Perfectly arranged on a secure little bay harbor, Sausalito is undeniably lovely. Named for the "tiny willows" that once populated the banks of its creeks, it’s a tiny settlement of pretty houses that tumble neatly down a green hillside ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1447 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Geraldine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was fantastic tour the tour guide was good think his name was randy - knew a lot about the city of San Francisco. Loved going to Muir Woods it was quite peaceful and tranquil. Loved also going to Sausalito. The only thing I found disappointing is there is not enough time in either another hour in each would be great as it would give more time to explore Muir Woods and Sausalito.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Marlene F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Yes, the tour was great. Wished we had more time at Muir Woods but with only half a day, it was good. Would definitely recommend if you only have a short time. Sausalito was pretty.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

beverlysantoscortes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

El dia de nuestro camino estuvo frio y algo lluvioso....pero Richard logro que todo el tiempo estuvieramso bien informados de los alrededores y nos oriento maravillosamente de donde ir a almolzar en sausalito!! muy buena experiencia. gracias

Doing what: Bike the Golden Gate Bridge: San Francisco to Sausalito

Judi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great tour Our driver, Chablis was experienced, patient, and kind to all. I felt safe with him driving those tricky, scary curves on the way to Muir Woods. It might have been better to spend more time in Muir Woods and leave out Sausalito.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Carol C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour combo was great and I would recommend it to anyone. If you are going to Alcatraz, which I thoroughly recommend, book it way in advance or else you might not get to go. We went to the Muir Woods and Sausalito in the morning, and then to Alcatraz in the afternoon. The walk to Pier 33 for the ferry to Alcatraz is a little bit of a walk from the drop off point of the first two adventures, so be prepared to walk a ways. But other than that everything was great. The audio tour at Alcatraz is a must.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Jeff W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour with wonderful driver. I can't remember names now but I think Ray and Rich. Both were knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor to add to the experience. Sausalito ended up being a lunch stop but the time there needed to be short to have time for SF afternoon portion of tour.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

Michel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was an awesome trip. Muir Woods is so peaceful and quiet. The trail is great and the majestic beauty of the forest is so enchanting. Sausalito was also nice. The best was that the driver took us up the mountain to get another view at the Golden Gate bridge and that to me was a surprise and a treat. Bus was comfortable and Randy the driver was a great tour guide.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Patricia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great excursion!! The Muir Woods was not familiar and turned out to be realy l enjoyable for three generations! The ride to it is even exceptional as curvy, narrow switchbacks for 5 miles with great views. The Sausalito was basically a great luncheon spot unless you moved really fast but all we needed. Had ask driver for idea and he pointed to a great little sandwich shop that would never have noticed with really good food to take across to the park and eat! Alcatraz was the jewel of the day! SO glad I had called ahead almost 4 months to insure an inside tour. Tickets are really hard to get but didn't know this before. Worth every penny and walking tour was well done with narration at different cells etc. by taped convicts, as what they did daily routines, which cell was their's etc. AND they have a tram to scale the 13 floor hike for us older folks!!! At beginning and end we were at our hotel. What more could we ask? There were 9 of us.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Shawna T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We really enjoyed our trip to Muir Woods and Sausalito. We decided to stay in Sausalito a little longer, so we took the ferry back to Fisherman's Wharf. Our driver had a great sense of humor and was very informative. Made for a very enjoyable trip!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Joanna Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The bus driver, Igor, was wonderful and made the trip even more enjoyable. He told us a lot about San Francisco during the trip. He was funny and informative. He told us what to do so that we saw as much as possible in the woods and in Sausalito. I also felt safe with him and that he was a careful bus driver. The trip itself was also wonderful. We enjoyed our time in the woods and Sausalito. It was aIso great that we got picked up at our hotel. would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Elliot R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our trip to Muir Woods was a welcome retreat from a week of sight seeing in San Francisco. Seeing the giant redwoods was one of the items on my wife's bucket list and she was not disappointed! We had plenty of time to walk through the majestic giants while breathing in the fresh air hinted with the scent of eucalyptus. Our tour guide, Antonio, was terrific! He was easy to listen to and provided a few 'extras' one being providing a breath-taking view of the Golden Gate bridge and a very nice view of downtown San Francisco from Hawk's Point! This trip was worth the time and money! The time spent in Sausalito was okay, but unnecessary. we would have enjoyed more time in the woods.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Peter I W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed the bus trip to Muir Woods. It was in the early morning when the Woods were not too crowded. The Bay Cruise was a great boat ride. I only wish that we had more time in Sausalito!

