Lying along the east side of San Diego Bay, the Embarcadero will appeal to fans of the historic maritime vessels and all things associated with the sea. The many attractions here include the Maritime Museum, U.S.S. Midway Museum, the Seaport ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 441 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kathy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is an amazing self-guided tour through the ship named after the Midway Island battle in WWII. It gave a lot of information on the WWII battle and its roll in the Vietnam War, and as you go through most areas of the ship you will get a feel for how the navy men lived while on board. There are also many fighter planes on display on two of the decks. We roamed the ship for almost 4 hours and still did not see a few things we wanted to. I purchased this tour for my husband as a surprise and I was just as awestruck as he was. We will definitely go back and recommend this museum to everyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

sirius

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

2nd Time back to Midway and still haven't experienced all she has to offer yet. The Veterans onboard willing to share their time and stories make this a great experience for young and old alike. The audio tapes are a must. Lots of history on show.

Strongly recommend the skip the line option as there can be a long line at times to collect/buy tickets, especially earlier in the morning. Ask the attendants if unsure as the skip the line ticket isn't clear you can go straight to the entrance or whether you need to line up.

Suggest you do the flight simulators onboard as they are good fun.

The café onboard fills up too so have a coffee or snack/lunch early, before the rush.

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Daniel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

From what I remember, this was a fun tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Mark J United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Good trip - made even better by our tour guide and drivers, Frank and Charlie. This tour did exactly what it said it would do. It's pretty cool to go from land to sea without skipping a beat. The tour took us to a great place in the water that was loaded with tons of black cormorants black birds - creepy! and seals cute!. One heartbreaking thing was seeing a young pup entangled from head to chest in a fisherman's line. He was motionless and it was hard to see. But shortly thereafter we saw the rehabilitation boat come by with cages to get the seals that needed tending to and fix what was needing to be fixed. So we're hopeful our little ensnared pup was one of them.

The only thing I can say negative about this tour is that from the moment our wheels started to move to the time we came to a stop, our tour guide - as lively and as informative as he was - wouldn't stop talking! So there was no time to ask any questions. None! The one question I asked about the little pup, the look and response I got made me feel like I had interrupted his memorized speech and needed to report to the principal's office.

Other than that, it was a good trip and a very interesting method of getting around town to see the sights.

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

Shawn H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The audio tour is a bit disorganized but its free so cant really complain. The bridge tour is a must.

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Ron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was fun, Gil guide made it special. He had a lot to share about the places we visited. I loved the La Jolla leg of the tour - the harbor seals were so cute! Bring your kids for this tour. Crossing the border was a breeze - no hassle at all. In Tijuana we shopped for silver rings and tequilla. Watched the sunset from one of the Mexican bars while being serenaded by local performers. :

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

IJNZE A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

very nice piece of history

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

PREM C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Good experience, one of a kind. Great Crew and Guide.

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

shnshajdv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND BOTH OF THESE TOURS. WE HAD A GREAT TOUR GUIDE WITH LOTS OF INFORMATION TO SHARE ABOUT SAN DIEGO.

Doing what: San Diego Sightseeing Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

marinaeug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is an absolute MUST SEE and DO in San Diego...the best experience of many other museums and similar activity...

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Christine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Being a local, there wasn't anything new, but my out-of-town guests loved it! We especially got a kick out of our guide, Frank, and his place appropriate hat collection.

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

Robyn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our trip was FANTASTIC! Our tour guide was wonderful and really made us feel special. He was very accommodating and made sure the entire group had fun. We made a lot of new friends and had a great time. I would highly recommend this tour, it is well worth the money.

Doing what: San Diego Sightseeing Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

James H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

even living here in town it was a very good experience

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

JOSEPH C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Great museum to see, easy access within the ship and many things to see and appreciate about the USS Midway history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Cymantha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time. The driver drove very save and smooth and the co-pilot was very funny and gave us lots of lots of information.

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

Sukhprit N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was excellent to show my the best of San Diego and the bay.

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

Trish B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Well organized, knowledgeable guide, fun trip!!

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

Janice R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great ship with plenty to suit all the family. Allow at least 4 hours!

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Oscar S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly recommended for all the family, great experience!

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

Maria Lourdes M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We truly enjoyed our Seal Tour. Jack, the First Mate, was awesome. I hope, though, that there were other places in the land tour part that we visited.

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

Jack G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Outstanding. We only had 3 hours and believe you need 5 or 6 to see it all.

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Lennon R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

For most San Diego tourists, the USS Midway is probably a must-see. Allow at least a half day or more for this mostly self-guided walk through the huge aircraft carrier. There is one section the walk through the island tower structure above the flight deck where visitor are grouped and guided and may involve a waiting line. I really enjoyed the Midway experience, but my only wish is that more sections of the ship including crew quarters, dining hall, medical facilities, etc were open to tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

John W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour was enjoyable and informative.our tour guide Mike was pleasant and helpful.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Boris F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great tour, worth seeing. Money and #39;s worth. The part of the tour in Tijuana was great. The guide/driver did a pretty good job giving us valuable information. Definitely enjoyed it!

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message