San Diego ATTRACTIONS See all

San Diego Harbor

Maritime enthusiasts should spend some time visiting San Diego Harbor. The many attractions here include the Maritime Museum, U.S.S. Midway Museum, the Seaport Village, and Embarcadero Marina Park. The well-manicured waterfront promenades stretch ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 464 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

N B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really enjoyed the trip - it may be a great tour to start off your visit to SD and find places you would like to explore in more detail later, or a tour to wrap up your time and see the seals, the sights one more time. Our tour guide was very friendly, very engaging throughout the trip very glad we got to experience SD this way!

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Deneese T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our trip to San Diego was a spur of the moment idea. We decided that our grandson had a school report about seals and sea lions. I decided that rather than taking him to the aquarium that it might be more fun to go out on a boat to see them up close. We hit the jackpot when we took the San Diego Seal Tour. The staff on land was good but the onboard staff was AWESOME. The captain was a marine biologist ? and was able to give very pertinent information regarding the sea life on the tour. The first mate was great fun. I had the theme to Gilligan's Island stuck in my head for the rest of the weekend. By the way, our grandson got an A on his report.

The weather was beautiful and to top it all off, there was a car show in the adjoining park. We had a great family day!!!!!

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

craig h

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

i had booked on a all day tour of Tijuana and San Diego , but at the last min it was cancelled and i was put on a half day and no San Diego tour , the bus driver was great he knew a lot of the Mexico people when we got into Tijuana he dropped us off at the front of some shop keepers he knew and introduce us to them , then we had 2 hours to look around and spend some money, there were a lot of police on the streets so it is safe,the shop keepers try to entice you into there shops just say no thank you and keep walking , but other than that it was good.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Rebecca P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The Maritime Museum consist of about 5 different ships so I would suggest arriving early so you will have time to explore each of them. The whale watching on the sailing ship was very good. Saw lots of whale tails. Drinks and snacks were provided and the staff was friendly and informative. The only suggestion I would make would be to have a naturalist on board. No motion sickness and it was very peaceful when we were on wind power only.

Doing what: San Diego Whale Watching Cruise and Maritime Museum Entry

Nadja V

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Everything is fine, until something goes wrong. Your guide will loose its temper, shout and yell at you and at the end, he left us alone. Frustrating. Irresponsible. And for sure unprofessional and a no-go for this price.
1. If you are taller than 6', we cannot recommend this tour. We have bruises all over our knees.
2. If the two people in the boat are heavier than 400 lbs, we cannot recommend this. You will have to push your weight to the front of the boat for getting it on plane, which basically means to get speed. In the beginning you will have additional weight of the full gas tank in the front to get you going. But at the end of the tour, your weight will not be enough to push down the nose of the boat and you will never get on plane anymore. The Guide Bob or Rob will make you keep trying, but if you have any understanding of physics, it is simply not possible anymore because of your weight and the mass distribution. Usually boats have a trim to adjust the motor to this weight distribution. But these boats are simple and small and don't have it or the guide didn't tell or know about it.
3. We had rather big waves. This also interrupts the traction to the water, which doesn't allow you to get speed. We ended up trying and failing.

The thing is, this trip is not a sightseeing tour. Don't expect that. You will be busy getting control over your boat and to follow the guide. He is alone in his boat and way ahead of you. They do not offer a two-way radio, there is only a speaker in the boat and while you are standing, leaning over the bow to get on plane, you will not hear a single word he says. After we mentioned this to him, he simply said I know. How helpful is that? There are not even hand signals agreed on to have a minimum of communication with the guide.

When stopped the 2nd time, he told us that because of our problems in the beginning there will be no stop on the tour anymore. He more or less blamed us to ruin the tour for everybody else. Honestly, we didn't wanted to stop anymore and just go back. But guess what... Of course he stopped again, I ignored him first and got yelled at me again over the intercom... So I stopped and never got the boat on plane again. We were lying on the bow for the rest of the tour. Our knees hurt, our back and neck hurt. The guide was annoyed, rude and not helpful at all. If someone is yelling at you, that nobody ever had these problems, I can tell you to read Yelp. There a dozens of reviews stating the same problems and the same carelessness. It was frustrating and nothing, we will recommend.

It might be a lot of fun, if you get speed. But there a a lot of factors, that could prevent you to get on plane. And if so, it is no fun at all. The guide is not prepared for this situation and you might end up paying a lot of money for bad service.

Doing what: San Diego Harbor Speed Boat Adventure

Marilyn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tour was awesome. Spectacular views, great service and okay food. Would take the tour again.

Doing what: San Diego Harbor Dinner Cruise

Getbusytraveling United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Safe way to visit Tijuana solo.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

MariaAnna Z

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Really nice tour and especially the kids loved seeing the seals so close by. Don't get to see the city with this, but the marine and the seals.

