The Muir Woods National Monument is a must-see destination on any visit to the San Francisco Bay Area. Part of the Golden Gate National Recreation Area, the forest is just a short drive from the city, 12 miles (19 km) north across the Golden Gate ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2253 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Steven S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great small group tour. Our bus driver Steve was a very knowledgeable and entertaining guide. We went to Muir Woods, 3 wineries, and then he stopped on the way back to let us get great pictures of the Golden Gate Bridge. Highly recommend.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

mitchblair

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Amazing! Our tour operator told the bus such great stories about San Francisco as we drove to the Muir Woods and then had other great stories as we went through Sausalito. Bus was comfortable. Tour was the perfect amount of time! I highly recommend this tour to the Muir Woods! I had two kids with me and they loved the tour just as much as I did!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Donna G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Randy was our driver/tour guide for the day and he was awesome! He was pleasant, personable and funny. Full of interesting facts and trivia. He knew the best place to eat fish and chips in Sausalito, never mind the best guava sorbet I have ever eaten. Muir Woods was majestic. Alcatraz was unbelievable. Highly recommend this tour and especially Randy! Thanks again. I

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Elizabeth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Wonderful tour! Muir woods is absolutely amazing, our rainy day added extra beauty. The wineries were friendly and had great tastings. The heart of this trip was our guide, Steve. He was full of information, recommendations, has a fabulous personality, and was a pure delight. A great day for sure.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

Robert C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour guide was excellent. The trip was a great way to see some amazing sites around San Francisco. I would have liked a bit more time at Muir Woods, but this was a fairly inexpensive way to get to see this amazing place and spectacular views of the Golden Gate quickly and efficiently.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

James J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

There was adequate time at both Muir Woods and in Sausalito. Our guide, whose name I forget, was excellent. He was friendly, patient, very knowledgeable providing a great narrative throughout the tour. Even before entering Muir Woods, he pointed out places of interest in SF.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Shane D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was an amazing day tour. Our tour driver and guide was very well informed and made the drive most interesting. The Muir Woods was a magical place that everyone should see. The three wineries we visited and the tastings were well done and we all learned a lot about grapes and individual wine compositions. To add to a full day the final highlight was seeing the San Francisco skyline all lit up at night and taking pictures. It was a completely enjoyable day!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

Peter W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We took this trip and booked in advance to our visit to San Francisco, we were not disappointed our Driver Anthony whose knowledge of the area and the Winery's was unsurpassed. Muir Woods was incredible like our whole day it was great and Anthony made it even more enjoyable in a small group which we favour. Highly Recommended and contact by the office and instructions excellent
Would use this Company Extranomical Lux Tours again
Peter and Carol

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

Susan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a wonderful day trip from San Francisco. Our guide, Steve, was knowledgeable and paced the trip well. We spent a little over an hour in Muir Woods - plenty of time - and visited three wineries. We also had lunch in Sonoma. The Sonoma Plaza is a wonderful place to spend a couple of hours. We had an hour and a half, which gave us time to eat lunch and then walk around the plaza. On the way back, Steve, gave us some time on the Golden Gate overpass and we got some wonderful pictures.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

SAMANTHA C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour.
Muirwoods is beautiful
City tour shows you a bit of everything.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

Karoly N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great trip. Muir Woods is a magical place to be at. Especially in the morning.

Our guide was awesome all day. He told very interesting stories as we passed by certain building in SF. He kept to mood funny and made the day very enjoyable.

The wineries were great, very informative session and great wines to taste. A day well spent! I would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

Tyler United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had an amazing experience!! We contemplated doing this trip 'on our own' via a la carte expenses here and there, but this excursion is worth every single penny. Not only was our tour guide Vlad an unbelievable driver, but he also had impressive knowledge about wine, a great sense of humor, and made the experience worth our time. We had plenty of time in all the places and didn't feel rushed, which is impressive that we were able to do so much in the amount of time we had. Wish the weather had been somewhat prettier while we were at Muir Woods, but overall, can't complain. One small highlight would have to be the area we stopped at on the way back to the city. There was an area that overlooked the Golden Gate Bridge and San Fran where we had about 20-30 minutes to take pictures as the sun set. It was one of the highlights of our entire trip to SF - don't think it was technically part of the trip, but we're so glad Vlad took the time to take us to the lookout point. We enjoyed everything so much and can't wait to return again some day.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

PARIMAL M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a fantastic trip. The Driver Antonio gave excellent advice and showed some good spots. Unfortunately the weather didn'ti play its part. Muir woods is fantastic, i would highly recommend it.

