Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Salzburg Salt Mines (Salzkammergut)

Salzkammergut is in Austria’s Lake District, focusing on the lakeside town of Hallstatt. Beneath the region’s picture-perfect lakes ringed by snow-capped mountains lie miles and miles of salt mines. After exploring Hallstatt’s fine market ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 932 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christopher G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Big value!!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Loriann M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved this combo trip day tour. We only had a short time to visit Salzburg and we packed 2 great tours into 1 day. We met up with the tour guide at Mirabelle Platz. Viator group staff is prompt and courteous. Our tour guide was Johannes who kept us on schedule and had a great sense of rumor. The Salt Mines are a fun, interesting tour. Everyone slips on official salt miner coveralls, takes a little train into the salt mine for a few minutes claustrophobics may get a little sketched but the train moves moderately so arriving at a platform where one can take the wooden slide down keep hands on body - not holding the rail - don't forget to smile for the camera or one can walk/carry little ones down the pathway to arrive at the next level where the narrative part of the tour really begins. Translation devices for English, Spanish and Italian ? are available. After walking and seeing vintage salt mine machines and pictures, a little boat is taken across a small 'lake' with a show of lights referring to salt creation. It's cool. It's really a splendid tour and fun for the whole family. It's a bit chilly in the mines and walking shoes are best. We had a great time! Highly recommend. In the afternoon, it was time for the Sound of Music tour. LOVED IT. We had a different tour guide this time who had a fun sense of rumor Peter. If you aren't knowledgeable about The Sound of Music movie, you will either believe everyone is knockers or you will have fun listening to those of us who love to sing along with the soundtrack! We learned that the other tour guide Ana is a professional singer, so you may really get to sing a lot on her tour. You will definitely enjoy the drive and history...perhaps even get motivated to learn about the Von Trapp family it is an interesting story after all! The scenery is beautiful - hopefully you can see it on a sunny, warm day like we did. Highly recommend, we felt we got our money's worth. We enjoyed every minute of it.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Jillian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Salzburg was beautiful and this card was great! It includes free public bus service which was the best way to get around the city quickly

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Lindsay M N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing, we saw soo manybeautiful and interesting places we would not have been able to get to in one day. Walter was so knoledgable and had an awesome sense of homour, we loved him as our tour guide! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Cindi C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour got us to and from the location without our having to deal with figuring out the transit. The guide gave us good info coming and going. The guide made it clear to all that they needed to be on time for departure. We traveled through really pretty countryside, going and coming back by different routes. The tour was exactly what we wanted.

Doing what: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg

Debbie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We love it. It was so much fun. The only issue we had was it was a little difficult to hear and understand the guide.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

HAEWON J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent and beautiful. Hope we had more time in the town.

Doing what: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg

Fred M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

An absolutely fantastic experience. We were doing a tour of Northern Austria ourselves and so for the mostpart we sorted ourselves with days out however we wanted to ensure we saw all of the sights for the Sound of Music and so decided a tour with a guide was the best way to do it. We were certainly not disappointed at all. Our tour guide was very funny and so informative. We learnt so much about the film, the original Von Trapps and other intriguing facts as well including the fact that not many Austrians know about the Sound of Music! We visited all of the relevant sights with an hour stop in Mondsee where we could walk round the Church where they filmed the wedding scene and also look at the gift shops. We had Sound of Music songs on the coach as well as a documentary video on the way back. An absolute must for any Sound of Music fan!

We knew we wanted to see the salt mines and so it was wonderful to find a deal where the salt mines were included in the Sound of Music tour. Our guide was brilliant and very funny. We had a wonderful tour round the Bavarian mountains first remember to bring your passports for travelling into Germany as not everyone remembered although we were lucky not to be stopped! and were then dropped off at the Salt Mine where we had a thrilling train ride, boat ride and whizzed down two massive slides which was enormous fun. The salt mines tour was in both German and English and was just so interesting. Another must. We were given an hour in a local town in Germany where we enjoyed top-notch Apple Strudel! This combined tour is an absolute must.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Ashwin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The super saver deal was awesome as it covered Eagle's Nest, Salt mine tour and a visit to Kings Lake Konigssee. There were others in the tour bus who hadn't taken this super saver and didn't get to do a full day tour. The tour bus was excellent and our guide Johannes gave us a sufficient time to visit each place as well as have our lunch and coffee in Berchtesgaden and buy souvenirs. Johannes also kept feeding us with info about each place, its history and much more which kept the whole day lively and absorbing, so special thanks to him.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Joanne T United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Hallstatt is picture perfect. Our drive from Salzburg to Hallstatt provided an opportunity to see the beautiful countryside. The village is lovely and the lake is dreamy. We especially enjoyed our ferry ride which provided an opportunity to relax, and take some gorgeous photographs. Our guide, Thomas, was very knowledgable and friendly. A wonderul way to see the beauty that is Austria.

Doing what: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg

Wendy T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This card is worth every cent. It was the only one we purchased whilst in Europe. It covers a lot for the price. Money well spent.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Roseyparr

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This tour could have been longer. By the time got there and went up the fanicular, there was limited time to then walk to the end of the town. maybe another hour would have been better?

Doing what: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg

Alfiani R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

I enjoyed very beautiful view from Eagle's nest and Konnigsee lake, I had very interesting experiences in sal mine. It was a worth 9 hours trip....

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

jinah

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

It was essential for my trip

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Pandian J

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The complementary pick up from the hotel that was promised did not happen. We have to find our own way to the tour starting point.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

mfinn1066

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was all we signed up for. The views were breathtaking. The salt time was very exciting.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Andrew F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

if you like to go to museums and tours this is the card

Doing what: Salzburg Card

jenny62thompson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Well organised day with comfortable bus ride and great commentary provided by guide. Eagles Nest is in an amazing location and the views are stunning when the cloud lifts. Interesting to hear the history of the area too. The salt mine tour was great and it was fun to experience the train ride through the tunnels, slide down levels on the old miners wooden slides and glide silently across the extremely salty lake. Plenty of information to take in through the talk and displays and come out with a better understanding of this industry. Had only a brief amount of time to enjoy the very beautiful Lake Koingsee. More time at Berchtesgaden with lunch and afternoon tea there. Full but worthwhile day out from Salzburg seeing some great places in Barvaria.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Sheetal U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A very well Conducted Trip to Eagle's Nest and salt Mines including a visit to a lakeside town and a couple of lakes.. A worthwhile trip. The Guide was knowledgeable and gave a good amount of information Gave enough time at eagle's Nest and Salt Mines. Though I do think that the time given at Königssee Lake was very short. But otherwise, this was a very beautiful trip to these must watch once in a lifetime places..

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

profdemina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My parents and I were in Salzburg for a week and used the card for 3 days. I estimated that we saved 75 euro each. It also helped in the planning process. The card is an absolute must!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

nickandalisontorking ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely excellent value. Could visit all the attractions with the card, have complete flexibility and save lots of of money. There was no down side to it at all, the only difficulty we experienced was in locating the tourist office to exchange our voucher for the cards, but once we had the cards they were fantastic. Highly recommend them.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Vera Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a wonderful trip, organized well, and a lot of fun for children. It was also quite informative.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Janet L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

value for money

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message