Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

The Castro District, known otherwise as simply, "the Castro," is widely considered the United States' gay capital. Not only is it the largest, but also the country's first. Regardless of a visitor's sexual orientation, the Castro is full ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 88 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Truly excellent tour. Kathy was knowledgeable and inviting, and conveyed with a great personal touch the history and community of the Castro. Would highly recommend if you want to get a real feeling for the area and its significance in wider society!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Kimberly P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We switched to the ELECTRIC bike tour as that is the one I thought I reserved. In any case, THE BEST THING we did the whole trip. LOVED it! Brandon our tour guide was great as well. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Classic San Francisco Bike Tour

Mark B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really interesting and relaxed. Highly recommended!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great way to be introduced to San Francisco. Our tour guide Brandon was excellent, and we had a gorgeous day weather-wise. The choices of neighborhoods and the historical background and cultural information made a great mix for learning about the city..

Doing what: Classic San Francisco Bike Tour

Jackie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

one of the best things I got to do in San Fran. Not only was the tour guide very kind he was very conscience of each person on the tour and paced the tour accordingly. He provided a lot of extra information that made it a really fun and educational tour. We really enjoyed meeting the other people and getting to hear information from them as well. I highly recommend this tour company.

Doing what: Classic San Francisco Bike Tour

Peter V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour with Ms. Kathy Amendola was informative and quite interesting. Kathy is very knowledgeable and we highly recommend her tour.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

dowdyjackson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour! We learned a great deal and enjoyed the tour. Our tour guide was very nice and answered any questions we had. It was great that she lived in the Castro and was able to provide information that only a local could provide. It is certainly worth your time to spend learning about a great neighborhood in San Francisco. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Henry M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Knowledgeable guides with a fascinating story to tell and a beautiful city to showcase. What could be better? We had a wonderful time and felt we got to know SF a bit better. We will be more adventurous about hotels and eating places when it comes to our next visit after seeing around these areas.

Doing what: Radical SF: Castro and Mission Districts

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best way to get overview of San Francisco. Key areas covered and guide Earl was a delight.

Doing what: Classic San Francisco Bike Tour

Kurt E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fun, fascinating, and fact filled tour of San Francisco's Castro district. Very knowledgeable yet fun tour guide! You get to see an important chapter in American history as well as a vital living community. Recommended for both members and non-members of the LGBT community!

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Dirk M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was amazing! A must do for all who have an interest in the Castro and in GLBT history. The tour was very informative and at times moving as the decades of world changing history are revealed. The guide Kathy was so lovely and the tour moved at a comfortable pace.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Adriana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Classic San Francisco Bike Tour

Gareth T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A slightly late start as we waited on a few people, but that gave our guide, Earl, time to talk me through where we were going and his background in NY. The guys at the bike shop were friendly enough, although do allow an extra 5 minutes for your taxi to find the place! The tour itself was great, stopping regularly and avoiding the large hills by skirting around The Wiggle. Saw all the things I wanted to and a few more who knew the tower in the park had a 9th floor free viewing gallery!?. Lunch would have been great it is wasn't for a concert making it 5x more busy than usual according to Earl. All in all - fully recommend. If you have zero bike experience or are very unfit, do something else, but if you're either of them you're probably not even looking at this review o.

Doing what: Classic San Francisco Bike Tour

Clare J

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

There were only 3 of us on this tour so it felt really personable and friendly. Fascinating history and prompted me to watch the film Milk again.
Not too far for walking and our guide was really informed. I was staying in the Castro area so it helped me get familiar with my surroundings.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Katrina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A fantastic way to get to know the city. Our tour guide Josh was awesome. Can't recommend it enough!

Doing what: Classic San Francisco Bike Tour

Morgan i

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This bike tour was the perfect way to see the unique neighborhoods and parts of the city we would have never exploded. Our tour guide Ben was fabulous and very interesting, knowledge, fun and willing to share all types of information about San Francisco past and future. We highly recommend this tour and Ben. The bike riding was easy enough for all of the different levels and ages of family members in our party. .

Doing what: Classic San Francisco Bike Tour

nigelturner9

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a wonderful time and our guide Kathy was so knowledgable and friendly. She made us feel at home and you could tell that she had a passion for the Castro district. People were so friendly I want to come back. A great tour. See you soon!! X

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Mark L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very informative.
Kathy was great and very willing to answer questions.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Kasey O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide was Kathy Amendola, and she was absolutely fantastic. She was knowledgable, warm, patient, and had a cute sense of humour. She is extremely familiar with the area in its' entirety, and was great at taking questions on the fly. This was not my first trip to San Francisco or the Castro area, but it was my first time taking a tour of this type and I would highly recommend it to others who are interested in learning more about the history behind this well-known gay and lesbian district :

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Tiffany A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

One of the highlights of our San Francisco trip, we learnt so much and were so moved by this tour

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Glenn L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The guide was very informative, and friendly. The tour provided an insight into the existence of the Castro area.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

Sören M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great guide!

Doing what: Classic San Francisco Bike Tour

Debra R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was so interesting to see how this community has evolved. I really liked that it was a walking tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgable about the gay and lesbian community. I would reccomend this tour to anyone. I also would like to not none of us that took the tour are gay or lesiban just wanted to know everything about the city. We thought this was a great way to understand San Francisco and we were not disappointed.

Doing what: The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District

William B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Lovely experience. I was surprised how many areas were accessible to bikes and had well marked trails. I always have thought of SF as a city with huge hills but it is amazing how you can ride the valleys and see great architecture and history b

Doing what: Classic San Francisco Bike Tour

Sabina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Best Way to See San Francisco, My tour Guide Josh was Excellent and very knowledgeable . I would suggest this tour to anyone who wants to see the City and all it's cultures. So Glad I picked this tour.

Doing what: Classic San Francisco Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message