Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Perched on the top of Telegraph Hill in San Francisco's Pioneer Park, Coit Tower is one of the best panoramic views of the city. From the top of the art deco tower, you can spot the colorful flocks of parrots, which paint the treetops red and blue; ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Erik G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

30 mins of a video and hands on training and off you go on your segway. Max tour group size appears to be 8 people. Learning the segway is relatively easy, we had tour members from age 15-65 and everyone got the hang of it within an hour. The 2.5 hour tour took us up to Coit Tower great views and down Lombard street nice curves and the walking tourists love photoing the segways.

Our guide Carlos was very friendly and encouraging and he had a well rehearsed routine he has the same delivery as Aziz Ansari. He gave special attention to the slower learners but got everyone comfortable fairly quickly. He took us to points of interest and took a few breaks to take pictures and rest our feet.

Segways don't have any suspension so your feet do hurt a little after 3 hours. I enjoyed it more than I thought I would, segwaying is quite fun. I signed up for the tour because the package was the only way to get an Alcatraz ticket, but segwaying turned out to be a good experience.

The Viator package does overcharge you ALOT: I paid 150 for the segway tour 75 separately and the Alcatraz ticket 33. Book separately a few months in advance to save money if possible.

Doing what: Alcatraz and Hills of San Francisco Segway Tour

Melissa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a great tour! I got confused about the meeting time and Kelsey called me when we were on our way and the tour group was already departing, she made sure I was able to meet Don, our guide on another street. We met with them no problem. Don, our tour guide was knowledgeable and personable, we had a great time walking along Fisherman's Wharf, getting to see the actual fishing side of it, along North Beach, up to Coit Tower and looking at the beautiful views of the Bay area.

I would totally recommend Don, he made the experience super enjoyable and educational. We also got lucky and got some sun for the first time in a couple of days when we were there!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach with Cable Car Ride and optional Alcatraz Ticket

s.heron

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Steven was our driver and guide. He was very informative as he drove around the city.
Was disappointed we did not visit Coit Tower or Lombard Street.

Drove over the Golden Gate Bridge to a look-out spot for great pictures and were then dropped off in Sausalito, a pretty port and given tickets for the ferry.

We then disembarked from the ferry on Pier 39 and made our way, turning left and a 15 min walk to Pier 33, to take another ferry to Alcatraz. We collected our pre-booked/prepaid
tickets in the ticket booth. Bring photographic id to pick up tickets, we did not but I fortunately had the credit card I used to book the tour with me.

Doing what: San Francisco City and Alcatraz Tour with Optional Bay Cruise and Ferry to Sausalito

grandma8206

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Enjoyed the tour of San Francisco with a great guide. Missed seeing the crooked street on Lombard St. and the Coit Tower. Ended tour in Sausalito with time for lunch before our ferry ride back to Pier 39. While I really enjoyed Alcatraz, our tour of Alcatraz didn't leave the pier until 3:20. By the time we arrived I felt we really didn't have enough time and had to rush through to see everything because the last ferry left at 6:00.

Doing what: San Francisco City and Alcatraz Tour with Optional Bay Cruise and Ferry to Sausalito

Kathryn D

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The bus tour was ok but the main attraction was Alcatraz. Our tour guide Ben was a bit cheeky as he made it very clear that he was working for tips Which is fair enough but when he didn't get very much he made it evident that he was annoyed. I believe that a person should earn their tips and he looked like he had been on the drink the night before and he didn't take us to such attractions like Lombard street or Coit Tower.
If we had of got a different tour guide then the experience may have been much better.

Doing what: San Francisco City and Alcatraz Tour with Optional Bay Cruise and Ferry to Sausalito

Mrs V C F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

the Segway experience was different and we were soon out and about on the streets of San Francisco which was just a little frightening but fun. We went up to Coit Tower. The Alcatraz visit was really interesting and informative, thoroughly recommended. The only down side was the 3 hour wait in between the two activities as we had already visited Fisherman's Wharf and there was not really time to go elsewhere.

Doing what: Alcatraz and Hills of San Francisco Segway Tour

Judith N

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was our second day in San Francisco. As we were the only couple,Tony was able to personalise the trip to ensure that we were able to visit places we had not already been to. Especially enjoyed the walk round the wharf area and through the gardens from Coit Tower. Saw places that we would not have found without local knowledge.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach with Cable Car Ride and optional Alcatraz Ticket

melissa.stuart.ms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

There were 4 of us and a private tour guide. AG knew the area, was fun and cared about our safety. She took photos of us and was the most excellent guide! She completely went above and beyond! We saw great views if the Coit Tower, Alcatraz, Bay Bridge and even road down the Lombard brick hill! Very exciting!

Doing what: Alcatraz and Hills of San Francisco Segway Tour

Julie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I recently moved to San Francisco and signed up for an Urban Hike to become better acquainted with my new hometown! On this hilly walk, I explored some of the city’s famous spots (like Coit Tower and Lombard Street), as well discover hidden gems (such as Jack Early Park and Macondrary Lane). Our tour guide, Alex, was really friendly and shared some engaging stories about the locations we visited. The hike isn’t too strenuous, you’ll definitely get a good calf workout. I’d suggest wearing comfortable walking shoes and bringing a bottle of water. Whether you’re a local or here on vacation, I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: San Francisco Urban Hike: Coit Tower, Lombard Street and North Beach

andmoresome

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

Disappointed with this tour.The Guide turned up 30 min late without apology ,never introduced himself (still unaware of his identity) and launched straight into the tour.He commentary lacked depth an enthusiasm.He took us to where he was told to(Did not include a visit to the Coit Tower on Telegraph Hill ,a famous landmark of San Francisco)At around midday we arrived at the tour companies Offices to collect the tickets for the ferries and Alcatraz.We we then driven across the Golden Gate bridge to Sausalito and thats the last we saw saw of the guide .The rest of the day we had to work out ourselves.We visited Alcatraz late in the day and had only 90 mins to look around, our audio tour gizmos packed up(they are prone to this apparently)so half way around the Cell block we had no information and followed the crowd.There was no one to assist as most of the Rangers had gone home.Not a great day and could hav been so much better.

Doing what: San Francisco City and Alcatraz Tour with Optional Bay Cruise and Ferry to Sausalito

Ruth H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

It was awesome! We had the best tour guide, she was knowledgeable, friendly, and patient. The walking tour was timed perfectly. I wish we would have had more time to enjoy the views from Coit tower. Alcatraz is a must see and has beautiful views of the city.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach with Cable Car Ride and optional Alcatraz Ticket

Ziarra L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

the tour of fishermans wharf was very informative, the walking tour thru the north beach area and up the hills to coit tower, all wonderful but very tiring for an older traveler, Alcatraz was incredible and the audio tour hauntingly real.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach with Cable Car Ride and optional Alcatraz Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message