Perfectly arranged on a secure little bay harbor, Sausalito is undeniably lovely. Named for the "tiny willows" that once populated the banks of its creeks, it’s a tiny settlement of pretty houses that tumble neatly down a green hillside ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1422 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mark M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was one of our best tours that we took. Our guide made it most memorable. He was so informative and nice. So it wasn't just Muir Woods and Sausalito but nice tour info on the ride over. We opted to stay in Sausalito for the afternoon and take the ferry back. It was a day well spent. Anyone who goes to SF should visit Muir Woods, a national monument.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Dusky N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome trip, great guide and very knowledgeable about the area and the tour. Really enjoyed the stop off in Sausalito too, had a great lunch at the Napa Burger bar would highly recommend the Muir Woods and Sausalito tours

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Elaine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great driver. Loved listening to his narrative as we drove to and back from Muir Woods. The only thing I would change is to extend the tour by an hour. I am an avid shopper and time alloted to Sausalito just was not enough. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Alcatraz tour was amazing, very educational and fun just to roam about. Need a little more time in Muir Woods so you dont have to rush. Sausalito was beautiful, good shopping and great food.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Debs United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved this trip. We chose the morning departure and had an informative and funny commentary on the way from Guido our driver. We had 1.5 hours in the woods which was about enough time and the woods themselves were so lovely and peaceful. We travelled on then to Sausalito which is a lovely little place. Guido recommended a place for ice cream and also a place that did 'the best burgers anywhere'. We succumbed to the burgers and they were the best! Fries were pretty good too! We had about an hour in Sausalito which was fine as it's only a small place. We returned to San Francisco on the bus though there was an option to return via ferry at your own convenience. Great trip.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Allen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The trip was a great way to see Alcatraz, Sausalito and Muir Woods. Our bus driver was great, and he shared many interesting facts about the area. We were a little confused about the timing of the trip, so be sure to confirm ahead of time to understand when to pick up your tickets. There was not a lot of time to visit Sausalito if you wanted to eat lunch, but the ferry was a great alternative. All in all, we were very happy with our tour experience.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Kate B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Driver/tour guide Ray was wonderful! Muir Woods was beautiful and we had the perfect amount of time there. Sausalito was lovely and the option to stay there was nice. We had just enough time for lunch on the water and then return to the bus.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Jeffrey H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic trip to the Muir Woods and Sausalito. Great views of the city, Golden Gate Bridge, and Muir Woods.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour from San Francisco Including Optional Bay Cruise

dana k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

we had a great time. the bus ride was nice, the guide shared interesting information along the way. we decided to stay in sausalito for a leisurly lunch and to soak up the sun so we took the ferry back to SF.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Mita M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very enjoyable and the best way to see the redwoods in Muir Woods! You would not want to drive there by yourself - folks have to park 2 miles and walk! The bus takes you to entrance. Sausalito is beautiful!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Marguerite H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic morning trip and the Redwoods were incredible. Highly recommended Our tour guide, a volunteer who takes one around the Park, was incredibly interesting. The forest walks were spectacular and one had plenty of time to enjoy the forest. It was an amazing morning and really well- organised by the tour operator. Our guide on the bus was very good too. Washroom facilities at the Forest are sadly inadequate for a place that must receive many visitors each day. They had a great gift shop.

We were dropped off at Sausalito afterwards having had a short tour of the town and one could opt to take the bus back to San Francisco or stay in Sausalito. Sausalito is a pretty town but not really worth making a special trip to see, in my view. Very much over- commercialised as a town.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Beth W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Don't hesitate to take make this choice. Granddaughter and I loved Muir Woods and the driver did a great job on the narrow, winding roads to and from the park. I appreciated his commentary and information along the way. We chose the morning trip and were so glad we did as it was getting crowded when we left the park. Sausalito was wonderful and we decided to spend the afternoon there, taking the ferry back to San Francisco. Even if you have a car please consider taking the bus trip. People were parking along the road, 2 to 3 miles from the entrance. The bus pulled right into the parking lot. It was a lovely day.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Muir Woods is absolutely beautiful. There wasn't much time in Sausalito about an hour -- time to either explore or eat. I wouldn't have minded a few more minutes in Muir Woods either but there was adequate time in both locations. Our guide was very knowledgeable and fun to listen to.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Kathy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was wonderful. The drivers told us all about our trip. I learned a lot about Muir Woods and Sausalito.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Kathy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Muir Woods is an amazing place. You can suck up oxygen to your heart's content. I joined a ranger led trek that was very informative. I could have passed on Sausalito, but opted to stay and read overlooking the bay while listening to street musicians. I took the ferry back for an aquatic adventure. Definately a great trip!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Charlotte T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

You can do this tour yourself by taking the ferry to Sausalito and a bus to Muir Woods but we had a GREAT bus driver who was non-stop information and humor. Igor, I think he was called. The woods are amazing, redwoods are awesome.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

Michelle T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour. Very beautiful and we really enjoyed Sausalito.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

James L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really great tour to Muir Woods. The driver was full of knowledge and didn't stop supplying us with fascinating details of the history of the area for the whole drive there! Even sang to us on the way back! We didn't take the Bay Cruise in the end but the Redwoods and Sausalito were beautiful.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

Judysidey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved every minute of this trip.Muir Woods was so serene and hauntingly beautiful. Sausalito was pretty and we may get the ferry there today for another look. Randy our guide was knowledgable and so so funny. Thanks Randy.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Angela S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Alcatraz was great, just remember to take you photo ID with you. Woods and Sausalito were also very pretty

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Rachel K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Definitely, definitely would recommend! It's at the top of our list of things to do again when we go back to San Francisco. In all, you get about an hour at the redwoods and an hour or so at Sausalito. We opted to take the ferry back from Sausalito only 10 per adult, so we spent more time there. But I would willingly spend a day at both places.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Camille B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lovely tour, super easy and perfect amount of time to wander through the woods and the town of Sausalito! Tour guide Chabli was amazing!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Neo S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guide was awesome! But the Muir Woods didn and #39;t feel as impressive as I thought it and #39;ll be. But Sausalito was really really nice

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Christa U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour, only wish we had more time in Sausalito cause it was so nice!

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

michael r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My trip to Sausalito was perfect, had lunch at Spinnaker restaurant which was excellent and ferry was very well organised.

Doing what: San Francisco Ferry: Sausalito or Tiburon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message