San Diego, the city by the sea, sits on the borderline of California and the Mexican city of Tijuana. Being so close to an adjacent country has its rewards and any visitor to San Diego should take advantage of this fact, because a trip to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 317 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Linda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had a great day in Baja. Shopping time in Tijuana where it was sunny and warm and the shopkeepers were dealing! Silver and leather goods are the big attractions. Lunch in Puerto Nuevo--regional seafood specialties. I had lobster my husband had sea bass. Charming little town. On the way from Tijuana to Puerto Nuevo we encountered some thick fog, which cleared in time for lunch as the restaurant sits above the ocean and has beautiful views. On the way back we stopped in Rosarito which has a historic hotel and beautiful beach. Unfortunately, the fog had returned, but we still enjoyed our time there--a few shops to visit, walk down to the beach, and some wine tasting. Our driver, Juan, aka JJ, was very knowledgable and was well known on the Tijuana shopping street so he pointed out the more reputable shops to stop in. The only things needing changing were beyond our control--the weather and border crossing. Glad we did this with a tour and not on our own! Driving in Baja is a fright!

Doing what: Baja California Coastal Day Trip from San Diego

Ali

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The trip was good and the tour guide was very informed about Tijuana. Felt slightly out of place when we were left off on the main street for a few hours to look around. I felt safe but was aware of my surroundings. The company could have done with telling us the name of a restaurant or bar to visit as we spent quite a while looking for somewhere. The trinket shops are all the same and I picked up some souvenirs which were lovely. A very worthwhile trip. The tour guide does look after you.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Gregory D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Juan is an amazing tour guide! We took relatives who live in San Diego with us and they could not believe how much they learned from Juan. Juan will take you to the safe and secure areas of Tijuana to the best deals in the city for things such as leather goods, liquor, restaurants, t-shirt shops etc. Juan will stay with your group and walk your from store to store or let you move on your own with his expert guidance of where to go and where not to go. Juan will also surprise you with his musical talents! Five Star tours provided excellent service, clean vehicles and prompt service, right on time! This tour is fun, a great value and if your lucky enough to get Juan, its a guranteed great time!

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

N B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really enjoyed the trip - it may be a great tour to start off your visit to SD and find places you would like to explore in more detail later, or a tour to wrap up your time and see the seals, the sights one more time. Our tour guide was very friendly, very engaging throughout the trip very glad we got to experience SD this way!

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Lizette D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Juan the tour guide was excellent, knows his way. It was a great and safe experience.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

craig h

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

i had booked on a all day tour of Tijuana and San Diego , but at the last min it was cancelled and i was put on a half day and no San Diego tour , the bus driver was great he knew a lot of the Mexico people when we got into Tijuana he dropped us off at the front of some shop keepers he knew and introduce us to them , then we had 2 hours to look around and spend some money, there were a lot of police on the streets so it is safe,the shop keepers try to entice you into there shops just say no thank you and keep walking , but other than that it was good.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

Georgina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a very enjoyable day. Juan the tour guide is very competent. The challenge was the small number of sign ups for 3 Baja trips. By combining the best of the 3 trips he prevented the cancellation of all 3 trips and ensured all 9 people had a great day. Highly recommend any trip led by Juan. I learnt many new and interesting facts about Mexico.

Doing what: Ensenada Coastal Tour from San Diego

Getbusytraveling United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Safe way to visit Tijuana solo.

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

kh27

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Awesome trip awesome people and awesome tour guide!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Baja California Coastal Day Trip from San Diego

Jose R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great tour, our driver/guide was very attentive and knowledgeable. Great way of spending the afternoon.

Doing what: Tijuana City and Shopping Trip from San Diego

ronald w

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

it was ok .........................................................................................................................................

Doing what: Baja California Coastal Day Trip from San Diego

NYSCOA

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

I PAID FOR A DAY A TRIP TO BAJA AND THE TOUR OPERATOR CHANGED THE TOUR AND USED A VAN IN PLACE OF THE PROMISED COACH. I PLANNED TO MEET FRIENDS IN BAJA AND SPEND THE DAY WITH THEM AND THIS WAS RUINED.

