Where Italian fisherman in Genoese feluccas once trapped unsuspecting sealife, San Francisco has expertly created one of the most popular tourist attractions in America. Fisherman’s Wharf is a bustling waterfront strip, filled with shops, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 97 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bryan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great Tour! Very easy to meet the tour bus at Fisherman's Wharf.

Doing what: San Francisco Deluxe Half-Day City Tour

Rod W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We took the 48 hour plus Sausilito tour. Great value for money - we saw all the highlights. Id recommend you do a full 2 1/2 hr tour to start with - don't get off. Then have lunch at Fishermans wharf. then get back on and hop on and off at other tourist stops. We hoped off at the painted ladies and also at Haight/Ashbury. Excellent value if you only have a short in SanFran but want to see the highlights. The bus driver will make a difference to the quality - our first driver was very knowledgeable and provided many interesting side pieces of data, information and trivia. Another driver was a younger guy and he was a bit more casual and did not say as much. Even so a great tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Melissa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a great tour! I got confused about the meeting time and Kelsey called me when we were on our way and the tour group was already departing, she made sure I was able to meet Don, our guide on another street. We met with them no problem. Don, our tour guide was knowledgeable and personable, we had a great time walking along Fisherman's Wharf, getting to see the actual fishing side of it, along North Beach, up to Coit Tower and looking at the beautiful views of the Bay area.

I would totally recommend Don, he made the experience super enjoyable and educational. We also got lucky and got some sun for the first time in a couple of days when we were there!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach with Cable Car Ride and optional Alcatraz Ticket

Lana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a MUST-DO tour to do while in San Fransisco! It was the best way to see the city sights! The tour guides are great and very informative and funny. They even entertained my 13 year old son, which is a hard task! The drivers are very safe. We did the city loop tour and had the opportunity to stop at any of the stops and then pick up a later bus one every 20 minutes or so at our leisure. Booking through Viator was super easy. Printed out our voucher and picked up our first bus at a stop outside of Ghirardelli Square and just showed the printed voucher to the driver with no problems.
TIPS and ADVICE:
1. Wear a jacket. The bus drives along the highway 60 miles an hour and across the Golden Gate Bridge. On top of a double decker bus, it gets very windy and cold going across the bridge.
2. Pick up the bus at Fisherman's wharf. We made the mistake of parking at Ghiradelli square and picking up the bus there you can pick up the bus at any one of the 17 stops. However, we caught the very last bus back coming from Chinatown and it stopped at Fisherman's Wharf and we had to walk to our car.
3. If there is a lot of traffic we did our tour on Memorial Day weekend, the buses can take longer than 20 minutes. We saw two buses pass by within 5 minutes of each other missed those and then had to wait almost 40 minutes for the next one.

Overall, though it was a great deal and highly recommend this to anyone visiting San Fransisco.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Wickster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Having been to San Francisco before, the Hop-on-Hop-off Tour gave us an opportunity to visit some of our favorite spots, Lunch at Alioto's at Fisherman's Wharf.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Grant C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour of the city! Saw Haight/Ashbury, the Golden Gate, Chinatown, Fisherman's Warf and more.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Martin R.T. H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Good way to see the city without hassle. Hopped off at Fishermans Wharf for sightseeing and lunch and back on for the rest of the city. Not enough time to hop off at every stop and still see the city, but a good tour and highly recommended.m

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Brian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great Tour! Started out getting our passes at Madame Tussauds and spent a good hour walking through, taking pictures and enjoying the famous wax figures. We then took a leisurely walk to Pier 33, where we boarded the Alcatraz tour boats. Alcatraz is definitely the big item in this three pack. The audio tour was excellent and the island is great. My kids loved this! After spending a couple hours on the island, we headed back to Pier 33, walked to Fishermans Wharf, ate a late lunch/early dinner and finished off with the San Fransciso Dungeon. This walk through play about the dark history of San Francisco was cool. My 13 and 11 year old loved it, but my 7 year old left pretty freaked out. Not for young kids at all. Overall, it was a busy day, but worth the money. Thanks Viator.

