San Diego ATTRACTIONS See all

USS Midway Museum

Essentially a floating city, the USS Midway Museum is housed inside the namesake ship, formerly one of the US Navy’s flagships from 1945 to 1991. Aboard the hulking vessel, visitors can explore more than 60 exhibits as well as peak inside the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 412 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kathy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is an amazing self-guided tour through the ship named after the Midway Island battle in WWII. It gave a lot of information on the WWII battle and its roll in the Vietnam War, and as you go through most areas of the ship you will get a feel for how the navy men lived while on board. There are also many fighter planes on display on two of the decks. We roamed the ship for almost 4 hours and still did not see a few things we wanted to. I purchased this tour for my husband as a surprise and I was just as awestruck as he was. We will definitely go back and recommend this museum to everyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

sirius

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

2nd Time back to Midway and still haven't experienced all she has to offer yet. The Veterans onboard willing to share their time and stories make this a great experience for young and old alike. The audio tapes are a must. Lots of history on show.

Strongly recommend the skip the line option as there can be a long line at times to collect/buy tickets, especially earlier in the morning. Ask the attendants if unsure as the skip the line ticket isn't clear you can go straight to the entrance or whether you need to line up.

Suggest you do the flight simulators onboard as they are good fun.

The café onboard fills up too so have a coffee or snack/lunch early, before the rush.

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Daniel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

From what I remember, this was a fun tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

joe.tigani

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

San Diego was an unexpected surprise. It was only 5 of us on the tour, which made it even better. Highly recommended.

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

Shawn H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The audio tour is a bit disorganized but its free so cant really complain. The bridge tour is a must.

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Ka Mei C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Worth a day to spend to visit few places that are unique in style and in comfy. Never heard seal sing? This is your chance!

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

Charles M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

On so many levels, the Go Card was a great deal - worth every penny. The only negative I can think of would be not having enough time to take full advantage of all it offers! If you plan to go to the Zoo, and have time to work in just one more activity the Harbor sightseeing cruise is highly recommended, the Go Card is an excellent investment.

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

IJNZE A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

very nice piece of history

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

marinaeug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is an absolute MUST SEE and DO in San Diego...the best experience of many other museums and similar activity...

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

JOSEPH C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Great museum to see, easy access within the ship and many things to see and appreciate about the USS Midway history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Toby R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Entry fees were 12.50 less then what we could have paid at the gate. Ripoff. Combining the offers is also very difficult when Parks are closed. Not happy at all.

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

although we didn't use it for all attractions but it was very useful we wish we had time to explore more in san diego

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

Sherif O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Good value for money. Main attractions included beyond anybody ability to fulfil all, so taking at least two days is recommended. The inclusion of LEGOland, the South bay cruise and the San Diego zoo was amazing, but we wished that it also included the maritime museum.

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

gabriela p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

San Diego was a beautiful place to visit, really great. The guide was so much fun. I actually went alone and got ended up on a private tour. Loved San Diego!

Doing what: San Diego Day Trip from Los Angeles

Janice R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great ship with plenty to suit all the family. Allow at least 4 hours!

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Fzander3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It covered a large amount of activities. Definitely worth the money.

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

Jack G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Outstanding. We only had 3 hours and believe you need 5 or 6 to see it all.

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Lennon R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

For most San Diego tourists, the USS Midway is probably a must-see. Allow at least a half day or more for this mostly self-guided walk through the huge aircraft carrier. There is one section the walk through the island tower structure above the flight deck where visitor are grouped and guided and may involve a waiting line. I really enjoyed the Midway experience, but my only wish is that more sections of the ship including crew quarters, dining hall, medical facilities, etc were open to tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

mmaley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Beautiful way to see a breath taking city and all it has to offer.

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Lyudmila T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

That was amazing! Very interesting especially for kids.

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Gregorio R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great
Ease to handle
Could enter to all the main shows

Doing what: Go San Diego Card

G T United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We recently took this tour and thoroughly enjoyed it. The guides on board were very knowledgeable and made suggestions on what to see first to avoid the crowds and also to make sure we did not miss the most important parts. It was fascinating to see how life was on board. The talks on the top deck where the helicopters and planes are were very good - the ones we listened too were all by ex-servicemen. They were very passionate about everything and came across really well. If you have an interest in history this is a tour for you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Donna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is fantastic! Not to be missed!

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

alan r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Kids loved the planes....

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Carlos R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great learning experience and insight into the history, as well as the operational functionality of the ship and crew. Audio tour is a must for this as it gives you 1-2 minutes overview of each area of the boat. It will take you approximately 90 minutes to go through all the different areas, which are numbered in order.

Doing what: Skip the Line: USS Midway Museum

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message