Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Salzburg Salt Mines (Salzkammergut)

Salzkammergut is in Austria’s Lake District, focusing on the lakeside town of Hallstatt. Beneath the region’s picture-perfect lakes ringed by snow-capped mountains lie miles and miles of salt mines. After exploring Hallstatt’s fine market ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 982 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

tracyfroud

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was certainly good value for money. We went to the Salt Mines in the morning before returning to Salzburg for an hours break before boarding the coach for the Sound of Music Tour.
Unfortunately it was a really wet and dull day with fog hanging over the mountains for the duration of our tour so we didn't get to see the mountains or the view from them! The Salt Mines were amazing. Our tour guide took us in to get the overalls before the doors were opened to the general public which was a bonus. The slides descending into the lower levels are a must. You have the option to purchase a theme park style photo of your descent which isn't overly priced at 5 Euro.
Our afternoon Sound of Music Tour was great, visiting all of the major locations used in the film. Our guide was very knowledgeable and provided lots of facts about the true story of the Von Trapp family as well as the story told in the film. We weren't too keen reading other reviews that there would be sing-a-longs but in actual fact it was great and even the not so keen joined in!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Antonella C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Well worth the money! Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Vivien W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour guide. We didn't see the panoramic view because was zero visibility and it was snowing. It still was a lovely trip.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Vivien W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing view and city. I wished I had stay more days since there's more places to visit.

Doing what: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg

Steve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour, I would highly recommend it

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

vjrhair United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing and a must to see. Eagles Nest was so incredible to experience. It was a bit foggy at the bottom, but by the time we got uo to the top we were above the clouds looking down at them. The Bavarian Alps were spectacular to see. It reminded me of the Switzerland Alps. The Salt mines was by far better than I expected. We got to slide down a shoot and take a boast ride down in the mines. It was a blast.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Nicola D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I loved this tour. Peter was our guide for the sound of music and he was so funny. He was very informative and engaging and we really enjoyed his tour. I cant remember our guide for the salt mines but he was equally good. Very knowledgeable and interesting. Would highly recommend both tours

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Annie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was an amazing experience.Me and family thoroughly enjoyed the tour.Mr.Walters our guide was a lovely person and took extra efforts to make sure we could cover everything.My 5 year old daughter really enjoyed his company.
It is a must if you visit Salzburg.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

jkeyu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful way to see some of the sights from the musical. The Salt mine tour was a nice surprise. We thought it was a simple tour through a cave. But it was ride on a mine bucket through the mine, then we slid down a long slide, then took a short boat ride on a salt lake inside the mine. Got a taste of salt water from the mine. Certain different and fun way to learn about the how salt is mined in Bavaria.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Rhonda C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Really enjoyed the Bavarian Mountains, Eagles nest and Salt mine tour, it was a pity about the cloud cover at the Eagles nest but was still good to see. Salt mine tour, best part was the slides.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

chloe

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Our tour guide Thomas was excellent and the Salt mine tour was amazing. We had a different tour guide in the afternoon for the lakes and mountains tour. This was also nice but we only made 1 stop by a lake. The rest was spent visiting small towns/Christmas markets.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Jonathan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fun 1/2 day tour away from Salzburg. The only thing is they combine 2 tours on the bus Salt Mines and Eagle's Nest that can cause confusion. The bus drops off the Eagle's Nest tour at their gathering point, and then continues on to Berchtesgarden for the Salt Mines Tour. This tour includes a mini train ride and 2 slides deep within the mountain - all kids would enjoy this part.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great time. Accomodations


Great time and hotel super.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Dawn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fun tour with our 9 year old. Wish we could have taken pictures in the mine but had a fabulous time! Tour guides were very knowledgable and pleasant.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Grace O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was amazing, our guide really knew his stuff and took good care of us. Hallstatt is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen, if you are in Salzburg you have to go!

Doing what: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg

nian_gu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was cold and it started snowing when we were at the Eagle's Nest. Nevertheless, we were able to see the Eagle's Nest. We all enjoyed the Salt Mine.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Anthony M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Absolutely buy this card. Free transportation, admittance to museums, castles, and so on.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

nls1333

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The visit to the salt mines was great! Loved the lakes and mountains trip. Beautiful country.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Charlotte C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Lovely experience. I wish we had more time in Berchesgarden, but otherwise it was spot on.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Kimberly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This card is highly recommended! Even if you only have a day. I wasn't able to use it for all its worth because I had booked a 4hr bus tour, but if I could plan my day around the attractions included with the price of this card I would be satisfied that I got the best Salzburg experience.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Petra H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

absolutely fantastic day would highly recommend it to anyone

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Johnathan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Absolutely loved our tour. The highlights for us were the slides and traveling across the crystal clear mirror water.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Kevin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great trip enjoyed the Sound of Music much more than I expected Peter was a magnificent guide very entertaining
Salt mine tour was worth every cent and must not missed

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

jstrasser

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a beautiful trip The scenery is just like a post card and your camera will work overtime. The tour guide was great and funny. Only negative but this is not reflective to the trip just be careful of some other very rude tourists ones we struck were appeared to be Russian who thought they had the right to barge into any lines there wanted too and didn't like being told off.

Doing what: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg

jstrasser

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Like all City cards the are worth the money but plan your trip to maximise the card.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message