Doing what: San Francisco 3-for-1 Pass: Alcatraz, The San Francisco Dungeon and Madame Tussauds

Andrea K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

There are a number of hop-on-hop-off tour companies running in SanFran. We chose this tour and were very pleased with it. It was a great overview of the city. We got off at a few choice stops Lombard Street , Fisherman's Wharf, and the GGB. It was a great balance of riding and walking! All along the way, the guides provided great insights into each section of the city. Now we get to go back to visit the sections we are most interested in like Golden Gate Park with an understanding of exactly what we want to see and do!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

milk_candy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was great way to see the city of San Francisco! We did the full loop of the city which takes 2 hours before deciding to depart the bus at Fisherman's Wharf. We visited mid-January and the buses were fairly empty with the minimum of stopping, i.e. the buses would continue on if the tour guide/driver noted that no one was departing the bus and there was no one waiting at the stops. We had purchased the 2 day hop on/hop off for consecutive days; when we missed the second day, the tour operator did not blink an eye when we requested to move our day's fare to the next day and accommodated our request with minimum fuss. All the stops were well placed along the route and with some preplanning on your route, can be the best way to get to all the sights at minimum cost.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Kenesha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to buy tickets to the Hop on Hop off bus since we were visiting San Francisco for the first time. The day that we rode the bus it was very nice so we sat on the top. I do suggest bringing a sweater or a little jacket because it can get a little windy, also some sunglasses and a hat for when the sun come out. On the Hop on Hop off bus we got to see a lot of places from Chinatown, Downtown, Fisherman's wharf , the golden gate bridge and so much more. We had so much fun site-seeing and learning all the history and fun stories about each place that we went to. Although we only got off once this was worth the money. the next time I visit I will definitely take this tour again.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Rick W South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Brilliant. The pick-up point was a short walk from our hotel near Fisherman's Wharf. Our driver for the City tour was top class, pointing out all the places of interest, and he gave us good tips and advice on other things to do in the City. The trip to Alcatraz was well and the audio-guided prison tour was excellent. I would recommend this tour to anyone who is a first time visitor to San Francisco.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Barbara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a really good tour showed us all the main attractions in SanFrancisco, like the golden gate bridge china town and Fishermans Wharf, Twin peaks and Lombard street .Gives you a general idea of the city.
We had a very good guide who was a wealth of information.

Doing what: San Francisco Deluxe Half-Day City Tour

Kristen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We highly recommend this tour! I went with my boyfriend and we had a great tour guide taking us to see the sights, he was so informative, which really adds to the experience. We had enough time to get off the bus and see places, then back on to go elsewhere. Once the city tour is done, he takes you to Fisherman's Wharf to go to Alcatraz in plenty of time. Alcatraz was great, so interesting to see and you have an audio tape to take you through the prison at your own pace.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Brendon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great! I highly recommend this tour. The bus was comfy, the guide was great - really friendly and knew his stuff. We saw so much of San Francisco and the Alcatraz tour was great! The prison is incredible and the self-guided walking audio tour is a must. One word of advice though - bring a jacket! The wind going to out Alcatraz on the boat, around the prison and Fisherman's Wharf is freezing! Beautiful, but cold! We had a great day!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

