Coastal redwoods are the tallest living things on earth, and walking among these giants is truly an experience—one only to be had in Northern California and a small part of southern Oregon. Best of all, the old-growth redwoods at Muir Woods are only ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1998 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Grace L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Self guided but great way to get to 2 great spots if you don't have transportation, which I recommend doing without in this city. Parking is not easy, but this trip was. Muir woods will have you in awe.Our bus driver was a hoot. Our bus broke down on the Golden Gate Bridge which only added to the adventure. Bus company handled the situation fairly well and it was a funny ending to a nice day.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

michael p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

tour guide was very knowledgeable and our walk through Muir Woods was quite enjoyable

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Gina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very much enjoyed the 9.5 hour tour. It went just as written to the Muir Woods and then on to wine country. Our driver Phil was delightful and very informative. He gave us helpful information and advice along the way and also made sure we had a chance to view and photograph the Golden Gate Bridge. Being picked up and dropped off at our own hotels was definitely a plus since we didn't have a rental car while in SF. It was an easy paced, relaxing day.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

Jane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great combination of Muir Woods and the wineries! Lunch on Sonoma Square was a great idea!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

Kenneth K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great, Phil our guide made sure we had all the info we needed to get the most out of our trip to Muir woods and the wine tastings.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

Matthew W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

During our 2 day tour we were with guides Bob, Mitch and Mike. We really enjoyed how they helped our groups each day feel comfortable and cohesive. We learned a lot from them and would highly recommend the trip! Thanks for taking us to so many wonderful wineries and Muir Woods!

Doing what: 2-Day Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour from San Francisco

Dawn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

DO THIS!!! If I could give higher than 5 stars, I would! Roman sorry if misspelled was a Most Excellent guide....knowledgeable, witty, entertaining, knew Exactly how to take us on the best tour ever. We had about 30 people on a comfortable bus, picked up at or very near our hotels, went to Muir Woods before the day got too busy. This was one of the most spectacular places I have ever seen and I loved seeing it when it was quiet. Beyond what I expected in terms of beauty and you could imagine fairies dancing there in the early morning. So beautiful in the morning!

Leaving Muir Woods, took a nice ride up to Sonoma/Napa and Roman was very adept at maneuvering the tour so we would work around busy traffic, busy places. The tour stops DO change based on day of week/time of day and he knew where to go that would give us the best experience without the hassle of crowds. Mayo Winery was a favorite, though we visited 3-4 places for tours/tastings and all were great. The tour took us to Sonoma for lunch and Roman had perfect suggestions based on the group's various interests...personally, we went to Plaza Bistro on his recommendation and Loved it! Great patio, great atmosphere, great food, ect. Service was really good though a tad slow so we were the last arrivals back on the bus. Another recommendation I remember was Girl and the Fig and those who went there loved it. There may be a wait, though, very popular, A highlight of the trip was the detour on the way back planned, if there is enough time to see it. This was a drive up the mountain to an awesome look out from the Sausalito side toward San Fran overlooking the bridge, Best views/photo opp you could ever have of the Golden Gate Bridge.
Do NOT miss this tour if you have one day to see both! If you can request a specific guide or schedule, Roman knows his stuff, is Great at it and obviously LOVES San Fran. He'll give you the Insider scoop on the city, including the beach areas. I would go again!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

Erin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great and I loved our guide. If I could change anything about the tour, I'd make the Muir Woods visit longer and cut out one of the smaller wineries. We had a great time, though, and would definitely do a tour again. I also want to note that the bus had no plugs for charging phones and no wifi I saw prior reviews that said this was included. Also, dress in layers because the temperature change is significant between Muir Woods and the wineries!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

Cathy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Glad I chose half day trip. A bit confusing loading buses but other than that all was good. Bus driver/tour guide provided vast knowledge of the area plus added some humor. Really enjoyed the Muir woods..wish had a little more time there.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Neo S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guide was awesome! But the Muir Woods didn and #39;t feel as impressive as I thought it and #39;ll be. But Sausalito was really really nice

