In this age of seat belts and air bags, a rickety ride on a much-loved San Francisco cable car is an anachronistic thrill. Indeed, cable cars may not be the most practical means of transportation, but in San Francisco, a cable car ride is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 203 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dana D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing! Walking tour was great with very knowledgeable guide, Bridgette. Cable cars are a must as is Alcatraz! Great time on this tour!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach with Cable Car Ride and optional Alcatraz Ticket

tori

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Well worth the visit but very cold in June, had to buy a jacket there. The cable car was terrific, took us everywhere, Jamie our tour guide was great. We saw more than we thought we would.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Henning B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Jamie as cable car driver was top, the audio tour in Alcatraz a must!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Steven C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was the perfect mix of sightseeing and a great introduction to the city. Alcatraz was great and having the comfort of the cable car was excellent. Our guide, Arturo, was super knowledgeable and a great person in general. I would recommend this.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Christi D

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This tour allowed us to be one of the first groups to Alcatraz which was great. The cost was high in my opinion; there were several other groups arriving for an early launch too. The cable car tour was fun, but we did not go over the bridge bc of traffic and a majority vote (not ours) to skip.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Jean-Claude D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nous avons passé une excellente journée. Le tour de San Francisco en cable car nous a permis d'avoir un aperçu très complet de la ville. Nous sommes passé sur le Golden Gate et les arrêts photo nous ont permis de prendre de beaux clichés de chaque côté du pont. La visite d'Alcatraz est très intéressante. Dés la sortie du bateau commencer la visite et récupérer l'audio guide. Les commentaires en français sont très intéressants. Le chauffeur très sympathique a commenté la visite tout le long du trajet mais lorsqu'on ne maitrise pas bien la langue c'est parfois un peu difficile.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

mcstack35

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had an excellent walking tour of San Francisco with Don! He ran the tour with only 4 of us, when I had been previously told they couldn't run it with less than 5 people. He even spent 3 1/2 hours walking us all around the city, when he was only required to do 2 hours! His commentary was great: very informative and a lot of fun, interesting facts. He also stopped at an Italian focaccia place, and bought some, and shared it with us! We also got some cable car tickets, and tickets to visit Alcatraz. Alcatraz was so fascinating, and a lot of fun! Overall, an excellent tour thanks to Don and Viator!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach with Cable Car Ride and optional Alcatraz Ticket

Mark H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An early start at 7:15 in Union Square was the beginning of this great day. First to be in Alcatraz - the audio tour was extremely easy to follow. Back to the mainland by noon with a boxed lunch from Boudin Bakery, which was wonderful. Eating outside on benches overlooking the bay, then back on the cable car/bus to see the rest of San Francisco. Our guide, Arturo, was funny, personable, and informative. Another must do!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

William A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

WOW. This pass made getting around so easy. We rode busses when we tired of walking and even got on a Cable Car. The lines for the Cable Cars could be daunting but we got on. The California Academy of Sciences was a hi light and was very enjoyable. The best was the Planetarium was great.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

James W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We went to all of the special events: Blue and Gold Boat tour, Pier 39 Aquarium, California Academy of Sciences and the deYoung Art Museum.
We used the Muni buses a lot and also did a cable car ride.
Worth the price.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

jim.favara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was well worth the money. Our tour started out with a ride on an Cable car bus. Arturo our driver was a local guy, very knowledgeable, with a great sense of humor. The bus tour of the city was great because this was our 2nd day there and it gave us a great overview of all the different districts of the city. The VIP access of Alcatraz was also nice because we were the first group on the island thus we did not get stuck in a lot of the traffic. Great tour and a must do. I would recommend this for anyone who is new to the city.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Doreen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellent buy. So handy to be able to take public transportation MUNI and streetcars for 7 days without having to figure out fares, etc. It rained most of the time we were in SF but we spent the rainiest days touring the Exploratorium the Thursday night Adult tour, the California Academy of Sciences give yourself an entire day and the Aquarium of the Bay. When the sun finally did peek through, we took advantage of the Blue and Gold Fleet Bay cruise. We never got to ride the iconic cable cars as line ups were way too long. Next time .....

