Perfectly arranged on a secure little bay harbor, Sausalito is undeniably lovely. Named for the "tiny willows" that once populated the banks of its creeks, it’s a tiny settlement of pretty houses that tumble neatly down a green hillside ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1502 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Eric H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent guide, and a beautiful trip. One caveat, we recommend taking the ferry back from Sausalito,as most folks could spend all day there. Muir Woods is simply awesome!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Tara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Loved getting outside of San Francisco to two lovely places. The redwoods of Muir Woods are a sight to see and Sausalito was a quaint town to visit, although many places were closed due to Thanksgiving. It was a sunny day so the bay cruise was fantastic and we were able to see the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz on a clear day.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

ROGER D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I would highly recommend this tour, it was such a breathtaking experience that we will never forget in the Muir woods. Alcatraz is all you would expect and much more, it's is a real learning experience that should not be missed when your in San Francisco. We enjoyed lunch in Sausalito such an awesome little town with such a great vibe!

Doing what: Alcatraz Tour plus Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Day Trip

Amy U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a fabulous day!! Our bus driver was great and highly knowledgeable and funny. Then, Muir Woods was just a fantastic place to go. I felt like I had ample time to enjoy the park. When Sausalito came, I do wish that we had another hour so that I could enjoy a full dinner and not just snacks.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

roseannjeff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Muir Woods is amazing. You could spend a whole day there, but the quick stop leaves you with enough time to walk a bit and take photos. Sausalito is beautiful, too. Plan to take the ferry back if you want extra time there. The bus stop leaves enough time for a grab and go meal and a few shops. Our driver gave an interesting tour with lots of info about SF and the Marin Headlands, including a 10 minute stop on the Marin Co. side of the bridge to take photos.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

patpowell718 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Chardonnay was a delightful, knowledgeable tour guide who took care to explain not only the sights that we viewed but also what to expect in terms in Muir Woods of terrain, things to see and paths to take. His wonderful sense of humor was an added benefit. The tour departed promptly, the bus was comfortable and the itinerary provided enough time for a brief introduction to Muir Woods I will definitely need to return for a longer hike on my own in the future and the town of Sausalito again - I need to return when I have more time - it was delightful!. I definitely recommend this tour for first time visitors to San Francisco.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Sara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a great tour. Our tour guide was very informative and friendly. The stops at Muir Woods and Sausalito were both wonderful venues. I would definitely use Viator again. And the Gray Line was also helpful when I had to change our reservation.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Seth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Chablis spelling? was an amazing driver! He had so many small little jokes and quips to add to all the facts he gave us as we drove through San Francisco, over the bridge, to and from Muir and Sausalito. Muir Woods was amazing, you'll want to speed days there, but the hour and change we had was enough to make it halfway up the paths and back down with some time left for the gift shop. Sausalito was a little shorter, but enough time for some fish n' chips and shopping. Chablis even found us some time to go to the cliffs across the bay and take in the bridge as the fog burned off and the sun appeared, absolutely breathtaking. I can't recommend this tour and our driver enough.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were picked up at our hotel and, after a bus change, were driven to Muir Woods. It was a rainy day, but the walk through the woods was soothing. We went to Sausalito and had lunch and then were taken back to our hotel. This tour should not be missed. It was a perfect morning excursion.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Janet G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was the highlight of our family trip to SF. Going over the Golden Gate in the morning sun and into Muir woods before the crowds was perfect. Touring the headlands gave us some amazing views of the city across the Bay. Eric's local knowledge kept my boys aged 12 and 14 engaged and entertained throughout our trip. The slug shaped chocolates from the gift shop were a huge hit with them.
The views from the seaplane cannot be beat, flying over downtown, the Bay and the islands, including Alcatraz. All followed by ice creams on the harbourside in Sausalito, before catching the ferry back to the city. If you do one tour in SF then I thoroughly recommend this.

