Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

Golden Gate National Recreation Area

Golden Gate National Recreation Area (GGNRA) is the largest urban park in the world, covering three counties along nearly 30 mi (48 km) of pristine shorelines. The area wraps around the northern and western edges of the city, encompassing a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 162 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

patpowell718 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Chardonnay was a delightful, knowledgeable tour guide who took care to explain not only the sights that we viewed but also what to expect in terms in Muir Woods of terrain, things to see and paths to take. His wonderful sense of humor was an added benefit. The tour departed promptly, the bus was comfortable and the itinerary provided enough time for a brief introduction to Muir Woods I will definitely need to return for a longer hike on my own in the future and the town of Sausalito again - I need to return when I have more time - it was delightful!. I definitely recommend this tour for first time visitors to San Francisco.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Tae I. C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

great tour, great guide...incredible view! wear comfortable shoes because it's a long hike!

Doing what: San Francisco Coastal Walking Tour from the Golden Gate Bridge to Cliff House

Olivia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great trip! Our tour guide, Randy, share a ton of information about sights, landmarks and restaurant suggestions and made the trip a ton of fun. Muir Woods was amazing and Sausalito was super cute. Could have spent more time at both locations cations, but still felt like the length of the tour was good-allowed you to comfortably do other things in the city.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Loved it. Wonderful, easy trip out of San Francisco. The woods are phenomenal - a really nice break from the city. Our driver/guide, Randy, was exceptional. He provided lots of fun facts as we drove toward Muir Woods and then toward Sausalito. The bus was very clean and comfortable. We opted to return by ferry rather than taking the bus back. My family of four 2 adults, 2 kids ages 7 and 13 had a terrific day.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Barbara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Bus coach was top notch, clean and comfortable. Driver was knowledgeable, friendly and fun. Timing was adequate for Muir Woods, would've enjoyed half a day in Sausalito! Highly recommend. A much more comfortable way to tour than the Hop-on-Off busses.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

MissP

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic. Guide was great. Knowledgable and made everyone feel very comfortable

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

Michel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was an awesome trip. Muir Woods is so peaceful and quiet. The trail is great and the majestic beauty of the forest is so enchanting. Sausalito was also nice. The best was that the driver took us up the mountain to get another view at the Golden Gate bridge and that to me was a surprise and a treat. Bus was comfortable and Randy the driver was a great tour guide.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Leah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is beautiful tour independent of the weather! One of the most beautiful walks I have ever taken in my life. If you take this tour, please ask for Victor. He is an amazing tour guide!!! He is extremely knowledgeable about the area! He is also one of the nicest people I have ever met, and his ability to make sure his tour clients feel safe and comfortable is far above and beyond what should be required! He saw to it that I was safe while climbing along some rocks, he waited patiently for me to take about a million photos, and he stopped to eat with me even though he was not hungry - he cared about my well being 100 while we were on the tour. He is a fantastic tour guide and an amazing person!

Doing what: San Francisco Coastal Walking Tour from the Golden Gate Bridge to Cliff House

PAMELA U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved the visit to both places.......wish we could have had an additional hour in both places to soak in all the beauty !!!....our tour guide was an encyclopedia of knowledge.....comfortable travel conditions as well.....would highly recommend the tour !

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

john k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour! Seldom does one get the opportunity to see and experience a natural wonder as this. Highly recommend. Unfortunately could not understand the driver and his explanations. Need better audio.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Yuliia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was awesome! The bus was comfortable, the bus driver was nice and funny. It was perfect timing for stops. Highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Jacqueline M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We hired the gocar through viator and this was one of the most fantastic and fun ways to view the city. We arrived and had a safety briefing before Servio showed us how to drive. We drove around the block to ensure we were comfortable before starting our 1 hour tour. The directions are clear and concise and allowed us to travel around the city seeing the major sites of pier 39, fishermans wharf, little Italy and china town. If you are looking for a fun way to tour this is a must!

Doing what: San Francisco GoCar Tour

Escobana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Out of my whole experience in San Francisco this was by far the best one! Jim our lovely guide was a cool guy who showed his true professionality when we 'lost' two people in our group of 7. He went out of his way to bike back, finding out later they had missed the coffee stop and were already waiting further along the road.

