San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

California Academy of Sciences

Inside bucolic Golden Gate Park, the California Academy of Sciences holds a fascinating collection of 38,000 natural wonders and the occasional freak of nature. Under the wildflower-covered “living roof,” butterflies flutter through a four-story ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1338 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stephanie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly informative and educational. Great for kids and adults! Could easily spend a whole day here.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Troy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

great value

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Hui-Ching C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It's a good way to visit SF with this pass.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Kristina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Lots and lots to see here. Better than most similar museums/aquariums because of the wide variety of exhibits to see and how things are displayed. For example, you can see a 20 foot aquarium from the usual underwater level as well as from above water. Cafe was reasonably priced and surprisingly efficient. It wasn't super busy when we went mid-week during summer and there wasn't much line to buy tickets or get in, so the skip the line wasn't critical. E-ticket worked without a hitch.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

William Tanoto T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The night visit to the California Academy of Sciences was something different from the usual visit to the museum. The crowd was obviously more interested in the drinks, but opening up the museum beyond the usual working hours meant that you get most of the day to do other interesting things in SF before going to visit this museum. The museum is huge, very different from other natural history museum. Definitely worth a visit.

Doing what: California Academy of Sciences NightLife

Elaine M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very interesting, and the underwater scenes were beautiful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Heather L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Interesting night - I recommend going when it opens, as we went late and didn't have much time to explore and try the different drinks at different stations. More exhibits could have been open, but the event seemed popular enough it was sold out when we arrived.

Doing what: California Academy of Sciences NightLife

Sandra A

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

I think the City a Pass was not the best choice for our trip, was too expensive and did not fully meet our needs.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

fribnmason

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Not the experience I expected. Had to wait on line for 3 busses from the starting point of the red line. difficult to determine when the next bus was coming to pick you up at a stop along the route. One of the tour guides was terrible and one was great. Not sure if I would do this again.

Doing what: City Sightseeing San Francisco Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Susan C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Not efficient in getting to see exhibits through all the people. Planetarium unusual at having most of the dome in front of you instead of around you--I fell asleep during the presentation. The entire building was overly warm. There was very little guidance into and about the exhibits. There was over simplification of exhibits and very few of them. Gift shop was very crowded with very small aisles and very many people and the star of the shop the albino snake was not present.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Frank S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An excellent day out that captured the interest of all participants, from 12 to 60 years.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: California Academy of Sciences Early-Access Admission

Susan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Diane R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

amatko

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Best way to move around the city! Worth every penney

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Richard R T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

After getting the ticket booklet it was perfect. I tried to redeem my voucher at San Francisco Bay Cruises office (Pier 39, Suite HM6). I could not find this office and a call went directly to an announcement.

A short walk to the Aquarium on the Bay was much better and worth the visit!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Cory F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Go San Francisco Card

William M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed the tours we took very much! The guides were very knowledgeable and entertaining as well! We happened to be in San Francisco during the 4th of July weekend with a very large crowd of others with the same idea!
Our buses were full and very happy to be where we were on top of the bus! With the best view!
Thank you for an awesome experience!

Doing what: City Sightseeing San Francisco Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Sharon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Hoang N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This place is wonderful for families with young children and want educational and fun avtivities. Our kids enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Jacob K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was my first visit to the Academy of Science despite being a Bay Area native for 25 years. The reason I bought the ticket was because of the T-Rex just inside the lobby and I had realized that I've never seen a dinosaur fossil in person before. I was also very interested in visiting the rainforest exhibit and didn't look too much into it beyond that. My fiance and I were treated to a wonderfully warm experience with dozens of birds and butterflies and all manner of non-native plant life. On top of that, we were treated to an Aquarium that was so much better than Pier 39s. I didn't even know it was there until we took the elevator down! The species in this place are MASSIVE. Your jaw will drop with awe when you see these sea creature who must be hundreds and hundreds of years old. It is almost as if you are taking a step back in time. And the interactive panels for all of the displays was a very nice touch.

Unfortunately we did not get to visit the planetarium this time. That is a top priority for our next visit. We will definitely be back.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing experience. Great value for money. Would go again. Great cafe with healthy choices. Get the early tickets, well worth it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: California Academy of Sciences Early-Access Admission

Elizabeth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lived in California for 20 years This is the most I saw of San Francisco!!!
Hits the highlights of San Francisco without the driving. Relaxing!!!
However do to traffic, the trip usually lasts2 1/2 - 3 hours

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

Navyant

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was fun and I really enjoyed it. The only thing I would like to complain about is the fact that I did not get to pick my own time to take my tour. I am an early riser and I was FORCED to take a 10:30 a.m. tour. Other than that I liked the tour

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Tatyana N

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The pass was very handy. It's a lot of savings if you do all the attractions. I also use the city pass for intense travel within the city, the public transportation system is quite good. Nice experience.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Dee M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Anthony was our tour guide and he was very personable and informative. The tour gave us a good overview of San Fran. Our only disappointment was that it took a while to get started. It is a great way to see this wonderful city.

Doing what: City Sightseeing San Francisco Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message