The Muir Woods National Monument is a must-see destination on any visit to the San Francisco Bay Area. Part of the Golden Gate National Recreation Area, the forest is just a short drive from the city, 12 miles (19 km) north across the Golden Gate ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2190 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Siobhan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We all really enjoyed our trip to Muir Woods. The bus driver was great, and the redwoods were something to behold!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Sally M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Muir Woods was great, wonderful to see the large trees. The wine tour was also wonderful, we loved the Mayo winery the presenter gave us good information on wine. The wine we purchased from Mayo was excellent. We also liked the Cline winery, a much larger winery than Mayo, but a beautiful facility. Wine purchased at Cline was also great. Our guide was awesome.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

Eric H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent guide, and a beautiful trip. One caveat, we recommend taking the ferry back from Sausalito,as most folks could spend all day there. Muir Woods is simply awesome!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

James P T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour! Muir Woods is beautiful. Our driver was knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Tara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Loved getting outside of San Francisco to two lovely places. The redwoods of Muir Woods are a sight to see and Sausalito was a quaint town to visit, although many places were closed due to Thanksgiving. It was a sunny day so the bay cruise was fantastic and we were able to see the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz on a clear day.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

Lynda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Overall a great day! There was some confusion regarding the pickup. The website said no hotel pick up on Sunday afternoon departures, so we called for an Uber. We walked outside the hotel and there was the bus waiting to pick us up. It was great, but wished it was explained a bit more. After several other hotel pick ups we arrived at the terminal and loaded another bus for the tour. Our driver, Randy, was great. Very informational as we drove through the city and out to Muir Woods. Loved, loved, loved the tunes on the radio.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Michael K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Took the family on this trip when they came to visit over Thanksgiving, and am very glad I did! Great narration throughout the trip made the trek to the Muirwoods very engaging and fun. There is so much history in SF and beautiful views/sights the whole journey from the departure from Fisherman's Wharf area least favorite part, as a new local... to the Muirwoods and Sausolito! Highly recommend for anyone visiting SF with 4-5 hours starts at 9am and you get back around 1 or later if you choose to take a later Ferry back or even for locals that haven't been!

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour from San Francisco Including Optional Bay Cruise

ROGER D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I would highly recommend this tour, it was such a breathtaking experience that we will never forget in the Muir woods. Alcatraz is all you would expect and much more, it's is a real learning experience that should not be missed when your in San Francisco. We enjoyed lunch in Sausalito such an awesome little town with such a great vibe!

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Dave United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I can't say enough about this tour. Vlad was an awesome tour guide. He shared history and his knowledge on Muir Woods and California wine. It was a delightful day.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

Amy U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a fabulous day!! Our bus driver was great and highly knowledgeable and funny. Then, Muir Woods was just a fantastic place to go. I felt like I had ample time to enjoy the park. When Sausalito came, I do wish that we had another hour so that I could enjoy a full dinner and not just snacks.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Tim G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was amazing. Muir Woods is beauiful.
Alcatraz was better than I thought it would be.
Driver was great, very informative and funny.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

roseannjeff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Muir Woods is amazing. You could spend a whole day there, but the quick stop leaves you with enough time to walk a bit and take photos. Sausalito is beautiful, too. Plan to take the ferry back if you want extra time there. The bus stop leaves enough time for a grab and go meal and a few shops. Our driver gave an interesting tour with lots of info about SF and the Marin Headlands, including a 10 minute stop on the Marin Co. side of the bridge to take photos.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

patpowell718 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Chardonnay was a delightful, knowledgeable tour guide who took care to explain not only the sights that we viewed but also what to expect in terms in Muir Woods of terrain, things to see and paths to take. His wonderful sense of humor was an added benefit. The tour departed promptly, the bus was comfortable and the itinerary provided enough time for a brief introduction to Muir Woods I will definitely need to return for a longer hike on my own in the future and the town of Sausalito again - I need to return when I have more time - it was delightful!. I definitely recommend this tour for first time visitors to San Francisco.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Sara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a great tour. Our tour guide was very informative and friendly. The stops at Muir Woods and Sausalito were both wonderful venues. I would definitely use Viator again. And the Gray Line was also helpful when I had to change our reservation.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

sakooistra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour! Really enjoyed having Igor as our tour guide - very informative, funny, and all around great guy. The ride over the bridge was pretty awesome and Muir Woods - amazing! Saulalito is a great little town - check out the burger joint, delicious and the ice cream too. Would highly recommend this tour. Was great for my wife, my 8 yo daughter, and me.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Seth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Chablis spelling? was an amazing driver! He had so many small little jokes and quips to add to all the facts he gave us as we drove through San Francisco, over the bridge, to and from Muir and Sausalito. Muir Woods was amazing, you'll want to speed days there, but the hour and change we had was enough to make it halfway up the paths and back down with some time left for the gift shop. Sausalito was a little shorter, but enough time for some fish n' chips and shopping. Chablis even found us some time to go to the cliffs across the bay and take in the bridge as the fog burned off and the sun appeared, absolutely breathtaking. I can't recommend this tour and our driver enough.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were picked up at our hotel and, after a bus change, were driven to Muir Woods. It was a rainy day, but the walk through the woods was soothing. We went to Sausalito and had lunch and then were taken back to our hotel. This tour should not be missed. It was a perfect morning excursion.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Chablis is a great driver, and very entertaining. Don't miss out on the Muir Woods!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Janet G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was the highlight of our family trip to SF. Going over the Golden Gate in the morning sun and into Muir woods before the crowds was perfect. Touring the headlands gave us some amazing views of the city across the Bay. Eric's local knowledge kept my boys aged 12 and 14 engaged and entertained throughout our trip. The slug shaped chocolates from the gift shop were a huge hit with them.
The views from the seaplane cannot be beat, flying over downtown, the Bay and the islands, including Alcatraz. All followed by ice creams on the harbourside in Sausalito, before catching the ferry back to the city. If you do one tour in SF then I thoroughly recommend this.

Doing what: Explore Marin County: Private Sausalito, Muir Woods and Seaplane Tour from San Francisco

Jan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour. Tour guide, Vilod, was friendly and knowledgeable. An hour is not enough time in Muir Woods, but we knew that from previous reviews. The wineries were lovely, and it was great to be on a smaller tour with less people that the big buses. On the way back, we got an extra stop. We got to look down at the Golden Gate Bridge, before crossing it on our way back. What a great way to see the bridge, before driving across it.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Had to be the highlight of our vacation. Bus driver was just awesome . Muir Woods was incredible . Well worth the money .

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Rhonda A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip is a must! These beautiful trees are a must see...absolutely breathtaking. Our bus driver was the best too. He was quite knowledgeable and entertaining. The views on the way to Muir Woods were amazing too. Great experience!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very nice tour our driver was very friendly and kept us entertained while en route. The only thing I would change on a subsequent trip is that I would do a trip that went only to Muir Woods, and skip Sausalito. The woods were amazing, but I felt a little rushed getting back to the bus. Overall, however, this was a great tour.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Olivia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great trip! Our tour guide, Randy, share a ton of information about sights, landmarks and restaurant suggestions and made the trip a ton of fun. Muir Woods was amazing and Sausalito was super cute. Could have spent more time at both locations cations, but still felt like the length of the tour was good-allowed you to comfortably do other things in the city.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Lemiel P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What an incredible tour, the beautiful Muir Woods, the town of Sausalito and the Bay Cruise. The driver of the bus should not talk so much as the hike has real dangers and he should avoid talking so much about himself and the stereotypical stories he narrated.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message