It’s no surprise that Salzburg has been such a draw for tourists over the last several hundred years. Sitting on the Salzach River and a stone’s throw away from the Bavarian Alps, the local geography is breathtaking. But it’s not just the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2898 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sandra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour was a lot of fun. Unfortunately we had a very rainy and cold day but we made the best of it and the tour guide was very upbeat and a lot of fun. Even in the rain the sights were magnificent and we learned a lot about the movie, how it was made and all the location secrets. All in all, I would recommend this tour to anyone who is a Sound of Music fan. If we had good weather it would have been spectacular! A great way to spend 4 hours!!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Jim G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great and atmospheric trip to take in December. Wintery christmas feel everywhere with the markets on. The tour was fun and beautiful sites to visit. Great singing all the way!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Amanda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Fabulous experience. We had front row seats. as I booked early. The music was superb, and the setting made it special.

Doing what: Schloss Mirabell Classical Music Concert in Salzburg

Karen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent concert in mirabel

Doing what: Schloss Mirabell Classical Music Concert in Salzburg

Konrad H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Really great. Amazing castle, great artists. A must.

Doing what: Schloss Mirabell Classical Music Concert in Salzburg

Charles S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Great fun, shame the weather was poor. David our guide as great.would recommend this tour.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Cheryl B

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Our tour guide was very good and it was fun to learn the difference between fact and fiction. A very rainy day really dampened the tour experience, though pun intended and I would not recommend the tour if you can't get out of the bus.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Tatiana N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a small group tour. The minibus. We went to different parts of Salzburg. The guide was good. The coffee and cake also tasty. The view from the cafe terrace exciting.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour with Coffee and Cake

Laura P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a perfect day in Salzburg! My husband and I didn't want to be herded around like cattle on the big 'Sound of Music' bus although that sounds fun if you have kids and want group sing-alongs. We were interested in some of the SOM attractions, but we are not hard-core fans of the movie. It was nice to be able to pace the day to our liking. Thomas was a wonderful tour guide. He picked us up at our hotel in a nice Mercedes in the morning and took us over to Schloss Leopoldskron for breakfast. The views and pictures there were fabulous. There were some gorgeous scenic views on our drive and Thomas was nice enough to pull over and let me take some pictures. That would never have happened on a big group tour. My favorite part was being able to get gorgeous pictures without tons of tourists in the background. TIP: If you are prone to getting car sick, you might want to take something for that problem before the trip. Thomas was a great driver, but the roads are winding.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'The Sound of Music' Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

Adrian R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A well organised, informative and highly enteratining tour!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

c.peters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely loved this tour - our guide and driver were fabulous. We were picked up at our hotel on time and taken to meet the coach in Salzburg city centre. We went to see the lake and back of the house used in the movie, then on to see the house used for the frontage. Then to the park where the famous gazebo is now situated - of course a wee song of 'You are 16' had to be sung and then one of our group proposed to his girlfriend at the gazebo and she said 'Yes' - so romantic. A drive round by Nonberg Abbey and then up into the mountains to Mondsee to see the church where the wedding took place. A great day out with video playing on the bus and singalong to our favourite Sound of Music songs. Loved every minute and would highly recommend.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Silvana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A great day trip- beautiful countryside and an entertaining tour guide and bus driver.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Lorna P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I'm writing this review for my wife. I was dragged along on this tour because it was what my wife wanted to do. However, I can honestly say I had a great time. The guide Peter was entertaining, although providing lots of information and details for the fans he pitched his commentary to allow for the fact that some of us were not fans. There was humour, and a bit of showmanship, and yes there was singing on the bus. I'm still not a fan of the movie, but don't worry guys this wont be the dull painful day you might expect - they even sell beer on the bus !

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Juan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was great and our guide made it even more enjoyable, the singing on the bus made it even more fun for us Sound of Music fans. They were very punctual, the bus was very clean and comfortable. The tour was very informative and we saw beautiful scenery. What we were able to see of the Sound of Music was excellent. I recommend it.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Charles M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A wonderful trip to see many locations from the filming. Any fan will love this tour!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Stephen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

such fun - even if you are not a fan of the film it was a great tour - luckily I was a fan of the film

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

newtownsqkitty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We met the bus at the Mirabellplatz in town, a full size bus not a shuttle. Really knowledgeable guide who pointed out places of interest on the way and provided great information at the site. When we reached the base of the mountain we switched to other full size buses which made their winding way up the mountain. At the top we walked into the mountain where there was a large polished brass elevator, which the guide informed us could hold about 50 people, but because Hitler was claustrophobic he only allowed 3 or 4 others and the highly polished brass made the space seem bigger. Fortunately the weather was good and not cloudy. They close this tour in Oct or Nov depending on the weather. At the top the view was phenomenal. The building is stone on the outside with beautiful woodwork inside. There is a restaurant inside also. Outside there is a huge patio, places to sit and a small hut where you can get hot chocolate and souvenirs.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Kathryn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A great day out. Our guide, Peter and driver, Nico were very helpful and most entertaining. The jokes may be bad but we never stopped laughing. Definitely would recommend these guys. We were very luck as it had snowed the day before and everywhere looked beautiful

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

mcronin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Well organized and informative. A good combination tour to see Salzburg and the Sound of Music highlights.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

HELOISA P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Uma experiência maravilhosa .... Ana, uma estudante de musica em Salzburgo, foi uma guia entusiasmada e interessante.
Nevou forte o dia todo e o ônibus viajou com segurança por estradas internas cobertas de neve graças ao motorista Alex! Estes dois tornaram o que poderia ter sido um desastre por causa da nevasca literal e figuradamente numa lembrança adorável.
Obrigada, obrigada, obrigada Alex e Ana e ela canta muito bem....

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Kristy V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour. At first, I thought it was going to be a bit cheesy but honestly both my daughter and I had the best time! As a matter of fact, I actually think this was the highlight of our entire vacation. Go! It's worth it! The bus was warm and comfortable. The tour guide was super funny Peter I think. The locations were gorgeous. Definitely worth your time and money.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Michelle K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

If you're a Sound of Music enthusiast this is the tour for you! Our guide was not only completely knowledgeable but was entertaining, kept all of us engaged especially my younger ones 9 and 12 years old... and even the boys! We went by the Von Trapp family home, took a stroll through a park that had children running and playing everywhere, saw the gazebo where Leizel had her first kiss, down the street the children hung like monkeys from the trees and of course the amphitheater where the Von Trapp family sang before making their big escape! We had a sing-a-long of Doe A Deer and more. Our guide not only told us many facts about TSOM but included many other sites and facts about Salzburg itself. All in all, we left the tour on a high note and could probably do the tour all over again!

Doing what: Private Tour: Salzburg City Highlights Tour

axel s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

absolute must see, great history tour guide was fantastic,log ride was a little scary, hey I am 57 got the ticker going lol.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Rebecca T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Peter our guide and Nico our driver were a great duo. They made the trip extra entertaining. The tour itself ran smoothly.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Roger L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our family loved this tour! Great guide, very informative, lots of fun!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message