Coastal redwoods are the tallest living things on earth, and walking among these giants is truly an experience—one only to be had in Northern California and a small part of southern Oregon. Best of all, the old-growth redwoods at Muir Woods are only ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2104 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kimberly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour company was supposed to pick us up outside our hotel at 8:30 a.m. After waiting until 8:45 a.m., I called them and was put on hold and then transferred to a voicemail. I called back and was transferred to another individual and then instructed to take a cab to their office. I took a cab, caught the tour bus and absolutely loved the tour!!! The Muir Woods are amazing. As for the tour company, although they failed in the beginning, they came trough at the end as I was reimbursed for the cab fare. So despite the hiccup, I would recommend this company as they did remedy the situation.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Geraldine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was fantastic tour the tour guide was good think his name was randy - knew a lot about the city of San Francisco. Loved going to Muir Woods it was quite peaceful and tranquil. Loved also going to Sausalito. The only thing I found disappointing is there is not enough time in either another hour in each would be great as it would give more time to explore Muir Woods and Sausalito.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Bryan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a wonderful time on our Muir Woods tour. Our driver Danny was very nice and gave us lots of wonderful information.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Marlene F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Yes, the tour was great. Wished we had more time at Muir Woods but with only half a day, it was good. Would definitely recommend if you only have a short time. Sausalito was pretty.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Judi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great tour Our driver, Chablis was experienced, patient, and kind to all. I felt safe with him driving those tricky, scary curves on the way to Muir Woods. It might have been better to spend more time in Muir Woods and leave out Sausalito.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Christopher D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our bus driver/guide made our trip to Muir Woods a lot of fun. Very nice and relaxing ride as well as some fun and informative commentary.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

ajd328

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour guide - provided so much information about SanFrancisco and Muir Woods. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Cecelia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A great day over all....Muir woods in the morning, wonderful lunch and wineries in the afternoon. Saw lots of San Francisco, Golden Gate and countryside.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

Carol C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour combo was great and I would recommend it to anyone. If you are going to Alcatraz, which I thoroughly recommend, book it way in advance or else you might not get to go. We went to the Muir Woods and Sausalito in the morning, and then to Alcatraz in the afternoon. The walk to Pier 33 for the ferry to Alcatraz is a little bit of a walk from the drop off point of the first two adventures, so be prepared to walk a ways. But other than that everything was great. The audio tour at Alcatraz is a must.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Martha W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Just a beautiful day starting with an hour in Muir Woods then onto Sonoma, Napa then Somoma again. Antony was a wonderful guide...went out of his way ensuring our experience was top of the line.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

steve s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a wonderful experience - maybe the most enjoyable part of our San Francisco trip. Our tour driver, Chabli, was terrific. Muir woods was just beautiful and the Sausilito stop was very cool. Take the early tour before the Muir Woods gets a bit crowded later.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Michel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was an awesome trip. Muir Woods is so peaceful and quiet. The trail is great and the majestic beauty of the forest is so enchanting. Sausalito was also nice. The best was that the driver took us up the mountain to get another view at the Golden Gate bridge and that to me was a surprise and a treat. Bus was comfortable and Randy the driver was a great tour guide.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Patricia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great excursion!! The Muir Woods was not familiar and turned out to be realy l enjoyable for three generations! The ride to it is even exceptional as curvy, narrow switchbacks for 5 miles with great views. The Sausalito was basically a great luncheon spot unless you moved really fast but all we needed. Had ask driver for idea and he pointed to a great little sandwich shop that would never have noticed with really good food to take across to the park and eat! Alcatraz was the jewel of the day! SO glad I had called ahead almost 4 months to insure an inside tour. Tickets are really hard to get but didn't know this before. Worth every penny and walking tour was well done with narration at different cells etc. by taped convicts, as what they did daily routines, which cell was their's etc. AND they have a tram to scale the 13 floor hike for us older folks!!! At beginning and end we were at our hotel. What more could we ask? There were 9 of us.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Shawna T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We really enjoyed our trip to Muir Woods and Sausalito. We decided to stay in Sausalito a little longer, so we took the ferry back to Fisherman's Wharf. Our driver had a great sense of humor and was very informative. Made for a very enjoyable trip!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Abdelsalam Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Sausilito and Muir Woods where marvelous ,the boat trip was a bad experience as the Boat was overloaded,we had to stand up all trip long and the boat didnt seem to be safe ,so old,rusty and not comfrtable.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Elliot R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our trip to Muir Woods was a welcome retreat from a week of sight seeing in San Francisco. Seeing the giant redwoods was one of the items on my wife's bucket list and she was not disappointed! We had plenty of time to walk through the majestic giants while breathing in the fresh air hinted with the scent of eucalyptus. Our tour guide, Antonio, was terrific! He was easy to listen to and provided a few 'extras' one being providing a breath-taking view of the Golden Gate bridge and a very nice view of downtown San Francisco from Hawk's Point! This trip was worth the time and money! The time spent in Sausalito was okay, but unnecessary. we would have enjoyed more time in the woods.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Peter I W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed the bus trip to Muir Woods. It was in the early morning when the Woods were not too crowded. The Bay Cruise was a great boat ride. I only wish that we had more time in Sausalito!

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour from San Francisco Including Optional Bay Cruise

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was everything they said it would be, Our bus driver, Anthony was funny, well informed and great at sharing his knowledge of the area and sights. We absolutely loved Muir Woods! It is a stunning place of beauty and peacefulness. Sausalito was a quaint little town. We enjoyed our lunch in the seaside park. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was everything they said it would be, Our bus driver, Anthony was funny, well informed and great at sharing his knowledge of the area and sights. We absolutely loved Muir Woods! It is a stunning place of beauty and peacefulness. Sausalito was a quaint little town. We enjoyed our lunch in the seaside park. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

Marcel K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Muir Woods was very enjoyable. We would recomend going on a longer duration trip, only having an hr and 15 was way to short to enjoy the woods completely.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Richard L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Frank was our tour guide and he did a great job giving us knowledge about Muir Woods and Wine country. We were the only Americans on board but, this didn't stop him from giving everyone a great day.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

tamayo.dalia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was great! Anthony was our tour guide and he was exceptional! Muir woods was beautiful as was Sonoma! We did 3 wineries, cline and mayo family were our Favorite, we bought wine from both. We also upgraded to the lunch included option, which we loved, food was great and they kept the winecoming

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

Emily H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an amazing way to see parts of San Francisco, the Muir Woods, and a handful of great wineries. Our guide was so knowledgeable and entertaining - it made for a great day!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

Malcolm L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A very enjoyable full day trip away from the hustle of San Fransisco. Our driver and guide was very good and gave a full narrative on the way out of the city. The trip arrived at Muir Woods very early so we missed the crowds, who were just starting to arrive as we were leaving on the next leg of our tour. Muir Woods were amazing, so quiet and still after a few days in the city.

Once we were out in to the wine country the weather also changed. Dont forget your sunglasses. We were taken to 3 different wineries and were given plenty of tastings in each with the staff there also giving an explanation of how their wines were made and how they would taste different due location. This was a great tour and Im very pleased I took it.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

Mark M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was one of our best tours that we took. Our guide made it most memorable. He was so informative and nice. So it wasn't just Muir Woods and Sausalito but nice tour info on the ride over. We opted to stay in Sausalito for the afternoon and take the ferry back. It was a day well spent. Anyone who goes to SF should visit Muir Woods, a national monument.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message