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

karen s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great trip! Paul was a wonderful guide! Got to Muir Woods before the engormous crowds! The 3 winery's were great. Very informative and each we're very unique. It was a great way to see and do this in one day!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

Robert C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I went on the 17 mile, Carmel, and Monterey tour. Randy was our tour guide and did a fantastic job. I loved the music he played and was so informative.
The city/Alcatraz tour by Arturo was great. His enthusiasm about the city was catching.
Yesterday tour to Muir Wood with Aaron was great.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Lori T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Although the bus turned out to be a van, the trip was great. An hour or so at Muir Woods was just enough to wander around, take pictures, and enjoy a warm drink. The Cline vineyard was our favorite, but the others were nice as well. Our guide was very informative and helpful. Overall, it was a wonderful day.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

Charles P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I and #39;ve not taken a bus tour before. It and #39;s great not having to drive. I loved the driver and #39;s interaction with the passengers and his explanation of what we saw. I just with we could have spent more time in Muir Woods. It is breathtaking.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Chad K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour, great guide, great value. Love how much time we spent at the wineries, but I wish we and #39;d spent more time in the Muir Woods.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

Rod W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide, Igor, was terrific! Very knowledgeable about San Francisco and #39;s colorful history as well as valuable information about Muir Woods and Sausalito. Never a dull moment from when we embarked on Golden Gate Bridge to the end of our Muir Woods/Sausalito tour. Worth every penny! Highly recommend

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Janira O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was excelent. The tour guide Antonio was great!!! He knows how to entretain us during the trip. The Muir Woods is Awsome and beautiful.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Orriel H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing! The driver was knowledgeable of the city, the woods, and vineyards. He knew his history well! My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time, we only wished that the first part at Muir Woods was at least 30min longer. We would definitely recommend this tour to our friends.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

Jeff M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Muir Woods and Sausalito half-day trip was perfect highlighted by our tour guide Adolfo who was very knowledgeable and shared with us many items of interest! I would take this tour again in the future and highly recommend!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Stephanie I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great day tour visiting Muir Woods and wine country - very affordable!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

Ann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Another wonderful tour! Our guide was fun and informative. Muir Woods was beautiful and the wineries were outstanding!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

Ann I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous trip to Alcatraz and Muir Wood was beautiful. A brilliant day trip that was very well organised. Thanks very much.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Christine E S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was the last thing that we did over our six-night stay in San Francisco. It was a wonderful journey by bus over the Golden Gate bridge, and out into the countryside until we reached our destination of the Muir Woods. Here we were able to spend over an hour ambling along the walk-ways under the leafy canopy of these glorious trees. We walked as far as we could in the time allotted, and found ourselves quite alone in the distant paths. The walk-ways are wide and well-manicured, and anyone with a stroller, a wheelchair, small children, or similar could make their way quite easily. There is a gift shop and a place to purchase refreshments if desired. The return trip took us back through Sausalito where we disembarked and were allowed to wander as we wished through the shops along the waterfront. My granddaughter and I purchased ice cream cones, and went down to the shore where we chatted and enjoyed the ambience. Our return trip took us back over the Golden Gate bridge always a welcome experience! and dropped us off at the bus depot in the waterfront area of San Francisco. If I remember correctly, some of our fellow-travelers were being dropped off at their hotels. Altogether the whole trip was very well run, reasonably priced, and a pleasant, memorable experience.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Sarah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had an amazing time visiting Muir Woods and Salsalita. Our tour guide, Antonio was entertaining, professional and the best! Got to capture some awesome photos.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

Amber B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was fantastic! We planned a girls weekend in San Fran and wanted to include wine tours. The 3 wineries were delicious. Muir Woods was gorgeous and so peaceful. But what made the tour even better was our driver Romon. He was funny, informative and extremely personable. Highly recommend him!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message