San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

Golden Gate Bridge

Brooklyn residents still try to debate who has the more beautiful bridge, but for San Franciscans that argument was won in 1937, and the only debatable point is where to get the best vantage point on their beloved bridge. Cinema buffs believe ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 479 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ch_duffey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were starting to feel disappointed in our visit to San Fransisco until we took this trip. Alcatraz was good but our trip was made to be exceptional by our Cable Car driver David. We would recommend the audio tour of Alcatraz but if you can you need to lag behind the main groups of people before you start the tape. Otherwise you do feel like a herd trying to view the same cell door.
The best part of the trip was back on the Cable Car. David was excellent host and coming from San Fransisco his inside knowledge and view of history made it feel like you were getting a VIP priveldged tour of the city. The Golden Gate Bridge, Booth Fort and the a tour through the posh housing district were really special.
We would highly recommend this and it's excellent value for money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Georgina Joanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Enjoyed our tour via bike. It was raining however, we still went. It was so cool. Easy bikeroad despite 3 hills.
Sun came out once we hit the Golden gate bridge. Enjoyed our tour guide, he was very personably, gave us lots of information as we went along and made sure we were all together. Definitely something to do.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

James A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had the greatest time on our Viator tour. Our tour guide, Arturo, was fantastic. Our 4 kids loved the open air trolley/bus, the trip to Alcatraz was one of the highlights of our tour, and the trip across the Golden Gate Bridge was breathtaking. This tour was worth every penny and I would recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Kristy M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

We started our day off with the 9:30am Alcatraz tour. A self guided audio tour, we had a brilliant time, we spent 2 hours on the Island. On return to Fisherman's Wharf we had a 2 hour wait til our city tour commenced. We had to meet at the Zephyr Hotel, upon arrival we received a courtesy call to say that the guide would be 40minutes late. Once he arrived we were told that we wouldn't be visiting the Golden Gate Bridge if it were foggy - foggy or not we wanted to see whatever we could up close - luckily it was clear when we went. We were then told that we weren't visiting Lombard Street because the guide believed that it wasn't a tourist attraction - there were a few upset passengers about that comment. However we did see parts of the city that we wouldn't have seen unless on a tour. I wouldn't book again with the tour company used.

Doing what: San Francisco City and Alcatraz Tour with Optional Bay Cruise and Ferry to Sausalito

joan p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour allowed you to see some incredible views of San Francisco and Sausalito. Seeing the Golden Gate Bridge at night was awesome and i took some great pictures. I would just recommend eating dinner before the tour, but the appetizers and the bartender were awesome!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Twilight and Sunset Cruise

nicole.rubatino

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Nice staff, the boat was clean and the audio tour was perfect. Really enjoyed it and learned a lot. Also, looking at the Golden Gate bridge from the sea is a whole different thing.

Doing what: San Francisco Bridge-to-Bridge Cruise

Hugh S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A very well-planned and enjoyable tour. Our guide was laid-back, humorous and gave the party an informative and interesting commentary throughout. The pace was suitable for all and we had plenty of time for photos and sight-seeing at the various stop-offs. The ride over the Golden Gate bridge was an unbelievable experience and we appreciated the time taken to give us local information on arrival in Sausalito. The bikes were all in good working order and the drop-off after the ferry ride back across the bay was easy. A very good tour and well worth the price.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

richard l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Alcatraz was everything I heard abut and more. They make it sound like the walk up to the prison was awfull and it wasn't nearly as bad as it sounded. The cruise was fun as well. You need to eat before or after since it's just a lite meal but going under the Golden Gate Bridge at sunset was pretty cool.
Highly recomend both.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

Christopher.roberts8 ...  United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very relaxing tour with great views of the Golden Gate Bridge. Lovely food provided on board and great musical entertainment. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

Pshowell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a wonderful trip. It was a beautiful morning, we flew over the Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, Muir Woods and City of San Francisco. Pilot was very friendly and most informative pointing out different pieces of interest. This was amazing and would recommend it to everyone. My husband had always wanted to go in a seaplane and to be able to have the view that we had was exceptional.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Seaplane Tour

Brenda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The evening sail was awesome. The boat goes under the Golden Gate Bridge for a breathtaking view.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

