In this age of seat belts and air bags, a rickety ride on a much-loved San Francisco cable car is an anachronistic thrill. Indeed, cable cars may not be the most practical means of transportation, but in San Francisco, a cable car ride is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 226 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ch_duffey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were starting to feel disappointed in our visit to San Fransisco until we took this trip. Alcatraz was good but our trip was made to be exceptional by our Cable Car driver David. We would recommend the audio tour of Alcatraz but if you can you need to lag behind the main groups of people before you start the tape. Otherwise you do feel like a herd trying to view the same cell door.
The best part of the trip was back on the Cable Car. David was excellent host and coming from San Fransisco his inside knowledge and view of history made it feel like you were getting a VIP priveldged tour of the city. The Golden Gate Bridge, Booth Fort and the a tour through the posh housing district were really special.
We would highly recommend this and it's excellent value for money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

GLENN P W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Had a great time! Loved the cable car bus! Arturo our tour guide was knowledgable, entertaining and certainly contributed to a great day!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

belles.fotos New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was the best and I would thoroughly recommend!! Not only do you get to travel in a cable car with your group on wheels, you ride across the bridge and have a yummy lunch.
Tickets to Alcatraz are included and you arrive to go on the first boat trip of the day!! Afterwards the cable car driver takes you around the backend of San Fran for a fantastic tour showing you life of the Rich and Famous!! If you have limited time Buy This Tour!! You will not be disappointed.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Tara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I would highly recommend this tour if you want to go to Alcatraz, you get the first boat out to Alcatraz so you really get to see the inside without too many people around. I loved the cable car around the city and our tour guide/driver was amazing!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Marta S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I highly recommend the city pass. We took advantage of the bay cruise, visiting the aquarium and rode lots of buses and cable cars. And all at our convenience. It was awesome. We did use some of the other coupons in the book and all in all well worth the money,

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Boris G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was worth it simply for the Alcatraz early access to get there before the crowds. The rest was bonus to us. It was fun to ride in a converted cable car, although a little frightening at times in traffic. Our tour guide was clever and knew everything about San Francisco.

The Alcatraz tour is a self-paced walking tour with audio - for EVERYONE. It is a really high quality tour, and I was VERY glad to do it before it got crowded.

We weren't actually on the FIRST boat to Alcatraz, which I think I read somewhere, but still on a very early one - maybe the second or third. And that was plenty early enough. Alcatraz wasn't really crowded till we were ready to leave. There was plenty of down time while we waited for the boat to Alcatraz, but that time is out of the hands of the tour and guide, since they have to hand us off to the National Park folks for that leg of the tour.

During the cable-car tour, our guide kept things entertaining and informative even when we were getting from one place to another, or were stopped in traffic.

Next to Alcatraz, my favorite stop was Fort Point National Historic Site.

The tour folks did have us arrive at the meeting point way too early. The tour info says the tour departs at 7:30, but to arrive at 7 as I recall. When we called the day before, they said we should arrive BEFORE 7AM. We arrived at 6:45. In fact, we stood on the corner till nearly 7:30 until any official of the tour arrived - in the cable cars. I sort of expected a handler In the meanwhile, the gathering tourists were engaged and entertained by street people as we waited. Still, even after our initial introductions and orientation, well after 7:30, one couple hadn't shown up, and we wound up having to leave without them. So get there on time, but be realistic.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Joanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic tour. Loved travelling in the cable car and got to see some beautiful sights. Lunch was delicious and Alcatraz tour was brilliant

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Annemarie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

this pass gave us the opportunity to go places that we would not have paid for separately. Loved the San Francisco Aquarium, Exploratorium, harbor tour with blue and gold, and of course the cable cars.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Eileen L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The cable car sightseeing tour was very enjoyable .....Pete our driver was very good. The amount of time spent on Alcatraz was too short.....we got the 9.25 ferry across and had to be back in line for the return ferry at 11.10. We were unable to see all the attractions on the island......a bit disappointing!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Joseph C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We were out of luck because the weather was bad.However our tour guide Arturo did his best.He was very calm nice knowledgeabe and patient.
What viator needs to change is the catering.this was an early morning tour including breakfast and light lunch.I think you should adopt the Niagara tour breakfast which was bagel juice yoghurt and fruit as most of us were half awake a snack bar and soda doesnt cut it.I would then suggest you dont include the lunch as we were all at Fishermans wharf for that eriod and best people get their own rather than the very poor sandwich and crisps.Makes much more sense.
we had 26 on our tour which is a little too many for the cable car when weather is bad as people outside were cold and miserable despite balnkets and getting wet vip tours should certainly be less than 20.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Donna C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

