Perfectly arranged on a secure little bay harbor, Sausalito is undeniably lovely. Named for the "tiny willows" that once populated the banks of its creeks, it’s a tiny settlement of pretty houses that tumble neatly down a green hillside ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1534 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mitchblair

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Amazing! Our tour operator told the bus such great stories about San Francisco as we drove to the Muir Woods and then had other great stories as we went through Sausalito. Bus was comfortable. Tour was the perfect amount of time! I highly recommend this tour to the Muir Woods! I had two kids with me and they loved the tour just as much as I did!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Donna G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Randy was our driver/tour guide for the day and he was awesome! He was pleasant, personable and funny. Full of interesting facts and trivia. He knew the best place to eat fish and chips in Sausalito, never mind the best guava sorbet I have ever eaten. Muir Woods was majestic. Alcatraz was unbelievable. Highly recommend this tour and especially Randy! Thanks again. I

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

James J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

There was adequate time at both Muir Woods and in Sausalito. Our guide, whose name I forget, was excellent. He was friendly, patient, very knowledgeable providing a great narrative throughout the tour. Even before entering Muir Woods, he pointed out places of interest in SF.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Kathryn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful trip to breathtaking Muir Woods. Very easy check-in at Fishermans Warf. It was very close to our hotel so we just walked over. We had a small bus about 15 or so people and a very knowledgeable driver, Igor. He told lots of fun facts about San Fran as we drove across the Golden Gate Bridge and headed to the scenic woods. He was very pleasant and remembered where everyone was from. We had about an hour and 15 minutes at the actual woods. It was a great visit. If we come back again, we will rent a car and spend more time there. Sausalito is very tiny and cute. We walked around and saw the galleries and grabbed lunch. Decided to take the ferry back so we didn't have to rush. Ferry isn't included in the trip, but if you have a San Francisco Clipper card there is a discount.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Mary-Jo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Muir woods is a beautiful, spiritual place, not to be missed. Sausalito is lovely.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Jon Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The bus driver was pretty funny, kept us entertained as he drove through Fisherman's Wharf, across the Golden Gate Bridge, and through Marin County on our way to Muir Woods. The forest was beautiful. Don't think I've ever found a more peaceful, awe-inspiring, spectacular place in my life. Only had an hour or so there, could have spent the entire day. We next went to Sausalito and then I took a ferry back to the city.

Highly recommend this trip! Great value!

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

Tiffany G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great half day trip to Muir Woods to see the redwoods and also 45 minutes in Sausalito. Antonio was funny and provided a great tour!!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Nichole O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was the perfect accommodation. Muir woods is beautiful--could have used more time there. Sausalito is a quaint little town. The short time there was enough since the weather was cold and the town small so we did a quick walk through and grabbed a bite to eat. Randy, our driver/guide made this trip even better. He was knowledgeable, friendly, and funny. I don't know how he drives that bus on some of those roads, but he did an excellent job.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Kellyandheidi96

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This trip was wonderful! We stopped along the way at a hidden lookout point to see the Golden Gate bridge and all of San Francisco. Beautiful! Muir Woods is beyond gorgeous. We could have walked for hours. The only down side of the trip was that we wish we had more time in Sausalito. However, we can go back on our own, as our FANTASTIC driver and tour guide- ANTONIO- gave us hints on other transportation options. He was one of the best drivers I have ever encountered. Thank you Antonio and Gray Line for a terrific half day trip!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Orpha United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a nice time at Muir Woods and Sausalito! Antonio was a good and engaging guide, making the tour more interesting. Two thumbs up.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Erica K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Such a wonderful trip! Our tour guide Igor was friendly, funny, and had great knowledge of the city and our stops. He showed us great views of the Golden Gate Bridge and the Pacific Ocean along our travels, and told us the best place to grab a bite in Sausalito. Muir Woods was absolutely breathtaking, and Sausalito was a quaint little town!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

iFly Tony United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

If I have a single complaint, here it is....it wasn't long enough. Oh, it was a great trip for the price, some of the friendliest tour representatives I've experienced, comfortable and informative ride across the Bay, and very nice stop in Sausalito. Walking through the Redwoods is awesome, and I would've gladly paid twice the amount for this tour for an hour or so more.

