Few movies are more iconic—or more treasured—than The Sound of Music . Travelers who love this classic film can find family adventures that bring them up close to the sites of Salzburg on one of these incredible tours.  The hills will come ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2239 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful tour. Terrific bus driver and absolutely wonderful tour guide. I especially loved the drive out to Montsee to visit the wedding church. The drive out there was really spectacular. The Alps are just gorgeous. Wow. Worth taking this tour for sure.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Vicki G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Love this tour!!! Really enjoyed the seeing the sights from the movie and being able to sing all my favourite songs in the sing-a-long.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

Patricia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My Mom and I thoroughly enjoyed our tour. Our guide, Peter, was entertaining and informative. Our bus driver Niko was pleasant and a good driver. The scenes we visited were amazing especially from the top of the hill looking down into the valley and the lake. Breathtaking. St Michael's church was exquisite. Would highly recommend this tour to any of my friends traveling to Salzburg. Salburg itself was beautiful. The history, the small streets and great eating would bring me back.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Valerie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was excellent.......my daughter and I took my three teenage grandchildren. Our guide was Peter. He was very knowledgable and informative and made the whole experience so much better than if we had just visited the places on our own. The only regret was that we could have spent longer at most of the stops......so, another visit to Salzburg , hopefully.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Irene P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing and informative trip. I could not fault this trip at all from start to finish it was very informative. The guide, Dave, knew the film and its location sets inside out. I thoroughly recommend it to all Sound of Music lovers.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Dennis E United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

How does a bus full of people singing to the Sound of Music soundtrack on CD sound? While traveling to the many sites where filming took place and learning about the secrets in the movie, the songs brought back many memories of this wonderful musical. If you are a fan of this film, this tour is an absolute must do.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Selena C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The one reason why I went to Salzburg was because of this tour, and boy did it pay off! Actually Salzburg ended up being the highlight to my Eurotrip despite the constant heavy rain - I was soaked for two straight whole days! but it was well worth it. Our guide was very animated and fun which was a must given the rather gloomy weather. We checked out the famous gazebo, the lake with the house, drove through the beautiful mountains and sang along me: really loudly to the soundtrack. Overall, I'd do it again in a heartbeat...sans rain!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Ana Maria B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We loved the tour!!! We went to all the sites where the movie was filmed and also outside Salzburg to the mountains, gorgeous views, then to Montsee a little town where they filmed the wedding, very nice!!!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Richard Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an amazing tour! Our guide made this tour a wonderful experience!!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Sarah R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic atmosphere and information about the movie and locations. Had lots of fun driving around looking at all the film sites! The tour guide was great and enthusiastic!!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

Clare W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent guide, very helpful and infomative

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Justin W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour. The tour guide will get you signing. We saw a lot of the places where the film was made, and learnt some of the history of the actual family. Good fun, excellent sights

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an awesome tour, got to see many of the sights of the Sound of Music. Anna, our tour guide was phenomenal. We enjoyed singing all the tunes, and especially liked the lakes part of the tour

Doing what: Original Sound of Music Private Tour

Deborah W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

For any lover of this film, the tour is perfect. You will not watch the film in the same way again. Our tour guide Ana was so hospitable and informative. She helped to take care of our individual needs and made us feel quite at home in Salzburg and surrounding areas.

Doing what: Original Sound of Music Private Tour

Daniel K United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Was a lot of fun! Loved it!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

ajb315

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fun with a capital F. If you are a Sounf of Music fan you will love this tour. Especially if you love to sing out loud.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Randy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved! Even if you don't like the movie, the scenery and the stop in beautiful Mondsee would be worth the price of this trip. If you are a fan of Sound of Music, this is definitely your tour! Little known facts about the movie were shared including funny stories about Gretl falling in the lake and then being spoiled the remainder of the shoot: I highly recommend this tour for movie fans and fans of beautiful scenery!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

MJ

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Barbara and Otto were fantastic. Barbara was very knowledgeable and Otto was a fearless driver. We enjoyed singing and laughing throughout the tour.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Dana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tours! We loved the walking tour for the history and being able to walk around to all the different places and we loved the Sound of Music tour! Barbara our tour guide gave us so much information and was so much fun! We had a fantastic day!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

Patricia A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a great 1/2 day tour!! Our guide David was so much fun- he told us lots of interesting facts about the filming of the Sound of Music while touring the different locations throughout Salzburg and the surrounding country side. David also gave us tips for other attractions in the city! I would highly recommend this tour to any fan of the movie!! The bus sing along was fun for all!!!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Jonathan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Good feel good tour. Guide was very knowledgeable and was able to get the majority on the tour involved.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Lynne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I had no idea how many people around the world love the Sound of Music just like I do. This tour took us around to several of the locations within Salzburg that were used as filming locations as well as a beautiful drive in the Austrian countryside with stops in the Lake district which was also used throughout the film. We sang along with the music CD which was really fun. Our guide, Peter, was very knowledgeable about the film as well as Salzburg history in general and had a great sense of humor.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Jennifer T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a lot of fun. Anna and Otto showed us a good time, and we saw a lot despite the rain and traffic. We didn't see old Salzburg on the tour, but it was a short walk afterward. Good tour even if you don't know the movie -- the scenery was spectacular.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Anthony O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour, wonderful guide who even waited 20 mins for us as we went to the wrong area to meet.

Doing what: Original Sound of Music Private Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message