A city within a city, Chinatown is a historic maze of mysterious sights where an ancient culture from the other side of the world survives and flourishes with remarkable authenticity. You enter the oldest Chinatown in America through Dragon’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 111 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dawn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Linda Lee is simply amazing...her tour is the best!! She knows everything about Chinatown it's her home and we saw some amazing sights! You must take her tour!!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Amy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very enjoyable and informative tour! Glad we took the tour rather than just wondering around Chinatown on our own.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Nathan N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was very informative and took you places you would never dare to walk in Chinatown. The lady that does this tour is very nice and was a lot of fun to be around.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

JR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great time, and a great way to see the city. Carlos, our tour guy, was fun, informative and lead us on an adventure seeing parts of the city we would never had seen on our own. The portion of the tour in Chinatown was highlight of the evening. I highly recommend this tour. Not to mention, the Segway is a blast to use. We can't wait to try another Segway tour.

Doing what: San Francisco at Night: Segway Tour of North Beach, Chinatown and the Embarcadero

Jonathan N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Linda was a FANTASTIC tour guide!! She was very kind, charming, and funny. She really made us feel at home in a place that is far outside own normal culture. You can really tell that she loves her city, and you feel it in her personal stories. Also, the dim sum lunch was very delicious! EVERYONE who visits SF should take time to see Chinatown through a her native eyes.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Martha H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My group of three thoroughly enjoyed our Chinatown Walking Tour. Our guide, Mary, was amazing. She was very knowledgeable, interesting, and fun. I would recommend Mary and the tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Mark H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Eileen was the best. We were so fortunate to have her all to ourselves, as only our party of 3 signed up.
Walked in Chinatown, ate dinner, visited many places, continued to North Beach, pizza. chocolates, popcorn - Oh My! Don't even think about eating after this tour - we were stuffed, both with food and information about the area. A must do!

Doing what: Chinatown and North Beach Night Walking Tour

tearsurfjoy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Cynthia Yee was an amazing tour guide, friendly, easy going, and very informative!

My boyfriend and I being locals, me of 6 years and him born and raised in San Francisco never thought to take a tour in our own City. I'm so glad we did, because this is a must-take-tour ESPECIALLY for locals. Even he was surprised how much he didn't know about Chinatown!

We learned so much that night, Friday the 13th, a surprisingly quiet night for Cynthia's Ghost Walking Tour of Chinatown. The tour was very personal as we were the only attendees that night. I guess people really didn't want to actually risk seeing a ghost on a night fated to be unlucky :D

I don't want to spoil the tour for future takers, but we learned so much as though we were hearing stories from a family member or friend, stories of Chinese heritage and history in SF we never knew before from secret passageways of escape for immigrants when Chinatown was first developing, to the bubonic plague in the early 1900s, tales of sailors and ladies of the night along the Barbary Coast, the origin of getting shanghaied, and of course stories of many an infamous murder and locations of ghost sightings.

Though we didn't see, hear, or feel any strange presences, we did think we smelled a whiff of perfume from a fabled lady killed at Fragrance Alley. I would absolutely purchase this tour again and bring more friends next time to impress them and learn even more about the history of Chinatown. Maybe around Halloween time.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

Anne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic tour. Ms. Lee is an excellent guide and I really liked how she tailored her guide to the people in our particular tour group. She is knowledgeable, has a great sense of humor and really taught the whole group a lot about Chinatown. We would take this tour again.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Jonathan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great Tour Guide. We loved the interactive aspect. Great fun exploring hidden secrets of Chinatown. 100 recommended for everyone older than 12!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

Chris C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Celest was great - we really enjoyed our tour - the tastings were awesome. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to see Chinatown and North Beach!

Doing what: Chinatown and North Beach Night Walking Tour

Chuck K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Jim was a great tour guide. Extremely knowledgeable regarding history, customs and specifics.
After 55 years of tromping around San Francisco and Chinatown, I learned new facts about Chinatown as well as The City.
Our group was most pleased to participate in this tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Lisa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour of Chinatown was fabulous, and our tour guide, top-notch!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

lizard_b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Linda Lee our guide was great. She is local and provided us with a great tour of Chinatown. So much to see so it was helpful having her show us around

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

leah d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very fun and interesting, gave interesting history of Chinatown, loved it!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

Gayle A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our tour was wonderful--so informative and interesting. Linda did a great job as our guide sharing a wealth of information with the group. We had been to Chinatown many times but not knowing the history behind things. Learned so much. The tour was followed by a dim sum lunch--delicious! A perfect way to spend the morning.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Ernest W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Linda Lee was an excellent guide. She provided a lot of information to help understand Chinatown and it's place in San Francisco, all spiked with a great sense of humor. Our 13 and 16 year olds loved the tour, and they are hard to impress.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour started on time and we walked all around the hidden alleys of ChinaTown. Our Guide told us many stories about the ghosts and legends from the neighborhood. It was a fascinating look at another culture right here. Well worth the expense and time.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Linda was absolutely terrific. She is a native of the area so offered excellent insight. I would've felt so out of place and lost had I tried to visit Chinatown on my own. We went back the next day and were able to find what we wanted! You'd be crazy to not use Linda.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Natalie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Learned so much about SF's Chinatown history and visited places that I definitely would have missed had I just been on my own. Linda's own personal history in Chinatown was an added bonus and made it even more real!!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Mister Thomas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a tour of a lifetime. Linda, our guide, was just wonderful. She knew first hand all about Chinatown, and gave one of the most interesting and enjoyable tours we have ever been on. We would recommend this tour to anyone. And don't miss the great meal at the restaurant afterwards. It was great too, and Linda helped us to know what each of the foods were, and their origin. What a great morning!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Rick R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really enjoyed the tour. Linda was a great guide and had all kinds of information on Chinatown. We chose to also have lunch with the tour, food was great. I'd advise anyone to go on this tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Anne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Linda is a charming, animated raconteur of history and of tales about her home neighbourhood and community. As visitors from Ireland, we know the history of our own people crossing the Atlantic for a new life, but Linda told us about the people who came across the Pacific and offered us a fascinating account of how 'the little guys who don't eat much' came and worked very very hard indeed and made such a difference.
We have walked through Chinatown before, loving the colour and bustle, but Linda provided a structured and nuanced experience: thank you for the introduction to Chinese medicine, for letting us wander through a supermarket and to listen to the old man who plays his own kind of traditional music! The big bag of fortune cookies, bought in the tiny cookie factory, sustained us and our friends for a week one cookie is not enough! and the friendly lunch, that we enjoyed when the trip ended, was perfect way to conclude our visit.
We are fans of walking tours, and really rated this one: it is a tour for people of all ages and degrees of interest and fitness, just wear sensible shoes.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Ann F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide was fabulous! She made the entire experience fascinating and come alive. I highly recommend her, and apologize for forgetting her name. Last name Lee. Unlike other Viator tours we've been on, this tour guide was an interesting addition. She came prepared, grew up in Chinatown and had first hand knowledge of the area and its inhabitants. A pleasure! And a big thanks to her for making it such a great walk through a part of town we would otherwise have probably skipped. If a tour guide is good, it's a whole different experience than when you get someone who is less knowledgeable.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

BARBARA J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Linda was knowledgeable Chinatown and showed us a good time.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message