The Castro District, known otherwise as simply, "the Castro," is widely considered the United States' gay capital. Not only is it the largest, but also the country's first. Regardless of a visitor's sexual orientation, the Castro is full ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 76 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Truly excellent tour. Kathy was knowledgeable and inviting, and conveyed with a great personal touch the history and community of the Castro. Would highly recommend if you want to get a real feeling for the area and its significance in wider society!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Mark B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really interesting and relaxed. Highly recommended!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Peter V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour with Ms. Kathy Amendola was informative and quite interesting. Kathy is very knowledgeable and we highly recommend her tour.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

dowdyjackson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour! We learned a great deal and enjoyed the tour. Our tour guide was very nice and answered any questions we had. It was great that she lived in the Castro and was able to provide information that only a local could provide. It is certainly worth your time to spend learning about a great neighborhood in San Francisco. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Henry M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Knowledgeable guides with a fascinating story to tell and a beautiful city to showcase. What could be better? We had a wonderful time and felt we got to know SF a bit better. We will be more adventurous about hotels and eating places when it comes to our next visit after seeing around these areas.

Doing what: Radical SF: Castro and Mission Districts

Kurt E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fun, fascinating, and fact filled tour of San Francisco's Castro district. Very knowledgeable yet fun tour guide! You get to see an important chapter in American history as well as a vital living community. Recommended for both members and non-members of the LGBT community!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Dirk M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was amazing! A must do for all who have an interest in the Castro and in GLBT history. The tour was very informative and at times moving as the decades of world changing history are revealed. The guide Kathy was so lovely and the tour moved at a comfortable pace.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Clare J

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

There were only 3 of us on this tour so it felt really personable and friendly. Fascinating history and prompted me to watch the film Milk again.
Not too far for walking and our guide was really informed. I was staying in the Castro area so it helped me get familiar with my surroundings.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

nigelturner9

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a wonderful time and our guide Kathy was so knowledgable and friendly. She made us feel at home and you could tell that she had a passion for the Castro district. People were so friendly I want to come back. A great tour. See you soon!! X

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Mark L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very informative.
Kathy was great and very willing to answer questions.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Kasey O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide was Kathy Amendola, and she was absolutely fantastic. She was knowledgable, warm, patient, and had a cute sense of humour. She is extremely familiar with the area in its' entirety, and was great at taking questions on the fly. This was not my first trip to San Francisco or the Castro area, but it was my first time taking a tour of this type and I would highly recommend it to others who are interested in learning more about the history behind this well-known gay and lesbian district :

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Tiffany A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

One of the highlights of our San Francisco trip, we learnt so much and were so moved by this tour

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Glenn L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The guide was very informative, and friendly. The tour provided an insight into the existence of the Castro area.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Debra R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was so interesting to see how this community has evolved. I really liked that it was a walking tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgable about the gay and lesbian community. I would reccomend this tour to anyone. I also would like to not none of us that took the tour are gay or lesiban just wanted to know everything about the city. We thought this was a great way to understand San Francisco and we were not disappointed.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

our lead was knowledgeable and entertaining. well worth the money and time.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Rapheal H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

very interesting and moving tour! I would highly recommend!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Duane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Much more emotional than expected our guide, Kathy Amendelo was excellent.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Darren W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome. A real amazing tour of history and information. Kathy has a wealth of knowledge and a lovely personality. We could have listened to her all day long. The tour really gave an insight into the Harvey Milk story and the history of the Castro. Prob the best your we experienced on our trip

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

William L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: San Francisco Urban Bike Tour

William L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: San Francisco Urban Bike Tour

Marc M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Kathy did an amazing job with our tour in April. I enjoyed the detailed history she provided about San Francisco's LGBT community. It was truly enjoyable!!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Andrew L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fascinating tour of one of America's most interesting neighborhoods by a charming local

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Rachel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a fantastic time on this bike tour! We felt like locals cruising through the streets of San Francisco, and learned a lot about all the different neighborhoods from our guide, who was super friendly. The city is very bike friendly, and picking up/dropping the bikes off was a breeze. My highlights were seeing the murals in the Mission District, stopping at a popular local coffee joint, and spending time in the Haight. Highly recommended!

Doing what: San Francisco Urban Bike Tour

Eman S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

It was very insightful, I learned a lot and I loved the fact that we got to walk around Castro. The tour guide was lovely also :

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Daniel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was really interesting and informative. Our guide Kathy was funny, friendly and knowledgable about the area and it was clear that she was really involved in the community and passionate about sharing this with visitors.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message