In this age of seat belts and air bags, a rickety ride on a much-loved San Francisco cable car is an anachronistic thrill. Indeed, cable cars may not be the most practical means of transportation, but in San Francisco, a cable car ride is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 213 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joguar3 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The early access was the best way to go on this tour. Alcatraz self guided tour was very interesting and worthwhile. The crowds to visit are huge. You must have a reservation to be sure you can visit. The cable car tour was excellent. You will ride through all the neighborhoods and the commentary by the local guide Arturo was terrific. We stopped under the Golden Gate Bridge and at several other spots to see aspects not done by other tours. Only disappointment was the box lunch was not from the Boudin Bakery as expected. It was still good.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Greg P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The city pass was great and completely worth it, we were able to use all of the passes, and I have to say out of all the passes that come with it the Muni pass and the Exploratorium were worth it alone. The Academy of Science had some great exhibits as well. The bay cruise was great, we got some great shots of us right under the golden gate bridge. Overall this pass was a great deal especially with how much we used the public transportation. We used the metro, cable cars, buses and the history cable car too! This pass is a great value for tourists.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Edward H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Nothing VIP about this trip, but the price we paid for a late booking. Cold, uncomfortable cable car ride for hours with an uninteresting guide. Lunch was eaten while balancing a boxed lunch on our laps sitting inside the cable car with blankets.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Miss LLP United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is the only way to make the most of Alcatraz. It is definitely worth doing, and avoids most the crowds for a little while at least. We were picked up from Union Square just a block away from our hotel in the converted cable car bus. We then went on a little tour on the way to the Alcatraz departing pier. Our tour guide made sure we were confident in where we checked in and which boat to get back before leaving us to go to the island independently. After a short boat journey we walked up to the main cell block and got our audio tour equipment. It is worthwhile having the audio tour! It is not like cheap and nasty ones I've experienced in other places - its is really, really good. The narrators of the audio tour are former prison officers and former prisoners. When we arrived back at the pier in SF, our tour guide drove along the Embarcadero slightly and we stopped for lunch. After lunch, we then went to the Golden Gate bridge, all I can say about that is wow!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

debjohntaylor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour, well organised and good timekeeping. Well worth the extra cost for the early-bird access to Alcatraz. When we were leaving there were several parties of school children arriving so we got to see everything at a leisurely pace and avoid the crowds. The audio tour of the prison is extremely informative and eye-opening. Great idea to do the sightseeing tour on a modified cable car. Good fun going over the Golden Gate Bridge. Very informative and helpful tour guide/driver who doubled as a photographer - no need for selfies, he was always there to suggest good photo shots. This is the perfect tour for seeing all the major sights and experiencing life on the rock .

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Derek S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A great value!!! Very easy to use the public transportation including the famous cable cars I just showed my pass and boarded otherwise you have to have exact change I used the cable cars,electric carsbuses and their Muni system which is similar to a subway The attractions were also very nice and lots of fun I was in San Francisco for seven days so I really saved a lot of

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Rick P

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The tour guide was knowledgeable and entertaining. We were provided just barely enough time to tour Alcatraz. The cable car took us to interesting places that we didn't know about previously.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Servane M

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The Alcatraz part was extremely rushed, nothing like enough time spent on the island.
Cable car sightseeing tour was interesting and pleasant.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

quyen.mark

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

We did not get to use any of the tickets however we tried to use it several times to ride the cable cars. Wait times for the cable cars were long and when we finally got on a car, it was packed. I have used the hop-on, hop-off buses and felt it was a better option for the cost.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Dana D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing! Walking tour was great with very knowledgeable guide, Bridgette. Cable cars are a must as is Alcatraz! Great time on this tour!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach with Cable Car Ride and optional Alcatraz Ticket

tori

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Well worth the visit but very cold in June, had to buy a jacket there. The cable car was terrific, took us everywhere, Jamie our tour guide was great. We saw more than we thought we would.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Henning B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Jamie as cable car driver was top, the audio tour in Alcatraz a must!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Steven C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was the perfect mix of sightseeing and a great introduction to the city. Alcatraz was great and having the comfort of the cable car was excellent. Our guide, Arturo, was super knowledgeable and a great person in general. I would recommend this.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Christi D

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This tour allowed us to be one of the first groups to Alcatraz which was great. The cost was high in my opinion; there were several other groups arriving for an early launch too. The cable car tour was fun, but we did not go over the bridge bc of traffic and a majority vote (not ours) to skip.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Richard D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

