San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

California Academy of Sciences

Inside bucolic Golden Gate Park, the California Academy of Sciences holds a fascinating collection of 38,000 natural wonders and the occasional freak of nature. Under the wildflower-covered “living roof,” butterflies flutter through a four-story ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1359 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Terri D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Have done this tour twice and never tire of it. Very enlightening, educational and just just a fabulous time!

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

susan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great visit to the island. Bring jacket as it cold there even in the summer months. Eat before you go as there is only water available and you cannot bring food. Loved the audio tour. Worth it!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Abdelsalam Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

worth every dime.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Amanda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent value for money and lots of trips to go on, and using transport around the city was excellent, would recommend the pass

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Mal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good local guides, with plenty of information. Frequency of buses was an issue once you got off. Night tour was interesting.

Doing what: City Sightseeing San Francisco Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Joguar3 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The general public are is very well done and suitable for both adults and children. Plenty of interesting things to see and well laid out. There were several individuals giving presentations to children that captured their attention and mine too!.
And then there was the Behind the Scenes tour. That was the absolutely positively and actually awesome thing to do. You will see the green roof, the research area and where specimens from their research are stored. Actually saw a botanical specimen from Captain Cook's exploration! This portion of the tour I would not recommend for children.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences Behind-the-Scenes Tour

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Keith and Erin did an excellent job as guide and driver.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Greg P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The city pass was great and completely worth it, we were able to use all of the passes, and I have to say out of all the passes that come with it the Muni pass and the Exploratorium were worth it alone. The Academy of Science had some great exhibits as well. The bay cruise was great, we got some great shots of us right under the golden gate bridge. Overall this pass was a great deal especially with how much we used the public transportation. We used the metro, cable cars, buses and the history cable car too! This pass is a great value for tourists.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Irene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

it was great the office we went to in the morning to catch the bus was walking distance.Every thing worked out just fine.Thank You.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

ElaineRock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Academy of Sciences is awesome and a great place to take kids. Plan to spend a good part of the day here!

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Angela D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

These passes seemed expensive but when you think each of the museums etc are around 30 you don't have to do much to make them worthwhile. This was our second family visit to San Francisco and most of the things we wanted to cover this time were included in the booklet. Can definitely recommend the Exploritorium and California Academy of Science. Both aquariums are outstanding. Well worth the money.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Lydia C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great tour but was very confusing to start off with. The instructions said to go to Visitor Center at Pier 39 to redeem our voucher for the first morning tour but office was close. After getting on a Hop On Hop Off bus at Pier 39, we were told we were on the wrong bus and to go to the office at Pier 41. From there, it went well. We got our vouchers redeemed and told to wait at the white curb pickup area for our bus.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Drake

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Lots of varied activities to do during our stay in San Francisco. Highly recommend this card. Muir Woods and Wine country trip was awesome.

Doing what: Go San Francisco Card

Ivor P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Fine if you do all the itinerary

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Stephanie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly informative and educational. Great for kids and adults! Could easily spend a whole day here.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Troy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

great value

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Hui-Ching C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It's a good way to visit SF with this pass.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Kristina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Lots and lots to see here. Better than most similar museums/aquariums because of the wide variety of exhibits to see and how things are displayed. For example, you can see a 20 foot aquarium from the usual underwater level as well as from above water. Cafe was reasonably priced and surprisingly efficient. It wasn't super busy when we went mid-week during summer and there wasn't much line to buy tickets or get in, so the skip the line wasn't critical. E-ticket worked without a hitch.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

William Tanoto T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The night visit to the California Academy of Sciences was something different from the usual visit to the museum. The crowd was obviously more interested in the drinks, but opening up the museum beyond the usual working hours meant that you get most of the day to do other interesting things in SF before going to visit this museum. The museum is huge, very different from other natural history museum. Definitely worth a visit.

Doing what: California Academy of Sciences NightLife

umbagr1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a fun evening. Spend the extra 20 for the VIP ticket. You get a one hour open bar and go the the head of the line to get into the rain forest and the planetarium and earthquake exhibit. The place was packed and avoiding the lines was worth the extra money. Hip. young crowd, DJ. live music, what's not to like? This is worth doing on the Thursday night that they offer the Night at the Museum.

Doing what: California Academy of Sciences NightLife

Amy O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We spent HOURS here and never ran out of interesting things to see, experience, and learn about. Highly recommend this. My daughter and I both loved it. :

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Darryl P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Had a great time .. This was the way to see the city. Between this and the trolleys we saw and or visited pretty much everything we had on our list for the 4 days in SF. The tour guides were pleasant and informative. Willy was a blast!!! Alcatraz was a definite. You must do. Well worth the money!!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

MARIETTA R M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was fun, great experience. We got to visit the attractions that I was really interested in. The bus runs about 45min to 1hr for pick-up. If you're lucky, you get to see some interesting people on the streets. The tour guides were entertaining and informative. I learned a lot about different parts of San Francisco.

Doing what: City Sightseeing San Francisco Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Elaine M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very interesting, and the underwater scenes were beautiful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Heather L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Interesting night - I recommend going when it opens, as we went late and didn't have much time to explore and try the different drinks at different stations. More exhibits could have been open, but the event seemed popular enough it was sold out when we arrived.

Doing what: California Academy of Sciences NightLife

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message