For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given chills to the innocent and cold sweats to the guilty. Having once served as the nation's first military prison, it was then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary. Now, Alcatraz is part of the Golden Gate ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1702 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Diana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I recommend this tour for its convenience and the amazing sights. The bus drives right up to the entrance of Muir Woods which were amazing. A quick lunch stop in stunning Sausalito was wonderful. Visiting Alcatraz in the afternoon fulfilled a lifelong dream of seeing the prison.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

vandimail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a wonderful trip!! Throughly enjoyed Alcatraz, we were on the first boat out in the morning and still felt like we could have spent more time on the island. Ubered over to where we picked up our bikes, helmets and tour guides for our beer tour and off we went! Both the ladies that took us on our tour were wonderful guides and we found some great beer also!! Fun, fun trip!

Doing what: Alcatraz Admission and Small-Group Craft Brews and Bike Tour in San Francisco

Teresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We were fortunate to have a beautiful sunny day at Alcatraz, which gave us fantastic views of the golden gate bridge and the San Francisco skyline. We thoroughly enjoyed the walking tour with the island's Ranger and the audio tour that followed. The history of the island was fascinating. We spent about 4 hours on the island and it was well worth the time and money. We were also able to enjoy Madame Tussauds wax museum and the San Francisco Dungeon on other days we had available.

Doing what: San Francisco 3-for-1 Pass: Alcatraz, The San Francisco Dungeon and Madame Tussauds

Kim M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Had a great time. Our Trolley bus driver was a local -- new all the ways to get around traffic and save us time and had great stories to share. We really felt like we got to know the city. Would have liked an extra hour on Alcatraz -- felt like we kind of ran through it -- but also felt like we really got our money's worth.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Tara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I would highly recommend this tour if you want to go to Alcatraz, you get the first boat out to Alcatraz so you really get to see the inside without too many people around. I loved the cable car around the city and our tour guide/driver was amazing!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

More fun on the magic bus than we could have imagined! Alcatraz tour is a must.

Doing what: Rock 'n' Roll Combo: Alcatraz and Magic Bus San Francisco Tour

Herve M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really enjoy the tour of Alcatraz and the GoCar was so fun . We had a great day

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and GPS-Guided GoCar Tour

James A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had the greatest time on our Viator tour. Our tour guide, Arturo, was fantastic. Our 4 kids loved the open air trolley/bus, the trip to Alcatraz was one of the highlights of our tour, and the trip across the Golden Gate Bridge was breathtaking. This tour was worth every penny and I would recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

ROGER D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I would highly recommend this tour, it was such a breathtaking experience that we will never forget in the Muir woods. Alcatraz is all you would expect and much more, it's is a real learning experience that should not be missed when your in San Francisco. We enjoyed lunch in Sausalito such an awesome little town with such a great vibe!

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

bunkcs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Anyone wanting to visit Alcatraz should take this package of 3 as it gives a light hearted view and education of the history of the city and the prison. We all enjoyed Alcatraz very informative , you could almost feel the prisoners still in residence somewhere near.

Doing what: San Francisco 3-for-1 Pass: Alcatraz, The San Francisco Dungeon and Madame Tussauds

Tim G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was amazing. Muir Woods is beauiful.
Alcatraz was better than I thought it would be.
Driver was great, very informative and funny.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

WILLIAM S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was well worth it. The guide was very knowledgeable and personable. The food was fantastic. The tour of Alcatraz, on Halloween, was very good. We are hoping to visiting San Francisco again and would look for similar tours.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

belles.fotos New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was the best and I would thoroughly recommend!! Not only do you get to travel in a cable car with your group on wheels, you ride across the bridge and have a yummy lunch.
Tickets to Alcatraz are included and you arrive to go on the first boat trip of the day!! Afterwards the cable car driver takes you around the backend of San Fran for a fantastic tour showing you life of the Rich and Famous!! If you have limited time Buy This Tour!! You will not be disappointed.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

JeffBarbara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We really enjoyed this tour of Alcatraz and also the cruise. Of course, we picked a time of year when it gets dark early, so we weren't able to see a whole lot, but it was enjoyable non-the-less.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

