Standing at the apex of the Filbert Street Steps, you can understand what Italian fishermen and beat poets saw in North Beach: tough climbs and giddy vistas, a place with more sky than ground, an area that was civilized but not entirely tamed.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lori M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What an amazing tour!!! My local guide was Jim who was nothing short of amazing i will use this word a lot to describe this tour!! and really makes this tour one to remember. With all of the wonderful food options within Little Italy the restaurants selected all have their own little history and are highly regarded restaurants which really makes this tour a bargain. Jim provided wonderful insight into the history on San Francisco and the role Little Italy plays in the city. Jim's enthusiasm for the history of city really enhances the experience as you learn about key events that changed the city over the years while enjoying delectable plates from each restaurant. This quick tour will not disappoint and I highly recommend this to anyone who loves food and great time.

Doing what: Food and Culinary Walking Tour of North Beach

Nicky Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I had a great time with Blandina tour guide and a nice couple from Dallas on a personal walking tour of little Italy and the North Beach. It was nice to be in a small group of 3 as we learned so much about the culture, history and local shops. Some highlights were a cappuccino at Caffè Roma the make their own coffee in a huge machine, family run business with training in Italy - I bought a bag of coffee beans to take home, Mario's Cigar the best Focaccia sandwiches, St. Peter and Paul's Church beautiful church across from Washington Square, Z Cioccolato Fudge OMG yummy, Stella Pastry amazing desserts, Molinaro Deli walking in there makes you feel like you just stepped into Italy had another tasty sandwich - out of this world good and shared a pizza at Viva Pizza. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

Val T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

With so much to do in SF it is hard to pick and choose where to start. I am so happy that my boyfriend and I went on the North Beach Food Tour. The afternoon was filled with delicious food and abundant history.
My personal favorite was the second stoptruffles!! There were so many flavors to pick from so I ended up purchasing more for later in our stay. If available get the Lavender Truffle! Delectable!! My BFs favorite? Tonys PizzaI think he fell in love. Wish we could order it at home. Great Guide, great food, great history. Id definitely go on this tour again.

Doing what: Food and Culinary Walking Tour of North Beach

Chad R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was more than just a food tour. Our guide provided cultural history to go along with the tastings. Id highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to get a better feel for of the layout of the North Beach neighborhood.
The spots we visited were for the most part quaint and seemed to be owned and operated by locals. We went back to one of the locations for an expresso and hand stuffed canoli for breakfast because we enjoyed it so much. Thanks for a great afternoon.

Doing what: Food and Culinary Walking Tour of North Beach

elisa m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We loved our tour of North Beach! Blandina is a long time resident and excellent guide. The food was delicious...what a great way to get to know a neighborhood.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

Bill Fern

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great tour with Blandina during our recent stopover in San Francisco on our way to Hawaii. She was very well-informed, had a great sense of humor and shared insights about North Beach that only a long-time resident of the neighborhood could offer she's been living there for over 30 years. Her contacts and relationships with the locations we visited including artist studios and local stores and particularly with the cafes, delis, and restaurants on the tour made the tour a very comfortable and enjoyable experience. Last but not least, since we are from NJ and so was Blandina, we enjoyed sharing stories about our home state. We would highly recommend this tour for anyone seeking a very pleasant and informative afternoon or morning program in San Francisco--make sure you have a good appetite, as the Italian food included on the tour is outstanding.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

Melissa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a great tour! I got confused about the meeting time and Kelsey called me when we were on our way and the tour group was already departing, she made sure I was able to meet Don, our guide on another street. We met with them no problem. Don, our tour guide was knowledgeable and personable, we had a great time walking along Fisherman's Wharf, getting to see the actual fishing side of it, along North Beach, up to Coit Tower and looking at the beautiful views of the Bay area.

I would totally recommend Don, he made the experience super enjoyable and educational. We also got lucky and got some sun for the first time in a couple of days when we were there!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach with Cable Car Ride and optional Alcatraz Ticket

mcstack35

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had an excellent walking tour of San Francisco with Don! He ran the tour with only 4 of us, when I had been previously told they couldn't run it with less than 5 people. He even spent 3 1/2 hours walking us all around the city, when he was only required to do 2 hours! His commentary was great: very informative and a lot of fun, interesting facts. He also stopped at an Italian focaccia place, and bought some, and shared it with us! We also got some cable car tickets, and tickets to visit Alcatraz. Alcatraz was so fascinating, and a lot of fun! Overall, an excellent tour thanks to Don and Viator!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach with Cable Car Ride and optional Alcatraz Ticket

Mark H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Eileen was the best. We were so fortunate to have her all to ourselves, as only our party of 3 signed up.
Walked in Chinatown, ate dinner, visited many places, continued to North Beach, pizza. chocolates, popcorn - Oh My! Don't even think about eating after this tour - we were stuffed, both with food and information about the area. A must do!

Doing what: Chinatown and North Beach Night Walking Tour

Marlene R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Celeste was AWESOME! She was quite knowledgeable, personable, and energetic! Fun tour where you get to see China Town and North Beach and experience sights, sounds, and tastes!