Doing what: Baja California Coastal Day Trip from San Diego

Note from Viator: 

Thank you for your review. We value your feedback and are sorry to hear that your tour experience was unsatisfactory. We rely on your honest feedback to help ensure the value and quality of our travel experiences. Based on your concerns, we have contacted our local tour operator to address these concerns with them personally and will continue monitoring feedback from our travelers.

Arthur D M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour to Ensenada was the highlight of our vacation. This was mainly due to our guide Juan. Not only was he knowledgeable of the areas that we toured but he also answered our questions and showed us unique areas along the way. The transportation was clean and comfortable and the food we had was really good. I would absolutely go again as long as Juan is my guide.

Doing what: Ensenada Coastal Tour from San Diego

Ron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was fun, Gil guide made it special. He had a lot to share about the places we visited. I loved the La Jolla leg of the tour - the harbor seals were so cute! Bring your kids for this tour. Crossing the border was a breeze - no hassle at all. In Tijuana we shopped for silver rings and tequilla. Watched the sunset from one of the Mexican bars while being serenaded by local performers. :

Doing what: San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise

嘉昊 周

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The guide was very helpful and friendly. When coming back, he chose another route to border check so that it saved much time.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Jayani J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour guide and great tour!

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Owly13

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

It was 'interesting' to see Tijuana and although it was listed as a 3 hour tour, we got picked up at 12.55 and dropped at 2100! They wouldn't pick us up at our hotel so we had to make our way to a hotel in the middle of nowhere and it then took another hour before we were on our way by the time we'd picked up everyone else. It took about an hour to get through the border. Tijuana I wouldn't think is typical of Mexico and very day tourist orientated. However having experienced the expense of the USA, it was nice to pay 3 for a cocktail and a beer! Ok for cheap souvenirs and cheap food and drink but not much else.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Charles H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Mike was a great tour guide. Tijuana has changed a lot since my last visit 20 years ago. Mike knows the area and knows some places off the beaten path.

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

stephenthegreat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent trip and Excellent Driver. There is no more to say

Doing what: Baja California Coastal Day Trip from San Diego

Kutay K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great trip, mostly thanks to our guide, Juan! He was just excellent!

Doing what: Ensenada Coastal Tour from San Diego

Rhunda A

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Positive:
Tour guide/driver was awesome!!!! He provided a lot of history and insight about the area that we travel through and to. He was very friendly, accommodating, and ensured that everyone was comfortable during the trip. The people in Mexico were very friendly and happy to see us! This was a great trip, and I would definitely do it again!

Be Aware:
If you book ahead of time, your schedule may change based on the number of people who signed up to go. Consequently, if you're planning another experience such as the zoo or other events, I recommend not buying tickets until you're able to confirm your tour. I ended up having to juggle a few things around to make the trip. If I had already bought a Day Pass or tickets to Sea World/Zoo, then I would have missed the trip.

Second thing to be aware of, many of the bookings say that they provide hotel pick-up, well they only pick-up from select hotels, so be prepared to travel to the nearest pick-up/bus stop.

Indiana

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Peter C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

First, 2 people bailed because they van did not have seat belts in the back. They said it was not required by law. Second, it was raining and they said it was raining too hard in Ensenada to go there, so we never got even half way. Third, the tour van broke down and the guide had to thumb down a taxi already with people to get us to Puerto Nuevo for lunch, then we went back to the U.S.

Doing what: Ensenada Coastal Tour from San Diego

Mary B R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Easy simple trip to enjoy an afternoon in Tijuana! Mike is friendly and knowledgeable of the city's history. Pleasant day trip. I would recommend this tour to others

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Ching-wei C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

great tour, only get to see the town for 2-3 hrs but thats good enough for me

Doing what: Tijuana Sightseeing Tour from San Diego

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message