There's so much to do in and around Salzburg, from attending classical concerts to visiting romantic castles or exploring salt mines and ice caves, ski-ing in winter and hiking through the staggering natural beauty of the Alps in summer. Or how ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 548 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Walter was a great guide--pointing out sites as we traveled from Salzburg to Eagles Nest as well as teaching us about Eagles Nest. Beautiful panoramic views from Eagles Nest. Stop in Berchtesgaden on the return allowed time for lunch, or a little shopping, or stroll, in a beautiful Austrian town.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Anne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great...on time, we got into the tunnel and elevator right away and had a great time at the top. The guide was great!

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Diana F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing tour. Terrific weather and perfect day to go to the Eagles Nest. Views were breathless. Would have liked a little more time to spend there. 50 minutes not quite enough time to take it all in.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Jyoti S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent trip !!. We converted it in the full day tour after visiting Eagles Nest. Our guide Carlos was very energetic and entertaining.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed the excursion very much.
It met our expectations

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Steve H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent trip, first rate coach transfer, good guide, wonderful views, terrific experience, worth every penny

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Thomas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good value for money....the visit to the salt mine was lots of fun...there could have been more time for lunch which had to be rushed...the trip to Konigsea didn't really merit the time allocated to it..whilst picturesque the vistas were limited...a short cruise might have been more rewarding ...do the trip if only for the salt mine tour..sliding down on your backside to a lower level ...the underground lake..locomotive shuttle..highly enjoyable..the eagle's nest..spectacular!!! Go and enjoy

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Ravi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Highly recommended for anyone who visits Salzburg area. Our guide Walter was very knowledgeable and had a good sense of humour that made our trip fantastic.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Christine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really worth doing. Eagle's Nest is amazing, and the salt mines were great.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Sean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing! The ability to skip the line was great and really enhanced the entire outing. The bus ride up was also such an experience. Our guide Peter was very knowledgable, pleasant and entertaining. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Kimberly G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I highly recommend visiting Eagles Nest! The scenery is breathtaking and the history of Eagles Nest makes the location so much more meaningful. I do strongly recommend that you take the tour early in the morning. It was getting very crowded by midday.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Mitou N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Salt Mine tour was much better than expected, and the lake was beautiful. There was a family that was consistently late - please have a better system of keeping passengers accountable to coming back on time, as it impacted the rest of the passengers.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Ashbeth I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

In two weeks in Europe, this may have been our best day, even though it was rainy and cloudy. The buses were comfortable and the tour guide knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. And the bus driver! How he maneuvers that bus up and down the windy road to Eagles Nest is a wonder.

Eagles Next was beautiful, even cloudy. There are several levels to experience. I stayed to lower paths, but my family husband and two kids 12 and 15 climbed higher paths. We did not have enough time to take advantage of the cafe, but it didn't matter. The history was interesting, the views spectacular.

We went to the salt mines on the recommendation of a friend who had visited when she was a girl and they were so much better than we thought they would be! My 15 year old was dreading them, but she loved the tour. It was both old fashioned and techie, with light shows and holograms, etc. The guide only spoke German, but we had audioguides. And the slides. Wow the kids loved the slides. We will never forget the salt mines tour. Note: we had time for a beer and ice cream at the little shop.

The lake was kind of a bust for us as it was raining, but no matter: there was a biergarten! We sat with a family we met on the tour and had a beer and some desserts for the kids during that hour.

There were two visits to the same little town on this tour. The lunch visit was pretty short, but we managed to eat even though we chose poorly where we ate full sit down place.

The town and the little shopping area by the lake offered plenty of souvenir shopping. The kids had fun looking around, though none of us bought anything.

I really can't recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Ian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great. Walter, our guide, ran the place. He was on top of buses, timing, places to sit for lunch, all the stories you could want, even his own pictures on the ride back. Just one thing - if you want to hike around the mountains surrounding the Eagle's Nest, you won't have too much time to do that on this tour, but you could spend all day doing it. Nonetheless, you get all the postcard vistas you need from the time you have up on the mountain on this tour. I think that more extensive hiking would be good for a return journey. Take this trip with Walter if this is your first time there.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

MARTIN K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was amazing. Lot of history. Must do tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Debbie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide, Johannes was awesome. He picked us up at our hotel, right on time. He had great insight on the areas on the way to Eagle's Nest. He REALLY took care of us. He made sure that we had priority before others waiting in line and made us feel like VIPs! After the main tour, he also took us to a very special section the diesel engine that propels the elevator that is not open to the public and was kind enough to take pictures of us. He then took us to town for shopping and lunch. He recommended the Golden Bear, which was delicious. He even took us right before the other tour buses came, so we beat the crowds. On the way back to the hotel, he stopped by a convenience store for us so we could get water and snacks for the hotel. Eagle's Nest is a must see. The view is breathtaking. Yes, it's quite a hike. I'm very out of shape but was able to hike to the top to admire the view. Take this tour, you'll only be sorry if you don't!

Doing what: Private Tour: Eagle's Nest and Bavarian Alps Tour from Salzburg

theresa.ong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing tour up the eagle's nest with a knowledgeable guide!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Elizabeth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The bike tour was amazing. I loved biking around the city and gardens. The pace was perfect, We would stop and talk about the areas, very relaxed.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Julie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The trip was a lot of fun. Our guide Walter was extremely knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor!7

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Peggy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent! Eagles nest was amazing and Walter, our tour guide was funny and well educated. Enjoyed salt mine tour. Kings lake made it a bit longer day, but wonderful day overall.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

joeandkerrie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Would recommend this to anyone wanting to get some insight into the history of the eagles nest. The views were amazing our tour guide Walter was very good giving lots of information about the area as well as the Eagles nest.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

curlylangdongirl United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was fantastic! Very informative and moving. We took our 2 teenage boys with us and they were kept interested every step of the way. A tour everyone should take!

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Michele B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Panarama Tours does and excellent job. Carlos was a great guide and very entertaining. I did not care for the recommended lunch location, but many people did. The drive up to the Eagles Nest was interesting. Once you get to the visitors center you board a different bus that takes you up the hill. The Eagles nest was interesting, but the restaurant up there was really busy. We ended up getting drinks at the snack bar by the bus area. There was confusion as to which bus to get on to go back down the mountain. The town of Berchesgartens is a lovely town, we enjoyed it more once we left the tourist street. The Salt Mine tour was awesome. It is all about making memories and this one was definitely worth making. We really had a great day. It is a very long day with a lot of walking.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message