Few movies are more iconic—or more treasured—than The Sound of Music . Travelers who love this classic film can find family adventures that bring them up close to the sites of Salzburg on one of these incredible tours.  The hills will come ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2198 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Daniel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved it. David the tour guide was fantastic!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Bruce B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Michele was fun and made it an enjoyable experience

Doing what: Original Sound of Music Private Tour

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Packed a great deal in combined with an entertaining and informative guide.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Jacqui C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful experience, our guide was so entertaining and the locations were excellent to visit - lots of sights around beautiful Salzburg as well as movie locations. Along the way we learnt lots about the making of the movie, and the history of the Von Trapps and Salzburg too. Our family of 5 had a ball!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Sonya W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this tour. Almost as much as the movie!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Alisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great and we loved that it was just our family and tour guide. We were able to see a lot!

Doing what: Original Sound of Music Private Tour

Les O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic day! Our two mothers who we took on the tour had tears of joy on more than one occassion. Our tour leader Christal was fantastic and gave us a great commentary on the movie and the true story of the Von Trapp family. Very picturesque scenery including a lovely lunch stop at Mondsee and a visit to the church that was used in the movie for the wedding. On the way back Christal led the bus in singing the sound of music tunes. One of the most memorable days on our whole trip.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Leslie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Otto rules! He was a great tour guide: informed, engaging and hilarious!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Ann P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Well worth every penny. Peter our guide was hilarious and very informative too! One point to note though, if you see a Sound of Music bus parked in the bus station area, that and #39;s NOT where you get on! Keep walking until you are opposite the church and be prepared to queue.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

bbdare628

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We loved this tour! Our walking guide, Maria, was wonderful! And then our guide, Urie, for the Sound of Music bus tour was fantastic! He was funny and informative. He even had the whole bus sing Happy Birthday to my hubby, who was 60 that day and then he even san and #34;I am 60, going on 70 and #34;:-)

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

rick United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour! Peter, our tour guide was very entertaining and Otto, the driver was very good. Very informative about the movie and Salzburg.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Anne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

So enjoyable!!! We loved the afternoon and Thomas was a superb guide.

Doing what: Original Sound of Music Private Tour

Kimberly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was excellent and the guides on both parts of the trip were excellent

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

Jennifer v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Richard R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really fun and enjoyable.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Shani W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was really fun and the guide was really engaging. We really enjoyed the trip up to Mondsee. The views were amazing.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Ashbeth I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

When we decided to go to Europe, my husband let the kids set the itinerary. My 15 year old daughter chose Salzburg specifically for this experience and she was not disappointed! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, friendly, and spoke excellent English having lived in the States. He told us lots of interesting things not only about the movie and the sites, but also about the real Von Trapp family, including those still living.

The tour itself was a dream for my daughter. We saw so many sights from the movie and learned things about the filming that we never knew. The highlights for my daughter were the gazebo, the church where they got married which was open to tour, and Mirabell Gardens including the do re mi steps. We went other places and drove past many other sites that aren't open to tour. Our only disappointment was that the people on our tour bus didn't sing along to the songs as we heard happens on many tours. Oh well, we did anyway.

About ten days after we took the tour, on our long flight home, my daughter watched the movie again and kept poking me, Mom! We saw that! We did, indeed. If you love the movie, take the tour. You won't be disappointed.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

kevin m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was everything we wanted it to be and more! If you are a Sound of Music fan, do not miss this tour! Our tour guide was funny and very informative. We got a bird and #39;s eye view of Salzburg, and heard about different behind-the-scenes shenanigans that went on during filming. Loved it!!!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

tour was a lot of fun, with a very knowledgeable and amusing guide. We especially enjoyed the bus trip to some of the outlying venues where the movie was filmed. The singing on the bus was pretty restrained, which was fine with us - just enough to bring back memories of the movie scenes.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic trip full of fun and information.Our tour guide was wonderful and cracking jokes all day long.
Well worth the money, highly recommended.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Mitchell P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was fantastic. This makes or breaks the tour. I have heard they are all good - but we missed our bus at one of the stops and had to get on the second bus. Our first guide was far better than second. Either way, if you like the movie, you'll love this tour.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Frances B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful. Our tour guide Tony was superb - very pleasant and extremely knowledgeable. An amazing experience.

Doing what: Original Sound of Music Private Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message