The newly paved grounds of Union Square, bordered by brightly lit department stores and hotels, may not at first seem like an inviting place to hang out. But perch awhile on a skinny bench or grab a coveted seat at the café in the square, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 130 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Barry C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So, so pleased with this trip. We had Jamie as our driver and she was absolutely excellent. We met at Union Square at about 7.30am and were given a cereal bar whilst we started our sightseeing trip. Jamie was really funny and obviously extremely knowledgeable about the area. She dropped us at the Alactraz dock ready for us to catch the ferry about 9am. The ferry crossing was great, as was the audio tour of Alcatraz. As it was early in the day it wasn't too busy. It's such an interesting place with such fabulous views of the city. After the ferry crossing back to dock we met up with Jamie. She drove us down towards Pier 39 and we stopped to have a delicious lunch from Boudin bakery. She then took us over to the Golden Gate Bridge, lots of photo opportunities, then back to Union Square for about 3pm. It was a fantastic day and would highly recommend it to everyone

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Mark H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An early start at 7:15 in Union Square was the beginning of this great day. First to be in Alcatraz - the audio tour was extremely easy to follow. Back to the mainland by noon with a boxed lunch from Boudin Bakery, which was wonderful. Eating outside on benches overlooking the bay, then back on the cable car/bus to see the rest of San Francisco. Our guide, Arturo, was funny, personable, and informative. Another must do!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Susan N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Enjoyed the guides very much-Jennifer and Ricoh the driver were a great team. Humor and knowledge nicely blended. We used the hop on hop off as our mode of transport all over from Union Square where we stayed-after taking the BART from the airport. The only negative was that the last tour left at 5pm.....so you had to be careful to be on the last bus to get back before the buses were done. The night tour also did not leave till 6pm from the Wharf....kind of a distance at night. Overall-so well worth it! My hubby had never been to SF so we wanted to see it all....and we did :

Doing what: City Sightseeing San Francisco Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Helen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour!! The day started with the tour meeting in Union Square at 7:15am. However, don't quite understand that part as we really didn't leave from there until about 7:45am and they stated in the confirmation to arrive at least a half an hour early. From Union Square, the driver took us on a tour of SF and showed us some landmarks and different areas of the city which was interesting. He then dropped us off at the Alcatraz landing so we could board one of the first ferries out to Alcatraz which was the 8:45am ferry. The driver then instructed us to take the 11:25am ferry back to the landing so we could do the rest of the tour. That gave you plenty of time to look around on the island and to do the audio tour that was included with the ticket price. On the ferry, they do sell items to eat and drink if you are hungry. After that, we ate our lunch that was included with the tour and then headed to the Golden Gate Bridge. We went over the bridge and on the other side stopped and was able to take pictures and enjoy the scenery. We then went back over the bridge and actually he took us under the bridge so we could take pictures from that vantage point as well. The driver then drove us to the Palace of the arts and let us walk around that area and take pictures as well. Long day but had a fun time exploring the many different sites of SF.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Lisa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic informative overview of San Francisco. Loved being on a real cable car without being tethered to the cable! I was worried about the directions to meet the tour at a corner in Union Square but had no trouble at all. Trolley was actually a few minutes early. Our guide took time at every stop to act as photographer and make sure we had all the pictures we wanted. We weren't excited about starting at 7:15a but the early entrance to Alcatraz made a huge difference. We were able to beat the crowds and leisurely explore Alcatraz at our own pace. By the time we left, there were people and lines everywhere. This was my first visit to San Francisco and I really felt like I got a great overview of the city and most of the highlights in one tour. The included breakfast was just a granola bar so if you need more to start the day, make sure you eat beforehand. Lunch was a sandwich from Boudin a good one, either ham or turkey and we got one of each, chips and a soda/water. Our guide was nice enough to make drop-offs a various points in the city for those that didn't want to go back to Union Square.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a wonderful time, traveled all the way from North Dakota, when we got to union square to board the bus we realized we had left our tickets in our vehicle which was parked at the hotel. We were sure they wouldn't let us on the bus. when we explained this to Serene Rain, our tour guide, she took my hands, looked into my eyes and said I believe you. We had a wonderful time on the bus, learned some things about the Hippie movement and had lots of laughs. I would recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Rock 'n' Roll Combo: Alcatraz and Magic Bus San Francisco Tour

