For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given chills to the innocent and cold sweats to the guilty. Having once served as the nation's first military prison, it was then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary. Now, Alcatraz is part of the Golden Gate ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1723 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Donna G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Randy was our driver/tour guide for the day and he was awesome! He was pleasant, personable and funny. Full of interesting facts and trivia. He knew the best place to eat fish and chips in Sausalito, never mind the best guava sorbet I have ever eaten. Muir Woods was majestic. Alcatraz was unbelievable. Highly recommend this tour and especially Randy! Thanks again. I

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Graham D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Alcatraz is everything you want it to be and well worth going to. Enjoyed the trip and had a good guide.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

sai.teja

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

If this is your first time going to San Francisco, the going to Alcatraz is worth it. The City Segway tour was awesome, the guide was extremely helpful, and overall, it was a wonderful experience. Highly Recommend it!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

Ronald G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Alcatraz, the audio tour is a must, it is terrific. The segway tour is the best trip I have done in my lifetime, I am 67 and my daughter and myself had a ball. The tour guide Kevin was great and was very knowledgeable about San Francisco. Three hours went way to quickly and I will definitely do it again.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

Gordon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The driver and tour director were awesome. He gave us come little know facts of San Francisco and Alcatraz. Getting to Alcatraz early, without the crowds, was amazing. We finished the tour of Alcatraz in plenty of time to enjoy the city tour after lunch. We went on the tour on Sunday morning which was great because there was very little traffic. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Erin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Truly enjoyed everything this tour had to offer. Riding around in a cable car for the day was a fun way to get the true San Fran vibe. The tour had some great stops and the guide was very informative. The lunch provided was delicious and the Alcatraz audio tour is a must if you are in the area. I enjoyed it way more than I thought I would! All in all, a great overview of San Fran!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Robert F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The four of us, two adults and two grandchildren, thoroughly enjoyed our day with the Sand Francisco Urban Adventure and Alcatraz tour. The driver/tour guide was certain that all of us could hear him in the back of his truck and called us by name! The tour included sites and explanations that could be understood by all, including our ten-year-old grandchildren. He also made certain there was timer for stretching and, in the case of the children, running. He took us to an unusual grocery store where we ordered our lunches and reflected on the morning. And our guide made certain that we were in the proper lines for the Alcatraz tour. It is his own business andhe does a great job!
The children loved Alcatraz - who wouldn't?

Doing what: San Francisco Urban Adventure and Alcatraz Tour

Tracy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic tour! Great to beat the queues and be on first ferry to Alcatraz. Very informative guide as we did the city tour. Fun way to see the sights in a converted cable car. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Nmckaya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What an exciting tour! I LOVED Alcatraz..is once in a lifetime experience definitely. I didn't have time for the Dungeon but Madame Tussaud is really cool!!! It is amazing how real the sculptures look..

Doing what: San Francisco 3-for-1 Pass: Alcatraz, The San Francisco Dungeon and Madame Tussauds

Mary Jane E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Alcatraz was Alcatraz...just fine, as it has always been. The Twilight Bay Cruise was fantastic. This deal is quite a bargain for doing San Francisco. I would recommend to all.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

Fiona H New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great couple of trips. A couple of hours at Alcatraz was only just long enough, but the evening tour of the Bay was fantastic

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

Danielle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We loved every minute of this trip! We did Alcatraz first thing in the morning then went on our GoCar Tour. We did get a little lost and the car kept telling us that we were, but the locals were helpful to get us back on path. It was such a fun time and people even took pictures of us driving by haha. So much fun I would recommend to anyone who wants a day full of history and fun!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and GPS-Guided GoCar Tour

kinevsky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We only booked this tour to get tickets to Alcatraz, as there were no longer available on their own. We had no problems with picking up the tickets, neither at Madame Tussauds nor at the pier. All went well. Whether you actually want to visit the SF Dungeon and Madame Tussauds, that's really up to you. We are not fans of such attractions, so we did not really enjoy either one.

