The Alamo is one of the most famous sites in US history, forever linked to the 13-day siege in 1836 that ended with the deaths of defenders James Bowie, William Travis and Davy Crockett. The 18th-century Mission San Antonio de Valero complex ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 300 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Debbie C

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

The tour itself was just fine. We had ample time to tour any of the stops we decided to make. The schedule for getting on the next trolley was perfect. My only complaint was when we actually tried to use our online vouchers. We could not use them directly on the river boat but instead were directed to find the tourist information center to get actual tickets. When we arrived at that place, it no longer gave out the tickets for the tour and we had to hunt down another lady on the street who could give us tickets. It really took up a lot of our time traipsing around trying to actually get our tickets. That was extremely frustrating and time consuming!

Doing what: San Antonio Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour, River Cruise, and Tower of the Americas Admission

Candace L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was the best as it took us to two Missions we may have not got to see other wise plus the tour guide was very helpful. It is a repeat of the Battle of Texas and the River Cruise you get on the Hop On -Hop Off bus tour but I would recommend this tour for your first day. Great overview of San Antonio. The Japenese Gardens were beautiful.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

Tours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I thought at first that visiting three missions would be too much of the same thing. Not at all! Each one was so uniquely different. Renee was our driver, and was excellent. Another superb tour booked through Viator!

Doing what: San Antonio Highlights Tour

Nanette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Perry, our guide was very knowledgeable and we learned a bunch about the area. Leaving the driving and just sat back and enjoyed the scenery. Why not?

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

TCaptain USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The Trolley Tour is great way to see the city that exists outside of the River Walk. Great history lesson on the other less popular missions around San Antonio.

Doing what: San Antonio Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour, River Cruise, and Tower of the Americas Admission

Esther R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

My husband and I recently experienced the Alamo Hop on Hop off Trolley Tour. We enjoyed it, found it very informative, interesting, and easy to use. Our tour guide was Perry. l A big shout out to him. He was a plethora of knowledge. My only complaint was scheduling on my part. We booked on a Sunday. This limited our time at the missions Church was in session till mid day. Worth the and worth the time.

Doing what: Alamo Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Susan M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Our first time in San Antonio and got to see all the highlights. Enjoyed our tour guide, very knowledgeable. We've used Viatour in the past in other cities and have always found them to be reliable with an interesting mix of tours.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

Susan H. M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The trolley tour was excellent and our guide, Phillip, was knowledgeable, professional, and very helpful. I was disappointed as we could not get tickets to the Tower of Americas--tickets were not there on Sunday when we arrived and we went back twice on Monday to pick up the tickets and they were not available. I am disappointed.

Doing what: San Antonio Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour, River Cruise, and Tower of the Americas Admission

Robert W

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Our bus driver, Terri, was great. She told us lot about each stop. However, once off the bus, each stop, except for the river cruise, was essentially self guided.
Air conditioner on the bus was broken.

Doing what: San Antonio Highlights Tour

Deborah B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The tour bus driver was a very good driver and quite personable, but as she told us, she is not a tour guide.. So we got very little historic, demographic, or factual commentary for the duration of the time we spent on the tour bus. The boat trip on the Riverwalk was entertaining and educational.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

KIMBERLY PLUM United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

The tour was to start at 9:00am. It started at the Alamo, we were told to explore the Alamo on our own, be sure to see the film and ask the rangers any questions. The bus was not leaving until 10:15. The Alamo is free and it could have been explorered by anyone at any time. Upon entering the bus, we were informed that though our bus driver had a working knowledge of the history of San Antonio , she was no a qualified tour guide. Her driving skills were excellent, but the assumption by all was the price of the tour included a tour guide. I would not recommend this tour because all the missions and the Alamo have no entrance fee. It is a lot of money for someone to drive you around

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

JoAnn Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Visiting the different missions and learning the history of Texas was informative. It's so much easier to have a guide take you places and leave the driving to them!!! The Japanese garden was beautiful. I really didn't expect that!

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

Jacquelyn E

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

It is hard to give a fair evaluation as the weather was so bad during our tour. The guide did the best he could as also there was a marathon in San Antonio which had a lot of the streets blocked. We did see two missions as well as the Alamo. By noon we were soaked and left the tour early to go back to the hotel to get dry and warm.