All in all, I have to highly recommend this tour package for those like me in town for a limited amount of time and want a quality day trip to the magnificent Redwoods.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Beverly F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Muir Woods is magical! There was a slow drizzle that day and all of the tree ferns were glowing with color! Sausalito seems to be just a new style of outdoor mall with shopping and restaurants.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Diana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I recommend this tour for its convenience and the amazing sights. The bus drives right up to the entrance of Muir Woods which were amazing. A quick lunch stop in stunning Sausalito was wonderful. Visiting Alcatraz in the afternoon fulfilled a lifelong dream of seeing the prison.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Teresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour of the Muir woods was beautiful and majestic. It is hard to capture their height on pictures. We also enjoyed lunch by the water in Sausalito. It was a great day trip.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

Eric H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent guide, and a beautiful trip. One caveat, we recommend taking the ferry back from Sausalito,as most folks could spend all day there. Muir Woods is simply awesome!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Tara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Loved getting outside of San Francisco to two lovely places. The redwoods of Muir Woods are a sight to see and Sausalito was a quaint town to visit, although many places were closed due to Thanksgiving. It was a sunny day so the bay cruise was fantastic and we were able to see the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz on a clear day.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

ROGER D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I would highly recommend this tour, it was such a breathtaking experience that we will never forget in the Muir woods. Alcatraz is all you would expect and much more, it's is a real learning experience that should not be missed when your in San Francisco. We enjoyed lunch in Sausalito such an awesome little town with such a great vibe!

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Amy U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a fabulous day!! Our bus driver was great and highly knowledgeable and funny. Then, Muir Woods was just a fantastic place to go. I felt like I had ample time to enjoy the park. When Sausalito came, I do wish that we had another hour so that I could enjoy a full dinner and not just snacks.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

roseannjeff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Muir Woods is amazing. You could spend a whole day there, but the quick stop leaves you with enough time to walk a bit and take photos. Sausalito is beautiful, too. Plan to take the ferry back if you want extra time there. The bus stop leaves enough time for a grab and go meal and a few shops. Our driver gave an interesting tour with lots of info about SF and the Marin Headlands, including a 10 minute stop on the Marin Co. side of the bridge to take photos.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

patpowell718 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Chardonnay was a delightful, knowledgeable tour guide who took care to explain not only the sights that we viewed but also what to expect in terms in Muir Woods of terrain, things to see and paths to take. His wonderful sense of humor was an added benefit. The tour departed promptly, the bus was comfortable and the itinerary provided enough time for a brief introduction to Muir Woods I will definitely need to return for a longer hike on my own in the future and the town of Sausalito again - I need to return when I have more time - it was delightful!. I definitely recommend this tour for first time visitors to San Francisco.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Sara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a great tour. Our tour guide was very informative and friendly. The stops at Muir Woods and Sausalito were both wonderful venues. I would definitely use Viator again. And the Gray Line was also helpful when I had to change our reservation.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Seth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Chablis spelling? was an amazing driver! He had so many small little jokes and quips to add to all the facts he gave us as we drove through San Francisco, over the bridge, to and from Muir and Sausalito. Muir Woods was amazing, you'll want to speed days there, but the hour and change we had was enough to make it halfway up the paths and back down with some time left for the gift shop. Sausalito was a little shorter, but enough time for some fish n' chips and shopping. Chablis even found us some time to go to the cliffs across the bay and take in the bridge as the fog burned off and the sun appeared, absolutely breathtaking. I can't recommend this tour and our driver enough.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were picked up at our hotel and, after a bus change, were driven to Muir Woods. It was a rainy day, but the walk through the woods was soothing. We went to Sausalito and had lunch and then were taken back to our hotel. This tour should not be missed. It was a perfect morning excursion.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Janet G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was the highlight of our family trip to SF. Going over the Golden Gate in the morning sun and into Muir woods before the crowds was perfect. Touring the headlands gave us some amazing views of the city across the Bay. Eric's local knowledge kept my boys aged 12 and 14 engaged and entertained throughout our trip. The slug shaped chocolates from the gift shop were a huge hit with them.
The views from the seaplane cannot be beat, flying over downtown, the Bay and the islands, including Alcatraz. All followed by ice creams on the harbourside in Sausalito, before catching the ferry back to the city. If you do one tour in SF then I thoroughly recommend this.

Doing what: Explore Marin County: Private Sausalito, Muir Woods and Seaplane Tour from San Francisco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message