San Francisco ATTRACTIONS See all

The San Francisco Bay

Few waterways carry the prestige and iconographic status of the beautiful San Francisco Bay. A great natural harbor, from the first years of its European discovery the Golden Gate became known as a pivotal access point to the American West. Trade ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 498 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

James Gordon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent guide/boatman, a different perspective on the city and bay area, and great fun.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco Bay RIB Boat Experience

tmjaniszewski

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved this tour. It was great, even though the sun rarely appears on the bay during August. There's nothing quite as beautiful and amazing as getting up close and personal with the Golden Gate Bridge at night surrounded by fog. The fog horns eerily make magic!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Dustin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Sunset Cruise was definitely one of the highlights of our recent visit to San Francisco! When we booked our cruise we expected a quiet experience cruising the Bay gazing at the beautiful city skyline and the sun setting over the Bay, which would have been lovely. Wow, did we ever underestimate what we about to experience! The cruise was exciting and interactive and so much fun!! Guests were given the option to remain in the catamaran's cabin or to go out on deck to experience the wind and spray! We chose the deck option and we're so glad that we did! Cruising San Francisco Bay under sail was amazing! We cruised around Alcatraz for some spectacular views! The pinnacle of the cruise was when we sailed under the Golden Gate Bridge! An experience we will definitely never forget! Fabulous! We watched the sunset over the Bay on perfectly clear evening! Magical!

The catamaran crew was capable, personable and professional. They were very vigilant of their guests safety and did everything they could to make the experience the best it could possibly be. We were served light appetizers and drinks, which we very nice. The only thing that could have made the experience any better would have been to make it last longer! LOL

I would absolutely recommend the San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise to anyone! We would do it again in a heartbeat and it will definitely be on our list of must-do activities the next time we're in San Francisco! Loved every minute of it!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

Edward C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful scenery cruise under the both historic Golden Gate and Bay Bridges with picturesque
nightly scene of the City of San Francisco. It is a life time experience.

Doing what: San Francisco Dinner Dance Cruise

Kristina A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This catamaran tour is excellent. A reasonable number of participants, plenty of space on the boat, thick coats are supplied as the weather can be unpredictable you WILL get fog around the bridge!. The light snacks are more than sufficient and there is a wide choice of both alcoholic and soft drinks 2 included in the price of the ticket, any others based on an honesty bar. There is no audio commentary as the team prefer to play music during the tour, which is an excellent idea excellent choice of music also. The crew are available throughout to discuss San Francisco and the Bay Area, to serve the drinks, to take photos etc. The whole experience was great, friendly, relaxed and definitely to be repeated.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Catamaran Cruise

Augustina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An excellent choice. Personable and talented musician guides you around the bay. Sights are beautiful. Nice selection of munchies. Perfect length of time.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Adrian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Super trip with a very informative skipper. The bonus was being surrounded by lots of hump back whales while in the Bay. Fantastic!

Doing what: San Francisco Bay RIB Boat Cruise

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fabulous - what a great way to spend a morning. The weather was superb and the sailing was excellent. Sailed across the Bay, passing Alcatraz and under the Golden Gate Bridge. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: America's Cup Sailing Adventure on San Francisco Bay: America's Cup Day Sail

James L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really great tour to Muir Woods. The driver was full of knowledge and didn't stop supplying us with fascinating details of the history of the area for the whole drive there! Even sang to us on the way back! We didn't take the Bay Cruise in the end but the Redwoods and Sausalito were beautiful.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

Andy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent Tour. Booked through Viator, received confirmation within about 1 hour, was e-mailed a voucher for the next day. When we got to the wharf, it took us about five minutes to find the dock, where someone from the tour greeted us and checked us in for the tour.

The boat wasn't huge, and the group was a little bigger than we expected close to 90 people, but it wasn't a problem and I felt like we had plenty of space without feeling too crowded at any point. As we pulled away, the guide did a decent job talking a little bit about the bay, alcatraz, and history, but mostly focused on whales and marine biology. As a local that has been on a lot of tour and trips over the year, I appreciated the guide focusing on the part of the tour I was more interested in - whales and the sort of whales I might see on the tour hour trip.

