San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

The San Francisco Bay

Few waterways carry the prestige and iconographic status of the beautiful San Francisco Bay. A great natural harbor, from the first years of its European discovery the Golden Gate became known as a pivotal access point to the American West. Trade ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 520 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Wendy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well worth the experience, food was excellent, service couldn't be faulted and views around the bay were breathtaking

Doing what: San Francisco Dinner Dance Cruise

Michelle O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was breathtaking the views of the bay were magnificent!!! A bit chilly but the views of the sunset coming down over the bay made it a must do trip!!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Holly H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This cruise exceeded our expectations! The crew was very nice and the boat was large and did not feel crowded at any time. The light munchies were terrific and the open bar had more selections than I thought it would. The experience that was promised was SURE delivered, plus some!! It was well worth the cost and I'd do it again next time I'm in the bay area!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Virginia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a beautiful day we had! The weather was so nice and we just cruised around the bay with our headphones on listing to a very soothing voice telling us about the area, other than a few rude adults with their children, you couldn't have asked for anything more.

Doing what: Golden Gate Bay Cruise

Regina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Best tour I have ever taken... Trip across the bay was amazing...we had a great evening, great weather and beautiful sunset. Would recommend this cruise to everyone. Staff was very friendly. Snacks provided

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

Rachelle A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved everything about our San Francisco Bay Sailing Cruise. The skipper and his crew were wonderful! It was a beautiful afternoon of sailing - and we will certainly book it each and every time we come back to San Francisco!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sailing Cruise

Myra H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We only had 24 hrs and it was perfect day and a perfect cruise around the bay. Loved it!!!

Doing what: Golden Gate Bay Cruise

Michael F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I had such a great time on this Boat experience. Captain Charles was very knowledgeable about the history of San Francisco. He was super friendly. We were out on the San Francisco Bay for several hours. I would highly recommend to my friends and family that they tour San Francisco this way.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco Bay RIB Boat Experience

Peter I W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed the bus trip to Muir Woods. It was in the early morning when the Woods were not too crowded. The Bay Cruise was a great boat ride. I only wish that we had more time in Sausalito!

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour from San Francisco Including Optional Bay Cruise

Camille L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great experience!!! SF Bay tour really enjoyable: views were breathtaking, crew awesome, and really smooth sailing.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sailing Cruise

mikeanddeirdre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Mike and his staff made our cruise fun and memorable. It was a pleasure to be with folks who love to show off San Fran and the beauty of the bay. The wine kept us warm and the complimentary jackets were an added plus! Thank you for offering to take pictures of the family on your boat! They are our favorite of our vacation. High recommend this trip!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sailing Cruise

Chrisabel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was awesome. It was a lot of fun and the recorded audio tour was very informative. My family truly enjoyed it and I would highly recommend it. The only advice I have is to bring a jacket! It was quite chilly on the bay in August we took the 6pm tour

Doing what: Golden Gate Bay Cruise

Richard G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Would recommend this this to anyone who wants to experience the bay at sunset!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

liying s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The bridge to bridge cruse is fantastic! It leads you to both the bay bridge and the golden gate bridge. With multi-language narrator, I learn the history of San Francisco.
Highly recommended!

Doing what: San Francisco Bridge to Bridge Cruise

Aldo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

There wasn't much of a sunset, or even any sun, during our four day stay in San Francisco. I almost forgot it was summer. That being said, this cruise is so much fun. It's relaxing and the photo opportunities are endless. The views of the San Fran skyline, the Bay Bridge, Alcatraz Island, Tiburon and Sausalito, and the prize - the Golden Gate Bridge. The boat passes right under the bridge, at night, and the view is amazing. One drink is on the house, and the light food fare is pretty darn good! It was a nice spread, indeed. A bar is available for purchase of additional drinks. This was a wonderful experience for my wife and me. I would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

