San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

Golden Gate Bridge

Brooklyn residents still try to debate who has the more beautiful bridge, but for San Franciscans that argument was won in 1937, and the only debatable point is where to get the best vantage point on their beloved bridge. Cinema buffs believe ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 549 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Easily my favorite part of our recent trip to San Francisco. The tour was magnificent on an incredible helicopter captained by a top-notch pilot. The views were spectacular as we flew under AND over the Golden Gate Bridge. All of San Francisco's best sights are visited from aloft. THIS is a MUST!

Doing what: San Francisco Vista Grande Helicopter Tour

jimandkelly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide Arturo provided interesting and informative commentary as we drove around the sights of San Fran, bringing the neighbourhoods to life. There are many high points on the tour - the opportunity to experience Alcatraz before it gets really busy is brilliant as is the drive across Golden Gate Bridge. One word of warning - it can get very breezy on the Bridge so bring a jacket/coat/jumper.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Dustin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Sunset Cruise was definitely one of the highlights of our recent visit to San Francisco! When we booked our cruise we expected a quiet experience cruising the Bay gazing at the beautiful city skyline and the sun setting over the Bay, which would have been lovely. Wow, did we ever underestimate what we about to experience! The cruise was exciting and interactive and so much fun!! Guests were given the option to remain in the catamaran's cabin or to go out on deck to experience the wind and spray! We chose the deck option and we're so glad that we did! Cruising San Francisco Bay under sail was amazing! We cruised around Alcatraz for some spectacular views! The pinnacle of the cruise was when we sailed under the Golden Gate Bridge! An experience we will definitely never forget! Fabulous! We watched the sunset over the Bay on perfectly clear evening! Magical!

The catamaran crew was capable, personable and professional. They were very vigilant of their guests safety and did everything they could to make the experience the best it could possibly be. We were served light appetizers and drinks, which we very nice. The only thing that could have made the experience any better would have been to make it last longer! LOL

I would absolutely recommend the San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise to anyone! We would do it again in a heartbeat and it will definitely be on our list of must-do activities the next time we're in San Francisco! Loved every minute of it!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

Miss LLP United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is the only way to make the most of Alcatraz. It is definitely worth doing, and avoids most the crowds for a little while at least. We were picked up from Union Square just a block away from our hotel in the converted cable car bus. We then went on a little tour on the way to the Alcatraz departing pier. Our tour guide made sure we were confident in where we checked in and which boat to get back before leaving us to go to the island independently. After a short boat journey we walked up to the main cell block and got our audio tour equipment. It is worthwhile having the audio tour! It is not like cheap and nasty ones I've experienced in other places - its is really, really good. The narrators of the audio tour are former prison officers and former prisoners. When we arrived back at the pier in SF, our tour guide drove along the Embarcadero slightly and we stopped for lunch. After lunch, we then went to the Golden Gate bridge, all I can say about that is wow!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

debjohntaylor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour, well organised and good timekeeping. Well worth the extra cost for the early-bird access to Alcatraz. When we were leaving there were several parties of school children arriving so we got to see everything at a leisurely pace and avoid the crowds. The audio tour of the prison is extremely informative and eye-opening. Great idea to do the sightseeing tour on a modified cable car. Good fun going over the Golden Gate Bridge. Very informative and helpful tour guide/driver who doubled as a photographer - no need for selfies, he was always there to suggest good photo shots. This is the perfect tour for seeing all the major sights and experiencing life on the rock .

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Steve D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great brunch, plenty of food and a good variety. The mimosas, coffee and water glasses/cups were never less than half empty - constantly refreshed.
Great pianist on the main deck - did requests, birthday/anniversary shout outs, and acted as tour guide.
Very smooth ride - went under Golden Gate Bridge, around Alcatraz, and into the cove at AT and T Park Giant's stadium.
All tables had great views assigned seating.
Would love to try their dinner cruise next time!
Highly recommend!

Doing what: San Francisco Champagne Brunch Cruise

Louise C United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I loved my Golden Gate Bridge bike tour! It was a real highlight of my trip. I got to see a lot of San Francisco in a short time while enjoying a amazing bike ride, lead by our brilliant and very knowledgeable tour guide Robert! This is a must for people visiting San Fran! Crossing the bridge on the bike is a great way to tick this off you must do list!

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

tmjaniszewski

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved this tour. It was great, even though the sun rarely appears on the bay during August. There's nothing quite as beautiful and amazing as getting up close and personal with the Golden Gate Bridge at night surrounded by fog. The fog horns eerily make magic!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Diana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent all round tour, audio tour in Alcatraz was very clear and easy to follow. Views to and from the island are magnificent. Another bright and sunny yet windy and chilly day in SF. Sunset cruise very good as well, foggy and chilly as usual, impressive views of the almighty Golden Gate Bridge, generous and delicious buffet food.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

William Tanoto T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a San Francisco 101 in my opinion You'll get to see almost all the sights there is to see in San Francisco. The early access to Alcatraz meant that there isn't as many people on the island as there would be normally.

