Coastal redwoods are the tallest living things on earth, and walking among these giants is truly an experience—one only to be had in Northern California and a small part of southern Oregon. Best of all, the old-growth redwoods at Muir Woods are only ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2056 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ronald P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour and Anthony our tour guide and driver were really awesome. The first leg of the trip took us on a drive across the Golden Gate Bridge to Muir Woods, where we walked trails engulfed in the majestic splendor of massive redwood trees. Anthony expertly navigated our vehicle out of Muir Woods to our next destination, a boutique winery in Sonoma Valley. After an enjoyable and relaxing wine tasting session, we were off to another small winery in Napa Valley, for another wine tasting. Then it was time for a pleasant lunch in Sonoma, a small, quaint town, filled with shops, restaurants and more wine tasting. Anthony gave us a good tip, telling us where to get free samples of cheese and chocolate at our lunch stop. After lunch we were taken to our final winery in Sonoma, enjoying more wine tasting. All three wineries were staffed with friendly, knowledgeable people who were proud of their wines and eager for us to taste them. Last, but not least, we made a final stop, overseeing a breathtaking view of the Golden Gate Bridge and the city. Overall, this was an outstanding tour and a memorable experience.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

Elaine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great driver. Loved listening to his narrative as we drove to and back from Muir Woods. The only thing I would change is to extend the tour by an hour. I am an avid shopper and time alloted to Sausalito just was not enough. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

JORGE V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome!

Great tour guide and company. Very professional and accommodating. Breathtaking views and a great experience. Muir woods is a must see location and the wine tours were a nice sampling of the regions flavor.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Alcatraz tour was amazing, very educational and fun just to roam about. Need a little more time in Muir Woods so you dont have to rush. Sausalito was beautiful, good shopping and great food.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Jared A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was so beautiful in Muir Woods. My wife and I really enjoyed our time there. The tour guide was very informative on the tour.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Peter V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our driver was very knowledgeable and also quite funny which help to maintain the level of interest among the passengers. We really enjoyed the trip to Muir Woods and the opportunity to take pictures of the Golden Gate Bridge on the return route. Afterwards, our driver dropped us off directly at Union Square. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Allen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The trip was a great way to see Alcatraz, Sausalito and Muir Woods. Our bus driver was great, and he shared many interesting facts about the area. We were a little confused about the timing of the trip, so be sure to confirm ahead of time to understand when to pick up your tickets. There was not a lot of time to visit Sausalito if you wanted to eat lunch, but the ferry was a great alternative. All in all, we were very happy with our tour experience.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Albert C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a very nice experience in Muir Woods.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Kate B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Driver/tour guide Ray was wonderful! Muir Woods was beautiful and we had the perfect amount of time there. Sausalito was lovely and the option to stay there was nice. We had just enough time for lunch on the water and then return to the bus.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Jeffrey H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic trip to the Muir Woods and Sausalito. Great views of the city, Golden Gate Bridge, and Muir Woods.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour from San Francisco Including Optional Bay Cruise

Toral D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a really good tour. Curt was a fun guide, and we enjoyed the gorgeous Muir woods and the tour's selection of wineries.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

Mita M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very enjoyable and the best way to see the redwoods in Muir Woods! You would not want to drive there by yourself - folks have to park 2 miles and walk! The bus takes you to entrance. Sausalito is beautiful!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Alvin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I enjoyed the beautiful red woods at Muir Woods. The trip was very pleasant.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Marina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great tour. Our guide, Roman, was fantastic with a lot of good commentary and suggestions. Very organized and punctual so we got a lot in one day. If you are more inclined to leisurely tours, split Muir Woods and Wine Country trips into two days. Muir woods is worth seeing, but go early we did to avoid the masses. Enjoyed the wineries we visited and their staffs were all excellent in their presentations. Bonus was a quick trip to the Marin Headlands to see a fantastic view of the Golden Gate.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

saungwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Physically crossed the Golden Gate bridge and spent time in Muir Wood park is quite pleasant. Walking along the foot path through the giant sequoia trees was quite refreshing. This trip included hotel pick up.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Beth W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Don't hesitate to take make this choice. Granddaughter and I loved Muir Woods and the driver did a great job on the narrow, winding roads to and from the park. I appreciated his commentary and information along the way. We chose the morning trip and were so glad we did as it was getting crowded when we left the park. Sausalito was wonderful and we decided to spend the afternoon there, taking the ferry back to San Francisco. Even if you have a car please consider taking the bus trip. People were parking along the road, 2 to 3 miles from the entrance. The bus pulled right into the parking lot. It was a lovely day.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Muir Woods is absolutely beautiful. There wasn't much time in Sausalito about an hour -- time to either explore or eat. I wouldn't have minded a few more minutes in Muir Woods either but there was adequate time in both locations. Our guide was very knowledgeable and fun to listen to.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Kathy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was wonderful. The drivers told us all about our trip. I learned a lot about Muir Woods and Sausalito.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Kathy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Muir Woods is an amazing place. You can suck up oxygen to your heart's content. I joined a ranger led trek that was very informative. I could have passed on Sausalito, but opted to stay and read overlooking the bay while listening to street musicians. I took the ferry back for an aquatic adventure. Definately a great trip!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Rina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

With many different winery tours out there to choose from, this full day tour really was outstanding! Anthony our driver and guide was friendly, fun and extremely knowledgeable! He made our trip really memorable! All of the reviews about him are true. If you get him as your guide, consider yourself lucky!!! The Muir Woods is a beautiful and peaceful place - not sure I'd like to stay there all day, but the hour we had was enough time. The first two wineries were boutique wineries so they were smaller and more intimate. Our last stop was a larger winery which produced more types of wine. At each winery we were given information on the wine making process and were really allowed to try an unlimited amount of wine. While previous reviews stated the sales pitch for a corkscrew purchase, thankfully we did not have that occur.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

Charlotte T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

You can do this tour yourself by taking the ferry to Sausalito and a bus to Muir Woods but we had a GREAT bus driver who was non-stop information and humor. Igor, I think he was called. The woods are amazing, redwoods are awesome.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

James L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really great tour to Muir Woods. The driver was full of knowledge and didn't stop supplying us with fascinating details of the history of the area for the whole drive there! Even sang to us on the way back! We didn't take the Bay Cruise in the end but the Redwoods and Sausalito were beautiful.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

Judysidey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved every minute of this trip.Muir Woods was so serene and hauntingly beautiful. Sausalito was pretty and we may get the ferry there today for another look. Randy our guide was knowledgable and so so funny. Thanks Randy.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Jessica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing. The Muir woods are beautiful and we had just about enough time to wander around and soak in the nature. The guide was perfect and the wineries were so pretty and amazing. We got a lot of tastings and the perfect amount of time to walk around and try all the wines you wanted. I recommend this trip to everyone that wants a day outside of the city and have a bit of nature and of course WINE!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Driver was out of this world with the best knowledge of the area and facts. We have been on several group trips before with people that can not do what our guide did. We had arrived in Muir Woods Early and got around the crowds which allowed us a quiet reflective walk. The rest of the trip went equally well to keep on schedule with some very nice stops along the way. We would collectively agree this is by far the best trip we have been on.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message