Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Salzburg Salt Mines (Salzkammergut)

Salzkammergut is in Austria’s Lake District, focusing on the lakeside town of Hallstatt. Beneath the region’s picture-perfect lakes ringed by snow-capped mountains lie miles and miles of salt mines. After exploring Hallstatt’s fine market ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 886 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is an excellent excursion, perfect for all ages. Everything from the protective overalls to the train ride in the narrow tunnels to the huge slides makes this a fun activity. Also, the program is a true educational experience. Our guide was informative and had a wonderful sense of humor.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

theresa.ong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing tour up the eagle's nest with a knowledgeable guide!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Ajsa India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Terrific...!!! Carlos the guide knew the region in and out.. Beautiful landscape, lovely weather, gorgeous small towns loaded with history.. The salt mine tour is certainly the highlight.. A very nice use of technology.. A must do.. The drive itself is quite giving..

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Ashbeth I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

In two weeks in Europe, this may have been our best day, even though it was rainy and cloudy. The buses were comfortable and the tour guide knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. And the bus driver! How he maneuvers that bus up and down the windy road to Eagles Nest is a wonder.

Eagles Next was beautiful, even cloudy. There are several levels to experience. I stayed to lower paths, but my family husband and two kids 12 and 15 climbed higher paths. We did not have enough time to take advantage of the cafe, but it didn't matter. The history was interesting, the views spectacular.

We went to the salt mines on the recommendation of a friend who had visited when she was a girl and they were so much better than we thought they would be! My 15 year old was dreading them, but she loved the tour. It was both old fashioned and techie, with light shows and holograms, etc. The guide only spoke German, but we had audioguides. And the slides. Wow the kids loved the slides. We will never forget the salt mines tour. Note: we had time for a beer and ice cream at the little shop.

The lake was kind of a bust for us as it was raining, but no matter: there was a biergarten! We sat with a family we met on the tour and had a beer and some desserts for the kids during that hour.

There were two visits to the same little town on this tour. The lunch visit was pretty short, but we managed to eat even though we chose poorly where we ate full sit down place.

The town and the little shopping area by the lake offered plenty of souvenir shopping. The kids had fun looking around, though none of us bought anything.

I really can't recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Wendy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Worth the price!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Peter C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great tour guide. He was laid back, had a sense of humour, he was enthusiastic and was a genuine Austrian :-. Unfortunately we forgot his name but to identify him you could look for the blond haired guide that is also a pilot. The trip to the mines was interesting and then the mine itself was a good tour. All round great.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

MARTIN K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was amazing. Lot of history. Must do tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Ian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great. Walter, our guide, ran the place. He was on top of buses, timing, places to sit for lunch, all the stories you could want, even his own pictures on the ride back. Just one thing - if you want to hike around the mountains surrounding the Eagle's Nest, you won't have too much time to do that on this tour, but you could spend all day doing it. Nonetheless, you get all the postcard vistas you need from the time you have up on the mountain on this tour. I think that more extensive hiking would be good for a return journey. Take this trip with Walter if this is your first time there.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Daniel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great place. Rating it at 5 stars but certainly could use more time there. One Japanese passenger did not make it back to the bus on time despite waiting about fifteen minutes for her to show up. Hope she somehow made it back to Salzburg. Could use some form of backup plan for such circumstances...perhaps optional provision of phone number to guide.

Doing what: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg

Mitou N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Salt Mine tour was much better than expected, and the lake was beautiful. There was a family that was consistently late - please have a better system of keeping passengers accountable to coming back on time, as it impacted the rest of the passengers.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Sharon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a great day, salt mines were fantastic and informative, sound of music your was s lot of fun, saw beautiful countryside and villages. Highly recommended

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Alex S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a must. It is such a great value for the price, and includes free public transportation. Well worth the price, plus with the card we received a free mug at the Spiegl beer garden!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Christine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really worth doing. Eagle's Nest is amazing, and the salt mines were great.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Thomas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good value for money....the visit to the salt mine was lots of fun...there could have been more time for lunch which had to be rushed...the trip to Konigsea didn't really merit the time allocated to it..whilst picturesque the vistas were limited...a short cruise might have been more rewarding ...do the trip if only for the salt mine tour..sliding down on your backside to a lower level ...the underground lake..locomotive shuttle..highly enjoyable..the eagle's nest..spectacular!!! Go and enjoy

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Shalini S G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very well organized. Had no idea what to expect and was pleasantly surprised. Very enjoyable!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Linda

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Salzburg by itself is worth the trip. The chance to see first hand some of the sites where the Sound of Music was filmed was a bonus. Our local guide Gabby provided a good bit of behind the scenes background and info. Salzburg is as lovely today as it was in the 1965 movie.
The Salt Mines trip was interesting. Enjoyed the ride into the mine almost like being at Disneyland as well as the miners' slides. The crystal clear underground lake was amazing. Unfortunately, our tour guide was much more interested in explaining things in German to a handful of German-speaking guests and left his English-speaking guests who made up 90 of the tour to watch the videos at various sites through the tour. Glad I had a chance to see the mine and learn a bit about salt mining. Definitely won't look at my table salt the same now.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

James G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Our Salzburg Super Saver tour booked through Viator was excellent!
Our guide Walter was both very informative and engaging!
It's a long day, but worth the time!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Chris N

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great. I would have thought for the price water could have been included.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Reba e

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Informative and exciting. The 45 min break for lunch/ shopping was a joke!!! PLEASE ADD at LEAST 30 min to make it worthwhile!!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Susanna F

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour itself was a successful event for us. We really enjoyed visiting the salt mine, seeing the Alps, and taking the boat across the lake. The area that can be improved is the whole organization of the tour as we had to spend some time waiting for smaller groups being transfer between different buses.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Megan B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Hallstatt itself is very beautiful but I was a little disappointed in the tour. The tour guide provided us with some useful facts on the bus ride there. Once you arrive in Hallstatt however you either pay an additional 11 to ride with the tour guide on the cable car up the mountain or you simply adventure the town on your own.

Doing what: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg

Clare M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Would recommend this super saver for anyone. Not only does it give you free access in so many places and super discounts in others, but you get to skip the queues and ride oublic transport for free....and the buses are well worth using to get around on as they are very punctual and frequent. Whipping my Salzburg Card out, I felt like a VIP!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Breda E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great card We got a lot of use of the card and could have got more if the weather had not been as bad
Well worth having

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message