Alan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was really amazing
We were picked up from Union Square, driven across the Golden Gate Bridge to get to the helicopter
Mark, our pilot was great, very informative on the trips
Winery tasting also really great
The trip back was awesome
Just do this!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Napa by Helicopter with Wine Tasting and Lunch

Maylin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour is great! We met at Union Square and passed by China town and North Beach (Little Italy) on our way to Pier 33 to go to Alcatraz. There we were able to walk around and explore. It is a beautiful island and the audio tour is excellent! We really enjoyed being there. We took the ferry back to SF and headed over to Boudin for lunch. The sandwiches were delicious!!!!! The day of our tour there was an accident on the Golden Gate Bridge and, although our tour guide tried different routes to take us there, we were unable to make it. However, we got to see other parts of the city not included in the original tour and learn more about the history of the city. It was really interesting! Riding the converted cable car was fun. The weather was nice and feeling the breeze was very relaxing. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

H A G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Brilliant Tour, our guide (Arturo) was very helpful, knowledgable and articulate. he provided great information throughout the tour and always had something interesting to say and answer any questions.

Tour started on time with breakfast and photos at Union Square. down to Fishermans wharf for Alcatraz trip (which was brilliant) and then on from there.

great way to see the city in a short space of time, well managed and run.

Do take a jacket or jumper. it gets cold going across the bridge and in the shade (assuming its sunny) remember its a tourist area so you might have to queue for Alcatraz but they have you pre booked on the ferry so you get on the one you are supposed to, just might have to wait in line a bit.

try and be on time and make sure your back to the tram on time during the stops for everyones benefit. would recommend the tour to anyone, a really great way to get around the city with a knowledgable guide.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

danny g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This is a great way to really see the city - not just the Union Square and wharf area. Be sure and go inside the Civic building - beautiful!!! Chachacha is great place to eat in Haight Ashbury.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

ai.rich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide was Katie and she was so good at her job. We got on the first bus of the day and had her to ourselves for the first part of our tour, unfortunately we got off at Union Square and in hindsight we wish we had done the whole circuit with Katie as she was very knowledgeable and friendly. As we only had one full day in San Francisco this covered everything we needed to see in a short time.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

W.whatmore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Driver waiting at baggage collection and helped with baggage to car. Very comfortable journey of about half an hour to Union Square which was very busy because of very large convention in town

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: San Francisco International Airport to Hotel

W.whatmore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very early pick up in Union square by (motorised cable car) tour through streets to pier to board ferry to the island. very eerie place but very interesting. Then back on ferry to visit special bakery and have packed lunch on the cable car. Then journey to Golden Gate Bridge. When we went over it very sunny, by time we had parked on other side it was covered in fog! Very interesting sightseeing trip in unusual transport driver very very good.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

hillyersharon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were a group of 6 enjoying a day trip from our California Coastal cruise. I first heard of HOHO tour
on trip advisor and I'm glad we did. It was a little confusing at first as where to get on bus. It's best to
sit on bench facing Embarcedo, close to Aquarium. We had take a short free shuttle from our ship to get there, but could have easily walked. I agree with everyone else. It's very cold and windy going over Golden Gate Bridge. Our driver "Deon" was wonderful. He gave out blankets to anyone that needed them. You need to be dressed warmly as you are sitting on top in the open air. We only got off a few stops. I highly
recommend stopping at Chinatown. Lots of neat trinkets. Union Square has a lot of upscale shopping such
as Coach, Jimmy Choo, Barneys if you are in the mood. We spend a lot of time at Fisherman's Wharf and
Pier 39. The sea lions were out which was a nice treat for my 13 year old nephew. The Boudin Bakery has great clam chowder in the sourdough bread bowl. There's a 2nd shop in Pier 39. My sister loved the left handed store at Pier 39 as well. There was a double decker carosel and arcade games for the younger ones. We ran out of time and didn't make it to the ferry building, which was highly recommended as a place to visit. Our driver, Deon, was very knowledgeable and we thoroughly enjoyed his commentary.
Overall, we enjoyed our time on the excursion with HOHO Bus.

