It’s no surprise that Salzburg has been such a draw for tourists over the last several hundred years. Sitting on the Salzach River and a stone’s throw away from the Bavarian Alps, the local geography is breathtaking. But it’s not just the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2880 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tatiana N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a small group tour. The minibus. We went to different parts of Salzburg. The guide was good. The coffee and cake also tasty. The view from the cafe terrace exciting.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour with Coffee and Cake

Laura P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a perfect day in Salzburg! My husband and I didn't want to be herded around like cattle on the big 'Sound of Music' bus although that sounds fun if you have kids and want group sing-alongs. We were interested in some of the SOM attractions, but we are not hard-core fans of the movie. It was nice to be able to pace the day to our liking. Thomas was a wonderful tour guide. He picked us up at our hotel in a nice Mercedes in the morning and took us over to Schloss Leopoldskron for breakfast. The views and pictures there were fabulous. There were some gorgeous scenic views on our drive and Thomas was nice enough to pull over and let me take some pictures. That would never have happened on a big group tour. My favorite part was being able to get gorgeous pictures without tons of tourists in the background. TIP: If you are prone to getting car sick, you might want to take something for that problem before the trip. Thomas was a great driver, but the roads are winding.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'The Sound of Music' Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

Adrian R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A well organised, informative and highly enteratining tour!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

c.peters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely loved this tour - our guide and driver were fabulous. We were picked up at our hotel on time and taken to meet the coach in Salzburg city centre. We went to see the lake and back of the house used in the movie, then on to see the house used for the frontage. Then to the park where the famous gazebo is now situated - of course a wee song of 'You are 16' had to be sung and then one of our group proposed to his girlfriend at the gazebo and she said 'Yes' - so romantic. A drive round by Nonberg Abbey and then up into the mountains to Mondsee to see the church where the wedding took place. A great day out with video playing on the bus and singalong to our favourite Sound of Music songs. Loved every minute and would highly recommend.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Silvana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A great day trip- beautiful countryside and an entertaining tour guide and bus driver.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Lorna P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I'm writing this review for my wife. I was dragged along on this tour because it was what my wife wanted to do. However, I can honestly say I had a great time. The guide Peter was entertaining, although providing lots of information and details for the fans he pitched his commentary to allow for the fact that some of us were not fans. There was humour, and a bit of showmanship, and yes there was singing on the bus. I'm still not a fan of the movie, but don't worry guys this wont be the dull painful day you might expect - they even sell beer on the bus !

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Juan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was great and our guide made it even more enjoyable, the singing on the bus made it even more fun for us Sound of Music fans. They were very punctual, the bus was very clean and comfortable. The tour was very informative and we saw beautiful scenery. What we were able to see of the Sound of Music was excellent. I recommend it.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Charles M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A wonderful trip to see many locations from the filming. Any fan will love this tour!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Stephen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

such fun - even if you are not a fan of the film it was a great tour - luckily I was a fan of the film

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

newtownsqkitty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We met the bus at the Mirabellplatz in town, a full size bus not a shuttle. Really knowledgeable guide who pointed out places of interest on the way and provided great information at the site. When we reached the base of the mountain we switched to other full size buses which made their winding way up the mountain. At the top we walked into the mountain where there was a large polished brass elevator, which the guide informed us could hold about 50 people, but because Hitler was claustrophobic he only allowed 3 or 4 others and the highly polished brass made the space seem bigger. Fortunately the weather was good and not cloudy. They close this tour in Oct or Nov depending on the weather. At the top the view was phenomenal. The building is stone on the outside with beautiful woodwork inside. There is a restaurant inside also. Outside there is a huge patio, places to sit and a small hut where you can get hot chocolate and souvenirs.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Kathryn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A great day out. Our guide, Peter and driver, Nico were very helpful and most entertaining. The jokes may be bad but we never stopped laughing. Definitely would recommend these guys. We were very luck as it had snowed the day before and everywhere looked beautiful

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

mcronin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Well organized and informative. A good combination tour to see Salzburg and the Sound of Music highlights.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

HELOISA P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Uma experiência maravilhosa .... Ana, uma estudante de musica em Salzburgo, foi uma guia entusiasmada e interessante.
Nevou forte o dia todo e o ônibus viajou com segurança por estradas internas cobertas de neve graças ao motorista Alex! Estes dois tornaram o que poderia ter sido um desastre por causa da nevasca literal e figuradamente numa lembrança adorável.
Obrigada, obrigada, obrigada Alex e Ana e ela canta muito bem....

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Wendy G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

As a huge fan of the Sound of Music I did enjoy the tour. Peter the tour guide was great. The sing along on the bus would have been more memorable if all passengers got involved.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Helena J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was a light hearted look at the Sound of Music, the guide we had was funny and knowledgeable and made the whole experience. However, the only thing I think needs to change was that on the New Years Eve tour,the 2.00pm tour that people be aware that Mondsee closes early and therefore most of the shops were shut. The church was beautiful there was also a service going on, so you could not get to have a walk around the Church also there was no time for a drink and something to eat as the cafe was closing early. I am sure that if it had not been New Years Eve we would have had time for something to drink and eat. There was plenty of singing and wonderful views. I do recommend that you make this part of your trip to Salzburg.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Helena J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

I always love the hop on hop off bus tours and we always take them as it gives you a chance to tour the whole city, place etc and then you decide where you want to focus your visits on etc. The bus was clean and there was plenty to see with guided information via headphones.
Salzburg is not that big but it is beautiful. Maybe the bus drivers could be a little bit more sociable and welcoming. I understand there could be a language barrier but still, you felt ignored but that could just be me. Still always recommend that you use these buses in unfamiliar places. Good value for money too.

Doing what: Salzburg Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Linda M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Really good tour. Very informed tour guide and nice trip out to Mondsi. Great way to spend a day

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

David B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Historical walking tour was great. Tour of Old Salzburg was led by an excellent guide who was informative and entertaining. Sound of Music Tour gives a lot of behind the scenes information regarding how and where the film was shot. If you want to know Hollywood secrets, you will enjoy the tour. If you love the magic of the movie, you may be disappointed.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

Elia T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

A lot of the sights are a drive by only, very disappointing

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Milind K S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

GRAHAM H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great fun - very enjoyable. Peter excellent guide

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Antonella C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Had a blast! if you're a fan of the movie -- just book and enjoy! Lovely places to see and you'll get to know details about the making of the movie which I personally wouldn't have got to know otherwise!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Antonella C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Informative!

Doing what: Salzburg Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

SYLVIA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is a well organized trip, and the guides knowledge was fantastic, and the singing on the bus the best!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Julie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A beautiful room filled with wonderful music. Highly professional musicians and the soloist was outstanding. Excellent value for money in a lovely venue. A highlight of our visit to Salzburg.

Doing what: Schloss Mirabell Classical Music Concert in Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message