Doing what: San Antonio Highlights Tour

Stephen W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

The bus had no air conditioning or microphone for the guide. It made for a very long and disappointing day!

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

jcaplet123

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Perry was an excellent tour guide! Tour was just the right pace and he provided a wealth of knowledge about the locstions we visited and suggestions for other sightseeing opportunities in the local area. I followed up on several of his suggestions and was not disappointed.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

Deanna M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Jenny was the BEST! However, we were told that the tour would begin at 9. No direction about exchanging e-mail voucher at another location which did not open after 9. So being ready to leave on the tour at 9 and being delayed was annoying! - I could have slept longer. AND not being able to drop off at the Texas culture museum was BAD. We booked Viator because we had a wonderful experience in Seattle, but would consider another hop on hop off option next time in San Antonio.

Doing what: Alamo Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Greg G

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The trolley was a good way to see the sights of San Antonio . My wife and I went through entire tour day one than went to specific spots on day 2 to get more detail. The trolley was only on 1 hour shifts so it was not conducive to a short stop .

Doing what: San Antonio Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour, River Cruise, and Tower of the Americas Admission

David

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

It was a good tour. It would have been great if not for the rocky start. We were told to be outside the main entrance of our hotel by 8:35am. So we got there at 8:29 I'm a little OCD and I assure you this is an accurate account. Then we waited. and waited.... and waited. When we called they said that we had no reservation. When we called a second time they at least acknowledged our reservation, but said that they had already been there and that we were not there.
After resolution and getting picked up the driver all but called me a liar, and then stated he couldn't contact me as he did NOT have my number! THEN WHY WAS MY PHONE NUMBER REQUIRED TO BOOK THE TOUR!!!!! I hate being called a liar... even if just inferred!
So... book at your own risk! Because we got off to a late start, some areas of the tour had to be cut short!!
But the tour itself was very good, and the tour guide was great! Also we had a nice group of people to mingle with which was enjoyable.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

Ana B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Very disappointed that we upgraded to the Hop On Hop Off bus when we purchased this booking only to be told at the redemption center that they didn't have any running that day or the next day and we would have to use the trolley....did not think it was great. Victor should not offer something they cannot deliver on. Another company had the Hop On Hop Off buses running, the River Cruise was great. Tower of the Americas was good but beware if you drive there Parking is 15.

Doing what: San Antonio Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour, River Cruise, and Tower of the Americas Admission

Note from Viator: 

Thank you for your review. We value your feedback and are sorry to hear that your tour experience was unsatisfactory, but occasionally, a local tour operator may change aspects of a tour without letting us know. We rely on your honest feedback to help ensure the value and quality of our travel experiences. Based on your concerns, we have contacted our local tour operator to address these concerns with them personally and will continue monitoring feedback from our travelers.

Peggy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Perfectly wonderful!!
The best!

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Edward guided our total group of 16 on the all day tour. Could we have done all this on our own? Sure, but he moved us around on a full size bus, got our tickets for the paid attractions, and gave good local depth to everything. The Alamo, two Spanish missions, Market Square with a stop at THE best Mexican place in San Antonio, Japanese Tea Garden, the Cathedral in the Main Plaza, and a 45 minute Riverwalk cruise. The best way to experience the must see places in San Antonio.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

Joan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a good deal for the money. The Hop-on-Hop Off tour was good, particularly the guide on the first day. The River Cruise was great!

Doing what: San Antonio Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour, River Cruise, and Tower of the Americas Admission

Debbie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We enjoyed seeing the Missions and learning more about the history of San Antonio. Prepare for lots of walking, wear comfortable shoes. The variety of sights included in the tour and our guide, LeRoy, made the tour worth our time and money.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

Christina V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We really enjoyed the tour, the guide was Perry and he told us alot of things about the missions, the Alamo, and Marketplace. I would recommend this tour for anyone visiting San Antonio.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

Rosanne G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Extremely comprehensive. I don't think we missed seeing anything ! MUCH more walking than anticipated. The tour description should really state that. This tour is for those who can walk briskly, and climb stairs, That said, the experience is as good as it gets. All day, doesn't include lunch.

Doing what: San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message