The Muir Woods National Monument is a must-see destination on any visit to the San Francisco Bay Area. Part of the Golden Gate National Recreation Area, the forest is just a short drive from the city, 12 miles (19 km) north across the Golden Gate ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2229 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lisa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The first thing you need to do is request Antony as your guide ! The wine tour in lauded Muir Woods, Somoma and lunch.
Muir Woods is absolutely fascinating !! You also get a gormet lunch and do not forget to buy some fantastic chocolate !
THe May winery was my favorite but the whole experience was great !

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

Mary-Jo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Muir woods is a beautiful, spiritual place, not to be missed. Sausalito is lovely.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Doug H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The boat tour around the island was nice.The Muir woods Grey line Bus tour and the driver Ray, were professional, informative and punctual. The Muir woods forest is chilli but stunningly beautiful, to me. Almost worth the price of the plane tickets alone. This forest is not so big that you have to be a top fit hiker, but big enough that you are in awe of these beautiful trees and thankful to those who took the time to preserve them. The smell is over the top mind clearing and refreshing. I would recommend this trip 100 percent.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

a u

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Denise our tour guide was wicked! She kept to a tight schedule and the day went very well and informative. If we had more time in SF we would have gone on the all day tour of the north lands of SF area as we enjoyed the contrast of city to country side life and what's more the Muir woods were amazing a lot better than our Scottish pines in Scotland. Had a great day and would thoroughly recommend this trip to any one that wants away from city life for a few hours and sample some lovely wines along the way:

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Muir Woods was very peaceful and well taken care of. The tour of the city was excellent and very informative. It covered all of the major tour sites. Learning about and seeing the different neighborhoods helped to better understand San Francisco.

Doing what: San Francisco City and Muir Woods Trip with Optional Bay Cruise or Ferry to Sausalito

alexander j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Chablis was a really great driver/guide...Muir Woods, obviously are amazing, but he made that trip very special, with little stops here and there, so the people on the bus could make awesome pictures.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour from San Francisco Including Optional Bay Cruise

Jon Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The bus driver was pretty funny, kept us entertained as he drove through Fisherman's Wharf, across the Golden Gate Bridge, and through Marin County on our way to Muir Woods. The forest was beautiful. Don't think I've ever found a more peaceful, awe-inspiring, spectacular place in my life. Only had an hour or so there, could have spent the entire day. We next went to Sausalito and then I took a ferry back to the city.

Highly recommend this trip! Great value!

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

Vijay R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide was great with excellent commentary and loads of knowledge about everything on the way to Muir forest. It is a must do activity when in SFO. I wish we had at least another hour in the Muir forest.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Tiffany G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great half day trip to Muir Woods to see the redwoods and also 45 minutes in Sausalito. Antonio was funny and provided a great tour!!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Nichole O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was the perfect accommodation. Muir woods is beautiful--could have used more time there. Sausalito is a quaint little town. The short time there was enough since the weather was cold and the town small so we did a quick walk through and grabbed a bite to eat. Randy, our driver/guide made this trip even better. He was knowledgeable, friendly, and funny. I don't know how he drives that bus on some of those roads, but he did an excellent job.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Victoria S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Awesome combination! Highly recommend for travelers who want a taste of each wine country and Muir woods in a day trip. Pack warm clothes for the morning, I made that mistake!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

Kellyandheidi96

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This trip was wonderful! We stopped along the way at a hidden lookout point to see the Golden Gate bridge and all of San Francisco. Beautiful! Muir Woods is beyond gorgeous. We could have walked for hours. The only down side of the trip was that we wish we had more time in Sausalito. However, we can go back on our own, as our FANTASTIC driver and tour guide- ANTONIO- gave us hints on other transportation options. He was one of the best drivers I have ever encountered. Thank you Antonio and Gray Line for a terrific half day trip!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

PohMeng Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Need to have more time at Muir Woods to enjoy the scenery and environment

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

Orpha United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a nice time at Muir Woods and Sausalito! Antonio was a good and engaging guide, making the tour more interesting. Two thumbs up.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Natalie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

My boyfriend and I had a great time on our tour. Our tour guide Aaron was really entertaining and knowledgable about San Francisco and the locations that we visited. Like other reviewers, we would have loved more time at Muir Woods, but it was still a great experience.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Mark H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Perfect amount of time at each location. The Muir Woods were gorgeous and meditative. Driver was great. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Erica K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Such a wonderful trip! Our tour guide Igor was friendly, funny, and had great knowledge of the city and our stops. He showed us great views of the Golden Gate Bridge and the Pacific Ocean along our travels, and told us the best place to grab a bite in Sausalito. Muir Woods was absolutely breathtaking, and Sausalito was a quaint little town!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Tonskin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A must do visit whilst in San Francisco. Incredible woodland, so close to the city. Could do without the trip to sausilito to spend more time exploring Muir Woods, but overall had a great morning.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Beverly F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Muir Woods is magical! There was a slow drizzle that day and all of the tree ferns were glowing with color! Sausalito seems to be just a new style of outdoor mall with shopping and restaurants.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

jpcalkins

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Alcatraz was absolutely without a doubt the highlight of out trip to San Francisco. Muir Woods is beautiful but disappointing compared to Northern California. Our bus driver was very informative.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Diana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I recommend this tour for its convenience and the amazing sights. The bus drives right up to the entrance of Muir Woods which were amazing. A quick lunch stop in stunning Sausalito was wonderful. Visiting Alcatraz in the afternoon fulfilled a lifelong dream of seeing the prison.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Teresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour of the Muir woods was beautiful and majestic. It is hard to capture their height on pictures. We also enjoyed lunch by the water in Sausalito. It was a great day trip.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

Siobhan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We all really enjoyed our trip to Muir Woods. The bus driver was great, and the redwoods were something to behold!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Sally M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Muir Woods was great, wonderful to see the large trees. The wine tour was also wonderful, we loved the Mayo winery the presenter gave us good information on wine. The wine we purchased from Mayo was excellent. We also liked the Cline winery, a much larger winery than Mayo, but a beautiful facility. Wine purchased at Cline was also great. Our guide was awesome.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods & Wine Country w/optional Gourmet Lunch

Eric H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent guide, and a beautiful trip. One caveat, we recommend taking the ferry back from Sausalito,as most folks could spend all day there. Muir Woods is simply awesome!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message