Doing what: San Francisco 3-for-1 Pass: Alcatraz, The San Francisco Dungeon and Madame Tussauds

Daveen USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We really enjoyed this tour, but we felt a little eerie touring inside Alcatraz. Alot of places to see on Alcatraz. Very interesting and informative. Loved the Bay Cruise, appetizers and drinks. Windy and cold outside, so we stayed indoors.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

Sherri C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour! Great tour guide! Loved being the first into Alcatraz and avoiding the crowds!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Larry C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We really enjoyed our Alcatraz tour. Arturo was simply the BEST!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Jacqueline V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour guide started off by recognizing that most of us were only doing this to get the tickets to Alcatraz, but hoped that we would enjoy the food tour too. We sure did! Everything we tried was delicious, so much that my friend and I went back later and bought a few things to enjoy at the hotel for dinner instead of going out.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Chris P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Alcatraz tour is a must. The Segway tour was also great front.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

a u

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wow Wow Wow, now this is what prisons should be like today!! Met with one of the book authors in the gift shop whilst on the rock and he had plenty of information to give. A busy trip and glad we had the first boat out in the morning before the crowds appeared at the rock! The rest of the day was very informative and lots of areas of the city were shown that other tours wouldn't have. Antonis the tour guide was native to SF and was informative about parts of the city that is not found in books, personal touch! Had a great day and would highly recommend this VIP trip above other Alcatraz tours when coming to SF:

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Carmelina V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an amazing trip to take, the ferry across to Alcatraz was short and smooth, they explained all the things you could see ant when in the prison block you had audio to tell you the stories, it's great to understand and visualise what it was like when it was in use.
The hop on off bus was great also, it helps to get off and see different areas of San Francisco, the ride across Golden Gate Bridge was great, overall it's great to discover many things and it's history, suitable for educational for children.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was well worth the money, the tour guide was very well informed. the tour bus itself was and attraction with people stopping and asking to get a picture of it where ever we went. The day started around 7am and finished at 4pm. keep this in mind as it is a full day but i would recommend it if you want to see all parts of the city. The trip to Alcatraz was brilliant we where never rushed giving us plenty of time to learn about the island as well as the prison. Overall i would rate this 10/10 and a must for anyone who comes to San Francisco.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Brandee C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Tour was great - not knowing we needed Alcatraz tickets months in advance, Viator came through! Will use Viator again in the future.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Sightseeing and Alcatraz Combo

Jessica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great time at Alcatraz, the twilight cruise was cold but if you sit inside first floor you can eat tons of appetizers and drink too. The views were great!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

Terry M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour really was fun. The actress was very lively and entertaining but also very knowledgeable. I had gone on some hop-on/hop-off tours for two days prior, and she gave more information about different area's of the city than those tours did. This tour is not for everyone. You need to love music, history, and fun and have a sense of humor. There is a lot of tongue in cheek humor including the handing out of mints (LSD) to put you into the "right frame of mind" for the time. This tour comes complete with a 3-D bus (and glasses), retractable screen show, flowers for your hair, and singing along to great music. Wait until you experience the "Wizard of Oz" Munchkins dancing to "Route 66." The actress (I cannot remember her name, dark shag hair, little space between her teeth, groovy clothes) and the driver (can't remember his name either, blonde shag hair and groovy clothes) were impeccably dressed in 1967 garb and encourage all riders to do the same. I would do this again in a heartbeat even without the Alcatraz tickets-but that is a fantastic extra and this is a brilliant and fun way to get them. This was a lot of fun, a lot of history (reminders of a time not so long ago) and the continuous stream of bubbles coming from the bus was a great touch! Peace Out until the next time

Doing what: Rock 'n' Roll Combo: Alcatraz and Magic Bus San Francisco Tour

Yonelys R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

In Alcatraz you feel all history in your skin. Madame Tussauds is amazing. Here you are even allow to interact with the wax statutes. They create a scenario and leave some cloths to characterize yourself and feel like part of the and #34;picture and #34;. Very funny. The dungeon artist are very talent. Enjoy it!

Doing what: San Francisco 3-for-1 Pass: Alcatraz, The San Francisco Dungeon and Madame Tussauds

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message