San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

Golden Gate Bridge

Brooklyn residents still try to debate who has the more beautiful bridge, but for San Franciscans that argument was won in 1937, and the only debatable point is where to get the best vantage point on their beloved bridge. Cinema buffs believe ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 558 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Keith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way to see San Francisco, particularly from the iconic Golden Gate Bridge. Tour left on time and the multi language audio was very useful. Take plenty of sunscreen and warm clothes - the wind is cool but it is easy to get sun and windburn on the upper deck.

Doing what: San Francisco Bridge to Bridge Cruise

Claire R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way of getting up close to the Golden Gate Bridge with excellent commentary on the San Francisco coast line. Would totally recommend

Doing what: Golden Gate Bay Cruise

Joguar3 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The early access was the best way to go on this tour. Alcatraz self guided tour was very interesting and worthwhile. The crowds to visit are huge. You must have a reservation to be sure you can visit. The cable car tour was excellent. You will ride through all the neighborhoods and the commentary by the local guide Arturo was terrific. We stopped under the Golden Gate Bridge and at several other spots to see aspects not done by other tours. Only disappointment was the box lunch was not from the Boudin Bakery as expected. It was still good.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Awesome helicopter ride, great views of San Francisco, the Golden Gate Bridge, and Alcatraz.

Doing what: San Francisco Vista Grande Helicopter Tour

Alan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Brilliant trip. Live music via a local musician for the whole journey, with food provided and a drinks bar, with stunning views of Alcatraz as the boat went past on the route to equally stunning views of the Golden Gate Bridge.
Highly recommended tour and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

bob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic Trip from start to finish, we elected to do a late afternoon/evening tour and we where not disappointed, firstly we had plenty of time to wander around Alcatraz which is so interesting and so well done, before heading back to shore to pick up your boat for a wonderful trip to get up and personal with the Golden Gate Bridge they even lay on food and drink, which was plentiful enough that we did not need to go for a meal that evening. Great Value A Must Do

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Laura H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Easy to find meeting place, departed on time, friendly crew.
We had a great time and would definately go again. I would
recommend this tour for people who want great unobstructed photos
of the Golden Gate bridge or if you were not able to get to Alcatraz.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

Gillian H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This trip was lovely, 2 hours on board, the weather held up for us and we had a great time viewing the SF city skyline, Golden Gate Bridge, SF Oakland Bay bridge and the 2 islands of Alcatraz and Angel from the water. The supper buffet was much more than we expected, very tasty and lots to choose from. Only reason they did not get 5 stars was because when booking it stated the boat would be a catamaran and it was not, just the usual single hull.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

gina l

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

We booked this excursion on Labor Day and decided this would be a fun way to enjoy the city and do something special that we had never done before. My husband and I are not professional bikers but we were able to ride a tandem bike to cross the Golden Gate Bridge into Sausalito in about 3 hours. It was super busy crossing the bridge and many professional bikers seemed irritated tourists are in their way. It was still fun and a great way to see the city. We had to walk the bike on some hills and our bike kept changing gears on its own so make sure you get a good bike. Also bring water and a hat. Plan on taking the ferry back if you are not a huge biker as the trip from the wharf to Sausalito is 8 miles.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Easily my favorite part of our recent trip to San Francisco. The tour was magnificent on an incredible helicopter captained by a top-notch pilot. The views were spectacular as we flew under AND over the Golden Gate Bridge. All of San Francisco's best sights are visited from aloft. THIS is a MUST!

Doing what: San Francisco Vista Grande Helicopter Tour

jimandkelly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide Arturo provided interesting and informative commentary as we drove around the sights of San Fran, bringing the neighbourhoods to life. There are many high points on the tour - the opportunity to experience Alcatraz before it gets really busy is brilliant as is the drive across Golden Gate Bridge. One word of warning - it can get very breezy on the Bridge so bring a jacket/coat/jumper.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Dustin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Sunset Cruise was definitely one of the highlights of our recent visit to San Francisco! When we booked our cruise we expected a quiet experience cruising the Bay gazing at the beautiful city skyline and the sun setting over the Bay, which would have been lovely. Wow, did we ever underestimate what we about to experience! The cruise was exciting and interactive and so much fun!! Guests were given the option to remain in the catamaran's cabin or to go out on deck to experience the wind and spray! We chose the deck option and we're so glad that we did! Cruising San Francisco Bay under sail was amazing! We cruised around Alcatraz for some spectacular views! The pinnacle of the cruise was when we sailed under the Golden Gate Bridge! An experience we will definitely never forget! Fabulous! We watched the sunset over the Bay on perfectly clear evening! Magical!

