With its world-class museums, manicured gardens, and world-famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park tops the list of sights in downtown San Diego. Its 1,200 acres (485 hectares) makes it the largest urban park in the United States. Apart from its many ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cindy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Visiting from Dallas. Bridgette was amazing! I wasn't feeling well that morning and Bridgette was so kind to push back our appointment time. The Segways were a great way to cover a LOT of miles through Balboa park. Bridgette was knowledgeable and had interesting tidbits throughout. We thoroughly enjoyed this tour and would recommend it to all.

Doing what: Private Balboa Park Segway Tour

Sonja W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I am so happy my husband and I booked the private Balboa Park Segway Tour! We wanted to do something special for our 15 year anniversary, and this was one of the things we chose to mark off our bucket list. We are so happy we did! Bridgette was amazing! Knowledgeable, fun, social, and a great teacher. I was worried when I was learning how to ride a Segway, but Bridgette reassured me and even told me to breath. She was patient and a wonderful teacher. I enjoyed the beautiful park and the great tour guide and will definitely recommend this tour to EVERYONE! If you are looking for a unique experience in Balboa Park then this is PERFECT for you to do.

Doing what: Private Balboa Park Segway Tour

Timothy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was the best Segway Tour we have had to date. Bridgette was great! We originally booked for a Balboa Park only tour, but since we knew how to ride Segway's, she took us through the park, and then on a 13-mile ride through downtown San Diego. We had a great time! Also, our tour was just our party and Bridgette. That was great too! I would definitely book a tour with her again.

Doing what: Private Balboa Park Segway Tour

Lucilla M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had the pleasure of being driven by two experienced and knowledgeable drivers. Unfortunately, I don't remember the 1st driver's name female. She gave a lot of information and was a safe driver. The second driver, Milo, was the above and more....he added some of his personal experiences and made a few jokes. He engaged the passengers. The locations on the tour are excellent. I recommend the two day two. Balboa Park alone will take the whole day...

Doing what: San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley

Chris E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a great way to experience Balboa Park. Bridgette took plenty of time to ensure everyone was comfortable on the Segways, then led us on a great tour of the park. 100 recommended, we will look to book another tour with Bridgette the next time we visit San Diego

Doing what: Private Balboa Park Segway Tour

Anna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed our Trolley Tour immensely. Our plan of attack was to ride the tour and get the information first and then go back to the things we were most interested in. That mostly worked. We did get off at Balboa Park and spent several hours there and then finished the tour. We would invite everyone going to Sand Diego to try it. We especially enjoyed Philip with one l and Susie. They were the two that guided us in our adventure.

Doing what: San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley

william m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome! Bridgiet was a great guide? Friendly, knowledgable and funny too. Try this tour of Balboa Park it is a great way to learn about the park and ride from venue to venue? Again awesome

Doing what: Private Balboa Park Segway Tour

deb.mazzotta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thanks Bridgette - we had a great time seeing the sites in Balboa Park on your Segway tour - apart from being loads of fun we learnt a lot along the way - can and #39;t wait for the LaJolle tour!

Doing what: Private Balboa Park Segway Tour

Sally P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour! Bridgette was awesome and made us all feel so comfortable, even my son who had never been on a Segway before. I love how she personalized the trip with her experiences at the park. I really had no idea how big Balboa Park is but this was by far the best way to see it all in a short period of time!

Doing what: Private Balboa Park Segway Tour

Hilda A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Bridgette is fantastic, we booked our 1st tour at Balboa Park and booked a 2nd one for La Jolla beach.
She is very knowledgeable and friendly.
Highly recommended and you will have so much fun. Thanks Bridgette for the great times, we enjoyed our tour and the segway rides twice
Best of luck xx

Doing what: Private Balboa Park Segway Tour

Cheslee E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We loved this tour and recommend it to everyone. It was easy and fun to learn how to ride the segway and our tour guide was awesome. She shared her extensive knowledge about Balboa Park with us which we would never have learned on our own. We don't usually like tours but this one was different and definitely 5 star!