James Gordon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent guide/boatman, a different perspective on the city and bay area, and great fun.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco Bay RIB Boat Experience

tmjaniszewski

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved this tour. It was great, even though the sun rarely appears on the bay during August. There's nothing quite as beautiful and amazing as getting up close and personal with the Golden Gate Bridge at night surrounded by fog. The fog horns eerily make magic!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Dustin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Sunset Cruise was definitely one of the highlights of our recent visit to San Francisco! When we booked our cruise we expected a quiet experience cruising the Bay gazing at the beautiful city skyline and the sun setting over the Bay, which would have been lovely. Wow, did we ever underestimate what we about to experience! The cruise was exciting and interactive and so much fun!! Guests were given the option to remain in the catamaran's cabin or to go out on deck to experience the wind and spray! We chose the deck option and we're so glad that we did! Cruising San Francisco Bay under sail was amazing! We cruised around Alcatraz for some spectacular views! The pinnacle of the cruise was when we sailed under the Golden Gate Bridge! An experience we will definitely never forget! Fabulous! We watched the sunset over the Bay on perfectly clear evening! Magical!

The catamaran crew was capable, personable and professional. They were very vigilant of their guests safety and did everything they could to make the experience the best it could possibly be. We were served light appetizers and drinks, which we very nice. The only thing that could have made the experience any better would have been to make it last longer! LOL

I would absolutely recommend the San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise to anyone! We would do it again in a heartbeat and it will definitely be on our list of must-do activities the next time we're in San Francisco! Loved every minute of it!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

Edward C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful scenery cruise under the both historic Golden Gate and Bay Bridges with picturesque
nightly scene of the City of San Francisco. It is a life time experience.

Doing what: San Francisco Dinner Dance Cruise

Kristina A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This catamaran tour is excellent. A reasonable number of participants, plenty of space on the boat, thick coats are supplied as the weather can be unpredictable you WILL get fog around the bridge!. The light snacks are more than sufficient and there is a wide choice of both alcoholic and soft drinks 2 included in the price of the ticket, any others based on an honesty bar. There is no audio commentary as the team prefer to play music during the tour, which is an excellent idea excellent choice of music also. The crew are available throughout to discuss San Francisco and the Bay Area, to serve the drinks, to take photos etc. The whole experience was great, friendly, relaxed and definitely to be repeated.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

Augustina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An excellent choice. Personable and talented musician guides you around the bay. Sights are beautiful. Nice selection of munchies. Perfect length of time.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Adrian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Super trip with a very informative skipper. The bonus was being surrounded by lots of hump back whales while in the Bay. Fantastic!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay RIB Boat Cruise

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fabulous - what a great way to spend a morning. The weather was superb and the sailing was excellent. Sailed across the Bay, passing Alcatraz and under the Golden Gate Bridge. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing Adventure on San Francisco Bay: America's Cup Day Sail

James L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really great tour to Muir Woods. The driver was full of knowledge and didn't stop supplying us with fascinating details of the history of the area for the whole drive there! Even sang to us on the way back! We didn't take the Bay Cruise in the end but the Redwoods and Sausalito were beautiful.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

Andy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent Tour. Booked through Viator, received confirmation within about 1 hour, was e-mailed a voucher for the next day. When we got to the wharf, it took us about five minutes to find the dock, where someone from the tour greeted us and checked us in for the tour.

The boat wasn't huge, and the group was a little bigger than we expected close to 90 people, but it wasn't a problem and I felt like we had plenty of space without feeling too crowded at any point. As we pulled away, the guide did a decent job talking a little bit about the bay, alcatraz, and history, but mostly focused on whales and marine biology. As a local that has been on a lot of tour and trips over the year, I appreciated the guide focusing on the part of the tour I was more interested in - whales and the sort of whales I might see on the tour hour trip.

Once we moved under the Golden Gate Bridge, the fun started. Within about ten minutes, someone spotted a whale and the Captain revved down the engine while we all crowded to the front to look for one off in the distance. After another five minutes, a whale surfaced again and our guide told us that, considering the time of year and from the look of it, it was most likely a blue whale.

After that, it was almost twenty minutes before we saw another whale, but once we did, they kept coming! For the next thirty minutes or so, whales we spotted breaching on both sides of the boat, with one particularly big one moving in a half circle about 100 yards or so away from our boat, surfacing every few minutes or so. I eventually captured a cool video i'll upload to this review of one coming up pretty close to us.

I've lived in the bay area for 6 years and I've never seen a whale before. I was pretty skeptical before taking this tour, but I heard this year was special, and it looks like it is. It was pretty awesome to finally see whales for myself right next to the golden gate bridge.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Whale-Watching Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message