Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Where Italian fisherman in Genoese feluccas once trapped unsuspecting sealife, San Francisco has expertly created one of the most popular tourist attractions in America. Fisherman’s Wharf is a bustling waterfront strip, filled with shops, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 73 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Roslyn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Gray Line buses are fabulous. They go to all the places that are interesting to tourists such as Fisherman's Wharf, the Haight Ashbury area and Chinatown, little Italy and the Golden Gate Park. Their guides are extremely informative and love their jobs. They are a great way to cover a big area in a couple of hours. And of course you can get out wherever you like and there will be another bus coming by within half an hour.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Victoria J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We really enjoyed our segway tour with Captain Kyle. He was funny, engaging and full of info about SF history and landmarks. The tour goes through Fishermans Wharf and North Beach, (not the entirety of the waterfront) which was super interesting but not exactly what we expected, but we loved it!

Doing what: San Francisco Waterfront Segway Tour

Bryan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great Tour! Very easy to meet the tour bus at Fisherman's Wharf.

Doing what: San Francisco Deluxe Half-Day City Tour

Rod W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We took the 48 hour plus Sausilito tour. Great value for money - we saw all the highlights. Id recommend you do a full 2 1/2 hr tour to start with - don't get off. Then have lunch at Fishermans wharf. then get back on and hop on and off at other tourist stops. We hoped off at the painted ladies and also at Haight/Ashbury. Excellent value if you only have a short in SanFran but want to see the highlights. The bus driver will make a difference to the quality - our first driver was very knowledgeable and provided many interesting side pieces of data, information and trivia. Another driver was a younger guy and he was a bit more casual and did not say as much. Even so a great tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Melissa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a great tour! I got confused about the meeting time and Kelsey called me when we were on our way and the tour group was already departing, she made sure I was able to meet Don, our guide on another street. We met with them no problem. Don, our tour guide was knowledgeable and personable, we had a great time walking along Fisherman's Wharf, getting to see the actual fishing side of it, along North Beach, up to Coit Tower and looking at the beautiful views of the Bay area.

I would totally recommend Don, he made the experience super enjoyable and educational. We also got lucky and got some sun for the first time in a couple of days when we were there!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach with Cable Car Ride and optional Alcatraz Ticket

Lana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a MUST-DO tour to do while in San Fransisco! It was the best way to see the city sights! The tour guides are great and very informative and funny. They even entertained my 13 year old son, which is a hard task! The drivers are very safe. We did the city loop tour and had the opportunity to stop at any of the stops and then pick up a later bus one every 20 minutes or so at our leisure. Booking through Viator was super easy. Printed out our voucher and picked up our first bus at a stop outside of Ghirardelli Square and just showed the printed voucher to the driver with no problems.
TIPS and ADVICE:
1. Wear a jacket. The bus drives along the highway 60 miles an hour and across the Golden Gate Bridge. On top of a double decker bus, it gets very windy and cold going across the bridge.
2. Pick up the bus at Fisherman's wharf. We made the mistake of parking at Ghiradelli square and picking up the bus there you can pick up the bus at any one of the 17 stops. However, we caught the very last bus back coming from Chinatown and it stopped at Fisherman's Wharf and we had to walk to our car.
3. If there is a lot of traffic we did our tour on Memorial Day weekend, the buses can take longer than 20 minutes. We saw two buses pass by within 5 minutes of each other missed those and then had to wait almost 40 minutes for the next one.

Overall, though it was a great deal and highly recommend this to anyone visiting San Fransisco.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Wickster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Having been to San Francisco before, the Hop-on-Hop-off Tour gave us an opportunity to visit some of our favorite spots, Lunch at Alioto's at Fisherman's Wharf.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Grant C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour of the city! Saw Haight/Ashbury, the Golden Gate, Chinatown, Fisherman's Warf and more.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Martin R.T. H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Good way to see the city without hassle. Hopped off at Fishermans Wharf for sightseeing and lunch and back on for the rest of the city. Not enough time to hop off at every stop and still see the city, but a good tour and highly recommended.m

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Brian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great Tour! Started out getting our passes at Madame Tussauds and spent a good hour walking through, taking pictures and enjoying the famous wax figures. We then took a leisurely walk to Pier 33, where we boarded the Alcatraz tour boats. Alcatraz is definitely the big item in this three pack. The audio tour was excellent and the island is great. My kids loved this! After spending a couple hours on the island, we headed back to Pier 33, walked to Fishermans Wharf, ate a late lunch/early dinner and finished off with the San Fransciso Dungeon. This walk through play about the dark history of San Francisco was cool. My 13 and 11 year old loved it, but my 7 year old left pretty freaked out. Not for young kids at all. Overall, it was a busy day, but worth the money. Thanks Viator.

