Few movies are more iconic—or more treasured—than The Sound of Music . Travelers who love this classic film can find family adventures that bring them up close to the sites of Salzburg on one of these incredible tours.  The hills will come ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2274 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Katrina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was excellent!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Abhijeet K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Superb tour. I will give all credit to the host and guide Anna. Who made the tour interesting and fun. Its a must do tour in Salzburg. The time is a bit less to cover all the places. I would suggest spending some time on your own at lake later on.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Loriann M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved this combo trip day tour. We only had a short time to visit Salzburg and we packed 2 great tours into 1 day. We met up with the tour guide at Mirabelle Platz. Viator group staff is prompt and courteous. Our tour guide was Johannes who kept us on schedule and had a great sense of rumor. The Salt Mines are a fun, interesting tour. Everyone slips on official salt miner coveralls, takes a little train into the salt mine for a few minutes claustrophobics may get a little sketched but the train moves moderately so arriving at a platform where one can take the wooden slide down keep hands on body - not holding the rail - don't forget to smile for the camera or one can walk/carry little ones down the pathway to arrive at the next level where the narrative part of the tour really begins. Translation devices for English, Spanish and Italian ? are available. After walking and seeing vintage salt mine machines and pictures, a little boat is taken across a small 'lake' with a show of lights referring to salt creation. It's cool. It's really a splendid tour and fun for the whole family. It's a bit chilly in the mines and walking shoes are best. We had a great time! Highly recommend. In the afternoon, it was time for the Sound of Music tour. LOVED IT. We had a different tour guide this time who had a fun sense of rumor Peter. If you aren't knowledgeable about The Sound of Music movie, you will either believe everyone is knockers or you will have fun listening to those of us who love to sing along with the soundtrack! We learned that the other tour guide Ana is a professional singer, so you may really get to sing a lot on her tour. You will definitely enjoy the drive and history...perhaps even get motivated to learn about the Von Trapp family it is an interesting story after all! The scenery is beautiful - hopefully you can see it on a sunny, warm day like we did. Highly recommend, we felt we got our money's worth. We enjoyed every minute of it.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

jd.smith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an excellent tour.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

blan2tc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Good to do on your first day as it helps you to find your feet. Lady tour guide was excellent and showed us all where was good to eat.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

Glenn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved our tour. The tour guide Peter made the day fun and most enjoyable.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

monique_cook Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely all we thought it would be and more, all thanks to our fabulous tour guide

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

lsumom1973

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

If you love the movie, you must take this tour! Luckily we were in Salzburg on a beautiful sunny day, which made all the sites even more magical. Just be prepared for lots of singing along the way! A quick stop for apple strudel and coffee in Mondsee near the end of the tour was an added delight. This is a must for any Sound of Music fan!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Fred M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

An absolutely fantastic experience. We were doing a tour of Northern Austria ourselves and so for the mostpart we sorted ourselves with days out however we wanted to ensure we saw all of the sights for the Sound of Music and so decided a tour with a guide was the best way to do it. We were certainly not disappointed at all. Our tour guide was very funny and so informative. We learnt so much about the film, the original Von Trapps and other intriguing facts as well including the fact that not many Austrians know about the Sound of Music! We visited all of the relevant sights with an hour stop in Mondsee where we could walk round the Church where they filmed the wedding scene and also look at the gift shops. We had Sound of Music songs on the coach as well as a documentary video on the way back. An absolute must for any Sound of Music fan!

We knew we wanted to see the salt mines and so it was wonderful to find a deal where the salt mines were included in the Sound of Music tour. Our guide was brilliant and very funny. We had a wonderful tour round the Bavarian mountains first remember to bring your passports for travelling into Germany as not everyone remembered although we were lucky not to be stopped! and were then dropped off at the Salt Mine where we had a thrilling train ride, boat ride and whizzed down two massive slides which was enormous fun. The salt mines tour was in both German and English and was just so interesting. Another must. We were given an hour in a local town in Germany where we enjoyed top-notch Apple Strudel! This combined tour is an absolute must.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

lynndomachowski

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was great- the guide was so enthusatic she made the whole tour fun. I would recommend this tour to anyone that is a fan of the movie !!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

rsrhea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This trip was excellent

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

suenigel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great day, lovely scenery, shame the cd was scratched and we couldn't sing on tge way.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

anne_mobile

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Good fun, knowledgeable guide David

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Hilary M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a fun evening but it would have helped if we had been given the correct time by Viator.
When we arrived at 7 pm to pick up our tickets for a 7.30 start as instructed by Viator we were told that the whole audience had been waiting for us as they were waiting to serve the soup. Everyone else on our table had been told to be there by 6.30

Doing what: The Sound of Salzburg Show with Optional Dinner

Margaret United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Edward L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Tour guide was really the best

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Lawrence L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Nice tour that takes you to the majority of the places associated with the film. Guide and bus driver were both good and knowledgable about the film. This is the second time that we took the tour and not much changed. Do it once and enjoy it!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

jgjaltema

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We enjoyed the walking tour it was informative and the guide was very good and very cheerful. The only downside and we have come across this before was that the guide was required to speak in two languages English and German. At some points she asked the English group to move on and wait while she spoke with the Germans. This all takes time and we found ourselves waiting to much. A lot more could be shown spoken about if the tour is in one language only.
The Original Sound of Music Tour was very good and very worth while doing. We both enjoyed it very much and it was great to see the spots from the movie that we all remembered so well.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

David R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The walking tour was okay. The bus tour to the site of the filming was wonderful. The scenery was great and our tour director, David, was outstanding as led the bus loaded with passengers willing to sing the songs from the Sound of Music.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

Elizabeth F Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We very much enjoyed our Sound of Music tour. Since we were holidaying without a car, one of the advantages of the tour was that it took us through some of the beautiful countryside outside Salzburg.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

tt4now2

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

I would doubt that I would take this two part tour again. Initially, we went on a roughly 2 1/2 hr walking tour, with a large group of primarily English speaking customers. There were 4 German speaking people, who seemed to take up a majority of the guide's I can't even recall her name time and it seemed that she catered to these few people. The tour was impersonal although we did see some Sound of Music sights. One Star rating

The second part of the tour, by bus, was with a guide named Anna. We lucked out by having an actual professional singer as our guide. Instead of listening to a recorded soundtrack, she truly entertained us. The sights on this portion of the tour were what we had in mind, although there was much repetition from the initial walking tour. Beautiful scenery. 4 star rating for this part.

My recommendation, grab your own tour book, save some money and skip the walking tour. Overall rating 3 stars.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

Vicky M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Overall I was quite disappointed with this tour as there were way too many people on the bus vs my expectation of a Viator tour which in the past was a small van. You are better off just going to Salzburg and go directly to Panoramic tours to book this tour and sit with everyone else on the coach vs paying the additional Viator fees! The tour itself was quite good predominantly thanks to David the amazing tour guide at Panoramic tours!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Jian X

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The tour was ok . The tour guide was pretty good. But the waiting to board to the bus was a little mass. The patrol was not well organized.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

Chris M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The pianist and the four singers were good. The organisation was horrendous. Venue changed without telling us, etc. So bad, it was good!

Doing what: The Sound of Salzburg Show with Optional Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message