Once we moved under the Golden Gate Bridge, the fun started. Within about ten minutes, someone spotted a whale and the Captain revved down the engine while we all crowded to the front to look for one off in the distance. After another five minutes, a whale surfaced again and our guide told us that, considering the time of year and from the look of it, it was most likely a blue whale.

After that, it was almost twenty minutes before we saw another whale, but once we did, they kept coming! For the next thirty minutes or so, whales we spotted breaching on both sides of the boat, with one particularly big one moving in a half circle about 100 yards or so away from our boat, surfacing every few minutes or so. I eventually captured a cool video i'll upload to this review of one coming up pretty close to us.

I've lived in the bay area for 6 years and I've never seen a whale before. I was pretty skeptical before taking this tour, but I heard this year was special, and it looks like it is. It was pretty awesome to finally see whales for myself right next to the golden gate bridge.

Doing what: San Francisco Golden Gate Whale-Watching Tour

Crystal D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this cruise! Great staff and good value-plenty of food, drinks and beautiful views of the bay.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Melissa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an amazing tour. Would definitely make it a must do if you are at Fisherman and #39;s Wharf. The majestic views of the Golden Gate Bridge leave you breathless. Relaxing tour with great views of the San Fransisco skyline at night. Great way to see the diversity in the Bay Area.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really fun - the adults and the kids all loved it. The captain was great and it was a really cool way to see the Bay.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco Bay RIB Boat Experience

Stacy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip is a great way to see the Bay and different views of the City! My family and I really enjoyed!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco Bay RIB Boat Experience

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The boat tour to Alcatraz and the subsequent tour of the old facility was exciting. The best part of this combination tour was the sunset cruise. We sailed under and around the golden gate bridge at sunset.
We were lucky to enjoy the spectacular colors of the bay's sunset and a gorgeous full moon! The staff was friendly and professional. Marcus was the online entertainer who sang and played the guitar. He was outstanding. Our entire family ranked this cruise as the best part of our entire vacation!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Melissa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved it! The Alcatraz tour was very educational and the sunset bay cruise was so relaxing. We enjoyed sipping on our alcoholic beverages and listening to the live guitar music as we sailed under the Golden Gate Bridge at sunset. It was the perfect way to end our day!

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Donald H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide, Chabli, was very nice and informative - and humorous. The Muir Woods were great! So beautiful and serene! Sausalito is a lovely community! The Bay Cruise was very nice as well. The only complaint we may have is that the bus was noisy - I think the a.c. may have been going out on it - - and that was distracting. But the tour itself was great.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

peabody_jr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Alcatraz is a must see for all SF visitors. Be sure to book months early to get a tour. The Sunset Cruise is a great evening ending activity for a view of the bay area as it lights up. Very relaxing! The appetizer buffet is delicious and a great presentation by the crew. Also you can meet lots of new people to visit with and find out about them.

Doing what: Jail and Sail: Alcatraz Tour and Sunset or Twilight Bay Cruise

Glen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The sail boat was a nice way to see the bay. It was chilly on the water so the use of their jackets was wonderful.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sailing Cruise

MICHAEL P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had an excellent time cruising the bay. Should note that out of towners might not realize how cold the bay can get when the sun goes down. All around excellent venue to see the bay.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

SF Bay tour was one of the highlights of our trip. Capt. Charles was awesome!!

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco Bay RIB Boat Experience

Claudia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful evening and relaxing cruise. A wonderful way to experience San Francisco Bay.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Paul W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A lovely way to see the bay and a close up view of the bridge, unfortunately it was cloudy and windy outside on the day we went but I imagine the sunset would have been spectacular, however the food and ambience on board were great, thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: San Francisco Bay Sunset Cruise

Hudsonfamily

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Awesome tour for the value! Tour guide Chablis was knowledgable and funny! The Bay Cruise option was just perfect, you are allowed to use that any day, so we went the next day after Muir woods, we went at sunset and it was so nice. Definitely recommend this tour. One tip: Do not be late to your bus, when they give a time to be back at the bus: be back at the bus! We did not get left behind, but some people did not make it back. All in all, great tour and the buses are very nice.

Doing what: Muir Woods and Sausalito Tour plus Bay Cruise

deborah l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

That was so awesome I will recommend it to all my friends going to San Fran next trip back to the bay I will do it again Deborah leighty

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco Bay RIB Boat Experience

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message