As I am a tour guide myself in Valencia, Spain Funtours Valencia I could only imagine how inconvenient this was for the rest of the group but he kept his smile and didn't make any of us feel uncomfortable about it. He was very informative and not at all telling us what we could have found out by reading a guide book.

The ride was just awesome because we had a beautiful sunny day, clear skies and great views from the Golden Gate. The ride down to Sausalito was awesome! A little steeper and therefor great to speed a little if you are experienced on a bike. You could go by your own pace anyways and the two small parts of climbing a hill were minor to me and your gears were sufficient for a steeper climb.

All in all I hoped for Jim to be our guide after all the great comments here and I was lucky to have him. The whole experience from A - Z was just perfect and even taking the ferry back was an extra to the tour. Though not included in the price the whole thing was worth every penny!

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

Arik S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

1. Perfect guide - Adolfo
2. Very comfortable bus
3. Providing transportation from hotel and back

Doing what: San Francisco Deluxe Half-Day City Tour

Andy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very informative guide, stopping off at numerous interesting places and photo opportunities. Actually cycling the bridge did not disappoint. Unfortunately we were not able to spend time in Sausolito due to our travel arrangements

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

Phillip B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour for a quick visit to Muir. Our driver was Manny and he did everything he could to make this trip enjoyable. This trip will allow you to visit Muir without having to deal with the difficult parking. We had enough time to do the entire walking path a Muri as well as take some pictures. Sausalito was a great lunch stop on the way back with Manny providing good recommendations. Before crossing the bridge back to SF we had time to go up the hill on the West side. Unfortunately it was a pretty foggy day so we didn't get great photos of the bridge.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Gustavo B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is a great way to explore San Francisco and the surrounding area at your own pace. I highly recommend it! The people that run this tour are super nice and very accommodating. The only negative that I would have about this tour is that the GPS sometimes does not get the best reception so make sure to have your Smart Phone with you just in case. Lastly make sure that you are very comfortable driving a car with manual transmission, especially while driving up the steep inclines of the city streets.

Doing what: 3 Hour Self-Guided Tour of San Francisco in a Classic VW Bug

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Driver Chablis was amazing. He went out of his way to accommodate everyone. Very knowledgeable about the area and offered great suggestions. Would have loved to stay longer in Muir Woods but have that to look forward to the next time. Buses were very comfortable and convenient! Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Laura W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Punctual, very informative and comfortable!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Erin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What an amazing way to see parts of San Francisco! The bikes were comfortable - our tour guide, Robert, was excellent very accommodating, extremely knowledgeable, and super friendly - it was a FANTASTIC day! I would do this again and will definitely recommend it to friends.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our family loved this bike tour. Our tour guide was Robert and he was great. He shared very interesting information each time we stopped to look at the sights, gave everyone plenty of time to take pictures, and made sure everyone was safe. The bikes were very comfortable and in good working order. We would recommend this tour to our friends visiting the city.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

Denise C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour was in 2 parts, we had a morning city tour followed by a lunch break and then the Muir Woods Sausalito tour. Tour buses were comfortable and our guides were so professional and friendly. By far, our favorite was Chablis. Ask for him by name if you can. He was fantastic. All the sights were amazing although a bit too crowded for my taste. Probably had to do with the month we were travelling in July.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

Sara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful tour! I wish we had maybe a half hour longer in Muir Woods, but otherwise it was perfect. Excellent views of the Golden Gate Bridge, beautiful Redwoods, and a quick stop in Sausalito. Our tour guide went out of his way to make us comfortable and satisfy each of us. Yahoo, Manny!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Tayalma

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Make sure your GPS is working before you leave. Once we had the hang of it and were comfortable, this GoCar is the BEST thing we did during our 5 day stay in SFO. We have 2 kids; 17 and 14 and they said it was the best tour they have ever had over all the year's of vacations. I thought 3 hours would be too long but we could have done it for 8 hours and never been tired of it. Everyone was taking pictures of us and the Northern Beach Tour or Red line was GREAT.

Doing what: San Francisco GoCar Tour

Juliehe Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

great ride across the bridge, we had electric bikes and they made the uphill effortless, beautiful views of the san francisco bay

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message