San Diego, the city by the sea, sits on the borderline of California and the Mexican city of Tijuana. Being so close to an adjacent country has its rewards and any visitor to San Diego should take advantage of this fact, because a trip to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 290 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mary B R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Easy simple trip to enjoy an afternoon in Tijuana! Mike is friendly and knowledgeable of the city's history. Pleasant day trip. I would recommend this tour to others

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Ching-wei C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

great tour, only get to see the town for 2-3 hrs but thats good enough for me

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Julia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our day trip to Tijuana was fantastic and far better than we expected!! Our tour guide Mike was very entertaining and knowledgeable, he really made the trip! Mike showed us plenty of the local color as well as the more touristy areas. He also introduced us to some of the local merchants who were very nice and really helpful. We never felt like we were being pressured to buy something. I highly recommend this trip! It's a great way to spend a fun afternoon! Julia LA

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Eric M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Expected larger bus with bathroom. Driver very good. Juan the tour guide was very friendly and very informative. Got us thru customs very expedient.

Doing what: Ensenada Coastal Tour from San Diego

John W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour was enjoyable and informative.our tour guide Mike was pleasant and helpful.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Elizabeth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Mike was great, he managed tour expectations very well - no glossing over life realities over the border. Under US$4 for full serve of ceviche and fish tacos, the contrast between Tijuana and San Diego is mind boggling! Our border wait back into States was only an hour, best to go mid-week.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Boris F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great tour, worth seeing. Money and #39;s worth. The part of the tour in Tijuana was great. The guide/driver did a pretty good job giving us valuable information. Definitely enjoyed it!

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Dawn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great! Our guide, Mike, was informative and fun.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Jesper Ilum G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic trip with the Best tourguide you could imagine

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

debra b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Juan was exceptional in coping with the traffic, the border crossings, the unknowns that crop up in life.
Highly recommend this escorted tour.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

bmtyack

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide was good and new his stuff - would have liked to go to different shops not just on main drag and less time eating so more time to look around

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Bert B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was Mike and he was very friendly informative. Most of us had been to Tijuana 20 or 30 years ago and remember a very poor town that was a great place to drink and party. But mike told us the city had changed for the better in the past few years. It is not dangerous as it was and there are police everywhere in the tourist areas. The middle class is growing and the beggars have turned to selling small items instead. The border crossing is a challenge but Mike guided us through it. Also he returned via the Otay Mesa border crossing which is less crowded. The bus is really the only way to see the city to make the day less stressful. The stories where wonderful and a real feeling of life on the other side of the fence was brought home. Thanks for offering a great tour if only the customs lines were shorter.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Fabio R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The waiting time at the border was very long but the trip was still worth it. Mike is a very dedicated guide!

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Derrick P

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Overall, the tour was nice. Mike, our guide is great! It was nice to learn more about the history of San Diego and Tijuana. The Harbor Cruise was just ok. The only drawback was the wait to get back in to the United States, otherwise worth checking out...

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Maria R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great. Our guide was very knowledgeable in both Mexican and US information. I only wish we had more time for shopping since haggling is time consuming.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

TAXMAN738

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Mike was fantastic. Very knowledgeable and personable. Tour content was great. Harbor boat tour was a nice addition. Nice to have time for lunch. Tijuana part was not worth the time. Over 2 hour wait at US customs ruined the Tijuana part.
Strongly recommend everything but Tijuana.
ROY and Cheryl Chicago

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

holo2x

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was a great way for my family to get a feel for Tijuana Mexico and what it has to offer. Our tour guide Juanito was wonderful. With him being a native of Tijuana I truly felt he gave us so much information that someone who is not from the area would not have. He took us us to a few of his favorite places where we purchased items and enjoyed the mexican cuisine. He was fun, friendly, informative and made us feel safe. I highly recommend this tour for first timers. We will be back for sure!

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The guide (mike I think his name was but I may be wrong) was excellent throughout
The wait back in the US customs line is long with no toilet !!!
Overall an excellent day and well recommended for anyone that wants to see San Diego and be a little adventurous and nip over the border

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Susan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip to Mexico with shopping, eating and drinking tequila!

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Diane

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This is a great way to see the touristy part of Tijuana. Our guide was great. He took us to a few shops of interest and to sample tacos. told us about the city, and showed us a 'typical' housing area. Some 'souvenir' are good value, but not as cheap as we were lead to believe. Shop keepers like to get you and and keep you there, constantly trying to get you to buy something. Go back into USA can be a bit of a lengthy journey, as everyone has to get off the bus and walk across the boarder, while the bus goes through an x-ray machine. I enjoyed it. Would recommend it to anyone if they wanted to taste a bit of the culture.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Katherine T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great! I'm giving it 4 stars only because I feel that Tijuana was a waste of time. The driver, Mike, was very knowledgeable of the San Diego area and very accommodating. San Diego is a beautiful city and there is so much to see. This tour was a perfect high level overview of what San Diego has to offer to then go back and really dive into the sights. The Harbor Cruise was great. It was nice to get out and look at the city by sea.

I have traveled to Mexico many times and what's sad is that for those who have never been to Mexico this is the worst impression to give them. I really wish we had taken this part of the tour because it was a waste of a half day. I understand that allure of Crossing the border being so close, but I would highly recommend to not go on this tour. It's a waste of a half day, the city itself is really dirty and when coming back to the US we waited 2 hours to just go through to customs. There are plenty of prettier places in Mexico to go see. Don't waste your time going to Tijuana

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Maree P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Tour never went ahead and we were completely mucked around by this company. I would not recommend.

Doing what: Ensenada Coastal Tour from San Diego

jaxbruce

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely brilliant full day tour! Mike, our guide, was simply the best - knowledgeable and friendly, even took us shopping in Mexico so we wouldn't get confused or ripped off!!! Can't recommend this tour highly enough, Massive praise to Mike for being the most awesome part of the day!

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Heather R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a fantastic time was had by all!!! From the second we sat in the bus to until we got out of it at the end of the tour!!! ... And full credit goes to Juan our top notch amazing tour guide! We instantly felt like we had been friends forever and his sole focus was to give us the best experience!!

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message