Doing what: San Francisco Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

John N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a solid walking tour that features an extremely knowledgeable, very friendly and forthcoming guide who will escort you to places that the average tourist would never see. You begin at an Old Post Office with WPA-style murals, and then proceed through various lobbies of skyscrapers to see unbelievably beautiful murals, decorative patterns and stucco designs. You end up at Union Square, which means you see a good part of the Financial District. For any architecture buff, this is a must see tour.

Doing what: Art Deco Walking Tour of San Francisco

Matthew O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This full day excursion from San Francisco to Monterey, Carmel and 17-Mile Drive was excellent value and a highlight of my visit to California. Our tour guide, Kenneth, was very friendly and his commentary was very entertaining and informative. He was also an excellent driver. The scenery along the coastline was beautiful. There were stops along the way to take photos, visit shops and restrooms, and to buy food, drinks, etc. I visited the Aquarium in Monterey for about an hour and then for the remaining hour I enjoyed fish and chips on the sandy beach and then did some souvenir shopping. I also really enjoyed seeing Carmel and the 17-mile drive. The trip back to San Francisco as the sun went down was relaxing. It was interesting, too, as we passed by headquarters of some of the famous technology companies like Microsoft, Xerox and Google. I would definitely recommend this full day tour. We arrived back in San Francisco about 8:30pm and I had dinner near Union Square. A great day. Thanks, Kenneth!

Doing what: Monterey, Carmel and 17-Mile Drive Day Trip from San Francisco

Mr P L W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What a great day. Alex our driver/guide was great. Nice small group and of we went. Scenic route to the ferry for Alcatraz tickets waiting for us on arrival. Really good audio tour timed to perfection for our return ferry. Next stop Boudins bakery at Fishermans Wharf and then our lunch waiting for us on return to the cable car( well wheeled version) Short stop at the museum of fine art then we whizzed over the Golden Gate Bridge. Very exciting. Be sure to hang on to your hats!!!. The day progressed with even more sights and interesting facts from Alex. Well worth getting up at 6 a.m. on our first day so we could walk to the pickup at Union Square in time for 7-45 departure

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

susan n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

lovely tour with alex our guide who was very information, funny and helpful! we set off early with our light breakfast of snack bars we had a tour round the city first through china town and financial district then onto alcatraz where we caught the 0845 trip to alcatraz which was amazing and eerie as well the audio tour is excellent and is narrated by ex prison guards and ex prisoners. alex gave us precise times and locations where he would pick us up, we then went to the bourdin sour dough factory which is just down the street and alex again said where he would be. the factory tour was good and we got our lunch from there in a box which i thought was great. i had a vegetarian sandwich on gorgeous brown bread which every imaginable salad ingredient i could think off it was lovely also a bag of crisps and water, plus cans of cokes, lilt etc. we then journeyed on around san fransisco and ended up back at union square after approx 6 hours. really enjoyed this trip as was similar to being on a trolley as we sat on the side outside and alex kept ringing his bell! i felt like a child again and appreciated the early visit to alcatraz as it was getting really busy as we left.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Reid R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was the best way to see San Francisco. Our guide Dan was friendly, accommodating and very knowledgeable. This trip was SO good that virtually no one left the trip during the entire loop - his remarkably witty yet informative commentary was THAT good. This tour went everywhere and served as a very useful reference for our later plans on where to visit on our own. We eventually hopped off at Union Square and took a convenient next bus when it was time to head back to our hotel. This was the best of the best!

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Karyn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Another great experience that filled a day in SF. Easy to find in Union Square. Informative narration. Travelled over GG Bridge and back into the city. We got off in Little Italy and walked back to our hotel via Chinatown. A good way to see and learn lots in a 'foreign' city in a day.