Thank you for the package tour. I really and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Kathryn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful trip to breathtaking Muir Woods. Very easy check-in at Fishermans Warf. It was very close to our hotel so we just walked over. We had a small bus about 15 or so people and a very knowledgeable driver, Igor. He told lots of fun facts about San Fran as we drove across the Golden Gate Bridge and headed to the scenic woods. He was very pleasant and remembered where everyone was from. We had about an hour and 15 minutes at the actual woods. It was a great visit. If we come back again, we will rent a car and spend more time there. Sausalito is very tiny and cute. We walked around and saw the galleries and grabbed lunch. Decided to take the ferry back so we didn't have to rush. Ferry isn't included in the trip, but if you have a San Francisco Clipper card there is a discount.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Lisa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The first thing you need to do is request Antony as your guide ! The wine tour in lauded Muir Woods, Somoma and lunch.
Muir Woods is absolutely fascinating !! You also get a gormet lunch and do not forget to buy some fantastic chocolate !
THe May winery was my favorite but the whole experience was great !

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

Mary-Jo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Muir woods is a beautiful, spiritual place, not to be missed. Sausalito is lovely.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Doug H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The boat tour around the island was nice.The Muir woods Grey line Bus tour and the driver Ray, were professional, informative and punctual. The Muir woods forest is chilli but stunningly beautiful, to me. Almost worth the price of the plane tickets alone. This forest is not so big that you have to be a top fit hiker, but big enough that you are in awe of these beautiful trees and thankful to those who took the time to preserve them. The smell is over the top mind clearing and refreshing. I would recommend this trip 100 percent.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

a u

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Denise our tour guide was wicked! She kept to a tight schedule and the day went very well and informative. If we had more time in SF we would have gone on the all day tour of the north lands of SF area as we enjoyed the contrast of city to country side life and what's more the Muir woods were amazing a lot better than our Scottish pines in Scotland. Had a great day and would thoroughly recommend this trip to any one that wants away from city life for a few hours and sample some lovely wines along the way:

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Muir Woods was very peaceful and well taken care of. The tour of the city was excellent and very informative. It covered all of the major tour sites. Learning about and seeing the different neighborhoods helped to better understand San Francisco.

Doing what: San Francisco City and Muir Woods Trip with Optional Bay Cruise or Ferry to Sausalito

alexander j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Chablis was a really great driver/guide...Muir Woods, obviously are amazing, but he made that trip very special, with little stops here and there, so the people on the bus could make awesome pictures.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour from San Francisco Including Optional Bay Cruise

Jon Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The bus driver was pretty funny, kept us entertained as he drove through Fisherman's Wharf, across the Golden Gate Bridge, and through Marin County on our way to Muir Woods. The forest was beautiful. Don't think I've ever found a more peaceful, awe-inspiring, spectacular place in my life. Only had an hour or so there, could have spent the entire day. We next went to Sausalito and then I took a ferry back to the city.

Highly recommend this trip! Great value!

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

Vijay R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide was great with excellent commentary and loads of knowledge about everything on the way to Muir forest. It is a must do activity when in SFO. I wish we had at least another hour in the Muir forest.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Tiffany G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great half day trip to Muir Woods to see the redwoods and also 45 minutes in Sausalito. Antonio was funny and provided a great tour!!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Nichole O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was the perfect accommodation. Muir woods is beautiful--could have used more time there. Sausalito is a quaint little town. The short time there was enough since the weather was cold and the town small so we did a quick walk through and grabbed a bite to eat. Randy, our driver/guide made this trip even better. He was knowledgeable, friendly, and funny. I don't know how he drives that bus on some of those roads, but he did an excellent job.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Victoria S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Awesome combination! Highly recommend for travelers who want a taste of each wine country and Muir woods in a day trip. Pack warm clothes for the morning, I made that mistake!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message