It’s no surprise that Salzburg has been such a draw for tourists over the last several hundred years. Sitting on the Salzach River and a stone’s throw away from the Bavarian Alps, the local geography is breathtaking. But it’s not just the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2660 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful tour. Terrific bus driver and absolutely wonderful tour guide. I especially loved the drive out to Montsee to visit the wedding church. The drive out there was really spectacular. The Alps are just gorgeous. Wow. Worth taking this tour for sure.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Thank you to this tour company for crafting me a special one-person tour since my boat came into port that morning in Linz late, causing me to miss the earlier train to Salzburg, causing me to miss my 11 a.m. tour time. But the tour company sent me along with my own special tour guide who helped me salvage what was left of this tour. Viator and companies who work with Viator have never let me down customer-service wise. That's why I continue booking tours with them wherever I travel. Thanks, Viator.

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

Vicki G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Love this tour!!! Really enjoyed the seeing the sights from the movie and being able to sing all my favourite songs in the sing-a-long.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

Patricia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My Mom and I thoroughly enjoyed our tour. Our guide, Peter, was entertaining and informative. Our bus driver Niko was pleasant and a good driver. The scenes we visited were amazing especially from the top of the hill looking down into the valley and the lake. Breathtaking. St Michael's church was exquisite. Would highly recommend this tour to any of my friends traveling to Salzburg. Salburg itself was beautiful. The history, the small streets and great eating would bring me back.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Valerie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was excellent.......my daughter and I took my three teenage grandchildren. Our guide was Peter. He was very knowledgable and informative and made the whole experience so much better than if we had just visited the places on our own. The only regret was that we could have spent longer at most of the stops......so, another visit to Salzburg , hopefully.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Irene P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing and informative trip. I could not fault this trip at all from start to finish it was very informative. The guide, Dave, knew the film and its location sets inside out. I thoroughly recommend it to all Sound of Music lovers.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Veronica G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Extremely knowledgeable guide. Really kept us informed! Wonderful tour!!

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

joankarnas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful scenery, enjoyed having early booking to avoid the crowds. Walter was a lot of fun!

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Dennis E United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

How does a bus full of people singing to the Sound of Music soundtrack on CD sound? While traveling to the many sites where filming took place and learning about the secrets in the movie, the songs brought back many memories of this wonderful musical. If you are a fan of this film, this tour is an absolute must do.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Selena C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The one reason why I went to Salzburg was because of this tour, and boy did it pay off! Actually Salzburg ended up being the highlight to my Eurotrip despite the constant heavy rain - I was soaked for two straight whole days! but it was well worth it. Our guide was very animated and fun which was a must given the rather gloomy weather. We checked out the famous gazebo, the lake with the house, drove through the beautiful mountains and sang along me: really loudly to the soundtrack. Overall, I'd do it again in a heartbeat...sans rain!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Ana Maria B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We loved the tour!!! We went to all the sites where the movie was filmed and also outside Salzburg to the mountains, gorgeous views, then to Montsee a little town where they filmed the wedding, very nice!!!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Richard Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an amazing tour! Our guide made this tour a wonderful experience!!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Sarah R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic atmosphere and information about the movie and locations. Had lots of fun driving around looking at all the film sites! The tour guide was great and enthusiastic!!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

Clare W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent guide, very helpful and infomative

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Deven H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Efficient and worthwhile tour.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Justin W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour. The tour guide will get you signing. We saw a lot of the places where the film was made, and learnt some of the history of the actual family. Good fun, excellent sights

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Shirley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Walter our guide was great. He kept all of laughing with jokes. Was extremely knowledgeable in the history of the Eagles Nest. We would want him for our next trip.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Daniel K United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Was a lot of fun! Loved it!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

ajb315

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fun with a capital F. If you are a Sounf of Music fan you will love this tour. Especially if you love to sing out loud.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Kirsty M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great introduction to an amazing city.

Doing what: Salzburg Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Ed T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. It was interesting to see Hitlers Eagles Nest, to think it was his place to hold meetings with other high ranking Nazi's to determine the plans of the war. Original rooms, tunnel, elevator, very good. It was great to have time to take the walk and view the spectacular vistas. The time allowed to visit Bechengaden wrong spelling was nice also, this is a great little town, lots of amenities.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Randy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved! Even if you don't like the movie, the scenery and the stop in beautiful Mondsee would be worth the price of this trip. If you are a fan of Sound of Music, this is definitely your tour! Little known facts about the movie were shared including funny stories about Gretl falling in the lake and then being spoiled the remainder of the shoot: I highly recommend this tour for movie fans and fans of beautiful scenery!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Amy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is just the best concert I've been to! We booked very early and got the first seat in the middle. Such a great chance to see that the musicians enjoyed playing their parts A LOT!! And every one was just SOOO into the music. I went to different concerts in East Europe and this is definitely the best experience I've ever had.

Just a point to note for tourists like me, to clap hands at the right time, because the end of a movement may not signal the end of the entire song.

Just a must to go for music lovers if you visit Salzburg.

Doing what: Schloss Mirabell Classical Music Concert in Salzburg

MJ

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Barbara and Otto were fantastic. Barbara was very knowledgeable and Otto was a fearless driver. We enjoyed singing and laughing throughout the tour.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Dana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tours! We loved the walking tour for the history and being able to walk around to all the different places and we loved the Sound of Music tour! Barbara our tour guide gave us so much information and was so much fun! We had a fantastic day!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message