Few movies are more iconic—or more treasured—than The Sound of Music . Travelers who love this classic film can find family adventures that bring them up close to the sites of Salzburg on one of these incredible tours.  The hills will come ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2399 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sandra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour was a lot of fun. Unfortunately we had a very rainy and cold day but we made the best of it and the tour guide was very upbeat and a lot of fun. Even in the rain the sights were magnificent and we learned a lot about the movie, how it was made and all the location secrets. All in all, I would recommend this tour to anyone who is a Sound of Music fan. If we had good weather it would have been spectacular! A great way to spend 4 hours!!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Jim G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great and atmospheric trip to take in December. Wintery christmas feel everywhere with the markets on. The tour was fun and beautiful sites to visit. Great singing all the way!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Charles S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Great fun, shame the weather was poor. David our guide as great.would recommend this tour.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Natalia K

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

So I think the company needs to tell people who have booked this tour what they will not be seeing on the tour. I saved all the Sound of Music Salzburg sites for the tour, thinking they would be part of it, and the bus only stopped to point things out rather than letting us go out and see them and take photos. I saved the tour for the second day of my trip and I was leaving the next day so I had no chance to actually see the Abbey, cemetery, or festival location, because it was dark and everything was closed. Please let the people know what they have to see on their own.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Cheryl B

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Our tour guide was very good and it was fun to learn the difference between fact and fiction. A very rainy day really dampened the tour experience, though pun intended and I would not recommend the tour if you can't get out of the bus.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Laura P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a perfect day in Salzburg! My husband and I didn't want to be herded around like cattle on the big 'Sound of Music' bus although that sounds fun if you have kids and want group sing-alongs. We were interested in some of the SOM attractions, but we are not hard-core fans of the movie. It was nice to be able to pace the day to our liking. Thomas was a wonderful tour guide. He picked us up at our hotel in a nice Mercedes in the morning and took us over to Schloss Leopoldskron for breakfast. The views and pictures there were fabulous. There were some gorgeous scenic views on our drive and Thomas was nice enough to pull over and let me take some pictures. That would never have happened on a big group tour. My favorite part was being able to get gorgeous pictures without tons of tourists in the background. TIP: If you are prone to getting car sick, you might want to take something for that problem before the trip. Thomas was a great driver, but the roads are winding.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'The Sound of Music' Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

Adrian R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A well organised, informative and highly enteratining tour!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

c.peters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely loved this tour - our guide and driver were fabulous. We were picked up at our hotel on time and taken to meet the coach in Salzburg city centre. We went to see the lake and back of the house used in the movie, then on to see the house used for the frontage. Then to the park where the famous gazebo is now situated - of course a wee song of 'You are 16' had to be sung and then one of our group proposed to his girlfriend at the gazebo and she said 'Yes' - so romantic. A drive round by Nonberg Abbey and then up into the mountains to Mondsee to see the church where the wedding took place. A great day out with video playing on the bus and singalong to our favourite Sound of Music songs. Loved every minute and would highly recommend.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Silvana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A great day trip- beautiful countryside and an entertaining tour guide and bus driver.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Lorna P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I'm writing this review for my wife. I was dragged along on this tour because it was what my wife wanted to do. However, I can honestly say I had a great time. The guide Peter was entertaining, although providing lots of information and details for the fans he pitched his commentary to allow for the fact that some of us were not fans. There was humour, and a bit of showmanship, and yes there was singing on the bus. I'm still not a fan of the movie, but don't worry guys this wont be the dull painful day you might expect - they even sell beer on the bus !

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Juan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was great and our guide made it even more enjoyable, the singing on the bus made it even more fun for us Sound of Music fans. They were very punctual, the bus was very clean and comfortable. The tour was very informative and we saw beautiful scenery. What we were able to see of the Sound of Music was excellent. I recommend it.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Charles M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A wonderful trip to see many locations from the filming. Any fan will love this tour!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Stephen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

such fun - even if you are not a fan of the film it was a great tour - luckily I was a fan of the film

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Kathryn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A great day out. Our guide, Peter and driver, Nico were very helpful and most entertaining. The jokes may be bad but we never stopped laughing. Definitely would recommend these guys. We were very luck as it had snowed the day before and everywhere looked beautiful

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

mcronin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Well organized and informative. A good combination tour to see Salzburg and the Sound of Music highlights.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

HELOISA P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Uma experiência maravilhosa .... Ana, uma estudante de musica em Salzburgo, foi uma guia entusiasmada e interessante.
Nevou forte o dia todo e o ônibus viajou com segurança por estradas internas cobertas de neve graças ao motorista Alex! Estes dois tornaram o que poderia ter sido um desastre por causa da nevasca literal e figuradamente numa lembrança adorável.
Obrigada, obrigada, obrigada Alex e Ana e ela canta muito bem....

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Kristy V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour. At first, I thought it was going to be a bit cheesy but honestly both my daughter and I had the best time! As a matter of fact, I actually think this was the highlight of our entire vacation. Go! It's worth it! The bus was warm and comfortable. The tour guide was super funny Peter I think. The locations were gorgeous. Definitely worth your time and money.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Ian R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

If you love the Movie, you'll love this tour. It takes to many places you can relate to from the movie. Well worth the trip to Salzburg!!

Doing what: Original Sound of Music Private Tour

Rebecca T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Peter our guide and Nico our driver were a great duo. They made the trip extra entertaining. The tour itself ran smoothly.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Colin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great day out,

Loads of fun in the salt mines and a wee Brucie bonus being taken out to Ober Salzburg and a view of the Eagles Nest before it :- Carlos the guide was VERY knowledgeable, highly impressive knowledge of the mines and even more so the history of Ober Salzburg

Enjoyed the Sound of Music tour too, very good guide in Toni and lots of memorable landmarks visited.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Wendy G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

As a huge fan of the Sound of Music I did enjoy the tour. Peter the tour guide was great. The sing along on the bus would have been more memorable if all passengers got involved.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Helena J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was a light hearted look at the Sound of Music, the guide we had was funny and knowledgeable and made the whole experience. However, the only thing I think needs to change was that on the New Years Eve tour,the 2.00pm tour that people be aware that Mondsee closes early and therefore most of the shops were shut. The church was beautiful there was also a service going on, so you could not get to have a walk around the Church also there was no time for a drink and something to eat as the cafe was closing early. I am sure that if it had not been New Years Eve we would have had time for something to drink and eat. There was plenty of singing and wonderful views. I do recommend that you make this part of your trip to Salzburg.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Linda M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Really good tour. Very informed tour guide and nice trip out to Mondsi. Great way to spend a day

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Fionablossom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

A lovely trip down memory lane for those that enjoyed the movie and music.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message