Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

A city within a city, Chinatown is a historic maze of mysterious sights where an ancient culture from the other side of the world survives and flourishes with remarkable authenticity. You enter the oldest Chinatown in America through Dragon’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 124 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I went on this tour with my two young-adult daughters and all three of us loved it. The ghost stories were fun to hear, and we got to throw loud snappers each time the word ghost was pronounced. But what I found most interesting was the cultural and historical background of Chinatown and the back-streets tour. Our guide was charming and informative.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

Jeffrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really enjoyed this tour - Celeste was an excellent guide and full of lots of interesting facts about Chinatown and North Beach. The food was also amazing from dim sum to pickled garlic to awesome pizza! I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone interested in good food and learning more about these areas in San Francisco.

Doing what: Chinatown and North Beach Night Walking Tour

Michelle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We took 4 tours in San Francisco and this one was the favorite of everyone in our group! Linda was funny, knowledgable, and obviously cares deeply about the area and making sure that everyone who visits Chinatown leaves loving it! We had the optional dim sum lunch and the steamed buns were some of the best I've had! For the price and what we did, I think this was a great value!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Patricia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Linda Lee was a great tour guide and very aware of everything going on in Chinatown. It was interesting to visit the pharmacy and grocery store which was very different from where one usually shops. Lunch was delicious! I would absolutely recommend this tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

bobzag007

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Linda Lee was very entertaining and informative and made this walking tour fun! Linda has been providing walking tours for many years. Her insights into the history of Chinatown and Chinese immigrants and Chinese culture was outstanding. My wife and I highly recommend this tour. Include the dim sum lunch as part of your tour..... it was absolutely delicious!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

aecmills

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our Chinatown Walking Tour. Our guide was excellent and the dim sum 10 course meal was delicious. Everyone on the tour enjoyed dining together and the conversation flowed nicely.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Lauri B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour of Chinatown took place during the Moon Festival, an interesting addition to the experience. Alan Fong was our very knowledgeable guide and shared many personal experiences of growing up in the area and attending the Chinese school. The dim sum lunch was great!
Eileen S.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Cynthia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This Chinatown Walking Tour with Linda Lee was a highlight of our trip to San Francisco! Linda is very knowledgeable and friendly. I highly recommend the Dim Sum lunch afterwards. My teenage children enjoyed the trip as much as I did. Thanks Linda!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

bege2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour. Linda Lee was our guide and having lived in Chinatown while growing up, she shared so many of her own experiences along with today's Chinatown. Very knowledgeable, friendly, funny and made great recommendations for eating and shopping in that area. Highly recommend this tour. Barbara and Gene

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Jody A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved this tour! Found out so much about life in Chinatown and Chinese culture. The neighborhood is full of surprises. Lunch was good. Would have liked to order off the menu. Guide was great.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Mary F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We loved the tour Linda gave to us. We did a tour of Chinatown a few years ago, but this was so much better. Highly recommend having the lunch with the group after the tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Dawn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Linda Lee is simply amazing...her tour is the best!! She knows everything about Chinatown it's her home and we saw some amazing sights! You must take her tour!!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Amy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very enjoyable and informative tour! Glad we took the tour rather than just wondering around Chinatown on our own.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Nathan N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was very informative and took you places you would never dare to walk in Chinatown. The lady that does this tour is very nice and was a lot of fun to be around.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

JR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great time, and a great way to see the city. Carlos, our tour guy, was fun, informative and lead us on an adventure seeing parts of the city we would never had seen on our own. The portion of the tour in Chinatown was highlight of the evening. I highly recommend this tour. Not to mention, the Segway is a blast to use. We can't wait to try another Segway tour.

Doing what: San Francisco at Night: Segway Tour of North Beach, Chinatown and the Embarcadero

Jonathan N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Linda was a FANTASTIC tour guide!! She was very kind, charming, and funny. She really made us feel at home in a place that is far outside own normal culture. You can really tell that she loves her city, and you feel it in her personal stories. Also, the dim sum lunch was very delicious! EVERYONE who visits SF should take time to see Chinatown through a her native eyes.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Martha H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My group of three thoroughly enjoyed our Chinatown Walking Tour. Our guide, Mary, was amazing. She was very knowledgeable, interesting, and fun. I would recommend Mary and the tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Mark H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Eileen was the best. We were so fortunate to have her all to ourselves, as only our party of 3 signed up.
Walked in Chinatown, ate dinner, visited many places, continued to North Beach, pizza. chocolates, popcorn - Oh My! Don't even think about eating after this tour - we were stuffed, both with food and information about the area. A must do!

Doing what: Chinatown and North Beach Night Walking Tour

tearsurfjoy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Cynthia Yee was an amazing tour guide, friendly, easy going, and very informative!

My boyfriend and I being locals, me of 6 years and him born and raised in San Francisco never thought to take a tour in our own City. I'm so glad we did, because this is a must-take-tour ESPECIALLY for locals. Even he was surprised how much he didn't know about Chinatown!

We learned so much that night, Friday the 13th, a surprisingly quiet night for Cynthia's Ghost Walking Tour of Chinatown. The tour was very personal as we were the only attendees that night. I guess people really didn't want to actually risk seeing a ghost on a night fated to be unlucky :D

I don't want to spoil the tour for future takers, but we learned so much as though we were hearing stories from a family member or friend, stories of Chinese heritage and history in SF we never knew before from secret passageways of escape for immigrants when Chinatown was first developing, to the bubonic plague in the early 1900s, tales of sailors and ladies of the night along the Barbary Coast, the origin of getting shanghaied, and of course stories of many an infamous murder and locations of ghost sightings.

Though we didn't see, hear, or feel any strange presences, we did think we smelled a whiff of perfume from a fabled lady killed at Fragrance Alley. I would absolutely purchase this tour again and bring more friends next time to impress them and learn even more about the history of Chinatown. Maybe around Halloween time.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

Anne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic tour. Ms. Lee is an excellent guide and I really liked how she tailored her guide to the people in our particular tour group. She is knowledgeable, has a great sense of humor and really taught the whole group a lot about Chinatown. We would take this tour again.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Jonathan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great Tour Guide. We loved the interactive aspect. Great fun exploring hidden secrets of Chinatown. 100 recommended for everyone older than 12!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Ghost Walking Tour

Chris C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Celest was great - we really enjoyed our tour - the tastings were awesome. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to see Chinatown and North Beach!

Doing what: Chinatown and North Beach Night Walking Tour

Chuck K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Jim was a great tour guide. Extremely knowledgeable regarding history, customs and specifics.
After 55 years of tromping around San Francisco and Chinatown, I learned new facts about Chinatown as well as The City.
Our group was most pleased to participate in this tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Lisa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour of Chinatown was fabulous, and our tour guide, top-notch!

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

lizard_b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Linda Lee our guide was great. She is local and provided us with a great tour of Chinatown. So much to see so it was helpful having her show us around

Doing what: San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message