Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Salzburg Salt Mines (Salzkammergut)

Salzkammergut is in Austria’s Lake District, focusing on the lakeside town of Hallstatt. Beneath the region’s picture-perfect lakes ringed by snow-capped mountains lie miles and miles of salt mines. After exploring Hallstatt’s fine market ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1009 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Amanda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour,good to get out in the countryside. Lovely views as there was snow about. The salt mine tour was interesting and fun, with the slides. Plenty of time to see everything, well organised, with a good tour guide.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Karen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great value used a 3 day card gets you into a lot of the sights ,zoo,untersberg cable car,Mozart birth house and museum, buses.We certainly saved a lot of money

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Natalia K

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

So I think the company needs to tell people who have booked this tour what they will not be seeing on the tour. I saved all the Sound of Music Salzburg sites for the tour, thinking they would be part of it, and the bus only stopped to point things out rather than letting us go out and see them and take photos. I saved the tour for the second day of my trip and I was leaving the next day so I had no chance to actually see the Abbey, cemetery, or festival location, because it was dark and everything was closed. Please let the people know what they have to see on their own.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Alison L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

A nice day with a mix of local history and landscapes. The first 1.5 hours of the morning during the drive up to the salt mines was very heavy on the Hitler/Nazi history of the area - obviously the tour guide was very interested in this and it was interesting for us too, but we felt there was too much of it. However the salt mine tour was great - a train ride, a boat ride, two slides and an informative audio tour with exhibits within the mine. Went back to Salzburg for a quick lunch at a cafe/bakery. Then we did the lake district tour in the afternoon. Was nice to see some more of the snowy countryside even though it was too cloudy to see much of the mountains, and because the lake was frozen we got a free cake and drink instead of the boat ride.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Ivan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Laura P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a perfect day in Salzburg! My husband and I didn't want to be herded around like cattle on the big 'Sound of Music' bus although that sounds fun if you have kids and want group sing-alongs. We were interested in some of the SOM attractions, but we are not hard-core fans of the movie. It was nice to be able to pace the day to our liking. Thomas was a wonderful tour guide. He picked us up at our hotel in a nice Mercedes in the morning and took us over to Schloss Leopoldskron for breakfast. The views and pictures there were fabulous. There were some gorgeous scenic views on our drive and Thomas was nice enough to pull over and let me take some pictures. That would never have happened on a big group tour. My favorite part was being able to get gorgeous pictures without tons of tourists in the background. TIP: If you are prone to getting car sick, you might want to take something for that problem before the trip. Thomas was a great driver, but the roads are winding.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'The Sound of Music' Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

Kathleen A Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This card is the best ever, recommend that anyone going to Salzburg get one

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Juan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was excellent. Right on time and very informative. Hallstatt is amazing, worth going. I would have stayed overnight if I had the time. I recommend the tour, the bus was very clean and comfortable, the guide was very good. I wish it would have been a longer tour.

Doing what: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg

terese t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Salzburg Card is definately the way to go. I bought the 3 day pass and even though we did not take advantage of everything to see, we still got more than our moneys worth. All bus fair is free, so we were able to take the bus out to Untersberg, where the gondola trip up the mountain was 'free'. The Palace and funicular was free- card has now paid for itself. Everything past this point really was 'free'. I would NOT recommend the modern art museum- I was so thankful that it was included on the card so that I didn't have to pay for it. However, a trip up the elevator to the outdoor grounds at the musuem is worth it for a nice view and a little outdoor activity. If you are up for a beerhaus, the Augostino brauhaus is fun and full of locals. It was a past Monestary so when you walk in you are greeted with religious statues until you get to the basement brewery.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

david d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The card makes it very easy to get into the most popular sites without having to stand in ticket lines.it also works on the local bus at no charge.saves a ton of money.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

axel s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

absolute must see, great history tour guide was fantastic,log ride was a little scary, hey I am 57 got the ticker going lol.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Fionablossom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Having the card definitely made entry easy and quick, no waiting in long lines. Very helpful being able to use public transport with it too.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Colin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great day out,

Loads of fun in the salt mines and a wee Brucie bonus being taken out to Ober Salzburg and a view of the Eagles Nest before it :- Carlos the guide was VERY knowledgeable, highly impressive knowledge of the mines and even more so the history of Ober Salzburg

Enjoyed the Sound of Music tour too, very good guide in Toni and lots of memorable landmarks visited.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Roger L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our family loved this tour! Great guide, very informative, lots of fun!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

pranavkoushik India

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The salt mines trip was excellent but the lakes trip in the 2nd half of the day in December was just good not great I would say

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Patrice H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Walter is an amazing tour guide. We were fortunate to have him as our guide for the first part of the day at the Salzbergwerks part of the tour. He was dynamic and gave so much information about the places we passed. He covered a range of topics so that everyone in our family - 2 parents and three adult children - was engaged. He is also friendly and funny.
We did not realize the tour was in two parts - heading back to Salzburg in between the morning and afternoon pieces. Since it was December, it was dark at 4:30, so part of the trip was a bus ride in the dark. Our guide for the afternoon spoke in German at least 50 of the time, even though we had booked an English speaking tour. That would have been okay, except the information was more rote and very minimal. My family fell asleep on the bus. I don't actually recommend the Austrian lakes part of the tour, but the Salzbergwerks part was so enjoyable, I still give the tour overall 4 stars.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Relle Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Not your typical tour - train ride into the mines, wooden slides to get you down into the mines, a boat ride and it was educational of the actual mining of salt. Fun had by all

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

tracyfroud

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was certainly good value for money. We went to the Salt Mines in the morning before returning to Salzburg for an hours break before boarding the coach for the Sound of Music Tour.
Unfortunately it was a really wet and dull day with fog hanging over the mountains for the duration of our tour so we didn't get to see the mountains or the view from them! The Salt Mines were amazing. Our tour guide took us in to get the overalls before the doors were opened to the general public which was a bonus. The slides descending into the lower levels are a must. You have the option to purchase a theme park style photo of your descent which isn't overly priced at 5 Euro.
Our afternoon Sound of Music Tour was great, visiting all of the major locations used in the film. Our guide was very knowledgeable and provided lots of facts about the true story of the Von Trapp family as well as the story told in the film. We weren't too keen reading other reviews that there would be sing-a-longs but in actual fact it was great and even the not so keen joined in!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Antonella C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Well worth the money! Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Janice H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Both the Sound of Music and Salt Mine tours were awesome! Loved both learned lots of new things about the Sound of Music and certainly learned lots in Salt mine! Long day but good!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Thomashgeorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tours, took us to two Christmas markets too. Tour guide for Sound of music Peter was great.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Agus L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

breathtaking sceneries - beautiful areas

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

jon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We didn't know what to expect and my whole family loved it. Our tour guide Walter was wonderful and the salt mines were amazing!!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

dave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We did the salt mines tour and absolutely loved it. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable in all facets. They were extremely adept at handling tour members who were always late for departure and very good. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone including families with children.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

jack c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We enjoyed the Sound of Music tour and found it was interesting to learn about the Van Trapp family. The Salt Mines tour was fabulous. Do not miss this one!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message