For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given chills to the innocent and cold sweats to the guilty. Having once served as the nation's first military prison, it was then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary. Now, Alcatraz is part of the Golden Gate ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1594 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert J S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really enjoyed this tour. Alcatraz is a must see if in San Francisco. The audio system is very informative. The cable car sightseeing tour was a great way of seeing all the sights and our driver made it all very enjoyable.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Peach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an awesome tour! We were picked up at our hotel and the tickets were waiting for us. Going early helps with crowd at Alcatraz. The headset tour was perfect... I didn't think I would like it as well as following a tour guide but, I liked it better because I could go at my own pace.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Maureen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great trip to Alcatraz. Picked up tickets from Madame Tussauds for all 3 trips. The lady on the desk had given our tickets to someone else in error so the manager had to sort this out which was a bit annoying. We had to be at the boat Terminal 30 mins before the boat leaves. The trip over was fine and the visit was brilliant. So worth a visit. Madame Tussauds took us roughly an hour to round and it was ok and the Dungeon wasn't to scary and took roughly an hour. My daughter preferred this I found it a lot of shouting. Buy the ticket for Alcatraz the other tickets are just a wee extra.

Doing what: San Francisco 3-for-1 Pass: Alcatraz, The San Francisco Dungeon and Madame Tussauds

Cathy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved the Alcatraz headphone tour. Definitely take the headphone guided tour. It has the sounds, lots of information and we felt like we were there. Later we took the sunset cruise which was beautiful. The Golden Gate Bridge is massive. If you get a chance go to Sausalito and drive over the Golden Gate Bridge. Also take a walk over th Golden Gate Bridge. You can see beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Bump040

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour to Alcatraz was great! Nice boat ride and experience at Alcatraz. The Go Car was a lot of fun and let you see things at your own pace. Something different that was lots of fun!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and GPS-Guided GoCar Tour

Arthur B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The food tour was excellent, with a very good selection of foods to sample and an interesting description of the products. We bought several items immediately after the tour, and bought some from shops later in our holiday. The visit to Alcatraz was very good too, especially the self-guided tour of the cell block.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

wood_di

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

An exciting way to tour the city and get to Alcatraz. Commentary all the way to the harbour and then the self guided tour at your own pace using headphones. Quite a place. Then back
on the tram with our supplied packed lunch and more sights snd stops around the city.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

bob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic Trip from start to finish, we elected to do a late afternoon/evening tour and we where not disappointed, firstly we had plenty of time to wander around Alcatraz which is so interesting and so well done, before heading back to shore to pick up your boat for a wonderful trip to get up and personal with the Golden Gate Bridge they even lay on food and drink, which was plentiful enough that we did not need to go for a meal that evening. Great Value A Must Do

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Cony

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good tour and a great way to get around, we went on bus tour and alcatraz tour the first day and on the second used the bus to get around the city, Great value for money and very convenient

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Sightseeing and Alcatraz Combo

Carol C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour combo was great and I would recommend it to anyone. If you are going to Alcatraz, which I thoroughly recommend, book it way in advance or else you might not get to go. We went to the Muir Woods and Sausalito in the morning, and then to Alcatraz in the afternoon. The walk to Pier 33 for the ferry to Alcatraz is a little bit of a walk from the drop off point of the first two adventures, so be prepared to walk a ways. But other than that everything was great. The audio tour at Alcatraz is a must.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Kelly H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Due to an error of judgement in getting a bus to Alcatraz landing, my husband and I missed our scheduled departure. I was devastated, but thankfully the kind staff explained that it wasn't an issue and we simply went into the standby queue and made it onto the next boat across to the island. The audio tour is an absolute must.
The twilight cruise was done on a very cloudy day, but it was still a great time and the food was better than anticipated!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Ruth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great combination tour. The RIB boat was fun and exciting and a great way to see the bridges and San Fran skyline. The guide was very informed and you could tell how much he loved the sea and all things marine. He took loads of photos and uploaded them really quickly. Alcatraz is a must do when in San Francisco. The audio tour is put together brilliantly and I found it very interesting.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco Bay RIB Boat Experience