Doing what: Explore Marin County: Private Sausalito, Muir Woods and Seaplane Tour from San Francisco

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very nice tour our driver was very friendly and kept us entertained while en route. The only thing I would change on a subsequent trip is that I would do a trip that went only to Muir Woods, and skip Sausalito. The woods were amazing, but I felt a little rushed getting back to the bus. Overall, however, this was a great tour.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Olivia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great trip! Our tour guide, Randy, share a ton of information about sights, landmarks and restaurant suggestions and made the trip a ton of fun. Muir Woods was amazing and Sausalito was super cute. Could have spent more time at both locations cations, but still felt like the length of the tour was good-allowed you to comfortably do other things in the city.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Lemiel P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What an incredible tour, the beautiful Muir Woods, the town of Sausalito and the Bay Cruise. The driver of the bus should not talk so much as the hike has real dangers and he should avoid talking so much about himself and the stereotypical stories he narrated.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

Linda N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this trip with my 13 year old son. It was the perfect amount of time for us to spend at the Muir Woods and then move on to Sausalito. The bus driver was fun and provided great commentary along the way. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

T G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour as we have come to expect from Viator
Pick up and coach were as advised and expected
Tour guide was interesting and entertaining
Muir Woods was well worth a visit to feel the magnificence of the giant redwoods
Sausalito was as cool and relaxed as when we were there five years ago - worth a visit as a change from the buzz of San Francisco
We chose to leave the coach there and get the ferry back to San Fran - an interesting add on for a different view of the bay

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Patricia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was our first tour and it was great. The Muir Woods are magnificent! Our tour guide, Igor was witty and used music to enhance our experience. After Muir Woods we went to Sausalito were we had an ice cream and walked along the waterfront . Scenic and informative. This is a must do tour!!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: City Tour plus Muir Woods and Sausalito Day Trip

Jack B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour. The Muir Woods are stunning and well worth visiting. The bus driver was hilarious and was knowledgeable about San Francisco and its surrounds. Sausalito is a sleepy but pretty town offering great views and photo opportunities of San Fran. There is also a good ice cream shop there. Yum!

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great value tour. Muir Woods is simply sensational and not too far to travel. Combined with the Sausalito excursion the overall tour gives you a nice glimpse of the many attractions in San Francisco.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Peter P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was an excellent tour. We got about 1.5 hours in Muir Wood national monument, that time is enough to see the most important parts of it.
Then we got to spend some time in Sausalito which was great because its a beautiful town. A lot of people complain about the amount of time you stay on Sausalito but when you pick the tour they specify the amount of time you will have so nobody con complain about it. You can always comeback if you want to or take the ferry back.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Constance F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The day was full of rain, but the experience was awesome. Starting with our driver, Randy and ending with fish and chips in Sausalito, the trip was delightful. Definitely will be hooking up with Viator when I'm in San Francisco again. Great way to end my vacation.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Marilyn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A fascinating trip to Muir woods, made all the more enjoyable by the very knowledgeable guide, Sausalito was also excellent but enjoyable as the trip was, it was the guide who helped make it such a great experience

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour. Driver was excellent and very entertaining. Muir Woods is hauntingly beautiful. Well worth the money. Took ferry back from Sausalito.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Loved it. Wonderful, easy trip out of San Francisco. The woods are phenomenal - a really nice break from the city. Our driver/guide, Randy, was exceptional. He provided lots of fun facts as we drove toward Muir Woods and then toward Sausalito. The bus was very clean and comfortable. We opted to return by ferry rather than taking the bus back. My family of four 2 adults, 2 kids ages 7 and 13 had a terrific day.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Sheryl W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Muir woods was magical. The most peaceful place I have ever been. 45 minutes in Sausalito was hardly enough time. Would have liked a bit more time there. The free wifi promised on the bus was non-existent.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Noni X

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Everyone should make the time to visit the Muir Woods, the views were absolutely beautiful. Sausalito was also a great place to visit. I would recommend taking a ferry back from Sausalito to San Francisco so that you have ample time to enjoy the town and eat at one of the numerous places to dine. The coach bus driver was very informative and the pick-up and drop-off at the hotel was very convenient.

Doing what: Muir Woods, Giant Redwoods and Sausalito Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message