar complaints from other people on the bus.

The trip to the Salzkammergut was far better and made up for the inadequacy of the Salzburg part.

Having said about the annoying part of the visit, I would like to say that I am totally sympathetic to the guide, whose name I believe was Patrizzia. She was obviously trying hard and even though visibly stressed, was helpful. I am sorry she was put in a situation which was beyond her control. When she went round for feedback, I put it to her as kindly as I could. When she asked thee Australian couple, who were within earshot, they agreed with my comments, adding that the Spanish part of the explanations was three times longer. With all due respect to the Spanish fellow tourists, the bilingual arrangement was not fair on either party and on the tour guide herself.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Mark W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

I love all the other viator tours I have taken, ,
1 Salzburg was not enough. Time 1 1/2 hour
2 tour guide was bad told us not to go up to the castle
talk to other people that took the train before and told me it was MUCH BETTER
Was not happy
3 Also charged us 12.00 for the boat that was on 10.00, also another Grayline tour guide did the same thing to the bus that week, come on

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Isa B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Salzburg is beautiful, super recommended.
We did not get to go to Lake District, and that is why its a 3 star review, they should specify this doesn't happen during low season.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

LinaKobalt Austria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I was there 3 weeks before Christmas and it was simply wonderful. The venue is right next to the Cathedral which is just great! The concert was amazing too - a whole chamber orchestra playing Mozart! The musicians were very professional, and the funny speaker made this evening even more gorgeous :

Doing what: Mozart in Residenz Chamber Orchestra Concert in Salzburg

Ruby C

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

A bit upset as the group was too big and was divided into English speaking group and Spanish speaking group.
We therefore need to listen the briefing from the tour guide either in English first or Spanish first.
It's wasting time to wait while the guide is speaking in other language and we cannot go. We therefore found we don't have enough time to explore Salzburg at our own or to take a cruise on Lake Wolfgangsee.
I would appreciate if they can reduce the numbers of people in the group or they can send two tour guide with one English speaking and one Spanish speaking. I thought our group is over 50 peoples. Its quite difficult to manage and other tourists wow at us as they found this is a BIG BIG GROUP. This is absolutely not professional when people found the group was from Viator.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Steven L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were blessed with a sunny day in Salzburg and at Lake Wolfgangsee. The autumn colors were outstanding and it was a terrific excursion. Salzburg is an interesting city and worthwhile to visit. Scenery at Lake Wolfgangsee was spectacular.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Maxwell H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great Day, comfortable bus friendly guide interesting places to see.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message