It’s no surprise that Salzburg has been such a draw for tourists over the last several hundred years. Sitting on the Salzach River and a stone’s throw away from the Bavarian Alps, the local geography is breathtaking. But it’s not just the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2835 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Milind K S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Jill G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The guide was enthusiastic and interesting.
All major sites covered.
We had a great time.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful trip. fantastic guide. loved it.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

shelley.sneed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is my favorite movie of all time. It was outstanding to see the placed it was filmed. Our tour guide was great and she even led some singing. This is a must-do tour in Salzburg.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Annie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was an amazing experience.Me and family thoroughly enjoyed the tour.Mr.Walters our guide was a lovely person and took extra efforts to make sure we could cover everything.My 5 year old daughter really enjoyed his company.
It is a must if you visit Salzburg.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Anne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour! It was wonderful to get out of Salzburg to see the mountains and other sites associated with the movie. Highly recommend!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

IAN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

excellent but alpine for always a risk

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

INGRID S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful experience! very well guided and very friendly staff

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

MARCIA R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour experience!! We visited several spots of where the film was recorded, David the tour guide was amazing and an expert on the Sound of Music history, we got to sing along the musics on the bus, definitely try the Apfelstrudel!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Larry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

it was a great tour. the guide was excellent and very funny. We really enjoyed it.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Erin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Natasha was a lot of fun and the tour took you to some beautiful areas.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

ERin N

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This tour was extremely cute, visiting all the filming locations! The guide really made the tour fantastic though! If you are a sound of music lover, then you just have to do this tour! And there was lots of other beautiful scenery along the way which they stopped and showed us and they were knowledgable on all things austria!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Lillian C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

the trip was interesting...the tour leader went into detail ..unfortunately it was a rainy day but still we loved the snow falling on us

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Teresa M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The day that we booked the tour was canceled due to road conditions, but so glad that we opted to stay in Salzburg longer the next day and take the tour. Walter was a great guide and the weather was beautiful. I personally would have like to stay in Berchtesgaden for more than the hour lunch stop. 1.5-2 hours would have been perfect to eat and then explore a bit, maybe shorten the time at Eagles Nest by 30 minutes.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Alexandra S

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

This tour can easily be made a 2 hrs rather than stratched to 4 hrs, cute but not more than that

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Jon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great trip, professional staff and easy logistics.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Jason L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fun filled day seeing the sights and hearing the story of The Sound of Music. Incredible tour guide as well as coach driver. Would highly recommend!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Mark W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

An awesome sightseeing opportunity - would have liked more time, however - it was not possible to do the photography AND have a relaxing drink at the top.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

karen k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

SO glad we booked this tour. Carlos, the tour guide, was entertaining and very knowledgeable. Breathtaking views. You won't be disappointed

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Terri A V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour was very well organised - big group on bus and multi-lingual. Guide was fantastic, very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

IronHorse

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Even if the weather unexpectedly became rainy, foggy, and cold, the tour was worth it's historical value. Our tour guide explained it's place in history and later showed the beauty of the quaint town of Berchtesgaden where we had lunch. The weather cleared up just before our coach descended the mountain and it afforded us the splendor of the view. Great tour especially for history buffs.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Jonathan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fun 1/2 day tour away from Salzburg. The only thing is they combine 2 tours on the bus Salt Mines and Eagle's Nest that can cause confusion. The bus drops off the Eagle's Nest tour at their gathering point, and then continues on to Berchtesgarden for the Salt Mines Tour. This tour includes a mini train ride and 2 slides deep within the mountain - all kids would enjoy this part.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

jenna f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour! Start out with a good walking tour, Natasha was great! Then get on a bus and go up into the mountains...great tour for anyone who loves the movie! Outstanding views of the lakes and mountains!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great time. Accomodations


Great time and hotel super.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

kimhayes001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. David, our tour guide was informative and knowledgeable, humourous and not such a bad singer sometimes a little off key but overall, a very pleasant chap whose english was superb perhaps that was because he was a pom. Even though our tour was drenched in Salzburg's autumn rains, all the occupants of the bus clambered greedily together to get the next installment of David dissertations at each stop along the Sound of Music journey through the city and the alps. Such a delightful road trip, a memory to last a life time. Recommend this tour to all nations - even for the German and Austrians to partake of a history lesson in movie making and how to provide and excellent tour. As a byway, you can even purchase a local bier from Gustoff, the bus driver man and you hopefully may get to view a nude statue of Gustoff in his younger years along the journey through the alps.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message