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

Maria L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Our tour happen to be on a rare day it was cold and rainy in San Diego, but rain or shine, the Seals go out. George and Diego did a great job as our guides. Visibility was limited but that was just how it was going to be that day. The Seal crew provided us with blankets on arrival and when the rain started going sideways, they did lower the plastic sides, but many of the zippers were either stuck or didn't work. In their defense, it hardly rains in SD so they are not used very much. Hearing the guides was challenging, the speakers sounded very tinny and the family next to us decided to have their own conversation the entire time. It is a great outing to be able to see San Diego Bay

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

celock_41

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Truly the highlight of the trip. Will do this again upon return to San Diego. The fellas there at Speed Boat Adventure are fun and professional. We even had people in the group who wouldn't stay with the rest of us because they didn't speak english, not to worry the guys didn't freak out, we just passed them up and stayed with the people who could understand what we were supposed to be doing.

Doing what: San Diego Harbor Speed Boat Adventure

Mark J United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Good trip - made even better by our tour guide and drivers, Frank and Charlie. This tour did exactly what it said it would do. It's pretty cool to go from land to sea without skipping a beat. The tour took us to a great place in the water that was loaded with tons of black cormorants black birds - creepy! and seals cute!. One heartbreaking thing was seeing a young pup entangled from head to chest in a fisherman's line. He was motionless and it was hard to see. But shortly thereafter we saw the rehabilitation boat come by with cages to get the seals that needed tending to and fix what was needing to be fixed. So we're hopeful our little ensnared pup was one of them.

The only thing I can say negative about this tour is that from the moment our wheels started to move to the time we came to a stop, our tour guide - as lively and as informative as he was - wouldn't stop talking! So there was no time to ask any questions. None! The one question I asked about the little pup, the look and response I got made me feel like I had interrupted his memorized speech and needed to report to the principal's office.

Other than that, it was a good trip and a very interesting method of getting around town to see the sights.

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

Ron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was fun, Gil guide made it special. He had a lot to share about the places we visited. I loved the La Jolla leg of the tour - the harbor seals were so cute! Bring your kids for this tour. Crossing the border was a breeze - no hassle at all. In Tijuana we shopped for silver rings and tequilla. Watched the sunset from one of the Mexican bars while being serenaded by local performers. :

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Jenny U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing view and dinner! excellent service I would love to take it again!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: San Diego Luxury Dinner Cruise with Window Seating and Champagne

PREM C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Good experience, one of a kind. Great Crew and Guide.

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

Arthur D M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

My wife and i really enjoyed the brunch cruise. The food was really good and the champagne flowed well. The boat was really cool. Only one bad part. There was no entertainment. Unless we went on the top deck where the captain gave information on the area, this was good, there was nothing to do below. Light music would have been welcome.

Doing what: San Diego Champagne Brunch Cruise

Joy F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was very nice. However, I would recommend that it depart in time to see the sunset. The lights of San Diego were beautiful, but it would have been nice to see it both at twilight and after dark. We were told that we would board at 6:30 and depart at 7:00, but we actually didn't board until 7 and left the pier at 7:30 p.m. The food was very good, and everyone at our table were fun.

Doing what: San Diego Harbor Dinner Cruise

Alan S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The trip was everything the sales information said it would be.
Very pleasant crew and waitress staff, good food, and plenty of Fizz for our party to drink.
A little music and dancing rounded off the evening nicely.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: San Diego Luxury Dinner Cruise with Window Seating and Champagne

Victor B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The tour was generally very good and interesting. The only problem was, strangely enough, best described by a crew member during the tour. Apparently they have a very large contract to provide tours of the San Diego Bay for an Asian travel agency which sends sometimes two buses full of non-English speaking guests to go on the tour. Now this should not ordinarily be an issue, but because they do not understand the information being broadcast over the sound system, it is sometimes hard if not impossible to hear the tour guide over the loud talking, laughing, and sometimes yelling of the foreign contingent. The responsibility to communicate to the non-English speaking guests to allow the English speaking guests to hear the presentation, falls squarely on the tour company. By not having people available to communicate the need to talk quietly during the tour, the tour's enjoyment was reduced and some of the presentation was missed. The crew member who reported the extent of the problem seemed almost as frustrated as many of the guests.

Doing what: San Diego Harbor Cruise

Paul G

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Be more fun if the boats were faster

Doing what: San Diego Harbor Speed Boat Adventure

Dawn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This dinner cruise was a thank you to friends. Our waiter John was the best! The food was top notch as well as the entertainment. We all had a great time and I'll be recommending it to all my friends.

Doing what: San Diego Harbor Dinner Cruise

shnshajdv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND BOTH OF THESE TOURS. WE HAD A GREAT TOUR GUIDE WITH LOTS OF INFORMATION TO SHARE ABOUT SAN DIEGO.

Doing what: San Diego Sightseeing Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Christine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Being a local, there wasn't anything new, but my out-of-town guests loved it! We especially got a kick out of our guide, Frank, and his place appropriate hat collection.

Doing what: San Diego Seal Tour

robinvagen4

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Was perfect. Best part of our trip to San Diego!

Doing what: San Diego Harbor Dinner Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message