One of the most popular attractions in San Francisco, Pier 39 is a fun-filled multilevel waterfront complex, complete with shops, restaurants, lively street performers, a video arcade, and stellar attractions. An added bonus is its setting on San ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 41 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jacob K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I've been to the Pier 39 Bay Aquarium before and it has always been a great experience. The one thing that stands out is the touch-pool area when you can observe starfish, rays and small sharks extremely close-up. This was the first year I visited the aquarium at the Academy of Science which unfortunately blows Bay Aquarium out of the water, so to speak. Still, there is nothing wrong with the Bay Aquarium and I will always recommend it if you find yourself visiting Pier 39.

Doing what: Aquarium of the Bay General Admission

Richard R T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

After getting the ticket booklet it was perfect. I tried to redeem my voucher at San Francisco Bay Cruises office (Pier 39, Suite HM6). I could not find this office and a call went directly to an announcement.

A short walk to the Aquarium on the Bay was much better and worth the visit!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

James W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We went to all of the special events: Blue and Gold Boat tour, Pier 39 Aquarium, California Academy of Sciences and the deYoung Art Museum.
We used the Muni buses a lot and also did a cable car ride.
Worth the price.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Jacqueline M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We wanted to experience San Francisco from all angles and what better way to do it than from a fantastic boat. We met Captain Charles at pier 39 before heading to our boat. We were provided with clothing before boarding. We headed out of the bay to the lighthouse with gorgeous views of the city in a peaceful location. Captain Charles has a great knowledge of the city explaining all throughout the tour. We travelled back along the bay to see the sea lions before heading to AT and T park where the Giants were playing before viewing the war ships then heading back to bay. A must to view the city with a fantastic Captain.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco Bay RIB Boat Experience

Imelda W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My family and I enjoyed our trip to Pier 39. We loved San Francisco due to our visit there, and we plan to return some day in the near future.

Doing what: PIER 39 Attraction Pass

Anne L. P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Well worth getting the 2-day tour. Lots of extras...evening tour....Sausalito excursion...Pier 39 activities! Some buses had live tour guides who offered suggestions for things to do and places to eat. Bus schedule and stop locations were convenient. Saved us from driving around San Francisco and trying to find parking. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Zully N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very good way to get around San Francisco. The only problem is that buses look like every other tour bus and hard to identify the correct one. Also there isnt a designated spot at Pier 39 to get on bus, hard to locate.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Mark C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The City Pass in San Francisco is probably the best value for money of the major city passes is recently used (LA, London, Paris and Rome). It had the length of stay covered better than the rest and you don't have to rush to see things. The Pier 39 Tourist booklet was great but suited to couples or family groups. Having access to Muni in travel was brilliant in SF and, with a little planning, there isn't anywhere you can't go. Even though I was in town only a few days, the pass worked overtime to show me the main sites and have a great harbour tour (which helped overcome the disappointment of missing going to Alcatraz due to the crowds booking it out). If City Pass can improve it would be to give a bit of advice about peak times for when booking is essential - coming form overseas things like school holidays fall at different times but they always make booking essential. SF City Pass is great value!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This is an absolute must as it not only covers all the Cables Cars, Street Cars (F Line) and Muni Buses, it has entrance fees to the major attractions included. For example, the Aquarium and 3D show at Pier 39, the Bay Cruise and California Academy of Science Museum in Golden Gate Park to name but a few. It is extremely good value as each Cable Car ride will cost you $6 without the pass, even if you just get off at the next stop. So by having the pass you don't have to worry about carrying lots of Dollars to just get around. Be sure to go to the Cable Car Museum as you will see how the Cable Cars work. Enjoy!

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Diana W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We had an awesome time on this tour, our guides, particularly Aaron, made the experience extra special, we rode with him twice, and he went out of his way to make sure that everyone on board had the best experience. Highlights for us were taking the ferry to Sausilito, and arriving at pier 39 to find the Americas Cup event. as New Zealanders this meant a lot. We had a two day pass, and felt that we covered San Francisco very well. We enjoyed the fact that there were different types of buses, the little one was the most fun.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

GAIL O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Unfortunately, the tours were split between 5? companies prior to my visit. We were at Pier 39 and numerous red Sightseeing Hop-on Hop-off busses arrived that we could not board. Two blue busses drove by in the left hand lane unable to stop due to other vehicles in the boarding area. After 40 minutes, a gentleman flagged down the buss we finally boarded and then had a delightful time and great tour guide.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Effie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Where do I start? It was wonderful and our tour guide, Victoria, and Driver, Angel were amazing. We had planned to make a few stops on the way but were having such a fun time that we chose to ride all around and did get off at Union Square and back on again to go around again, to stop at Pier 39.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Our first time in San Francisco and did not know what to expect or find. Picked up the pass on our first day. Pier 39 staff were very helpful and informative. We found this book to be invaluable. We would not have seen areas and things if we had not used this. Saved a fortune on the trolleys and buses.

Doing what: San Francisco CityPass

Brian R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

The Pier 39 pass was really great! Had alot of fun and saved some mony at the same time! There is something to do for everbody there.

