San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

California Academy of Sciences

Inside bucolic Golden Gate Park, the California Academy of Sciences holds a fascinating collection of 38,000 natural wonders and the occasional freak of nature. Under the wildflower-covered “living roof,” butterflies flutter through a four-story ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1379 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ann E J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was well worth the money! Having the transportation pass made it easy to get around the city. We would highly recommend buying this City Pass!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Rachael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Really amazing -- so many different things to see and do. The shake shack as my daughter calls it was the best because it gave you a real feel for the earthquake pun intended. My husband's favorite was the biosphere and mine was the planetarium!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Vaheteiole

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Useful for getting about city, also comes with free access to some attractions.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Marta S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I highly recommend the city pass. We took advantage of the bay cruise, visiting the aquarium and rode lots of buses and cable cars. And all at our convenience. It was awesome. We did use some of the other coupons in the book and all in all well worth the money,

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

jack.morse131

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Certainly got our money's worth.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Vaheteiole

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Might be more interesting for the kids.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Joan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent,,,saw a lot of San Francisco and lots of information

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Douglas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great value!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

tkeyes7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent museum. Very busy location with school trips scheduled. Would be quieter in the evening. The exhibits are a must see.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: California Academy of Sciences Early-Access Admission

Annemarie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

this pass gave us the opportunity to go places that we would not have paid for separately. Loved the San Francisco Aquarium, Exploratorium, harbor tour with blue and gold, and of course the cable cars.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Kate C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent museum. Something for everyone. The restaurant has excellent food: best clam chowder we had in San Francisco.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Wouter O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome! Brings you to all the nice attractions. Best thing is that public transport is included. Must-have if you go to San Fransisco for a weekend. Tip: if you want to go to Alcatraz, book your trip upfront, because you can't buy tickets for the same day.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Barbara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Worth every dollar. We visited some places that werent on our itinerary but the passes were in with the CityPass. I would highly recommend the Science Museum which has a tropical rain forest and underwater tubes and aquariums that have to be seen to be believed. The Exploritorium was interesting but would be better if you have a couple of kids with you to explain everything to. It also saved us a fortune on transport as the cost is 2.25 dollars whether you are going one stop or several stops. Highly recommend, saves a lot of money in the long run.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Calum B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Handy to have especially for public transport.

The museums on the pass are good and worth visiting.

Allows quick access to all museums and handy if there for the full 7 days the pass is valid for.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Constance L M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Alcatraz was wonderful.
The hop on hop off bus information sent when I made the reservations was highly inaccurate. The stops listed were incorrect and we lost a great deal of time waiting for the bus when in reality the stop 2 stops did not exist for the Gray Line bus.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Nat

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

it was great, a nice way to spend a short amount of time in the city

Doing what: City Sightseeing San Francisco Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

johnsonmaureen86

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Ends to early in evening , but over all good

Doing what: City Sightseeing San Francisco Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jeanne W

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Great place bust it was too congested- don't go on a rainy day or weekend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

gandrjackson83

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Alcatraz well worth the trip but hop-on hop-off bus Grays was very poor not many buses running and all staff disappeared by 2pm.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Jenny

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Well, we were very disappointed with this trip.

Day 1.We were collected at 8.20 in the morning and taken to the Grey line office in a bus of at least 50 people. When we arrived we had to redeem our tickets for the hop on hop bus and Alcatraz. We were given a time of 1pm for the Alcatraz ferry, 3 hours wait! we had to walk to the pier and wait for the trip to Alcatraz.
We eventually went to Alcatraz which I must admit was amazing interesting. We then arrived back at the pier and waited for a bus which didn't arrive. We asked another bus company if we were standing in the correct stop and they replied that they had not seen one of the grey lines buses all day. This very helpful lady took us to the pier office of Grey line. When we asked where were the buses we were told that they were not coming down the pier road due to a parade that was taking place that day and that we should have been informed by the office when we redeemed our tickets.
We were told we would have to walk back to the office to catch a bus quite some distance from the pier. We did so and caught the bus which was quite interesting as we did travel over the Golden Gate Bridge.

Day 2. We decided to catch the bus again to have a look at certain areas that we were interested in. We got approx half way round the tour when the bus we were on broke down and we all had to get off the bus to wait for another bus to arrive. The bus at least did not take too long to arrive however by then we were very disappointed with the whole experience. We also found that he commentators from each day contradicted each other with totally different information .

I would not recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Terri D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Have done this tour twice and never tire of it. Very enlightening, educational and just just a fabulous time!

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

susan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great visit to the island. Bring jacket as it cold there even in the summer months. Eat before you go as there is only water available and you cannot bring food. Loved the audio tour. Worth it!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Abdulsalam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

worth every dime.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Amanda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent value for money and lots of trips to go on, and using transport around the city was excellent, would recommend the pass

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Mal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good local guides, with plenty of information. Frequency of buses was an issue once you got off. Night tour was interesting.

Doing what: City Sightseeing San Francisco Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message