San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

The San Francisco Bay

Few waterways carry the prestige and iconographic status of the beautiful San Francisco Bay. A great natural harbor, from the first years of its European discovery the Golden Gate became known as a pivotal access point to the American West. Trade ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 480 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent Tour. Booked through Viator, received confirmation within about 1 hour, was e-mailed a voucher for the next day. When we got to the wharf, it took us about five minutes to find the dock, where someone from the tour greeted us and checked us in for the tour.

The boat wasn't huge, and the group was a little bigger than we expected close to 90 people, but it wasn't a problem and I felt like we had plenty of space without feeling too crowded at any point. As we pulled away, the guide did a decent job talking a little bit about the bay, alcatraz, and history, but mostly focused on whales and marine biology. As a local that has been on a lot of tour and trips over the year, I appreciated the guide focusing on the part of the tour I was more interested in - whales and the sort of whales I might see on the tour hour trip.

Once we moved under the Golden Gate Bridge, the fun started. Within about ten minutes, someone spotted a whale and the Captain revved down the engine while we all crowded to the front to look for one off in the distance. After another five minutes, a whale surfaced again and our guide told us that, considering the time of year and from the look of it, it was most likely a blue whale.

After that, it was almost twenty minutes before we saw another whale, but once we did, they kept coming! For the next thirty minutes or so, whales we spotted breaching on both sides of the boat, with one particularly big one moving in a half circle about 100 yards or so away from our boat, surfacing every few minutes or so. I eventually captured a cool video i'll upload to this review of one coming up pretty close to us.

I've lived in the bay area for 6 years and I've never seen a whale before. I was pretty skeptical before taking this tour, but I heard this year was special, and it looks like it is. It was pretty awesome to finally see whales for myself right next to the golden gate bridge.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Whale Watching Tour

Crystal D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this cruise! Great staff and good value-plenty of food, drinks and beautiful views of the bay.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Melissa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an amazing tour. Would definitely make it a must do if you are at Fisherman and #39;s Wharf. The majestic views of the Golden Gate Bridge leave you breathless. Relaxing tour with great views of the San Fransisco skyline at night. Great way to see the diversity in the Bay Area.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really fun - the adults and the kids all loved it. The captain was great and it was a really cool way to see the Bay.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco Bay Sightseeing RIB Boat Cruise

Stacy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip is a great way to see the Bay and different views of the City! My family and I really enjoyed!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco Bay Sightseeing RIB Boat Cruise

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The boat tour to Alcatraz and the subsequent tour of the old facility was exciting. The best part of this combination tour was the sunset cruise. We sailed under and around the golden gate bridge at sunset.
We were lucky to enjoy the spectacular colors of the bay's sunset and a gorgeous full moon! The staff was friendly and professional. Marcus was the online entertainer who sang and played the guitar. He was outstanding. Our entire family ranked this cruise as the best part of our entire vacation!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Melissa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved it! The Alcatraz tour was very educational and the sunset bay cruise was so relaxing. We enjoyed sipping on our alcoholic beverages and listening to the live guitar music as we sailed under the Golden Gate Bridge at sunset. It was the perfect way to end our day!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Donald H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide, Chabli, was very nice and informative - and humorous. The Muir Woods were great! So beautiful and serene! Sausalito is a lovely community! The Bay Cruise was very nice as well. The only complaint we may have is that the bus was noisy - I think the a.c. may have been going out on it - - and that was distracting. But the tour itself was great.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

peabody_jr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Alcatraz is a must see for all SF visitors. Be sure to book months early to get a tour. The Sunset Cruise is a great evening ending activity for a view of the bay area as it lights up. Very relaxing! The appetizer buffet is delicious and a great presentation by the crew. Also you can meet lots of new people to visit with and find out about them.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Glen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The sail boat was a nice way to see the bay. It was chilly on the water so the use of their jackets was wonderful.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sailing Cruise

MICHAEL P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had an excellent time cruising the bay. Should note that out of towners might not realize how cold the bay can get when the sun goes down. All around excellent venue to see the bay.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

SF Bay tour was one of the highlights of our trip. Capt. Charles was awesome!!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco Bay Sightseeing RIB Boat Cruise

Claudia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful evening and relaxing cruise. A wonderful way to experience San Francisco Bay.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Paul W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A lovely way to see the bay and a close up view of the bridge, unfortunately it was cloudy and windy outside on the day we went but I imagine the sunset would have been spectacular, however the food and ambience on board were great, thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Hudsonfamily

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Awesome tour for the value! Tour guide Chablis was knowledgable and funny! The Bay Cruise option was just perfect, you are allowed to use that any day, so we went the next day after Muir woods, we went at sunset and it was so nice. Definitely recommend this tour. One tip: Do not be late to your bus, when they give a time to be back at the bus: be back at the bus! We did not get left behind, but some people did not make it back. All in all, great tour and the buses are very nice.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

deborah l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

That was so awesome I will recommend it to all my friends going to San Fran next trip back to the bay I will do it again Deborah leighty

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco Bay Sightseeing RIB Boat Cruise

Don E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was well worth the money! We had such a great day with both the Alcatraz Tour and the Twilight Bay Cruise!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Jacqueline M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We wanted to experience San Francisco from all angles and what better way to do it than from a fantastic boat. We met Captain Charles at pier 39 before heading to our boat. We were provided with clothing before boarding. We headed out of the bay to the lighthouse with gorgeous views of the city in a peaceful location. Captain Charles has a great knowledge of the city explaining all throughout the tour. We travelled back along the bay to see the sea lions before heading to AT and T park where the Giants were playing before viewing the war ships then heading back to bay. A must to view the city with a fantastic Captain.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco Bay Sightseeing RIB Boat Cruise

Mike United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very interesting. We were able to see whales and parts of the bay were not able to drive to or see. Well worth the money. The food and trip was great

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Dan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We really enjoyed the sailboat ride on San Francisco Bay. It was neat sailing underneath the Golden Gate Bridge. We went in March and the weather was perfect. The crew were friendly and skilled sailors. Also, a crew member offered to take pictures of everyone which was great to capture the scenic landscape around us.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sailing Cruise

Tlmtraveler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great cruise! Weather was a bit touchy at the dock but once we started out, it was gorgeous! Great crew, nice views of the bay, bridge, etc and was more personable than a larger cruise boat. My family and I had a great time and would highly recommend. There was no scripted sight narration but if you want a scenic boat ride that's a bit different than the usual stuff, this one's great.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sailing Cruise

Patricia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The bus driver made this tour memorable. He gave us lots of information, and had a great sense of humor. The woods were unbelievable ..... My only disappointment was the bay cruise. Neither of us could hear the tape, and we were sitting directly in front of the speaker, very disappointing.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Best way to see the bay

Doing what: San Francisco Bridge to Bridge Cruise

Stephanie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Bundle up because it is cold in February! I will defiantly go again in the spring or summer. The views of the Bay Bridge and the SF skyline were phenomenal. It was definitely a highlight of my trip and it will be on my and #34;to do and #34; list on many an upcoming visit. Highly recommended!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Sheri B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

What a great way to get an overview of a lovely city - and not have to drive its crazy streets! I felt very safe with the drivers and the guides were informative - I went on several side trips they recommended. The cruise under the bridge and around Alcatraz included lots of history, had a snack bar, and covered what I wanted to know in the Bay. Good value, too!

Doing what: City and Sea Adventure: San Francisco Bay Cruise Including Hop-On Hop Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message