San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

California Academy of Sciences

Inside bucolic Golden Gate Park, the California Academy of Sciences holds a fascinating collection of 38,000 natural wonders and the occasional freak of nature. Under the wildflower-covered “living roof,” butterflies flutter through a four-story ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1325 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Frank S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An excellent day out that captured the interest of all participants, from 12 to 60 years.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: California Academy of Sciences Early-Access Admission

Susan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Diane R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

amatko

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Best way to move around the city! Worth every penney

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Richard R T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

After getting the ticket booklet it was perfect. I tried to redeem my voucher at San Francisco Bay Cruises office (Pier 39, Suite HM6). I could not find this office and a call went directly to an announcement.

A short walk to the Aquarium on the Bay was much better and worth the visit!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Cory F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Go San Francisco Card

William M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed the tours we took very much! The guides were very knowledgeable and entertaining as well! We happened to be in San Francisco during the 4th of July weekend with a very large crowd of others with the same idea!
Our buses were full and very happy to be where we were on top of the bus! With the best view!
Thank you for an awesome experience!

Doing what: City Sightseeing San Francisco Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Sharon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Hoang N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This place is wonderful for families with young children and want educational and fun avtivities. Our kids enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Jacob K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was my first visit to the Academy of Science despite being a Bay Area native for 25 years. The reason I bought the ticket was because of the T-Rex just inside the lobby and I had realized that I've never seen a dinosaur fossil in person before. I was also very interested in visiting the rainforest exhibit and didn't look too much into it beyond that. My fiance and I were treated to a wonderfully warm experience with dozens of birds and butterflies and all manner of non-native plant life. On top of that, we were treated to an Aquarium that was so much better than Pier 39s. I didn't even know it was there until we took the elevator down! The species in this place are MASSIVE. Your jaw will drop with awe when you see these sea creature who must be hundreds and hundreds of years old. It is almost as if you are taking a step back in time. And the interactive panels for all of the displays was a very nice touch.

Unfortunately we did not get to visit the planetarium this time. That is a top priority for our next visit. We will definitely be back.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Navyant

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was fun and I really enjoyed it. The only thing I would like to complain about is the fact that I did not get to pick my own time to take my tour. I am an early riser and I was FORCED to take a 10:30 a.m. tour. Other than that I liked the tour

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Tatyana N

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The pass was very handy. It's a lot of savings if you do all the attractions. I also use the city pass for intense travel within the city, the public transportation system is quite good. Nice experience.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Dee M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Anthony was our tour guide and he was very personable and informative. The tour gave us a good overview of San Fran. Our only disappointment was that it took a while to get started. It is a great way to see this wonderful city.

Doing what: City Sightseeing San Francisco Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

tersteash

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very handy way around the city area without resorting to taxis. Helps you make decisions on what to see and how to get there, as well as a live commentary on the places and the history, and normally a laugh or two, depending on who you get.

Doing what: City Sightseeing San Francisco Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Rachel K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Hit a lot of the high points of the city! We only hopped off to thoroughly explore a couple of the stops, but the tour gave us a great idea of what we should come back and see.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Ajehutchings

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Well worth it to get the skip in line pass. We walked right in,while the other lines to get tix were extremely long. Aquarium level is great, my daughter enjoyed this one better than Peir 39 aquarium. It's a good museum, but trying to find a spot to sit for lunch is as bad as Ghiradelli.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

LTB

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

While the California Academy of Sciences is a great place to visit and definitely worth doing, this skip the line ticket option is not worth it. While the printed voucher says you can go straight to the entrance, we were told this was wrong and we would still need to line up with everyone else in the ticket line to claim the actual ticket. Better to just buy your ticket when you get there.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

mll43t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Ca Academy of Sciences is amazing. There is so much to see and do. We spent hours there and still didn't even come close to seeing everything. My only complaint about buying my ticket through this site is that you cannot skip the line. You still have to go to customer service or the ticket booth and get tickets. The staff member told us they have told Viator that many times and they still haven't changed it on the website.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

jacqueline_bradley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Good value, particularly around transport options

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

peabody_jr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a must have for traveling around the city. It gets you to all the sights.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

the city pass is excellent value we used the public transport many times every day as well as the activities you could use it for

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Nancy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was great, and the pass help to save. Thank you.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Donna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyed! Kenneth was great! Very nice and kept us all smiling. From Carolina!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

rgannal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message