It’s no surprise that Salzburg has been such a draw for tourists over the last several hundred years. Sitting on the Salzach River and a stone’s throw away from the Bavarian Alps, the local geography is breathtaking. But it’s not just the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2598 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Daniel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved it. David the tour guide was fantastic!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Packed a great deal in combined with an entertaining and informative guide.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Del H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Salzburg Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Jacqui C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful experience, our guide was so entertaining and the locations were excellent to visit - lots of sights around beautiful Salzburg as well as movie locations. Along the way we learnt lots about the making of the movie, and the history of the Von Trapps and Salzburg too. Our family of 5 had a ball!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Sonya W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this tour. Almost as much as the movie!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Les O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic day! Our two mothers who we took on the tour had tears of joy on more than one occassion. Our tour leader Christal was fantastic and gave us a great commentary on the movie and the true story of the Von Trapp family. Very picturesque scenery including a lovely lunch stop at Mondsee and a visit to the church that was used in the movie for the wedding. On the way back Christal led the bus in singing the sound of music tunes. One of the most memorable days on our whole trip.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Leslie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Otto rules! He was a great tour guide: informed, engaging and hilarious!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Ann P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Well worth every penny. Peter our guide was hilarious and very informative too! One point to note though, if you see a Sound of Music bus parked in the bus station area, that and #39;s NOT where you get on! Keep walking until you are opposite the church and be prepared to queue.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is an excellent excursion, perfect for all ages. Everything from the protective overalls to the train ride in the narrow tunnels to the huge slides makes this a fun activity. Also, the program is a true educational experience. Our guide was informative and had a wonderful sense of humor.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

bbdare628

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We loved this tour! Our walking guide, Maria, was wonderful! And then our guide, Urie, for the Sound of Music bus tour was fantastic! He was funny and informative. He even had the whole bus sing Happy Birthday to my hubby, who was 60 that day and then he even san and #34;I am 60, going on 70 and #34;:-)

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

rick United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour! Peter, our tour guide was very entertaining and Otto, the driver was very good. Very informative about the movie and Salzburg.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Ajsa India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Terrific...!!! Carlos the guide knew the region in and out.. Beautiful landscape, lovely weather, gorgeous small towns loaded with history.. The salt mine tour is certainly the highlight.. A very nice use of technology.. A must do.. The drive itself is quite giving..

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Kimberly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was excellent and the guides on both parts of the trip were excellent

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

Jennifer v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Richard R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really fun and enjoyable.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Shani W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was really fun and the guide was really engaging. We really enjoyed the trip up to Mondsee. The views were amazing.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Ashbeth I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

When we decided to go to Europe, my husband let the kids set the itinerary. My 15 year old daughter chose Salzburg specifically for this experience and she was not disappointed! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, friendly, and spoke excellent English having lived in the States. He told us lots of interesting things not only about the movie and the sites, but also about the real Von Trapp family, including those still living.

The tour itself was a dream for my daughter. We saw so many sights from the movie and learned things about the filming that we never knew. The highlights for my daughter were the gazebo, the church where they got married which was open to tour, and Mirabell Gardens including the do re mi steps. We went other places and drove past many other sites that aren't open to tour. Our only disappointment was that the people on our tour bus didn't sing along to the songs as we heard happens on many tours. Oh well, we did anyway.

About ten days after we took the tour, on our long flight home, my daughter watched the movie again and kept poking me, Mom! We saw that! We did, indeed. If you love the movie, take the tour. You won't be disappointed.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

kevin m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was everything we wanted it to be and more! If you are a Sound of Music fan, do not miss this tour! Our tour guide was funny and very informative. We got a bird and #39;s eye view of Salzburg, and heard about different behind-the-scenes shenanigans that went on during filming. Loved it!!!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Sean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing! The ability to skip the line was great and really enhanced the entire outing. The bus ride up was also such an experience. Our guide Peter was very knowledgable, pleasant and entertaining. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

tour was a lot of fun, with a very knowledgeable and amusing guide. We especially enjoyed the bus trip to some of the outlying venues where the movie was filmed. The singing on the bus was pretty restrained, which was fine with us - just enough to bring back memories of the movie scenes.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic trip full of fun and information.Our tour guide was wonderful and cracking jokes all day long.
Well worth the money, highly recommended.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message