We should have stayed on Alcatraz longer - cable car should have spent more time at Coit, Lombard st, other tv houses

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Joguar3 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The early access was the best way to go on this tour. Alcatraz self guided tour was very interesting and worthwhile. The crowds to visit are huge. You must have a reservation to be sure you can visit. The cable car tour was excellent. You will ride through all the neighborhoods and the commentary by the local guide Arturo was terrific. We stopped under the Golden Gate Bridge and at several other spots to see aspects not done by other tours. Only disappointment was the box lunch was not from the Boudin Bakery as expected. It was still good.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Greg P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The city pass was great and completely worth it, we were able to use all of the passes, and I have to say out of all the passes that come with it the Muni pass and the Exploratorium were worth it alone. The Academy of Science had some great exhibits as well. The bay cruise was great, we got some great shots of us right under the golden gate bridge. Overall this pass was a great deal especially with how much we used the public transportation. We used the metro, cable cars, buses and the history cable car too! This pass is a great value for tourists.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Robert J S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really enjoyed this tour. Alcatraz is a must see if in San Francisco. The audio system is very informative. The cable car sightseeing tour was a great way of seeing all the sights and our driver made it all very enjoyable.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Dan Slater United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A great introduction to the city, and a sure way of getting on one of the first ferries to the island. Alcatraz is definitely worth a visit, and out guide made sure that we got a good feel for the rest of the city including a trip over the Golden Gate Bridge whilst on the converted cable car.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Edward H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Nothing VIP about this trip, but the price we paid for a late booking. Cold, uncomfortable cable car ride for hours with an uninteresting guide. Lunch was eaten while balancing a boxed lunch on our laps sitting inside the cable car with blankets.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Miss LLP United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is the only way to make the most of Alcatraz. It is definitely worth doing, and avoids most the crowds for a little while at least. We were picked up from Union Square just a block away from our hotel in the converted cable car bus. We then went on a little tour on the way to the Alcatraz departing pier. Our tour guide made sure we were confident in where we checked in and which boat to get back before leaving us to go to the island independently. After a short boat journey we walked up to the main cell block and got our audio tour equipment. It is worthwhile having the audio tour! It is not like cheap and nasty ones I've experienced in other places - its is really, really good. The narrators of the audio tour are former prison officers and former prisoners. When we arrived back at the pier in SF, our tour guide drove along the Embarcadero slightly and we stopped for lunch. After lunch, we then went to the Golden Gate bridge, all I can say about that is wow!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

debjohntaylor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour, well organised and good timekeeping. Well worth the extra cost for the early-bird access to Alcatraz. When we were leaving there were several parties of school children arriving so we got to see everything at a leisurely pace and avoid the crowds. The audio tour of the prison is extremely informative and eye-opening. Great idea to do the sightseeing tour on a modified cable car. Good fun going over the Golden Gate Bridge. Very informative and helpful tour guide/driver who doubled as a photographer - no need for selfies, he was always there to suggest good photo shots. This is the perfect tour for seeing all the major sights and experiencing life on the rock .

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Derek S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A great value!!! Very easy to use the public transportation including the famous cable cars I just showed my pass and boarded otherwise you have to have exact change I used the cable cars,electric carsbuses and their Muni system which is similar to a subway The attractions were also very nice and lots of fun I was in San Francisco for seven days so I really saved a lot of

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Rick P

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The tour guide was knowledgeable and entertaining. We were provided just barely enough time to tour Alcatraz. The cable car took us to interesting places that we didn't know about previously.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Servane M

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The Alcatraz part was extremely rushed, nothing like enough time spent on the island.
Cable car sightseeing tour was interesting and pleasant.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

quyen.mark

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

We did not get to use any of the tickets however we tried to use it several times to ride the cable cars. Wait times for the cable cars were long and when we finally got on a car, it was packed. I have used the hop-on, hop-off buses and felt it was a better option for the cost.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Dana D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing! Walking tour was great with very knowledgeable guide, Bridgette. Cable cars are a must as is Alcatraz! Great time on this tour!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach with Cable Car Ride and optional Alcatraz Ticket

tori

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Well worth the visit but very cold in June, had to buy a jacket there. The cable car was terrific, took us everywhere, Jamie our tour guide was great. We saw more than we thought we would.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Henning B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Jamie as cable car driver was top, the audio tour in Alcatraz a must!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message