MRS JANICE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour for anyone wanting to see Alcatraz, with early VIP access we missed the crowds and leisurely walked around Alcatraz and fantastic audio tour. Our tour guide on the tram bus, was very knowledgeable, friendly , helpful and pointing out lots of sights. Travelling over the Golden Gate bridge was exciting and plenty of photo opportunities. A great way to see the sights of San Francisco on a day tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Robert R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

this trip was absolutely brilliant our guide Arturo was very informative during the trip and took time to take photo's for everybody on the trip at the start and all points in between. Alcatraz is an eerie thought provoking place but worth every minute. we took Arturo's advice and went straight to the prison itself up the bank, this advice paid off as we could leisurely stroll around and take all the photo's we wanted without there being a big crowd of people. when we got back from Alcatraz the trip around the city was just excellent over the Golden Gate bridge with time to take photo's and then down to fort point which was a great experience. we cannot speak highly enough of Arturo he helped make our day special

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

EPett

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was the best 150 we spent on our trip! Highly recommend adding this to anyone's itinerary if they are in the San Francisco Bay area. The views were amazing and the staff and captain were friendly and accommodating. Amazing views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

Joyce C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really great views of Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge. Dress warmly it's much colder on the water with all the wind and spray, and the temperature drops dramatically after the sun goes down.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

ARNOLD T

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The tour in itself is good especially the duration. My wife and I enjoyed it. My only comment is that, it's suppose to be a sunset tour in the San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge. But, unfortunately the cruise did not consider the sunset time when we left the pier/port. By the time we reached or have seen the bridge in a good distance for photo, the sun has set already. Please don't use sunset cruise if the boat will be behind an island where the bridge is not visible during sunset! I felt cheated. :

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Twilight and Sunset Cruise

Keith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way to see San Francisco, particularly from the iconic Golden Gate Bridge. Tour left on time and the multi language audio was very useful. Take plenty of sunscreen and warm clothes - the wind is cool but it is easy to get sun and windburn on the upper deck.

Doing what: San Francisco Bridge-to-Bridge Cruise

Claire R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way of getting up close to the Golden Gate Bridge with excellent commentary on the San Francisco coast line. Would totally recommend

Doing what: Golden Gate Bay Cruise

Joguar3 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The early access was the best way to go on this tour. Alcatraz self guided tour was very interesting and worthwhile. The crowds to visit are huge. You must have a reservation to be sure you can visit. The cable car tour was excellent. You will ride through all the neighborhoods and the commentary by the local guide Arturo was terrific. We stopped under the Golden Gate Bridge and at several other spots to see aspects not done by other tours. Only disappointment was the box lunch was not from the Boudin Bakery as expected. It was still good.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Awesome helicopter ride, great views of San Francisco, the Golden Gate Bridge, and Alcatraz.

Doing what: San Francisco Vista Grande Helicopter Tour

Alan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Brilliant trip. Live music via a local musician for the whole journey, with food provided and a drinks bar, with stunning views of Alcatraz as the boat went past on the route to equally stunning views of the Golden Gate Bridge.
Highly recommended tour and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Twilight and Sunset Cruise

bob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic Trip from start to finish, we elected to do a late afternoon/evening tour and we where not disappointed, firstly we had plenty of time to wander around Alcatraz which is so interesting and so well done, before heading back to shore to pick up your boat for a wonderful trip to get up and personal with the Golden Gate Bridge they even lay on food and drink, which was plentiful enough that we did not need to go for a meal that evening. Great Value A Must Do

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

Cathy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved the Alcatraz headphone tour. Definitely take the headphone guided tour. It has the sounds, lots of information and we felt like we were there. Later we took the sunset cruise which was beautiful. The Golden Gate Bridge is massive. If you get a chance go to Sausalito and drive over the Golden Gate Bridge. Also take a walk over th Golden Gate Bridge. You can see beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Twilight Bay Cruise

GRECIA C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an excellent trip, Robert the tour guide was very knowledgeable and gave such extensive information at every point we stopped and he offered to take pictures. It was the perfect way to travel the Golden Gate Bridge. I highly recommend this bike tour

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

Laura H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Easy to find meeting place, departed on time, friendly crew.
We had a great time and would definately go again. I would
recommend this tour for people who want great unobstructed photos
of the Golden Gate bridge or if you were not able to get to Alcatraz.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message