Doing what: PIER 39 Attraction Pass

Linda H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

the trolley ride is excellent there is a great atmosphere here at pier 39

Doing what: PIER 39 Attraction Pass

Lydia C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great tour but was very confusing to start off with. The instructions said to go to Visitor Center at Pier 39 to redeem our voucher for the first morning tour but office was close. After getting on a Hop On Hop Off bus at Pier 39, we were told we were on the wrong bus and to go to the office at Pier 41. From there, it went well. We got our vouchers redeemed and told to wait at the white curb pickup area for our bus.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Michael A

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Planned pickup at Pier 39 of 11am bus which didn't turn up. Next bus at 11:30 had sound system problems so we were transferred to another bus which left at 11:50. Almost an hour wasted. Other than that tour was very good. We jumped off at Golden Gate Park to visit the Japanese Tea Gardens which shouldn't be missed. Had a bit of a wait for the next bus passing but the guide for the last part of the tour was excellent, very funny and knowledgeable. Jumped off again at Market Street to do some shopping and got a later bus back to Fisherman's Wharf.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Walter R S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Great for seein the whole city. Being disabled the double decker bus was a ch allange but enjoyed the whole tour. Wharf and Pier 39 very good

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Baz

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Enjoyed the whole trip. Hopped off in chinatown which covers a large area and shopping is great. Golden Gate bridge crossing was the highlight for me. Gives you a good feel for the city and ideas for further activities. Pier 39 is a must for a visit.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Aldebaran F

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

First off, the day was lousy for a tour. The weather was bad, and to make it worse, the bus was leaking water onto the seats. My boyfriend and I had already been soaked through our clothes while waiting at Pier 39, so it didn't make a whole lot of difference. There was some issue with the buses and the person that began our tour switched out at the next stop. Thank goodness he did. All he managed to say was "there's Alcatraz" and "eat at Fisherman's Wharf instead of anywhere else" The new guide was awesome! He had so many extra little bits of information that I had no idea about. He was so good, that the driver advised us we wouldn't find a better one. We took his word for it, and decided not to hop off at any stop so we didn't miss out on his information. Not great that we were afraid of a bad tour without his guidance though. Wish I remembered his name... The voucher turned out to be quite a nuisance, 4 pages without knowing what we would need to show the driver in order to board the bus. A smaller one page item to identify yourself as well as an optional larger guide to keep on hand would have been less confusing.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Clarita B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

NOTE: There were three of us that reserved our tour with the our company. When we first arrived in San Francisco on Saturday morning, August 16, 2014, we walked to the Ferry building and at approximately 11:12 AM, I called the 1-866 number to ask where we would catch the hop on hop off tour bus. The person I spoke to transferred me to the local San Francisco number because he said he would not be able to help me. After he transferred me to the local San Francisco number, I was put on hold for a long time so I just decided to end the call and the three of us starting walking toward Pier 39.
It was very frustrating just trying to locate the hop on hop off tour bus. There were no signs anywhere to be seen. We kept asking other tour bus drivers where to catch the hop on hop off bus. They directed us to go to Pier 39 in front of the Aquarium.
There were other hop on hop off tour buses that were showing up more frequently by Pier 39 in front of the Aquarium
;At approximately 12:08 PM I then decided to call the local number at 1-415 number again I was put on hold for almost 15-20 minutes and so I decided to end the call.
We waited too long for the bus to show up; we were at Pier 39 in front of the Aquarium between 12:30 PM and 1:30 PM and never saw a tour bus come by between those times.
After finally getting on the tour bus, about ten minutes or so, the tour guide announced that they were taking a 15 minute break—but the 15 minute break turned out to be almost 40-45 minutes; way too long to be waiting
I thoroughly enjoyed the tour which took about 3 hours on the bus despite the trouble we had to go through to find the tour bus. The tour guide was funny and we enjoyed his jokes!!!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

andrea s

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Excellent, we were only on a two and half day stop over before going onto Hawaii so wanted to cram in as much a possible in that short space of time. I have been to San Francisco before and done most of the main sights myself but i wanted my kids and husband to experience it all too and the hop on ticket allowed us all to do that. Fishermans wharf and all the sights and smells, Pier 39 the seals, Alcatraz trip ......booked seperate but at least we got to the pier from the hop on bus, Golden Gate Bridge over and back before 3pm, onto Golden Gate Park, we had a little wander down Haight Ashbury area (which my 11 and 9 year old found fascinating !!!! I'll say no more hahaha), quick scoot round Union Square, took a seperate trip on the Cable car down hyde, quick drink in Buena Vista cafe, back on cable car up to Lombard crookedest street, quick jump off to walk down then back up, jumped on next passing cable car back to Union Square and meet with the hop on route , caught the last bus of the day back round the full circle. All the stops had something to do even if it was just for half an hour or so then hop on the next one. I really feel like my kids have seen so many diffrent parts of the city in such a short period they absolutely love it all. P.S, you can also get a great tan on the top deck if you get good weather!. Would recommend this ticket for anyone on a tight schedule as it helps organise your route for you but does not limit you to only those stops as you could explore inbetween too.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Joanne K

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Tour was excellent, would highly recommend. We were disappointed however, when we tried to hop on a bus at pier 39 at 4:30 pm and discovered it was only going to stop one and ending for the day.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Michael M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The price of the tickets was a good value. The Pier 39 Aquarium is well done and is interesting, particularly for kids, and the bay cruse gives visitors a different dimension of SF. We didn't have time to use the hop-on-hop-off bus tickets, but I have used them in other cities and found them to be a good value also.

Doing what: PIER 39 Attraction Pass

Ian S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great tour guides, entertaining and informative. Would recommend going over the Golden Gate Bridge until mid morning. Japanese Tea Gardens and Pier 39 were our favourite stops. Well worth it

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message