San Diego ATTRACTIONS See all

USS Midway Museum

Essentially a floating city, the USS Midway Museum is housed inside the namesake ship, formerly one of the US Navy’s flagships from 1945 to 1991. Aboard the hulking vessel, visitors can explore more than 60 exhibits as well as peak inside the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 423 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

NPMT United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The ship is like a city and an airport. The best part are the veterans who are providing the tours and explaining so well..obviously because they know what they are talking about! The catapult take-off was my favorite!

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Carol E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful day. The volunteers all have first hand experience working on aircraft carriers, some the Midway. There are a number of informational talks which answered all our questions. Parking is beside the ship. Fabulous experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Yanex H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A space where the story is alive!

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Hal K. R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

great tour guide was wonderful only thing needed a little more shopping time at all stops.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

laura c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very convenient to use and never had a problem redeeming anywhere we went. I laminated ours and put into wallet. Perfect wherever we went and usage was never questioned

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

Rollin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The Midway is an opportunity to learn and experience a critical time in American history. Great experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Rodrigo O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent experience :D

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

mzw0226

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

excellent

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Desmal M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I recommend the Go San Diego Card. Great deal!

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

Diane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The Midway aircraft carrier is amazing to see! The self guided tour is easy to follow and very detailed! A real look at life on a ship! Be sure to visit the bridge. The docents are wonderful no very knowledgeable. Make sure you have lots of time and walking shoes! Don't miss it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Carol W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We had a good time despite the rain showers in San Diego. Fortunately we had a sunny day at Legoland.
Here is my quibble: I got the two day San Diego card to save some money but also NOT to stand in line. At Legoland this did not work,
since the code on our Go San DIego Cards do not scan at the entrance, and I had to wait in a long line at Membership to get proper bar code cards issued for our group of 5. Otherwise all was great.

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

Kathy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is an amazing self-guided tour through the ship named after the Midway Island battle in WWII. It gave a lot of information on the WWII battle and its roll in the Vietnam War, and as you go through most areas of the ship you will get a feel for how the navy men lived while on board. There are also many fighter planes on display on two of the decks. We roamed the ship for almost 4 hours and still did not see a few things we wanted to. I purchased this tour for my husband as a surprise and I was just as awestruck as he was. We will definitely go back and recommend this museum to everyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

sirius

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

2nd Time back to Midway and still haven't experienced all she has to offer yet. The Veterans onboard willing to share their time and stories make this a great experience for young and old alike. The audio tapes are a must. Lots of history on show.

Strongly recommend the skip the line option as there can be a long line at times to collect/buy tickets, especially earlier in the morning. Ask the attendants if unsure as the skip the line ticket isn't clear you can go straight to the entrance or whether you need to line up.

Suggest you do the flight simulators onboard as they are good fun.

The café onboard fills up too so have a coffee or snack/lunch early, before the rush.

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Daniel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

From what I remember, this was a fun tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

joe.tigani

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

San Diego was an unexpected surprise. It was only 5 of us on the tour, which made it even better. Highly recommended.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

Shawn H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The audio tour is a bit disorganized but its free so cant really complain. The bridge tour is a must.

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Ka Mei C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Worth a day to spend to visit few places that are unique in style and in comfy. Never heard seal sing? This is your chance!

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

Charles M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

On so many levels, the Go Card was a great deal - worth every penny. The only negative I can think of would be not having enough time to take full advantage of all it offers! If you plan to go to the Zoo, and have time to work in just one more activity the Harbor sightseeing cruise is highly recommended, the Go Card is an excellent investment.

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

IJNZE A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

very nice piece of history

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

marinaeug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is an absolute MUST SEE and DO in San Diego...the best experience of many other museums and similar activity...

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

JOSEPH C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Great museum to see, easy access within the ship and many things to see and appreciate about the USS Midway history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Toby R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Entry fees were 12.50 less then what we could have paid at the gate. Ripoff. Combining the offers is also very difficult when Parks are closed. Not happy at all.

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

although we didn't use it for all attractions but it was very useful we wish we had time to explore more in san diego

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

Sherif O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Good value for money. Main attractions included beyond anybody ability to fulfil all, so taking at least two days is recommended. The inclusion of LEGOland, the South bay cruise and the San Diego zoo was amazing, but we wished that it also included the maritime museum.

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

gabriela p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

San Diego was a beautiful place to visit, really great. The guide was so much fun. I actually went alone and got ended up on a private tour. Loved San Diego!

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message