For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given chills to the innocent and cold sweats to the guilty. Having once served as the nation's first military prison, it was then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary. Now, Alcatraz is part of the Golden Gate ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1583 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tanya H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! Heather was so knowledgeable and the wine was tasty. Alcatraz was awesome. Audio tour was amazing.

Doing what: Alcatraz and Wine Country Combo Tour

Dawn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip! Bus tour was timely. Drive/tour guide was friendly and informative. Alcatraz self guided audio tour was efficient. Found it interesting and enjoyable. Thank you for a great memory!

Doing what: San Francisco City and Alcatraz Tour with Optional Bay Cruise and Ferry to Sausalito

William Tanoto T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a San Francisco 101 in my opinion You'll get to see almost all the sights there is to see in San Francisco. The early access to Alcatraz meant that there isn't as many people on the island as there would be normally.

The stops made at Golden Gate Bridge, especially Fort Point and Vista Point gave us a breathtaking view of the bridge itself. The good weather definitely helps. Arturo our tour guide was very friendly, engaging without being too restrictive. Good fun!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Suzanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What an awesome tour! From our collection point to the time we were dropped off, we were educated, entertained and enthralled. Our tour guide was amazing. If you haven't booked your Alcatraz tour before getting to San Fran, you may miss out. All tours were booked for 3 weeks in advance when we were there, so we were glad we'd booked in advance.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Coy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Alcatraz was extremely interesting. The crew was very knowledgeable and pleasant.

Doing what: San Francisco 3-for-1 Pass: Alcatraz, The San Francisco Dungeon and Madame Tussauds

Jamie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great combo!! Alcatraz is a must see! and the bike tour was fabulous. 4 wineries total and lots of beautiful views of Napa from your bike. Best 2 days of our stay in the San Francisco area! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Alcatraz Admission and Wine Country Bike Tour

debjohntaylor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour, well organised and good timekeeping. Well worth the extra cost for the early-bird access to Alcatraz. When we were leaving there were several parties of school children arriving so we got to see everything at a leisurely pace and avoid the crowds. The audio tour of the prison is extremely informative and eye-opening. Great idea to do the sightseeing tour on a modified cable car. Good fun going over the Golden Gate Bridge. Very informative and helpful tour guide/driver who doubled as a photographer - no need for selfies, he was always there to suggest good photo shots. This is the perfect tour for seeing all the major sights and experiencing life on the rock .

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Alcatraz tour was amazing, very educational and fun just to roam about. Need a little more time in Muir Woods so you dont have to rush. Sausalito was beautiful, good shopping and great food.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Diana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent all round tour, audio tour in Alcatraz was very clear and easy to follow. Views to and from the island are magnificent. Another bright and sunny yet windy and chilly day in SF. Sunset cruise very good as well, foggy and chilly as usual, impressive views of the almighty Golden Gate Bridge, generous and delicious buffet food.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Margaret W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Ferry building tasting tour was a fabulous event, with a very informed tour guide Shawn. Then we were amazed by Alcatraz, staying there for 3 hours heard a former guard talk, and a former inmate. And the weather even cooperated, not too cool at all. Great value for the money.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Miss LLP United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is the only way to make the most of Alcatraz. It is definitely worth doing, and avoids most the crowds for a little while at least. We were picked up from Union Square just a block away from our hotel in the converted cable car bus. We then went on a little tour on the way to the Alcatraz departing pier. Our tour guide made sure we were confident in where we checked in and which boat to get back before leaving us to go to the island independently. After a short boat journey we walked up to the main cell block and got our audio tour equipment. It is worthwhile having the audio tour! It is not like cheap and nasty ones I've experienced in other places - its is really, really good. The narrators of the audio tour are former prison officers and former prisoners. When we arrived back at the pier in SF, our tour guide drove along the Embarcadero slightly and we stopped for lunch. After lunch, we then went to the Golden Gate bridge, all I can say about that is wow!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Adam L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great value for money- we felt this was one of the highlights of our trip to San Francisco. Alcatraz was great and the sunset cruise was amazing! We'd had dinner but if you had a big lunch you could easily get away with having the appetizers as a dinner! Wonderful trip! :

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Allen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The trip was a great way to see Alcatraz, Sausalito and Muir Woods. Our bus driver was great, and he shared many interesting facts about the area. We were a little confused about the timing of the trip, so be sure to confirm ahead of time to understand when to pick up your tickets. There was not a lot of time to visit Sausalito if you wanted to eat lunch, but the ferry was a great alternative. All in all, we were very happy with our tour experience.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

jimandkelly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide Arturo provided interesting and informative commentary as we drove around the sights of San Fran, bringing the neighbourhoods to life. There are many high points on the tour - the opportunity to experience Alcatraz before it gets really busy is brilliant as is the drive across Golden Gate Bridge. One word of warning - it can get very breezy on the Bridge so bring a jacket/coat/jumper.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Diane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was 3 of the best things we did in San Francisco . Alcatraz was so interesting!

Doing what: San Francisco 3-for-1 Pass: Alcatraz, The San Francisco Dungeon and Madame Tussauds

Lynne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Alcatraz was fascinating and the trip went very well. We also had a bus tour of the San Francisco and that was fabulous. The driver took us all over and was quite entertaining and informative.

Doing what: San Francisco City and Alcatraz Tour with Optional Bay Cruise and Ferry to Sausalito

Amy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an awesome way to see the city 'like a local'. The Alcatraz tour was very interesting, we really enjoyed that it was self-guided. The brew and bike tour was fantastic! This was the highlight of our San Francisco stay.

Doing what: Alcatraz Admission and Small-Group Craft Brews and Bike Tour in San Francisco

johan h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

great tour, small group, alcatraz when it is not crowded yet.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Matilde R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly enjoyable. Guide was lovely, knowledgeable, and wineries visited were great. And no trip to San Francisco is complete without a trip to Alcatraz which was amazing. Recommended.

Doing what: Alcatraz and Wine Country Combo Tour

Angela S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Alcatraz was great, just remember to take you photo ID with you. Woods and Sausalito were also very pretty

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

chris16994

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was excellent all of the way around. Our pilot and the seaplane ride were both fantastic. The Alcatraz audio tour really brings the prison to life. Highly recommended!!!!

Doing what: San Francisco Seaplane Flight and Alcatraz Tour

Jonas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Vi ångrar ingenting med denna utflykt, allting var och gick perfekt! Vår guide var jätterolig och trevlig. Hjälpsam med allt och informativ angående alla resmål, både Alcatraz och Golden Gate bron. Rekommenderas varmt av både mig och min familj. Vi hade dock lite otur med vädret..

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

wdpoole65

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very informative sightseeing tour. Alcatraz is a must. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Sightseeing and Alcatraz Combo

Jessica B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip was awesome!! My husband and I waited until the last minute to book Alcatraz tickets and buying this package worked out. Madame Tussauds is always fun and the Dungeon was neat. We were able to use those tickets whenever. The best part was Alcatraz, from the ferry ride to the audio tour!

Doing what: San Francisco 3-for-1 Pass: Alcatraz, The San Francisco Dungeon and Madame Tussauds

Cathy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyed the day. Alcatraz a must do in San Francisco. Thought the city highlights was good too

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message