In all honesty if you were smart you would book an UBER driver for half a day to take you around the San Francisco sights and to Alcatraz. It would be a better experience rather than rattling around in an open Cable Car. We had a great host who was very talkative but we waited over 45 minutes to get going when it clearly said to arrive at 7am for pickup. My wife was freezing for most of the morning and came back to the hotel mid way through as she was too cold. Perhaps we should have asked for blankets which were in a storage area located on the Cable Car. Alcatraz was great and the host gave us good information. Only thing was we were dropped over about an hour early and it was suggested we get food at the cafe next to the ticket and departure point. The cafe must have been one of the worst in SFO, crowded, over priced and horrible food. The host did point out one of the best bakeries on the route to the departure point. I would suggest the tour stops there and pickups food and drinks. This is a VIP tour, we paid NZ800 for the half day experience. I expected more. Alcatraz was great but for 35 per person just book the trip yourself. Lunch was good, sandwiches from the good cafe. We went over the Golden Gate which was exciting. To be honest for the price this is a less than VIP experience. There are much better and fun ways to spend your holiday funds.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Jean-Claude D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nous avons passé une excellente journée. Le tour de San Francisco en cable car nous a permis d'avoir un aperçu très complet de la ville. Nous sommes passé sur le Golden Gate et les arrêts photo nous ont permis de prendre de beaux clichés de chaque côté du pont. La visite d'Alcatraz est très intéressante. Dés la sortie du bateau commencer la visite et récupérer l'audio guide. Les commentaires en français sont très intéressants. Le chauffeur très sympathique a commenté la visite tout le long du trajet mais lorsqu'on ne maitrise pas bien la langue c'est parfois un peu difficile.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

mcstack35

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had an excellent walking tour of San Francisco with Don! He ran the tour with only 4 of us, when I had been previously told they couldn't run it with less than 5 people. He even spent 3 1/2 hours walking us all around the city, when he was only required to do 2 hours! His commentary was great: very informative and a lot of fun, interesting facts. He also stopped at an Italian focaccia place, and bought some, and shared it with us! We also got some cable car tickets, and tickets to visit Alcatraz. Alcatraz was so fascinating, and a lot of fun! Overall, an excellent tour thanks to Don and Viator!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach with Cable Car Ride and optional Alcatraz Ticket

Mark H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An early start at 7:15 in Union Square was the beginning of this great day. First to be in Alcatraz - the audio tour was extremely easy to follow. Back to the mainland by noon with a boxed lunch from Boudin Bakery, which was wonderful. Eating outside on benches overlooking the bay, then back on the cable car/bus to see the rest of San Francisco. Our guide, Arturo, was funny, personable, and informative. Another must do!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

William A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

WOW. This pass made getting around so easy. We rode busses when we tired of walking and even got on a Cable Car. The lines for the Cable Cars could be daunting but we got on. The California Academy of Sciences was a hi light and was very enjoyable. The best was the Planetarium was great.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

James W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We went to all of the special events: Blue and Gold Boat tour, Pier 39 Aquarium, California Academy of Sciences and the deYoung Art Museum.
We used the Muni buses a lot and also did a cable car ride.
Worth the price.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

jim.favara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was well worth the money. Our tour started out with a ride on an Cable car bus. Arturo our driver was a local guy, very knowledgeable, with a great sense of humor. The bus tour of the city was great because this was our 2nd day there and it gave us a great overview of all the different districts of the city. The VIP access of Alcatraz was also nice because we were the first group on the island thus we did not get stuck in a lot of the traffic. Great tour and a must do. I would recommend this for anyone who is new to the city.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Doreen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellent buy. So handy to be able to take public transportation MUNI and streetcars for 7 days without having to figure out fares, etc. It rained most of the time we were in SF but we spent the rainiest days touring the Exploratorium the Thursday night Adult tour, the California Academy of Sciences give yourself an entire day and the Aquarium of the Bay. When the sun finally did peek through, we took advantage of the Blue and Gold Fleet Bay cruise. We never got to ride the iconic cable cars as line ups were way too long. Next time .....

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

RICHARD W

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Alcatraz was great but the guide on the site Cable Car Sightseeing tour was not so that knowledgeable. He also arrived late.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Adrianne M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The tour was good, but not a good value. Our guide was not engaging and very repetitive, and did not seem to know much detail about most of the things he was mentioning. He kept telling us if we wanted to know more we should google it. The tour is a good way to hit the highlights of the city, especially if you are there for a short time. Try to sit on the inside of the Cable Car if at all possible, if you don't you are stuck in an open air part of the car where it can be chilly and you are stuck inhaling emissions from all the other cars in heavy city traffic. We were able to get some great photos that we defiantly wouldn't have gotten if we had not taken this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Patricia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This has got to be one of the best tours we have ever been on. The early access meant we were the first boat over, beating the heat and the later crowds. The audio tour was fabulous. Former inmates and guards did the information. They directed you step by step, and gave you a real representation of what it was like. Afterwards, there was plenty of time to explore the rest of the grounds, including the gardens. The cable car was fun. A lot of the information was repeated, as we did the Muir Woods and Sausalito tour, but was a neat way to get around town.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message