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

RICHARD W

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Alcatraz was great but the guide on the site Cable Car Sightseeing tour was not so that knowledgeable. He also arrived late.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Adrianne M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The tour was good, but not a good value. Our guide was not engaging and very repetitive, and did not seem to know much detail about most of the things he was mentioning. He kept telling us if we wanted to know more we should google it. The tour is a good way to hit the highlights of the city, especially if you are there for a short time. Try to sit on the inside of the Cable Car if at all possible, if you don't you are stuck in an open air part of the car where it can be chilly and you are stuck inhaling emissions from all the other cars in heavy city traffic. We were able to get some great photos that we defiantly wouldn't have gotten if we had not taken this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Patricia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This has got to be one of the best tours we have ever been on. The early access meant we were the first boat over, beating the heat and the later crowds. The audio tour was fabulous. Former inmates and guards did the information. They directed you step by step, and gave you a real representation of what it was like. Afterwards, there was plenty of time to explore the rest of the grounds, including the gardens. The cable car was fun. A lot of the information was repeated, as we did the Muir Woods and Sausalito tour, but was a neat way to get around town.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Brandy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was THE best tour ever! Arturo did an amazing job getting us around in the not so great weather of San Francisco. The cable car was so cool and getting to Alcatraz early was priceless! He gave us insight on getting around on the grounds and fully enjoying the experience. Lunch was nice and the drive over the Golden Gate Bridge and fort area underneath it was especially a nice, uncrowded visit. The Palace of Fine Arts was an unexpected pleasure, such a beautiful area!
Overall it was totally a 5 star experience in a great city!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Patricia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was great! We could hop on and off the cable cars. We used the bus and saw several of the attractions. We were so glad to have the City Pass and didnt worry about individual charges.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Donald T

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Don was an excellent host providing exceptional knowledge of the area. What a great city. I was very dissappointed that the cable car ride was ONLY 1 way and that you had to pay another 7.00 to get back. We were looking forward to this ride and because of this did not take it.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach with Cable Car Ride and optional Alcatraz Ticket

Deborah P

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The tour of Alcatraz is fascinating. Skip the Cable Car Sightseeing portion. Driver spent most of day telling us what she couldn't show us or that we could see such and such later -- on our own. The lunch was tasty - but we ate it sitting in a parking lot. She has little respect for security or police officers referring to them as rent a cops. Not good. Lesson learned - book the Alcatraz trip earlier so you can just get tickets to it!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Donna H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Unbelievable. Jamie was amazing and she put up with my incessant questioning. She knows the town, the history, and the way to drive a cable car! I would do this again in a heartbeat. Worth every penny. Give Jamie a raise!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Keith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Well worth the money for access to the Cable cars and Muni transport system alone both of which are excellent for getting around the City with no car which is by far the best approach in my opinion

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Thomas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was amazing! The cable car was so much fun and getting to expierence the city on the cable car was so authentic

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Phillip B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

After waiting just a couple of days to long to get our Alcatraz tickets we decided on this tour so that we wouldn't miss it. This gets you on one of the first boats to Alcatraz. Touring the prison was great because it was not very crowded. Upon return to the ferry landing we were provided a lunch and then had a great cable car tour of SF. Our driver Jamie was very knowledgeable and provided great information during the trip.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Roxane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Alcatraz trip was about what I expected after reading the reviews. Cable car tour was even better than expected. As hoped, we had Arthuro as our guide, got to see so much more than we expected, lunch was great, everyone on our car made friends and we got many great photos. Don't miss out on this one!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Allae United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I am glad I have taken the early access tour, got to the island before anyone else, Alcatraz visit is a must when in San Francisco, we have all seen many movies about Alcatraz days, so it was thrilling to actually visit the place, plus the city tour by the cable car tour is soooooooo great, taken us to the best places in town, great experience.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message