Nicholas L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A really great trip. Learned a lot and enjoyed the day despite having to think about what an ordeal a spell at Alcatraz must have been like for the prisoners and the guards too. Would say that a trip to Alcatraz when you visit San Francisco is a must

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

ch_duffey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were starting to feel disappointed in our visit to San Fransisco until we took this trip. Alcatraz was good but our trip was made to be exceptional by our Cable Car driver David. We would recommend the audio tour of Alcatraz but if you can you need to lag behind the main groups of people before you start the tape. Otherwise you do feel like a herd trying to view the same cell door.
The best part of the trip was back on the Cable Car. David was excellent host and coming from San Fransisco his inside knowledge and view of history made it feel like you were getting a VIP priveldged tour of the city. The Golden Gate Bridge, Booth Fort and the a tour through the posh housing district were really special.
We would highly recommend this and it's excellent value for money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Sarah P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Although it was misting and somewhat cloudy, we had a wonderful time. Visited two wineries and later Alcatraz. The winery hosts were very informative and entertaining. Alcatraz was interesting but enjoyed the wineries more. Our guide was full of San Francisco history and information. He did a great job. All in all, highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Alcatraz and Wine Country Combo Tour

Jan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Enjoyed visiting Alcatraz, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum and the San Francisco Dungeon all in one day. Was able to get Alcatraz tickets on short notice, which was lovely. Nice to have everything arranged by Viatour and not have to do the additional planning. Loved seeing Janis Joplin and Jimi Hendrix in Wax, as well as many others.

Doing what: San Francisco 3-for-1 Pass: Alcatraz, The San Francisco Dungeon and Madame Tussauds

Lisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Park Rangers were helpful and funny. The Alcatraz audio tour is self-guided so you never feel rushed. Highly recommend this tour. The SF city toyr was long but we learned a lot. Very easyick up and drop off.

Doing what: San Francisco City and Alcatraz Tour with Optional Bay Cruise and Ferry to Sausalito

tstack207 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really enjoyable! Alcatraz was great but the hidden gem was the bike ride! Well worth doing! You get to see and experience parts of SF that you would never go to on your own!

Doing what: Alcatraz Admission and Small-Group Craft Brews and Bike Tour in San Francisco

Robert R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

this trip was absolutely brilliant our guide Arturo was very informative during the trip and took time to take photo's for everybody on the trip at the start and all points in between. Alcatraz is an eerie thought provoking place but worth every minute. we took Arturo's advice and went straight to the prison itself up the bank, this advice paid off as we could leisurely stroll around and take all the photo's we wanted without there being a big crowd of people. when we got back from Alcatraz the trip around the city was just excellent over the Golden Gate bridge with time to take photo's and then down to fort point which was a great experience. we cannot speak highly enough of Arturo he helped make our day special

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

MRS JANICE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour for anyone wanting to see Alcatraz, with early VIP access we missed the crowds and leisurely walked around Alcatraz and fantastic audio tour. Our tour guide on the tram bus, was very knowledgeable, friendly , helpful and pointing out lots of sights. Travelling over the Golden Gate bridge was exciting and plenty of photo opportunities. A great way to see the sights of San Francisco on a day tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

rhondagb58

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful tour. David was excellent - knowledgeable, witty, fun. How good was it to walk straight on to the ferry to Alcatraz. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

rsmurf525

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was by far the best tour we had during our week in San Francisco. Arturo was our guide for the day. He was very knowledgeable and told us everything we needed to know before we departed on the boat that took us to Alcatraz island. He took his job seriously but with an edge of fun! He took the time to take photos for us getting on our motorized trolley as well as at any stop along our tour of the city.
I would highly recommend this particular early access tour to anyone who wants to see Alcatraz and the best if San Francisco.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

prestonsparks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour was exactly as described, and guide was very friendly and knowledgeable about San Francisco history and culture. Getting Alcatraz tickets through this combo deal was also a big plus being that Alcatraz tickets were all sold out through direct booking with Alcatraz Tours. The food on the tour tasted great, and it was just the right size group about 8 to tour with. This one earns the Best Tour Ever award!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message