The stops made at Golden Gate Bridge, especially Fort Point and Vista Point gave us a breathtaking view of the bridge itself. The good weather definitely helps. Arturo our tour guide was very friendly, engaging without being too restrictive. Good fun!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

IAN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We took this Sunday brunch cruise on the day of our 40th wedding anniversary. We walked from our hotel on Nob Hill and found the departure point easily. We had a wonderful time. The food was served buffet style and there was plenty of choice. The weather was lovely at the end of May and we were able to be on deck sailing under the Golden Gate Bridge. The whole experience was very well organised and we couldn't have asked for a better way to enjoy our anniversary.

Doing what: San Francisco Champagne Brunch Cruise

Aldo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

There wasn't much of a sunset, or even any sun, during our four day stay in San Francisco. I almost forgot it was summer. That being said, this cruise is so much fun. It's relaxing and the photo opportunities are endless. The views of the San Fran skyline, the Bay Bridge, Alcatraz Island, Tiburon and Sausalito, and the prize - the Golden Gate Bridge. The boat passes right under the bridge, at night, and the view is amazing. One drink is on the house, and the light food fare is pretty darn good! It was a nice spread, indeed. A bar is available for purchase of additional drinks. This was a wonderful experience for my wife and me. I would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

William A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The city tour was very comprehensive and took us everywhere around the city. Highly recommended. The boat trip under the Golden Gate Bridge and around Alcatraz was also very good.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

liying s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The bridge to bridge cruse is fantastic! It leads you to both the bay bridge and the golden gate bridge. With multi-language narrator, I learn the history of San Francisco.
Highly recommended!

Doing what: San Francisco Bridge to Bridge Cruise

Katalin K Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I came the second time because of this great flight above the city and UNDER THE GOLDEN GATE BRIDGE.
This is one of my best experience.Every second was joy ...
Thank you Ron,you are the hero.

Doing what: San Francisco Vista Grande Helicopter Tour

Elizabeth J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a very good experience on our sunset cruise. The food was surprisingly good and plentiful, and the bartenders were so friendly and helpful as well. There was a singer onboard who was entertaining and sang songs that I enjoyed. We had several opportunities to take great pictures of the Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, and the sunset. I was very pleased with the whole evening.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Jennifer S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed the Sunset Cruise. Live music was great. The appetizer buffet was huge. Bar was well stocked. It is chilly so a jacket is necessary. We were there in July and stayed off the upper deck because of the wind.
The one drawback is that it is foggy in the evenings in July. So we did not see the sunset. The bay cruise was great and we saw most of the sights, but by the time we got to the Golden Gate Bridge, it was almost too foggy.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Christina G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was a nice tour to go on for my 13 year old daughter and myself. You get to wear headphones and listen to a narrator talk about all that you are seeing. There was quite a bit of static on our headset which made it hard to hear so we had to take it off at times. I'm not sure if that was the case with everyone or just us, but other than that, I really enjoyed this tour. The best part was sailing directly under the Golden Gate Bridge.

Doing what: Golden Gate Bay Cruise

Julie C

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Think twice before booking this tour. It is not a leisurely cycle across the Golden Gate Bridge on a beautiful summers day, it is a crazy manic dash in misty, cold weather and I am told it is usually misty like this across the bridge. Due to the sheer volume of cyclists it felt a little dangerous - we witnessed a couple of minor accidents. When you get to beautiful Sausalido it is heaving with tourists and all the restaurants have queues and are over priced. We were lucky enough to chat to a local who recommended the Spinnaker for lunch which was an outstanding setting and great food. THe ferry back was a total nightmare - up to several hours wait with the sun beating on your back. We ended up cycling back but this was fairly tough going both for us and our children aged 14 and 16. Having said all of this we kind of enjoyed the cycling apart from the bridge so maybe pick another tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

KAielli

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Hello. I enjoyed the day on my bike and our guide was wonderful! However, the traffic on the Golden Gate bridge made the ride not so enjoyable. The bridge was very crowded and it was stressful to dodge walkers and other bikers. I would have enjoyed an early morning ride 8 am

Doing what: Bike the Golden Gate Bridge: San Francisco to Sausalito

Sally C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Meeting location was not accurately described. Tour guide talked too much about himself and breakfast was inadequate. Very expensive for what was offered for the day and I rather wished I had just booked Alacatraz myself. The fast driving over the Golden Gate Bridge was pretty unsafe with no seat belts provided. First experience of Viator and not a fairly unsatsifactory one I am afraid.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Melissa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an amazing tour. Would definitely make it a must do if you are at Fisherman and #39;s Wharf. The majestic views of the Golden Gate Bridge leave you breathless. Relaxing tour with great views of the San Fransisco skyline at night. Great way to see the diversity in the Bay Area.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Jacob A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Staff was professional, courteous and punctual. Extra jackets were available on the large stable catamaran. In addition to the awesome views of the Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, Treasure Island and Sausalito we got up close views of the Pier 39 sea lions, harbor porpoises and a few humpback whales.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sailing Cruise

Edward B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic four at fantastic value. Steven was a great guide. Can and #39;t believe we actually ride across the golden gate bridge. Such a great journey. Great workout for the athletic family. Three challenging hills that you can walk your bike up if needed but I recommnd powering through.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

Yvonne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Arturo was well-organized tour guide. This was my husband's favorite part of our vacation. The tour of Alcatraz was amazing, and the city tour afterwards was a great way to end the day. We were able to get a close view of the Golden Gate Bridge and briefly visit the Palace of the Fine Arts.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message