Packed into 100 acres (40 hectares), the superb San Diego Zoo presents a stunning variety of nature's largest, smallest, noblest, oddest, and most endangered creatures. This famous zoo has more than 3,000 animals representing over 800 species in a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 94 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

glab_nouvelle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of the best zoo in North America.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

juliejordan93

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Would not visit both parks on the same vacation. The Zoo and Safari Park were excellent independently, but a bit too similar to visit on consecutive dates.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo and Safari Park Combo Tour

marinaeug

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

SORRY, BUT i GUESS THE ZOO EXPERIENCE IS NOT FOR ME...VERY SAD TO SEE THE ANIMALS IN LIMITED SPACE...It may be important for breeding purposes and saving threatened animals...but.......

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

Erica L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Not really a tour but we were able to get right into zoo which was really good!

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

Jim H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you like animals this is the place to go. We spent about 5 hours there and only really scratched the surface. I would recommend that you take the bus around the Zoo first so you can see where you want to go. The Pandas are a must see so are the big cats. All sorts of things for kids to do as well in the childrens zoo.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

Sherif O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Good value for money. Main attractions included beyond anybody ability to fulfil all, so taking at least two days is recommended. The inclusion of LEGOland, the South bay cruise and the San Diego zoo was amazing, but we wished that it also included the maritime museum.

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

Heather L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Nice zoo - booking on Viatour allowed me to use a discount and save some money, which was nice because the tickets are expensive. Leave plenty of time to explore!

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

Pearl S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is the nicest zoo I have ever been too. I felt like I was in a disney park.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

Marlin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The zoo was amazing!! With our pass we were able to enjoy everything that they had to offer.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

Bridget F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Best zoo ever! So many animals not fond in other zoos. And, so lucky my timing was right because I got to see lots.of babies; animals that is.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

vickie

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time at the San Diego Zoo, lots of animals.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The zoo was great, a good representation of our wild animals. Fairly easy to get around and well laid out. Food and drink was expensive but what are you going to do? The tickets were reasonably priced and parking was free unlike Seaworld! I would definitely go back again.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

Mary S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

We would not purchase through Viator again. Turns out Viator only sold us a voucher to the zoo, not a ticket, so it took us forever to get into the zoo as we had to go through customer service office, email them the vouchers from my phone and have them turn the voucher into tickets. It would have been much quicker to just go through the ticket lines. Even if I had printed the vouchers at the hotel, it still would have been a longer process to get into the zoo than through the usual lines. Viator did not make it clear that this was a voucher and what that really means.
The Zoo however was not to be missed!

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

JULIE United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved the zoo! Great weather on 2/18/16. One day was enough for my husband and I to see everything we wanted. Especially loved seeing the pandas, koalas, and polar bear.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

Whopper

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Love this zoo! There are so many things to see! So glad the tram was included in this ticket. It and #39;s a good way to get a lay of the land.
Everyone who works here is so nice!
The only issue we had was with the voucher. The instructions say you can use the mobile pass but you can and #39;t. Need to print.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

AMANDA H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I only booked admission tickets for the zoo with Viator so can't comment on the whole tour. There were no issues with exchanging the Viator voucher at the zoo entrance and we had a great day at the zoo.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

Claire D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We loved San Diego Zoo and Safari Park and had a very close encounter with the 2 Pandas.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

Krista G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I bought the 7 day pass for 5 people in my family my 2 year old was free to everything we went to. It cost a bit over 1200 and when I added up all the admission prices we would have paid, we saved about 500 and we didn't even take advantage of some of the other perks like free bus tour and free sky ride at the Zoo, etc.. We went to the Wildlife Park, San Diego Zoo, USS Midway Museum, Lego Land, Sea World, a harbor boat tour, and multiple museums at Balboa Park. The cost savings really helped at Balboa Park where there are so many museums and being able to walk into any one of them for only an hour to check it out without worrying about picking the right one to spend admission money at, or whether you/kids will like it....Many places where there was a line to just buy tickets, we could just go right to the admission gate so that was convenient too. It was definitely worth the money!!

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

Mark B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Very good zoo, very impressed with quantity of exhibits and range of animals. some parts were under construction Africa but generally a very good day out.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

nails

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The voucher was very easy to exchange for the tickets ... I think if you are in San Diego it is a must do as this is one thing that was on my bucket list. The zoo itself well I come from Melbourne Australia and I think our zoo is the best I have been to. Although the buses that you can get on to take you around the zoo are fantastic as it was a warm day and the zoo is very hilly. We also rode the skyfari whi h wzs a great ariel view.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

calitrip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved the zoo! This was one of the highlights of our California vacation. My daughter rated it her favorite of the whole trip!

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

Shirley P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Lovely zoo, lots of walking.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

Peggy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very fun day at the Zoo, with a large variety of beautiful animals in beautiful settings with many types of plants and trees. The bus tour gives a great overview and a good way to get around this very large zoo. There is also a skyride which is fun to see the animals from above. The 4 D theaters are a fun activity for kids and adults also. There is also a fun children's petting zoo and playground. We spent all day there and saw most of it.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

San Diego Zoo was beautiful. I couldn't believe how many different animals they have. It was great to show my son what wonderful work they do and how it impacts the planet. Definitely the highlight of our trip.

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

Dani Argentina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is my third time at the zoo and it was just as great as the first time. There is so much to see and learn about. The highlight of our trip were the koalas, who are absolutely adorable. I took my family from Argentina and they loved it. The San Diego zoo is a guaranteed great outing for children and adults

Doing what: San Diego Zoo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message