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour from San Francisco Including Optional Bay Cruise

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was everything they said it would be, Our bus driver, Anthony was funny, well informed and great at sharing his knowledge of the area and sights. We absolutely loved Muir Woods! It is a stunning place of beauty and peacefulness. Sausalito was a quaint little town. We enjoyed our lunch in the seaside park. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was everything they said it would be, Our bus driver, Anthony was funny, well informed and great at sharing his knowledge of the area and sights. We absolutely loved Muir Woods! It is a stunning place of beauty and peacefulness. Sausalito was a quaint little town. We enjoyed our lunch in the seaside park. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

Denise P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We booked only 24 hours before because were not sure when we wanted to go. Service was speedy and tour pick up was on time. This is a nice tour, the woods have a boardwalk trail so is an easy walk and Sausalito is just such a pretty and quaint place that you just can't miss it.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Mark M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was one of our best tours that we took. Our guide made it most memorable. He was so informative and nice. So it wasn't just Muir Woods and Sausalito but nice tour info on the ride over. We opted to stay in Sausalito for the afternoon and take the ferry back. It was a day well spent. Anyone who goes to SF should visit Muir Woods, a national monument.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Dusky N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome trip, great guide and very knowledgeable about the area and the tour. Really enjoyed the stop off in Sausalito too, had a great lunch at the Napa Burger bar would highly recommend the Muir Woods and Sausalito tours

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Elaine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great driver. Loved listening to his narrative as we drove to and back from Muir Woods. The only thing I would change is to extend the tour by an hour. I am an avid shopper and time alloted to Sausalito just was not enough. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Alcatraz tour was amazing, very educational and fun just to roam about. Need a little more time in Muir Woods so you dont have to rush. Sausalito was beautiful, good shopping and great food.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Debs United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved this trip. We chose the morning departure and had an informative and funny commentary on the way from Guido our driver. We had 1.5 hours in the woods which was about enough time and the woods themselves were so lovely and peaceful. We travelled on then to Sausalito which is a lovely little place. Guido recommended a place for ice cream and also a place that did 'the best burgers anywhere'. We succumbed to the burgers and they were the best! Fries were pretty good too! We had about an hour in Sausalito which was fine as it's only a small place. We returned to San Francisco on the bus though there was an option to return via ferry at your own convenience. Great trip.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Allen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The trip was a great way to see Alcatraz, Sausalito and Muir Woods. Our bus driver was great, and he shared many interesting facts about the area. We were a little confused about the timing of the trip, so be sure to confirm ahead of time to understand when to pick up your tickets. There was not a lot of time to visit Sausalito if you wanted to eat lunch, but the ferry was a great alternative. All in all, we were very happy with our tour experience.

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Kate B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Driver/tour guide Ray was wonderful! Muir Woods was beautiful and we had the perfect amount of time there. Sausalito was lovely and the option to stay there was nice. We had just enough time for lunch on the water and then return to the bus.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Jeffrey H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic trip to the Muir Woods and Sausalito. Great views of the city, Golden Gate Bridge, and Muir Woods.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour from San Francisco Including Optional Bay Cruise

dana k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

we had a great time. the bus ride was nice, the guide shared interesting information along the way. we decided to stay in sausalito for a leisurly lunch and to soak up the sun so we took the ferry back to SF.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Mita M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very enjoyable and the best way to see the redwoods in Muir Woods! You would not want to drive there by yourself - folks have to park 2 miles and walk! The bus takes you to entrance. Sausalito is beautiful!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message