For almost 150 years, Alcatraz has given chills to the innocent and cold sweats to the guilty. Having once served as the nation's first military prison, it was then a forbidding maximum-security penitentiary. Now, Alcatraz is part of the Golden Gate ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1706 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sherri C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour! Great tour guide! Loved being the first into Alcatraz and avoiding the crowds!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Larry C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We really enjoyed our Alcatraz tour. Arturo was simply the BEST!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Jacqueline V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour guide started off by recognizing that most of us were only doing this to get the tickets to Alcatraz, but hoped that we would enjoy the food tour too. We sure did! Everything we tried was delicious, so much that my friend and I went back later and bought a few things to enjoy at the hotel for dinner instead of going out.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Chris P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Alcatraz tour is a must. The Segway tour was also great front.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and City Segway Tour

a u

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wow Wow Wow, now this is what prisons should be like today!! Met with one of the book authors in the gift shop whilst on the rock and he had plenty of information to give. A busy trip and glad we had the first boat out in the morning before the crowds appeared at the rock! The rest of the day was very informative and lots of areas of the city were shown that other tours wouldn't have. Antonis the tour guide was native to SF and was informative about parts of the city that is not found in books, personal touch! Had a great day and would highly recommend this VIP trip above other Alcatraz tours when coming to SF:

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Carmelina V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an amazing trip to take, the ferry across to Alcatraz was short and smooth, they explained all the things you could see ant when in the prison block you had audio to tell you the stories, it's great to understand and visualise what it was like when it was in use.
The hop on off bus was great also, it helps to get off and see different areas of San Francisco, the ride across Golden Gate Bridge was great, overall it's great to discover many things and it's history, suitable for educational for children.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was well worth the money, the tour guide was very well informed. the tour bus itself was and attraction with people stopping and asking to get a picture of it where ever we went. The day started around 7am and finished at 4pm. keep this in mind as it is a full day but i would recommend it if you want to see all parts of the city. The trip to Alcatraz was brilliant we where never rushed giving us plenty of time to learn about the island as well as the prison. Overall i would rate this 10/10 and a must for anyone who comes to San Francisco.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Brandee C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Tour was great - not knowing we needed Alcatraz tickets months in advance, Viator came through! Will use Viator again in the future.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Sightseeing and Alcatraz Combo

Jessica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great time at Alcatraz, the twilight cruise was cold but if you sit inside first floor you can eat tons of appetizers and drink too. The views were great!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

Terry M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour really was fun. The actress was very lively and entertaining but also very knowledgeable. I had gone on some hop-on/hop-off tours for two days prior, and she gave more information about different area's of the city than those tours did. This tour is not for everyone. You need to love music, history, and fun and have a sense of humor. There is a lot of tongue in cheek humor including the handing out of mints (LSD) to put you into the "right frame of mind" for the time. This tour comes complete with a 3-D bus (and glasses), retractable screen show, flowers for your hair, and singing along to great music. Wait until you experience the "Wizard of Oz" Munchkins dancing to "Route 66." The actress (I cannot remember her name, dark shag hair, little space between her teeth, groovy clothes) and the driver (can't remember his name either, blonde shag hair and groovy clothes) were impeccably dressed in 1967 garb and encourage all riders to do the same. I would do this again in a heartbeat even without the Alcatraz tickets-but that is a fantastic extra and this is a brilliant and fun way to get them. This was a lot of fun, a lot of history (reminders of a time not so long ago) and the continuous stream of bubbles coming from the bus was a great touch! Peace Out until the next time

Doing what: Rock 'n' Roll Combo: Alcatraz and Magic Bus San Francisco Tour

Yonelys R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

In Alcatraz you feel all history in your skin. Madame Tussauds is amazing. Here you are even allow to interact with the wax statutes. They create a scenario and leave some cloths to characterize yourself and feel like part of the and #34;picture and #34;. Very funny. The dungeon artist are very talent. Enjoy it!

Doing what: San Francisco 3-for-1 Pass: Alcatraz, The San Francisco Dungeon and Madame Tussauds

michael d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Absolutely Wonderful way to tour Alcatraz and the Bay area.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

Leah USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was more than we expected. If you like food - then this is the tour for you. We really didn't know what to expect but the little stories of the shops at the Ferry building were interesting and it was great to have someone else arrange for our tickets on the ferry and to go over to Alcatraz. We saw it all and highly recommend this tour - you won't be sorry.

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Ferry Building Food Tour and Alcatraz

Franco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Alcatraz was worth the entire tour. Madame Toussaints was interesting with some new characters.

Doing what: San Francisco 3-for-1 Pass: Alcatraz, The San Francisco Dungeon and Madame Tussauds

jpcalkins

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Alcatraz was absolutely without a doubt the highlight of out trip to San Francisco. Muir Woods is beautiful but disappointing compared to Northern California. Our bus driver was very informative.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Christopher D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The excursion to Alcatraz was both eery and amazing. The Lady tour guide was friendly and knew her stuff. She took us to see many sights on the cable car incliding the house they filmed Mrs Doubtfire and basic instinct, would highly recommend the trip!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

samanthawilding686

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Audio tour of Alcatraz is brilliant really gives you a sense of what it was like in the prison. Big bus tour was very good knowledgable guide and great insight into San Fran.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Sightseeing and Alcatraz Combo

Diana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I recommend this tour for its convenience and the amazing sights. The bus drives right up to the entrance of Muir Woods which were amazing. A quick lunch stop in stunning Sausalito was wonderful. Visiting Alcatraz in the afternoon fulfilled a lifelong dream of seeing the prison.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

vandimail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a wonderful trip!! Throughly enjoyed Alcatraz, we were on the first boat out in the morning and still felt like we could have spent more time on the island. Ubered over to where we picked up our bikes, helmets and tour guides for our beer tour and off we went! Both the ladies that took us on our tour were wonderful guides and we found some great beer also!! Fun, fun trip!

Doing what: Alcatraz Admission and Small-Group Craft Brews and Bike Tour in San Francisco

Teresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We were fortunate to have a beautiful sunny day at Alcatraz, which gave us fantastic views of the golden gate bridge and the San Francisco skyline. We thoroughly enjoyed the walking tour with the island's Ranger and the audio tour that followed. The history of the island was fascinating. We spent about 4 hours on the island and it was well worth the time and money. We were also able to enjoy Madame Tussauds wax museum and the San Francisco Dungeon on other days we had available.

Doing what: San Francisco 3-for-1 Pass: Alcatraz, The San Francisco Dungeon and Madame Tussauds

Kim M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Had a great time. Our Trolley bus driver was a local -- new all the ways to get around traffic and save us time and had great stories to share. We really felt like we got to know the city. Would have liked an extra hour on Alcatraz -- felt like we kind of ran through it -- but also felt like we really got our money's worth.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Tara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I would highly recommend this tour if you want to go to Alcatraz, you get the first boat out to Alcatraz so you really get to see the inside without too many people around. I loved the cable car around the city and our tour guide/driver was amazing!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

More fun on the magic bus than we could have imagined! Alcatraz tour is a must.

Doing what: Rock 'n' Roll Combo: Alcatraz and Magic Bus San Francisco Tour

Herve M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really enjoy the tour of Alcatraz and the GoCar was so fun . We had a great day

Doing what: San Francisco Combo: Alcatraz and GPS-Guided GoCar Tour

James A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had the greatest time on our Viator tour. Our tour guide, Arturo, was fantastic. Our 4 kids loved the open air trolley/bus, the trip to Alcatraz was one of the highlights of our tour, and the trip across the Golden Gate Bridge was breathtaking. This tour was worth every penny and I would recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message