For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given chills to the innocent and cold sweats to the guilty. Having once served as the nation's first military prison, it was then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary. Now, Alcatraz is part of the Golden Gate ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1535 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jonas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Vi ångrar ingenting med denna utflykt, allting var och gick perfekt! Vår guide var jätterolig och trevlig. Hjälpsam med allt och informativ angående alla resmål, både Alcatraz och Golden Gate bron. Rekommenderas varmt av både mig och min familj. Vi hade dock lite otur med vädret..

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

wdpoole65

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very informative sightseeing tour. Alcatraz is a must. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Sightseeing and Alcatraz Combo

Jessica B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip was awesome!! My husband and I waited until the last minute to book Alcatraz tickets and buying this package worked out. Madame Tussauds is always fun and the Dungeon was neat. We were able to use those tickets whenever. The best part was Alcatraz, from the ferry ride to the audio tour!

Doing what: San Francisco 3-for-1 Pass: Alcatraz, The San Francisco Dungeon and Madame Tussauds

Cathy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyed the day. Alcatraz a must do in San Francisco. Thought the city highlights was good too

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Steven C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

First guide on Big Bus tour, Steve, was not up to par very limited information as to what he was describing to the people in the bus and not on the top deck. Night tour guide and driver Robert were fantastic! Highly reccomend the Alcatraz tour with audio. Would have liked to have seen some of the island and buildings not on the tour though.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Sightseeing and Alcatraz Combo

John M W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour of the city and Alcatraz. Our guide Arturo was excellent, knew the city. Highly recommend the VIP tour. It was several tours in one and the price was affordable.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Scott J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was much better than expected. When we got there they allowed us to change our date of the bus tour - actually they asked if we wanted to - so that we could have a full day without combining it with the Alcatraz tour. Good stuff!

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Sightseeing and Alcatraz Combo

C M B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip. The Alcatraz trip was very good and we joined the initial guided tour with Jim which was very insightful about an ex inmate and what happened throughout his life. A very pationate man. Well worth going and glad we finally got to do this. The audio your is very well done as you move around the prison. The next day we did the Segway tour with our guide John. Again a very informative and fun tour. As a beginner I found the instructions easy to follow and was given good encouragement. We were on the Segways for 3 hours so was well worth the money. We saw a lot of San Fran around the area, much more than I thought, and loved every minute of it. We stopped at places for information, play time, visiting that particular area, questions or just chilling out. I can't say enough good things about the people who run the Segways or our tour guide John.
Christine NZ

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

kathryn p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wow this sightseeing tour was amazing and we loved every minute. Jaime was a fantastic tour guide warm funny and so knowledgeable and our experience aboard Bernard was awesome and so much fun. Jamie took diversions to avoid heavy traffic giving us such good value showing us parts of San Francisco we would not otherwise have seen . We were so glad we booked this amazing trip in advance and really appreciated the early access as it was so much easier to access the Island and have personal attention from guides in the prison. Alcatraz is such an interesting place to visit and definitely not to be missed.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

lees_c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a fantastic time. Great Guide at the Ferry Bldg and out of this world food. We will do this again when we get back to San Fran. Alcatraz was fantastic as well.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Wanda A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was wonderful! Left on time and easy to board following the prompts. Plenty of time to discover Alcatraz and the evening cruise was also wonderful. The young man who entertained us with his singing and guitar was great! All that was advertised was delivered. I would highly recommend this combo tour to anyone who may be visiting San Francisco!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

tersteash

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great day out and a fantastic way to see the sights of San Francisco.
Full points to Jamie, our trolley driver/ guide for this tour. She was educational and entertaining all rolled into a ball of enthusiasm.
My only change would be an added hour to Alcatraz as there is so much to see, but that wouldn't work for everybody.
You should note the Lunch from Boudin Bakery is just that 'from', not in, as you eat across the road in the wharf area.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Steven C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was the perfect mix of sightseeing and a great introduction to the city. Alcatraz was great and having the comfort of the cable car was excellent. Our guide, Arturo, was super knowledgeable and a great person in general. I would recommend this.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Yvonne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Arturo was well-organized tour guide. This was my husband's favorite part of our vacation. The tour of Alcatraz was amazing, and the city tour afterwards was a great way to end the day. We were able to get a close view of the Golden Gate Bridge and briefly visit the Palace of the Fine Arts.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Vicki V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Highly recommend the wine tour and Alcatraz combo tour. Amazing time!

Doing what: Alcatraz and Wine Country Combo Tour

Gary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Absolutely brilliant. Jamie our tour guide and driver was friendly, helpful, funny and extremely informative. Loved Alcatraz and the top tip of not stopping for a no smoking, no eating briefing was golden! Well worth doing and highly recommend.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Christian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

booked it only because the regular Alcatraz tickets were sold out, however it was a perfect and fun way to explore the city, use the 48h option

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Sightseeing and Alcatraz Combo

James K R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was wonderful! The food tour in the Ferry Building was exceptional and probably the most favorite part of my trip. Our tour guide was Rebecca and she did a wonderful job. She was tuna nd very personable. The food was delicious. Don't eat before you go! Alcatraz was a wonderful experience , too.This tour was one of the most positive travel experiences I've had.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Esther F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed Alcatraz and would recommend it as a must visit for San Fransisco. The GoCar was great fun, whizzing around looking at all the sights with the GPS guiding the way which would be a little out of walking distance.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and GPS-Guided GoCar Tour

Sandra D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our group consisted of myself, my husband and our two children... We loved it all! Alcatraz was a great self -guided tour, and the sailing at night had great food and great music

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Henning B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Jamie as cable car driver was top, the audio tour in Alcatraz a must!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Elizabeth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was awesome! Would do it again! I highly recommend this to individuals, couples and families. The Ferry Building tour and the food samples was wonderful! Our tour guide was very nice and very knowledgeable! Alcatraz was phenomenal!

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Ashley H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour for all ages!! If you want to see everything and get in Alcatraz as well the 2 day hop on hop of bus combo is great!!

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Sightseeing and Alcatraz Combo

Simon J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great. A must do in San Francisco. The guide was very knowledgeable, right down to advising us to bypass the initial welcome and smoking instructions on Alcatraz Island in order to get ahead of the crowd. Very friendly and willing to assist on all questions. Also loves showing the trams

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Cameron C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We booked this tour because Alcatraz was sold out. We were very happy to find some Alcatraz tickets with this combo. Alcatraz was very interesting and definitely a must see. We were pleasantly surprised that the bike ride was even more fun! Seeing the city from a local and #39;s perspective was amazing.

Doing what: Alcatraz Admission and Small-Group Craft Brews and Bike Tour in San Francisco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message