Salzburg is immensely proud of its most famous son, and Mozartplatz is just one of the city’s many tributes. The square, with its elegant statue of a youthful Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, dates back to 1842 and was partly funded by Mad King Ludwig ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 385 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Thank you to this tour company for crafting me a special one-person tour since my boat came into port that morning in Linz late, causing me to miss the earlier train to Salzburg, causing me to miss my 11 a.m. tour time. But the tour company sent me along with my own special tour guide who helped me salvage what was left of this tour. Viator and companies who work with Viator have never let me down customer-service wise. That's why I continue booking tours with them wherever I travel. Thanks, Viator.

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

Glyn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a great day. Everything on time saw amazing sights. A must do in Munich. Thank you to our guide Ursula very knowlegable and very friendly. Recommend booking through this company.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Anthony H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Enjoyed Salzburg and the boat ride was incredible.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Jaime D

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

It rained most of the tour but nonetheless, I would recommend it. We are left on our own once in Salzburg to navigate the old town lanes without a guide. Much of it is cobblestone so that does slow you down if you have a walker or wheelchair but for the most part, it is handicap friendly. I wish we'd had more time in Salzburg. The extra Lake District boat ride is very picturesque and relaxing.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Emy

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Im disapointed ,the journey should be very much better ,
First our guide Mariame start to scream on us in the bus on our way to Salzbourg by strange one asking us to be silent as shes doesn't hear the phone !!!!!!!! ,we sought that somthing happened and the trip will be cancelled ,after she terminated the call ,she didnt appologize ,that's was rude !!!
Seconc when we reached Salzbourg ,she was taking s so fast to the ity center and was showing us sound of music very fast ,so we couldnt even take pictures !!!, and at 12:00 ,she said u need to go back to the bus by 01:50 ,she left us totally alone and we didnt have the time for anything ,
at 02:00 ,she took us to St Wolfgang ,which is amzinggggg place ,she was also running ,she didnt care that we have old people with us and she said ,if u got lost ,please take a taxi to St Geligan ,Really !!!!!!!!!!! , we were like running after her ,no chance to look around , like a teacher following class homeworks ,
The lake is a paradise and needed to have a complete trip by itself to enjoy every moment ,
and Salzbourg really needed a day ,with Tour guide to explain alll places ,

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Nelly G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Highly recommended, the tour was amazing! I had a very nice time in those beautiful places. Definitely like to go back with friends and take same tour.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Hany F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

FANTASTIC TRIP HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Diana L M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A wonderful addition to all Munich has to offer. This gets you into the mountains, and the lake cruise was fabulous! Do take the time to visit the cemetery on your way up to the castle on Salzburg.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

John O'Brien Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I found the trip excellent. I would highly recommend it.
It is a pity we did not have more time in Salzburg and in st. Wolfgang.
The driver and guide were excellent.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

chris

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The tour was great. We just had a terrible tour guide

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Meagan M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

While I enjoyed seeing Salzburg and Lake Wolfgang, this trip should absolutely not be called a Sound of Music tour. A couple SOM destinations were pointed out to us and the movie was played on our trip back to Munich, but that was the extent of it. The name of the tour needs to be changed.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

CLAIRE L

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This tour was beautiful and fun. But it's unfair to call it a Sound of Music Tour. The guide showed us one or two Sound of Music things, definitely not enough to put the name of the movie in the title of the tour. I was a bit disappointed, but the rest of the tour was great. ALSO, be ready to pay an extra 10 Euro for a boat ride. If you don't want to pay the money, you have to stay on the bus. Total peer pressure move.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

sharihamilton

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Should have been called Not the Sound of Music Tour instead. Guide was disparaging of the movie...said no one in Germany liked it and since it was made in the 1960s no one cared about it any more. Wasn and #39;t licensed to guide in Salzburg so couldn and #39;t provide on-site info. Need a local guide.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Stefka C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

that was beyond my expectations! The Lake District is just a dream! Pity I am too old to go further! Thank you very much!

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Cindy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very nice. Highly recommend. Tour guide showed us were parts of Sound of Music was filmed, walked by Mozart's childhood home. The boat ride at Lake District was a nice experience.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Najwa Lebanon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very nice landscape in the Lake District. Salzburg a nice city worth the trip.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Michael W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The walking tour was good and informative. The lake country tour and boat ride was nice, but I would have rather spent the whole time in Salzburg. There was some free time in Salzburg, but I would rather have had more time to go into more places.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

f.b. l

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Highly disappointed with guide Lucia. First she asked me for her passport before allowing me to baord the bus. I found this od as Austria is part of Schengen. She claimed that the Austrian Polce were mounting spot checks on the border to look for asylum seekers. Why they would be interested in a 60 year old British citizen was beyond me. I queried why she did not ask to see any other passengers' passports but she dclined to answer. Her instructions for rejoining the tour at Wolfgangsee were unclear and several of us nearly ended up at the wrong quai. took te gloss off an enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Maria R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Not enough time to explore Salzburg. Would like a tour to only go to Salzberg. The Lake District tour was beautiful but not necessary.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Alvaro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excelent tour with Debbie, who was very kind and professional. Congratulatoons

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Terence T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful tour, lake wolgang was peaceful. Enough time in Salzburg to see everything and get a bite to eat.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

p@t

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very nice tour, perfect timing, amazing landscapes and the guide Patricia was very nice and helpful.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Ee Him O Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A bit rush and too big a group.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Justin A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Overpriced bus ride. Plan on spending about the same amount of time in Salzburg that you spend on the ride out. Also, our guide was not allowed to give tours of the city and rushed the group from site to site in order to avoid scrutiny. Take the train. It and #39;s faster, cheaper, and you can set the pace.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message