Doing what: San Francisco 3-for-1 Pass: Alcatraz, The San Francisco Dungeon and Madame Tussauds

Andrea K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

There are a number of hop-on-hop-off tour companies running in SanFran. We chose this tour and were very pleased with it. It was a great overview of the city. We got off at a few choice stops Lombard Street , Fisherman's Wharf, and the GGB. It was a great balance of riding and walking! All along the way, the guides provided great insights into each section of the city. Now we get to go back to visit the sections we are most interested in like Golden Gate Park with an understanding of exactly what we want to see and do!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

milk_candy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was great way to see the city of San Francisco! We did the full loop of the city which takes 2 hours before deciding to depart the bus at Fisherman's Wharf. We visited mid-January and the buses were fairly empty with the minimum of stopping, i.e. the buses would continue on if the tour guide/driver noted that no one was departing the bus and there was no one waiting at the stops. We had purchased the 2 day hop on/hop off for consecutive days; when we missed the second day, the tour operator did not blink an eye when we requested to move our day's fare to the next day and accommodated our request with minimum fuss. All the stops were well placed along the route and with some preplanning on your route, can be the best way to get to all the sights at minimum cost.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Kenesha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to buy tickets to the Hop on Hop off bus since we were visiting San Francisco for the first time. The day that we rode the bus it was very nice so we sat on the top. I do suggest bringing a sweater or a little jacket because it can get a little windy, also some sunglasses and a hat for when the sun come out. On the Hop on Hop off bus we got to see a lot of places from Chinatown, Downtown, Fisherman's wharf , the golden gate bridge and so much more. We had so much fun site-seeing and learning all the history and fun stories about each place that we went to. Although we only got off once this was worth the money. the next time I visit I will definitely take this tour again.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Barbara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a really good tour showed us all the main attractions in SanFrancisco, like the golden gate bridge china town and Fishermans Wharf, Twin peaks and Lombard street .Gives you a general idea of the city.
We had a very good guide who was a wealth of information.

Doing what: San Francisco Deluxe Half-Day City Tour

DIEGO P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was an incredible experience. We knew a lot of interesting sites as The Golden Gate, The Fisherman's Wharf, The Embarcadero, Pier 36, Chinatown etc. The pick-up station was in Union Square, 2 blocks from our Hotel. Very good for us.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Jeannie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Finding the pickup spot was a bit tricky, even though it is close to Fisherman's Wharf ( couple blocks ). Once on the tour, we got Willie as our driver/guide. He was so much fun to listen to- nothing pre recorded or boring on this tour. Definitely a great way to see the city.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Randall S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was the kind of experience that is difficult to describe, but is never forgotten... easy to learn to ride; we liked Fisherman's Wharf tour so much, we decided to take the Advanced Tour the next day. You could see the envy on tourists as we would Segway by...

Doing what: San Francisco Waterfront Segway Tour

Mark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour of San Francisco including a drive across the Golden Gate Bridge. Our tour guide Willie was the highlight though, informative and very funny. We got off at Fisherman's Wharf and were lucky enough to pick him up again in Haight Ashbury. Fantastic way to get an orientation of SF.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Allan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great way to get around the City. We loved San Franciso, so if going there definatley get the HOHO. We stayed at Fisherman's wharf so HOHO was only a block away. Very convenient.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Todd H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our family of four, including our 21yo and 18yo daughters, took the 2.5 hour long "fisherman's wharf" segway tour in earlyy August 2013. My wife was initially hesitant with concerns about learning to ride a segway. By the end of the four, she was very comfortable and wanted to go on the "advanced" tour. Both of our daughters thoroughly enjoyed the tour. We noticed that all the folks in the other group (there were two groups touring that afternoon) had large grins on their faces after the tour completed. I would highly recommend the tour. I know that it was definitely one of the highlights of our San Francisco and West Coast trip. We'll probably be talking about this for many years to come.

Doing what: San Francisco Waterfront Segway Tour

Matt H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was the highlight of our couple of days in San Francisco. Took the 4pm tour arrived at about 345pm at Fishermans Wharf location and finished by about 630pm. A great way to see the streets and highlights of San Francisco city in a really fun way on Segways. Matt was our tour guide and was witty, insightful and made everybody feel comfortable. A very memorable part of our trip to San Francisco and I can highly recommend.

Doing what: San Francisco Waterfront Segway Tour

Wilma V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Interesting facts and story shared by tour guides. Their office proximity to Fisherman's wharf is an added bonus. Polite tour guides.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

ANGELA F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

this was very good the guide david was so enthusiastic about his city. the guide paul mentioned his tip as soon as we started so we didn't tip him. This is a great way to see the city and help you to find your bearings. Great value for money as the route takes 2 hours to complete which we did so that we saw everything then continued on to Fishermans wharf to explore great two days.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Keeley G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This was my first time to SF and one of the most enjoyable, entertaining and memorable experince I had was being entertained by the loud, comical, trade mark laugh of Willie our tour guide. Truth is, that i jumped off bus, after being picked up in Union Square, at Fisherman's Wharf to do some exploring and shopping and hours later waited for another blue bus. Little did i know that it is not the color of the bus that makes the tour but the DRIVER/GUIDE!!! i got on another blue bus and got right back off at the Golden Gate bridge (cold, foggy and didn't want to stop) because i was determined to wait it out and get back on Willie's bus...wasn't sure about timing and where he was but sure enough about 30 min later another bus came and it was him...i told him about my decision to hop off and wait for the "funner" bus and he was tickled. THANKS WILLIE FOR A WONDERFUL TOUR OF A BEAUTIFUL CITY...hahahaha...hahahahaha

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Linda N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Found the hop-on hop-off to be very reliable and informative. The buses came regularly and within the timeframe given and visit all the main attractions in San Francisco. The voucher needs to be validated at the main office, just back from Fishermans Wharf, before first use but that was easy to find. The office is very close to a stop, so you can use it straight away. The buses are open top, remember to take a hat and sunscreen..as some people were getting quite sunburnt..however we were prepared for this and did not find it a problem. Having visited here before, this was my first time using this and I highly recommend viewing the attractions by this method. It was a very exhilerating way to visit this wonderful city!!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message