San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

California Academy of Sciences

Inside bucolic Golden Gate Park, the California Academy of Sciences holds a fascinating collection of 38,000 natural wonders and the occasional freak of nature. Under the wildflower-covered “living roof,” butterflies flutter through a four-story ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1384 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

tmillanf

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Just for the Muni pass it pays for it self. Acuarium of the Bay is not that interesting. It's small. Exploratorium is fun. California Academy it's great! Blue and Gold cruise it's great too, just a bit bumpy and the turn around of the boat behind Golden Gate Bridge, was pretty scary! We felt it would turn over!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Deborah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We really enjoyed the behind the scenes tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and energetic. It was obvious that she enjoyed talking about her subject! We enjoyed seeing the living roof and hearing how the building is environmentally friendly. All in all, a most enjoyable time. While we did not have children with us, I believe it would be a great adventure for the entire family. It is very kid-friendly. The museum is definitely a recommendation we would make to others.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences Behind-the-Scenes Tour

Carmelina V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an amazing trip to take, the ferry across to Alcatraz was short and smooth, they explained all the things you could see ant when in the prison block you had audio to tell you the stories, it's great to understand and visualise what it was like when it was in use.
The hop on off bus was great also, it helps to get off and see different areas of San Francisco, the ride across Golden Gate Bridge was great, overall it's great to discover many things and it's history, suitable for educational for children.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Nancy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

From easy use of the transportation system to enjoying the many museum and special views of the area the Harbor Boat Ride, the City Pass provided access to some of SF most popular and unique sites. Good value if you are planning on really exploring the area!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Ashley P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing to hear and see the history, we learnt heaps. thoroughly recommend this trip!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

conor.d United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great audio tour. Well organised trip.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Abiodun O

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The tour itself was very good and enjoyable, however the changeover of buses for driver/guide breaks was not made clear beforehand, so on two occasions we had the frustration of having to wait for another bus to continue our tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Ann E J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was well worth the money! Having the transportation pass made it easy to get around the city. We would highly recommend buying this City Pass!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Rachael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Really amazing -- so many different things to see and do. The shake shack as my daughter calls it was the best because it gave you a real feel for the earthquake pun intended. My husband's favorite was the biosphere and mine was the planetarium!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

James King-Min H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Check in was quick, easy and smooth. Everywhere we went help was available, friendly and thorough.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Ruth A

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Alcatraz was fantastic.
The only thing I would improve is the bus service. Only show every 30 - 40 minutes - should be more regular.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

WILLIAM J J

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

Our tour guide was not very informative. He was more interested in giving his opinion of Donald Trump the history of San Francisco.

He was also training a new guide, who was also not professional. I was on the tour to learn about the history and important sites, I did not pay to hear a political rant.

Doing what: City Sightseeing San Francisco Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Vaheteiole

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Useful for getting about city, also comes with free access to some attractions.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Marta S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I highly recommend the city pass. We took advantage of the bay cruise, visiting the aquarium and rode lots of buses and cable cars. And all at our convenience. It was awesome. We did use some of the other coupons in the book and all in all well worth the money,

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

jack.morse131

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Certainly got our money's worth.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Vaheteiole

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Might be more interesting for the kids.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Joan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent,,,saw a lot of San Francisco and lots of information

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Douglas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great value!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Annemarie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

this pass gave us the opportunity to go places that we would not have paid for separately. Loved the San Francisco Aquarium, Exploratorium, harbor tour with blue and gold, and of course the cable cars.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Kate C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent museum. Something for everyone. The restaurant has excellent food: best clam chowder we had in San Francisco.

Doing what: Skip the Line: California Academy of Sciences General Admission Ticket

Wouter O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome! Brings you to all the nice attractions. Best thing is that public transport is included. Must-have if you go to San Fransisco for a weekend. Tip: if you want to go to Alcatraz, book your trip upfront, because you can't buy tickets for the same day.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Barbara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Worth every dollar. We visited some places that werent on our itinerary but the passes were in with the CityPass. I would highly recommend the Science Museum which has a tropical rain forest and underwater tubes and aquariums that have to be seen to be believed. The Exploritorium was interesting but would be better if you have a couple of kids with you to explain everything to. It also saved us a fortune on transport as the cost is 2.25 dollars whether you are going one stop or several stops. Highly recommend, saves a lot of money in the long run.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Calum B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Handy to have especially for public transport.

The museums on the pass are good and worth visiting.

Allows quick access to all museums and handy if there for the full 7 days the pass is valid for.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Constance L M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Alcatraz was wonderful.
The hop on hop off bus information sent when I made the reservations was highly inaccurate. The stops listed were incorrect and we lost a great deal of time waiting for the bus when in reality the stop 2 stops did not exist for the Gray Line bus.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Ticket and Alcatraz Tour

Nat

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

it was great, a nice way to spend a short amount of time in the city

Doing what: City Sightseeing San Francisco Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message