There's so much to do in and around Salzburg, from attending classical concerts to visiting romantic castles or exploring salt mines and ice caves, ski-ing in winter and hiking through the staggering natural beauty of the Alps in summer. Or how ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 565 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Harjyoti G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Its beautiful place and worth a visit for historical and scenic reasons... but the best part of my visit was the service provided by Panorama tours - local operator through which Viator had booked my tour! I missed the bus at the start of the tour, but i was taken personally by one of the guides to the next point so i could join the tour!
Thanks a lot for such care and service...
Also our guide Walters was fun and easy going... made the tour much more interesting.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Ed T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. It was interesting to see Hitlers Eagles Nest, to think it was his place to hold meetings with other high ranking Nazi's to determine the plans of the war. Original rooms, tunnel, elevator, very good. It was great to have time to take the walk and view the spectacular vistas. The time allowed to visit Bechengaden wrong spelling was nice also, this is a great little town, lots of amenities.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Shirley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Walter our guide was great. He kept all of laughing with jokes. Was extremely knowledgeable in the history of the Eagles Nest. We would want him for our next trip.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Deven H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Efficient and worthwhile tour.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Sheetal U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A very well Conducted Trip to Eagle's Nest and salt Mines including a visit to a lakeside town and a couple of lakes.. A worthwhile trip. The Guide was knowledgeable and gave a good amount of information Gave enough time at eagle's Nest and Salt Mines. Though I do think that the time given at Königssee Lake was very short. But otherwise, this was a very beautiful trip to these must watch once in a lifetime places..

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

jenny62thompson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Well organised day with comfortable bus ride and great commentary provided by guide. Eagles Nest is in an amazing location and the views are stunning when the cloud lifts. Interesting to hear the history of the area too. The salt mine tour was great and it was fun to experience the train ride through the tunnels, slide down levels on the old miners wooden slides and glide silently across the extremely salty lake. Plenty of information to take in through the talk and displays and come out with a better understanding of this industry. Had only a brief amount of time to enjoy the very beautiful Lake Koingsee. More time at Berchtesgaden with lunch and afternoon tea there. Full but worthwhile day out from Salzburg seeing some great places in Barvaria.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

joankarnas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful scenery, enjoyed having early booking to avoid the crowds. Walter was a lot of fun!

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Charles C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour a lot of historical and present imormation about the tour sites and the country.Beautiful !!!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Ann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Walter was a great guide--pointing out sites as we traveled from Salzburg to Eagles Nest as well as teaching us about Eagles Nest. Beautiful panoramic views from Eagles Nest. Stop in Berchtesgaden on the return allowed time for lunch, or a little shopping, or stroll, in a beautiful Austrian town.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Anne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great...on time, we got into the tunnel and elevator right away and had a great time at the top. The guide was great!

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Diana F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing tour. Terrific weather and perfect day to go to the Eagles Nest. Views were breathless. Would have liked a little more time to spend there. 50 minutes not quite enough time to take it all in.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Jyoti S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent trip !!. We converted it in the full day tour after visiting Eagles Nest. Our guide Carlos was very energetic and entertaining.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed the excursion very much.
It met our expectations

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Steve H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent trip, first rate coach transfer, good guide, wonderful views, terrific experience, worth every penny

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Thomas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good value for money....the visit to the salt mine was lots of fun...there could have been more time for lunch which had to be rushed...the trip to Konigsea didn't really merit the time allocated to it..whilst picturesque the vistas were limited...a short cruise might have been more rewarding ...do the trip if only for the salt mine tour..sliding down on your backside to a lower level ...the underground lake..locomotive shuttle..highly enjoyable..the eagle's nest..spectacular!!! Go and enjoy

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Ravi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Highly recommended for anyone who visits Salzburg area. Our guide Walter was very knowledgeable and had a good sense of humour that made our trip fantastic.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Christine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really worth doing. Eagle's Nest is amazing, and the salt mines were great.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Sean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing! The ability to skip the line was great and really enhanced the entire outing. The bus ride up was also such an experience. Our guide Peter was very knowledgable, pleasant and entertaining. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Kimberly G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I highly recommend visiting Eagles Nest! The scenery is breathtaking and the history of Eagles Nest makes the location so much more meaningful. I do strongly recommend that you take the tour early in the morning. It was getting very crowded by midday.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Mitou N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Salt Mine tour was much better than expected, and the lake was beautiful. There was a family that was consistently late - please have a better system of keeping passengers accountable to coming back on time, as it impacted the rest of the passengers.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Ashbeth I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

In two weeks in Europe, this may have been our best day, even though it was rainy and cloudy. The buses were comfortable and the tour guide knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. And the bus driver! How he maneuvers that bus up and down the windy road to Eagles Nest is a wonder.

Eagles Next was beautiful, even cloudy. There are several levels to experience. I stayed to lower paths, but my family husband and two kids 12 and 15 climbed higher paths. We did not have enough time to take advantage of the cafe, but it didn't matter. The history was interesting, the views spectacular.

We went to the salt mines on the recommendation of a friend who had visited when she was a girl and they were so much better than we thought they would be! My 15 year old was dreading them, but she loved the tour. It was both old fashioned and techie, with light shows and holograms, etc. The guide only spoke German, but we had audioguides. And the slides. Wow the kids loved the slides. We will never forget the salt mines tour. Note: we had time for a beer and ice cream at the little shop.

The lake was kind of a bust for us as it was raining, but no matter: there was a biergarten! We sat with a family we met on the tour and had a beer and some desserts for the kids during that hour.

There were two visits to the same little town on this tour. The lunch visit was pretty short, but we managed to eat even though we chose poorly where we ate full sit down place.

The town and the little shopping area by the lake offered plenty of souvenir shopping. The kids had fun looking around, though none of us bought anything.

I really can't recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Ian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great. Walter, our guide, ran the place. He was on top of buses, timing, places to sit for lunch, all the stories you could want, even his own pictures on the ride back. Just one thing - if you want to hike around the mountains surrounding the Eagle's Nest, you won't have too much time to do that on this tour, but you could spend all day doing it. Nonetheless, you get all the postcard vistas you need from the time you have up on the mountain on this tour. I think that more extensive hiking would be good for a return journey. Take this trip with Walter if this is your first time there.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message