The catamaran crew was capable, personable and professional. They were very vigilant of their guests safety and did everything they could to make the experience the best it could possibly be. We were served light appetizers and drinks, which we very nice. The only thing that could have made the experience any better would have been to make it last longer! LOL

I would absolutely recommend the San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise to anyone! We would do it again in a heartbeat and it will definitely be on our list of must-do activities the next time we're in San Francisco! Loved every minute of it!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

Miss LLP United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is the only way to make the most of Alcatraz. It is definitely worth doing, and avoids most the crowds for a little while at least. We were picked up from Union Square just a block away from our hotel in the converted cable car bus. We then went on a little tour on the way to the Alcatraz departing pier. Our tour guide made sure we were confident in where we checked in and which boat to get back before leaving us to go to the island independently. After a short boat journey we walked up to the main cell block and got our audio tour equipment. It is worthwhile having the audio tour! It is not like cheap and nasty ones I've experienced in other places - its is really, really good. The narrators of the audio tour are former prison officers and former prisoners. When we arrived back at the pier in SF, our tour guide drove along the Embarcadero slightly and we stopped for lunch. After lunch, we then went to the Golden Gate bridge, all I can say about that is wow!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

debjohntaylor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour, well organised and good timekeeping. Well worth the extra cost for the early-bird access to Alcatraz. When we were leaving there were several parties of school children arriving so we got to see everything at a leisurely pace and avoid the crowds. The audio tour of the prison is extremely informative and eye-opening. Great idea to do the sightseeing tour on a modified cable car. Good fun going over the Golden Gate Bridge. Very informative and helpful tour guide/driver who doubled as a photographer - no need for selfies, he was always there to suggest good photo shots. This is the perfect tour for seeing all the major sights and experiencing life on the rock .

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Steve D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great brunch, plenty of food and a good variety. The mimosas, coffee and water glasses/cups were never less than half empty - constantly refreshed.
Great pianist on the main deck - did requests, birthday/anniversary shout outs, and acted as tour guide.
Very smooth ride - went under Golden Gate Bridge, around Alcatraz, and into the cove at AT and T Park Giant's stadium.
All tables had great views assigned seating.
Would love to try their dinner cruise next time!
Highly recommend!

Doing what: San Francisco Champagne Brunch Cruise

Louise C United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I loved my Golden Gate Bridge bike tour! It was a real highlight of my trip. I got to see a lot of San Francisco in a short time while enjoying a amazing bike ride, lead by our brilliant and very knowledgeable tour guide Robert! This is a must for people visiting San Fran! Crossing the bridge on the bike is a great way to tick this off you must do list!

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

tmjaniszewski

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved this tour. It was great, even though the sun rarely appears on the bay during August. There's nothing quite as beautiful and amazing as getting up close and personal with the Golden Gate Bridge at night surrounded by fog. The fog horns eerily make magic!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Diana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent all round tour, audio tour in Alcatraz was very clear and easy to follow. Views to and from the island are magnificent. Another bright and sunny yet windy and chilly day in SF. Sunset cruise very good as well, foggy and chilly as usual, impressive views of the almighty Golden Gate Bridge, generous and delicious buffet food.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

William Tanoto T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a San Francisco 101 in my opinion You'll get to see almost all the sights there is to see in San Francisco. The early access to Alcatraz meant that there isn't as many people on the island as there would be normally.

The stops made at Golden Gate Bridge, especially Fort Point and Vista Point gave us a breathtaking view of the bridge itself. The good weather definitely helps. Arturo our tour guide was very friendly, engaging without being too restrictive. Good fun!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

IAN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We took this Sunday brunch cruise on the day of our 40th wedding anniversary. We walked from our hotel on Nob Hill and found the departure point easily. We had a wonderful time. The food was served buffet style and there was plenty of choice. The weather was lovely at the end of May and we were able to be on deck sailing under the Golden Gate Bridge. The whole experience was very well organised and we couldn't have asked for a better way to enjoy our anniversary.

Doing what: San Francisco Champagne Brunch Cruise

Aldo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

There wasn't much of a sunset, or even any sun, during our four day stay in San Francisco. I almost forgot it was summer. That being said, this cruise is so much fun. It's relaxing and the photo opportunities are endless. The views of the San Fran skyline, the Bay Bridge, Alcatraz Island, Tiburon and Sausalito, and the prize - the Golden Gate Bridge. The boat passes right under the bridge, at night, and the view is amazing. One drink is on the house, and the light food fare is pretty darn good! It was a nice spread, indeed. A bar is available for purchase of additional drinks. This was a wonderful experience for my wife and me. I would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

William A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The city tour was very comprehensive and took us everywhere around the city. Highly recommended. The boat trip under the Golden Gate Bridge and around Alcatraz was also very good.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

liying s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The bridge to bridge cruse is fantastic! It leads you to both the bay bridge and the golden gate bridge. With multi-language narrator, I learn the history of San Francisco.
Highly recommended!

Doing what: San Francisco Bridge to Bridge Cruise

Katalin K Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I came the second time because of this great flight above the city and UNDER THE GOLDEN GATE BRIDGE.
This is one of my best experience.Every second was joy ...
Thank you Ron,you are the hero.

Doing what: San Francisco Vista Grande Helicopter Tour

Elizabeth J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a very good experience on our sunset cruise. The food was surprisingly good and plentiful, and the bartenders were so friendly and helpful as well. There was a singer onboard who was entertaining and sang songs that I enjoyed. We had several opportunities to take great pictures of the Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, and the sunset. I was very pleased with the whole evening.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message