Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Salzburg Salt Mines (Salzkammergut)

Salzkammergut is in Austria’s Lake District, focusing on the lakeside town of Hallstatt. Beneath the region’s picture-perfect lakes ringed by snow-capped mountains lie miles and miles of salt mines. After exploring Hallstatt’s fine market ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 909 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mfinn1066

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was all we signed up for. The views were breathtaking. The salt time was very exciting.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Andrew F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

if you like to go to museums and tours this is the card

Doing what: Salzburg Card

jenny62thompson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Well organised day with comfortable bus ride and great commentary provided by guide. Eagles Nest is in an amazing location and the views are stunning when the cloud lifts. Interesting to hear the history of the area too. The salt mine tour was great and it was fun to experience the train ride through the tunnels, slide down levels on the old miners wooden slides and glide silently across the extremely salty lake. Plenty of information to take in through the talk and displays and come out with a better understanding of this industry. Had only a brief amount of time to enjoy the very beautiful Lake Koingsee. More time at Berchtesgaden with lunch and afternoon tea there. Full but worthwhile day out from Salzburg seeing some great places in Barvaria.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Sheetal U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A very well Conducted Trip to Eagle's Nest and salt Mines including a visit to a lakeside town and a couple of lakes.. A worthwhile trip. The Guide was knowledgeable and gave a good amount of information Gave enough time at eagle's Nest and Salt Mines. Though I do think that the time given at Königssee Lake was very short. But otherwise, this was a very beautiful trip to these must watch once in a lifetime places..

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

profdemina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My parents and I were in Salzburg for a week and used the card for 3 days. I estimated that we saved 75 euro each. It also helped in the planning process. The card is an absolute must!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

nickandalisontorking ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely excellent value. Could visit all the attractions with the card, have complete flexibility and save lots of of money. There was no down side to it at all, the only difficulty we experienced was in locating the tourist office to exchange our voucher for the cards, but once we had the cards they were fantastic. Highly recommend them.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Vera Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a wonderful trip, organized well, and a lot of fun for children. It was also quite informative.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Janet L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

value for money

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Michelle K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was the perfect activity for traveling with kids. It was engaging and not too far of a bus trip from Salzburg. We had a great time! The Tour Guide was friendly and informative. My son enjoyed tasting rocks that taste like salt and the various laser light shows throughout the tour. Bring cash for ice cream after the tour!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Julie W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very well organised. Very enjoyable. Just very,very disappointing to have no time at all to spend in the giftshop

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Selena C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Well worth the money! If it weren't for the deluge I would have visited more sites, but as it was I only got to visit the natural history museum - three floors with cool and interesting animal and space themed displays, especially the real live snakes. I also went to the panorama museum which was real neat as well as nice and quiet. The last thing I did was the tour at the fortress atop the hill and it was a perfect end to my near perfect trip if only it was nice out! But I will definitely be back Salzburg so you better be sunny or at least dry next time around!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

robinmazurek

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This tour was great! Our tour guide, Carlos was awesome- very knowledgeable and made the trip so much fun!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Mordechai W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

An interesting and well organized tour, recommended for the entire family.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Randy

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was a great tour. We especially loved the trip to the Eagle's Nest. The ride was a little scary for someone who is afraid of heights but well worth it. The views from up top are amazing! There was plenty of time to explore and get a drink and a snack. The salt mines were fun but the tour was quite repetitive with each room being yet another explanation of how salt is leeched from water. The slides down were fun and I would take someone again but be aware that the dialogue gets a bit much after a while.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is an excellent excursion, perfect for all ages. Everything from the protective overalls to the train ride in the narrow tunnels to the huge slides makes this a fun activity. Also, the program is a true educational experience. Our guide was informative and had a wonderful sense of humor.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

theresa.ong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing tour up the eagle's nest with a knowledgeable guide!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Ajsa India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Terrific...!!! Carlos the guide knew the region in and out.. Beautiful landscape, lovely weather, gorgeous small towns loaded with history.. The salt mine tour is certainly the highlight.. A very nice use of technology.. A must do.. The drive itself is quite giving..

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Ashbeth I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

In two weeks in Europe, this may have been our best day, even though it was rainy and cloudy. The buses were comfortable and the tour guide knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. And the bus driver! How he maneuvers that bus up and down the windy road to Eagles Nest is a wonder.

Eagles Next was beautiful, even cloudy. There are several levels to experience. I stayed to lower paths, but my family husband and two kids 12 and 15 climbed higher paths. We did not have enough time to take advantage of the cafe, but it didn't matter. The history was interesting, the views spectacular.

We went to the salt mines on the recommendation of a friend who had visited when she was a girl and they were so much better than we thought they would be! My 15 year old was dreading them, but she loved the tour. It was both old fashioned and techie, with light shows and holograms, etc. The guide only spoke German, but we had audioguides. And the slides. Wow the kids loved the slides. We will never forget the salt mines tour. Note: we had time for a beer and ice cream at the little shop.

The lake was kind of a bust for us as it was raining, but no matter: there was a biergarten! We sat with a family we met on the tour and had a beer and some desserts for the kids during that hour.

There were two visits to the same little town on this tour. The lunch visit was pretty short, but we managed to eat even though we chose poorly where we ate full sit down place.

The town and the little shopping area by the lake offered plenty of souvenir shopping. The kids had fun looking around, though none of us bought anything.

I really can't recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Wendy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Worth the price!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Peter C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great tour guide. He was laid back, had a sense of humour, he was enthusiastic and was a genuine Austrian :-. Unfortunately we forgot his name but to identify him you could look for the blond haired guide that is also a pilot. The trip to the mines was interesting and then the mine itself was a good tour. All round great.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

MARTIN K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was amazing. Lot of history. Must do tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Ian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great. Walter, our guide, ran the place. He was on top of buses, timing, places to sit for lunch, all the stories you could want, even his own pictures on the ride back. Just one thing - if you want to hike around the mountains surrounding the Eagle's Nest, you won't have too much time to do that on this tour, but you could spend all day doing it. Nonetheless, you get all the postcard vistas you need from the time you have up on the mountain on this tour. I think that more extensive hiking would be good for a return journey. Take this trip with Walter if this is your first time there.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Daniel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great place. Rating it at 5 stars but certainly could use more time there. One Japanese passenger did not make it back to the bus on time despite waiting about fifteen minutes for her to show up. Hope she somehow made it back to Salzburg. Could use some form of backup plan for such circumstances...perhaps optional provision of phone number to guide.

Doing what: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message