Doing what: Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Kay Auld United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was fantastic, this is definitely an amazing way to spend a day in San Francisco. Alex our driver was a super star, very funny and friendly, he was honorary photographer for the day,taking pictures of us with the cable car. He even served lunch for us and handed out blankets,meh honestly could not do enough for everyone. We were picked up in union square and taken to he Alcatraz landing where we were on the first ferry over. Alcatraz was just incredible, nothing at all like I imagined. You get an audio tour in your language so can walk around at your own leisure. As we were on he first ferry it wasn't too busy. After Alcatraz we did our tour of San Francisco. Seeing it all whilst driving around in the only cable car tour buss was amazing. It was quite foggy so we didn't get a great view of th Golden Gate Bridge so Alex took a detour and stopped at an amazing spot so we could all get off and get our photos. The tour took us to all the great spots in San Francisco and we felt we got to see everything we wanted to see. Alex the driver really made this tour special for us and I can't praise him enough.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

DIEGO P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was an incredible experience. We knew a lot of interesting sites as The Golden Gate, The Fisherman's Wharf, The Embarcadero, Pier 36, Chinatown etc. The pick-up station was in Union Square, 2 blocks from our Hotel. Very good for us.

Doing what: San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Tour

AMP

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We met the motorized cable car in Union Square at 7.30am. The driver, Arturo, met us with blankets (was chilly), cereal bars, drinks and a big smile! We were driven to the ferry port to catch the 8.45am ferry to Alcatraz. Would highly recommend being early as not very busy and certainly not rushed. The headsets provided at the beginning of the tour added real atmosphere (as narrated by ex cons, guards and sound effects!) and you can go at your own pace as you can pause, rewind the narration. Look for the welcome guard as you disembark the ferry - he was a real character! We caught the 11am ferry back and was met by Arturo. Next was the Bodin Sour Dough factory for a brief tour of the famous factory and luch was provided by them - fab sandwich, crisps and cookie. We then did a tour of San Francisco, narrated all the way by Arturo, taking in lots of sights including crossing the Golden Gate bridge twice with lots of opportunities to take photos (and toilet breaks). Arturo was very keen to ensure we had lots of photos and often taking them for us just to be sure! This trip was great value for money and made even better by our driver and guide. Well done Viator another successful trip with you. Thank you.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

eileen662003

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We were picked up on time at Union square by an electric tram, our guide and driver ARTURO was friendly, professional, very informative, and made our day very enjoyable. We went on the 9oclock ferry to Alcatraz, they have a buggy that takes you up a very steep incline if you have walking difficulties. You are given earpieces and you walk around at your leisure . Back on our tour tram we went to see a bakery for a short tour, then sightseeing around San Francisco , over the Golden Gate Bridge and stopped underneath it on the way back. Got some lovely photos. Lunch was included plus a breakfast bar and cold drinks. Extremely enjoyable way to see all around San Francisco

Doing what: Viator VIP: Early Access to Alcatraz and Exclusive Cable Car Sightseeing Tour

Trudi M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What an experience! The tour around the city was first and it was awesome! Our driver and tour guide was Joe and his knowledge of the city was impeccable. We were picked up fro our hotel in Union Square and taken to the main office to meet the rest of the tour group. We then embarked upon the city tour in a new comfortable and immaculate coach. We travelled from Fisherman's Wharf all the way up to Twin Peaks, across to Land's End and over the Golden Gate Bridge. We stopped for plenty of photo opportunities, which we will cherish! The tour itself was around 3 hours, then we were taken to the ferry port to start our Alcatraz tour - this was amazing. The tour itself is a 'must do' if travelling to San Francisco - but you need to book in advance as it was fully booked the days that we were there. After Alcatraz we were picked up from the ferry port and taken back to our hotel in comfort. It was a long day and well worth the money. We were so glad that we'd booked in advance. It was all really smooth and stress free - excellent value for money too. We would recommend Viator and this tour to anyone and everyone! We will certainly use them again.

Doing what: Alcatraz and San Francisco City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message