Doing what: Private Balboa Park Segway Tour

Sarah A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was amazing. Bridgette was our tour guide and she showed up with snacks, water and sunglasses/sunscreen for our comfort, and for free. She knew a lot about the history of Balboa Park, including the architecture and the museums. She was also very friendly and funny.

The segways were really fun to ride, and allowed us to cover a lot of ground within the park.

I highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see a lot in the park and walk away knowing the history behind it.

Doing what: Private Balboa Park Segway Tour

Phil H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

4 adults went on the tour and none of us had ever ridden a Segway before. Brigitte was our tour guide and she was wonderful! She made us feel very comfortable on the Segways and we were ready to go after just a short lesson. The tour was really fun. We went all over Balboa Park and she gave us a lot of good information. We all had a great time and we would definitely recommend doing this. We thought the price was very reasonable for the two hour tour.

Doing what: Private Balboa Park Segway Tour

Neil H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Trolleys run about every 30 minutes from many stops around the San Diego area. our driver provided a running commentary throughout our journey, she was clearly passionate about everything San Diego. From boarding in the Gaslamp District, we saw several sights and areas including Balboa Park, Little Italy and Old Town. This is a great way to orientate yourselves if this is your first time in San Diego. Highly recommended. Do at the start of your stay in this wonderful place

Doing what: San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley

jim

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

In a single word AWFUL!! Driver knew very little about city,did not make Balboa Park in time..everything was closed,talked about houses he painted in La Jolla and the famous people he had seen walking down the street..and absolutely horrible experience.

Doing what: San Diego City Tour

espoir

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Our tour guide is nice and friendly. Tour was not complete as described on the website, e.g. did not visit Balboa park due to constructions (?), we went there by our own the following day and didn't understand why the tour bus couldn't get by there. We decided to book this tour just because it also includes a visit to La Jolla, otherwise would take Trolley tour instead to have more free time.

Doing what: San Diego Sightseeing Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

carolyn c

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great tour to get started on your trip to San Diego. The only thing we didn't like was the seating in the back 3 rows, where the windows were open and the wind coming through made the trip not enjoyable. Couldn't adjust the windows, but understand that it probably would have been too warm not to have some windows open. Maybe open only one side at back and then open others on the other side in front. I don't know if that would cut down on the wind coming through so fast. Great service and tour guides, very accommodating. We were on the tour and were waiting for the trolley at Balboa Park and they had to send in a relief bus since the first was full. We happened to mention to the driver that we were on our way back to the hotel (Bayfront Hilton), picking up our jackets and then on to Seaport Village for the SEAL Tour that we had already paid for. The driver, Ken, checked with the office to see if once he dropped off the other 4 riders, if he could drop us off at the hotel and then Seaport Village. He found out that due to a Padre's game that after noon and a big University graduation ceremony at the conference center next to our hotel, traffic was at a stand still. He said he could get us to the hotel in a round about way, but wouldn't be able to take us to Seaport Village. He did get us to the hotel and we saw some of the other town that we would have missed otherwise. My husband had sprained his ankle getting off the first trolley a couple of days before getting off a trolley and he couldn't walk long distances. We were lucky to find a pedicab right outside of the hotel and he got us to the SEAL Tour on time. Thanks Ken for being so nice. The other drivers, Capt Bob, Vidal and a couple that we can't remember their names were great!

Doing what: San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley

Madeleine N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

The trip itself covered all the highlights of San Diego, but I was seated way in the back of the van and sometimes had trouble hearing the guide. She also had an accent that made it difficult to understand all that she said. The back seat moved, and it's passengers almost hit the roof on certain bumps in the road. I did enjoy the stops in Balboa Park,Old Town and La Jolla, but would have liked a chance to visit the Coronado Hotel for a while. I took the Hop Off, Hop On Trolley the next day, visiting some of the same spots (except La Jolla) and that guide made the trip more interesting.

Doing what: San Diego City Tour

Matealena T

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Driver was very knowledgeable, super informative tour, loved the spots, good length!
The only disappointing thing: didn't go to Balboa Park - should have told us before OR found another way to see it...more time for walking or something.

Doing what: San Diego City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message