Joguar3 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The early access was the best way to go on this tour. Alcatraz self guided tour was very interesting and worthwhile. The crowds to visit are huge. You must have a reservation to be sure you can visit. The cable car tour was excellent. You will ride through all the neighborhoods and the commentary by the local guide Arturo was terrific. We stopped under the Golden Gate Bridge and at several other spots to see aspects not done by other tours. Only disappointment was the box lunch was not from the Boudin Bakery as expected. It was still good.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Claire R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Booked my holiday last minute when tickets for Alcatraz were all booked up so this was the perfect way to get on the tour. Fantastic guided tour of the prison and grounds. The Big Bus made getting around San Francisco so easy but get ready for the wind across the Golden Gate Bridge

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Sightseeing and Alcatraz Combo

corey r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Alcatraz tour was nice however the times changes when we first reserved the tour. As for the brewery tour I thought it was amazing and Hunter was very relaxed and dealt with any problems that popped up. My bike didn't work after the second brewery and Hunter took care of it in less than 30 minutes.

Doing what: Alcatraz Admission and Small-Group Craft Brews and Bike Tour in San Francisco

Karen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely fantastic trip on the rib and was an unexpected bigger highlight to our day even above Alcatraz tour. Our guide was excellent and a wonderful way to see the San Francisco coastline.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco Bay RIB Boat Experience

Corey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was excellent, from the Alcatraz audio tour to the Sunset Cruise on the Harbor. I would definitely recommend this as one of the number one combo tours SF. You won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Patricia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great excursion!! The Muir Woods was not familiar and turned out to be realy l enjoyable for three generations! The ride to it is even exceptional as curvy, narrow switchbacks for 5 miles with great views. The Sausalito was basically a great luncheon spot unless you moved really fast but all we needed. Had ask driver for idea and he pointed to a great little sandwich shop that would never have noticed with really good food to take across to the park and eat! Alcatraz was the jewel of the day! SO glad I had called ahead almost 4 months to insure an inside tour. Tickets are really hard to get but didn't know this before. Worth every penny and walking tour was well done with narration at different cells etc. by taped convicts, as what they did daily routines, which cell was their's etc. AND they have a tram to scale the 13 floor hike for us older folks!!! At beginning and end we were at our hotel. What more could we ask? There were 9 of us.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

sherrismith1910

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

On time! Amazing guide Mark. Very knowledgeable and informative. Outstanding trip to Alcatraz as well.

Doing what: Alcatraz and Wine Country Combo Tour

andrewbray

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I booked the tour as I was too late to book for just Alcatraz. The wine tout gave me a chance to see outside the city and get a bit of info on the surrounding area. Alcatraz was off the hook. My only suggestion would be to get there earlier to ensure you have enough time to see everything as I ran out of time and missed a few sights.

Doing what: Alcatraz and Wine Country Combo Tour

Aldo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was well worth it. Getting around San Francisco via the Big Bus was very enjoyable and stress free, with strategic stops along the route if one wanted to get off and explore. I only wish the bus operated past 5:00PM. The tour to Alcatraz was fascinating. The ferry to Alcatraz island was an enjoyable ride. We spent several hours exploring the prison and the audio tour was superb. The photo opportunities from Alcatraz Island are amazing, albeit quite windy and chilly. I would recommend this tour if visiting San Francisco.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Sightseeing and Alcatraz Combo

Zen Liu Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Seaplane flight is awesome showing an overview of the important and major places in San Francisco. Our captain is knowledgeable and shared alot of information with us. Alcatraz is a must visit island. We spent over 4 hours and it is still not sufficient. Nice trip and well organized.

Doing what: San Francisco Seaplane Flight and Alcatraz Tour

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

After leaving booking Alcatraz too late this was one of the only ways to get a ticket. But this ended up working in our favour as the bike tour was really fun seeing parts of San Francisco we hadn't seen before. Ari our quide was really nice and always happy to help with advice on the city and which beers to recommend.

Doing what: Alcatraz Admission and Small-Group Craft Brews and Bike Tour in San Francisco

Monise H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The San Francisco trip was a memorable one filled with history Alcatraz, beauty Napa Valley and culture. I enjoyed all of the excursions. They made the trip worth every penny spent. I only wish I had bought more chocolate from Ghiradelli's to take back home. It was delicious! This city never sleeps. I'm glad we made this a stop on our summer vacation.

Doing what: San Francisco 3-for-1 Pass: Alcatraz, The San Francisco Dungeon and Madame Tussauds

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message