Doing what: Chinatown and North Beach Night Walking Tour

Kurt E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Covers both history of The Beat Generation members and events as well as the rich and long history of San Francisco's North Beach neighborhood. Very knowledgeable and fun tour guide. Highly Recommended!

Doing what: North Beach Underground Tour with Beat Museum Admission

Lori B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful evening exploring North Beach. Our guide Jim was very knowledgeable and I enjoyed his stories about the area and the buildings. It was easy walking and we were able to customize the tour to our interests and tastes.

Doing what: San Francisco North Beach Pub Crawl

Maureen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A fun, fun tour. Lots of great information and history of North Beach from our tour guide, Blondina, who lives in North Beach. Visited various restaurants, delis, shops with samples of coffee drinks, sandwiches and pizza. Would highly recommend!!

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We met our tour guide Blandina in front of Coit Liquors on the corner of Union and Columbus Street near Washington Square Park. She is a great guide. Blandina has been in the city for many, many years, and it seems like she knows everyone and she knows her history on San Francisco. This tour is a great way to see North Beach and walk among the locals. If you have not been to SF I highly recommend this walking tour and if you're lucky you will get the colorful, charming, intelligent, and full of life Blandina as your guide.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

Chris C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Celest was great - we really enjoyed our tour - the tastings were awesome. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to see Chinatown and North Beach!

Doing what: Chinatown and North Beach Night Walking Tour

Debora S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We enjoyed our tour of North Beach. Very informative and interesting. Tour guide Blandine was charming.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

Wendy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Had a fantastic time with our guide, Blondina. So much delicious food,terrific insights into North Beach and a great stroll through the neighborhood. We were a group of mostly native San Franciscans, so we knew some history. Still talking about it!

Wendy

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

Barbara T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this eating tour of North Beach. Jim was a fun and knowledgeable guide as we walked and ate our way through the tour. All the food we were served was delicious. It was a sunny day so we were able to sit outside at a couple of restaurants while we ate. We liked learning about the people who came and went during the history of the area as well as the effects of the earthquake in the early 1900s. We will definitely recommend this tour to our friends and family.

Doing what: Food and Culinary Walking Tour of North Beach

Jeff S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This may be the best tour I have ever enjoyed! Our tour guide, Margherita, was very personable and knowlegeable about both the history and food in North Beach. I cannot recommend this tour enough for anyone who enjoys learning about a neighborhood through its dining experiences.

Doing what: North Beach Culinary Experience with Alcohol Pairing

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Interesting!

Didn't realise there was so much history around North Beach and The Beatniks!

Thanks for a lovely afternoon, we even went to the Vesuvio for 1 of Jack's favourite drinks after!!

Doing what: North Beach Underground Tour with Beat Museum Admission

Pierce F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We can't say enough good things about this tour. Jim, our guide, was as knowledgable about the culinary and geographic history of the area as he was well versed in Disney trivia which my girlfriend absolutely loved. We started out at a family-run restaurant, where we tried a gnocchi dough topped with a bolognese sauce, both of which were completely made in-house. This stop encapsulates the spirit of the entire tour. The afternoon focuses on curating all the wonderful tastes and smells of North Beach, finding the best small gems at each restaurant and letting us sample a wide range of food in a relatively abridged timeframe. And, if you're worried about filling up on pasta, the tour alternates between savory and sweet so you can treat yourself to a mini-dessert after every entree stop. Next we progressed to xox chocolates, our first of these sweet stops, which featured truffles as authentic as you'd find in France or Italy. Once we bit into the hard chocolate shell, and tasted the gooey center, we instantly regretted not buying a whole box. From there we toured some different historical attractions, grabbed a giant slice of pizza, cannoli, tiramisu, and a final dish of gnocchi with different sauces. By the end we were stuffed and recommending this tour to all our friends. Just make sure to bring your appetite and be ready to ask for doggie bags.

Doing what: Food and Culinary Walking Tour of North Beach

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a fabulous tour. Blondina, our guide, has been a resident of the area for many years and she was able to share stories, provide some history, introduce us to the locals and give us lots of tastings of the delicious food of Little Italy. After completing the tour in the morning, I was able to walk the streets and explore the area with a greater understanding in the afternoon. What a great day!

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

Emily G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Margherita was an amazing guide! She was friendly and took us to the best spots in North Beach. I would absolutely recommend this tour to my friends and family. I purchased this for a belated mother's day present. It was a very unique experience, and my whole family enjoyed it.

Doing what: North Beach Culinary Experience with Alcohol Pairing

Dr. Frank S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Ryan did a great tour. He brought us North Beach and the Beat very close. Thanks, we really enjoyed it.

Doing what: North Beach Underground Tour with Beat Museum Admission

Terry N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What an amazing experience. Our tour guide Blandine was great, having lived in San Fransisco for many years and in the Little Italy area in particular she knew all the shop owners and it was a very relaxed and informative tour. The product sampling at various establishments was a great experience. Definitely recommend as a must do tour.

Doing what: Little Italy and North Beach Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message