Lying along the east side of San Diego Bay, the Embarcadero will appeal to fans of the historic maritime vessels and all things associated with the sea. The many attractions here include the Maritime Museum, U.S.S. Midway Museum, the Seaport ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 454 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

NPMT United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The ship is like a city and an airport. The best part are the veterans who are providing the tours and explaining so well..obviously because they know what they are talking about! The catapult take-off was my favorite!

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

N B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really enjoyed the trip - it may be a great tour to start off your visit to SD and find places you would like to explore in more detail later, or a tour to wrap up your time and see the seals, the sights one more time. Our tour guide was very friendly, very engaging throughout the trip very glad we got to experience SD this way!

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Deneese T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our trip to San Diego was a spur of the moment idea. We decided that our grandson had a school report about seals and sea lions. I decided that rather than taking him to the aquarium that it might be more fun to go out on a boat to see them up close. We hit the jackpot when we took the San Diego Seal Tour. The staff on land was good but the onboard staff was AWESOME. The captain was a marine biologist ? and was able to give very pertinent information regarding the sea life on the tour. The first mate was great fun. I had the theme to Gilligan's Island stuck in my head for the rest of the weekend. By the way, our grandson got an A on his report.

The weather was beautiful and to top it all off, there was a car show in the adjoining park. We had a great family day!!!!!

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

Carol E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful day. The volunteers all have first hand experience working on aircraft carriers, some the Midway. There are a number of informational talks which answered all our questions. Parking is beside the ship. Fabulous experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Yanex H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A space where the story is alive!

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

craig h

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

i had booked on a all day tour of Tijuana and San Diego , but at the last min it was cancelled and i was put on a half day and no San Diego tour , the bus driver was great he knew a lot of the Mexico people when we got into Tijuana he dropped us off at the front of some shop keepers he knew and introduce us to them , then we had 2 hours to look around and spend some money, there were a lot of police on the streets so it is safe,the shop keepers try to entice you into there shops just say no thank you and keep walking , but other than that it was good.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Rollin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The Midway is an opportunity to learn and experience a critical time in American history. Great experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Getbusytraveling United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Safe way to visit Tijuana solo.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Rodrigo O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent experience :D

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

mzw0226

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

excellent

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Diane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The Midway aircraft carrier is amazing to see! The self guided tour is easy to follow and very detailed! A real look at life on a ship! Be sure to visit the bridge. The docents are wonderful no very knowledgeable. Make sure you have lots of time and walking shoes! Don't miss it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

MariaAnna Z

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Really nice tour and especially the kids loved seeing the seals so close by. Don't get to see the city with this, but the marine and the seals.

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

Maria L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Our tour happen to be on a rare day it was cold and rainy in San Diego, but rain or shine, the Seals go out. George and Diego did a great job as our guides. Visibility was limited but that was just how it was going to be that day. The Seal crew provided us with blankets on arrival and when the rain started going sideways, they did lower the plastic sides, but many of the zippers were either stuck or didn't work. In their defense, it hardly rains in SD so they are not used very much. Hearing the guides was challenging, the speakers sounded very tinny and the family next to us decided to have their own conversation the entire time. It is a great outing to be able to see San Diego Bay

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

Kathy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is an amazing self-guided tour through the ship named after the Midway Island battle in WWII. It gave a lot of information on the WWII battle and its roll in the Vietnam War, and as you go through most areas of the ship you will get a feel for how the navy men lived while on board. There are also many fighter planes on display on two of the decks. We roamed the ship for almost 4 hours and still did not see a few things we wanted to. I purchased this tour for my husband as a surprise and I was just as awestruck as he was. We will definitely go back and recommend this museum to everyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

sirius

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

2nd Time back to Midway and still haven't experienced all she has to offer yet. The Veterans onboard willing to share their time and stories make this a great experience for young and old alike. The audio tapes are a must. Lots of history on show.

Strongly recommend the skip the line option as there can be a long line at times to collect/buy tickets, especially earlier in the morning. Ask the attendants if unsure as the skip the line ticket isn't clear you can go straight to the entrance or whether you need to line up.

Suggest you do the flight simulators onboard as they are good fun.

The café onboard fills up too so have a coffee or snack/lunch early, before the rush.

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Daniel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

From what I remember, this was a fun tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Mark J United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Good trip - made even better by our tour guide and drivers, Frank and Charlie. This tour did exactly what it said it would do. It's pretty cool to go from land to sea without skipping a beat. The tour took us to a great place in the water that was loaded with tons of black cormorants black birds - creepy! and seals cute!. One heartbreaking thing was seeing a young pup entangled from head to chest in a fisherman's line. He was motionless and it was hard to see. But shortly thereafter we saw the rehabilitation boat come by with cages to get the seals that needed tending to and fix what was needing to be fixed. So we're hopeful our little ensnared pup was one of them.

The only thing I can say negative about this tour is that from the moment our wheels started to move to the time we came to a stop, our tour guide - as lively and as informative as he was - wouldn't stop talking! So there was no time to ask any questions. None! The one question I asked about the little pup, the look and response I got made me feel like I had interrupted his memorized speech and needed to report to the principal's office.

Other than that, it was a good trip and a very interesting method of getting around town to see the sights.

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

Shawn H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The audio tour is a bit disorganized but its free so cant really complain. The bridge tour is a must.

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Ron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was fun, Gil guide made it special. He had a lot to share about the places we visited. I loved the La Jolla leg of the tour - the harbor seals were so cute! Bring your kids for this tour. Crossing the border was a breeze - no hassle at all. In Tijuana we shopped for silver rings and tequilla. Watched the sunset from one of the Mexican bars while being serenaded by local performers. :

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

IJNZE A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

very nice piece of history

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

PREM C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Good experience, one of a kind. Great Crew and Guide.

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

shnshajdv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND BOTH OF THESE TOURS. WE HAD A GREAT TOUR GUIDE WITH LOTS OF INFORMATION TO SHARE ABOUT SAN DIEGO.

Doing what: San Diego Sightseeing Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

marinaeug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is an absolute MUST SEE and DO in San Diego...the best experience of many other museums and similar activity...

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Christine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Being a local, there wasn't anything new, but my out-of-town guests loved it! We especially got a kick out of our guide, Frank, and his place appropriate hat collection.

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message