DIEGO P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was an incredible experience. We knew a lot of interesting sites as The Golden Gate, The Fisherman's Wharf, The Embarcadero, Pier 36, Chinatown etc. The pick-up station was in Union Square, 2 blocks from our Hotel. Very good for us.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Susan C United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Brilliant. Great way to get your bearings and see what San Francesco has to offer. Our guide was full of interesting facts and helpful tips. We were taken over the Golden Gate bridge and stopped beside it, given free time to enjoy the view and even walk along the bridge if wished. Golden gate park is beautiful and this tour took us through the park and passed the tea gardens.and many other sights with tips if you wished to revisit in depth later in your trip. Alcatraz is a must see and i mean actually go to the island, it has a fab audio tour all included, you are dropped by the ferry to enjoy on your own and the coach collects a few hours later to take you back to your hotel if you wish If you are staying in the Fisherman Wharf area like us or just wish to enjoy Fisherman Wharf while in the area, the tour was very flexible you could decide to make your own way back so had no time schedule. Pier 39, restaurants, views of both Golden gate and city bridges were only a few steps from the ferry drop off. Great tour definitely recommend.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Trudi M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What an experience! The tour around the city was first and it was awesome! Our driver and tour guide was Joe and his knowledge of the city was impeccable. We were picked up fro our hotel in Union Square and taken to the main office to meet the rest of the tour group. We then embarked upon the city tour in a new comfortable and immaculate coach. We travelled from Fisherman's Wharf all the way up to Twin Peaks, across to Land's End and over the Golden Gate Bridge. We stopped for plenty of photo opportunities, which we will cherish! The tour itself was around 3 hours, then we were taken to the ferry port to start our Alcatraz tour - this was amazing. The tour itself is a 'must do' if travelling to San Francisco - but you need to book in advance as it was fully booked the days that we were there. After Alcatraz we were picked up from the ferry port and taken back to our hotel in comfort. It was a long day and well worth the money. We were so glad that we'd booked in advance. It was all really smooth and stress free - excellent value for money too. We would recommend Viator and this tour to anyone and everyone! We will certainly use them again.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Jeannie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Finding the pickup spot was a bit tricky, even though it is close to Fisherman's Wharf ( couple blocks ). Once on the tour, we got Willie as our driver/guide. He was so much fun to listen to- nothing pre recorded or boring on this tour. Definitely a great way to see the city.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Randall S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was the kind of experience that is difficult to describe, but is never forgotten... easy to learn to ride; we liked Fisherman's Wharf tour so much, we decided to take the Advanced Tour the next day. You could see the envy on tourists as we would Segway by...

Doing what: San Francisco Waterfront Segway Tour

Mark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour of San Francisco including a drive across the Golden Gate Bridge. Our tour guide Willie was the highlight though, informative and very funny. We got off at Fisherman's Wharf and were lucky enough to pick him up again in Haight Ashbury. Fantastic way to get an orientation of SF.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Allan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great way to get around the City. We loved San Franciso, so if going there definatley get the HOHO. We stayed at Fisherman's wharf so HOHO was only a block away. Very convenient.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Todd H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our family of four, including our 21yo and 18yo daughters, took the 2.5 hour long "fisherman's wharf" segway tour in earlyy August 2013. My wife was initially hesitant with concerns about learning to ride a segway. By the end of the four, she was very comfortable and wanted to go on the "advanced" tour. Both of our daughters thoroughly enjoyed the tour. We noticed that all the folks in the other group (there were two groups touring that afternoon) had large grins on their faces after the tour completed. I would highly recommend the tour. I know that it was definitely one of the highlights of our San Francisco and West Coast trip. We'll probably be talking about this for many years to come.

Doing what: San Francisco Waterfront Segway Tour

Matt H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was the highlight of our couple of days in San Francisco. Took the 4pm tour arrived at about 345pm at Fishermans Wharf location and finished by about 630pm. A great way to see the streets and highlights of San Francisco city in a really fun way on Segways. Matt was our tour guide and was witty, insightful and made everybody feel comfortable. A very memorable part of our trip to San Francisco and I can highly recommend.

Doing what: San Francisco Waterfront Segway Tour

Shirlee Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Group of 6 people with only a few days in SF....this covered everything ! The City Tour was very informative and the bus guide excellent.
Alcatraz visit was a self guided tour with headphones,return ferry ride.
Short walk to pickup and Ferry Pier was also close walk to our Fisherman's Wharf Hotel.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message