San Diego, the city by the sea, sits on the borderline of California and the Mexican city of Tijuana. Being so close to an adjacent country has its rewards and any visitor to San Diego should take advantage of this fact, because a trip to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 298 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Charles H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Mike was a great tour guide. Tijuana has changed a lot since my last visit 20 years ago. Mike knows the area and knows some places off the beaten path.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

stephenthegreat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent trip and Excellent Driver. There is no more to say

Doing what: Baja California Coastal Day Trip from San Diego

Rhunda A

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Positive:
Tour guide/driver was awesome!!!! He provided a lot of history and insight about the area that we travel through and to. He was very friendly, accommodating, and ensured that everyone was comfortable during the trip. The people in Mexico were very friendly and happy to see us! This was a great trip, and I would definitely do it again!

Be Aware:
If you book ahead of time, your schedule may change based on the number of people who signed up to go. Consequently, if you're planning another experience such as the zoo or other events, I recommend not buying tickets until you're able to confirm your tour. I ended up having to juggle a few things around to make the trip. If I had already bought a Day Pass or tickets to Sea World/Zoo, then I would have missed the trip.

Second thing to be aware of, many of the bookings say that they provide hotel pick-up, well they only pick-up from select hotels, so be prepared to travel to the nearest pick-up/bus stop.

Indiana

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Peter C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

First, 2 people bailed because they van did not have seat belts in the back. They said it was not required by law. Second, it was raining and they said it was raining too hard in Ensenada to go there, so we never got even half way. Third, the tour van broke down and the guide had to thumb down a taxi already with people to get us to Puerto Nuevo for lunch, then we went back to the U.S.

Doing what: Ensenada Coastal Tour from San Diego

Mary B R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Easy simple trip to enjoy an afternoon in Tijuana! Mike is friendly and knowledgeable of the city's history. Pleasant day trip. I would recommend this tour to others

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Ching-wei C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

great tour, only get to see the town for 2-3 hrs but thats good enough for me

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Julia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our day trip to Tijuana was fantastic and far better than we expected!! Our tour guide Mike was very entertaining and knowledgeable, he really made the trip! Mike showed us plenty of the local color as well as the more touristy areas. He also introduced us to some of the local merchants who were very nice and really helpful. We never felt like we were being pressured to buy something. I highly recommend this trip! It's a great way to spend a fun afternoon! Julia LA

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

RNL1011

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Tijuana Sightseeing Tour was very interesting and very informative. There has been a lot of changes in Tijuana since my last visit 25 years ago. The tour guide was very knowledgeable.
Ruben

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

RNL1011

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Tijuana Sightseeing Tour was very interesting and informative. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. There has been a lot of big changes in Tijuana since my last visit 25 years ago.
Ruben

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Eric M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Expected larger bus with bathroom. Driver very good. Juan the tour guide was very friendly and very informative. Got us thru customs very expedient.

Doing what: Ensenada Coastal Tour from San Diego

John W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour was enjoyable and informative.our tour guide Mike was pleasant and helpful.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Vicenta S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great trip! Our tour guide was super pleasant and very informative! Would recommend this trip to anyone wanting to experience Tijuana.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Gabriel G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We had a wonderful trip all together, and I would highly recommended to anyone..
Our lunch setting was spectacular and top notch service.
But what really made this trip great was our tour guide, Juan was very thorough in
explaining history of places and stops throughout the trip.
Happy that we made this trip part of our San Diego Vacation.
Gabriel and Sol

Doing what: Ensenada Coastal Tour from San Diego

Elizabeth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Mike was great, he managed tour expectations very well - no glossing over life realities over the border. Under US$4 for full serve of ceviche and fish tacos, the contrast between Tijuana and San Diego is mind boggling! Our border wait back into States was only an hour, best to go mid-week.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Boris F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great tour, worth seeing. Money and #39;s worth. The part of the tour in Tijuana was great. The guide/driver did a pretty good job giving us valuable information. Definitely enjoyed it!

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Dawn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great! Our guide, Mike, was informative and fun.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Jesper Ilum G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic trip with the Best tourguide you could imagine

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

debra b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Juan was exceptional in coping with the traffic, the border crossings, the unknowns that crop up in life.
Highly recommend this escorted tour.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

bmtyack

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide was good and new his stuff - would have liked to go to different shops not just on main drag and less time eating so more time to look around

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

Bert B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was Mike and he was very friendly informative. Most of us had been to Tijuana 20 or 30 years ago and remember a very poor town that was a great place to drink and party. But mike told us the city had changed for the better in the past few years. It is not dangerous as it was and there are police everywhere in the tourist areas. The middle class is growing and the beggars have turned to selling small items instead. The border crossing is a challenge but Mike guided us through it. Also he returned via the Otay Mesa border crossing which is less crowded. The bus is really the only way to see the city to make the day less stressful. The stories where wonderful and a real feeling of life on the other side of the fence was brought home. Thanks for offering a great tour if only the customs lines were shorter.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Fabio R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The waiting time at the border was very long but the trip was still worth it. Mike is a very dedicated guide!

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Derrick P

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Overall, the tour was nice. Mike, our guide is great! It was nice to learn more about the history of San Diego and Tijuana. The Harbor Cruise was just ok. The only drawback was the wait to get back in to the United States, otherwise worth checking out...

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Maria R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great. Our guide was very knowledgeable in both Mexican and US information. I only wish we had more time for shopping since haggling is time consuming.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

TAXMAN738

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Mike was fantastic. Very knowledgeable and personable. Tour content was great. Harbor boat tour was a nice addition. Nice to have time for lunch. Tijuana part was not worth the time. Over 2 hour wait at US customs ruined the Tijuana part.
Strongly recommend everything but Tijuana.
ROY and Cheryl Chicago

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message